You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gerry Adams Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Latest poll shows Labour support continues to fall as Sinn Féin sees a further boost

Support for Fine Gael remains unchanged from the last poll at 25 per cent.

THERE ARE MORE gains for Sinn Féin with the latest Sunday Business Post/ Red C poll showing their popularity has jumped four points to 22 per cent.

While the poll shows gains for Sinn Féin, there were is a drop in support for Labour, which is down four points to 7 per cent.

Election 

The poll found that if there was an election tomorrow, 25 per cent of voters would give their first preference vote to Fine Gael.

This is the same outcome as the last poll.

Fianna Fáil have also seen a drop of four points, with support at 18 per cent. Support for Independents is up to 28 percent, an increase of three points.

Read: A TD used a Dáil question to ask if a water meter protester would have their dole cut>

Read: The government wants to sort out its Seanad problem before the summer holidays>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

93 Comments
    Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:40 PM

Indo better conjure up some fake story, or bring up something that happened 40 years ago fairly sharpish to counter SF’s ongoing success!

Mute Donal Costello
    Favourite Donal Costello
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:44 PM

Something something something Mcconville something something something IRA

Mute Pickart Solny
    Favourite Pickart Solny
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:52 PM

Yes, just pretend SF/IRA were not guilty of horrific deeds. Popularity does not negate previous crimes. If this were the case defendants would not be judged on the evidence they would be judged on their popularity.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:56 PM

Here we go.
    Pickart do you have a alarm on your phone for every time SF get mentioned. You are looking pretty pathetic,spewing the same shi8e every single day..

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:59 PM

pickart can say what he likes…but the headline wont change

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:05 PM

@pickart, so which of FF/Galway Tent, FG/Blueshirt or Lab/Lies at Elections floats your boat, there’s historical baggage all over the place but most of us live in the present and we call it as we see it NOW.

Mute Bernard Cantillon
    Favourite Bernard Cantillon
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:33 PM

Therefore Gerry you have no problem with murder

Mute Pickart Solny
    Favourite Pickart Solny
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:01 PM

Bernard, to support the Shinners you must have no conscience, no memory, no scruples and no intelligence.

Mute HomoHabilis1980
    Favourite HomoHabilis1980
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:30 PM

Right on queue lol

I’m sure we can help Pickart with his sf obsession.

Mute HomoHabilis1980
    Favourite HomoHabilis1980
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:31 PM

Right on queue
    Jesus man get a life ya bore

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:39 PM

My god pickart they sound perfect for u

Mute Mick Roach
    Favourite Mick Roach
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:02 PM

Pickart would you ever f@ck off! Nobody agrees with your bullshite except senile Blueshirts.

Mute Paul Harvey
    Favourite Paul Harvey
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:04 PM

Indo is reporting that the coalition is up in the poll FG up to 28% Labour up 7.

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:07 PM

That may be so pickart, but ye lot have no flegs anymore. So, you lose.

Nobody wants ya’s. Not the Brits, not the Irish. Nobody likes the bigots.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:20 PM

@ paul: The indo is owned by a FG donor who just got handed a large chunk of our household charge to fit water meters. The only poll that matters is the polling booth.

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:44 PM

@Bernard, that’s a shocking thing to say about me, don’t know how you could twist what I said to come up with that statement. What you said is untrue but I suspect you know that and its just your desperation for your crowd to hang on to power. News for you though, the times are changing.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Jun 29th 2014, 7:31 AM

Paul Harvey that was a push-poll, the questions where designed to deliver the desired result.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Jun 29th 2014, 11:55 AM

Well Pickart – you certainly qualify on your last point – ” no intelligence” !
    You are a laugh a minute a chara – hahaha .

Mute richard fennessy
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:40 PM

It’s good to seem people’s memory regarding f failed is returning to them

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:43 PM

Jogger (as in memory) O Cuiv helped greatly !
    they’re calling him “Silvio” in the west I hear !

Mute Ruairi Newman
    Favourite Ruairi Newman
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:22 PM

Fine Gael have done worse in the last three years, and the morons will still vote for them.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:37 PM

If Labour fall any further they’ll become an underground party

Mute richard fennessy
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:38 PM

Ruairi I hate f Gael but 3 years is not as bad 3 generations that f failed shafted us for

Mute eire366
    Favourite eire366
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:33 PM

The silence from Fianna Fail supporters is deafening as per usual……loads of people support them but no one publicly, says it all really……the party and its ‘supporters’ will bring this country to ruin AGAIN and the rest of us will be none the wiser AGAIN……woodworm comes to mind…..God help us!

