You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tv3

Vincent Browne hasn't gotten anything in the post from Irish Water

The veteran broadcaster was speaking on the Newstalk Breakfast programme this morning.

VINCENT BROWNE HAS said he is yet to receive any correspondence from Irish Water in relation to paying the water charge.

Speaking on the Newstalk Breakfast programme this morning, the veteran broadcaster said that he “never got any material from anyone in connection with Irish Water”.

On the topic of water charges he also said that he was “in favour of measures to conserve water”, but that he wished to see this in a manner, “that would exempt people who couldn’t pay”.

Participation 

Browne was appearing on the programme to discuss a variety of issues ahead of tonight’s ‘People’s Debate’ on TV3, which will be taking place in the Cavan-Monaghan constituency.

During the course of the interview the programme’s host Ivan Yates asked him about the reluctance of Fine Gael politicians to appear on the programme.

On this Browne said, “they think that audiences are set up against them because audiences express anger at government policies. This is only reflective on the anger that is there in our society.”

And on Enda Kenny’s reluctance to debate on his programme, he said, “Enda is nervous of the media generally and suspicious of journalists generally and thinks we are all out to get him”, but accepted that this was, “part of the paranoia of politics”.

Views 

On being asked about the views of people around the country, Browne said that, “people get very annoyed at talk of a recovery”, and that:

Hardly at all have the people we’ve spoken to experienced the symptoms of recovery. There is an irritation with the repeated mantra of the government.

He went on to say that the more liberal spending that had occurred prior to Christmas had brought about a more difficult January and February for many.

Read: Does missing the Irish Water deadline mean no €100 grant? A lot of people weren’t clear on Monday…

Also: Vincent Browne almost fell off his chair laughing at this guy’s take on marriage equality

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

75 Comments
    Mute Eamonn Boylan
    Favourite Eamonn Boylan
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:12 PM

Vincent is a great interviewer, he says it as it is…unlike Ryan tubbs, disgraceful!!

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:51 PM

I burnt mine. Grand heat off it..

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:05 PM

Defaced it, thought about sending it back, but burnt it instead.

NO to the Privatisation of our Water Supply!

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Favourite Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:05 PM

Be careful Gill and the usual trolls might hit you with the
    “Are you not getting enough heat from the fuel allowance” class warfare nonsense that gov trolls usually spurt out!

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:45 PM

Still have mine. It will be part of history and worth alot of money in years to come. That reminds me I must get a picture frame over the weekend for it.

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:08 PM

Spiderman. So someone who disagrees with you is a troll?

Mute AlanHarte
    Favourite AlanHarte
    Feb 25th 2015, 7:30 PM

“I burned it”… “I defaced it and then burned it”…
    What a load of legends.

Mute Sean Macc
    Favourite Sean Macc
    Feb 25th 2015, 11:33 PM

NO WAY WE WONT PAY.

JE SUIS DEREK JE SUIS DEREK JE SUIS DEREK.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:47 PM

Overheard at the Dec 7th water protest on Merrion Square….

Protester: “Here Vincent, will ye be paying your water bill?”

VinB: “Will I f*ck”

Love the guy, a national treasure!

Mute AlanHarte
    Favourite AlanHarte
    Feb 25th 2015, 7:28 PM

Overheard by whom? The article itself seems to suggest he will pay, unless he regards himself as being in the category of people unable to pay.

Mute GO GREEN
    Favourite GO GREEN
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:50 PM

Vinnie is a great interviewer. No wonder FG politicians will not appear on his show.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:38 PM

No rain for four months during the summer and no water shortages -
    The only thing that is leaky is the lies out of the Consulted millionaires and their cronies -
    Wake up people – the pipes are not leaking !

Mute Elias Khoury
    Favourite Elias Khoury
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:43 PM

The pipes are not leaking. Right. And pigs can fly.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly

Exactly !!!

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:07 PM

There is not shortage of water in this country…. just a shortage of politicians that care about the people!

Remember in 2019, when your Friend, Neighbor, Son, Brother, Grandchild, Relation or Teammate, falls on hard times…..
    >> WATER POVERTY – Fine Gaels gift to the Irish People!

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:15 PM

Sorry Elias I know it is against your religion and all – How is your Irish Driving licence ?https://www.google.ie/search?q=flying+pigs&biw=1188&bih=557&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=tdjtVODPNY6O7AaWqoDICg&sqi=2&ved=0CB8QsAQ

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:22 PM

A watermain that is leaking will force its way up through the road and cause a pothole …that is what that young man who swam in the one in Cork did to teach you !
    The term is hydrodynamics – Water at a high enough pressure will cut concrete like a knife

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:35 PM
    Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:38 PM

Frank?

