You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sasko Lazarov/RollingNews.ie

Sinn Féin TD says Brian Stanley guilty of 'colossal errors of judgment'

Brian Stanley is taking this week off to spend time with his family at the request of his party leader, Mary Lou McDonald.

SINN FÉIN TD and Public Accounts Committee chairman Brian Stanley is “guilty of colossal errors of judgment” by posting two controversial tweets, a party colleague has said.

Eoin Ó Broin said the tweets have caused “a lot of hurt” but he rejected claims Stanley is not fit to chair the committee.

Speaking on This Week in Politics on RTÉ One, he described Stanley as a “fine politician and a good public representative”.

Stanley, who is taking this week off to spend time with his family at the request of his party leader, Mary Lou McDonald, is to make a statement to the Dáil about the social media posts. 

Stanley had been facing mounting calls to appear before the Dáil following a series of controversies.

On Wednesday, he publicly apologised for a tweet sent last weekend, which appeared to glorify historical killings of British soldiers by the IRA.

But he insisted he has “no apology to make” over a 2017 tweet he sent that appeared to comment on the sexuality of Fine Gael leader Leo Varadkar.

The Laois-Offaly TD has now deleted his Twitter account.

Ó Broin has said that his party colleague has been accused of things that are “wrong”.

“What he is guilty of is colossal errors of judgment pertaining to both tweets,” he told RTÉ. 

“It was insensitive and poor judgment, he caused a lot of hurt with both of them and the right thing for Brian to do is reflect on all of that.

“Given he has been accused of some pretty appalling things, it has been a difficult week for him and I think offering to come to the Dáil and make a full detailed statement is the right thing to do.

“People make mistakes and in Brian’s case two particularly bad mistakes.

“I think when people make mistakes they should own up to them, they should apologise, they should explain.

“I think Brian has been accused of things which are completely untrue, he is a politician of serious integrity. I think people should take Brian at his word.”

Stanley has rejected accusations of homophobia over the tweet he sent when the Tanaiste was elected Fine Gael leader.

Fine Gael Minister Simon Harris said: “What I find it very difficult to take is that if I had sent those tweets and I was sitting here today, deputy O Broin and Sinn Fein would probably be calling for me to resign from government, probably saying I was unfit to hold office, definitely demanding that I go into the Dail to answer questions on everything and anything.

“I ask that Sinn Fein hold themselves to the same level and standard that they would hold me to.”

Responding to reports of online attacks by Sinn Fein supporters, Ó Broin urged those people to “stop what they are doing” as they are not aiding or assisting the party.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 85 comments
85 Comments
    Mute Pól Ó'hAodha
    Favourite Pól Ó'hAodha
    Dec 6th 2020, 4:46 PM

From what I’ve learnt from the Sinn Fein mega fans on the journal, Sinn Fein can do no wrong, so I really don’t know who to believe here….

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:00 PM

@Pól Ó’hAodha: Politicians who grossly misbehave should always be called out regardless of the party they belong to.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:10 PM

@Pól Ó’hAodha: What I’ve learned is that you can have crisis is Health & Housing, have one of the most expensive hospitals in the world, liken the leader of another party to a ‘sinner behind the altar’, install your ally as a top judge, have your former party mates as leaders of Banking & Financial Institutions, have you former Party leader ‘advise’ vulture funds, install a placement clone for Maria Bailey and award her family multi-million hand sanitizer contract, who then provide a deficient product leak confidential information to your mate and once you kind-of apologise for it its ok.
    Maybe others are following the FG examples of leadership, accountability and responsibility.

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:12 PM

@Da Dell: True

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:14 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: So ‘colossal’ he has to spend a whole week in the naughty corner. What hypocrisy.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:16 PM

@Pól Ó’hAodha: so mega fans is the new name for what you used call SF Bots?

and of course FG mega fans are just ordinary supporters who hold different views to others. Ya, we get it!

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:22 PM

@lelookcoco: They’re protecting their own just like FG do when one of theirs steps out of line which incidentally happens very frequently. Leo the leak immediately springs to mind. Maybe they should discipline him in a similar fashion to how FG disciplined Leo?

Mute Pól Ó'hAodha
    Favourite Pól Ó'hAodha
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:27 PM

I love that any negative comment about SF means that I must instantly be a FG supporter (insert face palm emoji).

