You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

Dart to launch text alert system aimed at tackling anti-social behaviour next month

The service will be live-monitored by central security.

A TEXT ALERT system aimed at tackling anti-social behaviour on the Dart will be available to passengers next month, Irish Rail has announced. 

The move comes amid increased reports of anti-social behaviour in recent times and concerns for passenger safety.

From July, commuters will be able to discreetly report any issues they witness or experience on board the Dart by texting a security centre, Irish Rail spokesperson Barry Kenny said. 

The service will be live-monitored during all operational hours by a central security monitoring hub, “who can then liaise with staff and security teams to ensure issues are responded to and addressed,” Kenny added. 

The system is expected to go live early next month.

Passengers who text the system will be charged the “standard text rate”, Kenny said, with the overall cost of the system expected to be around €100,000 per year. 

Last November, there were calls for increased security along Dublin’s Dart line after a teenager was rushed to hospital, while a second was arrested following an incident between Killester and Harmonstown stations. 

Following a rise in anti-social behaviour on the service, Kenny of Irish Rail said the company has “increased the number of security patrols as a deterrent to anti-social behaviour issues, and have been liaising with Gardaí both to proactively plan initiatives and resources”. 

“While the overwhelming majority of journeys occur without incident, we have been experiencing an increase in anti-social behaviour incidents, so are determined to take the necessary measures to reverse this trend,” Kenny said. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

43 Comments
    Mute Philip Kenna
    Favourite Philip Kenna
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:02 PM

God love him…the poor man..just aswell his wife and kids were blessed with the few hundred million that was passed on to them or he would be homeless…but then again im sure his 3 year old grandchild could put him up in her 5 star hotel she owns…

Mute Caitriona Reilly
    Favourite Caitriona Reilly
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:28 PM

I hate inaccurate posts. Quinn gave his youngest DAUGHTER the Slieve Russell Hotel (4 star) in 1990 when she was 3 years old, same daughter is now 24. You would hardly consider this a recent transaction. FYI Anglo have taken this hotel.

Mute Philip Kenna
    Favourite Philip Kenna
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:39 PM

Apologies Cath…..i made a mistake like thousands of others did. . .

Mute Caitriona Reilly
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:42 PM

No problem Phil, however your the only one I see printing it. Always easy I suppose to lump yourself in with thousand of unknown others

Mute P Wurple
    Favourite P Wurple
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:59 PM

Caitriona. Really great to see people clarifying inaccuracies… Up with truth!

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:06 PM

Typical misinformation from begrudgers

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:27 PM

Is it misinformation that he recently sold russian property and a hotel for 2k and a laptop to a family member recently also ?

Not everyone who thinks his behaviour is reprehensible is a begrudger

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Dec 20th 2011, 8:54 PM

I also made mistakes, but my mistakes didn’t being down the country…

Mute Conor Barry
    Favourite Conor Barry
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:06 PM

Well so far they havent

Mute Liam Breen
    Favourite Liam Breen
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:10 PM

Gambling 2.4 billion didn’t bring down the country on it’s own. A government tax policy based on property rates contributed much much more.

Mute James Nugent
    Favourite James Nugent
    Dec 20th 2011, 11:32 PM

Wow just started on this thread, and have to answer the first comment, hope the rest is in some way unbiased and more sensible. Love a good debate, but get really irrated by ridiculous statements.
    Sean Quinns mistakes did also not bring down the Country. While his debts are enormous, they are actually rather insignificant in the bringing down of the country. Ireland pays out 16 billion more than it takes in per year.
    The Government recapitalised Anglo by 30 billion, The Irish banking system by 80 billion. The Government guarenteed the Irish banks to the tune of 500billion. Quinns debt of 1.6billion is not the reason this country is bankrupt.

Mute 3christian3
    Favourite 3christian3
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:21 AM

HOW MANY JOBS DID YOU CREATE PAUL? HARDLY, THE 8000 PLUS THOUSANDS OF OTHER INDIRECT JOBS THAT QUINN CREATED.. INCIDENTALLY, THE INTERVIEW ON RTE WAS CUT SHORT WHICH IS INDICATIVE OF THE SELECTING REPORTING BY OUR NATIONAL BROADCASTER ON THIS SUBJECT. TV3′S INTERVIEW WAS MORE INFORMATIVE AS SEAN QUINN ADDED THAT HE MADE THE MISTAKE OF BELIEVING THE CENTRAL BANK, THE REGULATOR ETC.
    IT REALLY IS QUITE SIMPLE. ANGLO COOKED THE BOOKS AND CONNED INVESTORS LIKE SEAN QUINN.

