You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

qingqing via Shutterstock

Column Building a bigger Cork prison with doubled-up cells is completely senseless

The new prison in Cork is being built to hold more prisoners, even though our crime rate is decreasing, and cells are being planned for doubled-occupancy. This goes against internationally-supported standards, writes Fiona Ní Chinneide.

THE BUILDING OF a new prison to replace the current Cork Prison, which is completely unfit for purpose, is long overdue. Since 1993, the European Committee for the Prevention of Torture (CPT) CPT’s description of conditions at the prison in 2010, makes for stark reading:

The poor conditions were exacerbated by the lack of in-cell sanitation. The situation was particularly bad in those cells being used to hold two or three prisoners on protection, as they could spend up to 23 hours locked up together in the cell. The air in a number of these cells was rank and humid. In one cell in C Block, three prisoners on protection who were accommodated together did not possess a chamber pot and had to share a bottle for the purpose of urinating; if necessary, they defecated into a plastic bag. In the CPT’s view, apart from representing a health hazard, such treatment is degrading.

It’s worth remembering that prisoners also eat all their meals in these squalid conditions. In this context, action on Cork Prison is urgent, welcome, and should not be delayed any longer.

However, the Irish Penal Reform Trust (IPRT) is dismayed that the opportunity to align with best practice and plan for single occupancy of cells has been missed. Coming at a time when crime rates are decreasing and the numbers in prison are being reduced, IPRT strongly believes that the decision to build a larger prison, with doubling-up planned for most of the cells, is misguided.

Building bigger prisons

There are two main issues here. The first is that replacing a prison designed for 146 prisoners with one which can hold up to 310 prisoners represents penal expansion. International and national evidence shows that if you build more prison spaces, they will be filled – prison numbers are dictated by policy, not crime rates. (The sharp acceleration of numbers being imprisoned in Ireland, which occurred from 2007 to 2011, is directly attributable to mandatory sentencing for drugs and firearms offences – a ‘tough on crime’ policy which had no demonstrated impact on reducing drugs or firearms crime.) If you build bigger prisons, you create a bigger burden on the taxpayer, with negligible impact on reducing crime.

Doubling-up of cells

The second issue is the planning for doubling-up in cells. Of the 170 cells planned for the new Cork Prison, only 30 are designated for single-occupancy. This is at odds with plans for Mountjoy Prison, which will be run at single-cell occupancy once refurbishment is complete. The Dóchas Centre, once hailed as a ‘model prison’, was designed for single-cell occupancy. Clearly, single-occupancy of cells is considered best practice by the Irish Prison Service itself.

Cell-sharing also runs contrary to international standards, including the European Prison Rules, which stipulate that single-occupancy should be the norm. These standards are not based on some kind-hearted notion of making the prison experience easier for offenders – the standards exist for reasons of prisoner safety, prison management, and the better reintegration of prisoners on release.
Although there are circumstances where prisoners prefer to share cells, for example vulnerable prisoners at risk of self-harm (rates of self-harm are much higher in prison than in the community), a prison system in which doubling up is the norm increases risks of intimidation, drug use, and violence.
Drugs in Prison

Cell sharing makes the control of contraband into and around a prison more difficult to manage, putting pressure on prison staff. It increases the likelihood of drug use, as non-drug users or those who are trying to come off or remain off drugs, can be placed in close proximity to drug users. On a very basic level, cell-sharing is hardly conducive to positive efforts by prisoners to address their drug use. As the CPT observed in 2010:

“…a number of cases of prisoners at Cork Prison who had not been provided with any support as they underwent drug withdrawal and who were clearly suffering. In several cases, the prisoners in question were sharing a cell with one or two other persons which, given the symptoms of withdrawal (including vomiting and diarrhoea) and the lack of in-cell sanitation, made the process all the more unpleasant.”

Cell-sharing can also lead to intimidation of prisoners to bring drugs into prison. This in turn impacts on families, who, under threat of serious violence against their loved ones inside, come under pressure to bring drugs into prison – drawing already marginalised communities deeper into a negative cycle of crime and punishment.

