You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Von der Leyen asks for male and female Commissioner nominees (but Ireland plans to only send a man)

The Tánaiste said the government’s decision-making shouldn’t be “unduly undermined” by Europe.

URSULA VON DER Leyen has asked all EU countries to nominate both a man and a woman as their candidate for European Commissioner, but Ireland is unlikely to obey.

Tánaiste Micheál Martin has previously shot down the idea, saying the government’s decision-making shouldn’t be “unduly undermined” by Europe.

After being re-elected for a second five-year term as the European Commission’s President, von der Leyen today said:

“In the coming weeks I will ask leaders to put forward their candidates. I will, as I did last time, write a letter and ask for the proposal of a man and a woman as candidates.”

She added that there will be an exception made for when there is an incumbent commissioner staying.

Commissioners are regarded as the highest-ranking diplomats in the EU and are the people who are put in charge of drafting and amending various types of new European policy.

For Ireland, upon the formation of the current government, it was decided that Fianna Fáil would appoint the next EU Commissioner to replace Fine Gael’s Mairead McGuinness.

Michael McGrath, who had been Minister for Finance, was announced last month as Ireland’s pick for Commissioner.

Martin said he had consulted with the Taoiseach about who he selected. 

The Journal previously asked the Tánaiste if he was thinking about putting forward both a male and female for the role. 

However, Martin effectively ruled out such a move, stating:

“We can, although part of me would say that the fundamental rules in terms of national decision-making should not be unduly undermined.

“That would be a traditional view of mine in terms of it’s a decision for each member state.

“We did do that on the last occasion, although it was done in a way that the outcome still became fairly, you know [clear]. So I think we need to be fair in demarcation lines as to the responsibilities, and in this instance, it’s the responsibility of the national government,” he added. 

“I think there’ll be a wider set of considerations and criteria have to come into play. In relation to that, in particular, in terms of the strategic objectives for the country is more important than any electoral consideration,” he said. 

Candidates will be interviewed from mid-August, von der Leyen said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

46 Comments
    Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Jul 18th 2024, 4:34 PM

Just get the best for the job. No shame on choosing a man.

Mute sean mcnamara
    Favourite sean mcnamara
    Jul 18th 2024, 4:40 PM

@Alex: DEI (die) will be the death of the West.

Mute Finian McG
    Favourite Finian McG
    Jul 18th 2024, 4:57 PM

@sean mcnamara: DEI – Didnt Earn It!

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Jul 18th 2024, 4:50 PM

So RTE is maintaining the good ol’ status-quo,. What exactly did Catherine Martin & all those expensive reports actually achieve over last 12 months??

Mute Louise Marie
    Favourite Louise Marie
    Jul 18th 2024, 5:17 PM

@Buster Lawless: Kept her job despite her incompetence. Kept the jobs of those political hacks that serve her. All will be scattered to the winds at the next election.

Mute did you every wonder
    Favourite did you every wonder
    Jul 18th 2024, 5:21 PM

@Buster Lawless: I think they are getting extra funding from our general taxes as well as the tv licence. Basically, what RTE asked for a year ago.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Jul 18th 2024, 5:43 PM

@did you every wonder: Champagne flowing freely in Montrose tonight, the typical ‘irish’ solution……. Get rewarded for scandal& incompetence

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jul 18th 2024, 5:52 PM

@Buster Lawless: the discussion was about funding: licence fee, exchequer , or a mix of the two. They chose the mix of the two option. Nothing else was on the table

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Jul 18th 2024, 5:57 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: nothing else on table??????

1. Close it down.
    2. Go pay-per-view

There’s 2 options there off ‘the bat’

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jul 18th 2024, 6:10 PM

@Buster Lawless: Catherine Martin and Paschal Donohoe did not consider those two options. Once the various audits and reports were completed, and RTE agreed “in principle” to implement the recommendations, the only options on their table were the ones that I listed above

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jul 18th 2024, 7:18 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: Were you there?

