Advertisement
This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 17 °C Sunday 21 April, 2019

#Ukraine

# ukraine - Friday 17 July, 2015

'People came out of their houses and saw a boy with no head'

Eyewitnesses of the tragic MH17 crash recall what happened one year ago today.

# ukraine - Sunday 7 June, 2015

'We need to stand up to Russia' - Barack Obama is talking tough at the G7 summit

The US president says sanctions against Vladimir Putin won’t change until a ceasefire is complied with in Ukraine.

# ukraine - Saturday 6 June, 2015

Pics: Arrests and injuries during bloody clashes at gay pride march in Kiev

Five policemen were among the injured.

# ukraine - Tuesday 14 April, 2015

The Irish are among the most free people in the world

The Irish are among the most free people in the world

When it comes to travel visas anyway. Not all nations have it so easy though…

# ukraine - Monday 9 March, 2015

Putin: 'We had heavy machine guns ready so we wouldn't waste time talking'

Russian president Vladimir Putin has revealed details of the secret meeting he held on taking Crimea.

# ukraine - Thursday 5 March, 2015

PHOTOS: 32 killed in east Ukraine mine blast Donetsk This post contains images

PHOTOS: 32 killed in east Ukraine mine blast

At least 17 have been killed with 16 more missing.

# ukraine - Tuesday 3 March, 2015

Thousands line the streets of Moscow to pay last respects to slain Putin critic

Polish and Latvian officials were ‘barred’ from the funeral of assassinated Boris Nemtsov.

# ukraine - Thursday 19 February, 2015

'This could become a mass grave,' I thought as we waited there together

As we waited to be evacuated, a shell hit and a woman lost her leg. By the time the ambulance arrived five hours later, she had bled to death.

# ukraine - Sunday 15 February, 2015

Ukraine ceasefire began at midnight - but two civilians have already been killed

An elderly man and woman were killed in Popasna.

The 9 at 9: Sunday

It’s Sunday. Stay tucked up in bed and let us fill you in on the top stories.

# ukraine - Thursday 12 February, 2015

Why the peace deal between Ukraine and Russia today is so important

Marathon talks have led to a deal.

# ukraine - Wednesday 11 February, 2015

Are we heading towards the worst East-West crisis since the Cold War?

Leaders from Ukraine Russia, France and Germany are holding last-ditch peace talks today to prevent a further escalation of the conflict.

# ukraine - Sunday 8 February, 2015

# ukraine - Saturday 7 February, 2015

'If these talks fail, we know what will happen - war'

Talks are under way to find a solution to the fighting in Ukraine.

# ukraine - Sunday 25 January, 2015

Watch: Dashboard cam captures moment of deadly rocket attack in Ukraine Rebel Advance This post contains videos

Watch: Dashboard cam captures moment of deadly rocket attack in Ukraine

The attack is blamed on pro-Russian rebels and killed 30 people.

# ukraine - Saturday 24 January, 2015

Pro-Russian rebels launch rocket attack on Ukrainian market, killing 30 and injuring dozens more

The assault on the port of Mariupol follows a rejection of peace talks.

# ukraine - Friday 23 January, 2015

McDonald's has seen annual profits fall by 15% in the last year

The restaurant has today released its figures for the 2014 period.

# ukraine - Monday 19 January, 2015

Bloody fight rages on as rebels claim they now control Donetsk airport

The UN estimates that more than 4,700 people have been killed in eastern Ukraine since April.

# ukraine - Monday 12 January, 2015

Ukraine's former president is now on Interpol's most wanted list

The former president is believed to be living in Russia.

# ukraine - Wednesday 7 January, 2015

Pro-Russian hackers claim attack on Angela Merkel's website

The move came as Ukrainian Prime Minister Arseniy Yatsenyuk was visiting Berlin

# ukraine - Friday 2 January, 2015

Russia is training killer robots, as you do

Should we be alarmed?

# ukraine - Saturday 27 December, 2014

The topless woman who tried to steal Baby Jesus out of the Vatican’s crib has been released

Ukrainian Iana Azhdanova was arrested and taken into custody on Thursday after she snatched the figurine.

# ukraine - Tuesday 23 December, 2014

Ukraine just took a big step towards the West... and Russia's not happy

The eastern European nation voted to drop its non-aligned status if a war breaks out.

# ukraine - Friday 5 December, 2014

Aer Lingus's CEO is going to be the new boss of Malaysia Airlines

He previously occupied top positions at German flag carrier Lufthansa and the former Belgian carrier Sabena.

# ukraine - Wednesday 3 December, 2014

VIDEO: Drone captures haunting footage of Chernobyl ghost town

‘Serene and disturbing.’

# ukraine - Tuesday 25 November, 2014

France really isn't keen on handing over a warship to Russia

It has delayed the delivery until ‘further notice’.

# ukraine - Thursday 20 November, 2014

Almost a thousand people have died since the start of the Ukraine ceasefire

That’s an average of 13 people a day.

# ukraine - Sunday 16 November, 2014

Ukraine President says country ready for "total war"

More than 4,000 people have died in seven months of fighting in eastern Ukraine.

This man plays piano faster than the speed of sound

Lubomyr Melnyk says he’s the faster pianist on the planet.

# ukraine - Thursday 13 November, 2014

Ukraine back on the brink amid claims Russia is arming rebels

Russia says that the claims are “propaganda”.

# ukraine - Friday 7 November, 2014

Tanks, troops, and artillery pour into Ukraine from Russia

A military spokesperson said 32 tanks, 16 howitzer cannons and 30 trucks of troops crossed the border.

# ukraine - Friday 31 October, 2014

Russia and Ukraine have reached an uneasy deal about staying warm for winter

The gas deal followed two days of intense negotiation.

# ukraine - Monday 27 October, 2014

Ukraine is close to forming a new pro-West government

If coalition talks succeed, it will solidify the country’s shift away from Russia under Poroshenko.

# ukraine - Sunday 26 October, 2014

Ukrainian voters head to the polls in snap elections for a new parliament

Iti’s expected the egislature filled with reformers and nationalists backing President Petro Poroshenko’s drive to bring Ukraine closer to the West.

# ukraine - Friday 24 October, 2014

From The Daily Edge This guy called Darth Vader is running for election, and he's kind of brilliant Vote Vader

# ukraine - Wednesday 22 October, 2014

Close one: Ukrainian girl has lucky escape from explosive debris

She walked away, seemingly unharmed.

# ukraine - Sunday 19 October, 2014

Parents of 3 children killed in MH17 crash release heartbreaking statement

The parents say their lives are “an ongoing hell”.

# ukraine - Thursday 16 October, 2014

# ukraine - Monday 13 October, 2014

Ireland's heating bills this winter depend on what happens between Putin and Ukraine

Costs could spike if the trouble continues in eastern Europe.

# ukraine - Saturday 11 October, 2014

Putin and Poroshenko are meeting next week to try and rescue a truce

The talks will include talks British Prime Minister David Cameron as well as German Chancellor Angela Merkel.