Mute Mary Morrisey
    Favourite Mary Morrisey
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:30 PM

@Da Dell: Even someone who’s not a SF supporter would agree all that is wrong. If only we would all stop with the blame game and force real positive change, perhaps we’d stop being a banana republic masquerading as a first world country.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:34 PM

@Pól Ó’hAodha: Yes like any one who dose not believe FG propaganda is instantly aa SF supporter, your learning experience from Journal comment seems extremely blinkered (insert face palm emoji).

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:38 PM

@Mary Morrisey: I voted for SF for the first time this years after years of voting FF, then FG and all this is doing in confirming my decision. You have the media on about this tweet for weeks which shown them up as the Prestitutes they are really. This Tweet wont be an issue at peoples doors during a run up to a GE no matter how FG and the Media would like to spin it.

Mute Anto Curran
    Favourite Anto Curran
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:10 PM

@Da Dell: tremendous deflection rant there not mentioning one thing on SF TD abhorrent behaviour. It would seem he has your unwavering support against something you’d have the pitchforks out demanding any other party would sack their TD for the same. The double standards is laughable. BTW i have no political allegiance just hate the hypocrisy of SF

Mute Alan Richard Scott
    Favourite Alan Richard Scott
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:15 PM

@Da Dell: this is not about FF/FG. Typical SF response, reflect what the article is about, if the shoe was on the other foot you would be asking for their head on a platter. SF is a danger to this democratic country. This is why SF will never become our government as slip ups like this would occurring every day of the week and it is why Ireland will never become a socialist country either, the country would be run by Terrorists up in Belfast and a autocratic state installed instead. We also reject a party that has spoken so Elegantly about the freedom fighters called hamas and how good they are a Representatives of the Palestinian people, and their support for other left wing terror organisations across the world and especially in South America.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:25 PM

@Anto Curran: No deflection required from me as I have no issue with either tweet …

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:29 PM

@Alan Richard Scott: Pure BS man .. you talk about interjecting what an article is not about then do so and then spout absolute lies from your fake FB account .. typical FG bot.

Mute Fionn Darland
    Favourite Fionn Darland
    Dec 6th 2020, 7:08 PM

@lelookcoco: Last week SF and their shills on here were saying their Brian did nothing wrong. Now O’Broin says their Brian has been a very naughty boy and he is guilty of not just bad, but ‘colossal’, errors of judgement. It must be confusing for the SpooFers to see their leaders changing tack – better late than never I suppose.

Mute Alan Richard Scott
    Favourite Alan Richard Scott
    Dec 6th 2020, 8:24 PM

@Da Dell: fake fb account? Lol

Mute Galwaygogo
    Favourite Galwaygogo
    Dec 6th 2020, 8:46 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: they should also be applauded when they do something right.

The problem with politics no matter the party is that they can do 100 things right good and beneficial for their communities but they say or do something silly, everyone calls for their head.

I think we need to start recognizing politics is not a saint hood but it’s a job and a public job. We choose as citizens who we think will best serve our concerns. If I see someone has provided a good service done loads of work and then creates a stir with a silly comment, I’d vote for them again based on the whole actions. This goes for all parties and independents.

Welcome to democracy

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Dec 6th 2020, 9:01 PM

@lelookcoco: out of work on full pay….

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Dec 7th 2020, 12:52 AM

@Da Dell: you have no issue with the glorifying of IRA deeds on the same day they planted a bomb on a boat in Sligo that killed two innocent children. Its no wonder you hide behind a silly made up name.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Dec 7th 2020, 7:58 AM

@Alan Richard Scott: You want him to stick to the subject of the article, but then go off on a rant that includes references to Belfast, Palestine and South America ?

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Dec 7th 2020, 9:44 AM

@Pól Ó’hAodha: been called a FG supporter is better than having them calling around to you house and telling you to remove you comment.

Mute kMc
    Favourite kMc
    Dec 6th 2020, 4:55 PM

If a FF or a FG TD was guilty of “colossal errors” Eoin would be out for blood. But I suppose it is one rule for SF and one rule for others.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Dec 6th 2020, 4:56 PM

@kMc: And vice-versa…..

Mute Decko49
    Favourite Decko49
    Dec 6th 2020, 4:57 PM

@kMc: Fine Gael and Fianna Fail are guilty of colossal errors. Have you been living in a hole for the last 15 years or so???

