You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File Photo RollingNews.ie

'A new mind for Europe is required': President Higgins criticises 'inadequate' European Union

He called for a fresh approach to tackling inequality among member states.

PRESIDENT MICHAEL D HIGGINS criticised the European Union for a lack of “social cohesion” and “narrow version of an economic union” in a speech delivered at UCD last night. 

His comments came on the eve of British Prime Minister Theresa May’s third attempt to secure the backing of MPs in the House of Commons for her deal to remove Britain from the European Union. 

Higgins called for “a new mind for Europe… to strike a unique balance between social cohesion, economic competition and freedom” and to remove the divide he said existed between the “lucky” and the “left out”.  

“We have entered a period when, I would say – and not for the first time in many years – the future shape of the European Union has become a matter of dispute and often ill-tempered debate,” he said. 

“In the ongoing and lingering shadow of Brexit and of social forces which have given rise to so much doubt across Europe, the challenges of the next decade simply cannot be met with a re-issuing of an invitation to a new generation of, and revamped version, of the old orthodoxies.”

In his speech at the launch of the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence at UCD, the president said a social, economic and class divide was palpable across Europe. 

“The refurbishing of what has gone out of balance in failing models will be insufficient.”

“A new mind for Europe is required, which requires a casting aside of failing assumptions within inadequate models. It requires new symmetries between the social, the economic, the cultural and the ethical,” he added. 

“These symmetries, if they are to be achieved, will require changes in the institutional architecture of the Union.

“Yet, if the intellectual and political contribution of the union’s members is simply one of reaction and adjustment to a wild unregulated globalisation, the prospects for such are poor.

“The space for the new institutional architecture and the role of intellectual work will have to be fought for.”

Jean Monnet is considered one of the founding fathers of the European Union and the various centres of excellence across the EU are designed to foster integration and cooperation between member states. 

Higgins said a return to the founding values of the union – mainly peace and economic prosperity among member states – was needed, and called for a fresh approach to reinforce those pillars. 

“Too often, as we look to the future, we fail to adequately appreciate the rich but diverse roots of the European project,” he said. 

“As we seek to find a new mind for Europe, out of the ashes of our present threatening fragmentation, there is now a pressing need to recall the rich infusion of ideas and ideals upon which our Union was sought to be built.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

83 Comments
    Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:01 PM

The EU in its current form and where it is headed (Federal States of Europe) should be of grave concern to the Irish people, especially now as we are losing a valuable ally in Britain. The #Brexit negotiations were a valuable, but now lost opportunity for Ireland to strike for much better arrangements that would have tempered the effects of what is coming down the tracks.
    People in Ireland romanticise about the EU, but really what they look back on is the EEC. The EU in its current form is merely a vehicle for a USE where Ireland will not have any wriggle room to be creative about offsetting our set to increase geographical disadvantage, as an island off the west coast of Europe.

Mute Bill Clay
    Favourite Bill Clay
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:07 PM

@Daniel Dunne: and now with articles 11 & 13 being passed it’s the death knell for free speech on the Internet (in the guise of copyright nonsense).

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:39 PM

@Bill Clay: Articles the majority of Irish MEPs voted in favour for or abstained. Difficult to claim it as an EU problem when those we elect were ushering it in.

Mute Candace
    Favourite Candace
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:14 PM

@Rochelle:

Chickens voting for KFC comes to mind.

Mute Mushy Peas
    Favourite Mushy Peas
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:44 PM

@Rochelle: let’s face it, 99.999999% of the country has no idea what Irish MEPs voting records are. We are far attached from what goes on in Brussels.

Personally, I’d like to see the EU parliament reduced in size and only devise optional directives that all member states have to put through their own legislature (Dail being ours).

Accountability is missing.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Mar 29th 2019, 2:06 PM

@Mushy Peas: True and the media carry a lot of blame on this, but for this instance and for anyone reading this who may be interested with the European elections coming up..

Those in favour of Article 13:
    Brian Hayes (FG)
    Marian Harkin (I)
    Seán Kelly (FG)
    Mairead McGuinness (FG)

Voted against by:
    Lynn Boylan (SF)
    Matt Carthy (SF)
    Nessa Childers (I)
    Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan (I)

Not Present:
    Deirdre Clune (FG)
    Liadh Ni Riada (SF)
    Brian Crowley (FF)

Mute Noel McGuinness
    Favourite Noel McGuinness
    Mar 29th 2019, 5:49 PM

@Daniel Dunne: If you look at the map, Ireland location is vital the only land between america canada, The Eu sees this as vital control point to the pacific it’s like a rook on a chess board. MORE CONTROL FOR THE MANIAC’S

Mute Cian
    Favourite Cian
    Mar 29th 2019, 7:17 PM

@Noel McGuinness: Pacific? What?