IF WE AS CONSUMERS WERE SOLD A FAULTY PRODUCT THAT WAS TOTALLY MISREPRESENTED TO US, WE WOULD BE ENTITLED TO QUESTION THE LEGITIMACY OF THE SO CALLED DEBT THAT ACCRUED AS A RESULT OF THAT MISREPRESENTATION.

ANGLO ARE FLEECING THE TAXPAYERS AND WE NEED TO WAKEN UP AND SEE WHO THE REAL CROOKS ARE.

Mute Pat Ryan
    Favourite Pat Ryan
    Dec 21st 2011, 8:42 AM

SHOUTING ON THE INTERNET MAKES ME FEEL IMPORTANT.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 20th 2011, 8:56 PM

Your only human Sean. Best of luck to you in the future

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:25 PM

Yeah same goes for seanie fitz, paddy kelly, liam carroll etc aswell, grand sorts the lot of em, only human.

Mute James Nugent
    Favourite James Nugent
    Dec 20th 2011, 11:57 PM

You really couldnt make comparisons there. Fitzpatrick was a banker. Kelly and Carroll were developers who made it bigger in the boom years. Quinn was, like it or not the most successful entrepreneur this country has ever produced. He didnt make it big overnight, he left school at 14 worked hard for 40 years to build Irelands biggest and most successful company in the Country. He brought employment to rural areas where no-one else would go. He tackled major monopolies like insurance,glass and cement on his own. Not as a part of a large multinational company but as the head of a family business.The man made a mistake, he has admitted on numerous occassions he made a mistake. To date has Fitzpatrick, Kelly, Carroll admitted to mistakes ?

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Dec 21st 2011, 1:55 AM

David. Great to see so much compassion in your post. Good to see you developing that trait. Remember it next tine you’re having a go at this Quinn. ;)

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Dec 21st 2011, 9:37 AM

Jame Nugent, I think the comparison is clear actually, I have a lot of respect for Sean Quinn over 40 years building up a hugely successful and diversified business (although I certainly don’t buy the parochial whiter than white old man image which is being portrayed in some arenas).

I just don’t understand why people can’t get past the fact that he went and gambled everything he worked for, all those jobs and assets on Anglo Irish Bank which sought to further fuel the property boom, therefore he is culpable of making a huge investment into the Irish property market, bigger than Paddy Kelly or Liam Carroll in personal terms, and therefore can easily be compared to anyone else who sought to leverage their personal wealth against a speculative bubble that helped collapse the economy. Just because he was a very successful entrepeneur for a long time, does not absolve him for responsibility for failure in the end.

He has admitted a mistake, but people continue to be fundamental about the fact that he shouldn’t be punished, should keep his company, is right to “allegedly” try and defraud creditors (the taxpayer), blame someone else for his mistake

Mute James Nugent
    Favourite James Nugent
    Dec 21st 2011, 10:40 AM

Sean, Cant really agree with you. Quinn invested circa 600 million of his familys profits into Anglo, he made an investment decision on the back of Anglo’s figures ( which were verified and signed off by the financial regulator and central bank ).
    Anglo’s share price starts to fall, Quinn has to sell his shares, but Anglo cant and wont let him put his shares on the market as the bank will collapse. So Anglo give Quinns companies ( which he hasnt owned since 2002) 2.3 billion to prop up Anglos shares. Disaster then strikes Anglo nationalised, Quinn while disputing the legality of what Anglo had done acknowldged his part in the whole sorry story and stepped up to the plate, and said his families companies would pay back the money, illegal or not ,over 7 years if no interest was added to the debt. Anglo needed a fall guy, a man from Fermanagh with no political allies or friends, who is not friendly with any media and is in fact a practical recluse. Who does not attend gliteratti events, or be photographed in any of the high society venues. A man who lives, works and socialises with his workers and neighbours, Yep he will do and there commenced the massive PR campaign against Quinn. Which incidentially you are paying for.