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:01 PM

Where are they exactly ? any chance we could get a surveyors map or an engineers report , we could then target them with the revenue collected through general taxation.

Mute Ariana
    Favourite Ariana
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:54 PM

No rain for 4 months? What part of the country do you live in? I don’t recall any news of a major drought.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:40 PM

Then you are a foreigner – last summer was an exception in Ireland – Furthermore there has been very little if any rain since – last year we had gone through 9 storms at this stage -
    Thank you for revealing your foreign interest !
    Palestine will be free !

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:52 PM

He should invite Tierney, Grant, and Arnett on his programme, and verbally waterboard them!

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:19 PM

I’d love to see VinB grill them on their work history. Specifically questioning them on the fact that Elizabeth Arnett and Grant worked for the consultancy firm (RPS) that actually recommended this setup for Irish Water in the first place. And now they works for her own creation. Interesting that!

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/by-the-boards-the-who-s-who-in-irish-water-1.1973421
    http://www.rabble.ie/2014/05/28/citizens-of-water-world/

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:44 PM

I got one, I shredded it and popped it into an envelope and sent it back.

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:48 PM

You wasted your money sending it back. I wouldn’t bother

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:10 PM

It’s included in the received numbers part of the alleged or 60%

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:57 PM

You are now registered as shredder.
    I’m registered as torn to pieces .

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:21 PM

By returning the shredded form in the prepaid envelope you have now coat the taxpayer even more money. Thanks a lot.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:21 PM

*cost

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:47 PM

Says someone that collects from the P.O every week :) I pay enough taxes and I put a euro stamp on the envelope I paid for. I over paid so don’t worry your little head mister.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:15 PM

Now that FG are on board for the ‘peoples debates’, I’m SO looking forward to see Enda debate when Vincent comes to Mayo.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:48 PM

Enda will be long gone before then…..
    There is whistle attaches to a shell that will see to that !

Mute moneymaid
    Favourite moneymaid
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:06 PM

I haven’t received any either!

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:16 PM

There are websites ………

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:21 PM

“there are websites” … for fools and sheep :-)

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:24 PM

Spring to defence of the pretty picture ….
    Spring and sheep – read my comment above Ivan regarding leaks and water pressure in mains – I am on your side now get over your temper quick lad !

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:27 PM

Hermes, not said in temper, said while laughing :-)

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:32 PM

Phew – I thought you may have been one of the others .
    Keep laughing – they hate it !
    How did you know about the fools love sheep websites though ? …….I thought I was the only member .

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:39 PM

Hermes,

As I’ll never be ‘setting up an account’ with, or become a ‘customer’ of http://www.water.ie, I’ll wouldn’t know about a website for sheep

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:39 PM

Why do you give me a website that will be known as the home of the Dodo in a few weeks when Europe publishes the names of the H.S.B.C. 350 ?

Mute marty
    Favourite marty
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:33 PM

Irish Water “going to invite us to sign up” i declined the invite.

Place pack into the recycling bin.

I already pay for water thru my motor tax, why should i pay twice.

Have enough bills to pay without support “repay the bankers gamblin fund”

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:44 PM

Let us not lose focus, folks. I myself got a water pack and destroyed in on the grounds that I refused to engage with this entity at all. Others chose a different method, and are now being counted amongst the “customers”, against their will. No matter. The single most important thing we must do is to NOT PAY THEM ANYTHING. I myself, along with tens of thousands of others, will continue to march in protest at the future privatisation, but the single most useful thing that people can do, without any exertion whatever, is NOT PAY. This will see the end of this flagrant attempt to milk and abuse the Irish people even further than has already happened.

Mute Del
    Favourite Del
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:18 PM

I never got anything, and when i rang they said you will get something. i didnt.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Favourite Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:56 PM

Go on your rebel you!!!

Mute Turlough O' Connor
    Favourite Turlough O' Connor
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:36 PM

Even IW are terrified of VB…..lol

Mute Kevin Barry
    Favourite Kevin Barry
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:55 PM

I didn’t get any correspondence from irish water either it would be interesting to see how many people are in the same boat, maybe the journal could take a poll !!!!!

Mute Paul Bracken
    Favourite Paul Bracken
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:38 PM

I’d say he has but just forgot.

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:07 PM

IW were installing meters around my parents locale, and in error placed all their equipment over where my parent’s water meter should have gone. They installed the neighbour’s meters. Cleaned up and left, without fitting the water meter on my parents house. My Dad asked should he contact IW (which is difficult enough).

I know people are going to be anti-IW and paying, which is fair enough, but I’m asking because if there is an issue, where does the fault lie, with the Contractor installing them, IW for the oversight, or my parents for not reporting it.

