You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A man looks at his phone which displays the TikTok logo M4OS Photos/Alamy Stock Photo

TikTok dismantles operation that targeted Irish users with 'divisive views' on nationalism

Almost 95,000 users were following the 72 accounts in question.

SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORM TikTok dismantled a “covert influence operation” that targeted users in Ireland with “divisive views” on nationalism in an attempt to “intensify social conflict”, the company has confirmed.

In total, 72 accounts were found to be part of the network – all of which were removed from the platform earlier this year.

Some 94,743 users were following the 72 accounts in question.

TikTok confirmed the figures in a report sent to the European Commission.

A new code of conduct agreement requires technology companies to make the EC aware of levels of disinformation on their platforms and efforts to combat it.

In the report, which covers the first half of 2023, TikTok noted that this particular covert network “targeted Irish audiences”.

“The individuals behind this network created inauthentic accounts; hyper-posted content with divisive views related to nationalism in Ireland, Japan, Russia, and Taiwan; and hyper-posted comments with similar low-quality content in an attempt to redirect TikTok users off-platform and to intensify social conflict,” the report notes.

Meta

Meta, which owns Facebook and Instagram, was also among the companies to send a report to the European Commission.

Meta confirmed that over 1,100,000 pieces of content on Facebook in Ireland were treated with fact checks due to “violating assessment by third party fact checkers” between 1 January and 31 December.

During the same period, over 92,000 items of content were treated with fact checks on Instagram in Ireland.

The number of unique pieces of content that were removed from Facebook and Instagram in Ireland respectively for violating European Union policies on harmful health misinformation or voter or census interference were ‘over 960′ and ‘less than 500′.

The overall number of ads removed on Facebook and Instagram in Ireland combined in the first six months of the year was over 63,000, however less than 500 ads were removed from the platforms for violating Meta’s misinformation policy in the EU.

In its report to the EC, Meta stated that its ad review process “may include the specific components of an ad, such as images, video, text and targeting information, as well as an ad’s associated landing page or other destinations, among other information”.

“More specifically, once fact-checking partners have determined that a piece of content contains misinformation, we use technology to identify identical and near-identical versions across Facebook. If we find ads that are identical or near identical to content fact-checkers have rated, we reject them,” the report notes.

X, formerly known as Twitter, withdrew from the European Commission code of conduct, but the EC said the platform has the highest rate of misinformation on social media platforms.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

65 Comments
    Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    May 1st 2025, 10:04 AM

A number of years ago I was at The Phanthom of the Opera in Bord Gáis. People were up and down the whole way through. Close the bars! And NOBODY allowed in during the performance. Simple choice then: watch show or sit in bar.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    May 1st 2025, 10:05 AM

@Me Me: in that situation I completely agree.

Mute Daniel Dudek
    Favourite Daniel Dudek
    May 1st 2025, 10:06 AM

@Me Me: bord gais doesn’t allow drinks in the auditorium

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    May 1st 2025, 10:11 AM

@Me Me: I’ve been in the Bord Gais a few times and they didn’t allow drinks into the theater itself.

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    May 1st 2025, 11:11 AM

@Me Me: they do now I believe, no alcohol allowed in

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    May 1st 2025, 12:16 PM

@Daniel Dudek: Well, nobody stopped the pair behind us coming in with those 175ml bottles of wine.

Mute Emily Dalton
    Favourite Emily Dalton
    May 1st 2025, 6:19 PM

@Ger Whelan: in addition, (maybe the rules have changed), but for theatre performances that no reentry until intermission if you leave during it. They have been strict about no admission. No one left during dr. Strangelove, Hamilton, book of Mormon. Latecomers were seated 15 minutes into show and that is to minimise disturbances. Same rules in gate theatre and Abbey theatre about no readmissions.

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton

First world problems!! Enjoy the gig, appreciate the effort & atmosphere…… there’s no absolute necessity to be swilling beer while the/an act is performing

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    May 1st 2025, 10:06 AM

@Mary Linton: there is if it’s bland bs.

Mute p gert
    Favourite p gert
    May 3rd 2025, 9:45 AM

@Mary Linton: Bar profits are a serious part of funding venues and there will be less gigs if no alcohol served during, fact.

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    May 1st 2025, 10:13 AM

Went to see Mary Black in a pub venue back in the day. She stopped midway during one of her songs and announced it was a concert not a cabaret and refused to continue until the bar closed and everyone sat down. Big difference between outdoor and indoor concerts.

Mute Des Daly
    Favourite Des Daly
    May 1st 2025, 10:29 AM

@Ooooooooooo: what a Karen

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    May 1st 2025, 10:43 AM

@Des Daly: I thought so at the time but in hindsight she was dead right!

Mute Isla Carabine
    Favourite Isla Carabine
    May 1st 2025, 10:45 AM

@Des Daly: she’s known for it, she was playing at the Rose of Tralee years ago and had agreed a fee, refused to go on stage until they gave her more

Mute Kevin Dillon
    Favourite Kevin Dillon
    May 1st 2025, 11:31 AM

@Ooooooooooo: in a pub venue? Wouldn’t say she was allowed to perform there again.

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    May 1st 2025, 11:59 AM

@Kevin Dillon: More like a cabaret lounge but in a pub. Yes, funnily enough she never returned, lol !

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    May 1st 2025, 12:12 PM

@Ooooooooooo: I’d say most of the audience were bored and needed a drink

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    May 1st 2025, 2:09 PM

@Ooooooooooo: Well, that is a bit strange. She is performing in a pub, what on earth did she expect ? Any other indoor concert venues are a different thing – Times must be tough if Black is resorting to pub venues for live performances

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    May 1st 2025, 10:10 AM

Venues won’t like it…they make a lot of money from their overpriced and sub standard drinks

Mute Paul Conlon
    Favourite Paul Conlon
    May 1st 2025, 10:36 AM

@Sean: the talking bollix lads hold the record for greatest bar takings in vicar street at one of their gigs. The bar was only open pre/post and in the intermission. Closed when they were live on stage as a mark of respect to their guests that they had on

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    May 1st 2025, 10:37 AM

@Sean: If someone buys a ticket, they ought to bring in their own sack of booze to sip/skull.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    May 1st 2025, 12:15 PM

@Sean: The Aviva!

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    May 1st 2025, 10:15 AM

Went to see Hall & Oates in the Olympia. A woman beside me was jumping up and down like a mad thing and spilled nearly a full pint over me, ruined my clothes and my night, I didn’t even get an apology.

Mute Wendy Arbour aka Luas Vuitton - Dub Drag Queen
    Favourite Wendy Arbour aka Luas Vuitton - Dub Drag Queen
    May 1st 2025, 10:47 AM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: she’s out of touch

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton
    May 1st 2025, 11:12 AM

@Wendy Arbour aka Luas Vuitton – Dub Drag Queen: a ‘maneater’

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    May 1st 2025, 2:10 PM

@Wendy Arbour aka Luas Vuitton – Dub Drag Queen: Brilliant!

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    May 1st 2025, 10:10 AM

No, leave them open. Venues have plenty of security personnel, if there’s trouble those causing should be swiftly removed.

Mute Paul Conlon
    Favourite Paul Conlon
    May 1st 2025, 10:16 AM

@Jack: it’s not cause of potential trouble being caused. It’s a pain in the arse if people are having to stand up/down consistently for people not being able to sit and watch a performance without getting up to go to the bar. Toilet trips are grand but when you see people coming back to seats with pints it’s infuriating

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    May 1st 2025, 12:06 PM

@Paul Conlon: for a lot of concert goers having drinks is part of the experience, maybe rather than shutting bars they should have seated sections for those who want to sit uninterrupted without folk making trips to get food and drinks.

Mute Paul Conlon
    Favourite Paul Conlon
    May 1st 2025, 3:13 PM

@Jack: logistical nightmare, especially when concerts/gigs/matches sell out in record time.

Plus if you’re truly going for the experience then sit and enjoy it, not miss half of it by going to the bars etc.

If that’s the real desire then maybe we should create outdoor ‘fanzones’ where they can roam/mingle as much as they want

Mute Emily Dalton
    Favourite Emily Dalton
    May 1st 2025, 8:41 PM

@Jack: what about natural breaks?

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    May 2nd 2025, 4:20 PM

@Paul Conlon: adding a non alcohol section to ticket categories does not seem that difficult a couple of seating blocks. People who prefer not to be disturbed are happy and those who enjoy drinks at a concert are content in the knowledge they’re not bothering anyone. Why should only those who are annoyed at those that like a drink at these events be catered for only. Seems like the inflexible Minority rule…

Mute Fergus O'Donnell

Absolutely not.
    Just because the chino pants brigade are a-holes doesn’t mean the rest of us are.
    David Gray. The most vanilla of them all.
    ‘Music’ for people that had their ears painted on.

May 1st 2025, 11:42 AM

@Fergus O’Donnell: David Gray is crap. Always was. However, people pay money to listen to it, so they should be able to at least experience it without drinkers acting the mickey.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    May 1st 2025, 11:53 AM

@Wendy Arbour aka Luas Vuitton – Dub Drag Queen: and that’s your opinion!!! Plenty of people obviously don’t think so…not many artists can sell out a venue like the 3arena for numerous nights

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    May 1st 2025, 11:15 AM

Little real appreaction of Music anymore, which is really sad

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    May 1st 2025, 11:48 AM

@RIP: That may be because you’re recently deceased. I’d imagine the sudden strangeness and disorientation of the new surroundings will take some getting used to. Sit on a cloud and pluck a few chords on a harp each day. Even if it feels like an effort. All things shall pass (as you already know.)

