You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'171km in 120 zone': Gardaí catch 226 drivers above the speed limit on national slow down day

The vast majority of motorists checked respected the speed limit for national slow down day.

THE GARDAÍ’S NATIONAL Slow Down Day finished up at 7am this morning.

Over the 24-hour period, a total of 134,739 vehicles were checked by the gardaí and GoSafe. Of these, 226 were found to be travelling in excess of the speed limit.

Some of those were found to be travelling far in excess of the speed limit on that particular road, including this car on the M1 motorway near Dundalk:

Assistant Commissioner Michael Flynn thanked the vast majority of drivers who respected the speed limits yesterday.

He also urged all drivers to “please, think about the consequences of speeding the next time you get behind the wheel and reduce your speed accordingly”.

The gardaí released some “notable detections” of speeding over the 24-hour period:

• 125 km/h in a 100 zone on the N4 at Lackan, Edgeworthstown, Longford
  • 91 km/h in a 60 zone on the R586 at Murragh, Enniskeane, Cork
  • 131km/h in a 100 zone on the N3 at Daggan, Cavan, Cavan
  • 109 km/h in an 80 zone on the R513 at Ballyfauskeen, Ballylanders, Limerick
  • 100 km/h in a 60 zone on the R418 at Youngstown, Athy, Kildare
  • 121 km/h in a 100 zone on the N15 at Mount Temple, Grange, Sligo

90391395_90391395 Mark Stedman / Rollingnews.ie Mark Stedman / Rollingnews.ie / Rollingnews.ie

The garda twitter account, meanwhile, has been busying itself with its finest Guns N’ Roses puns this morning.

Read: Motorists warned about ‘greasy roads’ as heavy rain forecast for weekend

Read: Gardaí will be out checking in force today as part of Operation Slow Down

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

69 Comments
    Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    May 27th 2017, 12:10 PM

No fear of them being out today in that rain.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    May 27th 2017, 12:12 PM

@mickmc: ?

Mute Dub_Right
    Favourite Dub_Right
    May 27th 2017, 12:17 PM

@Alan Scott: You’ll never see a Gard out checking speed in the rain..

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    May 27th 2017, 12:45 PM

@mickmc: Ha ha so true

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    May 27th 2017, 1:30 PM

@Dub_Right: You’ll be surprised, today it’s “Operation Umberella”.

Mute #knowingitall
    Favourite #knowingitall
    May 27th 2017, 1:46 PM

@Dub_Right: well thought the same thing but seems where we were bloody wrong……got pulled over outside Naas doing 131 in a 120 zone 20 mins ago. There goes the weekend i guess!

Mute #knowingitall
    Favourite #knowingitall
    May 27th 2017, 1:46 PM

@#knowingitall: Guess i dont know it all after all!

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    May 27th 2017, 3:28 PM

@Dub_Right: If you are over the speed limit you will not see them untill it’s to late That’s the idea

Mute Dub_Right
    Favourite Dub_Right
    May 27th 2017, 5:29 PM

@#knowingitall: Oopps, some bitter medicine to take for your heavy right foot…

Mute sue
    Favourite sue
    May 27th 2017, 10:12 PM

@Dub_Right: seen them today in the lashing of rain

Mute WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Favourite WilhelminaMCallaghan
    May 27th 2017, 11:14 PM

@mickmc: don’t be severe , don’t you know they are made of sugar and if wet they would melt like in a little blue mound on the side of the road … with the ” hair dryer” lying on the floor and that be so so very sad

May 27th 2017, 11:16 PM

@#knowingitall: that is real unlucky , didn’t know they made weather proof ones .
    And more so pissed off ones when wet !
    That road by the way is one of their haunts . Careful next time

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    May 27th 2017, 12:13 PM

More made up figures

Mute Dub_Right
    Favourite Dub_Right
    May 27th 2017, 12:18 PM

@Paul Murphy: Source?

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    May 27th 2017, 12:19 PM

Michael Lowry years ago when be was minister promised comprehensive review of speed limits to make them sensible….Never happened Lucan bypass is still 60Km

Mute Alan Madden
    Favourite Alan Madden
    May 27th 2017, 12:32 PM

@John003: m50 flyover at blanch is 30kph…. Complete farce.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    May 27th 2017, 12:42 PM

@John003: that Lucan one is a pain as is the stretch from airport to swords. Always well manned from behind a pole.

