You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer speaks to reporters ahead of a procedural vote to essentially codify Roe v. Wade. J. Scott Applewhite/PA

US Senate to vote on bill that codifies right to abortion into law, but it will likely fail

Democrats were due to lead the vote in a bid to pin down Republicans on the deeply divisive issue ahead of crucial midterm elections.

DEMOCRATS IN THE US Senate were due to lead a vote today to codify the right to abortion into federal law in a bid to pin down Republicans on the deeply divisive issue ahead of crucial midterm elections, even though they expect the measure to fail.

The move comes amid a political firestorm ignited by a leaked draft opinion that showed the Supreme Court’s conservative majority prepared to overturn Roe v. Wade, a landmark 1973 ruling guaranteeing abortion access nationwide.

“If that happens, tens of millions of women will see their freedoms contract in the blink of an eye,” the Senate’s Democratic majority leader Chuck Schumer said Tuesday.

“Our children will grow up in a world where they have fewer rights than their parents and grandparents had. America will take a painful and damaging step backwards.”

The House-passed Women’s Health Protection Act would create a federal statute assuring health care providers have the right to provide abortions and patients have the right to receive them.

But the 60 votes needed to advance the debate towards a final yes or no vote in the evenly-divided, 100-member Senate are not there.

Even if they were, the Democrats don’t have the 51 votes required to pass the legislation since Democrat Joe Manchin is opposed to abortion rights, and crossed the aisle to vote with Republicans in February against a near-identical version of the measure.

The only two Republican supporters of abortion rights – senators Susan Collins of Maine and Lisa Murkowski of Alaska – also opposed the earlier version.

The move is seen as significant, however, with abortion rights set to be a hot button issue for November’s midterm elections, when control of both the House and Senate will be at stake.

“Generally, the people who vote and turn out based on abortion policy are those who support more restrictions on abortion rights,” said Shana Gadarian, professor of political science at Syracuse University.

supreme-court-abortion A man holds a sign saying hands off Roe, as a Capitol Police Officer walks past barricades outside of the US Supreme Court. Jacquelyn Martin Jacquelyn Martin

“By striking down Roe, this is likely to create a new constituency of pro-choice voters who are activated to turn out and donate in ways that they would not normally in a midterm election.”

Day of action

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell has suggested a federal abortion ban is “possible” if Roe is overturned.

Democrats seized on the remark, arguing that highlighting their disagreement with Republicans could help them in the midterms, with the majority of Americans supporting abortion rights.

“If we are not successful, then we go to the ballot box,” Senator Amy Klobuchar told ABC on Sunday.

“We march straight to the ballot box, and the women of this country and the men who stand with them will vote like they’ve never voted before.”

Meanwhile, activism around the issue is becoming increasingly acrimonious, with angry protesters in favor of abortion rights gathering at the homes of Supreme court justices in Washington.

Multiple organizations that support abortion rights have called for a “massive day of action” on Saturday, with marches in New York, Washington, Chicago and Los Angeles, as well as hundreds of smaller events nationwide.

Police in the nation’s capital, still on edge after Congress was attacked by a mob of former president Donald Trump’s supporters in 2021, have set up temporary fencing around the court.

The leaked opinion is also spawning renewed calls by Democrats and progressives to add justices to the court, fueled by the possibility that the justices will not stop with Roe v. Wade and could overturn other landmark decisions.

© AFP 2022 

View 15 comments
15 Comments
    Mute silentbob2012
    Favourite silentbob2012
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:14 AM

Enough of the news coverage on this!

These guys were little more than the dregs of society, involved in the peddling of human misery and death so why the interest in their apparent demise?

It’s not as if these were two boy scouts missing on an overnight camp…these were two hardened crims allegedly off to collect on a debt despite what some bleeding heart liberals may wish to call them or plead for their wrong turn in life. Yet we get regular updates on the search. What a waste of resources.