Mute Liam Ó hAodha
    Favourite Liam Ó hAodha
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:19 PM

@kMc: did you hear about the Fine Gale Senator John McGahon who inserted a Twix into a sleeping mans anus at the Oxygen festival? Not a peep about it
    https://www.pressreader.com/ireland/the-irish-mail-on-sunday/20181014/281711205612351

Now imagine this was a SF Senator, the political links between the media and FFG stinks in this country

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:21 PM

@kMc: No not at all. You and Simon, Leo and Co are doing exactly what Eoin was doing when the boot was on the other foot. The only difference is Stanley sought the opportunity to address the Dail to explain himself, whilst Leo and other FG’rs have to be dragged kicking and screaming into the Dail to face the music.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:16 PM

@Liam Ó hAodha: That couldn’t be true Liam, that kind of behaviour is only carried out by welfare cheats and benefit spongers who stay in bed until midday, surely not by a member of the “do as we say not as we do” party, Fine Gael? ;-)

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Dec 6th 2020, 9:26 PM

@kMc: Furlough but you’re not on the Pandemic Unemployment Payment. Sign me up please.

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Dec 6th 2020, 9:28 PM

@Liam Ó hAodha: Read about this in the Sun, Star, an poblaicht, etc. It must be true

Mute Jim Beatty
    Favourite Jim Beatty
    Dec 6th 2020, 9:39 PM

@lelookcoco: he did not come out and deny it. Wonder why

Mute Kate Colbert
    Favourite Kate Colbert
    Dec 6th 2020, 9:40 PM

@Liam Ó hAodha: Our media is a complete failure. Russia Today spent more time on Pat Finucane(2 days) last week than RTÉ and our shameful government parties did. RTÉ have been on about Twitter now for a week.

Mute Mr T
    Favourite Mr T
    Dec 6th 2020, 4:58 PM

Simon Harris hit the nail on the head. Sinn Fein are first out of the blocks looking for heads if a government TD sneezes incorrectly. Sinn Fein spew double standards. They gag their party members from commenting in an worrying manner. They have no answers only accusations. They should remember that when you point your finger at others, three fingers are pointing back at them. They are adding no value as an opposition with their populist soundbites.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:15 PM

@Mr T: Well Simon Harris would have great expertise in double standards, having practised double standards for the entirety of his political career.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:28 PM

@Mr T: funny that Simon Harris take on Stanley is practially word for word identical to those alledged artificial FG accounts on here. Makes you wonder who can think for themselves?

Mute Mr T
    Favourite Mr T
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:02 PM

@Angela McCarthy: Populist drivel!

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:09 PM

@Mr T: Pot & Kettle ‘you f o o l’ lol

Mute Mr T
    Favourite Mr T
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:15 PM

@Da Dell: SF, it’s all about personalising retribution. Always the bitter word!

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:22 PM

@Mr T: Take a chill pill man, it was in jest as its the real Mr T’s favourite expression ..

you should see leos and YFG tweets if you have a beef with “personalising retribution” & “Populist drivel”

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:33 PM

@Da Dell: “Take a chill pill man” Hilarious 13 out of 49 posts have come from you. Your profile pic of an angry man venting at a computer sums you up. Must be very lonely over in Switzerland.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:45 PM

@Denis Ryan: Ah Dennis its very good to see you are alive and well, I hope all is good with you, keep up the counting my good man, fair play, can you please tell me how many articles and how many comments per article I had last Mon, Tue, Wed, Thurs, Fri as Ive lost count ..
    Its scary how right you are about me, you should seriously think about becoming a Psychiatrist .

Its my lazy Sunday as first one I haven’t worked in a while, punching in a few hrs before I head for a few pints, I don’t want to go too early as I dont want to drink too much, I have a heavy week ahead and then as I am sure you will be delighted to hear as you so worried about my mental well being, I fly home at the Weeknd for 2 mnths yippee …

Mute Jim Beatty
    Favourite Jim Beatty
    Dec 6th 2020, 9:45 PM

@Mr T: Simon Harris

The man that lied in public during the summer by promising to pay student nurses

And you use him as a reference point. Says a lot about your character and intregity

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Dec 7th 2020, 12:19 AM

Why should anyone apologies for the the actions of the attack on British forces . It was ten years into a war where British had murdered to protect the status quo. Funny but when the likes of successive Irish governments and media describes the killings of nationalists as being Shot Dead as against members of the security forces who were (Murdered) . Hypocrisy at it’s best.

