You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Theo Dorgan (left) and his lifelong friend and schoolmate, Mick Hannigan (right). RTE

'Harrowing': Taoiseach responds to testimony from victims of violence in schools

As well as featuring interviews with victims, the documentary also addressed the lack of documented reports.

TAOISEACH SIMON HARRIS has described the testimony given by people who were victims of violence in school in an RTÉ documentary that aired last night as “harrowing”.

Harris commended “all of those who told their stories” and said he is expecting an update on the establishment of a commission of investigation into historical clerical sex abuse. 

As well as featuring interviews with victims, the documentary also addressed the lack of documented reports of abuse allegations kept by the Department of Education.

“The publication of the scoping report, and the painful stories that have been told since, have exposed a culture of violence, of calculated cruelty and the abuse of power that victimised and terrorised generations of Irish children who still bear the wounds and have for all of their lives,” the Taoiseach said.

“It is an unbearable burden which we must help lift,” he said.

Harris said he would also “reflect” on a request from survivors that the inquiry be expanded. 

“Their voices cannot, and must not, be ignored or unheard,” he said, adding that “this process cannot be rushed because it has to be right, and it has to respect the wishes of the victims who came forward”.

“Their voices which were silenced as defenceless children, even those whose parents tried to stand up against the barrage of brutality, are being heard and their bravery in reliving such terrible memories is testament to a national trauma which must be acknowledged.”

During the documentary, one victim, Peter Kane, said that when he was 12, “every day, there was an element of fear going in.

“He could kick off for the simplest of reasons…on this particular morning, the Brother called me up, ‘get up here’ he says, and the first thing I got was a couple of clatters around the head, my face, I think maybe six or 12 slaps I got off him with a leather strap.”

Poet and author Theo Dorgan described his experience as a student in Cork.

“When the door closes, and you are in a confined environment, it’s predator and prey – if you looked at a teacher the wrong way, you would get a slap. We had a gradation of soft slaps, to vicious slaps…” 

His lifelong friend and schoolmate, film festival co-director Mick Hannigan said: “It was not so much a daily occurrence, but an hourly occurrence, class after class. If you got a sum wrong, if you got some difficult Irish poem wrong, then you were punished.” 

If you have been affected by any of the issues mentioned in this article, you can reach out for support through the following helplines. These organisations also put people in touch with long-term supports:
  • Samaritans 116 123 or email jo@samaritans.org
  • Text About It - text HELLO to 50808 (mental health issues)
  • Aware 1800 80 48 48 (depression, anxiety)
  • Pieta House 1800 247 247 or text HELP to 51444 – (suicide, self-harm)
  • Teen-Line Ireland 1800 833 634 (for ages 13 to 19)
  • Childline 1800 66 66 66 (for under 18s)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

98 Comments
    Mute Mary Walshe
    Favourite Mary Walshe
    Apr 16th 2023, 8:27 PM

How the other half live eh?
    But seriously though, doing well for a 28 year old, keep it up!

Mute zephyrum
    Favourite zephyrum
    Apr 17th 2023, 5:04 AM

@Mary Walshe: indeed. Bring home the bacon despite no bacon

Mute Yvon Queguiner
    Favourite Yvon Queguiner
    Apr 16th 2023, 8:29 PM

Good job! That’s my base salary here and I surely don’t have 10k after the taxes (which are used for only god’s know what with poor healthcare, poor education, expensive childcare, poor public service overall).

Mute Alan Dempsey
    Favourite Alan Dempsey
    Apr 16th 2023, 9:46 PM

@Yvon Queguiner:

Poor Education?

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Apr 17th 2023, 8:51 AM

@Yvon Queguiner: Education is the only service we’ve had that is decent, but yea slowly it’s being torn apart by misguided Irish opinion. Also add Housing and Transport.

Mute Simran Collops
    Favourite Simran Collops
    Apr 17th 2023, 4:58 PM

@thesaltyurchin: Despite unrealistic public expectation and far too much of the funding wasted in bureaucracy, Ireland’s Health service is world class.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Apr 16th 2023, 8:24 PM

Before anyone says anything about the salary it’s very average for the UAE. As a past resident if I can one piece of advice to the 28 year old consultant. DO NOT take out any loans or credit cards that’s how they get to keep you as you are stuck if you do

Mute Paulco
    Favourite Paulco
    Apr 16th 2023, 8:21 PM

Riveting!! Zzzzzzzzz

Mute Giboulées des bâtards
    Favourite Giboulées des bâtards
    Apr 16th 2023, 8:28 PM

For some odd reason Engineering consultants in Ireland get half the rate than on the continent. The average charge out rate for a civil Engineer in Scandinavia is the equivalent of 188 euros an hour.

Mute David Chadwick
    Favourite David Chadwick
    Apr 17th 2023, 7:38 AM

1125 for rent in the UAE , you wouldn’t get a bed sit in Waterford for that

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Apr 17th 2023, 9:06 AM

@David Chadwick: yea but we’re all living the dream here.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Apr 17th 2023, 10:06 AM

@David Chadwick: well your property here probably wasn’t built using slave labour like there.

Mute Communist Party
    Favourite Communist Party
    Apr 16th 2023, 8:37 PM

A salary of 120k is just over 1% of workers in ireland. But 54% are college educated in Ireland. From Revenue’s “Analysis of High Income Individuals”

Mute Fallible Guy
    Favourite Fallible Guy
    Apr 16th 2023, 9:37 PM

@Communist Party: Well, ~14% of workers in Ireland are above €100k according to recent statistics perpetuated by Newstalk. I doubt €120k is a hard ceiling for said individuals.

Mute Kieran Menon
    Favourite Kieran Menon
    Apr 16th 2023, 8:29 PM

He’s a peasant with that salary over there when everyone and their grandma drives a Rolls Royce.

Mute Fuji Hakayito
    Favourite Fuji Hakayito
    Apr 16th 2023, 8:34 PM

@Kieran Menon: and you’re point being?

Mute pkunzip doom2.zip
    Favourite pkunzip doom2.zip
    Apr 17th 2023, 12:34 AM

@Fuji Hakayito: he is

Mute Brian Casey
    Favourite Brian Casey
    Apr 17th 2023, 7:13 AM

@Kieran Menon: Certainly not a peasant, on that salary he has a good standard of living. Remember it’s tax free, his healthcare is paid for, and by the way the healthcare system here is world class. VAT is only 5%, the weather is incredible 8 months of the year and petrol is far cheaper than back home. I live here too so I can attest to this. So he’s definitely doing better than he would be back in Ireland, that I know for sure

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 17th 2023, 9:33 AM

Fair play.
    Work hard, take risks, get rewarded.

In Ireland people who do this are vilified by the Left and taxed mercilessly to pay for the perpetually lazy.

Mute SolidSid
    Favourite SolidSid
    Apr 17th 2023, 12:16 PM

@Paul: You really do need to get over yourself and stop blaming everybody but yourself for your bad decisions that left you paying for someone else to live in ‘your’ house. It’s not the fault of ‘the left’, it’s yours and yours alone. Be a big boy now and own it and stop stamping your feet like a child whose ice-cram just fell on the floor.

Mute mark boyle
    Favourite mark boyle
    Apr 17th 2023, 9:42 AM

fair play to you, far away hills are not green, make sure you dont come home !!