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:08 PM

Time for Micheal Martin to be thanked and put out to pasture.

We can BS ourselves about the local election results, (which still were in line with our worst result ) in rural Ireland giving us lots of cllrs and making up for 14% in Dublin. Easy to do well where SF are weak and many FG voters stayed at home.

The Bye-election shows a drop in support in Dublin West.

No MEP and no TD’s in Dublin, 14% of the Dublin vote. Where is the progress when you look at the figures.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:37 PM

Seanie – I hate to remind you but Fianna Fail broke the country in two haves ; the haves and the have nots …
    the I.M.F. is a direct breach of articles 5 , 9.3, 11 etc. and every oath every given by any who accepted the seal of office …..
    If Fianna Fail were painters the best you could hope from them is that they might piss up against a wall for you …..
    Seanie loyalty is an honourable trait , but asinine loyalty is the kind of thing that ends you up in a trench with a pencil in your hand searching your soul for the reason why you are in said hole !
    if you are getting paid ; then fair enough , but if not look at the facts and re-think.
    having said all that if Faianna Fail want to repay their debt to society then all, they have to do is sue Merrill Lynch for false and misleading information …. they were c. 50 biilion out when Cowen signed and only for that Fianna fail would not have a leg to stand on !

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Jun 29th 2014, 12:44 AM

Not morons Ruairi Newman, just people with no choice but to vote for the least worst option.

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Jun 29th 2014, 7:04 AM

Last time i checked there were more than 3 parties on the ballot!!!

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Jun 29th 2014, 7:37 AM

Yes Liam we all know that; least worst option voting is where the voters work backwards from the worst option, numbering the ballot paper in reverse order until they end up putting a number one beside whoever turns out to be the least worst option.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Jun 29th 2014, 7:52 AM

*Eamonn

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:41 PM

Would like to see them getting a whack at it. God knows they couldn’t do a worse job than whats going on at the moment!

Mute Avidad Tae
    Favourite Avidad Tae
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:03 PM

Yes they could. They could do a lot worse and will if they get into power. SF has NO viable economic policies to get us out of this fiscal hole we’re in. They are against austerity, yet actively implement austere measures in the North. They are promising the sun, moon and the stars but have no way of carrying through. People need to wake up and smell the roses because if people vote for SF based on their lies , they will be as sorely disappointed with them as they are with FF, Labour and FG

Mute Ruairi Newman
    Favourite Ruairi Newman
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:26 PM

Sinn Féin are a Conservative party, on a par with Fine Gael. Their promises are given the lie by their actual policies in Northern Ireland. Those idiots who romanticise the murder of women and children as patriotism will still vote for them however, and lie to themselves that a Sinn Féin government wouldn’t be tantamount to electing the Tories or Unionists.

Mute Seamus O'ceadagain
    Favourite Seamus O'ceadagain
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:01 PM

Ruari….you were on a roll till you started the insults….what happened did you run out of ammunition?

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:02 PM

A government that is only supported by 32% of the population. We must demand an election.

Mute Robert C.O'Donnell
    Favourite Robert C.O'Donnell
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:15 PM

Its a poll, The government was elected by the Majority of the elected in 2011, You cant call an election on the bases of a poll, in that case we should have abolished the seanad when the polls said it was going to pass…

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Jun 29th 2014, 10:55 AM

Your party is shit councillor

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:54 PM

Good to see. I don’t understand why FG holding at 25 percent with all the dirty back stabbing they have done to the Irish people, sick homeless low paid middle paid aswell . Labour seems to be getting it right in neck. Should be both of the parties sliding down the scales along with FF. They got the country into this mess.
    Not one of them saved a penny during the boom they lived luxurious lives off our backs and made us pay the price for it.

Waiting for the usual haters to come on.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan

no matter how bad or good the political party ; they still look after their own …… I can’t believe 25% either , but if a figure of 10 % was published there could be awful trouble … not questioning the poll’s authenticity but the people would go cracked if they thought that they were being ruled by a grouping that only amounts to 14% of the electorate ;
    Labour’s true rating is about 4 % in my opinion ; friends family and close relations ….. that’s it as their ideology and practice of same are far too disconnected for the thinking man and the irish worker is a thinker …
    I just suggested 10% for Fine Gael as a similar readjustment as in 7% to a “real” 4%” .
    the other thing you have to remember is that some people swore to their parents that they would never vote for anyone else except F.F. and F.G. and the parents are dead and politics are not rerally affecting them but they vote as a mark of respect to their parent’s memory ;; and that is perfectly acceptable too in my book !

