You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

Clare Daly spent an hour-and-a-half in Limerick Prison tonight

The TD was jailed for refusing to pay a fine for breaching the fence at Shannon Airport.

Updated 11pm

INDEPENDENT TD CLARE Daly has been released from Limerick Prison after spending around an hour and a half there tonight.

She was jailed for refusing to pay a fine for breaching the fence at Shannon Airport.

Her Dáil colleague and fellow campaigner Mick Wallace was also arrested and taken to the prison earlier.

The Wexford deputy was given temporary release on condition of good behaviour at 4pm, having been processed by the Irish Prison Service.

Daly only entered the prison shortly after 9pm, and was given temporary release after 10.30pm.

Court case

Wallace and Daly were told they faced the prospect of jail terms after declaring they would not pay fines of €4,000 imposed on them by a judge in Ennis in April.

The two TDs were found guilty of breaching airport regulations when entering a restricted area at Shannon on 22 July 2014 and each fined €2,000. Both said they would not pay.

Speaking to RTÉ Radio 1′s Drivetime from outside Limerick Prison earlier evening, Wallace said he was not kept in a cell but in a room in the facility for a number of hours.

“Nothing [happened] really,” he said. “I was just taken in for a few hours and they told me I was being let go. It’s called temporary release, as far as I know.”

With reporting from Daragh Brophy.

Read: An Irish Water water treatment plant is underwater

Read: ‘I’m absolutely not going to pay it’ – Mick Wallace defiant on release from prison >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

168 Comments
    Mute Cillian McCormick
    Favourite Cillian McCormick
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:31 PM

How much is this nonsense costing the state??

Between the cost of Garda or prison service escort, admin fees, holding herself and Wallace and then letting them out on temporary release 2 grand is a drop in the ocean.

Arseh0les the lot of them.

Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:42 PM

They broke the law and were fined by a judge for breaking this law which they failed to pay, while I think it’s a waste of money doing this they still broke the law and there are consequences for these actions these 2 clowns are not above the law!

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan

Why isn’t the judge calling the governor of the prison before him?

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:44 PM

Spot on Cillian, they made their point had their day I court but this behavior is despicable.

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:52 PM

Sean Quinn thumbed his noses at the state-but for monetary reasons.
    He served modest time for contempt of court.
    If I ever become a billionaire and borrow too much money and place all my assets out of reach of the suffering taxpayers of Ireland i will thumb my nose at the judge too..
    Anyway most of Limerick is under water as we speak.
    Maybe even the jail.?
    If so everybody inside will be rescued by (police frogmen?) and sent home to enjoy the turkey and ham.
    The sluice gates at Ardnacrusha had to be opened by the ESB.
    All that water wasted.
    It could have been sold (cheaply) to the people of Limerick who have to pay Irish Water 10 cents every time they flush the loo.(Original-pre boycott price of 10 litres of treated water)

Dec 9th 2015, 9:55 PM

Mick Wallace and Claire Daly are also supporting the Irish Water Boycott.
    They should have ask the judge to take that into account when sentencing them.
    Lol

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:15 PM

But the authorities are not spending their own money.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:08 PM

William. The Prison Governor has no say in who gets TR and who doesn’t. The Ultimate decision is made from IPS HQ. .

Mute Christine Hanway
    Favourite Christine Hanway
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:44 PM

What exactly was the consequences though, they went to prison for like 2 hrs?? Tats like ur Mammy making ya sit on the naughty step.. they were hardly “punished” and look at the publicity it’s getting? An awful waste of time, money and resources.. It proved nothing. Either make them pay their fines from their extortionate salaries or do lock them up.. but don’t go wasting the effort for 2 hours of leaving someone sat in a room, cause I highly doubt they even made it to a cell…

Mute Floyd Mouldybags
    Favourite Floyd Mouldybags
    Dec 10th 2015, 12:26 AM

Abandon all your principles, ye who enter here!

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Dec 10th 2015, 1:06 AM

We are a neutral country who’s only exploits in modern war is the protection of the innocent and keeping the peace. They are and were right to have the balls to highlight the weakness in the Irish government to stand up for the principles of its people. No weapons on board my arse. The soldier is the most lethal of all weapons

Mute Ger Moloney
    Favourite Ger Moloney
    Dec 10th 2015, 1:20 AM

I was under the impression that when u are released that it’s not tr but time served when a fine is involved ??