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Mar 29th 2019, 7:46 PM

@Noel McGuinness: We are a hell of a long way from the Pacific Ocean, so I don’t really get your point.

Mute Padraig Haughey
    Favourite Padraig Haughey
    Mar 29th 2019, 9:51 PM

@Daniel Dunne: Please elaborate on these “grave” concerns, and how will our creativity be crippled by this Federation of states you speak of!!!

Mute limofax
    Favourite limofax
    Mar 29th 2019, 11:52 AM

We could do with listening to this President more. Speaks sense.

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:01 PM

@limofax: Sad to see the amount of people who just jeer him, because he doesn’t use baby language.

Mute Weldoninhio
    Favourite Weldoninhio
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:28 PM

@Nick Caffrey: I’m not a fan of Money D Higgins, but he is spot on here.

Mute Candace
    Favourite Candace
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:15 PM

@limofax:

He thinks Venezuela is a great socialist country, enough said.

Mute Pat Mullin
    Favourite Pat Mullin
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:29 PM

@Weldoninhio: I thought our President was not supposed to get involved in politics

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:31 PM

@Pat Mullin: Was about to say the same thing. Even if you consider him right in what he said, was he right to actually say it at all?

Mute limofax
    Favourite limofax
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:34 PM

@Candace: can you show me where he said that’s?

Mute limofax
    Favourite limofax
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:36 PM

@Pat Mullin: while he can’t interfere in a political decision he can provide his own personal political opinion.

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Mar 29th 2019, 2:30 PM

@Candace: Please reference your assertion; I, for one, don’t believe it.

Mute Candace
    Favourite Candace
    Mar 29th 2019, 3:53 PM

@Nick Caffrey:

Did I mention he said that? Whatever you do don’t put words in my mouth.
    -
    A quote by Mickie D on Chavez..“President Chavez achieved a great deal during his term in office, particularly in the area of social development and poverty reduction.”

The reality…Tyranny is one of the most successful political forms the world has ever seen, and it continually mutates to prey upon the host, humanity. Hugo Chávez died stricken with cancer in a hospital bed in Havana, Cuba, but he has inflicted a great curse upon Venezuela: a murder rate worse than Iraq’s at the time of his death, a broken society, a superheating economy and tons of Kalashnikovs in the barrios, citizens eating from garbage, It’s pretty dire given the wealth of oil gold Chávez has squandered..and now Maduro.

Mute limofax
    Favourite limofax
    Mar 29th 2019, 4:44 PM

@Candace: so you made up your original comment and tried to justify same by taking an except from a speech out of context. Hmm…,Doesn’t pass the smell test.

Mute Candace
    Favourite Candace
    Mar 29th 2019, 9:42 PM

@limofax:

Mickie D and Chavez are cut from the same cloth, Socialists, a la carte Communists. Of course it wouldn’t pass the smell test if you had chit for brains.

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Mar 29th 2019, 10:54 PM

@limofax: Words are always cheap, actions on the other hand???

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:06 PM

Any pretense that europe was a good thing for Ireland disappeared when we got saddled with 42% of the banking crash debt, despite only being 1% of europes population. The other nations should have stood up for us, even if the useless shower in government at the time and since wouldn’t. Solidarity my backside.

Mute David Rogers
    Favourite David Rogers
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:33 PM

@The Risen: You mean the debt that we owed and have mostly paid back? That debt?

Drop it already. If it wasn’t that you’d have some other shite to moan about the EU.

I see your comments a lot on here. It’s constant belittling and moaning and no substance or a hint of constructive criticism.

Ireland is doing better than all the other peripheral nations that were badly affected by the 2008 crash. Why’s that? Oh yeah. Because we were good to our word.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:41 PM

@David Rogers: can only blame our elected government

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:45 PM

@The Risen: Not often I agree with a hard lefty, but you’re spot on here Risen.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:45 PM

@David Rogers: Debt that we have mostly paid back???
    The same debt that our grandchildren will still be paying??
    mostly paid back….Ha ha Ha

Mute Milk The Drones
    Favourite Milk The Drones
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:01 PM

@David Rogers:
    The debt will never be fully repaid. Nor will Germany’s or the other 6 of the top 10 most indebted countries in the world – all presently EU members. That can is kicked down the road along side America’s ever increasing debt ceiling. It’s irrevocably out of control.