Mute David Riordan
    Favourite David Riordan
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:14 PM

FG has done exactly what they said they would do if elected. So their popularity shouldn’t be that much of a surprise, as there is a sizable portion of the electorate who agree with their approach. Labour on the other hand over promised and under delivered, so it’s understandable that they receive the brunt of the criticism.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:23 PM

not having a go David but if Fine Gael did exactly what they said they would then those two failed politicians would not have been appointed to the Board of Bord na Mona…..
    Proof ;Point 5. below from F.G. Manifesto
    1. Help protect and create jobs
    2. Keep taxes low while fixing the deficit;
    3. Deliver smaller, better government;
    4. Create a completely new, fairer, more efficient health system; and
    5. Overhaul the way our political system works to stamp out cronyism and low standards.
    Those who founded the State sought to create the economic foundations for our political independence.
    The purpose of the next Government, and the next generation, will be to turn again to that task. I commend
    this Manifesto to you as an important step on this journey.
    Enda Kenny
    Leader
    Fine Gael

Mute David Riordan
    Favourite David Riordan
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:32 PM

Fair point Dermot on point 5, my comment was more general in terms of how their ideology would inform the choices that they would make if elected. So it’s no great surprise that they have made certain decisions, and the polls show certain people largely agree with them. However the next general election may be a very different story.

Mute Seamus O'ceadagain
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:04 PM

You forgot Transparency and Accountability….

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:05 PM

polls are nothing compared to elections ….. they do influence those who want to vote to win though ;;;; as in what’s the point in voting for that lad he’ll only loose ….
    I get your point ; but I think we all thought that John Bruton’s taxing children’s shoes would have taught them a lesson …. evidently not !
    Of course the one thing that is working big time in the incumbent regime is that many who would vote to get them out are in Australia etc. ; that and the fact that new immigrants will vote for them for giving them citizenship ; shades of the Plantation there, but in fairness to Alan Shatter the sorting out of the citizenship issue is a credit to him ; just a shame he had to make it so political ; with himself and the Garda Commissioner there as the “great leaders” …. they have paid the price for that piece of politicing now though ;haven’t they !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:07 PM

it’s awfully annoying because I know some great great people in Fine Gael ; better than the cabinet at any rate !

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:42 PM

@ david: “FG has done exactly what they said they would do if elected. ”

Their manifesto promised that they would not introduce a recurring charge on the family home.

Mute Jay Dee
    Favourite Jay Dee
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:47 PM

C’mon the shinners…..

Mute DamoDeMan
    Favourite DamoDeMan
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:59 PM

Labour should not be surprised at this
    If you shit all over your voting base
    What do you expect

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Jun 29th 2014, 3:07 PM

How come you can say shit and I can’t?
    Can we now say shit? Woohoo! The journal has relaxed things.

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:16 PM

more Polls showing the limited choice those who bother to vote really have. The rise of the independent has the possibility to distroy these career politicians who are more interested in their next job then fixing any of the problems is any dept of goverment. But only if the can come together and give each other their second and third preferences. Why elect 166 TD’s if only 13 members have any real power in fact only four control the cabinet today. The silence from the coalition Backbenchers on all the scandals and showing full confidence in ministers who have failed to manage a multi billion euro budget and will now slip back to his mansion pension secured while children suffer. At some stage we have to wake up and see that we are being robbed by the state. that the bankers are still getting millions in bonuses and that hell will freeze over before anyone in Dáil Éireann reforms themselves or stop giving jobs to family members.

Mute gary banner
    Favourite gary banner
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:46 PM

they’ll suffer the same faith as labour, like labour and fine fail an increase in Sinn Fein vote is a protest vote …. They have a significant power base now ….. And somebody will point out ……

Sinn Fein …have have stayed mute regarding the the unfair water charges.

Sinn Fein … Have in effect white washed the so called banking enquiry by allowing govt., on the bord … It would have encouraging if they’d stood alongside stephen Donnelly…

Sinn Fein …. Marysloo only contribution to the property tax was to say it was very unfair ….. But that she paid hers…

These are a bunch of Marxist chancers , and feel ashamed that I voted for these for along time until I realised they were a different cheek of the same backside that is Irish political parties …..