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:12 AM

Indeed… Money ‘wasted’ enforcing laws and prosecuting those who commit crimes.

I suppose you’re all thinking that the states cash would be better used being handed out to you next Wednesday and even with minimum pricing buy you a few extra tins of cheap larger and keep the buzz going.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:27 PM

Good woman, she should be home in time for bed!!

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:28 PM

Mick’s booked a room and is waiting in Limerick!

Mute Gold for nothing
    Favourite Gold for nothing
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:40 PM

And claimed it on expenses! Twice, one each!

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute John Dillon
    Favourite John Dillon
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:45 PM

Not quite .the processing office closes at 8 o’clock .so my quess is she be spendin the nite in d slammer and out again first thing in morning.

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Favourite Derek Mcdermott
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:47 PM

lucinda creighton and her husband did exactly that and said they were entitled

Mute paul
    Favourite paul
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:49 PM

How does the journal allow comments for this, I know if it was a Denis O Brien story that was still going on and hadn’t been settled the comments section would be out of action

Mute Gold for nothing
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:51 PM

It’s not an ongoing case. Case is over. They were found guilty. Comments can’t prejudice anything.

Mute Sean Scanlon
    Favourite Sean Scanlon
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:05 PM

Will Mick be picking her up in his unmarked garda car or hers?

Mute Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Favourite Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:17 PM

Varadkar let his mask slip today with what he said. Shows how thick he thinks we are. ..said don’t vote for independents as they might be in jail. He let slip what this persecution was all about
    We’re much smarter than that varadkar you clown… You just elected a load more independents.

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:18 PM

Heard on The Last Word that people in for fines are usually processed and released unless it’s after 8:00pm then they are usually in for the night at least. I’m sure they were counting on spending some time locked up, this gives their cause some airtime.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:38 PM

Well it seems there’s generally a Garda car following them around in case they cross a white line or commit some other serious breach of the RTA, so spoiled for choice.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:39 PM

Ah leave Leo alone now Mike. He has just sorted out Ireland’s highly dysfunctional health system today by increasing the price of gargle. That took ingenuity. Jaysus give him some credit.

Mute Mairead Ni Chleirigh
    Favourite Mairead Ni Chleirigh
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:54 PM

Leave him alone it was a Groupon offer

Mute Fred west
    Favourite Fred west
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:19 PM

If i went to Snn airport and did what their guilty of ,somehow got away with a 2k fine of which i refuse to pay ,id be fully expecting to do my time .Mick & Claire should do the 30 days to deter other wannabe joe publics of climbing airport fences with an intention to board US military planes.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:22 PM

Leo is an idiot..i stead of sorting out the real problems he goes and announces a new one. Can I suggest that mister minister for health goes and sorts the CURRENT problems with our health system..you know like 80-90 year olds on trolleys for days, kids not getting treatment in A&E. Cancer victims fighting for the most suitable medication, that has already been approved in otger countries…local health centres having proper dental facilities..oh it goes on and on and on. But yet..we will blame everything on the price of tescos cans of beer. Oh and heres an aside…if you want to provide healthy options …build some bleedin swimming pools and put tax credits in for families that have to pay astronomical prices for clubs etc for kids.

Mute brian
    Favourite brian
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:48 PM

Well spotted

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33

And still no politician brought in for questioning,after being caught red handed and viewed by the whole country. And some people still support fg,labour.

Mute Gold for nothing

Or was 2 days ago. I think these cases take time.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:02 PM

They have to give them time to make sure any potential evidence is well and truly ,ahem, “mislaid”… They’d wouldn’t have had a chance to if they were lifted that evening… Sure doesn’t the same happen with all potential suspects??? ;-)

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:03 PM

Gold, how about the TD Robert Troy, 3 outstanding driving related summons not acted upon by the Gardai. Do you think Mick Wallace or Claire Daly would be allowed the same privilege.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:26 PM

Pity they couldn’t focus all these resources on something more relevant and meaningful.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:30 PM

If they’d paid their fines, or not trespassed in the first place, then that would’ve happened.

