You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The former RTÉ board chair was speaking at the Macgill Summer School in Donegal today. © RollingNews.ie

Siún Ní Raghallaigh accuses politicians of 'willfully neglecting' public service broadcasting

Ní Raghalliagh made the comments in the context of funding public service broadcasters.

IN HER FIRST public appearance since her resignation as chairperson of the RTÉ board, Siún Ní Raghalliagh said there is “political inertia or, more likely, wilful neglect” of public service media in Ireland among TDs.

Speaking on public service broadcasting at the Macgill Summer School today, Ní Raghalliagh made the comments in the context of funding public service broadcasters – something she claims successive Government have failed to adequately do. 

On Thursday, despite multiple reviews, committees and other bodies recommending the TV licence fee be scrapped, The Journal reported that the Government intends to retain the tax and also introduce a plan for “multi-annual” funding from the exchequer for RTÉ and public service media. 

Ní Raghalliagh told the audience today: “I believe that we have moved on from the debate for the necessity of public service media, but the funding issue has remained for many years and successive Governments have remained firmly in a political stranglehold.

“We have a household licence fee, with an outdated trigger point, centred around the ownership of a television set, despite the fact that out public service content is accessible across all platforms.

“We have the highest evasion rate in Europe and the fee is not index-linked. In fact, it is the most inequitable tax – with around only 50% of households actually paying the fee.”

Ministers have been at loggerheads over recent months about how to fund the national broadcaster, with Media Minister Catherine Martin arguing for full state funding on a multi-annual basis. 

Ní Raghalliagh acknowledged some concerns about this plan, such as the possibility of the independent of the broadcaster being jeopardized as a result, but said that, regardless, she believes the funding model is already “firmly in the control of the political system”.

The former chairperson also pointed to how TG4′s funding, which is allocated on a year-to-year basis from the exchequer, provides no room for future planning or certainty that the same budget will be available the next year.

“[This is] exactly what is to be avoided [with RTÉ] according to Government,” she said.

According to Ní Raghalliagh, who has been involved in public service broadcasting – between TG4 and RTÉ – for the majority of her career, RTÉ has suffered a continuous decrease in funding, as evasion rates increase and the TV licence rate remains the same.

“I would call this a form of political inertia or, more likely, wilful neglect. It is a form of state control of our public service media – not an active control but more an inertia from indecision and failure to grasp the nettle.”

‘One thing is for sure, the debate will continue’

It is understood that at next Wednesday’s Cabinet meeting, a mixture of the TV licence fee and a “multi-annual” State payment will be approved.

The ring-fenced funding will ensure stability for RTÉ and their plans for transformative reform in the years ahead, meaning it will not be subject to annual rounds of budgetary allocations.

But the findings of the scandal in RTÉ over the last year, according to Ní Raghalliagh, have shown that “culture trumps governance” and that while steps are being made to ring fence and improve the governance of the station – the culture must also be examined.

Ní Raghalliagh said: “Reports have been commissioned and delivered to Government and a variety of suitable funding models have been suggested.

“And it would appear from reports that the decision will be to continue for the dual-funding model for RTÉ, with exchequer top-ups, and I assume continue with direct funding for TG4.

“The devil will be in the detail. The questions will be what will be the trigger point for liability to pay a licence fee? How will the licence fee be collected? Will Coimisúin Na Meán be the body that will divide out the licence fee income? 

“Will RTÉ get a fixed-percentage? How will the exchequer funding be calculated and grunted? One thing is for sure: the debate will continue,” she added.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

57 Comments
    Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Jul 12th 2022, 6:25 AM

Just a stunt from SF. This government continues to have the support of the people as the a alternative a SF coalition would be a disaster. They are a party of never ending promises, they believe that they can shake a magic money tree to meet all their proposed spends. Everyone to them is a victim of something, that contention is in their DNA. It is populous rhetoric in the extreme.

Mute a politicians promise is as good as a lie
    Favourite a politicians promise is as good as a lie
    Jul 12th 2022, 6:30 AM

@camio55: lol shake a money tree.. You mean the same tree that FF FG and greens are shaking and spending.. A quarter of a trillion in debt we are thanks to these plonkers

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Jul 12th 2022, 6:36 AM

@camio55: Some load of tripe in that statement, oh look, let’s blame a party that has never been in power

See 67 more replies ▾
    Mute Karl Harty
    Favourite Karl Harty
    Jul 12th 2022, 6:47 AM

@camio55: ah lad go back to bed

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:23 AM

@Shaun Gallagher: it was never in power because it for most of its history did recognize our state. It was a party that supported a violent campaign of murder and mayhem. That is the truth supported by fact not selective empty rhetoric.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:27 AM

@camio55: You need new material sonny. That yarn of yours has run its course.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:29 AM

@camio55: yawn bleeding yawn zzzzz.

Mute Frankie J
    Favourite Frankie J
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:37 AM

@David Corrigan: it’s the truth but Shinners blindly follow their leaders mantra no matter what, it’s pathetic really.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:43 AM

@Frankie J: Blindly follow their leaders? We have 100 years of FF/FG making things progressively worse. But still, their followers keep voting for them hoping that things will improve.
    There is a term for that kind of thinking.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:45 AM

@Frankie J: How is it the truth unless you live on Mars. The latest opinion polls have SF three points ahead of FF/FG combined, so Camio is bending the truth yet again.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:47 AM

@camio55: You just described FFGG, only that to them there are no victims!

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:53 AM

@Frankie J: I know, look the mess SF have made of the public finances, the debt they have created, the homeless crisis, the waiting lists in the hospitals yet people elect SF over and over again believing that they will really sort it this time. It’s just mad to blindly follow a leaders mantra, pathetic really when you think about it, oh wait I just realised I mixed the parties up.
    The fact is that more and more people are giving up on fffg and are sick of their antics. Are SF the answer? I dont know but I know that fffg arent.

