You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA Images

Toddler tablet use linked to behavioural problems – study

Researchers said that increased screen time has ‘multiple risks’ for child wellbeing.

LETTING TODDLERS PLAY frequently on tablets, phones and game consoles could be putting them at a higher risk of emotional and behavioural problems when they start school, a new study suggests.

Pre-schoolers who extensively use electronic media are more likely to have hyperactivity issues, a short attention span, poor concentration and peer relationship issues when they turn five compared to their peers, academics found.

Researchers, from the Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare, said that increased screen time has “multiple risks” for child wellbeing.

A new study, published in the journal BMJ Open, examined data on around 700 Finnish children.

Parents reported how much time their child spent using electronic media at 18 months and five years of age.

They found that 95% of pre-school children spent more than an hour on a screen every day.

The World Health Organisation says that screen time is not recommended for children under two.

Those aged two to four should not engage in more than an hour of screen time each day, and “less is better”, the guidance states.

The Finnish study found that the average screen time of a five-year-old was 114 minutes a day.

And for 18-month-olds it was an average of 32 minutes.

The authors found that high levels of screen among five-year-olds was linked to a risk of “multiple psychosocial problems”, including attention and concentration difficulties, hyperactivity and impulsivity, emotional internalising and externalising symptoms, and conduct problems.

But when they delved into the information further they found that lots of TV time at five years had an increased risk of several psychosocial problems.

But they said that playing video games had fewer associations but it was linked to hyperactivity.

Meanwhile, they found that 18-month-olds who had higher than recommended screen time were more likely to have “peer problems” later on.

But they said that they did not find a high usage level of electronic devices at 18 months of age to be associated with other problems in psychosocial well-being later on.

The authors conclude: “As our results point out, increased screen time has multiple risks for children’s psychosocial well-being.

“These risk factors might accumulate in the long term and cause problems in children’s socio-emotional development later on.

“One possible mechanism accounting for the result might be that the time children spend on e-media reduces the time spent on constructive activities such as interactions with family members, reading and playing.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 28 comments
28 Comments
    Mute cup of tea
    Favourite cup of tea
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:05 PM

That €100 million should be spent on Irish people, not wasted on a foreign war.

Mute Jef Gert
    Favourite Jef Gert
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:07 PM

@cup of tea: exactly.

This is the precise reason Trump won, he is supporting American citizens first ahead of everything else which is what all leaders of nations should do.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:10 PM

@cup of tea: It couldn’t spent that way and as a European, I don’t see this as ‘foreign’.

See 31 more replies ▾
    Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:15 PM

@Jack Hayes: So all European people are no longer “foreign”. Does that include Russians?.

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:19 PM

@cup of tea: Was it 50 million the week before last…… we must be loaded although not seeing a whole lot more in my salary.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:24 PM

@Jef Gert: Yeah that kind of mentality is what got us WW1!

Mute BL Music
    Favourite BL Music
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:26 PM

@cup of tea: yes 10000000%

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:28 PM

@Jef Gert: bless your innocence

Mute Dave O Connell
    Favourite Dave O Connell
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:49 PM

@Ger Whelan: they’ll roll west if they think they can get away with it just look at the history, whenever they’re strong enough or think they can get away with it they aggressively expand, ‘history doesn’t repeat itself but it sure does rhyme’

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:50 PM

@cup of tea: better still stop spending 100s of millions on the dole for “our own” who refuse to work

Mute Patricia Mc namara
    Favourite Patricia Mc namara
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:52 PM

@Ger Whelan: they shouldn’t be. It was and is their decision.

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:00 PM

@Dave O Connell: Rubbish.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:09 PM

@RP McGuinness: You’re being silly again. Between 2014 and 2022, Ukraine held 200 meetings with Russia – they agreed to ceasefires 20 times. Russia violated all of them. Remember, the Russian Ambassador swore the build-up on Ukraines border was not a precursor to invasion in 2022.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:22 PM

@Patricia Mc namara: They shouldn’t be what? Russia is part of Europe. Geography says so not the russians.

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell

@Rui Firmino: Ireland was in WW 1…that’s news to me!

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Favourite Jacintha Dumbrell
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:44 PM

@Emer McDonnell: 200,000 Irishmen fought in WW1 you ignoramus.

Mute Gaelactico
    Favourite Gaelactico
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:45 PM

@Emer McDonnell: Unfortunately many naive Irish men joined the ranks of the BA to sadly squander their lives in a futile war.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:53 PM

@Ger Whelan: I am part of the same foreign group
    I am European. It’s not complicated.