Mute Saul goodman
    Favourite Saul goodman
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:39 AM

Then why click on the link and take the time to write an essay long moan? I for one, want to know the outcome of this story

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:43 AM

Silent bob, there’s nothing to suggest these people were hardened criminals. The gardai said they were not considered serious criminals and wouldn’t be considered well known. Have a bit of humanity and spare a thought for the people effected by this. These people have family, children, mothers and fathers. Regardless of what you think, they do not deserve whatever has happened. They are not murderers and like myself you don’t know the circumstances behind this so keep your heartless, vile tripe for yourself.

See 34 more replies ▾
    Mute Kaz Diyar
    Favourite Kaz Diyar
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:46 AM

Whatever your thought are of these two lads .they come from hard working decent families..who are devastated by this .family and neighbours have gone down to search NOT harden criminals as has been posted on here.I live in the area and they were lovely kids growing up .have some respect for their INNOCENT FAMILIES

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Favourite The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 11:23 AM

Don’t be giving me that palaver…. Not hardened criminals…. Because that’s ok FFS. Criminals are criminals no matter what way you dress it. The sort of scrotes who wouldn’t have a problem giving you a dig or two. I’ll save my sympathy for the people who deserve it, not a pair of s###bags who came to Cavan collecting drug money.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 11:28 AM

And furthermore it’s the bleeding heart attitudes of friends / neighbours / family that continues to reinforce this behaviour as being OK. As long as we have people like this siding down on the side of s###bags like that gangland culture won’t change.

Mute Kaz Diyar
    Favourite Kaz Diyar
    Apr 26th 2014, 11:45 AM

@the truth hurts ..do u know these people personally ?no .do you know what comes they have commented ? No ..Their families are INNOCENT .that’s the TRUTH .does that hurt you ???

Mute gerryb
    Favourite gerryb
    Apr 26th 2014, 11:54 AM

I m sure hitlers mother was a nice woman…this article is about two people who are questionable bad to say the least,and not about there families!i know a lot of bad eggs in this town and there parents are ok but there kids are still pond life who inflict pain on decent people…trust me I know!

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 12:31 PM

Truth Hurts. You are clueless and naive. It is obvious you know nothing of the causes of crime. Take the silver spoon from your mouth and realise the real cause of crime is the disenfranchisement of our youth caused by self serving political gombeens.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 12:39 PM

Blame the politicians? Cop out. There’s lots of people who have came from poor backgrounds and have gone on to do great things. They didn’t turn to crime. If there’s anyone naive and clueless it’s is you sir. Silver spoon? You are hilarious.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 12:41 PM

No Tom rooney it is you who are clueless and naïve and a complete gobs-ite what an ignorant and idiotic statement.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 1:46 PM

It’s amusing to note those of you spouting hate filled nonsense as if you’re some sort of brave men are too cowardly to show your face. I was born and raised in Coolock, I’ve seen first hand the effects of social neglect. You two are a pair of naive idiots detached from the realities of life, although I’m sure you are also totally unaware of this fact.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 1:58 PM

In my job I am very much aware of realities, it’s only when I read verbal and uneducated diarrhoea from the likes of you I feel I have to respond because one thing I can deduce is that you are neither intelligent or rational In your views and why don’t you show your face you keyboard warrior.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:09 PM

In your job? I doubt you even have a job “Doc”

My face is clearly visible you troll. As for education and intelligence, your simplistic world view based on media reports indicates your lack of critical thought or real life experience.

Stop relying on the media for education and go read a book you coward. I suppose if I had a habit of spouting crap like you do I’d probably hide my face.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:23 PM

My god if that’s your face it explains a lot and as for being a troll LOL, oh and by the way I have a very responsible job and I have more real life experience dealing with people than you will ever have and just because you come from a deprived area does not mean you can take franchise over experience and real life experience some of us seek education as a tool to further ourselves and are fortunate to be in a position to make a difference and not just be in a position to spout deluded ideologies from a keyboard.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:32 PM

Social neglect? You are having a laugh Tom. Coolock is an area of social neglect…. You’d swear that the people of Coolock were living in some kind of backwater. Take a trip outside the M50 sometime into rural areas ravaged by emigration, unemployment, broken promises and political neglect. But you know what? The inhabitants make the best of it, get on with it and work hard.

