You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE TAOISEACH HAS said the government doesn’t want to backtrack on any reopening measures, and that this principle will “inform any decisions” when advice is received from NPHET next week.
The National Public Health Emergency Team (NPHET) will next week issue advice to government on the planned 5 July reopening measures, which includes indoor dining.
The Tánaiste Leo Varadkar and Health Minister Stephen Donnelly said yesterday that the government cannot make a decision on whether there can be further easing of restrictions on 5 July until this advice is received.
In an interview aired tonight with Claire Brock on Virgin Media Television, Micheál Martin said the Chief Medical Officer this week outlined his concerns about the Delta variant.
Martin said he “can’t speculate right now” in relation to the reopening plans, but he said it is “an area of concern to the Chief Medical Officer, to everybody, to myself included”.
“We don’t want to be going back. That’s the important principles that has to inform any decisions in light of any advice we might receive from the Chief Medical Officer and from NPHET, who have to do some modelling of this Delta variant,” Martin said.
Government sources have said that it would be close to impossible to reject advice if public health experts recommend a delay to some or all of the planned 5 July measures such as the reopening of indoor dining.
“The writing seems to be on the wall from NPHET’s point of view”, said one senior source who added that the CMO told the Health Minister Stephen Donnelly that he is worried about the variant, and that a few weeks’ deferral could prevent a rise in hospitalisations and give more time to get people vaccinated.
In a wide-ranging interview about the past year as Taoiseach, Martin said the worst part of the past year was in January.
“The impact of the virus was really challenging our health service, and challenging people, and impacting on people. In terms of not just case numbers, but also hospital numbers going up,” he said.
The Taoiseach said “no one modelled what subsequently happened” after the Christmas period when cases spiked daily in the thousands throughout January.
As has been said before about the pre-Christmas decision to reopen indoor dining among other loosened measures, Martin said: “If we knew subsequently what we knew then, we wouldn’t have made the same decisions.”
“I can recall talking to [HSE CEO] Paul Reid in the early part of January saying he could almost see the impact of Christmas Day on case numbers and hospitalisations, and New Year’s Eve on case numbers,” Martin said.
The Taoiseach was questioned on housing, saying: “I would say to others, including members of my own [party], I would say this: this is a crisis, we need more houses built.
I can tell you this much: as Taoiseach I’m saying I’m going to deal with the housing crisis as we’ve dealt with Covid.
“Every single avenue we can explore now, to get houses built, we’ll do. It needs everybody, from all parties, on board – to allow projects that are shovel-ready to get through the councils and get them built. In addition to that we will provide additional resources to get houses built.”
Early government dramas
The government hit a few hiccups over the course of its first few months. On the selection of the Cabinet, former Fianna Fáil TD Dara Calleary had expressed his disappointment after he was not awarded a Cabinet ministry.
Calleary later resigned as deputy leader of the party after he was among a number of politicians who attended the controversial Oireachtas Golf Society event last August.
Martin said there were “some who were disappointed” with his Cabinet selections last summer on what he described as a “bittersweet” day.
“It’s great to get elected as Taoiseach, but then you know immediately you’re going to disappoint a lot of people because there simply were not enough places there available to appoint people,” the Taoiseach said.
He said that “understandably” Calleary was disappointed at the time but that there is a “limited number of places, particularly in a three-party coalition government”.
The Taoiseach said the situation involving Barry Cowan was not one a person “could be happy with overall”.
Barry Cowan was appointed as Minister for Agriculture, before being removed from the post in the wake of controversy after it emerged he had been caught drink-driving in 2016.
“It was very difficult for Barry, very difficult for myself, and very difficult for the Government,” he said.
“But in situations like this I do believe it’s important to go before the House, to go before the Dáil, and give a full account of what transpired.”
He said it was a “disappointing time all round”.
The Taoiseach said he was annoyed by the Golfgate incident.
“Dara Calleary, he got it straight away and very quickly. We discussed it that evening. He said, ‘look, I’ve made a very big mistake here.’ And he resigned,” Martin said.
“All around that was a fairly challenging period early on in the government’s life, which we had to navigate and deal with.”
Relationships
Martin said he has a “very good relationship” with the Chief Medical Officer Dr Tony Holohan and said that public health advice “has to be independent of government”.
“The moment you endeavour to over-politicise it as a country you’re in trouble. Look at Donald Trump in America, for example. He ridiculed public health, and the cases just went through the roof. Bolsonaro in Brazil. The United Kingdom in the earlier phase had a very difficult time,” the Taoiseach said.
“So there’s going to be tensions – we will not agree on everything. Government will not agree with public health advice on everything, and as I discussed earlier, different decisions can be taken – different variations on decisions can be taken.”
Martin said he gets on “fine” with both Leo Varadkar and Eamon Ryan, saying both he and the Tánaiste are “very practical” but “generationally we’re a bit different”.
Legacy
In terms of how he would like to be remembered as Taoiseach, Martin said “it’s a bit early yet to be talking about legacy” but that he wants to “come through Covid intact and to facilitate and work to make sure we can emerge from it as a society, a better society, with better quality of life; with the economy restored and people back at work”.
“And obviously in areas like education and housing in particular, I really want to turn around the situation on housing: to have a pathway there, where people are able to afford houses, and to get housing.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
92 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
as someone who lost a beautiful niece last August because of her taking one MDNA tablet (it was her second one she ever took )
I can’t in anyway condone the taking of drugs .the devastation snowball that has hit our family from this is just awful to say the least .
a seventeen year old , an only daughter ,a father who is just a shell .a mother lost .and all for that one pill .
PLEASE KIDS THINK .
@john sheridan: Sorry for your loss but I’m betting she was raised on the “Just say no” mantra and it didn’t work. It’s never worked. If you really cared about more people not being lost to drugs you’d drop that useless approach and wholeheartedly support this initiative.
@K: facilities should be available for people to test their drug’s in all pubs clubs and concerts.the government needs to take responsibility and grow up about this matter that the people in this state do drugs.this can save lives..
@SFNutters: “Just say no”’s been working fantastically hasn’t it? I’m sure there’s a saying about doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.
Question for ye: Are you just stupid, or are you an amoral sack?
@Mill Lane: you have costings on this? What about staff to distribute the kits? What if one of the kits give an inaccurate measurement? How much would the lawsuits cost? Just say no.
Drugs have never been cheaper to buy. I remember in the late 90s an xtc table cost 10 pounds, now you can buy one for as little as a euro. If the government goes a head with minimum pricing of alcohol the drug cartels will be rubbing their hands with delight.
@TRUMPS#BLIMP: well if you are buying E for €1 a go, then you are buying some seriously messed up cheap crap, more than likely a multiple mix of various tranquillisers, I know all drugs are dangerous but that type of stuff should be avoided at all costs….
@John Joe & Bridie: there is no need for that. I’ve been to about fifty festivals and what Anthony has stated is the reality of what will happen. Young lads and girls trying to out do each other because the festival they are at has been the topic of conversation for the last six months.
@John Joe & Bridie: parenting skills have what exactly to do with telling the truth? Did he put two down his kids throat? I think not. You’re way out of touch with the accuracy of his statement so you take a cheap shot. Stunning.
@Bryan Kelly: I would disagree there very big difference between those who party in late teen/early twenties and those a bit older. Been there done that like lots of people. You’ve never seen people double drop in your life or double dab? Saying I’ve done more drugs than imagined makes you sound like you’re the one who has no idea to be fair. There’s always the few that go on how they could handle twenty pills in one session the scary part is I seen it happen. And it’s not exclusive to festivals. People party every weekend like this are out there
@tooler doogan: this is an article on festival goers taking yokes, and not shooting up heroin. But I suppose you think all recreational drug users are also heroin addicts.
@Hank Kingsley: what are they taking? Cos they haven’t got a clue what’s in it…then they get a bad reaction and end up occupying a hospital bed that someone who is really ill needs..fools.
@john doe: thanks for that article very interesting o1ne point to note is the most dangerous drug on that list is legal and probably is in everyones house up and down the country, while the unregulated drugs black market will continue to thrive until we regulate the market, or at a minimum start to give out drug testing kits at nightclubs, festivals etc, and until that happens there will be death’s with people popping what they think could be yokes, but could be PCP instead of mdma
From this article, we are allowing people to sell our kids drugs and we then advise them how to take those drugs. We have no idea what’s in them and telling them how to ingest them is not the answer either. Would it be safer if our Government got involved. We really have to look at this in a different way to protect the next generation. The war against drugs has not worked. It’s like fighting big Pharma, They win every time.
@Teresa Scanlon: we are not allowing people to sell drugs. But like it or not, people are taking drugs, and taking lots of them. Giving advice is a much better option than burying out head in the sand.
@Teresa Scanlon: Wow! Why did no one tell me drug dealing’s legal now since we’re allowing people to sell them?
“Just say no” has been an abysmal failure for decades but you keep on beating that dead horse instead of considering that maybe alternative approaches developed by people who actually know what they’re talking about might be better.
I am actually shocked to believe that doctors are telling people in the mainstream media how to safely take illegal drugs. Is there not a better way to enjoy festival season than drink and drugs? Call me old-fashioned but what about #justsayno instead?
@Seeking Truth: How Well has #JustSayNo been working there? Sure in the decades since that ridiculously useless slogan began drug problems must surely have improved coz it’s just so damn effective yeah.
Seeking truth? Well it’s right there in the article, from the mouths of people who know what they’re talking about and not some ignorant tool who just wants to hop on their high horse.
Seeking truth? Seeking any excuse to be an arrogant toff and to hells with the people my ineffective catchphrase and opposition to information kills more like.
@Seeking Truth: Surely you can get it through your head that people ask doctors all the time how best to help them to cut down? Whether it be eating or drinking or taking too much medication, people do need helpful, practical advice and whatever helps each person is worth hearing. If the GPs wanted to advise thousands of people one at a time and bill the HSE, you might have some grounds for a gripe.
@Bryan Kelly: True. I would change the slogan to #JustSayYes. If they are determined to take an unknown substance made by criminals and havn’t got the brains to figure out the obvious danger, give them all that they want. If there is a particularly dangerous batch, all the better. Don’t waste resources trying to stop them, let them work away. If people are determined to play Russian Roulette, give them the guns and ammo.
People have been getting high since they have been on the planet. And they will be as long as humans will be around. We need reform mate, not the Stone Age views you just spurted out.
I’m in my 30s now had my fun done the festivals and backpacking, 20s was a party but pretty happy with pints in pub life and the odd all nighter and honestly shocked there are still people believing just saying no is a thing. back 15 yrs ago this was regular not just limited to festivals. The scag was real lads. I work with active drug users and a doctors job is to save lives. It’s extremely naive to think people will say no. Harm reduction saves lives and if this advice makes someone take a more careful approach then fair play. You don’t have to agree with drug use but education is key. Some people need to climb down from that know it all attitude. Would you rather people die that’s the question to ask yourself. I assume answer is no. Then no opposition for this should be the norm.
@Dorothy: pity people cant have a social occasion without alcohol, pity people cant eat less chocolate, pity people cant go to the cinema without eating loudly.
Just saying.
People arent perfect, they have weaknesses, we arent in a perfect world so lets give good advice and make it a bit safer for our youth
People are always going to take drugs, in particular, people in the 18-25 year age bracket are always going to take drugs, it’s a brilliant idea to make it safer.
@FlopFlipU: bwahahaha. You’ve never bought a pill in your life with that statement. Here’s an idea – buy a testing kit yourself and test it yourself. Simple.
The cops would love to see a person bringing out a bag to test on the spot. Lol. Save them the bother.
Is it fair to ask crying children to leave an event?
19 mins ago
Biodiversity Threat
An Asian Hornet (the kind known for bullying bees) has been found and captured in Cork
22 mins ago
Shooting Stars
Meteor shower and rare 'double planet' to light up Irish skies tonight - here's how to spot them
Updated
15 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 220 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 154 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 201 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 163 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 124 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 52 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 49 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 79 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 113 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 52 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 128 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 96 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 69 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 120 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 108 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say