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:11 AM

@David Corrigan: you must be very young if you think Ireland has got “progressively worse” for 100 years. Remember the 80′s?? Give your head a wobble.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:11 AM

@camio55: the government continues to have the support of the greens. Note every TD that thinks the government are doing enough about cost of living, hospital waiting lists, Garda, airport security, housing….
    No climate justice without social justice.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:20 AM

@Hector Son: Born in 1974. I remember the 80′s. Things were bad because the state had no money. Things have got worse and we are supposed to be one of the richest countries in the world.

Think about that for a minute. Now it’s your turn to wobble your melon.

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:28 AM

@David Corrigan: been thinking about it and nope, can’t see it. Please explain how the Ireland of today is worse than the Ireland of the 80′s??

Mute FiannaFáilness FineGaelness
    Favourite FiannaFáilness FineGaelness
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:11 AM

@Hector Son: Health and housing, that’s how it’s worse!

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:16 AM

@Hector Son: People were happier, especially the children, we all had a roof over our heads and food on the table, they were simpler times and we got by, we made ends meet.On the other hand People are consumed by financial woes today, its much more difficult to just get by.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:09 AM

@Hector Son: Do you really need that to be explained to you?

Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:03 AM

@David Corrigan: Wasting your time arguing with the FG press office on here. If people really want to know what this govt is about look at the article in the independant about Junior green minister OBrien trying to justify Eamo and Catherine Martin flying business class and Mícheál backing him up. Tax the taxpayer more in offsets was his reply. These arrogant bstrds have been taxing the life out of people for the last two years for having the temerity to drive to work and then the hypocrites fly business class you actually couldn’t make it up

Mute Michael McGrath
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:09 AM

@camio55: it does in its eyeball have the support of the people we have a spoofer as Taoiseach a liar as tánaiste and an hypocritical green clueless zealot who controls the lot. We are now officially the dearest place in Europe to live with a combination of ridiculously high taxes on fuel and wages causing massive inflation and they have neither the wit nor the inclination to do anything about it

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:12 AM

@camio55: well done for remaining so clueless.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Jul 12th 2022, 1:56 PM

@David Corrigan: “Things were bad because the state had no money. Things have got worse and we are supposed to be one of the richest countries in the world.”

How are we worse off now then during the 80s?
    The 80s in Ireland was a lost decade. 20+% unemployment and that was with every second young person leaving as soon as they could save the fare. In the 80s we were still being ruled by the bloody clergy. Contraception was illegal (little bits of rubber outlawed by idiots). I could go on listing things!
    You say you were born in ’74.
    Did you grow up elsewhere by any chance?

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:22 PM

@Hector Son: who was in power then?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:33 PM

@David Corrigan: you really think things have got worse in 100 years? Really?

Mute Kate Peters
    Favourite Kate Peters
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:42 PM

@camio55: who has in Sinn Fein been involved in the troubles,the media are desperate to put down Sinn Fein,they have got nothing on them,and because I supported the IRA when the Catholics were suffering so badly up north and I’m for a united Ireland,are you saying that I’m nothing because of Sinn Fein,maybe if u went back and looked up a bit of History,especially the troubles,let me know what murders did Sinn Fein do..

Mute Kate Peters
    Favourite Kate Peters
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:43 PM

@David Corrigan: thank you David,because I thought I was the only one..

Mute Johnny Kelly
    Favourite Johnny Kelly
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:45 PM

@David Corrigan: Far from a yarn.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:49 PM

@Hector Son: Want some cream for those burns?

Mute Kate Peters
    Favourite Kate Peters
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:49 PM

@David Corrigan: I was a teenager in the 80s,and we had a recession,but the difference between that and now,we only have the government,in the 80s,I made cash anyway I could,from pulling yodeadawns before silage was cut,to bringing in bales of hay baby sitting cleaning cow houses,it didn’t bother our age,but this young age can’t do nothing,and their in 20s,there certainly not going to do it,in the 80s,everything was cash in the hand,when Haughey got in,we knew who we were getting,but he gave a few bob to everyone,Butter vouchers and the free Beef.

Mute Lita Campbell
    Favourite Lita Campbell
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:50 PM

@Karl Harty: But have been in Stormont and made a hash of it. Of course they blame Westminster so its alright.

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade
    Jul 12th 2022, 6:27 PM

@camio55: Mmmm je know what I’ve never voted for the shinners but I’m voting in the next election for children with autism those with disabilities the homeless and those living in hotel rooms the people in need of psychological services for education so our children can aquire the knowledge To identify fairness. saying that the shinners or any other humans in our society have somehow different DNA is the language of 1939′s masters of the universe so let’s join hands and sing

Hello Mary lou ……

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Jul 12th 2022, 6:32 PM

@Hector Son: in the 80′s, one person went to work while the other stayed at home in the house they were buying rearing their family, even though interest rates were 18% on a mortgage.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 12th 2022, 6:44 PM

@Liam Meade: In a nutshell Liam, well said.

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Jul 12th 2022, 6:59 PM

@Kate Peters: Kate I would never say somebody is a “nothing” I might disagree with your views but I will always do it in a respectful manner. I do not believe that SF should be in government for the reasons stated but I accept my view maybe a minority one on these pages. If we could just tone down the insults and the bellicose rhetoric it would lend itself to better interactions.
    I am a liberal minded person and have little time for party politics.

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:22 PM

@Kate Peters: Kate I would never refer to you as having a “nothing” perspective. I would always like to think that we can respectfully disagree with each other. My views on SF on these pages are probably in the minority but they are mine.I do respect all others with a different viewpoint.

I am a liberal democrat not affiliated to any specific party. I sincerely believe that SF would be bad for our country but I would also have the view that FF/FG are less bad.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:25 PM

@camio55: it has the support of spineless TD’s who are only in it for themselves. Let’s not cod our selves.

Mute Brendan Glynn
    Favourite Brendan Glynn
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:34 PM

Nominate an alternative – all countries borrow – we dont have any natural resources except the likes of Intel, Google,, Pfizer etc….without them we’d be lost! – it used to be Guinness!!

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:36 PM

@Shaun Gallagher: It’s a fake FFFG account! LOL.

Mute Conor Flood
    Favourite Conor Flood
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:39 PM

@Michael McGrath: the SF press office speaks

Mute Mike Dunne
    Favourite Mike Dunne
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:47 PM

@camio55:LOL. Once a SF hater, always a SF hater.

