You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File image of waves during a storm at Tragumna Beach, West Cork, in January last year. Alamy Stock Photo

Status Red on Friday as public warned of one of Ireland's 'severest storms' ever

Storm Éowyn is set to bring ‘damaging and destructive’ gale force winds with gusts of up to 130km/h.

LAST UPDATE | 22 Jan

MET ÉIREANN HAS extended status Red wind weather warnings to all counties on Friday.

A Status Red wind warning for Carlow, Kilkenny, Wexford, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Waterford will be in effect from 2am until 10am on Friday.

A Status Red wind warning will come into effect for Clare and Galway from 3am and remain in place until midday.

The Status Red wind warning for Leitrim, Mayo, Sligo will be in place from 4am until midday. 

Cavan, Monaghan, Dublin, Kildare, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Offaly, Westmeath, Wicklow, Roscommon, Tipperary will all be under a Status red wind warning from 6am until midday.

Donegal will be under a Status Red wind warning from 6am to 3pm. 

Met Éireann has also issued a Status Yellow rain warning for Cork, Kerry and Waterford that will be in place from 9pm on Thursday until 3am on Friday.

The Met Office has issued an Amber warning on counties Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Tyrone and Derry from 6am on Friday until 9pm.

A Status Orange wind warning will be in place across the whole country from 2am until 5pm on Friday.

Met Éireann has warned that the storm will bring “damaging and destructive” gale force winds with gusts of up to 130km/h.

Keith Leonard, the chair of the National Emergency Co-ordination Group (NECG) has said the incoming weather system will probably be among the “severest storms” that Ireland has ever seen.

Leonard told RTÉ the number of people who will lose power will likely top the 385,000 figure that came with Storm Ophelia in 2017.

map map

The NECG added that public transport does not operate during red weather warnings, and operators will make assessments on when to resume services after the warnings have been lifted.

Air and ferry passengers seeking updates regarding specific flights or ferry crossings, should contact their airline or ferry operator directly.

The group also advised that employers in red level areas should facilitate their employees working from home where possible, and said only emergency service workers should be leaving home for work, “where directed by their employer”. 

People are being warned to expect fallen trees, damage to power lines and power outages.

The electricity network is expected to be severely impacted, and the public are advised to prepare for the arrival of the storm including ensuring their mobile phone is fully charged to enable communication.

By Eoghan Dalton, Lauren Boland, Emma Hickey, Muiris Ó Cearbhaill, David Mac Redmond and PA

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

76 Comments
    Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 22nd 2025, 3:38 PM

Now you can panic! Tesco’s and the rest will be bedlam on Thursday!

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jan 22nd 2025, 4:47 PM

@Gary Kearney: Kites R Us will sell out bigly

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sector? seems to be a shocking culture? incompetent management? is it at the direction of the ministers/Dept of finance?
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sector? seems to be a shocking culture? incompetent management? is it at the direction of the ministers/Dept of finance?
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:44 PM

@Gary Kearney: Gusts upto 180kmph in parts of the West Coast according to Windy

Mute Richard Reynolds
    Favourite Richard Reynolds
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:07 PM

@Gary Kearney: Why? It’ll be over in a few hours

Mute pee wee
    Favourite pee wee
    Jan 22nd 2025, 3:54 PM

Shame on SF for bringing our national parliament into disrepute, today is indeed, a dark day in Irish politics

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jan 22nd 2025, 4:19 PM

@pee wee: Away and shite ye wee bollix

Mute pee wee
    Favourite pee wee
    Jan 22nd 2025, 4:25 PM

@Anthony Curran: you OK hun?

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute biggybald
    Favourite biggybald
    Jan 22nd 2025, 5:12 PM

@pee wee: What’s that got to do with weather warnings?

Mute Dale Voinz
    Favourite Dale Voinz
    Jan 22nd 2025, 5:25 PM

@pee wee: ye big lefty

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Jan 22nd 2025, 5:46 PM

@biggybald: just meeting their chronic need for attention

Mute Ray Buckley
    Favourite Ray Buckley
    Jan 22nd 2025, 6:40 PM

@Anthony Curran: Ha Ha Deadly, quote of the day .

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:00 PM

@pee wee: He’s fine…you’re the sad little government cheer leader…just shut up and go away u half-wit!

Mute hans vos
    Favourite hans vos
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:02 PM

@pee wee: Shame on politicians who will be part of the government but claiming to be in opposition. It’s the same as a GAA player who scores and playes .for both teams

Mute Richard Reynolds
    Favourite Richard Reynolds
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:08 PM

@pee wee: Wrong thread

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:38 PM

@pee wee: you remind me of David Brent.

