You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Garth Brooks at Croke Park stadium, Dublin, during his concert announcement. Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

Proposed mediation process for Garth Brooks concerts 'most disappointing' say residents

The residents said that the number of special events held at Croke Park should be reduced.

THE ASSOCIATIONS REPRESENTING Croke Park residents today received the terms of reference of the mediation process for resolving the dispute over Garth Brooks’ planned five-night stint at Croke Park this summer.

Locals are unhappy about the Garth Brooks’ gigs taking place at the Dublin stadium and are calling for the number of special events at the stadium to be reduced.

The Croke Park Residents Committee said they believe the concerts will not only breach existing clauses in Croke Park’s permission to hold such events, but also contravenes United Nations charters on human rights.

On 6 March, Croke Park suggested that the Labour Relations Commission chief Kieran Mulvey could chair talks.

Talks

Mulvey drew up the terms of reference of a mediation process that should be held upon special events being held at the stadium and these were presented to the resident and business groups today.

However, Croke Park Streets Committees Limited and the Irish Stadium Communities Association state that the proposed terms of reference are “most disappointing”.

The terms state that meetings will be held with community groups, businesses, the gardaí and other stakeholders so that the the promoters can hear “first hand” from those the events impact upon.

A report will also be prepared that will set out in detail the systems put in place to “minimise the impact” of licensed events on the surrounding communities.

The mediation process will be “undertaken with the utmost transparency and will seek to establish clearly the roles and responsibilities of those organising these special events and which will recognise the necessity of minimising inconvenience to those who live and work in the areas within and adjacent to Croke Park Stadium,” said Mulvey.

Feedback

Currently a community feedback leaflet has been circulated to 27,000 householders in the area surrounding the stadium and the GAA are organising a community forum for all residents that will be held on 29 March in Croke Park from 10am to 2pm.

Mulvey said that the mediation process, which he and a number of others are involved are “acting totally independent capacity” and that that they are under “no directions from anyone”.

He said that he hoped their would be “positive co-operation of everyone we can bring these matters to a successful conclusion…”.

The group state that the thrust of the terms of reference document “misses the point totally”.

They said that it is not about “how do we manage all these licensed events such as concerts in a way to minimise the affect on the community”, but that the “real question” is how to minimise the number of events back to the level of three that had been set down as a planning condition for the stadium by An Bord Pleanala, they claimed.

They added that the issue is a “quality of life” issue for the families who live around the stadium stating that they wish to “protect the value of our homes and our community assets”.

They concluded by stating that they expect Mulvey to deliver a binding agreement as the way forward, not just a report as mentioned in the terms of reference.

Read: Residents want to talk to Croke Park about more than just Garth Brooks>

Read: Garth Brooks concerts could face legal action from local residents>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

62 Comments
    Mute pat James buchannan
    Favourite pat James buchannan
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:37 PM

Grow up people …… The stadium is at least 80 years older than ye all……. Why did you buy a house next to it

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:39 PM

So they would have something to moan about why else.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:40 PM

& one corner side of the stadium is all Social housing!!

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:49 PM

Wayne
    And your point is…..

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:54 PM

They do not own the houses they are in and are part of the committee that object to the concerts despite their housing being provided by the state.

So they have no right to complain about what is going on in Croke park to be brutally honest anyone that has purchased a house there in the last 10 years should probably not be complaining either

Mute Jenny Hopkins
    Favourite Jenny Hopkins
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:55 PM

Not necessarily… I’m sure there are elderly people living in the area. Don’t get me wrong, I am going to the concert, it’s just the elderly who I feel sorry for, everyone else is just out to stir…

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:57 PM

Wayne
    So anyone who got a house from the state has no right to complain
    What are you jealous

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:58 PM

Jenny, yep a lot of the older long term residents of the area have my sympathy but they are in the minority and probably don’t benefit from the residents groups actions. It was amazing how quickly the objections disappeared for the last U2 concerts when extra free tickets were distributed

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:03 PM

Not about the concert next door No, it’s up their with the couple in cork that complained that their social housing had a garden to small to accommodate their kids trampoline

Mute Terry McMahon
    Favourite Terry McMahon
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:04 PM

and what about us that are here over 20 yr’s or others whose families are here over 70, 80 90 even a hundred years living in this community???

Your point about public housing is typical of some of the trolls on here… Just because these people live in public housing doesn’t mean that they are less entitled to a safe secure home without the disruptions these concerts bring.

Mute Terry McMahon
    Favourite Terry McMahon
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:09 PM

Wayne check your facts about extra tickets after the U2 concerts.
    In fact there were 2000 tickets given to the community from MCD for the U2 that Croke Park distributed themselves. Not one resident inside the cordon area got one…!!! In fact they weren’t mentioned by Croke Park until MCD brought it up at a meeting… Red FAces in that room

As for tickets now check the link below and you’ll see that there is a draw for match tickets (2) and concert tickets (2) are given away for free

https://www.crokepark.ie/about/community/croke-park-ticket-scheme

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:09 PM

troll!? Please look up the definition of the word and come back to me. Safe and secure what part of that will be ruined by the concert??