Mute Rodger O Waters
    Favourite Rodger O Waters
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:17 PM

Started from scratch and amazing success,cant defend the mistakes but the country needs goers like Quinn,

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:34 PM

The country doesnt need serial gamblers like Sean Quinn. Whilst I admire his honesty, its hollow words to his ex employees who depended on him. Its a sad state of affairs.

Mute Billygoatmuff
    Favourite Billygoatmuff
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:35 PM

This country certainly does not need and more greed.

Mute 3christian3
    Favourite 3christian3
    Dec 20th 2011, 11:38 PM

Sean Quinn invested in an Irish Bank that was regulated by the Financial Regulator and supervised by the Government.. He did nothing illegal or improper.
    Are you calling the thousands of people who invested in a bank GAMBLERS, who unknown to them had cooked the books and misrepresented accounts with the approval of the Central Bank and the knowledge of the Dept. of FInance?

Mute Caitriona Reilly
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:14 PM

cop yourself on, Quinn did not bring down the country. Central Bank, Regulator, Banks, Government all has some responsibility here, You dont see them admitting to anything, condesending, arrogant fools the lot of them. Hope Quinn wins , comes back and proves all the uneducated, arse licking critics wrong.

Mute smithan_irl
    Favourite smithan_irl
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:31 PM

So do I. Then he give us back the 2.4 big ones he owes us

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne

You obviously from Cavan

Mute derville mcdonald
    Favourite derville mcdonald
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:11 PM

He is from Fermanagh!!!

Mute derville mcdonald
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:16 PM

what has cavan to do with it !!!

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:31 PM

Surely you know Ballyconnell and Cavan Town (!) are in Cavan ??? Its got a lot to do with it. Its nearly as bad as Saipan ..

Mute derville mcdonald
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:50 PM

the people of ballyconnell and cavan town defending their jobs but to think all cavan people are with Quinn is very misinformed

Mute Damien Ruth
    Favourite Damien Ruth
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:31 PM

Built a business empire but more importantly created good employment for thousands. Guys like Sean Quinn took chances but at least they took chances on Irish companies and invested in Ireland. I’m one person who wishes him success in the future!!

Mute Rodger O Waters
    Favourite Rodger O Waters
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:41 PM

Agree,if the banks were dangling millions in front of us we would have gone down the same road,

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:49 PM

That he did. And let me add when I was 18, one of his businesses was able to provide me with a job (abeit a summer one). I wish him luck but wish he hadn’t had been so greedy.

Mute Thevoice Ofreason
    Favourite Thevoice Ofreason
    Dec 20th 2011, 11:03 PM

Should the men who gave him the money not be responsible in some way? Are they being investigated?

Mute Doyle
    Favourite Doyle
    Dec 20th 2011, 11:11 PM

I think this is what the quinn’s are arguing. It is fairly obvious that senior management as well as the board in anglo knew about the loans as did the financial regulator, department of finance and government. Not sure what they were all up to but they are clearly looking to blame Quinn for all

Mute Garreth OMahony
    Favourite Garreth OMahony
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:46 AM

Yes they are. However this is a separate matter.

Mute Sam Smyth
    Favourite Sam Smyth
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:35 PM

How is Anglo allowed to get away with a very costly and totally pointless expensive case. I heard that Gabriel Moss, the Counsel that Anglo flew in from the UK cost 100k GBP alone, just for his two days in court. The total cost of this element for Anglo continued wasting of funds must be close for the MILLION, when you consider the rest of the Northern Ireland legal fees, the Irish solicitors costs, the expenses for Mr Woodhouse, never mind paying him to monitor GAA blogs, and of course, who can forget the surveillance company expenses.

This Anglo crowd are no better than the last, and I for one am totally sick of it. A bankrupt man,is still bankrupt regardless of the outcome of this case, however, Anglo and therefore the taxpayer will be down another Million due to this. I for one was wondering how the Governement was allowing a state owned bank to behave like this, until, I found out that Alan Dukes, the guy that is now running Anglo is the former Head of Fine Gael !!! I think that says it all.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy

50 riders 50 horses and 30 well fed hounds to chase down one mangy fox!