Mute Ashling Fenton
    Favourite Ashling Fenton
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:00 PM

@camio55: I’d take my chances with SF

Mute aaron
    Favourite aaron
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:04 PM

@camio55: SF have more support then FF and FG combined right now according to polls. Just like the parties you support you tell nothing but lies

Mute potnoodle
    Favourite potnoodle
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:09 PM

@camio55: What support they are detested by all ,their smug grins said it all when SF laid there history out. This government turns my stomach.

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:09 PM

@camio55: three strikes and you’re out….another ridiculous sound bite from
    McDonald. She’s a walking cliché at this stage. Let’s have a border poll to solve all our problems!!!

Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:15 PM

@a politicians promise is as good as a lie: waffle waffle waffle followed by ususl drivel.

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy

@camio55: what was this state formed after?

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:18 PM

@camio55: stop sitting on the fence…say what you really mean…also this crystal ball of yours that can see into the future to predict SF being a disaster if they got the hot seat, does it stop at politics or firs it extend to say sports, lotteries etc

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:20 PM

@camio55: straight up murder and chaos…youbare awake it was a war legitimised by the good Friday agreement yea…does that not fly with your blind hatred!!!???

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:23 PM

@Hector Son: give your head a wobble…the EU and EU grants and its people are the only thing that has improved this country not FFG!

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:26 PM

@Damien Leen: it’s people…meaning hard working Irish people.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:29 PM

@camio55: your statement is like “it’s better to be led by Vladimir Putin rather than that Kim Jong-un guy” #noconfidenceinthisgovernment

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:52 PM

@Lita Campbell: will you wise up the dup are not taking their seats what news have you been watching

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:01 PM

@camio55: well it’s not a stunt is it?The real stunt is mm having a breakdown in the dail yet again. It’s quite obvious FFFG and the other morons the greens couldn’t give a flying fluck about real people. What’s real people?.The people that will never ever own a home in the country in which they were born. The people that will die on a waiting list for a medical procedure. The people that have no hope of access to mental health services. The people that are sick of the injustice ect ect ect. The list goes on. Stunt?Imagine having a opposition party calling out this shower in government. Whether it’s the shinners or anyone else you should be glad even happy or even ecstatic. But no you’re just a FFFG and greens advocate,which is quite rightly your own opinion.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:01 PM

@Brendan Glynn: maybe try not to waste money. Maybe try and help renters and first time buyers instead of landlords and developers. Maybe a bit of accountability wouldn’t go astray ya know.

Mute Derek Doogan
    Favourite Derek Doogan
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:15 PM

@camio55: so ur happy with the shite show this last few years…and your not talking for the people at all maybe your self .

Mute Elrond Rivendell
    Favourite Elrond Rivendell
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:40 PM

@David Corrigan: You know SF aren’t the only alternative?

Mute DERRY1973
    Favourite DERRY1973
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:33 PM

@David Corrigan: if you were born in 74 and you think ireland has got worse over the past 100 years, I suggest you go back to school.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:39 PM

@camio55: another comment from a paid up member of FG/FF.. regardless of what or who you support politically, how can anyone say they have confidence in this government? EVERYTHING is broken!! And has been broken for a long time.

Mute Michael McGrath
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:41 PM

@Conor Flood: Hahahahaha ha… Never voted SF ever, was a FF voter until the second last election and I have voted almost exclusively independant since. If you believe FG FF and the greens have this countries best interests at heart you are either seriously deluded or well off enough that their policies don’t affect you. Everyone is entitled to their opinion on this supposed open platform but the amount of obviously paid or vested interest contributers on here is ridiculous all hiding behind ridiculous monikers

Mute Michael McGrath
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:46 PM

@Brendan Glynn: we have loads of natural resources off our coast that Mr. Ryan is refusing to sign drilling licences for

Mute Mar Bourne
    Favourite Mar Bourne
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:46 PM

@camio55: Did the circus leave you behind?

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:13 PM

@Elrond Rivendell: where is that other alternative to FFG???

Mute Peadár Ó'Cearnacháin
    Favourite Peadár Ó'Cearnacháin
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:20 PM

@Shaun Gallagher: And Hopefully Never will be…

Mute Elrond Rivendell
    Favourite Elrond Rivendell
    Jul 13th 2022, 1:13 AM

@M Bowe: Social Democrats for one. A progressive, centre left party without the populism, baggage and sinister culture of SF.

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Jul 13th 2022, 1:40 AM

@camio55: what absolute drivel…..!

Jul 13th 2022, 4:11 AM

@camio55: 100% correct

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 13th 2022, 7:19 AM

@Elrond Rivendell: Where did I say there wasn’t?

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Jul 13th 2022, 8:18 AM

@camio55: Don’t be upsetting the lads with facts. They live in Disney land!!

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon
    Jul 13th 2022, 11:14 AM

@a politicians promise is as good as a lie: where do u think the pandemic money came from? If it was up to SF everyone would be getting free money and free houses from the money tree

Mute Fay Moynihan
    Favourite Fay Moynihan
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:21 AM

I read last night that from Sept 2007 to June 2010, during the worst economic crisis ever faced by the state, Fine Gael introduced 3 no-confidence motions in the govts of the 30th Dáil.

FG now have the audacity to criticise SF for calling its first no-confidence motion in the govt since Feb 2017.

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:54 PM

@Fay Moynihan: Ten hours later and still no replies from the pro FF/FG heads????

Mute Ger Clarke
    Favourite Ger Clarke
    Jul 12th 2022, 6:25 PM

@Fay Moynihan: and the government saying such a waste of Dail time…lol. mind boggles

Mute Declan Sweeney
    Favourite Declan Sweeney

@Fay Moynihan:

It might bt their first motion of noconfidence in the Gov. since Feb, 017 but hoq many times they have had motions of noconfidence in Gov. ministers which is basicaly a MONC in the Gov.
    Their last MONC in a minister was against Leo, it has being proved he is not facing charges,

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Jul 13th 2022, 8:26 AM

@Declan Sweeney: he was not tried , he admitted he did it and apologise and as his friend and gov partner the minister for justice probably decided it wasn’t worth the bother , if it was you or me we’d already been in jail….