Mute David Rogers
    Favourite David Rogers
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:03 PM

@Pixie McMullen:

“mostly” was a bit of a stretch, admitted. Over half would’ve been more accurate. We’ve paid off the IMF, Sweden and Denmark. It’s not nearly as bad as you make it out to be.

And yeah. That’s how loans work. If you’ve got a problem with it take it up with Bertie and the Fianna Failers that were in charge when this mess was caused.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/ireland-still-owes-44-5bn-in-bailout-loans-after-paying-off-imf-early-1.3334972

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:06 PM

@David Rogers: the debt, much of which we are under

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:09 PM

@David Rogers: the debt, much of which we were under no legal obligation to pay back? The debt, which large portions of originated in French and German banking institutions? The same debt which was racked up under the supervision of the ECB?

You Ben over and take it dry without as much as a pillow to bite, whilst giving deference to the everyone bar the Irish tax payer, but I will not. We were rightly shafted by the EU and all your revisionism will not alter that.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:13 PM

@David Rogers: yeah, and look what “Nearly Half” paid back in such a short time has done to the Country – It`s a bloody basket case in EVERY sense of the word – cuts to Gardaí because we had to pay the bankers has the crime through the roof – Defense forces on it`s knees, Biggest homeless numbers since the famine times,
    slashing of medical cards for sick children,
    slashing loan parents to the bone,
    slashing of SNA`s home help hours for elderly,
    slashing of respite for elderly and the handicapped,
    500,000 people on a waiting list for a procedure,
    The scams like Jobsbridge and Turas Nua,
    manipulation of true job numbers,
    I could go on, but you get the picture –
    All because we have to be seen to be the good boy and pay off debt early – while the likes of France get to keep running defecits with no penalty –
    ALL THIS has been done by your Fine Gael crowd that you seem bent on defending
    Get a grip man, the Risen makes a lot more sense than you , yet you attack him.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:49 PM

@Pixie McMullen: Well said. David Rogers… your retort, please?

Mute Thomas Roche
    Favourite Thomas Roche
    Mar 29th 2019, 2:25 PM

@The Risen: Great little documentary on utube. The secret bank bailout by Harold schumann a german journalist. It was shown on German tv and names the bondholders. Harold recons the Irish were robbed blind and really worth a view. A few of our politicians are interviewed as well. Interesting to see what they really think.

Mute The Great Unwashed
    Favourite The Great Unwashed
    Mar 29th 2019, 3:10 PM

@David Rogers:
    How exactly was it ‘our’ debt?
    This was private debt between private individuals and private banks (backed by private – mostly german – bondholders).
    Are you labouring under the impression that this was money borrowed by the state to fund the economy, as was the case in Greece?
    The big boys in Europe basically put a gun to Brian Lenihan’s head and told him he needed to ‘socialise’ the debt in order to protect German bond holders.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Mar 29th 2019, 7:15 PM

@David Rogers: What part of ITS NOT OUR DEBT do you not understand?

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Mar 29th 2019, 9:15 PM

@Pixie McMullen: 100% correct.

Mute Hugh Jass
    Favourite Hugh Jass
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:24 PM

Bit rich for a lad to lecture about social divide when he took the Lear jet from Dublin to Belfast and also got his driver to follow by road to collect him from the plane. Champagne Socialist.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:33 PM

@Hugh Jass: Sure he spent 11 grand taking the ould jet for a spin down to Kerry a few times…… Fckin` KERRY!!
    One was to attend a concert!
    On February 16 President Higgins was flown to Kerry airport, with the Learjet immediately returning to Baldonnel Airport in Dublin.

The following day, February 17, the jet was flown back to Kerry to pick up The President and bring him back to Dublin.

According to the Government’s figures the cost of the entire four-flight journey cost €11,340

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/kerryman/news/higgins-kerry-flights-cost-state-over-11k-36795063.html

Mute ED
    Favourite ED
    Mar 29th 2019, 4:05 PM

@Hugh Jass: And it pales in comparison to the cost of ownership of a jet.. He should be using the plane, otherwise it’s more of a waste.

