You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Housing Minister Darragh O'Brien Leah Farrell

Long-promised planning bill delayed until after Dáil summer recess

Earlier this week Taoiseach Simon Harris told the Dáil that “we need to roll up our sleeves and get the job done”.

THE PLANNING AND Development Bill, which Housing Minister Darragh O’Brien had previously said would be passed before last Christmas, is now delayed until after the summer recess. 

The bill passed through the Dáil last night, after much controversy over the Government guillotining the legislation, and is now set to go before the Seanad. 

However, this morning Senators were informed by the Seanad secretary that the bill will not reach report and final stage until the autumn. 

A spokesperson for Minister O’Brien told The Journal that the timing of the bill in the Seanad is a matter for the Oireachtas. 

“It must be noted however that the bill will be substantially completed before the summer recess and the majority of amendments to be brought at Seanad stages will be of a technical nature, mainly related to transitional and consequential provisions,” they added. 

Earlier this week, a spokesperson for the Minister said the Government has always been clear that the intention was to pass the bill before the summer recess.

Once law, the legislation will see a major overhaul of the planning system in Ireland.

At over 700 pages, the bill is the third largest piece of legislation in the history of the State. 

Speaking in the Dáil on Tuesday, Taoiseach Simon Harris said:

“At some point, we need to get on and pass a law that is going to reform our planning laws.

“Only a few weeks ago, the Deputies were all shouting at me about the importance of the Housing Commission, which talked about the need to overhaul our planning system. This place needs to do its job and pass the law. There is a housing emergency and crisis.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

23 Comments
    Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Dec 4th 2024, 3:41 PM

Donald Trump pardoned Jared Kushner’s father last time, and now appointed his pardoned father as the French ambassador…
    So no, he was not wrong.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Dec 4th 2024, 3:42 PM

@KTH: Or they’re both wrong.

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Dec 4th 2024, 3:45 PM

@Stephen:
    Jared’s father…In 2005, he was convicted of illegal campaign contributions, tax evasion, and witness tampering after hiring a prostitute to seduce his brother-in-law, arranging to record a sexual encounter between the two, and sending the tape to his sister
    Hunter Biden, incorrectly filled out a form and failed to pay his tax on time (because he was addicted to crack cocaine)

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Don't Forget
    Favourite Don't Forget
    Dec 4th 2024, 3:47 PM

@Stephen: If Biden Jr. would be treated fairly then I don’t see Biden Sr. pardoning him. He’s right that he’s targeted particularly because it’s his son that wouldn’t happen to another person. The Republicans are outraged because only they get to pardon criminals and believe the law only applies to others.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Dec 4th 2024, 3:48 PM

@Don’t Forget: So, both wrong. Pardons shouldn’t exist.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Dec 4th 2024, 3:52 PM

@KTH: Still broke the law. Both wrong. ( And if it was Joe Soap in Ireland addicted to crack cocaine you wouldn’t be standing up for him ).

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:04 PM

@Stephen: That’s the issue really and noone is talking about that. Very easy for Biden to consider a failure to pardon as tantamount to locking his son up himself. Ridiculous position to be in.

Mute Any Name
    Favourite Any Name
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:08 PM

@KTH: so two wrongs make a right??

Take off your anything but Trump glasses for one minute and look at the pardon on its merits….it was completely and utterly wrong to issue him a pardon especially as he had categorically stated he would not issue a pardon to his son on multiple occasions.

Mute Any Name
    Favourite Any Name
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:10 PM

@KTH: you’re simply an anti Trump individual and no doubt raging Trump won the election.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:14 PM

@Any Name: Take off your anything but Biden glasses for one minute. Trump has done just as bad if not worse. And you know it.

Mute Pat O'Shea
    Favourite Pat O'Shea
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:48 PM

@KTH: Ridiculous comment….both are wrong full stop. A disgraceful move on Biden’s part- he is a complete hypocrite on so many levels. When will the people of Ballina get rid of the Joe Biden mural? It’s extremely embarrassing at this stage. The whitewashing of this guy’s record, particularly over the last year has to stop.