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney

States the obvious,ignores context.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin

Love them or loathe them it’s hardly their fault the prison service in this country is in shite and cannot keep them locked up for more than a few hours. Everyone get the same choice.. Pay the fine or get send down. After this though I wouldn’t be surprised if people started weighing up their options when they’re offered the same choice. Why anyone would bother paying a few grand when the threat of prison is non existent is beyond me. A few hours and your done and so as not to inconvenience you too much you get a drive there and your bus fare home. On top of that “non payment of a fine” on your record probably wouldn’t effect your current job or any future travel plans…

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:00 PM

Depends on whether you have any need for future Garda clearence I suppose?

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:10 PM

Cian, most people don’t and even at that “non payment of a fine” is hardly grounds to exclude you from all but the most top level of positions… You’d need to be applying for the Irish equivalent of Yankee White before it would make a difference…

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:05 PM

i dont think they didnt pay the fine because they thought the issue they thought it might be a delightful way to spend a day in prison..they didnt pay because they believed in their convictions. Whether they were right or wrong is your own personal opinions. The whole fine thing is a farce… I could waffle on for hours but who cares. Not one TD. maybe except one..Mick Wallace..he has a few vslid questiond..like..why did he turn himself in and then have to be driven all the way to Limerick? By my reckoning..that used up at least 18 hours Garda time..just in one day.

Dec 10th 2015, 12:05 AM

I love you very much.

Mute Kinsaleable
    Favourite Kinsaleable
    Dec 10th 2015, 12:30 AM

No one pays the fine on a first visit to the prison. You’d be mad to. You’ll be out in an hour with the bus fare home.

Mute Jimy O Gionnán
    Favourite Jimy O Gionnán
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:03 AM

whether they were right or wrong is not an individuals personal opinion…It’s the position and opinion of the judge that they both broke the law and were fined accordingly… I wonder if Wallace had to serve 30 days for every €2000 he owed the taxpayer from unpaid taxes how long would he stay behind bars…

Mute John Payne
    Favourite John Payne

Regardless of why they were arrested, I can’t help observing how this government are systematically attacking independent TD’s, and using the state security services to do so.

Having worked over 20 years in Africa, the only difference I can see between this shower and an African tinpot dictatorship is that in Africa they actually attempt to hide it.

If the Irish people fail to take a chance and elect a change of government then we deserve every thing we get.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne

John, I don’t have your international experience to make such a comparison but I’m apprehensive that you are correct. Our policing has become politicised.

The specific timing of these imprisonments has followed very closely after the revelations about corrupt politicians.

The price of democracy is permanent vigilance. It is interesting as well as concerning to hear the views of someone who has seen other regimes in Africa in operation.

Dec 9th 2015, 9:56 PM

Whom can we replace the usual three crooked clans with.?

Mute Karl Carroll
    Favourite Karl Carroll
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:59 PM

“Regardless of why they were arrested” Is that a joke? A TD being found guilty of a crime and being arrested for not paying the fine then spending time in jail in leu is exactly what should happen. The alternative is that she can do what she wants and the justice system and Gardai dont or wont touch em.

So which is it? all equal before the law or just the ordinary folk?

Why the hell was she in Shannon anyway, shes a bloody TD for Swords. No one in Swords is voting for TD’s based on what they feel about Shannon airport. What does she do anyway? Makes unproven allegations by abusing dail privilege and Media whoring

Dec 9th 2015, 10:14 PM

Karl if the American bombers were still dropping Napalm on innocent civilians (Vietnam war) I am sure they would still be climbing fences in protest.
    It is hard for most people to understand.
    I suppose it would be easier if one visited the “theatre of war” and saw the carnage.
    a little carnage recently,where it is not supposed to happen (Paris) has the whole world in a tizzy.
    Funny that the media never show the incinerated bodies of young children in Gaza and elsewhere.
    You need a good imagination to get the picture and courage, to climb that fence..

Mute John Payne
    Favourite John Payne

So what is your take on the three TD’s uncovered a few nights ago on the RTE program? Why are they not arrested already? If you go after only the opposition and let your own crowd get away with a crime then it’s not exactly balanced is it?

So yes, regardless of why they were arrested, why IS the government only going after those that threaten their cosy little corrupt circle?

