You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Despite attempts to change his mind, Kelleher says he still has no confidence in Ursula Von der Leyen. Alamy Stock Photo

Political row over Von der Leyen vote as Fianna Fáil MEPs rule out their support

Fianna Fáil are breaking rank with their European grouping and voting against Ursula Von der Leyen.

LAST UPDATE | 16 Jul 2024

MEPS ARE SET to vote on Ursula Von der Leyen’s continued presidency of the European Commission, with Fianna Fáil MEPs defying pressure to vote for her. 

Of Ireland’s MEPs, only Fine Gael members have declared the intention to vote for Von der Leyen. 

Tánaiste and Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin told reporters in Luxembourg in June that there had been a high-level deal agreed between the three major European political groupings: Fianna Fáil’s centrist Renew, Fine Gael’s centre-right EPP and Labour’s left-wing Socialist & Democrats (S&D).

These groups help the Parliament to have a structured whip system but also allow them to secure positions on committees, among other things. This high-level deal will see many MEPs in these groups voting in favour of the German politician’s second term.

However, the margins are very slim. For Von der Leyen to be successful, she must secure 361 votes.

On paper, the high-level deal means she is expected to get well beyond what is needed (with 401 votes) but Labour’s Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, a member of S&D, has already ruled out voting for her.

Fianna Fáil’s Barry Andrews and Billy Kelleher have also announced that they will not be voting for her either. It is understood that the other two other Fianna Fáil MEPs, Barry Cowen and Cynthia Ní Murchú, will also not support the incumbent.

Kelleher said this morning: “President Von Der Leyen’s inability to call out or criticise the actions of Israel in Gaza, and her seemingly unconditional support for Prime Minister Netanyahu, who is now subject to an ICC Arrest Warrant for his actions, mean I cannot support her re-election.”

Kelleher explained that he met, one-on-one with Von der Leyen last week where they discussed his criticisms over her actions since the 7 October attacks. He adds, however, that the topic was not discussed in her 55-minute address to the Renew group.

Kelleher added: “I was open to reviewing my stance if President Von der Leyen apologised for her actions in the immediate aftermath of the October 7th Hamas attacks, committed to a Two State Solution, and supported two important issues:

“1. suspending the EU-Israel Trade Association Agreement and, 2. the implementation of an EU-wide ban on products produced in the Occupied Territories. Sadly, President Von der Leyen was unable or unwilling to give me such assurances,” he said.

The Ireland South MEP said though he had been clear on his stance and opinion of the german politician throughout the election campaign, he did listen to his party colleagues on the issue.

Despite attempts to change his mind, he said he still has no confidence in her as Commission President. It is not yet known if the MEPs could face consequences as a result of their decision.

‘FF are voting against their own party’

One source told The Journal that the Fianna Fáil MEPs’ decision could cast a shadow over their relationships with other politicians in the Renew group for the next five years.

It will also have a likely impact on how much the party’s proposed European Commissioner Michael McGrath will be scrutinised by MEPs in Brussels, according to the source.

This point was echoed by Fine Gael MEP Regina Doherty this morning on RTÉ Radio One:

“Politics is about support. It’s about working and cooperating together. And the four Fianna Fáil MEPs have just told the potential next President of the Commission that they don’t want her.”

She added that Renew, of which Kelleher is the de-facto deputy leader of, is voting in favour of Von der Leyen and the coalition under the high-level deal has agreed to the same. 

“They’ve decided they’re going to vote against their own party leader Micheál Martin, vote against their Commissioner Michael McGrath and vote against their party Renew. That’s a Fianna Fáil issue.” 

Speaking to The Journal in Strasbourg today, Kelleher said: “My first priority, as always, is to the people who elect you. A mandate was sought and given. I had expressed a view, during that particular campaign, and I think the integrity of politics’ first principal is that you should do what you say.”

Kelleher said he had informed party leader and Tánaiste Micheál Martin of his decision. Asked what the Tánaiste’s reaction to it was, Kelleher said: “Look, you have to be true to yourself and true to your word.”

However, he said he does not think the MEPs will face any disciplinary action from the party, adding that the group is a “broad political party” and that debate and differences are always understood.

Kelleher added that doesn’t believe Michael McGrath chosen portfolio will be impacted and believes any Commission President would choose him for the role.