Mute Mandog68 Mandog68
    Favourite Mandog68 Mandog68
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:56 PM

@pee wee: go away you sad, pathetic little child

Mute Minnie Mouse
    Favourite Minnie Mouse
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:13 PM

@pee wee: Did you mean to refer to “An Dáil”?

Mute j m m
    Favourite j m m
    Jan 22nd 2025, 10:29 PM

@pee wee: idolisation for ‘shinners’ is what you have… deep down, admit it doe boy.

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Jan 22nd 2025, 10:33 PM

@pee wee: sure sure
    What ever

Mute Enzo Maximuis
    Favourite Enzo Maximuis
    Jan 22nd 2025, 10:50 PM

@pee wee: sap

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 22nd 2025, 11:51 PM

@pee wee: i hope the soup was nice for lunch after your vigorous defence of the royals earlier.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jan 23rd 2025, 12:46 PM

@pee wee: absolute waffle. Comments aren’t even closed on these stories the way they are for many unpopular government decisions of late on journal and others – This gov plans to bring in Michael Lowry who should be in jail. it’s a dark day when they re elect him which means it’s always a dark day in that part of Leinster. Family people who look their kids in the eyes after voting for career criminals

Mute John Brown
    Favourite John Brown
    Jan 22nd 2025, 3:42 PM

Be busy out at salthill diving board…

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Jan 22nd 2025, 3:51 PM

@John Brown: be sure to park the car in the flooding car park and get a new 251 with a little help from your insurance company

Mute Adrian Drought
    Favourite Adrian Drought
    Jan 22nd 2025, 3:53 PM

@John Brown: Unfortunately there’ll always be a few c l o w n s about who want their 5 minutes of fame quite happy to put the lives of the rescue services personall at risk.
    Let them swim I say.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 22nd 2025, 11:43 PM

@John Brown: Didn’t RTE warn people not to be swimming in the sea during a storm!

Mute Steve Bradshaw
    Favourite Steve Bradshaw
    Jan 23rd 2025, 5:44 PM

@Harry Paisley: you going to go out to save them??? Thought not…

Mute Conor O'Brien
    Favourite Conor O'Brien
    Jan 22nd 2025, 5:23 PM

Why is the North Orange?

Mute Brian buckley
    Favourite Brian buckley
    Jan 22nd 2025, 5:30 PM

@Conor O’Brien: this should be fun!!!!!

Mute ken donegan
    Favourite ken donegan
    Jan 22nd 2025, 6:37 PM

@Conor O’Brien: That’s not a simple answer unfortunately

Mute fiachra pollard
    Favourite fiachra pollard
    Jan 22nd 2025, 6:45 PM

@Conor O’Brien: The north base colours on damage expected, republic base it on wind speed etc.

Mute Liam O Sullivan
    Favourite Liam O Sullivan
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:06 PM

@Conor O’Brien: I think I learned about it in history class a while back. Did Met Eireann do something about a plantation? Definitely a guy named William involved, think he was a meteorologist?

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:16 PM

@Conor O’Brien: Orange you glad you’re not red.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:18 PM

@Liam O Sullivan: I don’t know if you’re taking the P or not but I received an A1 in Geography back in the day and we defo didn’t separate the biological or environmental issues of this Island based on borders.

Mute Sarah O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sarah O'Sullivan
    Jan 22nd 2025, 10:08 PM

@Conor O’Brien: That would be an ecumenical matter!

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Jan 22nd 2025, 11:30 PM

@Donna Fallon: hold on ’til I get the medal out for ye…. “A1 in Geography”….

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jan 22nd 2025, 11:45 PM

@Conor O’Brien: stupid map. Lazy and disrespectful

Mute Peter Finnigan
    Favourite Peter Finnigan
    Jan 22nd 2025, 6:06 PM

Now is when we need the journal to start a fresh story and give all the current data rather than cutting and pasting bits into the existing article.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:17 PM

@Peter Finnigan: you need boards.ie for that.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 22nd 2025, 11:25 PM

@Peter Finnigan: Your needs are petty in all views

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jan 22nd 2025, 11:48 PM

@Peter Finnigan: It’d be great if they could update their map to include met Office details. It’s not one bit helpful for the border counties the way it is

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jan 22nd 2025, 11:49 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: oh… Now I feel silly

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Jan 22nd 2025, 5:25 PM

Just got a trolley full of bread and another of toilet rolls in. U never know

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Jan 22nd 2025, 6:17 PM

@barry williams: get real for 6 hours dublin under a red warning ⚠️ say home

Mute john murray
    Favourite john murray
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:22 PM

@Alan Moloney: sounds like he’s expecting a brown warning. Best to stock up in that case.