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:53 PM

@KTH:
    Donald Trump has said that he intended to pardon all the Capitol riot criminals.
    He intends to pardon himself from his own convictions,and many of his other.cronies.
    He is the last person who has any right to comment.
    Trump is only raging because he would have fixed it to make sure Biden was given a severe sentence,while him and his cult escaped justice.

Mute Any Name
    Favourite Any Name
    Dec 4th 2024, 6:35 PM

@Louis Jacob: if you’re a pro Biden supporter enough said! Man was deemed incompetent to run for President but is mentally competent to continue to act as it(he’s been a mere puppet for several years). Looking forward to January

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Dec 4th 2024, 6:53 PM

@Any Name: Read my comments. I cant stand Biden.

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Dec 5th 2024, 12:30 AM

@Any Name: @Stephen @Pat O’Shea…
    @Stephen, where did I say I was standing up for Hunter? My opinion that I was asked for, is that Joe is not wrong.
    @Any Name, two wrongs don’t make a right, no, they make it even…
    Hahaha “anti-Trump glasses” I don’t need glasses I’ve 20/20 vision…
    “Completely and utterly wrong” PMSL “categorically stated” ROFL, Trump never said something that wasn’t true? LOL
    “Anti-Trump, raging he won the election” blah blah blah, I’ll make a nice latte from all of your cultists tears in the morning,
    Hahaha,
    I’ve never in my life seen so many people so angry anywhere when person B does what person A did, and knowing person A will do it again soon, but much worse.
    Sad bunch of people.
    Hahahaha :)

Mute Sam Walsh
    Favourite Sam Walsh
    Dec 5th 2024, 3:26 PM

@KTH: Two wrongs don’t make a right. The fact of the matter is Biden has been saying that he would never abuse his power, and that he is not above the law… he’s a hypocrite!

Mute John K
    Favourite John K
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:05 PM

The real issue for me is the blatant lies by Biden, he and his press officer were explicitly asked multiple times if he would pardon his son and multiple times confirmed no, stating no one is above the law. Clearly this lie was just to avoid abuse-of-power questions during the election.

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:11 PM

@John K: One rule for the rich. Same as everywhere.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:50 PM

@John Fagan: Biden was one of the poorest members in the US senate, and came from a working class area of Delaware, he’s hardly rich nor his son

Mute morgan crowe
    Favourite morgan crowe
    Dec 4th 2024, 3:59 PM

He was always going to wait until his presidency was nearly over to pardon his son..he was never going to do it at the start of his term as it would be constantly thrown at him everywhere he went.in fairness i think most parents would do the same.

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:54 PM

@morgan crowe: well his son was knee deep involved in the cesspit that is Ukraine following Natos rainbow revolution in 2012….look where we are know, closest time in history to nuclear war….military industrial complex should give him a medal of honor for bulging their revenue.

Mute Philip Gerard (Philip Gerard)
    Favourite Philip Gerard (Philip Gerard)
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:03 PM

@Dere: that would be true if it weren’t a lie with no basis in fact or evidence despite multiple investigations.

Mute John K
    Favourite John K
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:35 PM

@Philip Gerard (Philip Gerard): its a fact, it’s not even disputed. In April 2014 Hunter joined the board of Burisma earning an estimated 50,000 per month. What is disputed is why he got that job, was it because his dad was the vice president of the US? Seems more likely than this crackhead being considered the most qualified and capable person for the job.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:52 PM

@Dere: more Russian propaganda as usual from you. I heard Moscow is nice this time of year

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Dec 4th 2024, 8:00 PM

@Alan: yawn….is that the go to slogan for the ignorant

Mute Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:20 PM

Of course he was. But every president has used pardoning powers, so I can see why he did it. Hate the game, not the player.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:26 PM

@Gearoid MacEachaidh: word

Mute Mick O'K
    Favourite Mick O'K
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:22 PM

@Gearoid MacEachaidh: every president (I believe) has used the official pardons office to process pardons. Biden however jn this case has not. He lied about the pardon, his administration lied about the pardon. The pardon is dated back to January 2014 also. Joe is covering his own back. Which ironically may bite him in the a$$, if he is charged with any financial crimes Hunter will be forced to testify against his father. Due to his pardon he will not be able to plead the 5th

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:22 PM

All the way back to January 2014. Nothing to see here.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Dec 4th 2024, 6:54 PM

@Eric Gaffney: Will he also save the woman who tried to help him so much. “The Ninth Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals ruled in favor of the former president on Tuesday, ordering adult film star Stormy Daniels to pay $121,972 in legal fees for a failed defamation suit.”