“I’m quite definite that if it is President Von der Leyen that there will be no vindictiveness with regard to giving out any particular portfolio,” he added.

Sinn Féin MEP Lynn Boylan disagreed with Doherty’s stance. She said that politics is about holding those in power to account and that Von der Leyen’s action since 7 October have “green lighted the genocides that we’re now seeing”.

“She has not applied the same principles as she has to the conflict in Ukraine,” Boylan said.

She added that Von der Leyen’s failure to suspend trade agreements with Israel or suspend funding for research projects, after the beginning of the conflict in Israel, has shown that she is not willing to listen to others on this topic.

When asked by The Journal today why Fianna Fáil MEPs are as critical as the EU’s choice for High Representative – the top-foreign affairs diplomatic role in Europe – and Renew member Kaja Kallas, Kelleher said that he took his stance on Von der Leyen because he believes she has no interest in working to resolve the conflict in Gaza.

Kallas, who was also the former Prime Minister for Estonia until she was nominated for the EU role last month, has had a very critical view of the conflict in Gaza, which is not too dissimilar to Von der Leyen’s.

Kelleher said he has brought up Palestine many times over the last five years in the European Parliament and, while he did not comment on Kallas’ view, he believes Von der Leyen’s view has been consistently in opposition to his.

Earlier, French MEP and co-leader of The Left group – of which Sinn Féin is a member of - Manon Aubry told reporters that while her group were open to discussions with Von der Leyen, the German politician did not offer them anything which aligned with their values.

“When having these conversation and public services, workers and civil rights don’t come up – you can read between the lines,” she said at a press conference this morning.

Muiris O’Cearbhaill will be in Strasbourg, France reporting on the first Plenary session of this European Parliament this week. Keep up to date on the latest on The Journal.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

61 Comments
    Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jul 16th 2024, 10:29 AM

Jasus what is the world comming to when ff politicians show some integrity

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jul 16th 2024, 11:16 AM

@Jessie Pinkman: Off you go and set one up so.. I’m sure people will be bowled over by your political and fiscal acumen.. The Pinky Party..

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Jul 16th 2024, 11:53 AM

@Jessie Pinkman: A meritocracy?

DO you truly understand the meaning and implications of that?

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Jul 16th 2024, 12:02 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: I don’t think you do, you wouldn’t last…

Mute Pie Ball
    Favourite Pie Ball
    Jul 16th 2024, 12:12 PM

@Robert Halvey: influenced by brown envelopes, no doubt, once a corrupt gombeen party, always a corrupt gombeen party

Mute tara tevlin
    Favourite tara tevlin
    Jul 16th 2024, 12:51 PM

@Jessie Pinkman: absolutely we’ve absolutely no one least the yanks have some chance

Jul 16th 2024, 1:14 PM

@William Slevin: Do explain what a true meritocracy is then, William Slevin, and what is would mean to have one.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jul 16th 2024, 1:42 PM

@Jessie Pinkman: Wow.. What an amazing manifesto ! You’re sure to be a hit with the electorate .. https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/government-in-ireland/elections-and-referenda/running-for-office/registering-a-political-party/

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Jul 16th 2024, 2:04 PM

@Robert Halvey: they are showing support for Hamas terrorists, very disappointed in them and they should immediately lose their party’s whip.

Mute HAC
    Favourite HAC
    Jul 16th 2024, 2:14 PM

@Pat Hazzard: the only terrorists I see are the IDF. Educate yourself please

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jul 16th 2024, 11:40 AM

The Germans are STILL sending shipments to arm the Israelis. We’re in a union with a country that is supplying military equipment to a county whose leader is wanted by the ICC. How can this be tolerated by anyone who pretends the EU is interested in international law? The usual NATO fanboys who can’t stop squealing about “defending European values” or the imperative to “stand united against military aggression” on other articles are noticeable by their absence here. Total hypocrisy

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jul 16th 2024, 12:16 PM

@Darth O’Leary: While I agree with you on the Israeli issue. Seeing as you bring up NATO, anything to say on the other criminal, in russia, wanted by the ICC?

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jul 16th 2024, 12:31 PM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: I abhor the autocratic Putin but if we’re letting one war criminal off the hook and even supplying them with military aid then should the EU not treat the other likewise? How do you explain this Hypocrisy?

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jul 16th 2024, 12:42 PM

@ Fintan: relatedly, how can the EU justify it’s sanctions against countries that couldn’t hold a candle to Israel when it comes to breaking international law while the same EU won’t sanction Israel or even review it’s trade agreement with this most rogue of states? Can you please explain that Hypocrisy? It’s almost as if the political manoeuvres of the EU are nothing more than partisan power plays that have nothing to do with justice or the rule of law

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jul 16th 2024, 1:04 PM

@Darth O’Leary: No, I can’t explain this hypocrisy. I said I agree with you on the Israeli issue. But unfortunately NATO is a necessary evil against a thug and his regime in russia. Just look at the countries he has invaded versus the ones he hasn’t. Over a dozen ex soviet countries applied to join and remarkably they haven’t been invaded.

Jul 16th 2024, 2:00 PM

@Darth O’Leary: Just because we cannot yet hold the criminal racist colonial enterprise that is Israel to account does not mean we should not stand against the criminal colonial russian warring.

That would be compounding our failings.

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Jul 16th 2024, 6:00 PM

@Darth O’Leary: Even in Ireland polls show interest in Gaza as an issue is miniscule despite the narrative pushing of political parties and left wing media outlets. Thankfully, most European countries stand strong with Israel in their fight against the Islamists of Hamas who invaded Israel and are finding out all about FAFO. That’s what makes a union, you don’t get to impose your will on the majority of other countries who don’t support terrorists.

Jul 16th 2024, 8:08 PM

@Richard Keogh: Except that the vast, vast, majority of Irish stand with Palestinians against Israeli atrocities.

As we tend to stand with all victims of atrocities, and as we tend to stand against all perpetrators.

You seem to forget – or perhaps wish to ignore – that the Israeli are the colonists in the land of the Palestinian.

The Israeli merely claim to be descendant from people who LEFT the region long ago.
    The Palestinian are the actual descendants of those who remained.

The Israeli have no more claim to any of Palestine than do those who claim to be descendant of those who left Irish shores long ago have any claim to the land of Ireland.

And you seem to forget – or perhaps wish to ignore – that it was the Israeli colonists that established terrorist groups – such as Haganah, The Stern Gang and Irgun – and proceeded to attack the Palestinian to drive them off their land, and attack their government to steal their homeland.

You also seem to forget – or wish to ignore – that Israel is a racist apartheid state, a state that gives me the right to “return” even though I have no ties with Israel, yet denies any right to return to the Palestinian driven off their land by Israeli terrorism.

And you seem to forget – or wish to ignore – the countless documented atrocities and crimes against humanity perpetrated by the Israeli on the Palestinian.

The Palestinian is merely trying to defend themselves against Israeli terrorism and recover what has been stolen from them.

As we would all do too.

As we would be ashamed not to do.

I know Ireland has its share of the far right, who revel in their racism and in causing pain and suffering to others.

But most of us stand with the victim and against the perpetrators of evil.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Jul 17th 2024, 1:49 AM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: You sir, have serious issues and I suggest you deal with them. You are the perfect example of the educated simpleton.
    If you can’t understand the middle-east, don’t pretend to.

Mute barry lyons
    Favourite barry lyons
    Jul 16th 2024, 1:25 PM

The people of coolock are having their rights trampled on . Martin and his goons have no respect for the electorate. Who listens to the locals . No one

Jul 16th 2024, 2:03 PM

@barry lyons: Have you asked the locals?

All of them?

Mute Alfred Huxobelle
    Favourite Alfred Huxobelle
    Jul 16th 2024, 2:04 PM

@barry lyons: The people of Coolock look like rabid, racist criminals on TV

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Jul 16th 2024, 3:23 PM

@Alfred Huxobelle: It’s amazing what the controlled media will show or report.Ive been sent a few videos of the Gardai using extreme violence,one where a Garda is kneeling on a man’s neck whilst another is beating him on the shins with a baton.You won’t see that on the TV.
    This is why the Powers that be won’t to clamp down on social media, so they’ll control what we see.

Mute Alfred Huxobelle
    Favourite Alfred Huxobelle
    Jul 16th 2024, 6:01 PM

@martin lawlor: I’ve seen the same videos and think the Guards were too soft on those rioting thugs if anything .

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Jul 16th 2024, 7:53 PM

@Alfred Huxobelle: If they have batons they should use them!!

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jul 17th 2024, 12:26 AM

@barry lyons: what seems to be hidden is the fact they’ve been peacefully protesting 3 months now and flat out ignored. We have to wait till unvetted males commit crimes then relocate them and start again=irish way of doing things,arseways. Other countries check first not here,idiots.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Jul 16th 2024, 10:38 AM

Coolock were late with their 12th celebrations

Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Jul 16th 2024, 3:05 PM

Von Der Leyen offered unconditional support to Netanyahu on behalf of the EU, attempted to suspend all aid to Gaza and even now stifles attempts to sanction Israel.

She has apologised for none of this.

It’s unbelievable anyone in Irish politics could endorse her and disgusting from Micheál Martin, Regina Doherty and others to suggest that their support can be horse traded for.

Jul 16th 2024, 8:14 PM

@Rochelle Hart: It does tell us the nature of Regina end Co. though.

We will not forget.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Jul 16th 2024, 1:57 PM

Back to the subject. If Ursula doesn’t get elected then the cosy underhand deal for Michael McGrath goes down the tubes. Why it is deemed important for our Commissioner to secure a “senior” post is inexplicable as an appointed person is supposed to act in the interest of the Union and not in our national interest. Oh wait……

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Jul 16th 2024, 1:51 PM

If Barry Andrews is not voting for her then there must be something up with her. Barry is one of the more seasoned MEPs we have so I would follow his lead and not the government who back what they think is popular and not necessarily right!

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Jul 16th 2024, 2:05 PM

@Shane Cormican: he is also one who has no problem aiding the groups that attack Israel and is silent on the brutal terrorist attack launched by Hamas.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jul 16th 2024, 2:35 PM

@Pat Hazzard: Barry Andrews, of the Andrews clan, part of Fianna Fail Royalty..has aided groups that have attacked Isreal ? Is this Fianna Fáils official position.. or have you just gone rogue ‘Pat’ ? Why didn’t you mention this on the build up to the referendum.. you told us SF were up to this kind of shenanigans.. made no mention of FF members up to it also ..tut tut .. Your Dear Leader will not be happy ‘Pat’

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Jul 16th 2024, 4:31 PM

@jak: Hamas did indeed well from the Nazis is spewing out propaganda from their “health ministry”

Mute Brendan Fitzsimons
    Favourite Brendan Fitzsimons
    Jul 16th 2024, 6:04 PM

@Pat Hazzard: The Lancet estimates the number killed by the IDF in Gaza at 187,000 people.10% of the Gaza population.

Is that medical journal also controlled by Hamas?

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Jul 16th 2024, 10:39 AM

Oh I can fold my arms to boyo…See!

Jul 16th 2024, 2:08 PM

When a person or group does something that is good then we should all recognise that.

Irrespective of who or what they are.

Well done, Fianna Fail.
    Giving us all a little hope, and some pride that we can still stand against evil, and with the victims of evil.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Jul 17th 2024, 2:03 AM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: we understand, you hate Israël. We also understand how this blinds you to any reasonable analysis of the situation. You sir, are part of the problem.

Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Jul 16th 2024, 3:07 PM

Credit where it’d due, fair play to them

Mute Richard Barrett
    Favourite Richard Barrett
    Jul 16th 2024, 3:48 PM

Fair play to our MEPs for sticking to their promise not to vote for Sturmbannfuhrer Von Der Leyen. However, I am still disgusted that the “left wing” Socialist and Democrat Group have agreed to support her.

Jul 16th 2024, 6:25 PM

@Richard Barrett: Which Irish parties belong to this Socialist and Democrat Group, so we can avoid them in future.

Mute Steve White
    Favourite Steve White
    Jul 16th 2024, 2:15 PM

secret ballot we’ll never really know

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Jul 16th 2024, 7:18 PM

Great news, Kallas is totally unsuitable as a diplomat, perhaps minister of war? And Van Der L, is a dyed in the wool neo conservative. It’s shocking that that pair are heading the EU, it’s enough to turn a fella euro sceptic.

Mute Pat O'Shea
    Favourite Pat O'Shea
    Jul 16th 2024, 11:53 PM

Well done to the 4 Fianna Fail MEPs who have integrity in spades on this matter. Michael Martin hang your head in shame.

Mute John Reynolds
    Favourite John Reynolds
    Jul 17th 2024, 12:05 AM

Must be brown envelope somewhere