Mute The Man of Arán
    Favourite The Man of Arán
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:52 PM

Gary, what did the humble ellipsis ever do to you that you would abuse it in this fashion?

Mute gary banner
    Favourite gary banner
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:00 PM

@ man of Aran …. U know what they say .. “Politics is just show biz for ugly people “……… But these ones don’t entertain us , they tax us to the hilt , and inflict outside policy’s on us without question :-), if Sinn Fein were clowns , they wouldn’t be very funny in fact children would sack them :-) :-)

Mute Seamus O'ceadagain

provo sf are not marxist….The officials were marxist but look where they eventually ended up….taking over the labour party….but no doubt you are too young to know how it all happened without getting your knowledge from Free State newspapers….sf are free staters too by the way

Mute Seamus O'ceadagain
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:22 PM

He’s irish so the Queen’s English wouldn’t be his forte

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:35 PM

Good comment Gary. Well stated.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:28 PM

@ Gary:

“Sinn Fein …have have stayed mute regarding the the unfair water charges.”

They blocked it up north and oppose it down here

http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/29519 – april, 2014, “Sinn Féin reiterates opposition to domestic water charges”

“Sinn Fein … Have in effect white washed the so called banking enquiry by allowing govt., on the bord … It would have encouraging if they’d stood alongside stephen Donnelly…”

If you’re referring to the gerrymandering, Its not that they ‘allowed’ it, they did not have the votes to prevent it.

“Sinn Fein …. Marysloo only contribution to the property tax was to say it was very unfair ….. But that she paid hers…”

If she did not pay hers, she would not have been issued with a tax clearance cert, and could not have sat in the dail as a result.

Poor trolling. 4/10, maybe 5 at a push.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Jun 28th 2014, 11:39 PM

Ultimately, Sinn Fein are a party of politicians. They will say whatever they have to to get into power. Then welsh on their promises. Like they did in the north.
    The current crop of SF supporters are as deluded and naive as FG and Labour supporters were before the last election.

http://www.politics.ie/forum/sinn-fein/79556-martin-mcguinness-new-hero-privatisation.html

Mute John Mossy Naz Scales
    Favourite John Mossy Naz Scales
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:21 PM

Go on the shinners.onwatds and upwards!!

Mute Brian O' Connor
    Favourite Brian O' Connor
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:57 PM

SF gained over a 100 seats in the Local Elections FF loss was over a 100 seats in same elections, since SF has so few seats to begin with and FF had so many it’s easy to confuse the final results. Losses versus gains gives a much clearer picture of future trends.

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:31 PM

Roll onn G E bye bye lab and fg

Mute John Mossy Naz Scales
    Favourite John Mossy Naz Scales
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:22 PM

Go on the shinners!@!! Protest vote my hole…

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme

Here comes the calvary ..

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:55 PM

The leader of the American Cavalry at the battle of Wounded Knee was called McLoughlin, (irish/english spelling), We must never forget that ; as in the cavalry is all about the leader !

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:06 PM

The leader of the 7th Cavalry at Wounded Knee was James Forsyth, not that the massacre there is anything to be proud of. McLaughlin ordered the arrest of Sitting Bull weeks beforehand which led to his death and precipitated the events at Wounded Knee.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:18 PM

Thanks for that information ,Dermot .. Enjoying your posts .. Cavalry :) oops !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:19 PM

thanks Richard ; must have been reading an incorrect piece of info. somewhere … it does raise the question though ; who would you blame more .. the guy who ordered the action or the guy that carried out the orders …or both …either way McLaughlin was most certainly involved..
    I gave you your first green thumb on that one as a thank you if nothing else !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:02 PM

no probs why ! .. sorry it was a little skewed ; I just remembered the one who gave the orders I suppose ….

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:37 PM

You should have your own comedy page ! Loved the Brendan O’Carroll sketch ! Gold!!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:41 PM

cheers why… the worrying thing for me now is that there at least two of us with my sense of humour …. that worries me somewhat …..l.o.l. …have a good one !

Mute Morgan Freeman
    Favourite Morgan Freeman
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:04 PM

The greatest trick the devil ever pulled…

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:30 PM

Setting up in Rome and calling himself the infallible Voice of God …. is that it ?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan

Say “Independents” out loud and you get …….

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:47 PM

Those figures are just ridiculous. FF wiped the floor with SF a few weeks ago in the local Gov elections. Got 150 local government seats more than SF and we’re expected to believe that in that should time SF are at 22% and FF are on 18%. Do papers pay for this crap??