Mute Louise Brennan
    Favourite Louise Brennan
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:54 AM

Hi Michael.
    Now what did I tell you 2 weeks ago on this topic. Stop telling porkies. I also see your side kick Ryan has just joined at the same time as you. You were told and reluctantly conceeded that these outrageous allegations were lies, yet here you are back again 2 weeks later saying the same thing.
    So I will be just as repetative as you. 1) We all know he has a mansion in Ballyconnell, where is his other mansion ? Please contact Belfast Court tomorrow and advise them on the several cars as Mr Quinn will need to be arrested for contempt for lying to the Court. Please inform us of the hiding place of the yaught, and the villa, someone will need to tell Anglo, The Courts and The Guards. I also told you that the Quinn Group own a company plane , Sean Quinn does not have a private one. Again You are printing lies which you know to be lies therefore I am reporting your comment.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:56 AM

Your being robbed Michael. Most property is not worth insuring now!

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:57 AM

Are you the one that moved house and had no telly?

Mute Louise Brennan
    Favourite Louise Brennan
    Dec 21st 2011, 1:03 AM

Yep and I have a telly now. Is this a nightly chat up between yourself, Michael and Ryan ?

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Dec 21st 2011, 1:39 AM

Yeah we can’t afford tellys. So were here grumping.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:22 PM

In fairness Sean, you should have thought about the consequences … A lot of familles depended on you to get it right.

Mute Doyle
    Favourite Doyle
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:49 PM

Every time Sean Quinn opened a new factory it was a gamble but that is how jobs are created. (not talking about it) He made no staff redundant in nearly 40 yrs. let’s see how Anglo get on. Anglo have taken control of ALL assets that even the children had. Blood and stone comes to mind

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB

Easy said when borrowed money is involved.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:17 PM

Hmmm, let me clarify… SQ was able to take a gamble based on borrowed money. What the saying … “You should never gamble what you cant afford to loose “ ….

Mute Garreth OMahony
    Favourite Garreth OMahony
    Dec 21st 2011, 1:08 AM

Can’t believe the people on here defending Sean Quinn. He borrowed the 1.6 billion and is now being asked to repay it. He gave personal assurances that he would repay it and now slinks off to a different country to claim bankruptcy he owes the Irish people the 1.6 billion Fair play to him for creating all those jobs but now he needs to step up again and go for bankruptcy here. As for saying that loads of others have made mistakes so much so as to strip his of mistakes. What kind do defense is this. If loads of people jumped into the Liffey should he jump as well.

IBRC must follow up on this to get the money back for us. I don’t think it should be a blame game for Quinn but whatever he owes the money so pay it back. As for the money that IBRC pay for counsel if it wasn’t 1.6 billion then they are worth it if they can prove that Quinn borrowed the money and gave personal assurances

Mute Doyle
    Favourite Doyle
    Dec 21st 2011, 1:22 AM

Are you for real garreth? How does he pay back the money when Anglo have taken all his companies? Are you seriously saying Anglo takes all the companies but he has to pay 1.6 as well?

Mute Louise Brennan
    Favourite Louise Brennan
    Dec 21st 2011, 1:25 AM

Garreth, Why does he have to go for Bankruptcy here? Any money he has goes to Anglo, wherever he declares bankruptcy. The only difference is the 1 year and 12 years. If he is bankrupt in Northern Ireland he owes Anglo 1.6 billion. If he is Bankrupt in Republic of Ireland he still owes Anglo 1.6 billion. There is no follow up. He owes the money, Anglo is the only creditor so anything he has they will get. There is no proving the money, it has been proven. He owes it. Anglo took his childrens companies, that he gave to them in 2002, so he cant repay it. So he declared bankruptcy. Just like I cant pay my mortgage if I lose my job, he cant pay his loans without his companies. Its very simple really

Mute 3christian3
    Favourite 3christian3
    Dec 21st 2011, 1:53 AM

Garreth, I repeat the question “How much has Anglo recouped to date for the taxpayers in this farcical deal and how much do you believe they are likely to recoup?”
    The answer is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. INSTEAD WE ARE FACED WITH ENORMOUS BILLS THAT ARE GROWING BY THE DAY FOR FUTILE LEGAL ACTIONS AND SPIN BY ANGLO.