Protection

Cell-sharing can escalate tensions between prisoners, and consequently increases risks of violence for prisoners and staff alike. Concerns for safety in turn leads to high numbers of prisoners being held on ‘protection’ regimes: locked in cells for up to 23 hours a day, with little access to training or work. It is known that prolonged physical and social isolation of individuals within prison can have significant – and irreversible – negative effects on their mental health, so the use of protection must only ever be a temporary measure. A policy of single-cell occupancy as the norm would go some way towards addressing the over-reliance on protection regimes to ensure prisoner safety in Irish prisons.

Safer prisons, safer communities

IPRT has called on the Irish Prison Service to set targets for achieving the principle of single-occupancy across the prison system over the medium term. This would decrease drug-use and violence in prison, and reduce the need for ‘protection’ regimes, thereby contributing to better reintegration of prisoners on release – making society safer for everyone.

Fíona Ní Chinnéide is Campaigns & Communications Manager with the Irish Penal Reform Trust: www.iprt.ie

Read: New Cork prison will be “cramped and oppressive”

Read: 249 prisoners to be released from Irish jails over Christmas

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute Limerick Soviet
    Favourite Limerick Soviet
    Jan 23rd 2014, 7:39 PM

I said this last week,

limerick and cork should get together and build a super prison on the border and close the prisons in our cities, the land the existing prisons are on would go along way in paying for a new prison.

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    Jan 23rd 2014, 7:48 PM

The cost of ferrying prisoners to and from court would negate that. Besides Charlieville is already a prison for those who live there.

Mute Limerick Soviet
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:00 PM

croc

so just build a courthouse in the prison.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:10 PM

No need to ferry them – technology there to have them appear before the court on screen from Prison.

Mute Shane Walsh
    Favourite Shane Walsh
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:33 PM

Spike island

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:40 PM

Building a courthouse in such a prison would require asking our all powerful judges and solicitors to move to the countryside or commute. No TD has the liathrodai to even attempt that.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jan 23rd 2014, 9:25 PM

Nice out of the box thinking Limerick Soviet. It isn’t too often ideas appear here.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jan 24th 2014, 12:02 AM

One problem with your sales idea Limerick. Who is going to buy the sites? As soon as the IPS vacated them they would have preservation orders slapped on them as Historic Buildings. Who wants decaying prison buildings that they can’t knock and must maintain?

Mute Jim Brady
    Favourite Jim Brady
    Jan 23rd 2014, 7:38 PM

New policy so : Soft on Crime
    The “He’s a good boy your honour, normally never does this kind of thing” approach for a crime-free society?
    Sorry, I just can’t buy the idea that having sufficient prison space to house criminals (specifically repeat offenders), will have zero impact on crime.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Jan 23rd 2014, 7:51 PM

There’s nothing new in that policy Jim. The author mentions a falling crime rate, but makes no mention of the fact that a lack of spaces is resulting in more suspended sentences, more criminals being out on bail & more criminals getting let out on temporary release. More prison spaces mean more criminals locked up – simple as that.

Mute YouNeek
    Favourite YouNeek
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:16 PM

The IPRT have a lot to answer for, they do not hold the moral high ground. Rehabilitation is only realistic for a portion of the prison population. A large proportion of criminals are purely in it for the money or have been indoctrinated into that way of life there is no turning them. I have nothing but contempt for the likes of the immoral IPRT though it’s best I hold my tongue.

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:35 PM

In what way are they immoral for trying to reform how things are done in prisons? You may or may not agree with them but I don’t see how it’s immoral to highlight what could be seen as inhumane practices

Mute YouNeek
    Favourite YouNeek
    Jan 23rd 2014, 9:02 PM

@ Stephen, the path to hell is paved with good intentions. And the reform the IPRT wants has allowed the likes of sky sports and spa treatments for prisoners. That’s not reform. Where is the evidence that prisoners are forced to properly rehabilitate, none. They don’t have to earn reduced sentences as they get them automatically. How many prisoners leave prison with real qualifications. Why are there gyms with free weights allowing prisoners become physically stronger and bigger and hence more dangerous. Where is the extra penalties for repeated criminality? The reform the IPRT has encouraged just makes a mockery of our justice system and that’s immoral. The focus of any justice system should be justice for the victim not the perpetrators of crime.

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Jan 23rd 2014, 9:14 PM

Fair enough, thanks for that, a lot of that sounds reasonable. I still think they have a point with the doubled-up cells though!

Mute YouNeek
    Favourite YouNeek
    Jan 23rd 2014, 9:26 PM

Some of what they say does have merit like you say accommodation issues, just that there overall approach is very misguided and naive.