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    May 27th 2017, 12:44 PM

@Dub_Right: i think Paul Murphy was being witty.

Mute vNblxOSQ
    Favourite vNblxOSQ
    May 27th 2017, 1:22 PM

@Dub_Right: he pulled it out of his areas. Like the bankers and the guards. Oh and the university lecturers and the state funded charity ceo’s.
    source y bo€&ox

Mute Dub_Right
    Favourite Dub_Right
    May 27th 2017, 1:32 PM

@Greg Blake: It’s the same old joke time and time again on anything Garda related, loses it humour after the 500th time..

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    May 27th 2017, 3:22 PM

@Dub_Right: I’m sure youre right, but I think after much more than 500 times, the issuing of false figures by state bodies (not particularly a Garda issue) has also lost its humour.

May 27th 2017, 11:20 PM

@Alan Madden: I know right is so weird if I do that my car dies out and roll backwards I try one night when there was no traffic to do that part you come from M3 at 100 then drop to 80 then sudden 30 and my car died rolled backward . It was 3 am no one on the road hence I could do that experiment . But a 50 from your 80 is oke

Mute Eugene Tyson
    Favourite Eugene Tyson
    May 27th 2017, 12:00 PM

And not one criminal…

Mute Dub_Right
    Favourite Dub_Right
    May 27th 2017, 12:03 PM

@Eugene Tyson: Just Law breakers…

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    May 27th 2017, 12:11 PM

Maybe it’s time to fit some type of speed restrictor on cars

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Dub_Right
    Favourite Dub_Right
    May 27th 2017, 12:17 PM

@Alan Scott: Some insurance companies will let you fit a “Black box” speed/time tracker to your car in exchange for a reduction in the cost of the premium…

Mute Bennythekid
    Favourite Bennythekid
    May 27th 2017, 12:19 PM

@Eugene Tyson: 131km an hour on any road is bordering on criminality-if your child was seriously injured or killed as a result of that type of behaviour you might have a different outlook.

Mute Eugene Tyson
    Favourite Eugene Tyson
    May 27th 2017, 12:30 PM

@Bennythekid: I actually did know someone who died in a car crash, in America, by a drunk driver. I’m not ignorant to the fact that speed kills. I disagree with speed vans though and speed guns. It does nothing to slow down a driver on the day. People slow down going past the speed points and speed back up again afterwards. Big whoop – there’s a point in their day they slow down for a minute while they all silently whiz past doing the speed limits.

Where is the justice in fining people for driving fast, when they are allowed to continue on their journey without even blinking as they past the speed vans/speed guns on the roads? It’s not really making roads safer, is it?

Mute Dub_Right
    Favourite Dub_Right
    May 27th 2017, 12:40 PM

@Eugene Tyson: It’s the knowledge that a speed check could be anywhere at any time that would prevent people from indiscriminate speeding..

That and the introduction of average speed cameras on major roads, which in 2017 Ireland doesn’t even have one.. Well apart from the port tunnel, though not sure it’s fully active/legal yet…

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    May 27th 2017, 12:41 PM

@Bennythekid: 130kph is the standard limit on many European major motorway sections. But they break it back down sensibly according to needs, reducing to 120, 100, 80 and 50 along with having many variable limit zones. We need a constant review of limits, so people dont get into a habit of booting along certain sections of road they think they know, familiarity breeds contempt.

Mute Bennythekid
    Favourite Bennythekid
    May 27th 2017, 1:06 PM

@Greg Blake: yes but we don’t have autobahn like Germany-and independent studies have shown that speed vans actually reduce accidents by up to 19%.

Mute Gerry McCarthy
    Favourite Gerry McCarthy
    May 27th 2017, 1:08 PM

@Eugene Tyson: What’s your solution to people speeding and driving dangerously?

Mute Eugene Tyson
    Favourite Eugene Tyson
    May 27th 2017, 1:41 PM

@Gerry McCarthy: Couldnt cars be fitted with gps trackers like in your phone. And your location would be known for what road youre on. The speed limit could be picked up. And like where your car beeps for the seatbelt and handbrake etc. It could beep when speeding. Or approaching dangerous bend or accidemt blackspots.

It will never be done because a) the garda make too much money from fines and b) people dont want to live in a big brother state.