Mute Naoise Uisneach
    Favourite Naoise Uisneach
    Dec 21st 2011, 2:37 AM

His words typify the abject inability to take responsibility that has become one of our national characteristics “So did others” doesn’t matter a flying – good old Sean, driven by greed, made a hames of a series of excessive gambles that contributed to the pile we are sitting in. Be a man Sean – take it in the chin and don’t drag others into your mistakes.

Mute 3christian3
    Favourite 3christian3
    Dec 21st 2011, 3:09 AM

Naoise, I despair when I read comments like yours. Are you that gullible or do you have a vested interest. If you do believe what you are writing, why dont you answer the question “Do you believe that the thousands of people who invested in good faith in an Irish Bank which was regulated by the Financial Regulator and supervised by the Government are all GAMBLERS given that the books were cooked and falsified?

Mute Naoise Uisneach
    Favourite Naoise Uisneach
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:12 AM

@3christian3 – Quinn was investing billions into Anglo and acquiring substantial ownership of the bank. Checking the books of Anglo and all it’s commercial relationships, future prospects as well as regulatory compliance should have been basic due diligence. Quinn is now trying to pull his latest stroke by declaring bankruptcy outside the state, the man deserves nothing but contempt. In his eyes responsibility is obviously a concept applicable to others but not him.

Mute Caitriona Reilly
    Dec 21st 2011, 10:01 AM

Naoise, Quinn did not invest billions in Anglo. He invested 600million of his families money, then the share price started dropping and he had to sell, but Anglo couldnt let him sell or the banks share price would collapse and cause a run on the bank so they gave over 2 billion to his companies to prop up the shares. In relation to the origional investment Quinn claims he did do due dilligence, and verified Anglos books, figures and compliance with the Regulator and the Central bank. Anglos bookes were “cooked” no mention of 7 billion transfers, loans etc, and these figures were sanctioned at the time by the Central Bank and the Regulators office. He is being a man, he has admitted what he did wrong ( essentially trusting the central bank , regulator and government to do their job) By not doing their jobs these people essentially dragged Quinn into their mistakes.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Dec 20th 2011, 9:40 PM

The BBC reports that Quinn and several other staff were seen at the disused tyre factory……. How can he start a new company if he owes 1.6 billion = 1,600,000,000 !

Mute Louise Brennan
    Favourite Louise Brennan
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:21 PM

Stop the press,” Sean Quinn seen at a disused tyre factory “. Sean Quinn also seen, in the newsagents,GAA match, Sunday Mass, out for a walk, Call in the FBI,CIA, ex army investigators ( oh yeah Anglo already spent our money doing that ). If thats the best Anglo has, or you for that matter Eileen, Role on the Court Case. The Quinns will probably win hands down.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:28 PM

I am only curious . It was the BBC reported it . I do not use any of the Quinn products , nor will I . The man made a mistake ? I have made mistakes , but I did not cost any one 1.6 billion Euro . . . . . I couldn’t give a fiddlers what Quinn or you Lou for that matter wins or loses hands down or other wise . He must take us all for fools!

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Louise Brennan
    Favourite Louise Brennan
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:49 PM

Aaah Eileen,” you didnt cost anyone 1.6 billion,” Im sure you didnt cause we hav’nt heard of you. Likewise I’m sure you hav’nt created 8,000 jobs, paid 1.3 billion revenue in your lifetime to the government. Took on monopolies like CRH, Irish Glass , and Axa making products cheaper for the consumer. Likewise Eileen I am sure you didnt have a multinational company who through 2 recessions 1980′s and current, maintained and supported every member of your staff, without 1 redundancy in 38 years. Eileen , Quinn was the only insurer on the island of Ireland who did not move call centres to India , China or outside Ireland as labour was cheaper, within the last 4 years. And Finally Eileen you mentioned fool not me !

Mute Doyle
    Favourite Doyle

Eileen, bet you never created 8000 jobs or have paid the state over a billion in taxes.
    Ps you can be fairly certain you have bought Quinn products whether it be insurance, rooftiles, blocks cement glass bottles, insulation, radiators etc but don’t worry Anglo own it now

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:55 PM

Hold on a minute now and I will just get my violin ….. It plays the saddest sweetest music you have ever heard. Change the record , its boring ! There is no point in doing all of those wonderful things and then ending up owing 1.6 BILLION euros ……

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 20th 2011, 11:25 PM

Finished? Far from it. Legend! As for you eileen, stick with the musical instruments

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Dec 20th 2011, 11:34 PM

Legend ! Whatever ! I see you are a believer :) Keep the faith because that’s all you will have .

Mute James Nugent
    Favourite James Nugent
    Dec 20th 2011, 11:39 PM

Eileen , Did you ever buy a bottle of Baileys ? if so you bought a Quinn product, as he supplies 100% of baileys bottles around the world. Wine bottles, heineken, britvic,lemonade etc, etc . Ever buy a carton of butter ? a carton of tomatoes in the supermarket? if so you probably bought a Quinn product. Quinn might be more well known for insurance, cement, radiators, but I doubt if there is anyone in the country that has not bought one of his products, whether they knew it or not.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Dec 20th 2011, 11:43 PM

I have bought Baileys , Yes , So if he was so wealthy and so fantastically rich How does he end up owing 1.6 billion euros…. Greed . Simple . It is people like him who believe their own press . He is a disgrace . Not a man of honour.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Dec 20th 2011, 11:59 PM

3 christian3
    Didn’t anyone ever tell you it is bad manners to shout ! Well the same goes for using capital letters in your posts. I do not like S Quinn ,greed is not attractive. Good night .

Mute James Nugent
    Favourite James Nugent
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:10 AM

So Eileen you were wrong about the Baileys, maybe the butter too????? But I want to ask you a simple question, you adamantly stated 2 hours ago you never bought a Quinn product nor will you. It turns out you were wrong do you not think there is a possibility you are wrong about him ? In answer to your question, The Quinns case in Court is basically that Sean Quinn spent 600 million of their money on shares. The Quinns at the moment anyway are not disputing this money, they lost it “investments can go up or down ” when they could no longer pay for the shares they say that Anglo would not let them sell, as it would collapse the share price of the bank, so Anglo gave over 2 billion to Quinn companies to support their own shares. This is what they are claiming and to date none of the Quinns have spoken to the media. Unlike Anglo, so you, me and the rest of Ireland is only hearing one side of the story. Until I hear both sides, I am inclined to support an Irishman who has done so much for the country for 40 years.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:22 AM

I didn’t say I never bought one of his products, I said I would never again , but that seems impossible ….. So tell me how does a man that has so many business interests owe 1.6 billion euros? and back to my original question how does he expect to start a new company owing that much money ?
    Good luck with waiting for the other sides to his story , don’t hold your breath ! Goodnight .

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:27 AM

LOUD NOISES!

Mute James Nugent
    Favourite James Nugent
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:34 AM

He owes 1.6 billion cause Anglo attached 2.3 billion of share support money to his companies. Then they took his companies off him so he couldnt pay it. Unfortunatly for him he had personally guarenteed the money, as Anglo have taken all his companies off him, he cant pay anything back. If he was left with his companies he promised to pay it back. But they took his companies, he cant make money without them so he cant pay it back. We should have supported our own and left the man his companies to pay back his debts. In all fairness Anglo are hardly going to run these factories better than the man who built and managed them for 40 years.
    Good night Eileen

Mute Louise Brennan
    Favourite Louise Brennan
    Dec 21st 2011, 1:15 AM

Very good arguments James.

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Dec 21st 2011, 1:17 AM

Omg. Will someone give Eileen an aspirin. Don’t mind them Eileen. He’s very popular as he did provide jobs. You’re not allowed give out about Sean Quinn. The poor wife, now that’s another matter. Ahem!

Mute Doyle
    Favourite Doyle
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:37 PM

SMcB- that is the attitude, that will get people back to work! Quinn’s companies borrowed money, (not quinn) Anglo now have control of all these companies and they will determine how much they get back. Banks should start getting back to lending and help stimulate the economy not trying to run businesses up and down the country. They over lent to these business in the good times but now they are looking to liquidate everything. Both are wrong and a more neutral approach needs to be taken.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Dec 20th 2011, 10:59 PM

So basically what youve said there is that banks are charitable organisations…. Please.