You really are an utter fool.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:58 PM

Rural areas? You mean like Cavan, Limerick, Cork, Galway, Sligo all of which are riddled with drugs and crime.

The people in Coolock and many other areas in Dublin have for decades been neglected by the powers that be. The fact you are unaware of this is telling of your ignorance. When you’re man enough to show your face I might take you seriously, until then I’ll just assume you’re an ignorant coward.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 3:14 PM

Ok Tom. Whatever you say…..

I suppose now you’ll be telling me ‘De youth’ in Coolock have no prospects and have nothing to do either. It’s not as if you don’t have any amount of facilities on your doorstep… You know like schools, universities and the like. God forbid someone from the likes of Coolock would have to travel a few miles to be educated, work etc. Some of us had to go to Dublin to be educated and obtain employment. Had to leave the areas we grew up in (the majority of which will never go back to live in). Had to rent and work in college whilst our parents worked all hours to give us an education and a future. Spare me the ‘poor mouth’ talk. It’s getting a bit tiresome at this stage.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 3:42 PM

You’re a coward and an idiot. Why would you burden your parents like that, would you not go and work and earn your fees for university yourself like I did? No it’s far easier to bum off your parents and come to Dublin to work but then bitch and moan about Dublin, spare us the poor country boy routine, it doesn’t wash.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 3:48 PM

What difference do you make Doc, talking crap doesn’t change anything so what do you do to change anything. As for your assumptions, I have studied at university, paid for by myself not Mammy and Daddy. I’m a self made man unlike yourself, a coward hiding behind a screen.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 3:59 PM

What fees would you be talking about? You really haven’t a clue about the cost of going to university for those outside the M50 do you? Bumming off my parents? Lol.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 4:03 PM

And BTW I’m glad that I was able to come to Dublin; I’m not bitching and moaning about it. But all you can talk about is the so called ‘social injustices’ that the poor people of Coolock face. Some of us choose to get on with it.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 4:26 PM

Tom, you’re a self made gimp, you can post as much drivel as you want but sure what exactly do you do or contribute to society, I know what I do, I know nothing about you like you know nothing about me but at least I know I speak the truth and not engage in ignorant and idiotic posts like you, that chip tom that chip is not healthy.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 4:53 PM

Doc, all you’ve done is post ill informed twaddle. I ain’t got no chip but the reality is your draconian ideas of justice don’t work. These two guys may not have been angels, but there is no evidence to say they’ve ever seriously harmed another human being. With that in mind do you really think they deserve to be “disappeared” cop the feck on and stop relying on the media to form your world view. Not many people grow up wanting to become criminals, criminality is a symptom of a bigger problem. If you had an IQ level above 30 you’d realise that.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 5:13 PM

You lay blame on criminality to the disenfranchisement of our youth as a result of the political establishment, what about the said youths own responsibility and their sense of ethics and because they may have been dealt a bad deal does society have to suffer. you’re a fool.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 5:14 PM

Answer me one question do you know these individuals personally.

Mute Jim Dandy
    Favourite Jim Dandy
    Apr 26th 2014, 5:29 PM

@ Tom, reading these comments i would be embarrassed to call you a fellow Irish citizen. You seem to have a lot of projection and pent up anger, you may need to talk to someone.

Psychological projection is the act or technique of defending yourself against unpleasant impulses by denying their existence in yourself, while attributing them to others. For example, a person who is rude may constantly accuse other people of being rude.

Although rooted in early developmental stages, and classed by George Eman Vaillant as an immature defense, the projection of one’s negative qualities onto others on a small scale is nevertheless a common process in everyday life.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 6:13 PM

Hey Jim,
    thanks for the psychological analysis based on comments on the Journal.
    Yet another troll without the balls to show their face.