However, its one possible way we fould actually save lives rather than fining someone after they have already been speeding and continued on speeding that day and more.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 27th 2017, 2:41 PM

@Eugene Tyson: this “making money” lark is so much bs. Do you think they get commission or something ?! Fines go to the central coffers. There is no incentive for gardai to issue fines. However a road death costs the state (that’s you and me) nearly 1million Euro.

Mute Eugene Tyson
    Favourite Eugene Tyson
    May 27th 2017, 3:02 PM

@Paul: I never once said they get paid a commission for each fine – that’s not what I said at all. I said the money from the fine is a money making scheme. And it is, the fines go into the coffers that pay the wages of the government employees. That is all.

Yes a road death costs a lot of money – and I empathise with anyone who has lost someone in a road death – as said before I am one of those people. It’s deeply upsetting and costs a lot.

I still maintain that speed guns/vans don’t resolve the issue. As said before, you can slow down on approach and speed off on exit.

Of the 134,739 on the roads only 226 were speeding – which is 0.16% – it’s very low. Which suggests to me that what is happening is people are slowing for that moment in time where there is a vehicle or garda with a speed gun.

Hardly solving the issue is it? As I maintain that people warn other motorists as well, by flashing lights, so people slow down way before reaching the speed point anyway.

What’s stopping them maintaining a fast speed after the check point? Nothing!

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    May 27th 2017, 3:31 PM

@Dub_Right: Great idea I think it’s aimed at young and inexperienced drivers only not certain ?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 27th 2017, 3:41 PM

@Eugene Tyson: you stated “the Garda make too much money from fines”. That is a lie. They don’t make any money. If every Garda in the country decided not to issue tickets for a month they’d still be paid the same amount. The fines go to central coffers for government wages? True but not all of it, they also pay for EVERY other government service.

You say speed vans/guns don’t work, it’s the only equipment available at the moment. Call a spade a spade, no driver should speed, it’s the drivers fault and only the drivers and in a perfect world no fines would need to be issued. But this is the real world.

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    May 27th 2017, 4:39 PM

@Gerry McCarthy: Do they have speed awareness courses in Ireland thats would be a start . I got caught doing 85mph (136.79kph) on the M11 last summer just outside London in a friends car . I normally never speed top speed is not my thing . I was caught by a police motorcyclist standing on the side of the road (dangerous spot to stop ) and recieved the summons within a week . I was given the option of a speed awareness course which i took . It was four hours of classroom stuff a bit boring but i did learn some interesting stuff . No points on my license for doing the course and as long as i dont get caught within the next three years i can do the course again if caught speeding .

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    May 27th 2017, 4:40 PM

@Alan Scott: Maybe it’s time there are sensible speed limits. The N3 used to have a speed limit of 100kph until the M3 was built. Then the limit on the N3 was reduced to 80kph in order to encourage people to use the M3. There is a long stretch of the M50 where the speed limit is 100kph. It’s a motorway for God’s sake.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 27th 2017, 7:33 PM

@Cindy Crawford: agree that some roads need to be look at. The motorways are designated as such due to their construction not because of speed. Traffic congestion on the M50 is far to high to allow 120

May 27th 2017, 11:21 PM

@Eugene Tyson: no sure the criminals are off the weekend isn’t the Dáil and the banks closed on weekends ?

Mute Noel Kelleher
    Favourite Noel Kelleher
    May 27th 2017, 1:06 PM

Assuming the figures are correct that’s a compliance rate of 99.83% .. pretty high I think .. the article focused on the number 226 ..who broke the speed limit .. two sides to the story and the Journal went negative .. I THINK YOU ARE PRETTY ALL GOOD DRIVERS … TAKE A BOW..

Mute Jason Ó Dúill
    Favourite Jason Ó Dúill
    May 27th 2017, 12:33 PM

For a national day of action 226 seems a very low considering one of the speed vans prob catch 40 or 50 a day.

What was the figure last year?

Mute Padraig Corcoran
    Favourite Padraig Corcoran
    May 27th 2017, 1:08 PM

@Jason Ó Dúill: 1 Billion

Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    May 27th 2017, 1:39 PM

@Jason Ó Dúill: Only used on City drivers

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    May 27th 2017, 4:03 PM

@Padraig Corcoran: that’s innacurate! it was 1 billion 4 thousand and 42!

