You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Lauren Hurley/PA

Snapchat is worse for your relationship than Facebook

Scientists found Snapchat is more likely to elicit jealousy from a partner than Facebook.

SCIENTISTS HAVE FOUND Snapchat is more likely to elicit jealousy from a partner in a relationship than Facebook.

A study conducted by German and British researchers says the higher level of privacy afforded to users of Snapchat encourage people to share more intimate – or racey – content as it erases messages seconds after they are sent.

Findings show that the main difference in motives were that Snapchat was used more for flirting and finding new love interests, whereas Facebook was still the main social networking site used for keeping in touch with friends.

Users were presented with a series of potentially jealousy provoking scenarios like a partner:

• Sending pictures or making wall posts that are sexually provocative.
  • Adding a previous partner to their friend list
  • Private messaging a friend of the opposite sex
  • Receiving a snap/wall post from a mutual friend of the opposite sex

They were also asked about how frequently they check their partner’s top friends or Facebook page and whether they worry their partner is using the social network to initiate relationships with a member of the opposite sex.

Researchers found Snapchat elicited higher levels of jealousy in users than Facebook.

The full study can be found here.

Read: A wanted man revealed his hiding spot on Snapchat and immediately got caught>

Read: This is why Snapchat fully deserves a €16 billion valuation>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

18 Comments
    Mute Gonzo Doyle
    Favourite Gonzo Doyle
    Mar 28th 2015, 4:29 PM

Nothin worse than when you put your cock up as a story by accident.. Major panic!

Mute Mike Johnston
    Favourite Mike Johnston
    Mar 28th 2015, 3:59 PM

Totally agree!

Mute Claire
    Favourite Claire
    Mar 28th 2015, 4:14 PM

The Internet has to be the 2nd biggest factor in failed relationships. The first being football manager.

Mute DublinLad
    Favourite DublinLad
    Mar 28th 2015, 5:32 PM

I was given the choice of continuing Football Manager or Herself.

I’m currently in the play-off’s to the Premier League with Crewe, haven’t seen herself in a few days, she must be in her Mother’s.

Mute L-Plate
    Favourite L-Plate
    Mar 28th 2015, 6:08 PM

I’m in the premiership with Exeter City, three seasons there now pushing for a UEFA Cup spot. I have an important match against Liverpool tomorrow (I won’t get a chance to use it today), a relationship is the least of my worries. I’ve got an entire squad to keep happy

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    Mar 28th 2015, 4:54 PM

If you have gotten to the stage where you are raiding your bf/gf/husband/wifes electronic toys to make sure they’re not cheating your relationship is already over.
    If you are in a p1sser over them flirting you’re an idiot who does not understand how the male brain works, and possibly a hypocrite because most women in relationships flirt innocently, it’s not an invite into a guys bed (though most guys don’t seem to understand that fact…)

BTW if you’re deciding to be jealous of who your partners talking to based on that persons Facebook you’re a tad naive…shockingly…the real person is not always the flawless one put forth on Facebook..they have stubble…don’t always have a perfect tan etc

Kids today, things were better back in my day…you know 2009….God I’m old…

Mute BevinArmageddon
    Favourite BevinArmageddon
    Mar 28th 2015, 4:15 PM

Ive never used snapchat. I think I’ll steer clear to. I just don’t get it.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    Mar 28th 2015, 5:02 PM

The idea is it does not save every last utterance the way google talk does etc

Most people don’t realize just how much of what they say online is recorded unless you specifically mark it as off the record or whatever, I showed a friend the other day 4 years of his google talk chat logs going all the way back he was amazed, he didn’t even know it did that.

Mute DublinLad
    Favourite DublinLad
    Mar 28th 2015, 5:33 PM

^^^ Creep.

Mute BevinArmageddon
    Favourite BevinArmageddon
    Mar 28th 2015, 5:38 PM

I understand what the app does. What I don’t get is why people are obsessed with it. Adding text to pictures that disappear few seconds… why is that groundbreaking.

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Mar 28th 2015, 5:47 PM

Was a joke

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    Mar 28th 2015, 8:18 PM

@Bevin..it’s not really…I think the idea with the PHOTO element of it was again that it’s not SAVED…so when people are sexting, they know their photos won’t appear all over the net just give the other person an idea and boom it’s gone…I’ll give you two ways it can be helpful.

Scenario #1: Say a girl is sexting a guy. What’s a dumb ass heterosexual guy going to do (many of them) unless it’s his GF (and even then maybe…) if she sends an MMS? Show his mates…”hu hu hu hu it’s this awesome she totally got er tits out hu hu hu…she digs me she’s gaggin far it”
    Now she does it through this he’s not likely fast enough to screenshot it so it vanishes, nobody else see it

Scenario #2: This kind of text is a godsend for LGBT people esp younger ones who are closeted and wanna hook up. Say they do the same thing, well there are hoardes of blog sites all over the net with 1000s of pictures of amateur guys and girls and so you won’t end up on one of those unless you don’t want to…you can use this…quick…and gone in a second.

You may not ever wanna do the above, but some do, so if there is a safer way to do it, happy days.

It can also help in an era where people are creeped out by things like the NSA scandal, quickly erasing info helps people feel more secure. There is a bit of a FAD element to it sure (some people like to show off how ‘cool’ they are and ‘with it’ by talking about how in touch they are with this stuff) but it does have some benefits.

Mute Luke D
    Favourite Luke D
    Mar 28th 2015, 5:32 PM

I’m sure if they broke this out by gender you would find that the women are the ones with the problem with snap chat. The lads wouldn’t care because they are not crazy.

Mute mrs b
    Favourite mrs b
    Mar 28th 2015, 5:12 PM

I reckon there is something inherently wrong with the need for an app that deletes messages..surely it’s open for all kinds of abuse ?

Mute Claire
    Favourite Claire
    Mar 28th 2015, 4:15 PM

The Internet has to be the second biggest factor in failed relationships. The first being football manager.

Mute Leo Powers
    Favourite Leo Powers
    Mar 28th 2015, 11:12 PM

Social media was not meant for the Irish male over 30. What started out as embarrassing drunk texts in the 90′s turned into full on rants while sentimentally numb on facebook. That, and sticking up every dance tune you monged out to in 1999 in a field in Holland. If there was any doubt that you are an awful eejit with drink has gone, it’s all out there now. Kinda liberating I suppose

Mute Rose
    Favourite Rose
    Feb 11th 2016, 7:01 AM

Thank you regarding Wonderful and also Beneficial Post. This article is very is made up of lot more information regarding This particular Matter.Contact Now Page