You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

BlueSkyImage via Shutterstock

Column I've entered the Church of Burton ... Yes, I am now a JobBridge intern

After two years of being unemployed, I’ve just started a JobBridge internship. The experience has been a mixed one so far.

IT’S BEEN OVER two years since I left full-time employment. Two years of days when I felt like I could take on the world and was bound to have my first novella published within the week. And days when I thought if I sent one more pitch email and was rebuffed I would give up forever and return to my past as a classroom cleaner. (Incidentally one of the most enjoyable jobs I’ve had)

My main problem is I’m a writer of words and they just don’t carry much currency. Unless you’re already established as some journalistic demi-god that hasn’t been turned into that two-face fella out of Batman by bribery and corruption in the modern press – if that is the case you could sell your scribbled shopping list for £250,000 a year.

I’m also a bit fussy about the work I do – not fussy fussy but, you know, within the realms of human decency fussy, all in return for minimum wage and Christmas Day off. In my dreams, of course, no one would work from 1 December to 10 January, at least, but alas, Christmas is all about Coca-Cola now and no one’s interested in my ebullient goodwill.

JobBridge or quit

Since I became unemployed I have spent most of my time bashing at a keyboard and getting annoyed with the state of the world. Particularly Joan Burton and stupid cat internet-thingies that turn up in my Twitter feed of a morning like they are meant to provide me succour. And for the record, Joan, I’m sorry; I know it’s not all your fault. You’re just an easy target.

But now it is time I admit, I have entered the Church of Burton and am taking part in a JobBridge scheme. I wasn’t left with much choice when the Social came calling, it was JobBridge or quit, despite my ongoing effort to find full-time employment. So here I am. Learning how to file, make tea and becoming adept at changing browser tabs for the next eight months. Or so I thought.

Actually it’s not too bad. So far my experience has been less like the Republic of Telly JobBridge sketch and more like actually getting to use my brain again although for 39 hours a week and a paltry extra €50. The position I applied for was general in its description, to say the least, but its promised admin and secretarial duties and I like nothing more than the tap-tap of a keyboard so it was good enough for me.

It’s actually ended up being a lot more than that, though; I’m part of a small team, dealing with the public on a daily basis. After a few days of shadowing, I was pretty much let loose to have a go myself and as of yet I haven’t burnt the place to the ground.

It’s made a change to talk to other people rather than staring desolately at my Twitter feed and empty email inbox. Particularly as the ratio of interns to employees is in our favour … perhaps I can convince my fellow interns to stage a revolt, if they weren’t all too scared to say anything. I’m also bound to soon transform into the fit and glowing worker, walking to walk in mismatched trainers and suit.

But while my mental and physical health may be bolstered by my new job, there is a cloud above me.

Could my contract be revoked?

My contract could always be revoked, or at least I’m terrified it could be. Making me and other interns in a similar position prostitute themselves to some extent, skipping lunch to take calls, covering for the rest of the office when they decide on an impromptu pub trip and crawling into work with a full-blown fever just in case we’re told to clear our desks otherwise.

This is exactly how Minister Burton and her cronies want us, though. Quiet, controlled and not making a fuss. What government doesn’t want to keep the masses down through extortion, bullying and manipulation, particularly the young that are their biggest threat in the polling stations? Sorry, all got a bit Orwell there. But how can it be fair to exploit a workforce that is prostrate and dependent on state benefits? Especially in my own circumstance, where a large proportion of the workforce is made up of other interns – and those who are recruited only get offered work after a period of working for free.

The success rate of the JobBridge scheme has been well-documented and the figures don’t make for great reading. However, whether this is down to the quality of employer or a reluctance of the welfare system to provide long-term solutions to the employment crisis that has seen no improvement, is harder to decipher.

I’m optimistic … but cautious

As my CV gets longer I’m not convinced my potential career prospects do, so perhaps I am just wasting time. That all being said, I am optimistic about my future in interning, even if it’s only for a few more months. By the time I reach the other side of the JobBridge, I should – if Joan Burton is to be believed – have more employability skills to add to the whole package that is ‘me’: a university graduate born a few years too late, who just happened to leave education as the tiger rolled over and died.

Any skills I have gained, though, will be a reflection of what I’ve done for myself and should in no way bolster Burton’s statistics. I’m determined not to be the intern that just files and fails to develop. I already have employable skills and there are gaps in my company I can see from the outside that I’m hoping to fill – once I get up the courage to present them to head office.