Mute Niall Lappin
    Favourite Niall Lappin
    May 1st 2025, 10:49 AM

Plenty of sniff available while the bar is closed

May 1st 2025, 10:46 AM

Close the Aviva.

Mute Kevin Dillon
    Favourite Kevin Dillon
    May 1st 2025, 11:33 AM

@Wendy Arbour aka Luas Vuitton – Dub Drag Queen: the rugby crowd are the absolute worst. Have to stand to let people in and out every two minutes. Joke.

May 1st 2025, 11:40 AM

@Kevin Dillon: I’ve heard it’s a complete joke at this stage for sure.

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    May 1st 2025, 1:03 PM

@Kevin Dillon: completely agree with you. And if you ask them to wait until there’s a break in play they accuse you of being rude, or threaten to pee on you

Mute Dylan Cotter
    Favourite Dylan Cotter
    May 1st 2025, 11:18 AM

Went to see Low a few years ago, they have some super-quiet songs and after one of them the singer joked that that was the “cash register remix, not my favourite”. Whatever about closing bars entirely, closing bars where you can hear the actual bar sounds from the stage sounds like a no-brainer

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    May 1st 2025, 6:35 PM

Like can people not stop drinking for 2 hours, was recent venue, and they were like yoyos, toilet, bar toilet. It’s very annoying.and your expected to stand to let them squeeze by with drink.
    Let them sit in foyer.

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    May 1st 2025, 2:06 PM

People like to ruin things for everyone else. People become morons when they have drink in them. Want to drink? Go to a pub or house and put on a record / cd and stay there. Even sports events get annoying when people constantly are getting up from their seat to go to the bar or to the toilets . Have an interval of 15 minutes or so and open the bar but not during the performance

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    May 1st 2025, 10:37 AM

Been a 67 year old man won’t bother me coz I’m not as stupid as the kids of today are in been robbed 4 their pints in clubs and venues

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    May 1st 2025, 3:00 PM

No bar open for a David Gray performance is akin to waterboarding

It must be a violation of the Geneva Convention or something.

Mute Johnny King
    Favourite Johnny King
    May 1st 2025, 1:19 PM

Crouching tiger hidden naggin

Mute Adam J
    Favourite Adam J
    May 1st 2025, 3:29 PM

Don’t ban it, have designated sections towards the back for access to the bar, have lower tiers for people who likely won’t leave their seat, as non drinking sections

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    May 1st 2025, 1:02 PM

i enjoy a couple during a concert. Why cant i enjoy while other get their drugs or get out of hands. That’s a matter for security

May 1st 2025, 11:44 AM

There is no drinking at Una Healy gigs (except by the lad who tunes her guitar and does the mic).

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    May 1st 2025, 11:43 AM

Yep. If you want to drink and tap, invite your friends over. For a true retro experience dig out your cd player and put one of the 3 copies of white ladder on that is was mandatory for each adult to buy back then.

May 1st 2025, 11:47 AM

@Ronan Mc: lol!

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    May 1st 2025, 1:09 PM

‘live perfomances’… ffs so circumstantial.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    May 2nd 2025, 12:07 PM

Expectancy has a lot to do with it. I was at The Pogues last Christmas, and it was wild. Trays of booze being carried and spilt, the place hopping, 99% of people on the lash and of course it got messy. But it was The Pogues. At Christmas. In Ireland. It was exactly as you would have expected it to be, and I doubt anyone was complaining about a little soakage or the rowdiness afterwards. It was exactly as expected. I can understand why people might feel a little different at low-key gigs. The elephant in the room is that it’s not so much people going extra crazy at gigs, but the fact that there are a lot of people who have one drink and immediately enter the compulsive drinking state. The obsession and craving take over, and the bar becomes more of a necessity than a luxury.

Mute Donal McCarthy
    Favourite Donal McCarthy
    May 2nd 2025, 12:42 PM

Depends on the venue. If it is a seated gig then yes, but if it is a standing gig then it’s not really an issue.

Mute Gerry Kennedy
    Favourite Gerry Kennedy
    May 1st 2025, 6:12 PM

Everybody likes Darts!

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    May 1st 2025, 9:38 PM

How about don’t impose it on everyone it’s sort of the same as with the ‘summer morning flights’ argument and asking for bars to shut. Don’t drink too much. Similarly, don’t be an authoritarian.