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Dec 7th 2020, 9:46 AM

@Angela McCarthy: a SF member who was a witness in the murder of a Guard had to ask Gerry for permission to give evidence. Talk about thinking for themselves.

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Dec 6th 2020, 4:50 PM

And his party tells about advancing Irish unity.

Mute Airwave81
    Favourite Airwave81
    Dec 6th 2020, 4:55 PM

@Tim: another artificially created account generated by those taxpayer payed Fine Gael so called special advisors .

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:01 PM

@Airwave81: I can assure you I can think for myself, can you?

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:48 PM

@Tim: His party have risked their lives and have worked for Irish Unity since the foundation of the state, while some others pay lip service to further their political careers and afraid to risk a pension for the good of the Country

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:57 PM

@Da Dell: Stanley’s party isn’t around that long

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:08 PM

@Tim: are u for real man ?….. that statement just takes the biscuit altogether

Mute Kate Colbert
    Favourite Kate Colbert
    Dec 6th 2020, 9:46 PM

@Tim: The only Irish Unity party in the 26 counties.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Dec 6th 2020, 10:22 PM

@Da Dell: they were formed in 1970.

Mute The Grand Nagus
    Favourite The Grand Nagus
    Dec 6th 2020, 4:47 PM

At least he didn’t put a loaf of bread on his head.

Mute Alan ODoherty
    Favourite Alan ODoherty
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:18 PM

@The Grand Nagus: correct… but what exactly DID he do ??

Mute The Grand Nagus
    Favourite The Grand Nagus
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:32 PM

@Alan ODoherty:
    Had a few cans.
    Went onto Twitter

Mute KilkennyProud
    Favourite KilkennyProud
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:42 PM

@The Grand Nagus: At 8.30 in the morning.

Mute Virus-free Turkey
    Favourite Virus-free Turkey
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:55 PM

@KilkennyProud:
    Had a lot of cans
    Went to bed.
    Got up.
    Went on Twitter

Mute Daryl Walsh
    Favourite Daryl Walsh
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:16 PM

It’s very telling that the media in Ireland have spent nearly a week talking about Brian Stanley, when this corrupt Government of ours voted against paying student nurses. In a year where they have given themselves two pay rises, this is what we should be focusing our attention on. Oh and not to forget how they’ve made half a million people unemployed.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:33 PM

@Daryl Walsh: Simple Simon Says, the nurse are now being paid, but that they hadnt a chance in the last week to tell anyone.

Why? The stanley Tweet was too important to let the nurse know they were going to be paid? And all cabinet heads were instructed to take to the keybords to do their bit.

Mute Kate Colbert
    Favourite Kate Colbert
    Dec 6th 2020, 9:43 PM

@Daryl Walsh: One day about the stomach turning injustice delivered to the Finucane family from RTÉ and the rest of the ‘national’ media outlets. One week for a tweet that most outside the Pale don’t care about.

Mute Dean
    Favourite Dean
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:03 PM

I’m glad Stanley will be apologising/clarifying this tweet. Leo could apologise after him for his homophobic record against LGBT rights

Newstalk / Irish Times have articles every hour on the hour about this tweet. But they’re awfully hush about issues of the day.

Imagine if public servants all across Ireland released confidential govt documents, would they not be punished like Leo?

Mute Michael Flanagan
    Favourite Michael Flanagan
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:20 PM

Did I miss something or did England invade this country, preside over a type of et*nic clensing during the famine and ambush or ext*inguish anyone who resisted their occupation.
    And the boys of ‘great brittian’ are reduced to tears at this tweet???

Mute Fachtna Roe
    Favourite Fachtna Roe
    Dec 6th 2020, 11:25 PM

@Michael Flanagan: Or did they enforce the Government of Ireland Act (1920), under threat of “immediate and terrible war”, commencing 1921?

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:36 PM

Is it true that Mr Stanley instigated a PAC investigation into state contracts tax fraud & Fffg are all out to remove him from the PAC committee!

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:35 PM

@Da Dell: Did you ever hear about a thing called a tender process.

Mute Ray Walsh
    Favourite Ray Walsh
    Dec 6th 2020, 7:04 PM

Brian Stanley has no issue demeaning the brutal slaughter of young British soldiers who choose national service to escape poverty and unemployment in 1979 Britain.
    Most of them would have a had a very basic understanding of the Northern Ireland troubles.
    Mary Lou was slightly critical of Stanley, primarily because he expressed his views in public. It obviously would have been fine in private and finally Stanley’s use of the term “Slow Learners” also demeans people who suffer from the lack of compassion and understanding associated with the slow learning condition.
    God help us if this is what the future holds for us.