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:41 PM

John Payne, lest it has escaped your notice, the Govt haven’t gone after anyone in this case. The two TDs were arrested for trespass and subsequently charged. A file was sent to the DPP who decided to prosecute. A court of law found them guilty after a trial. How is the Govt responsible for any of this? It’s called the rule of law and it is meant to apply to politicians as well. It has. And some people still aren’t happy because, like you, they want “their” politicians to be above the law. You may consider them principled but if you break the law then even principles have consequences. Both should spend a week in jail because it looks as if they were released early just because they were politicians. The rest of us would, as a minimum, have to pay the fine and purge our contempt or do the time. They are doing neither. Outrageous and a clear example of how the law which they criticise is used to benefit them. Oh the sheer hypocrisy.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:48 PM

Equal before the law Karl??? What a joke. The law only applies to the likes of Mick Wallace, Clare Daly and protesters. Being a corrupt business man, councillor, or FF/FG/Lab TD makes you immune to any prosecution.
    Funny that the judge who sent them to jail is an ex FG politician, appointed by Enda, no less.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:00 PM

An Garda Siochana takes its instructions from the Minister for Justice who passes on the requirements of the Cabinet. An Garda Siochana is not politically independent.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:12 PM

Dave. If that were the case then Mick Wallace would have served a sentence for his 1.4 Million Euro Tax Evasion. But he hasn’t spent a single day in Prison for it.

Mute SUSAN LLOYD
    Favourite SUSAN LLOYD
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:54 PM

Some are obviously more equal than others others! Are gardai revenue etc chasing the fg/ff councellors robbing our money?

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Dec 10th 2015, 7:52 AM

Dave Doyle, Enda doesn’t appoint Judges, the President does. As for allegedly corrupt politicians recently exposed I assume there will be an investigation and a file sent to the DPP. But that will take some time just as it did with Wallace and Gromit. Don’t let your prejudices distort reality.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Dec 10th 2015, 7:54 AM

Fiona AGS do not take their instructions from the Minister for Justice on behalf of the Cabinet. They are independent in operational and investigative matters and are so in law. But I am sure this pleasant fantasy of yours allows you to post the delusional and paranoid nonsense you do. Pray continue for our amusement.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:45 PM

We are unused to politicians in Ireland with principles.

Had Ms. Daly sought to hustle some backhanders from a corporate seeking some “favours” , she would be immune to any problems.

I hope that Ms. Daly is treated with courtesy and respect befitting a democratically elected representative. This is simply the respect due not to her as an induvidual but as a person the voters have elected.

We don’t have to agree with a politician’s stance to admire a politician’s commitment to principle.

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:49 PM

Principles Fiona come on who are you kidding? She will be all over the tv and papers now giving out about everything but her wrongdoing. You get fined you pay.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne

You are not taking into account the pacifism which motivated the original conduct. It is Clare Daly’s which is giving her a platform to express her views. She is entitled to use that platform. She is acting honourably, passionately and with admirable objectives.

Mute Karl Carroll
    Favourite Karl Carroll

She broke the law and was held accountable. Last I heard Clare was all about accountability.

Unless of course its herself and Mick by a Judge, or revenue.

Daly and Wallece being held up as beacons of truth and honour, Jesus wept!

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss

She is not entitled to break the law or breach security at Shannon airport. Passionately maybe honourably No.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:08 PM

Karl, can you explain then why the Moriarity tribunal findings haven’t been acted on, and allowed gather dust to 5 years?

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:28 PM

More wasted police resources from a force that’s really about revenue collection

Mute Larry K
    Favourite Larry K
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:29 PM

Great, they couldn’t even get the her and mick in the same squad car? Now the tax payer gets to pay even more to drive her around. And she’ll be home for breakfast. Ridiculous

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:37 PM

Ridiculous that we have to pay for them breaking the law!!

At least a few prison officers and their driver will get a nice pay cheque (with overtime and mileage allowance) in time for Christmas

Mute Neil
    Favourite Neil
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:00 PM

Two prisoners are never transported in the same patrol car. Not like the states where they are designed properly with a barrier between front and back. Just regular cars with sirens instead of radios.

@ larry K,
    you are right there..given their close relationship in Dail Eireann, it would have been nice to have driven them down to Limerick together-but obviously the powers-that-be were not going to permit them even that.!
    Christmas Grinches.!