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:53 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: ha ha, they went and fought alongside the Brits but they took off their uniforms the moment they landed back in Ireland, Ireland as a nation was not involved…how thick are you?
    Btw you still haven got back to me on why if the far right started the riots our new to the parish also took part… you really are ridiculous!

Mute Matt D
    Favourite Matt D
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:54 PM

@Dave O Connell: are you enlisting in the Ukrainian legion to stop them?

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:02 PM

@Rui Firmino: I thought it was because of an assassination?

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:02 PM

@Emer McDonnell: Cry harder :)

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:11 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: for the english, no?

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:14 PM

@Jef Gert: MAJA…Make America Jobless Again…and HE Will!!! ROFLMAO!!!!

Mute Social Guy
    Favourite Social Guy
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:20 PM

@Emer McDonnell: Ireland wasn’t an independent country during WW1 so technically it did take part in the war as part of the UK. There’s no point saying otherwise.

Mute Seamus Enright
    Favourite Seamus Enright
    Mar 4th 2025, 4:27 PM

@cup of tea: They tried very hard to turn down 140 times as much money from Apple.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Mar 4th 2025, 5:43 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: an Irishman also fought, and died, in Ukraine against Russia last year. Does that mean Ireland is in the war? No.

Mute Pericles
    Favourite Pericles
    Mar 4th 2025, 6:34 PM

@cup of tea: self defence is not “war” in the way an invasion is. I dont see how Ireland would have become independent without weapons.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Mar 4th 2025, 6:53 PM

@cup of tea: not at all sure weren’t everyone thrown a few bob towards they’re electric over the Christmas that should do those going week to week surely. Wait till they’re heavily in arrears then they can go on the housing list, back of the queue though for irish unfortunately.

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Mar 4th 2025, 7:16 PM

@Rui Firmino: That mentality of mobilisation and rearmement is what lead to ww1.

A quick conflict and home for Christmas.

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Mar 4th 2025, 9:39 PM

@Social Guy: we were still part of the Empire however were just about to sign in Home Rule which had to be put on hold because of the outbreak of war, Irish men were never conscripted as the English knew most weren’t loyal subjects, hence those who were loyal to the crown or saw it as their duty signed up….our nationalism is what saved thousands of young men, and God love the poor men who sacrificed their lives for imperialism and ego!

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Mar 4th 2025, 9:45 PM

@Mick Hanna: TDS .. no cure.

Mute Con Cussed
    Favourite Con Cussed
    Mar 4th 2025, 10:17 PM

@Emer McDonnell: I think you have the wrong war! That would be WW2. Brave men who went off to fight fascism, same type of ultra right behaviour we see emanating from Trump and Putin supporters.

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Mar 4th 2025, 10:54 PM

@Con Cussed: Irish men fought in both wars.Thankfully it was their choice to do so, they weren’t forced to.

Mute Seosamh Ohuaine
    Favourite Seosamh Ohuaine
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:06 PM

Waisting more tax payers money in another country. Let’s sort out this mess of a country first

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:11 PM

@Seosamh Ohuaine: ‘Waisting’. Money is not the only thing they can be wasted.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Mar 4th 2025, 6:44 PM

@Jack Hayes: Pedantic gob$hite!

Mute Rory Jennequin
    Favourite Rory Jennequin
    Mar 4th 2025, 6:45 PM

@Jack Hayes: “that can be wasted” maybe? If you’re going to be pedantic, maybe check your own spelling…

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Mar 4th 2025, 6:56 PM

@Seosamh Ohuaine: no sorry we must do things in reverse sort out everywhere but here good old EU comrades helping those not in EU first not a lot of point being in it in that sense so sure that’s the way we do it.

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:11 PM

We might as well take the money out in front of Leinster House and burn it for all the good it will do. Ukraine has been led up the garden path by NATO.

They cannot win this war. Ukraine is the most corrupt country in Europe. Zelensky and his pals have enriched themselves by millions while sending young people to the frontlines to die in their thousands. Meanwhile, carers, people on disability, children with special needs and those that require mental health care are told to take a hike by our government yet they have no hesitation in wasting millions on Ukraine, a non-EU country.

We have done more than enough. Our government have put the needs of Ukrainians ahead of our own citizens.Time to end this farce. No more aid to Ukraine.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:46 PM

@RP McGuinness: Wait until Putin sends our children with special needs into the trenches as he expands his empire.