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:03 AM

This vote is a means of letting the current shabby government know that they are on borrowed time. FF/FG have failed the people of Ireland with their shameless political stunts, lack of progress with housing & health and an inability to deal swiftly with the cost of living crisis. Remember this government was all about Micheal Martin becoming Taoiseach, his personal gain above all else to the detriment of not o ly the people of Ireland but of that of his colleagues in FF. It is an open secret that he will be stepping down before the next election. Look at the mess he will be walking away from. They will more than likely survive tonights motion of no confidence but that is just prolonging the inevitable.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:09 AM

@Frank Cauldhame: jayz Frankie. the Politburo got the script to you early this morning. If you want to see a mess look at what SF have done to NI, worse cost of living crisis, NHS a disaster, pitiful Welfare system, poorest education service in the UK, Covid disaster, and a worse homeless crisis than here. We’re supposed to believe that these spoofers have the answers.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:10 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: Have SF the final word up north? Are they a majority government there?

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:29 AM

@David Corrigan: ah I see. Nothing to do with them. The SF Housing Minister Deirdre Hargey is powerless to do anything about the homeless crisis in NI. SF Minister for Finance Conor Murphy has no powers whatsoever either. Amazing. Will Pearse and David be using these excuses also, ministers in a coalition and seemingly powerless to do anything in their portfolios? They expect everyone else to pull rabbits out of hats but they’ve always an excuse themselves.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:38 AM

@David Corrigan: Like yourself I keep telling that crank that I’m not a member of any political party just that FF/FG are a useless self serving shower who have had their day, but he just doesn’t get the message. He keeps tailgating my comments, I don’t think he’s the full shilling, best not to engage. Wait till you see though, he’s going to put a wrecking ball through this thread ruining any chance of people having a proper debate.

Jul 12th 2022, 10:41 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: Different qualifiers used. Included within the total number of homeless households and individuals in Northern Ireland are people in temporary accommodation, rough sleepers, those living in insecure or “unreasonable” accommodation, people under the threat of eviction or in overcrowded accommodation, and those living in women’s shelters.

In contrast, homeless figures in Ireland – released by the Department of Housing – only count those living in emergency accommodation.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:00 AM

@FiannaFáilness FineGaelness: You may as well be banging your head off the wall, I’ve seen you explain this to him dozens of times, why bother anymore,? Same with David Corrigan, David has explained scores of times that he’s not affiliated to any political party but GAF can’t seem to assimilate info that goes against what his own noggin believes.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:18 AM

@Frank Cauldhame: I have given up on him in fairness. I enjoy a debate and will yield if the other person presents good data etc. But there is simply no talking to the Grump above. I don’t think all his dogs are barking to be honest. Even when I explain things clearly to him he comes back the next day as if I never told him! I just can’t understand how the man thinks at all.

Jul 12th 2022, 2:14 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: I know he knows what I’m telling him, he doesn’t care about that, his whole raison d’etre is to see disinformation in the hopes people see it and it turns them against Sinn Féin etc. As a result I feel his disinformation should be countered. Not for his knowledge, but so others see that he’s wrong. Him and his FFG ilk are in the mode of divide and conquer.

Jul 12th 2022, 2:15 PM

*sow disinformation.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 12th 2022, 2:57 PM

@FiannaFáilness FineGaelness: Yeah I kinda figured that’s why you were replying to him even though you must be exasperated at this stage !
    You definitely have his ‘raison d’etre’ sussed :-)

Jul 12th 2022, 4:51 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: We keep keeping on. I’ll take Soc Dems, PBP, Sinn Féin any day over FFG.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:46 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: is that the north you only recently described as chalk and cheese when trying to make comparisons with south??

Mute Johnny Kelly
    Favourite Johnny Kelly
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:47 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: If all you can do is fling muck maybe you should join sf

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 12th 2022, 6:27 PM

@Johnny Kelly:

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:35 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: Read the numbers Frank. You and your Shinner lackeys got this very wrong

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:40 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: yes look at the exemplary situation in NI where SF in Govt..

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:58 PM

@lelookcoco: If you actually bothered to read my post you’d see that I predicted the motion would fail. Its not as if previous opposition party’s (FF/FG) have called similar motions, its expected of them as opposition party’s. As regards numbers which you mentioned it must be jarring for you and your FFG lackies to note that SF are 3% points ahead of both FF & FG combined in the latest Red C opinion poll. Its hardly surprising though considering this mishmash of a Gov’t have failed miserably whilst strutting around the place like pigeons pooping on the good people of Ireland.

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:03 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: there is no working government in the 6 counties thanks to dup so their hands are tied. Why do you and members of the Irish government try to make a political football out of the 6 counties you are insulting the nationalist people who came out and voted for sf in massive numbers. Please stop making comments on something you know absolutely nothing about you muppet.

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:15 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: This Government should serve its time. Its the one that emerged after last General election.
    There was an alternative but self serving left wing small parties did not trust SF.
    We need a alternative.
    We deserve an alternative.
    Can the left deliver.
    I doubt it.
    Too many have made a career out of opposing that they would be incapable of proposing

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:19 PM

@James Gorman: the only thing the north was exemplary over was sectarianism and oppression of minority. It is a basket case barely held together by the GFA, it can hardly be held up in any light as exemplary system of governance.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 13th 2022, 1:26 AM

@Philip Howlin: what an absolute embarrassing comment Philip. Stick yer self serving comment were the sun don’t shine.

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Jul 13th 2022, 9:12 AM

@Paul Gorry:. No need to feel embarrassed Paul.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:01 AM

It is both justified and the right decision to bring forward a motion of no confidence in this FFGG coalition. Their appalling governance needs scrutiny and that is the job of the opposition. The coalitions efforts to help the most vulnerable in this cost of living crisis are derisible and ineffective. Those who criticise SF need to remember that this state has been governed since its foundation by FFG with the help of Labour and the Greens; a state now characterised by extreme social inequality and division. It is time to allow SF challenge the status quo, to take the lead and bring us in a different direction. Then SF can be judged by its successes or failures. After a lifetime supporting FF and latterly FG, I am now prepared to give SF my support. I expect many will join me.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:15 AM

@Paul Whitehead: And therein lies the problem for FFGG. There will be other votes of no confidence in the time ahead, and when Leo retakes the hot seat, he will need to get a new burner phone to keep in contact with the independents to keep them topped up with sweeteners.