Mute Pete Glavey
    Favourite Pete Glavey
    Dec 21st 2011, 2:12 AM

He made ‘mistakes’ because of his greed

Mute Strongbow62
    Favourite Strongbow62
    Dec 21st 2011, 5:42 AM

3 Hail Mary’s and an Our Father Mr Quinn and don’t let us catch you doing it again. In the meantime the rest of us will sort out the bank guarantee.

Mute Finbar Mc Donald
    Favourite Finbar Mc Donald
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:08 AM

My god will people in here get a life mr Quinn owes money to banks and that’s that people in Ireland are going to mount joy for loans they can’t pay 7000 people in Ireland went there if I had my way there be 7000 and one so please stop sticking up for him next thing he be a T.D!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Neicy in Cork
    Favourite Neicy in Cork
    Dec 21st 2011, 8:04 AM

People are literally killing themselves due to stresses associated with financial problems. This man enjoyed the good times like all of us and now – like all of us – should endure the hard times. We were given a 100% mortgage in 2006 – we can’t now walk away just because I am not working. Is he living in the dole amount per week? Does he then have free legal aid as he is now bankrupt? And before I am attacked for my views as some seem to be doing on here this morning can we just remember that all the banks have their Sean Quinns. It is just unfortunate that there are so many decent hard working families effected by his greed and Anglos deceit this Christmas.

Mute 3christian3
    Favourite 3christian3
    Dec 21st 2011, 4:01 PM

So Nicey, if it turns out that your house is not built on solid foundations and is collapsing due to subsidence, will you be happy to accept it without question

Mute HELLO SPRUIKER
    Favourite HELLO SPRUIKER
    Dec 21st 2011, 11:14 PM

Just watch how the our ”Finest Scholars”
    The Judges, Solicitors, Administrators, Receivers,
    All Destroy these Fine Business’s and their Thousands of Jobs in a year or Two.

Mute HELLO SPRUIKER
    Favourite HELLO SPRUIKER
    Dec 21st 2011, 11:15 PM

Quinn would have had most of the money paid back to the state by now if he was left with his businesses.

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Dec 21st 2011, 3:28 AM

The key question is whether or not the different developers, business people like Quinn traded recklessly knowing they could not pay their suppliers, staff, services while not having the resources to pay for these goods and services. It appears now that a lot of people carried on trading while insolvent. The Police know this and are probably deciding which crimes to charge them with. Am I being naive?

Mute Strongbow62
    Favourite Strongbow62
    Dec 21st 2011, 5:44 AM

Quinn was borrowing from Anglo to buy shares in Anglo thus pushing the value of his own shares up which if I’m not mistaken is a bit dodge.

Mute Caitriona Reilly
    Dec 21st 2011, 9:47 AM

Yes you are being totally naive. Quinn companies were extremely profitable and were not trading insolvently. There were no problems paying staff, suppliers or services. The Quinn Group had no difficulties like this. The problems started when Anglo gave the Quinn companies over 2 billion to prop up his Anglo shares, as the bank wouldnt let him sell his shares, as the bank would have collapsed. Quinns companies apart from that had absolutly no problems, did not let go any staff, cut wages or in any way affect his staff until Anglo snuck in in April. There are no criminal investigations into Quinn, and he will be charged with nothing as he did nothing illegal. Meanwhile there are dozens of Criminal investigations into Anglo, and many of you appear to believe everything they say. The mind boggles at the vindictivness, the gullability and the lack of support on this site for a man who has done so much for our country. The country deserves to be bankrupt, and I for 1 totally support Quinn, I hope he wins his case and I hope he comes back bigger and stronger and I also hope Anglo get the commupance they deserve.

Mute Emmet Galvin
    Favourite Emmet Galvin
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:16 AM

I always respected Mr Quinn. But GREED Is a terrible infliction.

Mute Red Ed
    Favourite Red Ed
    Dec 21st 2011, 9:57 AM

He deserves some of the suffering. you don’t go into a bookies and place a bet for €1.6billion and then don’t pay when it loses. I’m sure he has a property or two hidden somewhere an will retire comfortably. If I had €1.6 billion to spend I’d create a few jobs anyone would. We seem to ignore this number until it is simplified to how much each tax payer will have to pay from their budget then maybe people won’t admire him as much.