Mute Padraig Corcoran
    Favourite Padraig Corcoran
    May 27th 2017, 4:19 PM

@iMoan Brutal: Maybe that should be rounded up to the next billion?

Mute Dragutin Cvetković
    Favourite Dragutin Cvetković
    May 27th 2017, 2:34 PM

Does anyone drive under 120km/h on M50 if the way is clear?

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 27th 2017, 2:46 PM

How many of the 226 detected were off duty Garda, prison officers, firemen, ambulance drivers, river rescue…flash of the oul ID and exchange of winks and nods.

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    May 27th 2017, 3:14 PM

And of course it sounds much worse in km as opposed to miles per hour

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    May 27th 2017, 3:41 PM

@Ian James Burgess: plus a lot of limits are much too low.

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    May 27th 2017, 4:30 PM

@tom: here in Spain if too many people are caught at a certain part of the road over the speed limit without fatalities they increase the speed limit.

Mute dead right
    Favourite dead right
    May 27th 2017, 2:56 PM

in kerry they would have a couple of pints in them as well .

Mute Terry O'Callaghan
    Favourite Terry O'Callaghan
    May 27th 2017, 3:35 PM

@dead right: oh..shut the he’ll up. Idiot

Mute David
    Favourite David
    May 27th 2017, 3:46 PM

@dead right: and a big dinner… get a clear run at the day

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    May 27th 2017, 2:10 PM

Almost 135000 vehicles checked and 225 found to be over speed limit. In one hour you would find that 225. What happened the rest of the 135000 vehicles. Must have something to do with statistics. Hmmm

Mute Terry O'Callaghan
    Favourite Terry O'Callaghan
    May 27th 2017, 3:33 PM

No fear they catch anyone using the phone..or with half the lights on the vechile not working… it’s some f–n joke… rsa need to wake up

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    May 27th 2017, 3:43 PM

@Terry O’Callaghan: focus is always speeding so much so the no other rule of the road is enforced

Mute Maeve McCarthy
    Favourite Maeve McCarthy
    May 27th 2017, 4:10 PM

@Terry O’Callaghan: I saw that very thing this morning. A driver going along in this heavy rain, laughing away on their phone, narrowly missing an oncoming car.

May 27th 2017, 11:26 PM

Here is the deal . I’m sick of this persecution of motorists is nct is speed is fines is points how about that : instead of persecution people with punishment how about if you keep without penalty points you get your exorbitant car tax halved . Or your massive robbery insurance reduced ? No all they do is persecute people FOR MONEY so don’t give me this crap that is for your own safety no is solely for MONEY

Mute Regina Phalange
    Favourite Regina Phalange
    May 27th 2017, 11:42 PM

@WilhelminaMCallaghan: well said i couldn’t agree more

Mute Larry Kavanagh
    Favourite Larry Kavanagh
    May 28th 2017, 1:07 AM

@WilhelminaMCallaghan: Ever heard of a no-claims bonus as a reward for safe driving? It’s only fair that offenders should be penalised and safe drivers rewarded.

Mute Yogee Bear
    Favourite Yogee Bear
    May 27th 2017, 5:06 PM

Speed Limits in this country are a complete joke!!

Mute Bernard Banaghan
    Favourite Bernard Banaghan
    May 27th 2017, 10:48 PM

Did They Catch Anyone With the Money in Templemore

Mute Paul Matthews
    Favourite Paul Matthews
    May 27th 2017, 4:38 PM

They are wonderful. Topping up their suntans. No sign of them today.

Mute 6ljJQRRU
    Favourite 6ljJQRRU
    May 27th 2017, 7:03 PM

Yep everyone has the same thought…who’s gonna believe what figures they publish

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    May 27th 2017, 4:02 PM

So judging the previous gardai figures.. the correct amount of people caught exessivly speeding is aprox 7. 3 off these we off duty piggies.

Mute Richie Tyndall
    Favourite Richie Tyndall
    May 27th 2017, 8:47 PM

1 in 600 caught for speeding. How many caught using their phone? How many caught tailgating?

Mute Dick
    Favourite Dick
    May 28th 2017, 8:33 AM

I think that people who comment on the Gardai not doing their jobs are silly c@#ts I can only assume most if ye are spunkers and flat