Mute John Fitzgerald
    Favourite John Fitzgerald
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:22 PM

They went to jail for a principle Rory. Not too many politicians are prepared to do that.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:03 PM

Principles…..Let him pay the rest of his tax bill then, at the rate he paid in 2013 it will be 2058 by the time he finishes paying what he owes in taxes.

Mute Ger Moloney
    Favourite Ger Moloney
    Dec 10th 2015, 1:17 AM

The gardai escorted them ;) overtime is a lo g time hl gone in the prison service btw ;)

Dec 9th 2015, 9:26 PM

I love her

Dec 9th 2015, 9:29 PM

It costs the state 3,500 just to drop her off at Limerick prison……. Just saying

Mute Karl Carroll
    Favourite Karl Carroll
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:53 PM

Where are you getting those numbers? If it took 2 Gardai and 1 car the entire day its still less than 500 including fuel

800 euro for the state to issue a bench warrant, three waged gardai to accompany him to prison, garda checkpoint, petrol, 6 gardai to keep the journalists at bay at the prison, processing and duty of care fees and let’s not forget the tasty prison dinner. I’m probably a few euros out.. But hey I’m not perfect. Anything else??

Mute Les J Matt
    Favourite Les J Matt

At least they both have principles unlike many other TDs.
    Ireland (a supposedly neutral country) is allowing Shannon to be used by the Americans to bomb and kill innocent people in the Middle East

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan

I suppose you could argue Hitler had principles.

Dec 9th 2015, 9:58 PM

You’re comparing peace activists with Hitler? Good man William.

Mute John Payne
    Favourite John Payne

Jaysus Les, I must have missed the part where the US installed a forward air base at Shannon for running bombing campaigns. Would that be the same area that the Irish government are allowing ISIS terrorist affiliates to support their operation from?

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Dec 10th 2015, 10:22 AM

A lot of loonies have “principles”. Had the nutter who killed those people at the abortion clinic principles? The people of the Westboro Church? It’s irrelevant. They are either right or wrong. They either break the law or do not.

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Favourite SickOfCorruption
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:43 PM

Quick, quick, get us a story that just may lessen the filthy stench of corruption, as illustrated by the Rte investigates program.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:38 PM

Lessen the stink of corruption?

Mick Wallace has, in the last four years,

1) Been found guilty of trespassing
    2) Admitted serious tax evasion of over €1 million
    3) Been found guilty of contempt of court
    4) Refused to pay charges due

He has broken more laws than anyone in Leinster House and his tax evasion and constant hypocrisy is an absolute embarrassment.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:02 PM

Barry, I doubt Mick Wallace has broken more laws than than most FF/FG/Lab politicians in Leinster House.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:14 PM

Dave who else has been convicted?

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:56 PM

Barry, did I mention Mick Wallace? + this story is about Clare Daly.

Either way. Its all a sideshow to this.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6DQL11dFVOc

And its only the tip of the FG ice berg. I wonder what went on when Irish Water was set up?

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Dec 10th 2015, 10:44 AM

Ask Alan Kelly he met with companies that went to tender for state contracts privately . Corrupt as they come .

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:32 PM

They’ll let her out quickly once she start talking in that drole moaning grating voice.

Dec 9th 2015, 9:56 PM

I’d imagine the timing is designed to see her spend the night in jail. Mick was in and out in a few hours in the early afternoon. Big difference.

Dec 9th 2015, 10:53 PM

Happy days she’s out. Now, back to focusing on corruption in Irish politics, right?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:02 PM

I guess the 8pm cut off doesn’t apply to politicians.

Dec 9th 2015, 11:05 PM

If it’s a crime to protest against the facilitation of an illegal war that has resulted in hundreds of thousands of innocent dead, yet not a crime to seek personal enrichment in your role as a public representative, then I think we need a new democracy. One that represents the people. Us that employ them. Getting young people interested in politics is key.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:07 PM

It’s not a crime to protest Jamie, it is a crime to enter restricted areas of an airport.

Mute COYBIG
    Favourite COYBIG
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:08 PM

But they were illegally trespassing and refused to pay a court fine. Bad example to be setting to young people in politics

Oh yeah, they scaled a fence. Better off just sticking to fleecing people and feathering your own nest. Don’t dare stand up for your beliefs. You must conform and play the game. We’ll see come the next election.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:18 PM

Fleecing people and feathering your own nest, isn’t that exactly what Wallace did.
    I know Wallace rightly sticks it to the government on a regular basis but does that mean he gets a free pass on the 1.4ml fraud?