What does your Oscar the grouch photo tell us about you, you’re an angry mumbling man who lives in a bin?

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 6:20 PM

Of course people have an individual responsibility but you’re too narrow minded to understand much of this crime could be prevented if there was proper intervention of youth who are at risk, youth that may not have had good influences in life or good direction. If they could be shown that there is a better way, given proper support and encouragement they would likely not go down the wrong path.

But I wouldn’t expect the likes of you to have any understanding of these realities. You live detached from these realities and come across as a sociopath without any empathy for other people.

It only takes one mistake and your life can take a drastic turn for the worst, lets hope you never find yourself in that position Mr. Perfect.

Mute Jim Dandy
    Favourite Jim Dandy
    Apr 26th 2014, 6:41 PM

Why do i need to show my face? Why would i need balls? Is that some kind of veiled threat ? because believe me little man if it is you are wading into very murky waters, some people should wag more and bark less, you’d want to wind that scrawny little neck of yours back in,,,what difference does that make what name people use here? if people want to remain anonymous that’s their choice, how do we know that the picture you have up is of you, any idiot can make a fake fb page (you included) and calling me a troll is a little ironic when every comment you’ve made on this story is baiting people into an argument with you or calling them childish names, look up the definition of a troll, and you call me an angry mumbling man who lives in a bin, well its clear you have some deep psychological issues and you live in Coolock , also ironic.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 6:47 PM

What a grossly immature riposte, you don’t even know the definition of a sociopath and it seems so ironic as you seem to be defending actual sociopaths on this site, you are no different from other vacuous politicians the only difference with you is that you have no decorum or class

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 7:39 PM

Hahaha Jim Dandy the internet tough guy. You’re getting beyond pathetic now and your internet chest puffing doesn’t impress me “hard man” but thanks for the laugh.

If you don’t have the balls to show your face and real name while making claims and spouting twaddle then you have zero credibility, just another non entity on the internet.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 7:40 PM

Ah Doc, another unwitting comedian. Thanks for the laugh, unlike yourself I have a life to get back to. Enjoy your trolling, slan :-D

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 9:46 PM

You do tom, a very sad one, one which will get sadder on count day, you must be the most pathetic attempt at a politician I’ve ever come across and we have the healy raes so that’s saying something.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Apr 26th 2014, 11:04 PM

Hi Tom,

Will you be canvassing the coolock/artane area? I’ll gladly tell you face to face what my feelings are towards a person who stands by known criminals.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 27th 2014, 12:17 AM

Pedro, who said I’m standing by anyone?

If you read what I wrote you would have seen my whole point was that Crime is a symptom of a much bigger problem, if you don’t understand that basic fact then feel free to vote for whoever you want “Pedro” another anonymous person without the gumption to show their face publicly.

I look forward to seeing you on the doors, maybe I can explain to you in person that which you fail to grasp here.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 27th 2014, 12:20 AM

You’re entitled to your opinion Doc, but at least I have the balls to show me face and put my self out there. You just continue hiding behind your computer screen with your sense of entitlement, see how far that gets you.

Mute willie
    Favourite willie
    Apr 26th 2014, 9:46 AM

Don’t waste your time lookin lads

Mute Elizabeth Gibson
    Favourite Elizabeth Gibson
    Apr 26th 2014, 9:58 AM

Better that experienced persons find them than some innocent man, woman or child.

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:09 AM

totally unmoved by this

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Apr 27th 2014, 3:03 AM

If these 2 lads are innocent of being drug pushers, I certainly feel sorry for them.
    If they are pushers, I dont, but I do feel sympathy for their families and the drug users whose lives they have ruined.

Mute David Doyle
    Favourite David Doyle
    Apr 26th 2014, 9:55 AM

“All resources nessecery would be used” wasted more like

Mute Hilda Grace
    Favourite Hilda Grace
    Apr 26th 2014, 9:58 AM

God be with their families

Mute Mark Rooney
    Favourite Mark Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 12:41 PM

I googled their names and one came up in a headline as “Scarface” hardly little angels now are they.