There will be noise disruption yes but I don’t think their safety or security is in question with the large Garda presence that goes with these events

See previous comments about long term residents

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:24 PM

I’m guessing you didn’t win a U2 ticket.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh

What facts? There was a resident objection MCD allocated extra tickets and the objection was dropped I never gave numbers?

Mute Terry McMahon
    Favourite Terry McMahon
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:34 PM

There was no objection to the concerts. >The objection was to the permission granted by DCC to permit 48 hr’s of continuos work (stage take down) no objections went in against the concerts themselves…!!!!

Mute Ava Emc
    Favourite Ava Emc
    Mar 19th 2014, 1:25 AM

Pat, people don’t mind the concerts at all. It is the safety and vandalism issues they have that is left behind by the music goers. Majority of the music people are good but some really do some damage to their properties and throwing rubbish in their gardens as well. That is not fair on the residents. That is what they are complaining mostly about really. I heard some news about it and can see their point of view.

Mute Niall Griffin
    Favourite Niall Griffin
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:34 PM

It’s a pity the whole Crimea thing is overshadowing this issue.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:36 PM

And why shouldn’t it?
    After all there is a western backed fascist government now in place.

Mute Colin Murray
    Favourite Colin Murray

Not to mention that missing plane.

Mute Jim Faulkner
    Favourite Jim Faulkner
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:04 PM

Western backed fascist government? Very accurate description of the current lot in Dáil Éireann!!

Mute Ciaran Kennedy
    Favourite Ciaran Kennedy

Its a pity they built a massive stadium in the area after all the residents had bought their houses….. oh wait…

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew

its not the five concerts they should be objecting to. its the fact that there are ANY concerts. brooks shouldn’t be allowed near any stage after what he did to country music. he put on a cowboy hat and boots, got a beer belly and then sang songs that barely rose above mtv advert standard. insult to the country greats

the other reason that they should be objecting is to all the 40 year olds pretending to be 18 again. how depressing is that!

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Mar 19th 2014, 7:52 AM

Ciarán – A ridiculous statement to make. The noise that comes from a concert, and the time of day it takes place (night), makes them completely different to your regular croke park matches. They only started to put concerts on there in 1996 after an agreement with residents of a maximum of three nights in a year. A quick look at the list of concerts held over the years shows you how drastically it has jumped this year. It’s a complete disgrace that it has happened, Croke Park and the GAA should be made honour their agreement. http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Croke_Park

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:33 PM

Disappointing? Obviously not enough free tickets on offer

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock

Or money

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:53 PM

If i was living there i would be holding out for a massive bag of weed to get me through those 5 days of Garth Brooks and 3 days of One Direction.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen

3 days of one direction
    Ah fcuk that I’d move out.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:35 PM

i would fire bomb me own head. with a hot burny thing

Mute Banking Bad
    Favourite Banking Bad
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:00 AM

The problem Glen, is since the announcement of the One Direction gigs, the prices of the houses have tumbled down.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops

Sounds fair to me. Are these ‘locals’ ever going to be happy with anything?

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:35 PM

Probably a private box each and a shift from Garth himself

Mute Emma
    Favourite Emma
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:06 PM

I rent less than 5 mins from Croker and didn’t get one of the 27k feedback forms… Interesting!

Mute Terry McMahon
    Favourite Terry McMahon
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:38 PM

Emma my house backs onto Croke Park and I didn’t get one either!!! 27,000 forms thats a lot of people in a draw for 2 tickets…!!!

That’s the “free tickets” everyone thinks all residents get…

https://www.crokepark.ie/about/community/croke-park-ticket-scheme

No mention of free tickets for all residents in that link… But as a resident for over 20 years I don’t want tickets… Just Croke Park to honour their agreements.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:46 PM

Still can’t understand why two off these concerts weren’t pawned off to Slane?

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Mar 19th 2014, 12:28 AM

Does this mean Croke Park is out of the potential Rugby World Cup bid?

Mute DubDon
    Favourite DubDon
    Mar 19th 2014, 7:32 AM

Doing it. It’s the escalation of non sporting events that’s the problem here

Mute Susan Lloyd
    Favourite Susan Lloyd
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:32 PM

Why do we not hear any noise from the d4′s with all the matches etc over in lansdowne Oops Aviva stadium?

Mute DubDon
    Favourite DubDon
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:56 PM

Because Susan AVIVA are restricted to absolutely no more than 3 non sporting events per year. Croke are are limited to 3 but can apply for more which in this case they haven’t.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:40 PM

How many people/businesses in Dublin benefit from these concerts?
    I am guessing – Quite A Lot
    If this fella wants to come here and sing a few songs for a few nights and shiete load of people want to come and hear him do that and spend a shiate load of money whle they’re doing that, then the people living near by should be bit patient because they happen to live near it,

Mute Colm Doyle
    Favourite Colm Doyle
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:52 PM

This is getting very tiresome…..just give them a ticket and get on with it..