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned

Put yourself in Biden shoes who lost two children already and didn’t want to lose another, so what would you do lad??
    Sure it’s grand you and your ilk to pass judgement from your ivory towers, go give your head a shake.

Mute Mick O'K
    Favourite Mick O'K
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:24 PM

@Ned: he refused to acknowledge Hunters daughter until she was 7, he isn’t the family man you think

Mute Pat Herlihy
    Favourite Pat Herlihy
    Dec 6th 2024, 7:15 PM

@Ned: What would be the alternative? Let his son suffer under a Trump administration?

Mute John Boyle
    Favourite John Boyle
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:13 PM

Don’t comment on this platform for the will only delete it the don’t like the truth.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:10 PM

No he’s not wrong
    Give trump something to get upset about

Mute Pat Herlihy
    Favourite Pat Herlihy
    Dec 5th 2024, 6:00 PM

@Marc Power: yes

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Dec 4th 2024, 3:46 PM

Of course he was. I would have done the same though. It’s his son and Biden’s ambition is a huge factor in his potential in his potential incarceration. I think he chose the evil he could better live with. No point in being a chump.

Mute Mick O'K
    Favourite Mick O'K
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:24 PM

@Louis Jacob: he didnt a knowledge Hunters child until she was 7, even then she’s not sloped use the Biden name. He could give a rats about family

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:35 PM

@Mick O’K: few pints Mick?

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:44 PM

@Mick O’K: any chance of saying that coherently?

Mute Mick O'K
    Favourite Mick O'K
    Dec 4th 2024, 7:39 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: wasn’t wearing me specs

Mute Mick O'K
    Favourite Mick O'K
    Dec 4th 2024, 7:39 PM

@Michael Burke: none

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:20 PM

Just have the balls and the intellectual honesty to condemn it Larry and leave aside your partisan biases. Hunter Biden literally videoed himself smoking crack while using the firearms that he acquired by lying on his licence application forms. Hunter is also a serial tax cheat whose tax evasion goes back to at least 2012. Joe Biden said when he was still in the race for re-election a few months back that he wouldn’t pardon his son as a matter “fairness” and “equality under the law” and now he’s completely backtracked. He kept attacking Donald Trump back in 2020 for pardoning his allies but he’s just gone an exposed his rank hypocrisy for the world to see.

Mute Mic JHintl
    Favourite Mic JHintl
    Dec 4th 2024, 5:19 PM

As a father I would say he was correct. As a politician he most definitely was wrong. He set a precedent for the Republicans to do as they please without possibility of criticism as they now have a standard set by democrats. It shows how corrupt American politics is.

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Dec 4th 2024, 6:03 PM

@Mic JHintl:
    Trump has pardoned more people than anyone else
    He now has a full list of people he wants to pardon including himself.
    He has set the standard not President Biden.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 4th 2024, 10:37 PM

@Mic JHintl: They have a fantastic track record on this already

Mute Finbarr Norris
    Favourite Finbarr Norris
    Dec 17th 2024, 1:04 PM

@Mary.E.: Not true, Trump isn’t even in the top 5 when it comes to pardons. Check it out, Democrats are top of the table.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob

My real issue with Biden is that he ran atall considering he knew his fragile drug addict son would be heavily in the firing line. The guilt must be overwhelming. Same goes for Don Jr, except we all know Trump doesn’t give a rat’s arse about him.
    Tells you everything you need to know about these men and their reckless ambition
    Even Cheney pulled out of a Republican primary because he found out his daughter was a lesbian and he wanted to protect her.
    Say what you want, but that’s what a real man does.

Mute Andrew Harrington
    Favourite Andrew Harrington
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:46 PM

YES!

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 4th 2024, 3:47 PM

Yes

Mute John Boyle
    Favourite John Boyle
    Dec 4th 2024, 4:09 PM

The laws in America

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 4th 2024, 10:36 PM

The US is a cesspit and he choose wisely nothing worse than an unhinged incoming administration who will provide maximum hilarious news headlines