Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now

Scrub up for a trip to Ireland's least tidy towns

New entrants from Limerick and Monaghan score lowest in the Tidy Towns – but popular tourist spot Bunratty is only just better.

It's unfortunately ironic that aside from its castle, Bunratty is known for a pub called Durty Nelly's
It's unfortunately ironic that aside from its castle, Bunratty is known for a pub called Durty Nelly's
Image: Munster Images via Picasa

THE POPULAR COUNTY CLARE tourist village of Bunratty in Co Clare has been revealed as one of Ireland’s least tidy towns, according to the results of the Tidy Towns competition.

The village best known for its medieval motte-and-bailey castle scored just one point better than the villages of Kings Island in Limerick and Greenan’s Cross in Monaghan, though those two towns, which were also new to the competition, elicited only positive feedback from the judges.

Bunratty managed just 171 points out of a possible 400, while the two other villages managed just 170.

The village’s relatively low score can be attributed, however, to the fact that an Avoca outlet in the village burnt down in 2007 and much of the damage has yet to be addressed.

In other counties, Ballyhooly scores lowest in Cork with 180; Bekan in Mayo managed just 190, while Coilldubh in Co Kildare could only must 181.

Louth’s Clos na Manach managed 193, while in Offaly, Moneyfall – the ancestral home of US president Barack Obama – could only muster 185 marks. Ballaghaderreen, in Roscommon, scored 178.

Notably, in Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, the affluent area of Foxrock was the lowest-scoring area taking part in the competition – though its score was still above 200.

The following is the list of the lowest scorers in each county, with their score out of 400:

  • Carlow – Old Leighin, 215
  • Cavan – Bailieborough, 201
  • Clare – Bunratty, 171
  • Cork North – Ballyhooly, 180
  • Cork South – Passage West, 184
  • Cork West – Aherla, 206
  • Donegal – Downings, 203
  • Dublin City – Rialto, 226
  • Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown – Foxrock, 211
  • Fingal – Rusheeny, 201
  • South Dublin – Bushfield Park, 187
  • Galway – Ahascragh, 206
  • Kerry – Fenit, 200
  • Kildare – Coilldubh, 181
  • Kilkenny – Goresbridge, 198
  • Laois – Portarlington, 214
  • Leitrim – Manorhamilton, 191
  • Limerick – Kings Island, 170
  • Longford – Tagshinny, 189
  • Louth – Clos na Manach, 193
  • Mayo – Bekan, 190
  • Meath – Drumconrath, 203
  • Monaghan – Greenan’s Cross, 170
  • Offaly – Moneygall, 185
  • Roscommon – Ballaghaderreen, 178
  • Sligo – Culfadda, 207
  • Tipperary North – Capparoe, 204
  • Tipperary South – New Inn, 218
  • Waterford – Cheekpoint, 216
  • Westmeath – Drumcree, 211
  • Wexford – Taghmon, 214
  • Wicklow – Dunlavin, 211

Making a difference

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.

Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can make sure we can keep reliable, meaningful news open to everyone regardless of their ability to pay.

About the author:

Gavan Reilly

Read next: