You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Tánaiste urges Irish citizens in Lebanon to leave as conflict escalates

More than 720 people have been killed in Lebanon since the conflict escalated on Monday, according to Lebanon’s health ministry.

TÁNAISTE MICHEÁL MARTIN has said that he is “deeply concerned” about the escalation of the Lebanon-based conflict between Israel and Hezbollah. 

The Minister for Foreign Affairs this evening issued a statement on the situation in which he called for a ceasefire. More than 720 people have been killed in Lebanon since the conflict escalated on Monday, according to Lebanon’s health ministry.

Earlier today, Hezbollah confirmed Israeli military claims that the group’s leader Hassan Nasrallah had been killed in an air strike. 

“I am deeply concerned about the escalation of the conflict over the last 24 hours and the growing risk of regional conflict,” Martin said. “The people of Lebanon continue to pay a shocking and heavy price for the conflict between Hezbollah and Israel.”

He called for all parties, including Iran, to de-escalate and “exercise maximum restraint” as he said support for efforts to reach a ceasefire was needed. He added that there was a need for an “immediate ceasefire and hostage release deal in Gaza to allow humanitarian assistance”.

It is long past time for the violence and killing to stop.”

Martin said that the Department of Foreign Affairs, including through its embassy in Cairo, remains in regular contact with Irish citizens in Lebanon. 

“Our strong advice is that they should leave immediately by commercial means while it is still possible to do so.

“Irish citizens in Lebanon who cannot leave, and who have not already done so, should register with the Embassy of Ireland in Cairo.”

Martin said that he is in regular contact with the Chief of Staff on the ongoing situation in the UNIFIL areas of operations, and said Irish personnel are all currently safe and accounted for. 

The Department of Foreign Affairs will continue to work closely with EU, UK and other partners to exchange information and coordinate its consular response.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 73 comments
73 Comments
    Mute Chris Lane
    Favourite Chris Lane
    Sep 28th 2024, 5:47 PM

Everyone accept Palestine at the UN holding back on calling out the US for what they are. How can you call for a ceasefire and at the same time arm the terrorist state of Israel. Obviously conversations in private are very different seeing how confident Netanyahu is .

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Sep 28th 2024, 9:47 PM

@Chris Lane: it’s all about the money money money

Mute Happy As Larry
    Favourite Happy As Larry
    Sep 28th 2024, 5:41 PM

They need to be stopped the slaughter of innocents can’t go on the Israeli regime needs to go they are the hitler of the modern day world and American is just as bad for what they are allowing to happen hoping that when all out war does erupt they can step in and take a few country’s out absolute s c u m

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:20 PM

@Happy As Larry: The Lebanese Army needs to disarm Hezbollah while it’s in disarray. It’s needs to assert its right to unimpeded sovereignty. The link to Iran has been broken, and there is now a genuine chance for the Lebanese to decide their own path. I would hope, above all, that they can sit down with Israel and other international partners to negotiate an enduring peace and the normalisation of relations between the two countries. The Bride of the Middle East needs to remember herself.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:36 PM

@Happy As Larry: How does phukoff grab ya?

Mute Happy As Larry
    Favourite Happy As Larry
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:43 PM

@honey badger: not as much as Israel getting a taste of its own medicine

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:50 PM

@Happy As Larry: Whatever keeps you happy, I suppose.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 28th 2024, 5:48 PM

I hope the Lebanese can take back control of their country. Hezbollah have been decapitated. The impotence of UNIFIL has been badly exposed. They achieved nothing in keeping the south demilitarised. There is no future in being a pawn of the Iranian mullahs.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Sep 28th 2024, 6:35 PM

@honey badger: Where next on their middle east tour 2024.. ? Iran next ? After all they’re the ones behind it all right.. so why don’t they just go straight to the source ?? By your own admission Israel is led by ‘headbangers’. Why don’t you ‘ hope’ those headbangers stop indiscriminately killing tens of thousands of innocent people. ‘Hope’ they are removed so a humanitarian ceasefire can be agreed and negotiations towards two state solution in Palestine can proceed .. your stated wish also.. apparently. Where is your hope for that ?

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 28th 2024, 6:55 PM

@Brian: I must say, I’m fascinated by your need to know my views on so many things. I have no interest in your opinions on anything. Genuinely. Zero.
    Incidentally, the article is about Lebanon. A country essentially taken over and turned into a failed Islamist proxy state. Stay on topic, Brian. It’s the least the Lebanese deserve.

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute James MC
    Favourite James MC
    Sep 28th 2024, 6:56 PM

@honey badger: the Lebanese people of all faiths and backgrounds are happy to have Hezbollah to defend them from Israel. Without the support from iran, how could Hezbollah arm themselves?

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:01 PM

@James MC: Lifted off the internet: As a Lebanese, this is one of the happiest days in Lebanon’s history.
    As a Middle Easterner, this is one of the most transformative days for the Middle East.
    As a human being who holds peace before my eyes, this is the most important day for our region.

Nasrallah and Hezbollah have terrorized the Lebanese people since the 1980s. He is responsible for the continuous downfall of Lebanon’s economy and sovereignty. He bears responsibility for countless assassinations of fine Lebanese men and women, solely for opposing his grip on our precious country.

Nasrallah is also responsible for the slaughter of thousands of Syrian children, women, and men, as well as for other atrocities across the Middle East.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:01 PM

@honey badger: cont’d:
    Every Lebanese and every decent human being should feel joy at the downfall of one of the greatest evils of our time.

Now, we have a real chance to look forward, ensuring Hezbollah’s weapons are handed over to the Lebanese authorities, and sitting down with Israelis and the West for genuine negotiations on normalization and peace between our countries—Israel and Lebanon.

I support this 100%.

Mute James MC
    Favourite James MC
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:21 PM

@honey badger: my family are Lebanese Christians, this is not the case I’m afraid. Think you have been following a “Lebanese” person on twitter who works in an IDF office in Tel Aviv.

Mute James MC
    Favourite James MC
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:24 PM

@honey badger: Also I grew out of good Vs evil narratives when I was too old for Harry Potter.

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:25 PM

@James MC: Maybe have a look on Twitter and see the numerous videos of Lebanese, Syrians, and even Iranians celebrating Hezbollah’s demise dancing in the street, handing out sweets. They weren’t protecting anyone from Israel. After Jordan kicked out the Palestinians, who assassinated their prime minister and attempted to overthrow the government, they went to Lebanon and started a civil war. Why do you think no Arab countries want to take them in? Hezbollah were formed in that war and are guilty of the deaths of numerous civilians. The Christians, Maronites and Druze, as well as many Muslims, hate them. In Syria, they helped Asad and Russia murder tens of thousands of civilians. They are also one of the biggest drug exporting groups in the world. Israel has done the world a massive favour.

Mute James MC
    Favourite James MC
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:26 PM

@honey badger: I’m actually showing your comment to the family now. “Lifted off the internet”. You can say that again .We are all laughing. Cheered us up, thanks.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:29 PM

@James MC: Good for you and them. I’m sure they’d like peace between Israel and Lebanon, however. No?

Mute James MC
    Favourite James MC
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:31 PM

@Richard Keogh: if you don’t speak Arabic I wouldn’t trust those subtitles

Mute Happy As Larry
    Favourite Happy As Larry
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:32 PM

@honey badger: as Isreal is led by a bunch of genocidal maniacs with a propensity to violence

Mute James MC
    Favourite James MC
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:38 PM

@honey badger: yes we’d love peace. Before October 7th you couldn’t walk around south Lebanon without the constant hum of IDF drones in the air, this was during “peace”. You haven’t a clue. Of course people want peace,

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:39 PM

@honey badger: Well seen as you’re the top agenda driven driveler on here, I’m not sure why your surprised people challenge your agenda driven drivel.. or do you have a problem with your skewed narrative of the world being challenged Honey.. how precious we are. This is a comments section.. with a right of reply.. if you’re struggling with that concept, I suggest you retreat down your echo chamber with a big fat spliff where HB is king and you’re infallible in your own tiny stoned mind ..

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger

@James MC: You mean that Israel monitored Hezbollah because they didn’t disarm as was agreed under Resolution 1701? Here’s to peace.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:45 PM

@Brian: Again, your views on me are utterly irrelevant. You spend far too much time composing clunky comments critical of me!

Mute James MC
    Favourite James MC
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:46 PM

@honey badger: flying drones into a sovereign airspace. “Peace”. There is no peace with someone who wants to occupy your land.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 28th 2024, 8:12 PM

@James MC: There’s even less chance when a country has been co-opted as a launch pad for Iranian mullahs.

Mute John Brennan
    Favourite John Brennan
    Sep 28th 2024, 10:34 PM

@honey badger: Have you anything to do around the house? Get treatment for your obsessions.

Mute James MC
    Favourite James MC
    Sep 29th 2024, 7:24 AM

@honey badger: launch pad for Iranian mullahs. “Disarmament”, who’s arming Israel? And Israel have a right to act with impunity. On your doorstep. Actually I wish Iran sent Hezbollah some anti aircraft defences. I wonder why you think “other” people should have tolerate an existence you would not your self. Your whole take is western exceptionalism at its finest. It’s gross. I don’t want the world to be some homogeneous blob of USA approved democracy. Different cultures require different governance, even if they seem chaotic to you in your ivory tower.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 29th 2024, 8:31 AM

@James MC: Word salad, my friend. Nasrallah said God created Israel so Jews would be ‘gathered in one place’ to ‘save you from having to go to the ends of the world’ to murder them.
    He tried to bring that dream to fruition through the Islamic Regime’s most powerful terror proxy. He didn’t get the chance.

Mute James MC
    Favourite James MC
    Sep 29th 2024, 8:51 AM

@honey badger: “word salad” proceeds to fall back on “antisemism”

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 29th 2024, 9:01 AM

@James MC: If directly quoting him qualifies as “antisemism,” what does that tell you? Do you live in Lebanon yourself, or are you here in Ireland?

Mute DAN TEDSON
    Favourite DAN TEDSON
    Sep 29th 2024, 9:26 AM

@honey badger: UNIFIL is a monitoring mission not an enforcement mission. The United Nations is not a world government. It has no standing army. Missions are proposed by members and the limitations of those missions are set out by members. UNIFIL has no force projection and that that is intentional. Otherwise Israeli incursion I to Lebanese territory and their frequent snatching of hostages – often women – might be punished. And security council member the US will not allow anything, including the Geneva conventions to come between Israel and what it wants. Which is usually, an expansion of its borders. This time they will capture the Litani river, plant settlements right up to the border and divert the water. In preparation for their next expansion north. They are fascists.

Mute DAN TEDSON
    Favourite DAN TEDSON
    Sep 29th 2024, 9:29 AM

@honey badger: it may be good that Nasrallah is gone. However if you think he will be replaced by some moderate, democratic technocrat you are dreamjng. And Israel will put Beirut to the sword, with the same pitiless Bronze Age mentality they have displayed in their war of annihilation against the citizens of Gaza. Liquidating the ghetto isn’t enough for these fascists, they demand lebensraum as well.

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Sep 28th 2024, 5:54 PM

How can we call for a ceasefire when Palestinian and Lebanon terrorists daly sending hundreds of rockets on Israel, murdering and keeping Israeli children hostage?! What if during second world war in April 1945 Adolf Hitler took several hundreds of Americans/British/Russian hostage and demanded ceasefire and negotiations?! But nowadays such utter nonsense and madness becomes norm for some people.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Sep 28th 2024, 6:11 PM

@Sergej Simonov: forget about the hostages, Netenyahu already has, which is why he opened a second front in the war, as a deflection.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Sep 28th 2024, 6:11 PM

@Sergej Simonov: Hitler wasn’t terrorising neighbour states for many decades though

Mute John finn
    Favourite John finn
    Sep 28th 2024, 6:13 PM

@Sergej Simonov: you need to look up your history first before you start making comments. You are trying to make Israel the good guys. Israel doesn’t want a ceasefire. There only worried about killing as many people as they can and to increase there illegal settlements.

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Sep 28th 2024, 6:27 PM

@Sergej Simonov: you’re not honestly that thick are you?

Mute DAN TEDSON
    Favourite DAN TEDSON
    Sep 29th 2024, 9:33 AM

@eoin fitzpatrick: I’m not sure of the SS made the destruction of hospitals and the torturing of doctors and nurses a priority. But the IDF stormtroopers seem to find it amusing. Doesnt assuage their unquenchable bloodlust though.

They do both seem enamoured of setting German Shephards on old men in wheelchairs and boys with learning disabilities, etc.