I trust he has got rid of his old Leaker phone by now!

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:40 PM

@Paul Whitehead: a lot of people might vote against the incumbent, it’s normal in a democracy that people don’t let the same people continue in place and get too comfortable.
    The problem is SF, most decent people will still hesitate before giving them a vote. This is the political subsidiary of the IRA army Council, responsible for thousands of murders including the murder of many children, closely associated with criminality and happy to accept training in political subversion from Putin’s regime, even in recent months.
    Turkeys voting for Christmas seems far more sensible than handing over our democracy to a group that has it’s ‘leaders’ appointed by shadowy figures in another jurisdiction.
    I think I’ll pass.

Mute Johnny Kelly
    Favourite Johnny Kelly
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:47 PM

@John Mulligan: Me too

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:50 PM

@John Mulligan: see you still posting the lies about a Russian connection to SF. When it was pointed out to you that it was dissident group OPPOSED to SF who attend that event. But like FFG don’t let the facts disrupt your rants!

Mute Ger Clarke
    Favourite Ger Clarke
    Jul 12th 2022, 6:28 PM

@John Mulligan: gerry left. All good now.

Mute Eugene Smyth
    Favourite Eugene Smyth
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:57 PM

@Paul Whitehead: fair play. I’ve never voted for ff or fg . It’s about time people give sf a chance. They couldn’t do any worse than the present government . 100 year monopoly . It’s time for change. I have faith in the left parties. If they mess it up well then it’s back to another lifetime of opposition.

Mute Fergal Canton
    Favourite Fergal Canton
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:02 PM

@Angela McCarthy: he’s using the one he got from Garda commissioner Noirín O’Sullivan.

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:05 PM

@Eugene Smyth: Oh they could do incredibly worse than them!!

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:24 PM

@John Mulligan: ask nationalists in the North what sf mean to them, oh yeah they had an election recently there and sf won but tge old guard the never never nevers refuse to go into power. I am a very decent hard working person who was born in Belfast and I think I know more about what happened there than you so yeah I have and always will vote sf. I don’t count the 6 counties another jurisdiction just a part of this beautiful country that was handed to the brits to do what they wanted with. Remember out of the ashes of 69 arose the provos. Nationalists had no one to look after them they needed help and they got it.

Mute Michael Creagh
    Favourite Michael Creagh
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:01 PM

@John Mulligan: what utter rubbish!!!

Mute Richie56
    Favourite Richie56
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:32 AM

When last in opposition Fine Gael raised 3 no confidence motions in 3 years, yet when SF do it it’s a “stunt”! The arrogance of FFG is off the charts. What opposition party wouldn’t raise a no confidence motion once the gov loses it’s majority!?

Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:43 AM

Honestly Sinn Fein are at the heart of this housing crisis be under no illusion, they are blocking nearly every planning application over the past few years, recently the handed out leaflets to block a wonderful development in D15 for nearly 200 units. They are the devil in disguise, it’s so sad that the electorate doesn’t seem to have the intellect to grasp what they are doing. Absolutely sickening to watch th manipulate the people who don’t understand. I work in the property supply space and they disgust me.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:13 AM
    Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:39 AM

@David Corrigan: David, I’m not political , just want to see houses built for our Nurses, Teachers , Guards etc and I’ve first hand experience of Sinn Fein blocking developments. Supply is the only answer and voting against these because they don’t like certain aspects of them is very unhelpful in terms of provision of supply. I want to see more from the opposition in terms of policy – proper intelligent debate. All I hear is noise and sneaky stuff (like this charade today) from them most of the time. I’m a floating voter but they definitely haven’t done anywhere near enough in terms of suggested policy to get my vote.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:20 AM

@MB: We all want houses built for our kids etc. Nobody will argue with that. But the report I shared with you did point out a good few mistruths that are being sold as bible by FG/FF. I acknowledge you have first hand experience on the topic and again, I am not going to argue with that.

Hopefully all politicians will get their acts together in the near future and start providing real solutions for the housing problem. All we can do is hope at this stage.

Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:51 AM

@David Corrigan: exactly , I have no problem with the opposition holding the government to account, but I think we all deserve intelligent critique and debate on proper policy to ensure the much needed improvements to the systems are implemented. Every TD in the Dail costs the taxpayer c €300k per annum and in return for that I expect them to make proper policy improvements and not to be carrying on like kids point scoring!

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 12th 2022, 12:07 PM

@MB: Spot on!!!!!!

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Jul 12th 2022, 1:18 PM

@MB: Sinn Fein is at the heart of this housing disaster ? A party that has never been in government is responsible for the shambolic mess that is housing in this country ? Are you listening to yourself ? If opposition parties have so much influence over policy then why do we bother electing a government ? Honestly, the cognitive dissonance in your head is beyond astounding.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jul 12th 2022, 2:06 PM

@MB: If I was mixed up in the property game and tied to FFGG policy with Cuckoo funds and with many of those FFGG politicians as landlords themselves, then I would be disgusted with SF too as they near ever closer to gaining power to spoiling the party.

Funny how you find the opposition sickening, but are happy with those who are overseeing housing misery. Are you homeless yourself MB? or let me guess……..

Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:58 PM

@Declan Doherty: Hi Declan, not looking for an argument here, I’d be happy for Sinn Fein to convince me and win my vote but they are on a lot of councils (and are seriously influential on many) and are actively lobbying for housing supply to be blocked via the planning system. I’m confused about your comment re being in government as the Dail are not involved in the planning process. I hope this explains my thought process.

Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:06 PM

@Angela McCarthy: Hi Angela, I am very open to listening to Sinn Fein s policies but I haven’t seen any to date that make sense. From my experience working in the housing supply sector the solution is more supply, can we agree on that point? The market has been at full tilt since 2019 as it took many developers a few years with limited equity to get their operations back up and running to full speed.
    The key constraints in terms of increasing supply at present are 1) Construction workers – we are at 100% capacity at present (not sure what Sinn Féin’s policy changes could do to help here but would love to hear them) 2) sites with PP in the right locations (I see Sinn Fein blocking these which I find slightly hypocritical that’s all). Not looking for a fight here just an intelligent debate.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:39 AM

The FFFG will do is give themselves a pay rise to celebrate!

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:41 PM

@Lydia McLoughlin: Sorry … The “first thing” FFFG will do … always read over and for good measure read over again before posting, doh!!

Mute Giuseppe Valente
    Favourite Giuseppe Valente
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:45 AM

Everyone knows it was never going to pass. Its political theatre. SF had to bring the motion though as there opposition and with the difference so small. If SF didnt bring the motion the SF haters would be screaming see we told you they didnt want power and are happy in opposition. If SF won the motion the SF haters would be screaming SF is destabilising the countrys government in tough economic times and how irresponsible blah blah blah. Its a no win narrative for SF really even though there just doing there job as opposition.
    The motion was never going to pass because I’d imagine the deals and money promised to independents and ex party TDs for there constituencies over the weekend by government ministers is off the chart of any bribery scale.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:52 AM

@Giuseppe Valente: Correct, and the deals and pay-offs to keep those independents on side, will be paid for from the same FFGG money tree they tell us doesn’t exist!

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:17 AM

@Angela McCarthy: who would you rather see as Finance minister, Pascal or Pearse?

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:31 AM

@Hector Son: Pascal or Pearse? one has already failed and continues to fail – so who do you think?

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:36 AM

@Angela McCarthy: can’t bring yourself to say it huh? Don’t blame you, it would sound riduclous

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jul 12th 2022, 1:56 PM

@Hector Son: Ok Hector, you twisted my arm so I will give you the same answer another way, as you appear to be a slow learner. It isn’t your mate Pascal, as he has had enough time at large to wreck and mismanage and mis-serve the electorate, so I guess I will join the majority of Irish voters and express a vote of confidence in Pearse and his party!

Mute SkylineSi
    Favourite SkylineSi
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:37 PM

@Hector Son: to be fair, Pascal is one of the better finance ministers the country has had over the last while. It was him who balanced the books for the first time allowing us to borrow at low interest rates. Without that, we would be far worse off.

Next couple of months will be interesting to see the promises actually going live and making an impact. Time will tell!

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:39 PM

@Hector Son: Pearse any day

Mute Giuseppe Valente
    Jul 13th 2022, 9:02 AM

Told ye. Coveney on the bews lastnight after the motion failed claiming how irresponsible it was for SF to try destabilise the government of the country in tough economic times.
    Yawn….

Mute Giuseppe Valente
    Jul 13th 2022, 9:02 AM

Told ye. Coveney on the bews lastnight after the motion failed claiming how irresponsible it was for SF to try destabilise the government of the country in tough economic times.
    Yawn….

Mute Jonny Parkinson
    Favourite Jonny Parkinson
    Jul 13th 2022, 1:39 PM

@Hector Son: Pascal is in a league of his own as finance minster n he’s the euro group minister for finance and has the countries financed in the best place they have ever been after such a short time ago where our borrowing rates were so high after economic collapse, there is no comparison against an unproven populist.

Honest to god if SF get in they will make a complete bollox of the development of the country. The next 20-30 years are going to huge with the amount of investment we are going to need in capital projects n if SF get hold of the reins watch the foreign investment that we need to pay for it all disappear.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:03 AM

It forces independents, some of whose seats sf may target, to show their allegiance, something that may be useful to sf once the elections come around. It also ensures that deals will be done with independents. Again, this creates problems for the govt. so I wouldn’t say this is just a stunt. It’s routine opposition politicking

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:32 PM

It’s said that one of the first rules of politics is to be able to count. Clearly Mary Lou and the Shinners don’t have that ability. And they want us to trust them with the country’s purse-strings? At the same time as feigning concern at the housing, health and cost of living challenges, they waste everyone’s time on a doomed vote of confidence. Enjoy your summer holidays Mary Lou. Hopefully someone will buy you an abacus before the Dail resumes.

Mute aaron
    Favourite aaron
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:05 PM

@lelookcoco: You recall what FF did with the public purse since you want to bring it up during the last recession ya? Or are you too dense to remember?

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:13 PM

@aaron: Ya.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jul 12th 2022, 6:40 PM

FF & FG out out out

Mute Peadar Whelan
    Favourite Peadar Whelan
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:48 PM

@Sean: Mary Lou McDonald must consider her own position after this result, she would be calling on Michael/Leo to quit if the result went the other way, how many times/chances does she get, can you imagine her making
    these blunders as head of Government

Mute Christine Hanway
    Favourite Christine Hanway
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:49 PM

@Peadar Whelan: how is she making a blunder? She’s in opposition there isnt much more she can do. Its constantly an outnumbered vote because because too many party members won’t stand up and admit FFG isnt working. Im not for any party, but Im also not stupid enough to realise things are going bad to worse and we need a break in the vicious circle.

Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:13 PM

Sinn Fein have been badly exposed here, Hopefully the electorate see them for what they are now. They need to stop playing politics and start making proper policy suggestions. The people who are voting for them are like the Irish version of Brexiteers. They would be a disaster – the corporation tax boom would be gone very quickly if they start implementing the disastrous policies they are suggesting to the great unwashed.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:42 PM

Bad Day At The Office Mary Lu

Mute Brendan O' Gorman
    Favourite Brendan O' Gorman
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:29 PM

19 lads. SF have no experience of playing the political game, they rely on playing the man.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:08 PM

Martin can run but he can’t hide for ever, we’re waiting in the tall grass for him

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:28 PM

@trebloc01: SF/*** certainly have years of practice at that

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Jul 14th 2022, 12:20 AM

@lelookcoco: Oh well done!!

Mute Simon James
    Favourite Simon James
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:55 PM

Pointless charade

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:11 PM

@Simon James: it may appear that way but it’s not. It will give SF an idea of who is onside with them and who isn’t and they can use this information when the next election comes around

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:07 PM

@Derek Lyster: Big difference in voting with them and actually going into government with them!!