Mute cormac flynn
    Favourite cormac flynn
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:54 PM

Locals are locals.
    Look at the eu election. SF have 3 (4really) and ff got one (well none now).
    The % were both close to 20% and that included a massive Crowley vote that wasn’t all ff and on the other hand Luke Mingus vote was estimated to have been one third likely SF voter.
    In short it’s not that far off the mark I’d say.

Mute Seamus O'ceadagain
    Jun 28th 2014, 6:56 PM

Wrong….sf (are not republicans) actually ran out of candidates….they are on a roll

Mute Seamus O'ceadagain
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:24 PM

Estimation can be construed as a form of desperation

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Jun 29th 2014, 7:06 AM

Stephen Duffy SF underestimated their support and ran too few candidates. They won’t make that mistake again at the next general election and they’ll be, or be part of, the next government. The voters won’t let FF within an asses roar of government again until your grandchildren are on the old age pension.

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:30 PM

The indo is reporting an increase in support for both fg and labour, quelle suprise!

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:39 PM

Roll onn ge goodbye fg and lab

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:45 PM

The people have spoken. SF are on 15%. The polls had them at 22% before the local elections too!! There’s only one poll that counts…

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:03 PM

O’lielly still peddling the spin from FGHQ.

Sinn fein did not run enough councillors, first preference votes show that they could have won another 40-50 seats if they had the candidates, which puts their overall support in the low 20s. The same issue will not arise in a general election.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:24 PM

Spammin, You work hard for the party. Peddling their shite. 15%. Thtas what you got. 85% wouldn’t touch them…

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:30 PM

Would ye give ye’re keyboards a rest from going over the same oul bull ?!

Mute Brehon Law
    Favourite Brehon Law
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:46 PM

What wonderful delicious poetic justice it would be if Sinn Fein were in power for the 2016 Easter Rising celebrations and HM the Queen or her representative were there to take the salute!
    You couldn’t write it in a novel and be believed.
    I for one am horrified by the stink of Irish politics since the loss of Lemass. The only answer is for all good people and true to NOT vote. At least decent people will show their abject rejection of the lot of them.

Mute Seamus O'ceadagain
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:07 PM

I don’t vote…haven’t done in so many years….no free state crap for me….Eire Nua!

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:46 PM

Sinn Fein had no hand act or part in the 1916 rising. Yet they act like they own it. Typical revisionism…

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:06 PM

O’Reilly SF were the only ones who held annual commemorations and events every year celebrating the Easter Rising while FF and especially the Blueshirts ignored it for decades. If anyone is hijacking the commemorations it is the Blueshirts who for decades carried on as if no such event occurred. Why in last few years do they celebrate it all of sudden when they ignored it for so long?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:24 PM

the queen is getting old ; she couldn’t walk up the steps to westminister recently ;or some such impairment !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:33 PM

Sinn Fein may not own the 1916 rising but they certainly, in the North got to see what partition would bring to catholics ; a battle training ground for the Paras, according to one source, and the Catholics the Guinea Pigs ………..
    and where were the U.N. ? …Convenient to have a seat on the U.N security Council I suppose !
    And Fianna fail and Fine Gael ganging up on them to silence them and all the new evidence of the torture reaching right into the heart of least three successive Governments of the Crown ;
    for the reasons above above they earned it rather than own it !
    counter- arguments welcome !
    I am not a member of Sinn Fein by the way ; I own a bog so it’s independents all the way for me but independents are not about 1916 ; they are about the future as far as I’m concerned !

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Jun 28th 2014, 11:59 PM

@ pat mustard, hijacking , no, no, you’re wrong there you must be confusing them with the shinners and the fact that they are In government gives them a mandate to commemorate the rising.

Mute David Giles
    Favourite David Giles
    Jun 29th 2014, 11:55 AM

Fine Gael’s popularity will continue to improve as the economy continues to improve and more and more people will come to realise that the policies pursued by the Coalition were on balance correct. There was and is simply no credible alternative. The mystery remains why Fianna Fail’s support remains so strong after the mess they got the country into. It must come down to tribalism, the power of past patronage and the prospect of some people getting their snouts in the trough if ever Fianna Fail is in government again.

Mute Heizenberg X
    Favourite Heizenberg X
    Jul 1st 2014, 12:51 AM

Looks like the gombeen might be going out of us!!