As far as I know at the moment I will definitely have Christmas off (hurrah!), whether I have a job to go back to afterwards … well, I hope so. And maybe I can then finally sign off on my social welfare.

The author wishes to remain anonymous for employment reasons.

Read: OECD says JobBridge is leaving most disadvantaged behind

Column: Unpaid internships, low wages, zero hour contracts – this is life without job security

We’re interested in your ideas and opinions – do you have a story you would like to see featured? Email opinions@thejournal.ie

Follow on Twitter: @TJ_Opinions

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 68 comments
68 Comments
    Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:15 PM

Companies who avail of Job Bridge to bolster their workforce should have to show a concerted effort to make a full time position available, otherwise it is an abuse of the participant. Should no job creation ultimately be viable at least the participant wouldn’t feel quite as used and harbour feelings of resentment and worthlessness.

Mute Nigel O Keeffe
    Favourite Nigel O Keeffe
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:21 PM

Well said peter..I would like to see the participating companies have to bring the intern up to min wage at least as a condition of availing of jobbridge..might help end some of the current exploitation..

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Apr 24th 2014, 2:07 PM

Not a bad idea Nigel. It’s what the spirit of internships are for. Not the crude exploitation this scam clearly is!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Apr 24th 2014, 7:11 PM

There should be a minimum amount of full time jobs guaranteed by companies using Jobbridge. If you take on 10 interns, surely there should be a job for at least one of them at the end of the 9 months.

Otherwise, it’s just exploitation of free labour.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:10 PM

Well good for you hope it works out, still doesn’t justify the local supermarket seeking an intern shelf stacker though.

Mute Sebastian Gilhooley
    Favourite Sebastian Gilhooley
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:22 PM

Why not norman? A lot of retail managers started off packing shopping bags or stacking shelves like I did.

Maybe if you lost the arrogant sence of entitlement and looked at the bigger picture you could understand. We all have to start somewhere and climb the ladder.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:28 PM

Seb so 18 months to learn how to stack shelves?

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:37 PM

if supermarkets want shelf stackers they should hire shelf stackers. While there is absolutely nothing wrong with it as a job (probably one we’ve all done at some stage) it doesn’t require an internship to gain experience in it. It’s nothing to do with arrogance or entitlement and more to do with anger over an scheme designed to help unemployed people, and in particular unemployed young people, gain experience in jobs which will provide a long-term career for them… rather than a scheme to allow low skill service business to avail of free* labour.

*which isn’t actually free as taxpayers fund it.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:44 PM

Well put Alan.

Mute Shane Barry
    Favourite Shane Barry
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:57 PM

Nothing wrong with actually being paid to work there, but being an intern for 18 months after which they toss you out the door, f**k that.

Mute Sebastian Gilhooley
    Apr 24th 2014, 3:19 PM

No norman not 18 months to stack shelves as you dismissively put it.

Can you tell me a person in such a position is going to be packing the same shelves every day? That they wouldn’t learn about customer service or stock control or dealing with sales reps. Maybe about being in charge of the ordering of a certain section. Maybe move on to cover other areas like dealing with cash at checkouts when people call in sick etc.

No that wouldn’t suit the shinner loving elements on the journal who believe the world owes them a living.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 24th 2014, 3:24 PM

Seb did I upset you, love the assumptions you make when you know nothing about me.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 24th 2014, 3:26 PM

Seb really to learn all the areas you mention takes 18 months but yet 5/6 years ago a 16 yr old would have it learnt off by the end of the summer.Grow up FFs.

Mute Ann Glasgow
    Favourite Ann Glasgow
    Apr 24th 2014, 3:35 PM

@Sebastian gilhooley, spoken like a true retail manager! starting the ladder for an extra €50 a week is soul destroying and exploitation no matter what way you look at it! I agree with starting at the bottom and working your way up but give the person a decent starting rate and at least minimum wage!

Mute Sebastian Gilhooley
    Apr 24th 2014, 3:57 PM

Norman you seem to have a very arrogant and ill informed attitude if you think a 16 year old can master stock control, ordering, dealing with cash etc… why don’t you deal with my points on how such an internship is not all about stacking the same shelves each and every day? No you won’t because it’s much easier to go off on a tangent and enter into a populist rant conplaining about everything. Typical Shinner.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Apr 24th 2014, 3:58 PM

The author is not getting 50 Euro extra per week, he’s getting 238 Euro per week to gain experience and avail of training. According to him it was this or be cut off.
    It is disheartening to see the attitude from some on here, how they mistakenly think they have to graft for a measly 50 quid, yet ignore the 188 they get fir doing sfa.
    This is the Celtic cub who thinks that because they have degrees, which were also heavily subsidised by the state by the way, that they feel entitled to walk into their chosen professions on a great wage.
    In the UK the dole is 70 Euro, someone working 39 hour on minimum wage gets 299 Euro a week.
    I propose slashing the dole to 50 a week and paying 188 to people who want to better themselves on a jobsbridge scheme, maybe the attitude would change.
    Time to wake up to the new reality folks.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 24th 2014, 4:12 PM

Seb again with stupid assumptions. Can’t debate so accuse me of being a Shinner, as I said grow up.