Mute Big Smokey
    Favourite Big Smokey
    Dec 6th 2020, 4:56 PM

The divide in Sinn Fein is comical. The fact it’s supposed to be the progressive party that’s pro sexual freedom and personal freedom and then protects party members that make comments like these is ridiculous. The only thing they can agree on is that FG/FF are “bad”.
    If they’d any self respect they’d throw them out. As much as I’ve to say about Leo, he wouldn’t allow someone with such opinions represent FG

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:13 PM

@Big Smokey: At least many in country can agree with SF that “FG/FF are “bad” “

Mute Amused Bystander
    Favourite Amused Bystander
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:57 PM

@Da Dell: maybe answer the salient point… hatred of others is not a great basis for a party to build policy.

SF are still a mix of old IRA sympathisers/apologisers and a left leaning “promise everything to everyone”….. and one that shuts down all disagreements within the party in a frightening way… the more they are in the light the better as they have a lot of issues

Mute Patrick Fennell
    Favourite Patrick Fennell
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:09 PM

With friends like O Broin who needs ………….

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Dec 6th 2020, 7:56 PM

@Patrick Fennell: former Blackrock College boy. You just can’t trust them lol. A complete joke of a party. Policy: more money for everybody. It makes me think i should start a party. So easy to trot out this b/s.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Dec 6th 2020, 7:17 PM

Double standards only recently did Sinn Fein propose a motion of no confidence and here we have clear misconduct by a sitting TD. Maybe Sinn Fein should not be to quick to criticise others.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:42 PM

What did wrong did Brian do ?

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Dec 6th 2020, 5:55 PM

If SF have this great number of Social Media hounds that FG allege, I would advise them strongly to monitor Leos Twitter and the YFG Twitter a/c’s, you will find a mountain of tweets that they can use to show the hypocrisy of FG

Mute rolyat ecnal
    Favourite rolyat ecnal
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:48 PM

IT the SF brigade who follow Liverpool football club (a protestant club) and the other English clubs that want a all Ireland that worrys me….p

Mute Kate Colbert
    Favourite Kate Colbert
    Dec 6th 2020, 9:44 PM

@rolyat ecnal: You have an issue with Protestants?

Mute rolyat ecnal
    Favourite rolyat ecnal
    Dec 7th 2020, 6:21 AM

@Kate Colbert: far from it, its the anti British who go round mouthing of about the brits but wearing british football club jerseys is the thing i cant get my head around

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Dec 7th 2020, 9:13 AM

@rolyat ecnal: Think you’ll find most scousers dont like being classed as brits but do carry on moaning.

Mute rolyat ecnal
    Favourite rolyat ecnal
    Dec 7th 2020, 10:26 AM

@MickN: you’re obviously too thick to understand my post

Mute Olan Marten
    Favourite Olan Marten
    Dec 6th 2020, 8:39 PM

I’m really sorry but he obviously believed in his statements, to retract now is obviously a lie. You either stand up for your beliefs or you say nothing. Speaking personally, I can’t stand SF lies and a political rewriting of history that anyone can read

Mute Kate Colbert
    Favourite Kate Colbert
    Dec 6th 2020, 9:45 PM

@Olan Marten: What history did he rewrite?

Mute johnkilleen
    Favourite johnkilleen
    Dec 6th 2020, 6:37 PM

is dead right why can’t we say what we think

Mute Wade Wilson
    Favourite Wade Wilson
    Dec 7th 2020, 7:42 AM

The best FFGG can do is try and make a story out of a misinterpreted tweet from four years ago? It’s not distracting anyone from the scandal that they voted to not pay student nurses.

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Dec 7th 2020, 8:58 AM

Approval obviously received to sanction the errant SF TD. By the end of his week the party will have another victim to feel sorry for.

There is absolutely no doubt that SF would in the event of these outrageous tweets coming from another party member be spewing their righteous outrage and demanding the party leader sack the individual instantly.

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Dec 7th 2020, 10:27 AM

He is in the chair of a committee that is investigating dodgy government contracts thats why the hunt is on they need him out of the chair for that reason, if FFG really cared about homophobic attitudes then they wouldn’t sit alongside them in the Euro parliament voting with them..