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:07 PM

@Chris Gaffney: surely history has thought us that most will go into gov with most just to get some room at the trough. SF aren’t stupid, Mary Lou is clever enough to know that the motion was never going to pass and that there would be some deals offered to independants by the gov to keep them onside. It’s all part of the game but now they know a little more so they can adjust their game plan

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Jul 14th 2022, 12:19 AM

@Derek Lyster: Na. Sf still toxic and will be for another while. They will need a clear majority of their own!!

Mute Fergal Canton
    Favourite Fergal Canton
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:07 PM

This vote provides the proof that so called independents are as complicit in preserving the status quote politics that consistently treats workers badly. I have no time for politicians who use power for personal benefit in their own constituency and ignore the common good.

Mute Larry Whelan
    Favourite Larry Whelan
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:38 PM

Typical of the Shinners,wasting government time playing silly games.
    Imagine them being in government,an empty Vessel makes the most noise

Mute Christine Hanway
    Favourite Christine Hanway

It shouldnt be on parties to vote like this because you can be garuanteed if this vote was done by the public they would be out. Not necessarily to put SF in. It is clear as day things have and continue to go from bad to worse for the majority of this country. We are being sold down the river, its a free for all for too many, its as difficult for the working person to own their own home, for anyone to access decent health care, services for any sort of health care, additional needs are ignored. The cost of living is excruciating, childcare the same cost as your mortgage, thats if you can get a mortgage, even on what’s supposed to be a “high income” nothing, absolutely nothing is working here and change needs to happen. It will only happen when this vicious circle is broke.

Mute lorcmulv
    Favourite lorcmulv
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:55 PM

If we have 160 TDs then who are the 9 that didn’t vote – and why – the whole point of a td is as a public representative and vote in the dail – especially on matters of a national interest.

Mute Fergal Canton
    Favourite Fergal Canton
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:12 PM

@lorcmulv: I received a notice from one TD that he was recovering from surgery and could not attend the vote.

Mute lorcmulv
    Favourite lorcmulv

@Fergal Canton: thanks Fergal – is there a pairing arrangement for such situations ?

Mute lorcmulv
    Favourite lorcmulv
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:25 PM

@lorcmulv: so Waterford’s Matt Shanahan abstained, Bernard Durkin FG has covid and didn’t get a pairing arrangement from SF as they say they do not pair on confidence votes – which begs the question if there is another confidence vote when minister mcentee takes her 2nd maternity leave from December will they still not pair ?
    Still leaves 7 TDs unaccounted for – anyone got more info?

Mute Joseph Duggan
    Favourite Joseph Duggan
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:32 PM

Ff @ fg @ greens please make a list of achievements in the last 20 yrs nil nil nil

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:33 PM

@Joseph Duggan: This was debated already Joe. The vote has taken place. You lost. Badly.

Mute Gavin Delves
    Favourite Gavin Delves
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:49 PM

I’ll never vote independent there just as bad as fffg

Mute Owen G Mc Ginley
    Favourite Owen G Mc Ginley
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:45 PM

Any Government would be better than this crowd, as long as they are truthful and keep their promises to the Electorate. Honesty and openness is all that’s required, and that’s something we haven’t had for the last 60 years or so.

Mute Sean Doheny
    Favourite Sean Doheny
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:34 PM

Sinn Fein the hold me back and let me at them,under the bed republicansj,send someone else to do the dirty work,and of course the fragmented other parties watching out to see how the vote was going,to see which way they would vote themselves after all turkey’s don’t vote for Christmas

Mute Richard Ahern
    Favourite Richard Ahern
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:35 PM

Good!!!! Thankfully this nonsense is behind us. Let’s get on with running the country as best we can and enough of the We Ourselves party.

Mute James Reardon
    Favourite James Reardon
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:03 PM

@Richard Ahern: if that’s your standard no wonder you vote for mediocrity. People getting crippled by taxes, childcare costs, fuel/energy costs, poor housing supply, spiralling rental costs, a crippling debt landed on every person in this state thanks to these government parties and a pathetic heathcare system. Even tried book an nct and zero dates available in limerick, Ennis or nenagh until mid October. But, ya, enough of this party that has never been in government in this state.

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:50 AM

Bunfight before the summer recess.

Mute Jacqui Quinn OBriain
    Favourite Jacqui Quinn OBriain
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:44 PM

Lest we forget – “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results!” Albert Einstein

Mute Joanne Stokes
    Favourite Joanne Stokes
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:30 PM

@Jacqui Quinn OBriain: yip it’s called Stockholm syndrome

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:23 PM

Bad misjudgement by the shinners down hill from here

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:06 PM

@John Byrne: except it’s not John. The government are being held accountable by the opposition. Why would anyone sane person let FFFG piss over them anymore?

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:35 PM

Where is Frank Cauldhaume hiding tonight? Hello Frank? Where are you? Your cronies lost so badly Frank…

Mute Eugene Smyth
    Favourite Eugene Smyth
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:00 PM

@lelookcoco: you are a fool

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:13 PM

@lelookcoco:.maybe hes doing something constructive with his life tonight.Maybe the fact he has one is upsetting you. Let it go.

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:32 PM

@Paul Gorry: Well at least he left a couple of his mini-mes like yourself to put on a brave face

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:49 PM

@lelookcoco: The fact ye spout the sh it yer spouting ie on the the poll in the dail today and not even realising the unrest going on behind the scenes in the fg party beggars belief. The homeless will remain homeless. Feel proud won’t you.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:58 PM

@Eugene Smyth: Beg to differ eugene that would be a tool. Notwithstanding your correct analysis in the first place.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:52 PM

@Paul Gorry: Cheers Paul, lelookcoco is as besotted with me as his pal (same account) Grumpy. I find it startling but complimentary that they/he feel the need to tailgate me around the place.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:47 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: Hear ye Frank. They/it offer nothing to any article. The fact ye spook them is impressive. Well done sir.