Mute Sebastian Gilhooley
    Apr 24th 2014, 4:12 PM

Well said patlyndo. I couldn’t agree more. Glad to see someone is living in the real world.

Mute Sebastian Gilhooley
    Apr 24th 2014, 4:25 PM

Ok norman. I’ll try one more time. Would you not concede that an intern could learn more than just the art of packing sheves if he or she had the right attitude and initiative?

Im not saying job bridge is perfect. Im just claiming that if it’s not abused and if the intern has a positive attitude (not a celtic tiger cub) then it’s a good thing with great potential.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Apr 24th 2014, 4:28 PM

Spot on Sebastian. Take advantage of it instead of complaining that it’s taking advantage of you.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 24th 2014, 4:33 PM

Seb you accuse me of being being a Shinner because you are unable to justify your argument,jog on.Commenting to you is a waste of time.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Apr 24th 2014, 4:42 PM

Not too long ago an 18 year was entitled to 188 a week for zilch, now it’s reduced to 100 Euro, again for absolutely nothing. Maybe the supermarket could afford to employ an 18 year old to stack shelves if they weren’t competing with this payment?

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Favourite AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Apr 24th 2014, 4:54 PM

Partly nd
    Agree with your point about people being paid 238 pw. However you need also to look at the cost of living, rents etc here compared to UK before calling for reducing welfare.
    Think of the cost of renting, buses, etc 188.00 really is a bare minimum for a single person living alone.Before anyone comes in with rent assist if your rent is above I think it’s 125 pw you don’t get any assistance.m
    Where in Dublin can you find anywhere for that. Sharing isn’t always an option.

Mute Alice O Connell
    Favourite Alice O Connell
    Apr 24th 2014, 5:14 PM

This is such an interesting debate. I’m just about to sit my final exams in law and french and have been a shelf stacker since I was 16 to put myself through college and so on. All I have gotten are rejection letters from various internships/ legal assistant positions I’ve applied for. It grates so much that there’s so many legal jobs on jobs bridge but obviously I don’t qualify for them without being in receipt of social welfare.. Its great to see people getting placements through the scheme of course but its makes no sense to me that Im qualified to do these internships too but am pretty much stuck a shelfstacker. Canada ahoy.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Apr 24th 2014, 5:26 PM

Steve, 188 plus 120 plus medical card Plus the ‘measly’ 50 quid extra is equivalent to a salary of about 25k. That’s not a bad starting salary, yet people here just don’t get that. As for not being able to find something on 120 a week in Dublin – move out further. Many working people can’t afford to live in Dublin, they get no help.
    As I said it’s about getting real.

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Apr 24th 2014, 6:20 PM

Hate to say it Alice but if they are only goin to pay what equates to €6 for your skills then you’d be better off elsewhere. I would find it belittling!

Mute Michelle Wickham
    Favourite Michelle Wickham
    Apr 24th 2014, 11:58 PM

Em, I was doing all of that when I was 16. It’s hardly rocket science now is it?

Mute Virtual Architect
    Favourite Virtual Architect
    May 4th 2014, 11:00 PM

If there’s no clear advantage accruing to an intern then the employer should not be availing of Job Bridge.

Mute Mark Keenan
    Favourite Mark Keenan
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:18 PM

Hope to see a follow-up article in a few months with good news!

Mute Charles J. Ahern
    Favourite Charles J. Ahern
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:34 PM

I started a job bridge scheme after the turn of the year. I have two degrees and a masters but in my line of work its pretty tough to get experience let alone work. Anyway, I decided to take the plunge because I was growing bored of doing nothing and disheartened at not even getting a rejection letter.

The job bridge I was offered was similar to my line of work so I was happy. However from day one it was clear that I was a filler for the company. I asked to do some work, showed my credentials, asked questions etc. but all I ended up doing was filling and sorting out the mess of someone who left. Even when asked the manager could I do something he left and I was left to find something to do.