Mute Kaz Diyar
    Favourite Kaz Diyar
    Apr 26th 2014, 1:45 PM

Omg u googled his name and came up with a man that is two years younger and lives on the south side .genius .Google my name I’m a doctor .

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 1:49 PM

I doubt it very much.

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute me so harney
    Favourite me so harney
    Apr 26th 2014, 1:54 PM

One of them did a stretch for armed robbery of a post office.

Mute Kaz Diyar
    Favourite Kaz Diyar
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:00 PM

@doc exactly my point .he googled a name and found the wrong person

Mute me so harney
    Favourite me so harney
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:00 PM

Sorry, it was the EBS in greystones, he was caught on camera threatening staff and made of with €1200. Hardly an innocent really.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:13 PM

@Harney, I read the same article, it also stated he was a drug addict at the time and when caught apologised and claimed his addiction drove him to commit the crime. He showed genuine remorse, so why don’t you give the full story instead of a one sided biased view.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:33 PM

Tom Rooney you’re only showing yourself up to be a fool now lad, it’s obvious you come from this class of people, more to be pitied I suppose.

Mute enda nolan
    Favourite enda nolan
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:52 PM

What class of a person are you doc

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:54 PM

Oh, we’re into class warfare now are we?

Doc, you’re showing yourself up to be a bigoted, stuck up troll with a massive sense of entitlement, exactly the type of person who has destroyed this country.

As for education, I can assure you I am highly educated, an education which was funded from my own hard work, I didn’t rely on Daddy to pay my way. I’ve worked hard all my life from a young age and earned everything I have in life. So I won’t listen to lectures from a coward like you, too ashamed of their own opinions to show their face. Still on your Ma’s tit I bet.

Mute me so harney
    Favourite me so harney
    Apr 26th 2014, 3:07 PM

@Tom, I don’t really care about the addiction to be honest, I realise that it is a terrible affliction and wouldn’t wish it on anyone but, he still went out, and carried out an armed robbery, threatening staff in the process.

Did he mean the apology? Who knows, perhaps he did, that doesn’t change the fact that he’s a convicted armed robber. My only point was that, given his previous, he’s not exactly an innocent little angel.

I don’t think that anyone can really dispute that fact.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 3:54 PM

@ Tom Rooney
    it’s obvious you come from a deprived background and now has progressed to a jumped up unbearable git, you definitely don’t betray that background and it is so clearly manifested in your narrow minded and deluded posts and remember never be presumptuous it has a habit of reinforcing ignorance, that chip on your shoulder will eat you up. Coward, LOL you’re a pathetic individual, by the way did you actually know your daddy.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 4:58 PM

Ah Doc, you’ve stooped to the pathetic arena of personal insults. Your lack of intelligence is evident with every line of twaddle you write. I’d say it keeps you awake at night thinking of how you get your arse handed to you by people of an inferior class to your good privileged self. You’re a self entitled, silver spoon sucking degenerate. I will stoop to your level and beat you on it.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 5:27 PM

Tom one thing I can asure you is you would never beat me on it, the other thing is that I don’t come from a privileged background, I never had a silver spoon in my mouth and don’t believe in class distinction, regarding personal insults if you dish it out then be prepared to receive it back. The thing here is you are a vacuous repetitive and hypocritical windbag and yes you have a massive chip on your shoulder, get over it.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 6:04 PM

One that was brought up to respect society by my parents and act as a responsible citizen in daily life, why? what class of a citizen are you enda ?

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 6:17 PM

Doc, just so you know, Tom is a DDI candidate in the forthcoming local elections.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 6:24 PM

Are you saying I wasn’t brought up to respect society? What are you trying to say Mr. Anonymous?
    You don’t seem to know what you’re saying.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 6:25 PM

That’s right Truth, proud of the fact too. What are you doing to bring about change in this country besides anonymously writing twaddle on the journal?