What should I tell him? Where does he stand?

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:16 PM

So plenty of red thumbs, no actual solutions… greaaat.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:23 PM

Tell them not to worry, IW is no its’ deathbed.
    My parents aren’t paying!

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:23 PM

I told them to sit back for the moment alright. Just see what happens.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 1:41 PM

For all we know Vincent could have an H.S.B.C account –
    He is perfectly happy to add credence to delaying the election by bringing his circus to each constituency – As long as Paddy is looking on and not demanding an election then they are still getting away with it .
    The people decide who to elect – they therefore decide when to elect – tale back your power – only 90 odd yokes in Dail Eireann stand between you and your freedom !

Mute Gary Gary
    Favourite Gary Gary

For all we know you beat your wife!
    What a silly accusation to make

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:03 PM

Well said Gary Gary.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:18 PM

and you have my perspective – How ?
    Hero-worship much Gary ?
    Vincent will save us ! –
    Vincent is a barrister – where are his court cases against the Troika – and the fools look on !
    Snakes within snakes within snakes …..

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:24 PM

Hermes….. any idea when the government are going chase down the 350 (min) Irish People with the secret HSBC accounts?

Mute Gary Gary
    Favourite Gary Gary
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:26 PM

I’m not a big fan of Vincent Browne I find him very amusing.
    My point was you cant throw around serious accusation of tax fraud just because you are a FG shill.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes

With mirrors Ivan .

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:37 PM

For all we know – is not an accusation …..

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:45 PM

Hermes, I’d be very surprised if there isn’t a few FG/Lab/FF/SF among the 350 (tip of iceberg).
    The silence on this issue as been deafening!

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:44 PM

You won’t be surprised – The Cayman have to whistle yet, the Vatican bank and of course the closets’ (who gave Charlie Birdys in Buswells) favourite – Isle of Man .
    Europe will be the downfall of those who tried to sell Eire to it and they would have gotten away with it if it wasn’t for those pesky water fairies !

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:45 PM

Gary – Hermes does not bow to any party or leader – why should he ?

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:53 PM

What water pack?

It must have gone to my Lichenstein Trust which is owned by a Swiss company and operates out of Northern Cyprus.

It is important that the democratise tax avoidance and tax evasion.

Mute Cheeky Barry
    Favourite Cheeky Barry
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:31 PM

“The democratise tax avoidance and tax evasion”

What???

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas

I would say VB can’t see himself in the mirror – and nor can anyone else. I love how all you compulsive wealth sharers (especially somebody else’s wealth) adore the guy. This is a guy who sold his house for €2200000 and bought another for a million and more, who is as establishment as they come (fee paying, rugby playing, boarding school Castleknock College educated), only turned against FG when they turned him down as a candidate, and like most Irish broadcast journalists does not ask questions but rather badgers his guests to agree with his prejudices. I know I will get a shower of red thumbs but you gotta face up to the truth folks.

Mute ciaran mccall
    Favourite ciaran mccall
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:07 PM

I do not hold it against anyone sending their kid to fee paying schools or playing rugby crapology!
    he sold his house to pay his debts or did you not know that….

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:49 PM

Neither do I. But it is mighty easy to be a socialist revolutionary when you have a big bank balance and a private education and even easier to be a permanent critic when you don’t have to take or face responsibility. Has VB paid off his debts yet or is he still writing them off against his current income in a completely legal and tax efficient way? Champagne and smoked salmon make up for the rigours of working class solidarity all right.

Mute Cheeky Barry
    Favourite Cheeky Barry
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:28 PM

Wealth sharers? Don’t make me laugh! What’s to stop you or anyone working towards any goal? House worth 2.2m so should he have sold it for less or what’s your point?

Mute Eamonn Óg Ó Gallachóir
    Favourite Eamonn Óg Ó Gallachóir
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:54 PM

JE SUIS VINCENT

Mute potty o shea
    Favourite potty o shea
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:02 PM

Off this site! So boring. Heard it all before. Yawn yawn ZZZZZZZZZ

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:52 PM

Vincent rocks, I love to see the way he makes some politicians squirm & that look of divilment in his eye! :-)

Mute CitizenSmith©
    Favourite CitizenSmith©
    Feb 25th 2015, 2:38 PM

I haven’t got anything from them either, I am willing to pay but I’m not wasting my time phoning them.

Mute Live Long
    Favourite Live Long
    Feb 25th 2015, 3:22 PM

He didn’t get it because his accountant likely got it on his behalf and paid it.

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Feb 27th 2015, 11:16 AM

Gotten? Where is this word coming from…. are we all Americans now. Have a nice day. I’m good.