One day while looking for an actual job I saw a job which would suit me down to the ground advertised in the same company. I asked the boss could I apply for it and he says you’re not what’s required for it, even though I was hired in similar position.

I ended up leaving after two weeks when the financial director said I was better off heading away and that I was overqualified for the job. He was honest and it seemed embarrassed that the company were using the scheme.

Luckily enough I found work that suits me down to the ground and gives me great experience. Its a shame that I had to head to England for it, but I’m not bitter. Its just something I’ve got to do.

Best of luck to the author. Hopefully they get some great experience and leads to full time work in the end.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Apr 24th 2014, 2:27 PM

Do you think the manager felt threatened by your qualifications?

Mute Charles J. Ahern
    Favourite Charles J. Ahern
    Apr 24th 2014, 3:50 PM

I wouldn’t have thought so, I mean he should have held similar qualifications himself.

Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:40 PM

Great article. I’m particularly intrigued by this bit, because it’s something I’ve been musing about for a while:

“My contract could always be revoked, or at least I’m terrified it could be. Making me and other interns in a similar position prostitute themselves to some extent, skipping lunch to take calls, covering for the rest of the office when they decide on an impromptu pub trip and crawling into work with a full-blown fever just in case we’re told to clear our desks otherwise.”

Do JobBridge interns have any “employment” rights at all? For example, have they any entitlement to days off? Anyone who’s employed for nine months should be entitled to about 15 days of paid leave (I’m approximating by the yearly rate), but is it actually the case that JobBridge employers could, theoretically, demand that every weekday of that nine months is worked? I know that they have to let people off for interviews, but that’s the only right that I’m aware of.

On another note, what about workplace protections? Are JobBridge “employers” obliged to uphold health and safety standards for people who aren’t, technically, employees? Do laws against harassment or bullying in the workplace apply? There was an American case a while back where an intern tried to sue for sexual harassment and wasn’t able to do so because she wasn’t an employee – could that happen here?

I’d love to hear a legal perspective on this, because the implications get more horrific the more you think about them.

Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    Mute Killjoy The Second
    Favourite Killjoy The Second
    Apr 24th 2014, 2:44 PM

http://www.jobbridge.ie/employereligible.aspx
    ‘The host organisation’s public/employers liability insurance and motor insurance, if applicable, will cover any interns on this scheme.’
    ‘The host organisation must be fully compliant with current workplace health and safety and all other legal requirements.’
    That particular case is applicable to New York state only because they have weird labour laws..

Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    Apr 24th 2014, 2:56 PM

Better than I had hoped for; thanks for that!

Mute Gar Morgan
    Favourite Gar Morgan

Hope all goes well for you, Iv done a jobbridge an found out halfway through that I was the 3rd intern for this role and that while one just left another was starting. That’s 2 jobbridge interns in the one company at the same time

Personally I did get some experience from it but it’s a waste of time, I enquired about a perm position with them and only got back bull answers

I knew there was nothing there when I said I have an interview with another firm for a full time paid job so id like to know where I stand regarding employment and was told to go for the interview. So basically there is always another intern we can get,

no job, no money, waste of time

Hopefully your experience is different to mine and you get more out of it than me

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:10 PM

For all it’s faults, and there are many, Job Bridge does get people who hve been long term unemployed back into the work environment.

Mute Nigel O Keeffe
    Favourite Nigel O Keeffe

As opposed to back into work!

Mute Bob MacBob
    Favourite Bob MacBob
    Apr 24th 2014, 3:31 PM

We’ve had three Job Bridgers here.

Two of them now work here full-time and we helped the third get a job in his new career.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Apr 25th 2014, 5:44 AM

WHERE Bob? pleading with you tell me where? It just seems like too many are exploiting the scheme because no ones monitoring them jobseekers just expected to sign up

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Apr 25th 2014, 5:44 AM

*to sign up no matter the case

Mute Tracey Nally
    Favourite Tracey Nally
    Apr 24th 2014, 2:23 PM

There should be some sort of monitoring on these schemes. If a company is using a succession of job bridge interns, then they should be in a position to a hire a full time person.

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Favourite AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Apr 24th 2014, 5:01 PM

Tracey,
    Correct the UK have a similar scheme. Revenue, social Eric did a sweep last year can’t remember only particular area or nationwide.
    If I remember correctly over 500 firms, fined, made to pay tax and is some extreme cases barred from using the system.
    If the scheme is properly monitored it could work well. Any company that takes 2 interns one after the other to do the same job then obviously there is a full time position, similar to contract workers.