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 6:32 PM

So this numpty is seeking election the truth, this country has really reached a new low, what constituency ?

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 6:38 PM

Are you enda you paranoid git ? Do you suffer from ideas of reference ? To think you are presenting yourself as a candidate in the upcoming elections sends a shiver down my spine. No wonder yere party are doing so badly In the polls, God help us.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 6:39 PM

I work Tom. I pay tax, a lot of it. I voted for a government that will enact change and I’m prepared to let them at it. I don’t care too much for the ‘poor mouth’ agenda you constantly push. I would perhaps empathise with you if you were going forward for election in Roscommon for argument sake. That being said at least the people of Roscommon get on with it instead of cribbing and moaning of ‘social injustices’. As I’ve said before, you’d swear Coolock was the backwater of Ireland. It’s far from it.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 7:59 PM

Doc, we’ve already established that you don’t have the courage to show your face whilst commenting on the journal, so I wouldn’t expect you to have the conviction or courage to put yourself forward for election.
    your fragile ego couldn’t handle what is involved with being politically active. You wouldn’t have the minerals for it pal.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:02 PM

Everyone who works pays tax, big deal. Would you like a medal?
    A government that will enact change? You really are naive, you voted for Labour or Fine Gael and still believe they will enact change despite the fact they continue to implement the failed policies of Fianna Fail. Wake up fella, you need a reality check!

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:26 PM

If you think, as a local county councillor that you will be able to enact change, you are utterly delusional. Delusional.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:34 PM

Being a Councillor may not change everything in one move but it’s a stepping stone and will have some impact if I’m lucky enough to get elected, either way It’s better than sitting around watching our country being destroyed by self serving gombeens.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 9:33 PM

Ok Tom. You keep living in LaLa land if that’s what you want to do. Meanwhile, I leave in the real world. And the real world tells me that guys like you live in LaLa land believing that they can enact change. So as the song goes ‘Don’t stop believing’… Good luck with that.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 9:58 PM

You’re a riot you are, transference is an all consuming mental defence mechanism, a sort of coping mechanism thereby betraying inadequacies in your personality, now this is not a great endorsement for an aspiring politician. seek help not votes.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 27th 2014, 12:24 AM

Doc how many hours have you spent hiding behind your computer screen spewing twaddle? What a sad individual you are.

I suspect you’re nothing more than a Fine Gael shill and that note I’ll leave you to wallow in your own ignorance.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 27th 2014, 12:26 AM

Truth Hurts, you should be ashamed of yourself, you openly admitted voting for Fine Gael and Labour and then go onto say you still support them despite the financial pain they continue to force on the ordinary folk of this country. You are part of the problem!

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 27th 2014, 12:15 PM

obviously not as long as you, your immaturity is staggering, the calibre of candidates has deteriorated dramatically with the likes of you, but sure any nutcase can put themselves forward now, I would hazard a guess and opine that you have very little chance of getting elected. The irish people are very intelligent and when they will come across a gom like you, they will see through your classlessness and lack of credibility, you really do need to seek help though, you keep repeating the same phrases over and over again almost like echolalia, but you’ll be glad to know you can get help for it. I must say I am really looking forward to the local elections now.

Mute Derek Toner
    Favourite Derek Toner
    Apr 26th 2014, 11:41 AM

Some of the stuff posted on this page is beyond commenting on, every body is entitled to their opinion, however ignorant of knowing the people involved in this whole story.I know Eoin since he was a child , and he is a lovely lad,.. hardened criminal ….no way !, a gentle giant in my eyes, a great father who loves his kids and he is loved by his famiily, whatever happened to this lad to bring him to this moment of his life and apparent death, he did not deserve to have this happen to him, I hope and pray for his and Antony’s safe return to their families…..but please God he will be returned to his family and allow them closure on this whole horrendous time.Eoin I hope to see your happy smililing face again, if not I hope God has you at his side and running the football team in heaven.

Mute Kaz Diyar
    Favourite Kaz Diyar
    Apr 26th 2014, 11:47 AM

Well said Derek

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 12:00 PM

Not a hardened criminal… Nice lad… Such a nice lad that he’s out collecting drug money. Go away with your nonsense.

Mute Derek Toner
    Favourite Derek Toner
    Apr 26th 2014, 12:16 PM

How do you know what they were doing ? Your just listening to the media, do you believe everything you read and hear ? …….have you considered family members may be reading your comments ? Show a little bit of humility towards the families of these two lads, they are going through a terrible time at this moment, they dont need to be seeing the crap that your spouting about people you have never met !! I hope the “truth hurts” when I tell you that your comments are nothing short of disgusting and say a lot about the person that you are.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 12:33 PM

You know what’s disgusting? The likes of you and others sympathising with these criminals … ‘ah nice lads… Not hardened criminals’. Away with your palaver.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Apr 26th 2014, 12:35 PM

Last time I went to Cavan with a mate I didn’t go missing. Then again I’m not know to Garda, I’ve never been to prison nor am I associated with the selling of illegal drugs…

Mute Jon Mulhall
    Favourite Jon Mulhall
    Apr 26th 2014, 12:52 PM

You’re an idiot !!

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 12:53 PM

Derek Toner your comments on here say a lot about you and thank god I don’t have the likes of you or yours living in my area.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:15 PM

Where would that area be “Doc” ? You draconian idiot!

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:28 PM

Tom you will have to live with that chip on your shoulder, you were born with it, please stop transferring your emotions it wont go away.

Mute Jon Mulhall
    Favourite Jon Mulhall
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:12 AM

The general public are actually dicks.. Bit harsh.

Mute Lindsey O Connor
    Favourite Lindsey O Connor
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:37 AM

Agree with you john. Nobody knows why these lads were known to gardai, yet id like to know who hasnt had a relative you hasnt brushed with the law. If the shoe was on the other foot how would you all feel if it was your brother or nephew or uncle?? Until you know lads, id be bit more respectful.

Mute enda nolan
    Favourite enda nolan
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:42 AM

Makes no odds if they are none or not known to the garda their families don’t need to be seeing the comments people are saying about them

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:45 AM

Naw, Lindsey , see you are looking at this all wrong, now if yo had a brother , uncle , sister, or father, that there’s two were coming looking for , how would you feel. That’s the Christianity tester.

Mute Lindsey O Connor
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:46 AM

So gerry. What did they do?? Tell us

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:53 AM

Did you just comment without reading the articles,

Mute Lindsey O Connor
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:57 AM

No ive read the article , all 3 articles actually. But you seem to know more about them, so enlighten us with their criminal history gerry

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Apr 26th 2014, 12:01 PM

What were they collecting in Cavan, or did I miss something. Maybe I should get out more, is that a regular kind of job, for you regular kinda guy.

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Apr 26th 2014, 1:25 PM

maybe just maybe they planed to go missing, and came to no harm. They just might be in sunny Spain now having a nice cool beer.

Mute geri
    Favourite geri
    Apr 26th 2014, 3:35 PM

Dear lord what has happen to humanity firstly you attack people you know nothing about an go by what the media states even though u have no clue what’s so ever of the “truth” about the matter at hand but then you also insult friends and family of eoin and Andrew. Shame on you!! No matter what way you look at it 2 family’s have lost their brothers and sons and also eoins two young children are left with out their dad how dare people comment saying they deserve it bull shit I hope the day never comes that some body in your family or circle of friends to know the out come but have nothing so you still have a tiny bit of hope and pray for everything that is good in the world that they be returned safely! How dare you make these family’s go through even more grief than they already feel from your pathetic comments!!!

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 4:28 PM

As long as people like you continue to reinforce behaviour like this there is really no hope for places like Coolock and so on. I really hope you are not advocating that the lads went out for a drive and were unfortunate to just disappear? If one gets involved in crime what do you expect? You know what the solution is? Don’t get involved in crime. 2 children would be playing with their daddy now.