Mute Harry Webb
    Favourite Harry Webb
    Jan 23rd 2014, 9:42 PM

Threats of violence by prison inmates? There better inside then than on the streets! If it is costing too much prisoners assets should be seized to pay for their incarceration.

Mute Harry Webb
    Favourite Harry Webb
    Jan 23rd 2014, 9:43 PM

Correction…they are…

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jan 24th 2014, 12:59 PM

“Crime rate decreasing”. Yeah…..

Mute THE VOICE
    Favourite THE VOICE
    Jan 23rd 2014, 7:49 PM

The best way to keep the jail population down is to put
    pedophiles,rapists,child molesters and murderers into general population .The problem will take care of itself..As bad as prisoners are they have a code of conduct and you dont touch kids or women .And if you do your fair game in their eyes……………….

Mute Diarmuid O'Connor
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Connor
    Jan 23rd 2014, 7:51 PM

One big room, loads of weapons, no overheads and no supervision. Actually scrap the room, I’m thinking island like battle royale. I’d happily pay to watch.

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    Jan 23rd 2014, 7:54 PM

Can I book a double en-suite for the end of November ? If I terrorise someone in their own home I should get at least 4 months after discounts which would see me back on the streets just as the weather gets nice. Sounds like a nice place.

Mute Limerick Soviet
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:03 PM

ipsum

you jest but a guard told me that there’s a rush among scvmbags in limerick to get into prison for december and january, so they can get fed and found.

Mute Tracey Nally
    Favourite Tracey Nally
    Jan 23rd 2014, 7:55 PM

So is the suggestion from the the author, that whenever a person is found guilty of a crime that warrants a custodial sentence we let them back out on the street again. What about the victim’s rights in all this?

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Jan 23rd 2014, 9:20 PM

The only rights that exist are those of the lawyers on the free legal aid gravy train having unrestricted access to taxpayers money.

Criminals in jail do not fit in with the justice economy… or elite social welfare – which ever title you prefer.

We are being attacked from below and above.

Mute Felix Causidy
    Favourite Felix Causidy
    Jan 24th 2014, 12:32 PM

@ The Lone Hurler

There is no such thing as “the free legal aid gravy train” Hurler. Access to tax payers money is extremely restricted and legal aid is extraordinary value for money to the Irish public.

Mute Peter McKevitt
    Favourite Peter McKevitt
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:02 PM

A dormitory and a bucket is too good for these lowlifes.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:03 PM

Cry me a river.
    There are two choices available to society for those that commit crime. Corporal punishments or Prison. In our supposedly “enlightened age” flogging is a no go. So that just leaves us with prison. And so that means building new prisons to replace our Victorian era ones. So in Cork prison where the new prison is planned they have limited room to build. They could build the Prison 6-7 stories high to give each prisoner an individual cell but I am sure the residents around it would not be overjoyed to have such a high building over shadowing their homes. So they have to make the cells double occupancy to keep the height to the same level as the existing prison.
    Now many of you will ask why not build a completely new prison elsewhere. In simple terms money. We have already seen the massive waste of money that was spent on the now defunct “Super Prison” for Dublin. Do you as tax payers want to spend double/triple that again? Because that is what a new prison on a green field site will cost.

Mute Limerick Soviet
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:14 PM

so sell the land that the prison in limk and cork are on and build on a greenfield site.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:20 PM

It’s not as simple as just building a Prison. The infrastructures have to be built to support it. Water, Sewage, Electricity and Roads. Then how far away is the nearest Hospital and Garda station?

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:42 PM

Slop out with buckets and don’t be overly concerned with the nearest hospital. I’m sure we can afford a 1st aid kit.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jan 23rd 2014, 9:33 PM

And what if an Officer needs emergency medical treatment?

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Jan 23rd 2014, 9:39 PM

Good point, I hadn’t thought of that.

Mute Hugh Jarse
    Favourite Hugh Jarse
    Jan 23rd 2014, 7:53 PM

In one part she says crime rates are reducing and then later says “A tough on crime approach that has had no demonstrated impact on drug and firearms crimes”. Is the fact that crime rates are reducing not a demonstrated impact?

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:10 PM

I don’t have the stats at hand, but I see no problem. Crime as a whole can reduce, without any accompanying reduction in a specific type of crime.