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:18 PM

I’d happily applauded someone for trespassing to investigate what weapons are going through Shannon airport.

Dec 9th 2015, 11:49 PM

jane did you see the article earlier on tax defaulters? Little article, end of story. Similar amounts mentioned. Wallace exposes the fat cats, as does Daly, and they don’t like that. Time to kick out corrupt politicians, via the ballot box. Also make it clearly illegal, via the legislature.

Mute Floyd Mouldybags
    Favourite Floyd Mouldybags
    Dec 10th 2015, 12:33 AM

For which they were charged, prosecuted, convicted and sentenced.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Dec 10th 2015, 6:21 AM

All the corrupt lads need to go Jamie and that includes Wallace. We can’t pick and choose, it has to be zero tolerance on corruption.

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:13 PM

Who leaked these arrests to the press? The cynic in me says this is designed to deflect from the tv broadcast on corruption. The wrong politicians are inside.

Dec 9th 2015, 10:22 PM

I wonder myself if the timing was to deflect from the corrupt politicians show on RTE.?
    The Blueshirts employ American masterminds to counter bad publicity and help master the minds of the electorate.

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:31 PM

Without a doubt this was the reason. I wonder when someone is going to instruct the Garda to visit the boyos from the RTE Investigates program… or are we all to just forget we saw it ??

Mute glenoir1
    Favourite glenoir1

what a joke

Dec 9th 2015, 10:06 PM

Will they have to pay for the train home themselves, or does the Department of Justice still issue free travel warrants.?
    Send them my Christmas Greetings.
    We the people are fighting back.
    The spirit of 1916 has been re-born -courtesy of a Blueshirt/ Labour coalition.

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:04 PM

Quick, quick, someone find us a story that might lessen the filthy stench of corruption, emulating from the RTE Investigates program. So apparent its lame.

Mute John Fitzgerald

Both TDs were prepared to go jail for a principle…how different from the attitude displayed by those grubby nod and wink ” I want lotsa money” politicians caught in the Primetime sting. Or the people, politicians included, named and shamed by various tribunals but never held to account…

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:27 PM

Gender equality!

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss

Could they not have arrested them both at the same time and saved time and garda manpower. She will be in for the night.

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm

The Garda Inspectorate report was pretty damming today of the Garda and how they are run. They said 1,200 gardai can be moved from behind the desk to the beat, with hundreds moving immediately with very little cost. No surprise that the usual big mouth commissioner failed to comment on its findings. Is anyone surprised at the waste or resources by the judiciary and gardai.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

Trained Gardai working as receptionists and IT admins, pure madness.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:07 PM

Mmmmmmm the wheels of justice grind slow,…

but sure!

They are coming for the rest of you….. N’ere do wells

soon!

While the cynical could suggest that the McMahon findings may appear to be parked, as the sands of time run out on the statue of limitations to ensure no corrupt, lawbreaking sleeveens do gaol time.

Think again!

It seems no new legislation is required.

The Offences Against the State Act

The irony!

Mute SickOfCorruption

Quick, quick, find us a story that can, maybe, distract from the filthy stench of Corruption emanating from the RTE Investigates program.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:08 PM

Jesus the whinging out of her will be unbearable.

Mute John Fitzgerald
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:19 PM

She’s a gifted speaker…highly articulate.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:51 PM

Alan O’Connor feels the need to attack the person and to fabricate fake Referenda. No point of substance from him , just shabby and cowardly bushwhacking attacks on a politician he detests.

Mute glenoir1
    Favourite glenoir1
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:38 PM

ah micks already gone home on the train

Mute George Masterson
    Favourite George Masterson
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:30 PM

You could say what you like about Daly’s politics , but at least she doesn’t look like she smells like a tramp, like the bold mick.

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:35 PM

Herself and Mick will be one with the other stooge Darcy at the weekend.

Mute Joey Byrne
    Favourite Joey Byrne
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:25 PM

Please leave Clare Daly in there for at least a few months. Think we all deserve a break from listening to her, but then again, probably a tad unfair on the prisoners already locked up.