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:30 PM

@barry williams: and here I read you got another toilet roll in, I mean, you can never be too prepared, but if it’s one of those portaloos, you’d better make sure it’s tied down properly, or you may go for a ride while using it

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 22nd 2025, 11:42 PM

@barry williams: I can never understand the panic buying of toilet rolls, if there’s going to be no food in the shops, that must mean there’ll be a much reduced need for bog rolls!

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:20 PM

Hopefully it destroys the plantation in clonmel

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:33 PM

@Freda Peeple: Bitter much “Freda”? How hateful you are wishing that on anyone.

Mute Andrew Martin
    Favourite Andrew Martin
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:27 AM

@Anthony Curran: He is only saying what the majority are thinking!

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Jan 23rd 2025, 2:26 PM

@Andrew Martin: Doubt it. The majority are sympathetic and welcoming.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:41 PM

The spelling ‘Eowyn’ is very jarring.

Mute Cormac Byrne
    Favourite Cormac Byrne
    Jan 22nd 2025, 6:01 PM

be the holy!!!

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Jan 23rd 2025, 5:23 AM

@Cormac Byrne: Don’t forget to take in the clothes off the line.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:02 PM

Perfect conditions to climb croagh Patrick

Mute DJ D
    Favourite DJ D
    Jan 22nd 2025, 11:30 PM

@Paddy Ryan: Show Pee Wee the way please… just make sure he doesn’t find his way back! That tool is a troll and usually operates under Trump24, Tired Jim, Stephen, Paul F Doe etc

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:20 PM

Insane wind speeds if predicated, a cat 1 hurricane is 120–150kph they’re throwing 175 out rn. Clare and Galway should spend all day tomorrow making sure the kegs are full!

Mute Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:53 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: those hurricane force winds are sustained winds. We’ll get gusts well in excess of that, but the sustained winds will be far less than hurricane force, thankfully. Still it will be a windy one. Definitely not the day to be taking unnecessary journeys

Mute Lonely Are the Brave.
    Favourite Lonely Are the Brave.
    Jan 22nd 2025, 3:54 PM

4 mile away from Tipperary border so why no red alert in Kilkenny

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Jan 22nd 2025, 4:03 PM

@Lonely Are the Brave.: your too far from the sea

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Jan 22nd 2025, 4:10 PM

@Lonely Are the Brave.: Counties are used for alerts as people, like you, know where they are. Imagine if the warning said ‘a lot of the northern part of kildare’ or similar. Would that include Kildare town itself? Naas? Who knows. So the err on the side of caution and include the whole county.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jan 22nd 2025, 4:48 PM

@P. V. Aglue: kilkenny could be coastal by the weekend

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jan 22nd 2025, 5:26 PM

@Lonely Are the Brave.: get on to Michael Lowery.Isn’t he youre local representative.Anyway the only time there will be a red alert in Kilkenny is when those Tipp lads get strong in the hurling again.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:26 PM

@Lonely Are the Brave.: You’ve been included since your comment was posted… sorted.

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Jan 23rd 2025, 5:19 AM

@Lonely Are the Brave.: The tide will only come in from the west as far as the Tipperary/Kilkenny border.

Mute Manc Chris
    Favourite Manc Chris
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:12 PM

Jackets up and over……. Direct flight to work

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Jan 22nd 2025, 10:39 PM

Awhhhh Man!!… I honestly hope that I’m blown away from this absolute joke of a Country. Have my red stilettos ready.

Mute Joe Beirne
    Favourite Joe Beirne
    Jan 22nd 2025, 11:35 PM

@Donna Fallon: meaow

Mute Jennifer Kelly
    Favourite Jennifer Kelly
    Jan 22nd 2025, 5:28 PM

Let’s see….

Mute Glen Kelly
    Favourite Glen Kelly
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:21 PM

Any bread left anywhere don’t see anything left

Mute Ethan Gannon
    Favourite Ethan Gannon
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:07 PM

Met Éireann are soft boys

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Jan 22nd 2025, 11:17 PM

Wonder Are RTE and Irish Independent going to blame and frame it on Sinn Fein

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 22nd 2025, 11:31 PM

@Kevin O Brien: Are SF the reason that an Atlantic Storm is approaching? Normally, SF is going the other way across the Atlantic to charge 5k a plate dinner, they ie SF still can’t get into government… Once, Twice and Three times a failure , that’s the reality…..

In March those dinners will be 10 bob

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Jan 23rd 2025, 5:17 AM

Éowyn?! Who made that name up?

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Jan 23rd 2025, 6:41 AM

@Ulick: Welsh

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Jan 23rd 2025, 9:19 PM

No, what tripe, what the hell has happened to people in this country