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:10 PM

@Pól Pot: You should change your first name to Crack.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:26 PM

@RP McGuinness: You can join our children with special needs being conscripted into a future meat-grinder.

Mute Keth 417
    Favourite Keth 417
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:33 PM

@RP McGuinness: Pol Pots got a point. All on here in favour of supporting the war should expect to be sending their children into the meat grinder.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:36 PM

@Keth 417: Was there then any ever point in Ukraine defending themselves? Should the world have accepted and supported the Russian invasion? Genuine question. I’m well aware of Russia’s reasoning that NATO had broken repeated promises to go no nearer than Berlin. Does everyone trust Russia to make no more encroachment into what we now understand as our present European borders? If not, and the US has withdrawn military support, what now are our defences?

Mute tommy bailey
    Favourite tommy bailey
    Mar 4th 2025, 4:49 PM

@Pól Pot: Put the pipe down.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Mar 4th 2025, 6:37 PM

@tommy bailey: Ye are all too misinformed and uneducated to be this opinionated.

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Mar 4th 2025, 7:19 PM

@Pól Pot: Why would he invade Ireland. How would he do it seeing that he can’t defeat a country on its border?

Warmongering hype.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Mar 4th 2025, 7:38 PM

@George Vladisavljevic: A country that’s just had all its military aid withdrawn. Concentrate, ye of short memories. It’s only been 80 years.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Mar 4th 2025, 10:17 PM

@George Vladisavljevic: For our oil and gas and to use the little fingers of our special needs children’s fingers in his munitions factories.

Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:22 PM

waste of money, any chance of a few houses?

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Mar 4th 2025, 6:57 PM

@qffaffaf affrafrfraf: where are you from? if born here sod off priority is not for indigenous.

Mute Padraic O' Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O' Sullivan
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:42 PM

Scoliosis kids and children accessing CAMHS services in Ireland will understand this donation.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:23 PM

@Padraic O’ Sullivan: Your issue is with HSE management. They have a budget of €26.9 billion this year. Cash is not the problem.

Mute Padraic O' Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O' Sullivan
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:48 PM

@honey badger: nope.
    When basic services are needed and not provided due to lack of funding or funding for staff levels, it’s a cash issue.
    When funding is required to come up with 100m for UKR, there is no cash issue.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:55 PM

@Padraic O’ Sullivan: As I said, your issue is with HSE management. The HSE has been allocated €26.9 billion this year. Please point your anger in the right direction.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:17 PM

@Padraic O’ Sullivan: There is plenty of money for the HSE, it’s one of the best financed health systems in Europe. The problem isnt money it’s bad management by the HSE. A clear out of the HSE management and cull the administration staff and actually hire doctors and nurses is what’s needed, not more cash

Mute Seamus Enright
    Favourite Seamus Enright
    Mar 4th 2025, 4:26 PM

@Padraic O’ Sullivan: Do you not realise how much bigger a number 26,700,000,000 is than 100,000,000?

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Mar 4th 2025, 7:00 PM

@Padraic O’ Sullivan: well the 800,000 spent on securing Ukrainian pets was wonderfull while those not well financially with autism wait for a dog from assistance. Absolutely disgraceful shame on our utter incompetences in power.

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:50 PM

Ffg have no mandate from its citizens for this enormous spend on foreign war, Ukraine are not part of nato and not part of Europe, we are a neutral country Mehole mind you own business put Ireland first, Harris and Mehole, ministers for the whole world

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:51 PM

@N D K: We had a General Election only 3 months ago, that’s their mandate, maybe leave your mother’s basement every now and again.

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:29 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: I’d say you’re just a karen, and I’d say you were a school bully, your in the real world now and you still don’t know your place, don’t take everything personal or don’t make it personal, life will be a lot easier on you but then your fair thick so you wouldn’t know

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:53 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: Irish volunteers died in WW 1 whist Ireland remained neutral and you some how how in your uneducated informed brain think that justifies us now to get involved in foreign wars..
    ‘ I knew a simple soldier boy, who grinned at life in empty joy,
    Slept soundly through the lonesome dark, and whistled early with the lark,
    In winter trenches,cowed and glum,
    With crumps and lice and lack of rum,
    He put a bullet through his brain,
    No one spoke of him again,
    You smug faced cowards with kindling eye,
    Who cheer when soldiers lads march by,
    Sneak home and pray you’ll never know,
    The hell where youth and laughter go’

This WW1 poem sums up perfectly what I think of you, our Giv and EU politicians, all blood thirsty , disgusting war mongers!

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Mar 4th 2025, 7:02 PM

@N D K: mehole loves to be admired by ursala and co it gives him a feeling of being reborn and that somehow he has some importance or authority somewhere in they’re grouping.

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:03 PM

Trump will be telling MM Ireland has to much money, with excuses to put more tariffs on the EU, and Ireland

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell

Micheal is not working for the good of the Irish people…!

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:05 PM

@Emer McDonnell: How so?

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:29 PM

@Jack Hayes: quite obvious really, he is spending more time & money on foreign wars, oh and a quote from him “ we want nothing to do with a backward looking notion of sovereignty” May 11th 2016….

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:32 PM

@Jack Hayes: oh, and is Ursula clairvoyant?
    https://extra.ie/2025/01/22/news/ec-president-deletes-tweet

Mute Gaelactico
    Favourite Gaelactico
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:50 PM

@Emer McDonnell: Jack’s a bot. Quite possibly Chinese.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:59 PM

@Emer McDonnell: I’m European. I don’t see this as a foreign’ war.

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:15 PM

@Jack Hayes: you do know Europe is made up of sovereign countries don’t you!

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Mar 4th 2025, 7:06 PM

@Emer McDonnell: for the good of himself loves to be admired by ursala the excitement comes alive within him thinking he really matters and his opinion will matter unfortunately not.

Mute BL Music
    Favourite BL Music

What a disgraceful act . He is indeed an EU bot . Him and Harris are trying to convince us all that war and killing is a good thing and if you support peace your a commie

Mute Bomber
    Favourite Bomber
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:38 PM

@BL Music: I’ll tell your neighbour to invade your property. You know what happens if you fight back. I’ll tell them to leave your wife and children alone.

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:42 PM

That apple money won’t last long at this rate

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:47 PM

@Nigel Hayden: It will. We can donate €100 million another 160 times if we like.

Mute James Carolan
    Favourite James Carolan
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:45 PM

Come’on Mehole, there are better things you could be doing with that 100mn….build houses ffs

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:09 PM

@James Carolan: whaddabout da homeless. Good one.

Mute SirMr
    Favourite SirMr

Isn’t the primary role of a government to prioritize the well-being of its own people? If our own house is in order, then by all means, let’s extend help to others. But as far as I know, we’re not quite there yet.

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:16 PM

We need to increase the amount as Ukraine are defending all our sovereignty

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:19 PM

@Argus Romsworth: Ukraine isn’t doing anything to defend Irish sovereignty. So do not talk rubbish

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:21 PM

@Argus Romsworth: Rubbish.

All they are defending at this stage is the corruption of the Zelensky regime.

Mute BL Music
    Favourite BL Music
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:25 PM

@Argus Romsworth: bollox

Mute BL Music
    Favourite BL Music
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:27 PM

@Argus Romsworth: there are idiotic comments and then yours.. why don’t you hop on a plane and volunteer for the Ukrainians.. they could do with more cannonfodder according to the puppet Zelenskyy

Mute Michael Williams
    Favourite Michael Williams
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:38 PM

@Russian Propagandist McGuinness, you have zero evidence for that, and you know it.

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Mar 4th 2025, 6:43 PM

@Michael Williams: you are so naive

Mute Con Cussed
    Favourite Con Cussed
    Mar 4th 2025, 10:26 PM

@Ger Whelan: you are so lacking any wisdom regarding Russia’s intentions.

Mute I Am
    Favourite I Am
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:01 PM

Do we not have a say in how you waste our money?

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:05 PM

@I Am: You want a public vote every time the government makes a spending?

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:15 PM

This is a good thing. We must stand with Ukraine. Now more than ever. Psychopathic Putin and his garrulous glove puppets in the white house cannot be given free rein.

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:17 PM

@honey badger: Speak for yourself. Feel free to join the Ukrainian foreign battalion, what’s left of it, and go and fight in the front lines.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:25 PM

@RP McGuinness: That’s like me attacking someone recommending I install a smoke detector by telling them to go join the fire brigade. You smooth brained putinistas rarely disappoint!

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:28 PM

@honey badger: thought as much, you’re just another armchair general telling everyone else to go and die in foreign wars that have nothing to do with Ireland.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:30 PM

@Chutes Idiot: I’ve already answered this on your comment on a different article. Money isn’t the issue with deaf children getting assessed. 20+ billion this year alone on the hse. You’re swinging at the wrong target. Think a little more and you’ll see…

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:39 PM

@Chutes Idiot: *rolls eyes*

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:24 PM

@honey badger: go back to Ukraine and fight amongst your own…

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:33 PM

@Emer McDonnell: Eloquently confirming my point about smooth brained commenters. Thanks, Emer.

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:13 PM

@honey badger: welcome!

Mute Con Cussed
    Favourite Con Cussed
    Mar 4th 2025, 10:35 PM

@Emer McDonnell: most fascists are not very bright, you’re just proving the point, plus the rest of your pals on here who complain about life in Ireland. You can’t leave because you are not sufficiently qualified to go anywhere else. Thankfully, there’s many more decent people who have more insight and have compassion for others less fortunate than themselves.

Slava Ukraini.

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy

Ireland is run by fo ols.

Mute James Carolan
    Favourite James Carolan
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:49 PM

@Dan Murphy: Yes and don’t forget the fools that keep voting them into power

Mute Gerard Carey
    Favourite Gerard Carey
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:52 PM

Zelensky must be breaking his bo!!ocks laughing.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:07 PM

@Gerard Carey: One might think that if you had a really poor understanding of the matter, which I strongly suggest you do.

Mute Gerard Carey
    Favourite Gerard Carey
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:37 PM

@Jack Hayes: No, I know exactly what’s going on. People like you on the other hand don’t. Good day.

Mute Fiona
    Favourite Fiona
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:49 PM

@Gerard Carey: well trump painted a nice big target on his back yesterday, so I doubt the man is laughing. And hasn’t laughed in a long time, because he’s a proper leader who understands what his people are going through. trump on the other hand-cowardly, petty, egotistical, childish

Mute Gerard Carey
    Favourite Gerard Carey
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:39 PM

@Fiona: You do realise he’s a multi millionaire?

Mute Michael Cooney
    Favourite Michael Cooney

Perhaps use the money to improve our own defense. Most underfunded defense force in the EU.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:06 PM

@Michael Cooney: Our defence is part of Europe’s and vice-versa.

Mute DC
    Favourite DC
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:00 PM

No places for SN kids in September
    No assessments for SN kids
    10 year waiting list for a dentist for SN kids
    15500 homeless
    4500 children in emergency accommodation
    Children doing their homework on toilet seats cause they younger kids are asleep and can’t turn on the lights

What is going on in the heads of people that voted for this , I hope your proud of yourself and the treatment you have bestowed on your fellow citizens, shame on you

Mute Darren Cooney
    Favourite Darren Cooney
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:17 PM

Our taoiseach is living in a parallel universe. We shouldn’t allow teachers to become leaders of our country. US suspension of aid is a major setback? It should read Ukraine’s unwillingness to engage in peace talks is a major setback.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:34 PM

@Darren Cooney: Remind me of Putin’s compromises in the (non-existent) ‘deal’?

Mute Patricia Mc namara
    Favourite Patricia Mc namara
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:51 PM

Ukraine is not a foreign war. We live on a tiny planet hurtling through the universe
    What happens here is the business of every country.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:03 PM

@Vladimir Poutine: They do millions’ worth of trade with each other. The balance of foreign trade in goods and services was positive for Ukraine and amounted to about quarter of a billion $ just a couple of years ago.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:03 PM

@Vladimir Poutine: “Ukraine continues to bravely confront russian aggression. The international community’s support is critical.” Dmytro Klimenkov, Ukraine’s Deputy Minister of Defense, made this statement during a meeting with Beatriz Argimón, the Vice President of Uruguay, President of the Senate, and members of parliament Rodrigo Gonya and Juan Martin Rodriguez.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:04 PM

@Jack Hayes: “We are grateful to all the countries of the world, in particular Uruguay, for their support and solidarity during this trying time for Ukraine. This is extremely important for our struggle for sovereignty and territorial integrity,” said the Deputy Minister of Defense of Ukraine. The meeting took place during the government delegation’s working trip to Uruguay, led by Ukraine’s First Vice Prime Minister and Minister of Economy, Yulia Svyridenko.The peace formula proposed by Ukraine’s President, Volodymyr Zelenskyy, was also discussed during the meeting. The representatives of Ukraine noted that our country will be glad to see the leaders of Uruguay at the first Peace Summit, which will soon be held in Switzerland.

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:17 PM

@Patricia Mc namara: It’s our business only in the sense that we have been scammed to the tune of hundreds of millions by crooked Zelensky.

This farce needs to end now.

Mute KO
    Favourite KO
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:31 PM

Flogging a dead horse. An utter waste at using our money seems to be the only thing that they are good at..
    Peace is what the world wants ,but Z and war mongers who are making millions want it to continue..
    We are nuteral, Ukraine is not in Nato nor in the EU ,when is enough enough?
    Why fixation on sovereignty of other countries while giving away our own?

Mute Keth 417
    Favourite Keth 417
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:26 PM

How will peace keepers (most probably our own sons, daughters et all) be deployed to Ukraine if no peace agreement is enacted. Are we looking at peace keepers being deployed to a war zone?

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:42 PM

@Keth 417: (A1): They won’t. (A2): No.

Mute r k
    Favourite r k

The amount of Russian bots on here is frightening.

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:15 PM

@r k: I’m not surprised that if you bought into the Ukraine fantasy spun here that you’d buy into the fantasy that Russian bots post on the journal lmao

The Irish people have woken up to the Ukraine scam. Expect more “Russian bots” aka concerned Irish citizens in future.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:27 PM

@RP McGuinness: What irish political party best represents your views, RP?

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:51 PM

@r k: it’s either bots or right wing….how unoriginal…surely you can try and come up with a different slur for those who don’t share your opinions!

Mute giles wolohan
    Favourite giles wolohan
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:57 PM

Government has to go 100 million are they for real it’s a joke

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:13 PM

There’s a reason why the right wing are always on the wrong side of history.

Mute John and Bernie Curran
    Favourite John and Bernie Curran
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:45 PM

What about our hospitals and our houses do we mine nothing now

Mute Rosie Martin
    Favourite Rosie Martin
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:19 PM

Kids with disabilities have no school places or services.

Mute Dogg
    Favourite Dogg
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:10 PM

What minerals will Éire receive in return for the €100m that they will put to the €500m they already stole from Sean Quinn.
    Taylor Keith and Cavan Mineral Water I hear you say?

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:14 PM

SLAVA UKRAINE

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness

@RIP:

Don’t forget to change your Facebook profile pic to a Ukrainian flag like a good little sheep.

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:47 PM

@RP McGuinness: Says the fella who wouldn’t get the Covid vaccine because the man on Facebook told him it was a scamdemic, lol!

Mute Dylan Roche
    Favourite Dylan Roche
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:04 PM

Utter waste of money…buys about 5 missles which will change nothing…we were literally firing 100 million which could do wonders here in our own country at a mountain side….we all hate it, but it’s obvious trump and vance are right- this war will only end with Ukrainian compromise – so stop wasting money and time and just end this nonsense

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:22 PM

@Dylan Roche: OK. I give in. We should just appease aggressors.

Mute Mandy M
    Favourite Mandy M
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:13 PM

No!!!

Throwing money at needless war!!!

What nxt, sure go all in, up the rent money yer given to Ukrainians to 1k, cost of renting has gone insane anyway!!

Sure ye also give refugees and asylum seekers right to vote in 2004! This will keep ye long in power!!

The country is governed by the corrupted! We have had enough!!!

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:22 PM

@Mandy M: OK. I give in. We should just appease aggressors.

Mute lisa murphy
    Favourite lisa murphy
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:29 PM

Just disgraceful can’t even get a MRI scan in life saving time here.
    We are supposed to be a neutral country

Mute Nestor
    Favourite Nestor
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:56 PM

Zelenskyy wants lots more money, security guarantees from Europe and the US, and to make no concessions to end the war.

He is trying to start he WW3.

Trump clearly sees that and, quite rightly, will not let him drag the US into WW3.

Mute William Jennings
    Favourite William Jennings
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:30 PM

This is great news. Ukraine have been incredibly heroic so far in exposing Russia as a paper tiger and it’s important that all European countries chip in some more money after America recently announced that they will no longer be sending over any more military hardware for the Ukrainian soldiers. Support for Ukraine is the only thing that this government has actually gotten right and I’m proud to say share the sentiment. The great thing about the €100 million in non-lethal military aid is that it can be easily tracked. Body armour, helmets, medical supplies and communication equipment all have serial numbers, supply chains and delivery logs unlike the €60 million in financial aid that the government has given Hamas, which can’t be tracked and just gets siphoned off to fund more terrorism.

Mute SirMr
    Favourite SirMr
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:04 PM

@Vladimir Poutine: There could be an argument that this would make the European continent safer, but I disagree. In my view, pouring more money into the situation will only delay the inevitable. Ukraine cannot defeat Russia—every serious expert agrees on this. The idea that Russia would attack the Baltics or NATO if allowed to take Ukrainian territory is, in my opinion, laughable and unrealistic. A peace deal is the only logical way to end this war. Period.

Mute William Jennings
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:10 PM

@Vladimir Poutine: Nothing in it for us? How about standing up for international law, defending democracy and showing that aggression won’t be tolerated? Ireland’s history shows that we shouldn’t turn a blind eye to blatant violations of sovereignty. Ukraine is fighting for its right to exist, and if we truly believe in a world where nations are free to determine their own future, we can’t just sit on the sidelines. Ukraine is also one of the largest agricultural producers in Europe. They provide the EU with most of their wheat, corn, barley and sunflower oil. Do you really want Russia to be able to control those and charge consumers whatever price they want like they did with electricity and natural gas? Supply chains must be upheld and that requires supporting Ukraine militarily.

Mute William Jennings
    Mar 4th 2025, 4:40 PM

@SirMr: Russia has proxy armies in Moldova and Georgia waiting to get the green light from the Kremlin. The Russian Navy is situated in Kaliningrad, which is between Poland and Lithuania. If you think Russia will just stop after taking over Ukraine, you are deeply mistaken. Your claim that “pouring money into the situation will only delay the inevitable” does not hold up to basic inspection. Ukraine has been fighting with one hand behind their back since the start of the conflict. Europe and America has blocked them from receiving military equipment like long-range missiles, F-16 fighter jets and advanced combat drones. Even so, Ukraine has held back Russia for three years and has pushed 300km into the Kursk Oblast with 50,000 troops. This will end if Ukraine gets what they request.

Mute William Jennings
    Mar 4th 2025, 8:50 PM

@Vladimir Poutine: If a global conflict eventually hits the European Union’s doors, we have to be ready to engage in ruthless behaviour towards Russia. That involves flattening their cities like the Allies did to the Nazis in order to deflate Nazi propaganda efforts that they were untouchable. Wars aren’t won in a single battle or with one massive lump sum, they are won through consistent, strategic support. The idea that €100 million won’t make a difference is laughable. What would make a difference? How could you possibly draw a line on that? Would you say “One firetruck won’t make a difference” when a city is burning? Small contributions add up to major victories. Dismissing $100 million as meaningless is just an excuse to justify inaction towards helping Ukraine in this conflict.

Mute GERRY MURPHY
    Favourite GERRY MURPHY
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:32 PM

That’s €100m that didn’t need to be paid unlike the €700m that the EU will make us pay towards Ukraine.

Mute Mark Hogan
    Favourite Mark Hogan
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:11 PM

Disgusting

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:21 PM

@Mark Hogan: OK. I give in. We should just appease aggressors.

Mute Mark Hogan
    Favourite Mark Hogan
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:38 PM

@Jack Hayes: Ireland doesn’t have any aggressors, you fairy

Mute Criostoir Mac Raghnaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Raghnaill
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:24 PM

This should be spent on the Irish homeless

Mute John Boyle
    Favourite John Boyle
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:37 PM

It Martin and Harris feels that strong about Ukraine

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:48 PM

@John Boyle: ‘If’? They do. Are you under the influence? Don’t operate heavy machinery for the rest of the day.

Mute John Boyle
    Favourite John Boyle
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:41 PM

Don’t post any thing on the journal because the can’t handle the truth

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:47 PM

@John Boyle: It also helps if you correctly spell the words in your comments.

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:44 PM

A European Army is inevitable. The sooner the better!

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Mar 4th 2025, 6:44 PM

@Mick Hanna: better for the weapons industry and nobody else.

Mute James Hanley
    Favourite James Hanley
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:24 PM

Some commentators here do not understand the significance of the geopolitical issues at stake. The EU and the UK have suddenly woken up. The US under Trumpism is distancing itself from its erstwhile allies. America, along with Russia and China, is trying to restore old-style big power politics, where the three of them aim to carve up the world between them in spheres of influence, thus leaving Europe out in the cold. If Ukraine can not survive – and be helped to survive – as a sovereign country, then it’s only a matter of time before the rest of Europe, including vulnerable Ireland, is in serious trouble. We can not continue to freeload of other, bigger countries. Spending on Ukraine and spending at home are not mutually exclusive. It is not an either/or scenario.

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:36 PM

@James Hanley: somewhat unfair in the UK, I distinctly remember Boris shouting this out loud, calling the EU for sitting idly by and votes being defeated within the EU. The UK Labour Party has changed its tune, but the UK has been consistent.

It’s laughable so many Irish people castigating other countries when we are the biggest military free loaders in the EU and on of the biggest in the world.

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:16 PM

They need to hand over the billions in apple money to this war effort. About time Ireland pulled their weight

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness

@Basildon Joe: We’ve done too much as it is. Ukraine isn’t even part of the EU.

What has Ukraine ever done for Ireland? Sweet F.A. that’s what. Don’t even mention the “defending democracy” PR bull that they come out with.

America has done more for this country than anyone.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger

@RP McGuinness: The EU has done more but don’t let facts get in the way of your putin fluffing…

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:29 PM

@honey badger: Oh the EU has done us alright, good and hard.

You seem to have an oral fixation with Putin. Maybe you need to speak to someone about that.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:36 PM

@RP McGuinness: I’m always happy to point out the untruths that fluffers like yourself regurgitate here. You’re welcome.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Mar 4th 2025, 1:40 PM

@RP McGuinness: Have you forgotten that Ireland was the poorest western European nation by far before joining the EU?

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:08 PM

@RP McGuinness: Another clueless, low-info comment.

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:20 PM

@Rui Firmino: We joined the EEC back then. The EU as it currently stands has been a disaster for Ireland.

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:21 PM

@Jack Hayes: keep huffing the fumes from Zelensky’s jockstrap.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:42 PM

@RP McGuinness: Yeah sure

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:25 PM

Trump’s commitment was never there if it was to all fall apart so quickly and easily under reasonable questions and concerns by Zelensky. Trump is a dishonest charlatan. Who’s to say that Putin hasn’t worked him over (even more) during their private talks (Riyadh etc.). There was no deal to sign and seeing how it went, there could have been hundreds of other reasons for it to all fall apart anyway.

Mute Keth 417
    Favourite Keth 417
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:31 PM

@Jack Hayes: Trump and the states are owed many billions by Ukraine. Trump wants access to Ukraine’s minerals as pay back. He also wants an end to the war, if at an inevitable cost to Ukraine which is unavoidable. I take it you and others want the war to continue and many hundreds of thousands more people to die – many of which could be western Europeans and Irish in the near future. Is this your thinking that it is acceptable to expand a localised war?

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:46 PM

@Keth 417: The US spent $119.7bn on aid between January 2022 and December 2024.
    Others have reached a higher figure – but with a broader definition of what counts as spending on Ukraine. Nowhere near what Trump wants in minerals. With Ukraine ceding all lost land. With no secure guarantees or method of retuning 20k kidnapped kids. If Zelensky wanted to surrender, he doesn’t need Trump to do it for him.

Mute Rosie Martin
    Favourite Rosie Martin
    Mar 4th 2025, 7:09 PM

The vital importance of providing school places and services for kids with special needs.

Mute Keth 417
    Favourite Keth 417
    Mar 4th 2025, 2:36 PM

Best foot forward with the Trump meeting Michael. Shame the Oscars are over. Maybe next year.

Mute D White
    Favourite D White
    Mar 4th 2025, 5:10 PM

Apple money burning a hole in his pocket.

Mute John Durcan
    Favourite John Durcan
    Mar 4th 2025, 10:45 PM

Simon Harris calling. Clearly a red letter day In International affairs. Can’t wait to hear the Dali lama’s perspective on ireland buying a couple second hand helicopter. God help us if the Irish defense forces have fighter jets. What happens when the tank of fuel runs out?

Mute David Martin
    Favourite David Martin
    Mar 4th 2025, 7:55 PM

Time for the EU to start diplomatic negotiations with Russia, in order to know the enemy one must understand them and what exactly it is they are after, both parties need to sit down be polite and cordial to each other and listen.Ukraine and its people have been through enough hardship and death,as has people of Europe . Peace is the only answer.

Mute Hector turtlehead
    Favourite Hector turtlehead
    Mar 4th 2025, 3:03 PM

Ireland should join NATO.
    Expecting the UK to send planes over here. Embarrassing. Irelands not a real country.

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Mar 4th 2025, 5:06 PM

All one big stroke

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Mar 4th 2025, 4:50 PM

Zelensky is about to get mugged.

Mute Darran Macken
    Favourite Darran Macken
    Mar 4th 2025, 4:57 PM

Who’s this he said.

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Mar 4th 2025, 8:52 PM

Who would have thought there are so many supporters of the monster Putin posting their vile comments here. If you are not trolls start checking your history.

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Mar 4th 2025, 9:47 PM

@JP: You like being ruled by Germany who started two world wars. No need to check your history.