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy

It was always going to be a challenge……they are all AC/DC fans!

Mute Giovanni Giusti
    Favourite Giovanni Giusti
    Mar 19th 2014, 7:01 AM

I understand that it’s annoying having to live through five evenings of Garth Brooks, but the UN charter of human rights is about more important stuff. People who invoke it left right and centre really have a disproportionate idea their own problems’ importance

Mute Banking Bad
    Favourite Banking Bad
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:22 AM

My thoughts exactly. Absolute tossers to be bandying that about.

Mute Dermot O Dwyer
    Favourite Dermot O Dwyer
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:44 PM

5 GBs.
    Surely to God 3 GBs should be more than enough for all Garth Brooks songs….

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:54 PM

they’ve got to go to court and try to enforce the 3 event max if that is indeed what was written down then

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Mar 19th 2014, 12:37 AM

Ah for feck’s sake. Why live near Croker if you don’t like events. Why don’t you give out about the GAA matches? Why do they only seem to give out about concerts?

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:48 AM

Keith, yes, just confine the events to sporting events. That’s the solution.

It’s a built up residential area and unsuitable for major music events.

To put it as mildly as possible, your average Brooks fan is not exactly a quiet, reserved and civilised type. Lots of beer swillers, public urination and over the top behaviour.

Local residents will need to batten down the hatches and stay as invisible as possible when the uncouth hoards of Brooks fans descend.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:32 PM

Many of these residents are long term residents and lived in the area long before Croker became a regular concert venue and a lot more high profile games. From May to September there lives face disruption on a regular basis due to GAA games with no complaint but 6 concerts in a row must be a nightmare.
    GAA just went ahead ignoring the residents concerns.

Before anyone asks I don’t live in the area or know anyone living there.

Mute Terry McMahon
    Favourite Terry McMahon
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:00 PM

Will be interesting to see how this goes. GAA/Croke Park have had agreements in the past and broken them all when it suited them. Interesting point to note here is that Mr Mulvey is of the consideration that 5 concerts will go ahead…!

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:17 PM

So how much are you looking for ?

Can the residents be bought off with free tickets or money ?

Or are the residents going to completely reject these extra concerts no matter whats offered?

Mute Terry McMahon
    Favourite Terry McMahon
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:45 PM

Begrudgery I’m just looking for Croke Park to honour the agreements of the past with the residents. What is happening here is Croke Park saw a cash cow and decided to milk the crap out of it without a care in the world for those who live around the stadium.

There will be no money offered and as for free tickets see link in my posts above. Any free tickets will be given to cronies of croke park and put down as ‘Residents tickets’.

Sure they say that 250 tickets are given out free for all Ireland finals
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/allireland-final-ticket-allocation-26770929.html

Anyway we’ll suffer on, in court if need be…!!!

Mute Mick O'Donoghue
    Favourite Mick O'Donoghue
    Mar 19th 2014, 6:27 AM

They all just want their couple of quid and some perks and they’ll get back in their boxes.

Mute Damo™
    Favourite Damo™
    Mar 19th 2014, 1:25 AM

Surely it’s all about money…..

The GAA, the highest paid amateur organisation in the world..

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 19th 2014, 12:36 AM

Move them to Lansdowne Road,
    Simples.

Mute tJou_tSco
    Favourite tJou_tSco
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:13 AM

Croke park are behaving a bit like Putin. Ignore an existing agreement, treat the residents with upmost contempt by doing what you want anyway, then start talking rubbish about wanting a peaceful solution.
    The GAA are great at talking the talk about community values but when it comes to money they’ve no problem tormenting a community!

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Mar 19th 2014, 7:53 AM

Regardless of the outcome of this there’s one thing for sure and that’s the GAA won’t try this stunt again. So a victory for the residents, fair play ;-)

Mute Banking Bad
    Favourite Banking Bad
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:23 AM

If the GAA pull it off they certainly will try this again! Money talks.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:40 AM

I thought that the residents had a solicitor involved – I’m just waiting to hear: “Show me the Money” and this dispute will miraculously evaporate.

Mute John Gillick
    Favourite John Gillick
    Mar 19th 2014, 11:34 AM

Moan moan moan! How long is Crowe park there, if your renting or own you house, you knew you were going to be living beside an active stadium. It’s the same all over Ireland from Crowe park stadium to Mondello race circuit, residents are moaning about them being over used, noise etc. you’ll be the same people that will complain when they have to close due to the legal costs battling your arguments. Stop living near these places if you can’t handle it, I’m sure they have been there longer than the present residents. Spoiling fun things to do for the rest of us!!

Mute ✨ Shnarp ✨
    Favourite ✨ Shnarp ✨
    Mar 19th 2014, 1:52 PM

The money that will be generated by these concerts is massive. They better not listen to these moaners over some noise. They are probably the same people who moan and give out about the lack of money in the country!

Mute Paul Gray
    Favourite Paul Gray
    Mar 19th 2014, 10:15 AM