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Sep 28th 2024, 6:33 PM

Netanyahu is a vile terrorist in a navy suit and tie. Always was.

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Sep 28th 2024, 6:43 PM

@Andrew Kenny: Germany actually bought best air defense system from Netanyahu. Dutch bought self propelled guns, British bought the Iron Fist…Poland, Sweden and many other countries produce Spike anti tank rockets . So by your vile noncese they all collaborate and support terrorists?!

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:08 PM

@Sergej Simonov: Yes, all complicit by association then.

Mute Hayagriva
    Favourite Hayagriva
    Sep 29th 2024, 12:12 AM

@Sergej Simonov: so close to getting it and yet so far

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Sep 28th 2024, 6:27 PM

What do Palestinian/Lebanese terrorists produce except tunnels, rockets and born terrorists teaching children in cresh how to control hostages using guns. How come that so many people became so cynical – supporting Palestinian terrorists but NONE took even one in his own house in Ballsbrige, Dalkey, Killeney, Clontarf, Greystones…One politician from Clontarf actually promised to take several Palestinians in his house instead of homeless Irish sleeping in Fairview park. Taking until now…

Mute James MC
    Favourite James MC
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:00 PM

@Sergej Simonov: I’ll take some Palestinians in my house.

Mute James MC
    Favourite James MC
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:09 PM

@Sergej Simonov: funny how the media said “Hezbollah fighters” when they were battling ISIS. Now they are “terrorists” when fighting Israel.

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:22 PM

@James MC: hezbollah terrorists were murdering Syrians along with bloody murderer Bashar Asad. Suffered heavy loses because never fought an offensive war. Hopefully Israel will finish off those terrorists who survived.

Mute James MC
    Favourite James MC
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:27 PM

@Sergej Simonov: why were they not called terrorists back then? In “trusted” media organisations they were “fighters”

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:33 PM

@James MC: Good for you. The rest of the Arab world won’t touch them. Expelled from Jordan, expelled from Kuwait, started a civil war in Lebanon. Even the Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia in an interview today says he has no interest in the Palestinian question. Because they are trouble, everywhere they go they bring death, destruction, and terrorism. Only the mullahs in Iran (definitely not the populace who are strong supporters of Israel) care, and that is solely for their own reasons of spreading their brand of terror throughout the ME. The elimination of Hezbollah presents a golden opportunity for the ME.

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Sep 28th 2024, 7:35 PM

@James MC: There was an article on dublininquerer.com recently how Palestinian man cancelled his asylum application because it’s safer in Gaza than in Dublin! He is not afraid of people of Israel!!! Just read how Palestinians were badly beaten in Finglas recently. How crowd in Coolock 5 times set place on fire were Palestinians could live! Very soon Israel will bring a case in Hague against Ireland for genocide of Palestinian refugee! What was stopping you so far from taking home the Irish homeless?! So many dying especially in winter! Their death is on your because you could help as you claim but didn’t!

Mute Zmeevo Libe
    Favourite Zmeevo Libe
    Sep 29th 2024, 1:20 AM

@Richard Keogh: To be fair, the Crown Butcher of Saudi seems to be best friends with Bibi. Two sociopathic killers in a pod.

Mute DAN TEDSON
    Favourite DAN TEDSON
    Sep 29th 2024, 7:31 AM

@Richard Keogh: same happened with the Jews. Expelled from England by Edward I, Expelled from Eastern Europe and Russia by pogroms. handed over to the Nazis wherever they went. Refused asylum in the US and Canada. Nobody would touch them’ as you put it.

How do you think that reflects on everyone involved?

Mute DAN TEDSON
    Favourite DAN TEDSON
    Sep 29th 2024, 9:34 AM

@James MC: the Afghans were similarly ‘freedom fighters’ when they were skinning Russians alive. But very naughty when sending the US army packing with their tails between their legs.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Sep 28th 2024, 9:35 PM

Keep up the fight Israel

Mute DAN TEDSON
    Favourite DAN TEDSON
    Sep 29th 2024, 7:35 AM

@Alex: nobody can leave babies to die in incubators like Israel. Nobody can torture hospital staff quite so acutely as the ‘children of light’.
    Remember Amalek? The Israelis do. They can’t get enough of acting like we’re still in the Bronze Age. Imagine having to live beside them. As so many Palestinian kids have to. And suffer pogroms, beatings, torture, mutilation, starvation and murder. And that’s before Netanyahu decided to enact his final solution.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Sep 28th 2024, 5:51 PM

Get back here to mother Ireland there is loads a money.