Mute CustomCovers Ciara Moore
    Favourite CustomCovers Ciara Moore
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:12 PM

Why are these s**mbags even getting this much press…..you play with fire you get burnt. Decent lads collecting a drug dead, would ye cop on. Obviously the ones who are saying they are “grand lads” are from the same circle and agree with this type of “lifestyle”. Sickening that the Gardai have to waste their time and energy on this.

Mute Shane Mac An TSionnaigh
    Favourite Shane Mac An TSionnaigh
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:20 PM

Is the car still a runner???

Mute Alan Bradley
    Favourite Alan Bradley
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:54 PM

pack off troll’s is all you’s are!!! am starting to hate this website because off all the gimps who have a opinion about every little thing, would ya’s ever go home and pull yourselfs…dont care what they have done in there life’s NO ONE AND I MEAN NO ONE DESERVE’S TO DIE LIKE THAT,,, and no one has the right to be judge jury and executioner

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Apr 26th 2014, 3:18 PM

Alan, your command of the English language is a wonder to behold.
    Thank you for your eloquently expressed opinion on the matter at hand.

Mute Berni Kelly Kindregan
    Favourite Berni Kelly Kindregan
    Apr 26th 2014, 3:37 PM

Alan you say no one deserves to die like that? We don’t know if they are dead , never mind how they died.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 3:39 PM

The education system can be proud of itself NOT

Mute Alan Bradley
    Favourite Alan Bradley
    Apr 26th 2014, 5:21 PM

well i am not English for a start ;) and your just another clueless troll :)

Mute Alan Bradley
    Favourite Alan Bradley
    Apr 26th 2014, 5:24 PM

berni they weren’t abducted by aliens!!

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 26th 2014, 6:20 PM

I suppose being involved in crime had got nothing to do with it Alan?

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Apr 27th 2014, 9:19 AM

Oh Alan, I’m so glad That I don’t have to deal with foolish people like you any more.
    I did when I was younger, but thankfully no more.
    Away now, and ‘pull yerself’.

Mute David Doyle
    Favourite David Doyle
    Apr 26th 2014, 11:35 PM

End of the day, they have family, who by the nature of humanity they are probably hard working class people, whose brother, son, husband boyfriend what ever are missing probably DEAD, gone, if so, give their people space, time, and respect,,

Mute Timmytime
    Favourite Timmytime
    Apr 26th 2014, 7:49 PM

Hang on, why has there been no new or updated article on this – it’s being peddled as headline news and there appears to be more info coming out of the woodwork on other sites – how come the Journal hasn’t given any update? Crappy journalism guys.

Mute Jon Mulhall
    Favourite Jon Mulhall
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:11 PM

Give it a rest, you’ve been trolling this page for a good eight hours now. Absolute stain.

Mute Timmytime
    Favourite Timmytime
    Apr 26th 2014, 9:07 PM

Erm..that was my first comment you dipsh1t. Get your eyes tested before commenting – you buffoon.

Mute Kaz Diyar
    Favourite Kaz Diyar
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:11 PM

@timmytime I don’t think Jon mulhall was referring to you

Mute Jon Mulhall
    Favourite Jon Mulhall
    Apr 27th 2014, 9:05 AM

@timmy, well if it’s your first comment then why would u think I was talking to you ?? And the name calling??I just followed you on twitter so any problem, just message me you little pussy.

Mute Timmytime
    Favourite Timmytime
    Apr 27th 2014, 11:03 AM

Because you replied to my comment you idiot.

Mute Kieran Cahill Denise Cuddihy
    Favourite Kieran Cahill Denise Cuddihy
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:26 PM

A lot of cowards talk way to much on this post!

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:35 PM

Are you making veiled threats, you’re so BRAVE

Mute CustomCovers Ciara Moore
    Favourite CustomCovers Ciara Moore
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:13 PM

*debt^^