We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

cyo bo via Shutterstock
Peace Prize

Pope Francis and Richard Haass shortlisted for Tipperary Peace Award

The five short-list nominees for the peace prize have been revealed.

THE SHORT LIST of nominees for the 2013 Tipperary International Peace Award has been announced by Tipperary Peace Convention today.

The 2012 recipient Pakistani schoolgirl Malala Yousafzai, who travelled with her father Ziauddin to receive the award in Tipperary last August.

Just five nominees are included short list for the 2013 prize, which the committee have described as below:

1) International Peace Bureau – The International Peace Bureau is dedicated to the vision of a world without War. The Bureau is made up of 300 member organisations in 70 countries. Together with individual members they from a global network, bringing together expertise and campaigning experience in a common cause.

2) Sister Mary Tarcisa Lokot – Sister Mary is widely known for her work to rebuild peace in war-ridden Northern Uganda and for her willingness to reach out to those who once were responsible for mass killings. The organization she works with, ARLPI (Acholi Religious Leaders Peace Initiative, has moved well beyond interfaith dialogue, and contributed significantly to constrain violence in Northern Uganda.

3) Richard Haass – Richard Nathan Haass is an American diplomat. He has been president of the Council on Foreign Relations since July 2003. He succeeded George J. Mitchell as the United States Special Envoy for Northern Ireland to help the peace process in Northern Ireland, for which he received the State Department’s Distinguished Service Award. Late this year he returned to Northern Ireland to chair inter-party talks aimed at addressing some of the unresolved issues from the peace process such as parades, flags and “the past”.

4) Dr Lee Kyu Hyung – Dr Lee in widely regarded in his capacity as professor at the Keimyung University and through his long established work as advocate for Peace through Martial arts. Hailing from the divided Korean Peninsula he has experienced the horrors of war and it’s long lasting effects. With his colleagues he helped to found the Taekwondo Peace Corps which travels the world to promote peace through Taekwondo.

5) Pope Francis – Pope Francis is the 266th and current Pope of the Catholic Church. He is the first Jesuit Pope, the first Pope from the Americas, the first Pope from the Southern Hemisphere, and the first non-European Pope since Pope Gregory III, 1272 years earlier. Throughout his life, both as an individual and as a religious leader, Pope Francis has been noted for his humility, his concern for the poor, and his commitment to dialogue as a way to build bridges between people of all backgrounds, beliefs, and faiths.

The award recipient for 2013 will be announced in the coming days and the award will be presented in Tipperary on a date to be confirmed in 2014.

Read: Haass talks with NI parties fail to reach consensus, but Gilmore says agreement is essential

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.