Mute Caitriona Reilly
    Dec 21st 2011, 10:15 AM

Your comment is so ridiculous it hardly deserves aresponse but I will anyway. Quinn didnt have 1.6 billion to spend, he wasnt handed 1.6 to spend. Over 2 billion was attached to his companies by Anglo in a desperate attempt by them to stop their share price/bank collapsing. Quinn set up his companies from NOTHING . He dug a hole in the family garden and sold the sand he found. Thus was the start of the most successful private company in Irelands history. The banks over many years gave him nothing , the government did’nt support him and still he perservered, worked on creating massive employment and taking on massive monopolies to reduce prices which benefited you. Suffering, Anglo who have caused his downfall are blaming him entirely, not stepping up to the plate and acknowledging their illegal activities, Anglo have taken every one of his business,s which are located at his back door, The media have destroyed his name, and idiots like you, who are ignorant in the whole matter, spouting rubbish. Yes he will be admired by a great many people, hopefully the Court case next year will bring the truth to the nation. But unfortunatly for Mr Quinn history shows that his true brilliance and vision will only really be appreciated when he is dead, as a great nany Irish men before him.

Mute Martina Dalton
    Favourite Martina Dalton
    Dec 21st 2011, 4:41 PM

oh why dont you all just shut up……sean qunn is just an arrogant shit,end of..!

Mute Finbar Mc Donald
    Favourite Finbar Mc Donald
    Dec 21st 2011, 3:24 PM

I wonder how many ppl here with thumbs down or call ppl silly for putting mr Quinn down work for the Quinn group or live in the Cavan area shame in you ,,,,,he is no differend from a crook or a bent T. D . As we Irish people have had so many over the years ,,,,, time for a change in Ireland

Mute 3christian3
    Favourite 3christian3
    Dec 21st 2011, 3:54 PM

Finbar,for the record, I am in no way related or connected to the QUinn family and have never worked for their companies. I do not even live in the same county. Unlike you, I am just an ordinary taxpayer who recognizes when we are being fleeced by the greatest junk bank in the history of our country.

Mute 3christian3
    Favourite 3christian3
    Dec 21st 2011, 4:31 PM

If I were Sean or Patricia Gilheany, I would sue Anglo, elements of the media and some elected representatives for personal injury, pain and suffering, invasion of privacy, loss of their profitable companies and defamation.

They did everything humanly possible to avoid any burden being placed on the taxpayers and it was thrown in their face in favour of a scam that will not see the return of one cent for the people of Ireland.

Mute 3christian3
    Favourite 3christian3
    Dec 21st 2011, 5:02 PM

Typo in last comment.! Should read “If I were Sean or Patricia Quinn, I would sue ANglo, elements of the media, some elected representatives etc. for personal injury, pain and suffering, loss of profitable businesses, and defamation.

No Irish Mother should have to endure what Patricia Quinn endured last week. Isnt it ironic that she was slated for her lack of business knowledge while her husband is consistently being lacerated and ridiculed for his unprecedented business acumen. His failing, like all the other investors in Anglo, was that he believed that he could trust an Irish Bank, the Central Bank and the Government who supervised them.

The Quinns did everything humanly possible to avoid anyburden being placed on the taxpayers and will be able to prove that at the appropriate time. How will Anglo, Gov. etc explain that they recklessly and knowingly squandered billions of euros of our money

Mute Shane Mullally
    Favourite Shane Mullally
    Dec 21st 2011, 11:40 AM

Mr.quinn by going bankrupt does not absolve you from your responsibilities-whichever way you cut it-you were greedy,along with all the orther high rollers in this country-you owe the Irish taxpayer-so pay up!!..if as alleged you continued to run your companies-your accountants would find a way to divert funds to another country…

Mute 3christian3
    Favourite 3christian3
    Dec 21st 2011, 3:51 PM

Shane, you completely miss the point that ANglo is not trying to recoup money for the taxpayer.Why dont you ask them how much has been recouped to date and how much of our money they have wasted on this vendetta,
    You are also ignoring the fact that Quinn had a business proposal submitted to the relevant agencies which would have facilitated the return of monies and was approved by Deutsche Bank but this was thrown in his fact in favour of a sellout to foreign bondholders.