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:16 PM

Mary LuLu marching the sheep up the mound again. Useless waste of Dáil time to give these Comedians a Stage and a piece of a drama befitting the SF Circus. SF are like waves washing onto a strand, Noisy before they disappear into the sand.

Mute Caoimhghin Whyte
    Favourite Caoimhghin Whyte
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:29 PM

Have no confidence in self serving politicians & political parties any more.
    What was it Hamlet (if my memory is correct) said about the state of Denmark applies here too I reckon. See no point in voting anymore currently.

Mute James Bong
    Favourite James Bong
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:36 PM

@Caoimhghin Whyte: Something is rotten

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:55 PM

@James Bong: hardly worth the Mc Hugh’s of this Dail voting against government on single issue policy, only for them to vote confidence in that government within days/weeks. This permits that government to implement the policies which they stood against.
    If that ain’t virtue signalling what is???

Mute Peadár Ó'Cearnacháin
    Favourite Peadár Ó'Cearnacháin
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:19 PM

What a waste of Dáil time and a backfired publicity stunt by SF … Shower of total empty vessel’s…. And what makes the most noise ??? Yep…. Empty Vessel’s….

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Jul 13th 2022, 8:33 AM

@Peadár Ó’Cearnacháin: the result was obvious to the dog in the street , it was making a point of how badly the present gov are performing which ever dog also knew but it does no harm to point it out….

Mute Theresa Corrigan
    Favourite Theresa Corrigan
    Jul 12th 2022, 5:56 PM

Why isnt it live on Rte 1

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jul 12th 2022, 6:29 PM

@Theresa Corrigan: The government couldn’t be having that now Theresa, can you imagine if all the people without an internet connection were able to watch this on TV…

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco

@Theresa Corrigan: It’s on line and on your phone which you can clearly access if you can make useless comments here

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco

@Dave: They’d see how desperate and childish the loony left really are

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:27 PM

@lelookcoco: some people don’t have broadband and can’t afford to use their data.

Mute John Kavanagh
    Favourite John Kavanagh
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:26 PM

All cheeks of the same arse .. let’s hope the next 2 years fly by and the usual suspects don’t vote the same way

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Jul 12th 2022, 7:36 PM

@John Kavanagh: Just accept the democratic process for once

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 12th 2022, 8:31 PM

@lelookcoco: Said like a true idiot.

Mute Michael Casey
    Favourite Michael Casey
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:25 PM

The tonight show . Eamon. Ryan …dear Jesus, Save us .

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:38 PM

@Michael Casey: Fell asleep Michael. What happened?

Mute Joanne Stokes
    Favourite Joanne Stokes

@Michael Casey: the tonight show…jeeze how did Ryan stay awake long enough fer that one!! A Starbucks in his recycled reusable mug!!!!

Mute Joanne Stokes
    Favourite Joanne Stokes

@Michael Casey: the tonight show…jeeze how did Ryan stay awake long enough fer that one!! A Starbucks in his recycled reusable mug!!!!

Mute Verners Tess
    Favourite Verners Tess
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:39 PM

Stop complaining please. You loved this government when they locked us down. Tony was great, NPHET were great, the government were great.
    We did so much better than everyone else you said and now you moan the results of what you supported. Laughable.

Mute Eamon Guilfoyle
    Favourite Eamon Guilfoyle
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:40 PM

I think the timing of this vote was not well thought out. Before an upcoming budget was a terrible time. Budget is needed badly and some who might have voted against the gov actually voted for them.

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:53 PM

Good news.

Mute Dermot Gleeson
    Favourite Dermot Gleeson
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:15 PM

We there you go. Who would expect the FF/FG/GP/Indp, cancel their summer holidays at short notice. Kick the can down the road to the September or October when the vast majority of people of this country will be below the bread line. Then the excuse will be the war and the world economy. Does anybody in government take the responsibility of governing for the people so that they can survive the coming winter and beyond. It’s the government that are following the popularity of the rich mover and shakers of this country and the foreign investors. Have a look at the Uber files interesting reading.

Mute martina loughlin
    Favourite martina loughlin
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:03 PM

This is awkward

Mute John Morgan
    Favourite John Morgan
    Jul 12th 2022, 9:45 PM

Time for change use you brain vote sf

Mute sandra clifford
    Favourite sandra clifford
    Jul 12th 2022, 10:05 PM

No surprise there

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Jul 13th 2022, 6:31 AM

Now sf, go sit in the corner and stop timewasting. Go out and win the election if you are able but looks like you will need your own majority because not much of the unattached or smaller parties look like they want to go with you. Or maybe over the next 2 years the voters will see through sf??

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Jul 13th 2022, 8:51 AM

@Chris Gaffney: you obviously know nothing of politics do you seriously think sf expected to win winning wasn’t the aim they now know who will support fffg+g you know look at the wider picture….

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Jul 14th 2022, 12:23 AM

@Peter donnelly: She never had a chance of winning it. Just acting the clowns. The ate still too toxic for anyone else to support them……

Mute Jonathan Byrne
    Favourite Jonathan Byrne
    Jul 12th 2022, 11:15 PM

Is he for real this government has ruined the country we need a change

Mute IAmSCozzie
    Favourite IAmSCozzie
    Jul 13th 2022, 5:59 AM

The only reason that the government have won the confidence vote is because all those ministers are afraid to go into a general election and lose their seats. The GP and FF will be absolutely wiped out, and FG won’t fair too well either if they have to go to the people for their votes now !!!

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Jul 14th 2022, 8:47 AM

@IAmSCozzie: They don’t have to go now though, do they? Two years is a long time for either the coalition to improve or for sf to slide down in the polls!!!

Mute Anne Kelly
    Favourite Anne Kelly
    Jul 13th 2022, 2:33 PM

Remarkable quietness accross all the media today! Great result for Michael Martin’s Government. Can you imagine the uproar on the air waves today if result had gone SF’s way! A significant loss for Labour & Soc Dems as well.

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy
    Jul 13th 2022, 11:21 AM

A the little lambs following sheep with to the bank

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Jul 13th 2022, 8:46 AM

the result was obvious to the dog in the street , it was making a point of how badly the present gov are performing which ever dog also knew but it does no harm to point it out….