Mute Matthew O' Reilly
    Favourite Matthew O' Reilly
    Dec 10th 2015, 7:09 PM

Here in Ireland the Government do it because It can
    Ignores its constitutions obligations;
    tells the country it dose not give a damn.
    That Shannon is part of Americas war plans.
    Mountjoy has room enough for Enda and the Fine Gael
    Lenister house battalion.
    This Christmas for sure they’ll lock up the wrong woman.

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:54 PM

Good , through away the key

Mute Hilary Reidy
    Favourite Hilary Reidy

What a waste of money

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:47 PM

Sounds like a nice day out. Do they provide food and some reading material for the journey?

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:07 PM

Was it a garda chopper this time? I mean the police have nothing better to be doing with their overstretched resources. She should be released in time for last orders anyway and can join Mick in the hotel bar for a quick one, drink that is! Another 20K of taxpayers money down the drain.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan

What a country bring these 2 TDS to Limerick a nice earner for Gardai fair play to them but what a justice system. A Varakar chips in his 2p worth. 100s of people in hospital trollies and he is sucking up to anti drink lobbies. Drink is now only for Varadkar social look down the nose class

Mute Phil O' Meara
    Favourite Phil O' Meara
    Dec 9th 2015, 9:34 PM

Fashion police?

Mute Dave Smyth #r2c
    Favourite Dave Smyth #r2c
    Dec 10th 2015, 12:09 AM

We are a sovereign nation (apparently) so why the hell shouldn’t we control what exactly it is that transits our airports? Clare and Mick were doing what the Irish state SHOULD be doing, CHECKING THEM!

If that’s breaking the law, then the law is an ass…

Mute Des Doran
    Favourite Des Doran
    Dec 10th 2015, 12:03 AM

What a waste of money,
    They should have been made give a donation to the local, Hospice,
    I wonder if they would have paid up,
    Or went to jail ?

Mute Thomas baker
    Favourite Thomas baker
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:01 PM

Hope now, i dont here her false ruff dublin accent for a while. …..

Dec 9th 2015, 10:19 PM

@Thomas baker
    Ditto your Foxrock dialect..

Mute Darren Lynch
    Favourite Darren Lynch
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:12 PM

It really is a crooked country that we live in. To think that you only have to do 2 hours out of a 30 day sentence for non payment of a €2000 fine. Doesn’t that just make you proud to be Irish.

Mute Des Doran
    Favourite Des Doran
    Dec 10th 2015, 12:06 AM

How long will you get for not paying,
    Irish Water?
    About 15 minutes should cover that,

Mute Mikeconnor
    Favourite Mikeconnor
    Dec 10th 2015, 12:21 AM

Fine gael/fianna fail a corrupt shower of Basta®ds

Mute Mikeconnor
    Favourite Mikeconnor
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:06 PM

Bertie ahern was spotted supping a pint in Kiley’s tonight, smirk across he’s face while watching the 9 o clock news!

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:11 PM

Should have taken the fines from their generous TD salaries

Mute Bryan De B'stard
    Favourite Bryan De B'stard

Tough gig being in for Christmas. 30-days for non-payment of fine is standard in the state.

Mute Liamnolan
    Favourite Liamnolan
    Dec 10th 2015, 1:35 AM

The Dumber and Dumber of Irish politics. …

Mute ray fitzgerald
    Favourite ray fitzgerald
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:15 PM

What a joke…….Still wont pay…So corrupt the whole lot of this politicians…..Its called,playing the game,and ticking the Boxes…

Mute Roisin Phillips
    Favourite Roisin Phillips
    Dec 10th 2015, 12:49 AM

What a complete waste of Money, Manpower (Gardai) etc. On this stupid “carry on” so angry can’t say anymore.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:59 PM

I want to make this the best small country to do funny business

Mute Owen.K
    Favourite Owen.K
    Dec 10th 2015, 12:02 AM

The 2 of them should be doing the whole month WHAT A JOKE

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:58 PM

They look like something from Prisoner Cell Block H

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:31 PM

More prisons please to house criminals, especially repeat offenders and others who break the law like Daly and Wallace.