Mute Hugh Jass
    Favourite Hugh Jass
    Mar 29th 2019, 5:14 PM

@ED: Oh right so we have a jet so let’s use it for everything? 11k for a round trip to Kerry is ridiculous.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Mar 29th 2019, 7:24 PM

@Pixie McMullen: Cheap at the price. He is our President. You want him to call a cab? Its a pittance. Lose change. Pocket money.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 29th 2019, 7:58 PM

@Paul Whitehead: he could have taken one of his government appointed cars with driver, of which he has 2 to choose from, actually gone and seen a bit of his country he represents, but no, he’ d rather fly down to a concert, send the plane back, then bring the plane back down the next day to bring him home, why couldn’t he at least leave the plane down overnight on Kerry under guard for the night instead of making it a double round trip??
    That just smacks of Elitism, from a man supposedly of the people, what a waste of resources, and for what exactly?

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Mar 29th 2019, 7:59 PM

@Paul Whitehead: It may be a pittance to you. To those on minimum wages it is half a year’s income. And as I recall MDH lectured us about climate change on the 17th of this month – practice what you preach and all of that.

Mute blackcoffee
    Favourite blackcoffee
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:11 PM

When are we going to see your accounts ye chancer? What about the pay rise for your ‘special advisor’ that broke the salary max rule? Little (cranky) man with big ideas!

Mar 29th 2019, 12:24 PM

Firstly, its a pity he wasn’t saying things like this when he was a labour politocian. Different political agendas. Secondly, by making statements like this, like the rest of our gombeen politicians, he’s looking for a legacy, saying or doing something so people will remember him and say what a great fella he was, and thirdly, he mustn’t have seen the recent brief where all our establishment politicians and media are currently bombarding us with how great the EU is.

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:15 PM

@Adrian: You hit that nail on the head.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:56 PM

@Battaz: What? Did you read a different comment to me? All I see here is incoherent babbling. Where was the nail-hitting bit??

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Mar 29th 2019, 5:49 PM

@Joe Phillips: Micky D is a hypocritical opportunist. Succinct enough?

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Mar 29th 2019, 11:55 AM

He was wonderful in the Harry Potter movies. I cried a river when he was so cruelly killed.
    At least he died a Free Elf.

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:08 PM

The President has no right to involve himself in politics This is the function of The Executive The Government must remind him of this fact

Mute THE DUKE
    Favourite THE DUKE
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:46 PM

@Sean Ryan: tell Mary Robinson that. Haha

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:20 PM

@THE DUKE: Mary Robinson isn’t The President. Back to Low Babies for you!

Mute samstheman
    Favourite samstheman
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:24 PM

@Orla Smith: you’re some dose man

Mute Paul Holland
    Favourite Paul Holland
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:45 PM

@Orla She saw the light after one term

Mute Gavin Conran
    Favourite Gavin Conran
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:54 PM

@Sean Ryan: He does however have the right to his opinion does he not?

Mute Tim Oleary
    Favourite Tim Oleary
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:03 PM

Yes to President. EU is seen as too bereaucraic and not operational enough reaching out more upfront with the people. It’s a good idea but not working properly. All the union countries have a nationalistic streak and like the UK would leave if given the chance.

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:15 PM

The old waffler is giving forth “de profundis” again. His Trotskyite ideology is as failed a concept as he is!

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Mar 29th 2019, 11:55 AM

Does he not have some chemists to open?

Mute David Rogers
    Favourite David Rogers
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:34 PM

@Cupid Stunt: Have you not got somewhere else to be of no help to anyone to be?

Mute Alan Currie
    Favourite Alan Currie
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:11 PM

The extremely wealthy love telling us how awful it is to be poor.

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Mar 29th 2019, 2:15 PM

Over paid, over pensioned and taking the mickey with his Lear jet use up to Belfast.

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Mar 29th 2019, 2:24 PM

The streets of Dublin are littered with what Our President describes as “The left out”
    One might ask what he ,whilst a Govt Minister did for those unfortunate people . Maybe watching the news or reading the papers might give him some idea of the life of the “Left Out” on the streets of our Capital City Come down from your Ivory Tower Mr President and walk the streets of Dublin at night where hardly a doorway is unoccupied by “The left out”

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 29th 2019, 3:21 PM

The EU needs to go back to its founding principles of promoting peace and trade,or break up,people do not want this militarisation of the EU.

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Mar 29th 2019, 10:56 PM

@@mdmak33: Nato is just a savers club to buy un-needed weapons from the US as Russia is the manufactured enemy for arms sales in Europe.