Mute Liam Foy
    Favourite Liam Foy

I had a nice cup of tea with a biscuit yummy until I turned on the news. What is it about the Middle East it full of corruption and terrorism. How does anyone live there. Why do you keep tying to land grab just try and live in peace. Such waste of life cheered on by the USA biggest supporters of terrorist in the world.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Sep 28th 2024, 6:23 PM

Why our people are in a conflict caused bye a piece of frightened whatsoever is wrong ,bring our lads home and tell the Israelis what they are doing to gaza is akin to what the German s done to them ,ffg grow a pair and tell Israeli what they are doing is wrong, and ffg of you can’t do it someone else will

Mute DJ D
    Favourite DJ D
    Sep 28th 2024, 9:57 PM

I’d urge Mehole to leave Ireland for good!
    Maybe he could destroy some other country’s economy after all he and his previous colleagues in government have the expertise!!!

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Sep 29th 2024, 9:43 AM

@DJ D: He abandoned Ireland a long time ago, he has no interest in working Irish families, we are only a vehicle he uses to further his own ambitions. The bankrupting of the State which led to us losing our Sovereignty to the Troika & the embarrassment of the Bundestag having to view our Budget before allowing it to pass was the pinnacle of his career, but the National Children’s Hospital which is now making worldwide headlines as the most expensive Hospital ever built in the world & one of the top 10 of any build in the world, which has no opening date & no final figure, is another of his milestone achievements. A hospital with 24,000 revised drawings & ceilings that may yet not even pass Health & Safety. 17 years in power, Taoiseach & Tanaiste, he destroyed the country.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Sep 28th 2024, 9:04 PM

Get out troops out now those Israeli military butchers have no respect for any law

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Sep 28th 2024, 6:45 PM

There is no uproar like this one over all the other wars in this world. Condemnation ‘a géométrie variable’.
    There’s a journalist (Sonia Mabrouk) on the telly promoting her book imagining what would happen if the migration process got reversed, and Europeans were migrating to the Maghreb.
    Sounds interesting, can’t wait to read it !

Mute frank dowling
    Favourite frank dowling
    Sep 29th 2024, 5:33 AM

Bad day for the Hamas heads on here, looks like the Zionists are going to around for a bit longer ..
    I wonder will the little man up in the park, send his condolences to Hezbollah on the untimely death of their leader?

Mute DAN TEDSON
    Favourite DAN TEDSON
    Sep 29th 2024, 7:39 AM

@frank dowling: rubbing your hands at the thought of Israel flattening the hospitals in Beirut Frank?
    Plenty of babies in incubators to be left to die at gunpoint. Lots of doctors and nurses to be tortured. Loads of ambulances to bomb. And a whole new country of little kids to maim and butcher. You’ll be delighted with the slaughter to come.

Can’t understand what you get out of it to be fair, but rest assured, the human cost will be immense.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Sep 29th 2024, 11:24 AM

@frank dowling: Hamas, Hezbollah and I wittingly suspect many now quiet Muslims HATE the people of the (earlier) Books.

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Sep 29th 2024, 11:31 AM

Don’t forget he wined and dined the Israeli ambassador at the FF ard deis, his party along with FG blueshirt have been blocking the occupied territories bill. There is blood on the hands of the Irish government who continue to support genocide. Free Palestine

Mute Alan Casey
    Favourite Alan Casey
    Sep 29th 2024, 1:16 PM

Take our soldiers home. They are in real danger. There is no possibility whatsoever of them being able to fulfil their mandate. They are equipped for peace keeping and not peace enforcement. Bring them home before the unthinkable occurs.

Mute John Reynolds
    Favourite John Reynolds
    Sep 28th 2024, 9:00 PM

We can’t get u out oh please someone with an airforce or army even a navy help

Mute Quinny
    Favourite Quinny
    Sep 29th 2024, 12:03 PM

Thanks Michael

Mute Nikki Swift
    Favourite Nikki Swift
    Sep 29th 2024, 2:57 AM

i only read the headline, but I’m sure irish people needed that advice fair play to ya tanaiste

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected