You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sunrise at Sandymount beach RollingNews.ie

Sunny start to the weekend as Met Éireann promises low 20s temperatures

There will be a mix of dry, sunny spells and spots of drizzle throughout the weekend.

A PLEASANT WEEKEND is in store as the forecast reinforces there may still be some summer left – especially in the west of the country.

Today will be a dry day countrywide with good sunny spells after some early mist and fog in places.

It’ll become a bit cloudier along south and southeastern coasts in the evening.

Temperatures will reach highs of 18 to 22 degrees with mostly moderate southeast winds, warmest across the midlands and west.

Tonight will be mostly dry with good clear spells, according to Met Éireann.

Cloud will increase in parts of the east and south with the odd spot of drizzle.

Temperatures will reach lows of 7 to 13 degrees in light to moderate easterly winds.

Tomorrow, the first day of September, people across the country can expect long dry, sunny spells peppered with cloud, as well as the odd light shower especially in the northeast.

Through the afternoon, persistent and at times heavy or thundery rain will start to move in from the southwest.

That rain will slowly spread northeastwards over the course of the rest of the day, mainly over Munster and west Connacht.

Sunday temperatures will reach highs of of 17 to 21 degrees.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

17 Comments
    Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 10th 2024, 8:31 PM

Hopefully we are seeing the last of Wallace, Daly, and MacManus.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jun 10th 2024, 8:53 PM

@honey badger: Ming looks set for another 5 years.

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy
    Jun 10th 2024, 9:13 PM

@9QRixo8H: 5 year holiday

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Jun 10th 2024, 10:53 PM

@9QRixo8H: Delighted for him! A lot done, more to do!

Mute John D Doe
    Favourite John D Doe
    Jun 11th 2024, 12:23 AM

@honey badger: it’s wonderful when horrible people get a good dose of karma

Mute Sean oSuilleabhain
    Favourite Sean oSuilleabhain
    Jun 11th 2024, 12:41 AM

@honey badger: whereas people have inflicted a celebrity jockey, potentially also her fg running mate who failed to remotely represent farmers as she brags about, useless yes men and women like Kelly and Doherty. 4 WASTERS

Mute Sean oSuilleabhain
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:18 PM

@honey badger: good. the embarrassment of Carberry and Walsh possibly both getting elected will be somewhat easier to bear

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:05 PM

@honey badger: Daly gone ,and pissing fire ,unfortunately looks like being replaced by the equally repulsive O’Riardaín…Wallace now and Vladimir can send his regrets .

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Jun 10th 2024, 9:33 PM

@Ian , I hope the god’s are shining on Niall because nothing would make me happier than to see the greens wiped out

Mute Fergus O'Connor
    Favourite Fergus O'Connor
    Jun 10th 2024, 9:39 PM

@K O: Don’t think he has a chance. He’s not far enough ahead after all the right wing transfers.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Jun 10th 2024, 9:49 PM

@K O: Why the intense ‘anti-green’ rhetoric? Which of their policies do you disagree with? And I mean ACTUAL policies, not social media sound bites.

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:50 AM

@K O: Their support for Data Centres.

Their support for the consumer paying for the misdeeds of the producer, such as making the consumer pay for recycling of packaging.

Their support for the recent plastic bottle deposit charge, perpetuating recycling of plastics which has been shown to be a scam dreamed up by the plastics manufacturers.

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Jun 11th 2024, 2:13 PM

@K O: There was a question asked.

I answered it.

The Greens support many things that are harmful to the environment, and contribute to Climate Change rather than ameliorating it.
    As a result the ordinary person suffers for this, by picking up the tab, rather than the producer of these harms.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jun 10th 2024, 8:52 PM

The electorate showing their strong desire for CHANGE! The top 4 in Dublin as of now are FF, FG, Green Party, and SF!

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy
    Jun 10th 2024, 9:15 PM

@9QRixo8H: if there was a strong desire, more of the electorate would of voted

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jun 10th 2024, 10:53 PM

@Terry Molloy: those who don’t should be prosecuted unless they have legitimate reasons why they didn’t vote. A certain part of Tallaght only had a 2.4% of people voting, yet they are quick enough to go out with their Irish flags telling people Ireland is full, get them out, I own you Garda, I pay your wages bs, they couldn’t be borrowed to vote.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 10th 2024, 11:12 PM

@Alan: prosecuted for not voting? Are you taking the p.ss or what?

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Jun 10th 2024, 11:17 PM

@Paul Gorry:
    I’m not saying I agree with it but in Australia you can be prosecuted for not voting.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 10th 2024, 11:31 PM

I’ve two kids over there at the moment pj thanks to this useless government. I’ll let them know that as they go forward.

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Jun 11th 2024, 12:16 AM

@Paul Gorry: No need Paul, they are not allowed to vote in Australia. And I’m sure they would be still here in Ireland if they chose to be. I’ve lived in Australia and I’ll tell you it’s a lot worse over there than here to try and get by. It’s an incredibly expensive place to live. The days of emigrating to Australia for a better life is long gone.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Jun 11th 2024, 12:17 AM

@Paul Gorry:
    I have 7 nieces and nephews (my kids in school) who emigrated.
    5 are back 1 more due home next year.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 11th 2024, 12:24 AM

@P. J.: God love them coming back to this cesspit of a country. I sincerely hope things work for them.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 11th 2024, 12:42 AM

@Mark Murphy: well one is loving it and the other maybe not so. Yes expensive they say,but not as expensive as Ireland. Now if? And when they come back the real headache starts. I’ve only two bedrooms.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Jun 11th 2024, 1:16 AM

@Paul Gorry:
    That’s the point Paul, they found that far away fields really were not greener.
    Every country has it’s problems

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 11th 2024, 1:37 AM

@P. J.: what ye even saying pj? They’re still over there enjoying it!!

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Jun 10th 2024, 9:10 PM

As much as I don’t like the Greens, I’d much prefer to see Cuffe go to Europe over Niall Boylan. May the gods be ever in Cuffes favour.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Jun 10th 2024, 11:56 PM

@aYc221Lw: Yeah, but at least he’ll be embarrassing himself here and not us at the EU parliament.

Mute Sean oSuilleabhain
    Jun 11th 2024, 12:42 AM

@Ian: NOPE. Dont wish Cuffe any luck at all proud middle class snob with no track record apart from climate evangelism.

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jun 10th 2024, 10:29 PM

@ Sean O’Dhubhghaill: You won’t get an answer to the question as to what Green policies commentators on here disagree with. They just bleat the anti-Green nonsense to fit in with the rest of the soundbite flock.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 10th 2024, 10:49 PM

@Sun Rise: You’re one angry person. Take a chill pill and relax your kacks.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:09 AM

@Sun Rise: you are literally angrier than most on here….maybe log off and go watch an actual sun rise

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Jun 10th 2024, 10:52 PM

Good man Ming! A big two f1ngers in the face of the anti-migrant arson1sts!

Mute Kelechi Ademola
    Favourite Kelechi Ademola
    Jun 11th 2024, 12:08 AM

@Alan Kennedy: 25000 for Blighe ain’t bad

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Jun 11th 2024, 1:21 AM

@Kelechi Ademola:
    It’s 3.5%. in other words 96.5% didn’t vote for him.
    That percentage will not get him elected to anything, anywhere.

Mute Mike Courtney
    Favourite Mike Courtney
    Jun 11th 2024, 9:43 AM

Sean Kelly is a complete waste of space. The nodding dog of Europe