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Mar 29th 2019, 10:58 PM

@@mdmak33: The EU is run by bankers, and its open for business for anything?

Mute The Great Unwashed
    Favourite The Great Unwashed
    Mar 30th 2019, 7:54 AM

@TamuMassif2019:
    Ask the people of Ukraine if they see Russia as a manufactured enemy…

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:41 PM

Socialist mumbo jumbo meaningless buzz words, like `social cohesion`, equality`etc, stock in trade for septuagenarian lefties like Higgins who had been writing this unreadable drivel for decades now.
    Because of the botched and incompetent Brexit the federalist socialist agenda of the EU has been overlooked for the past few years.
    Once the bothersome Brits are out of the way tho, it will be payback time, first item on the agenda Ireland`s corporate rate, then roll on `integration`harmonization` etc ie; federation, European Army etc, and just wait until your little darlings get conscripted in a couple of years time, people need to wise up and red pill on the EU, inform yourself, and you won`t find out what`s really happening by watching RTE/Virgin media/DO`B media.

Mute Ben
    Favourite Ben
    Mar 29th 2019, 7:06 PM

@Patrick James Walsh: In round figures Ireland owes 200 Billion. Since then we borrowed an additional 160 Billion 60 Billion of this went into the banks but we are due to get 30 of that back So of the 200 billion we owe only 30 billion has to do with bailed out banks and as a result of the course we took the government can issue bonds at 0.5% Why are you not a incensed about the other 130 Billion that was borrowed to fund the budget deficit during the same time?

Mute Billy Cussen
    Favourite Billy Cussen
    Mar 29th 2019, 2:02 PM

Spot on Michael D, I’m firmly a euro-skeptic at this point which is unfortunate for all the benefits the EEC and the EU has brought Ireland. There should be a major effort made to make the EU more accountable to its citizens and more transparency into what laws they are planning on drafting and passing. Article 11 and 13 will set a very bad precedent for start-ups and independent creators/commentators – even Silicon Valley will have trouble implementing the filters/algorithms being asked for here

Mute Declan Lennon
    Favourite Declan Lennon
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:22 PM

Michael D is a genius. All the clowns and well read clowns throughout the governing can’t even figure something as simple as that. But then again they spend to much time thinking we’re the clowns.

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:29 PM

@Declan Lennon: What is the”governing”?

Mute Declan Lennon
    Favourite Declan Lennon
    Mar 29th 2019, 12:30 PM

The biggest issue with Brexit is the north and there isn’t even a government in the north..

Mute Jack Crabbe
    Favourite Jack Crabbe
    Mar 29th 2019, 5:11 PM

Diddley dee hobbit

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Mar 29th 2019, 6:48 PM

We should have had a “new mind” instead of re-electing him…

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:53 PM

But you liked the money to pay back the bank debt when it came in. And UK would not have help much at the time if I remember… Now that Ireland is the only country in Ireland speaking English as a first language, many would think leaving… Pat back the debt first.

Mute Tim Oleary
    Favourite Tim Oleary
    Mar 29th 2019, 3:30 PM

Of course our President can have an opinion and I’m glad he shares it with us. Great man.

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Mar 29th 2019, 5:50 PM

@Tim Oleary: #notmypresident

Mute Noel McGuinness
    Mar 29th 2019, 6:06 PM

@Daniel Dunne: If you look at the map, Ireland location is vital the only land between america canada, The Eu sees this as vital control point to the pacific it’s like a rook on a chess board. MORE CONTROL FOR THE MANIAC’S – more meandering bull$&!t from mick d

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Mar 29th 2019, 10:53 PM

I fear that bankers, the IMF and Germany will bring the EU crashing down on everyones heads. If the UK leaves the EU then when the EU crashes, they might be our life buoy then?

Mute Michael Dunleavy
    Favourite Michael Dunleavy
    Mar 30th 2019, 12:27 AM

Well done Michael D .Your are a great speaker
    and have a great vision to see the truth in complex
    situation,s

Mute Joe Brady
    Favourite Joe Brady
    Mar 29th 2019, 1:24 PM

Muppet. Not the time to be critisizing the EU.

Mute Noel McGuinness
    Mar 29th 2019, 6:03 PM

@Daniel Dunne: If you look at the map, Ireland location is vital the only land between america canada, The Eu sees this as vital control point to the pacific it’s like a rook on a chess board. MORE CONTROL FOR THE MANIAC’S – more meandering bull$h!t