Mute Kieran Harvey
    Favourite Kieran Harvey
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:30 PM

It’s the paltry additional €50 that annoys me. If they even stretched it to €150 (along with reducing the universal dole €188 by say €50) it would be alot more attractive and dignified.

Mute Wheres My Nama
    Favourite Wheres My Nama
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:38 PM

€338 a week tax free?, there would be no one complaining then

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Apr 24th 2014, 2:24 PM

That would make it alot more attractive.

Mute Joe Simpson
    Favourite Joe Simpson
    Apr 24th 2014, 7:17 PM

The company pays you nothing that additional 50 is from social welfare

Mute Daniel Hayden
    Favourite Daniel Hayden
    Apr 25th 2014, 10:17 AM

Some creative accounting there? There’s your Nama.
    €150+€188-€50 doesn’t make €338.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 24th 2014, 5:24 PM

I started a jobsbridge internship 9 months ago.

Thankfully I was given a full time contract. I cannot criticise the scheme at all.

Mute Joe Simpson
    Favourite Joe Simpson
    Apr 24th 2014, 7:18 PM

They waited 9 months to give you a paid position. How generous of them

Mute Dec de Feck
    Favourite Dec de Feck
    Jun 22nd 2014, 10:40 PM

Cool comment Joe S. Paul your not a pratt but your not not a pratt either.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Apr 24th 2014, 7:20 PM

They revoked my sons Intern-ship via email yesterday. No explanations. He was again kicked in the face after making an effort to work 40 hours a week for 3 euro an hour. Its disgusting.
    I hope you dont get same email. They are a shower of criminals in government and Department of social services. And i mean the ones at top not the the poor front line people who get it all in neck because they are at the front lines.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Apr 24th 2014, 7:22 PM

And apparently its happening every other day to people on these schemes. I swear to god i would rather live off 100 euro a week no electric or food than work for 3 euro an hour. And if it comes to me being stuck on social welfare long enough for them to try force me onto one of those slave labour schemes, I will turn in my social welfare card.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:11 PM

2 years unemployed and you only join jobridge now!

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89

I’d say she spent those years looking for work before finally making the decision to subject herself to an exploitative scheme designed to subsidise employers and massage social welfare figures. Fair play to her, I suppose, but there’s not a hope I’d do one. I wouldn’t play their game.

Mute R H Beige Lark
    Favourite R H Beige Lark
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:41 PM

How long did it take you to join the scheme Brian?

Mute Dec de Feck
    Favourite Dec de Feck
    Jun 22nd 2014, 10:56 PM

Teachers Pet Brian

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Apr 24th 2014, 6:59 PM

Gas this joan burton cuts peoples money and gives herself a 20k plus payrise totally ludicrous

Mute Geoff Lynam
    Favourite Geoff Lynam
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:41 PM

I’ve seen the scheme work in a number of cases with the people taken on becoming invaluable to the SME who took them on. Creating a full time permanent job for them when the job bridge contract ran out and then taking in someone else from job bridge… All of these schemes can be exploited but I see it as something positive helping get long term unemployed back in the workforce!

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    Apr 24th 2014, 1:31 PM

All the best…. I hope those who happen on your article and unemployed give JobBridge…. Or whatever else out there a chance…. Sitting on your keaster is doing no one any good.

Mute Andrew Parle
    Favourite Andrew Parle
    Apr 24th 2014, 10:33 PM

I’m in a job bridge programme and it’s a waste of time.. The company do not have the financial ability to give me a job and it’s a case that I know more than the owner of the company. Free labour!! Andy

Mute WellHello
    Favourite WellHello

There are two issues here: one is that some people are claiming dole who have no intention of working (even before recession, lack of jobs etc). What do you do with these?

Second: the job bridge scheme I presume is trying to address the issue above. However, there may be some aspects that would now need to be reviewed as time goes on.

Overall, I think it’s a great opportunity for people who want to work to gain experience in a company that otherwise may not look twice at them. But as I said, needs review.

Mute Rex Gardener
    Favourite Rex Gardener

Is he a intern for the journal?

Mute Tom O Shaughnessy
    Favourite Tom O Shaughnessy
    Apr 24th 2014, 8:01 PM

I support the idea of job bridge but feel people should at at least get the minimum wage with a small contribution from the employer. Well done hope things work out for you.

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Apr 24th 2014, 4:41 PM

Just one stage in auto genocide.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Apr 25th 2014, 5:46 AM

Jobscam is deeply flawed. I want to know who are the employers that are willing to consider offering employment not merely exploit their interns.