Mute Hugh Jarse
    Favourite Hugh Jarse
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:24 PM

I just had a quick look at the CSO website and while I couldn’t find figures for firearms offenses, drugs offenses are way down.

Mute Dublin History
    Favourite Dublin History
    Jan 23rd 2014, 11:01 PM

I wonder why? Maybe there are less Guards on the streets?

Mute defcon5
    Favourite defcon5
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:53 PM

Without even reading this my reply is: cop on do gooder go get burgled robbed or stabbed then get back to me and il arrange a hugging session for you with some druggies ( not allowed use the J word_)

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne
    Jan 23rd 2014, 8:30 PM

This article has more holes than a dart board.

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Jan 23rd 2014, 9:15 PM

Crime rate decreasing? Yea mean churning more criminals back onto the street to feed the free legal aid gravy train.

Mute YouNeek
    Favourite YouNeek
    Jan 23rd 2014, 9:37 PM

Regardless of your views on prisons, suggesting crime rates are down therefore we need less prison places is beyond delusional. She must be eating magic mushrooms or something

Mute stephen kavanagh

Good article. It’s punishment enough to be deprived of freedom, without inhumane conditions on top of it. But the main issue, as the author highlights, is that doubled up cells clearly reduce any chance of proper rehabilitation, which we should all want from a prison system.

Mute AlanHarte
    Favourite AlanHarte
    Jan 24th 2014, 9:34 AM

An often overlooked positive effect of imprisonment is that the prisoner cannot commit crime against the rest of the population while in jail.

Mute Shane Hartnett
    Favourite Shane Hartnett
    Jan 23rd 2014, 10:49 PM

Fiona,you really don’t have a clue..do you. Your intentions are good if we did succeed in rehabilitation we would be the first country in the world to do so..EDUCATION is the way, educating young children ,not normalising prison for them because daddy uncle and possibly mum are in jail..If we normalise prison for these young children its hard to convince them in later life that being in prison is wrong. If we do educate them and push education, they will realise that crime is not a good career…’

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Jan 24th 2014, 12:57 AM

All well and good, but the children already see the real criminals walking around free.?

Mute Glen Norman
    Favourite Glen Norman
    Jan 24th 2014, 12:21 AM

They’re right, it is senseless. Surely being sent to Cork is punishment enough

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Jan 23rd 2014, 9:22 PM

Gov getting ready for austerity protesters

Mute Stephen Howard
    Favourite Stephen Howard

That’s just typical of cork it’s the worse run county in ireland joke of a place

Mute Stephen McMahon
    Favourite Stephen McMahon
    Jan 23rd 2014, 11:04 PM

Dig a huge hole and throw them in there. A tent per person and basic food and sanitation

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    Jan 25th 2014, 2:32 AM

Prison should be a deterrent, i.e. designed so that no-one who does time can face doing it again; the regime should be brutal enough to break the most hardened criminal. That’s my idea of rehabilitation. Key to an effective prison system is plenty of hard labour because (a) most of these gougers can’t stand having to work; (b) it could be used to make them earn their keep; and (c) it would deny them the time and energy for misbehaving at other times (never mind TV and drugs to keep them placid, what about exhausting physical work to tire them out instead?). And, as someone pointed out below, why on earth are prisons being kitted out with expensive gyms – at considerable expense to the taxpayer – when all this can achieve is to make violent inmates stronger and hence even more dangerous?

Unfortunately, however, prison will only get more and more cushty (sorry, I meant “respectful of prisoners’ dignity and rights”) because of the politically correct hegemony imposed not only by ‘international obligations’ but by ivory tower idiots like the Penal Reform Trust.

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Jan 24th 2014, 12:54 AM

Prison? The whole island is a prison if only people would look with their eyes.
    We had no prisons under our own Brehon laws, had we?. So how have we sunk to this level as a society?

Mute Paddy Cullen
    Favourite Paddy Cullen
    Jan 24th 2014, 10:21 AM

Firstly, The Brehon Laws were Civil Laws not Criminal so not too relevant to criminals. Secondly, if you commit a crime you should go to prison, if that prison is a dump where you must share your cell with a vomiting, shitting into a plastic bag junkie then tough, you shouldn’t have committed the crime, you made a decision to break the law now live with the consequences. Surely prison should be so bad that no one wants to go back? Not some holiday camp where if someone as much as sneezes in your direction your crying you human rights are being infringed!