You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Simon Harris at the Fine Gael party think-in in Mullingar today. The Journal

Simon Harris refuses to speculate on political future following threats to family

Harris said he had to ‘dig pretty deep’ to attend today’s Fine Gael think-in after threats were made against him and his family/

SIMON HARRIS HAS said he had to “dig pretty deep” to turn up at the Fine Gael think-in today after numerous threats have been made against him and his family.

This year’s party think-in takes place after threats were made in recent days against Harris and his family.

Yesterday, multiple bomb threats against the Co Wicklow home of the Tánaiste were phoned in to garda stations, The Journal understands.

The threats made against Harris and his family follow two other reported threats, both made against members of the Tánaiste’s family online.

Over the weekend, Harris condemned the “vile and horrific threats” made against his “close family member” on Friday night.

In a statement issued on Saturday, Harris said that over the coming days and weeks he will consult with his party, government, and broader political colleagues about what action can be taken in the face of online intimidation.

“Someone has to call a halt. Protecting my family will remain my number one priority. I will be guided by them on the next steps,” he concluded in his statement. 

Contemplating political future 

In Mullingar, where the event is taking place, Harris was asked twice about whether the final words in his statement meant he was considering his political future, the Tánaiste said:

“Of course, I’ll talk to my family and be guided by my family because I have two jobs, the leader of Fine Gael and Tanaiste of the Government, and I’m also a member of my family – and I need to work through that.

“So look, leadership’s about showing up. I had to dig pretty deep to show up today, but I’m here, and I’m getting on with the job.”

Asked if ambiguity about his political future might signal that threats could be successful at ousting him from office, Mr Harris said: “I’m not going to play this game of kind of yay or nay.

left-to-right-fine-gaels-party-deputy-leader-helen-mcentee-party-parliamentary-chairman-micheal-carrigy-td-tanaiste-and-party-leader-simon-harris-td-enterprise-minister-peter-burke-td-and-paula Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

“Just think how anybody would feel if, in the last week, somebody threatens to kidnap a child, carry out extreme violence against a close family relative and blow up your house. That’s all happened in the last seven days… I’m not willing to just kind of gloss over that fact. I think that deserves reflection.

“This is not something that needs to just go up and down the news agenda… Somebody will get seriously hurt in this country. Somebody will get seriously hurt. We’ve got to start taking security seriously in this country. That’s the point that I’m making.

“My fundamental duty, as is the fundamental duty of all of us, is the protection and well being of our family. Of course it is. But I’m here. I’m doing my job,” said Harris.

If such threats happened in another European country, the Tánaiste said he believes they would be taken much more seriously. 

He said the threats are trying to intimidate him out of public office.  

‘Utterly despicable’

The Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald condemned the “utterly despicable” threats made against Tánaiste Simon Harris and his family, saying that targeting children in particular is “beyond unacceptable”.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, McDonald said she knows from her own experience how “unnerving” and “very worrying” such intimidation can be for public figures and their families.

“These types of threats are absolutely unacceptable, irrespective of who they are made against, and particularly to threaten small children is utterly, utterly despicable,” she said.

McDonald added that while the perpetrators must be held accountable, such behaviour should not be confused with the “civility, kindness and support” that she said the majority of Irish people show towards politicians.

McDonald, who herself has previously faced death threats, said that she “would not like anybody who is considering running for office to be put off by thinking that this is normal standard behavior.”

“I have to say that in my case, the gardaí were outstanding in their dealing with this and I want to commend them. I’m sure that’s the case now in this turn of events for Simon Harris.”

Harris, who is also Minister for Defence, Foreign Affairs and Trade, has already been at the centre of significant security concerns.

Protests have been held at his home in Co Wicklow, and there has been several online threats published on various social media platforms. 

His home has a permanent armed post, with security at a level similar to that of a sitting Taoiseach.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.