Mute Gar O'Mhaolmonaigh
    Favourite Gar O'Mhaolmonaigh
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:34 AM

She’s already got prison tats: look at her knuckles, she’s got ACAB on them

Mute Kinsaleable
    Favourite Kinsaleable
    Dec 10th 2015, 12:29 AM

Elected legislators who have no respect for the law. Ironic. If they feel so strongly why don’t they become activists? Their job is to take part in the democratic process add legislators and by engaging in debate. They pick and choose which laws to obey which, again ironically isn’t democracy. Of course the paycheque at the end of the week is too good to pass up and the publicity will appeal to probably enough dopes to get themselves reelected. I wonder if they would have been so principled if they didn’t know that they would be left out in a couple of hours. They either respect the law of the land or they don’t. It’s clear they don’t. They have recourse to higher courts if they don’t agree with the law. Publicity stunts are a charade. .

Dec 9th 2015, 10:59 PM

Ah great she’s driving home for Christmas

Mute Michael Garett
    Favourite Michael Garett
    Dec 9th 2015, 10:57 PM

She’s been left out on temporary release from limerick prison within the last hour.

Mute Kathleen Henderson
    Favourite Kathleen Henderson
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:50 AM

Members of the Oireachtas who break the law have no place in Dail Eirinn.Mick Wallace,Claire Daly &Paul Murphy have and are being processed thru the criminal justice system. That’s not good.

Mute Ger Moloney
    Favourite Ger Moloney
    Dec 10th 2015, 1:55 AM

How do u propose u make them do anything ?? They were fined and jailed as a result of not obeying an order !!!

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:30 PM

What a complete waste.
    Probably 2or 3 cops each driving these two separately to limerick from Dublin (and back?).

Why is there no system to garnish their wages rather than this pathetic charade?

In-forking-sanity.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Dec 10th 2015, 1:41 AM

Clare Daly is nothing more than a criminal with mates who vote. No one with a criminal record should be allowed represent the Irish people.

Mute John Killeen
    Favourite John Killeen

Bohoo

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:16 PM

Aww well there’s not much to say really. Well there’s loads but sure twould cost money

Mute Captain kirk
    Favourite Captain kirk
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:37 PM

I think they’re like a pair of Nelson Mandelas giving up their liberty for a cause

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:42 PM

Well Mandela did 20 years in prison They did 20 minutes.

Mute Thomas baker
    Favourite Thomas baker
    Dec 9th 2015, 11:16 PM

No.. !! Just got north inner city accent .(Just A Real One)….john joey

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:31 AM

The government should demand that the yanks bring a few dead bodies of Syrians on the return flight. We might as well see what the blood money pays for .

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Dec 10th 2015, 8:08 AM

What are these fcuking clowns contributing to our society for the 100K a year (whatever it is) they are drawing. They are a waste of space as TDs.

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Dec 10th 2015, 12:13 AM

Enjoying the show. Let’s imprison these louts for good. Freeing them makes a mockhary of this state. I think they should be executed. Free to thinkers… The cheek

Mute Jess Somerville
    Favourite Jess Somerville
    Dec 10th 2015, 8:49 AM

She is the image of Bob Odenkirk (Saul Goodman)

Mute dave muller
    Favourite dave muller
    Dec 10th 2015, 7:18 AM

A month in Ireland just flies by……doesn’t it?

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Dec 10th 2015, 7:30 AM

Pity they let them out…Mick should certainly be doing time for all the money he owes, but that seems to have been forgotten, can’t understand how he’s allowed to be a TD????

Mute Matthew O' Reilly
    Favourite Matthew O' Reilly
    Dec 10th 2015, 6:22 PM

Here in Ireland the Government do it because It can
    Ignores its constitutions obligations;
    tells the country it dose not give a damn.
    That Shannon is part of Americas war plans.
    Mountjoy has room enough for Enda and the Fine Gael
    Lenister house battalion.
    This Christmas for sure they’ll lock up the wrong man.

Mute Kathleen Henderson
    Favourite Kathleen Henderson
    Dec 12th 2015, 9:50 AM

Pity they didn’t keep herself and Wallace and give us a break.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery

It’s so easy to be criminalised in this nanny state ,trespass without any malicious intent.what if Charlie bird took good look at an airplane!

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Dec 10th 2015, 12:50 PM

That’s less than the average joe would get for not paying a fine!