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jul 18th 2024, 7:41 PM

@Brian Hunt: no I wasn’t, but I didn’t have to be “there” to know that the government weren’t considering either a sub model or shutting it down – you just need to read, listen or watch to know this. It has been a open discussion for quite some time

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jul 18th 2024, 8:58 PM

@Buster Lawless: Plan all along by Catherine Martin, the Govt & RTE was to leave it as long as possible & let things die down before just continuing the Cosy Cartel. They have actually rewarded Corruption, Deception & Incompetence. No wonder trust in all Irish institutions is finished, those at the top can do as they wish, they can avoid any raids by NCBI, Revenue or CAB, no answers, no one held accountable & all swanning off with mega Exit & Pension packages & their Non Disclosure Agreements. It’s a stain on Irish history & shameful, the State no longer functions for the people, just those in power. RTE has destroyed trust through its lies, misinformation, corruption & deceit, they are the Tass News Agency of Govt. The country is rotten to the core, we need to bring it to the streets.

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    Jul 18th 2024, 9:35 PM

@SV3tN8M4: Do you have a view on the Bertie Kisser not wanting to nominate a woman for the Commissioner Position

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jul 19th 2024, 1:32 AM

@David Murray: No, I dislike the man.

Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Jul 18th 2024, 4:29 PM

that Ursula is some dose

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jul 18th 2024, 6:05 PM

@qffaffaf affrafrfraf: You’re some dose to be fair!

Mute Louise Marie
    Favourite Louise Marie
    Jul 18th 2024, 5:16 PM

Getting really tired of the EU and how little power Ireland (and other small countries) have in this bloated, overgrown club run by the Germans and French for their many vested interests.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Jul 18th 2024, 5:29 PM

@Louise Marie: Yes: we were so prosperous up to 1973.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Jul 18th 2024, 7:23 PM

@Louise Marie: A lot, most, or all decisions need to be agreed by members.
    Ireland, or the representatives, did agree in the past to a lot of them and that’s why ireland is paying fines for several issues year after year.
    Something VRT, several environmental policies.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jul 18th 2024, 11:49 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Not by bread alone does Man live!

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Jul 18th 2024, 5:16 PM

Best person for the job, based on skill set and experience should get it regardless of gender, and not someone as an alternative just so a quota can be filled.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jul 18th 2024, 5:18 PM

Why not send the best qualified person for the job?

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Jul 18th 2024, 4:47 PM

Imagine advertising for a post in your company & you said ” I want male AND female” candidates,????? that would be a ‘career ending’ move & RIGHTLY so

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Jul 19th 2024, 4:16 PM

@Buster Lawless: reminds me of a joke, on the news of the arrival of a new baby to a household along with the enquiry: “well, was it a boy or a child ye had..?”

Mute John Hally
    Favourite John Hally
    Jul 18th 2024, 4:39 PM

Some Green Party wan who will probably lose her seat

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Jul 18th 2024, 4:38 PM

Can’t believe they put her in again. She’s despicable.

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Jul 18th 2024, 4:46 PM

@Ian: she’s talented and not afraid to stand up to terrorists like Hamas

Mute Ronan Meagle
    Favourite Ronan Meagle
    Jul 18th 2024, 5:01 PM

@Pat Hazzard: Hamas is fighting the terrorists who stole their country

Mute Kevin Dillon
    Favourite Kevin Dillon
    Jul 18th 2024, 5:42 PM

@Ronan Meagle: you should read the history of Israel for dummy’s before posting.

Mute tara tevlin
    Favourite tara tevlin
    Jul 18th 2024, 6:11 PM

@Pat Hazzard: Absolutely nonsense she is GENOCIDE

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jul 18th 2024, 9:00 PM

@Pat Hazzard: Your buddies in Fianna Fail voted against her, are ye trying to take over the flip flop mantle.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jul 18th 2024, 9:52 PM

@Ronan Meagle: by putting babies in microwaves?

Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Jul 18th 2024, 5:36 PM

The nominee is the choice of the Government of each member State and I hope the other Governments do not give in to this nonsense. She should not have been put back into that position.

Mute Gavan Hogan
    Favourite Gavan Hogan
    Jul 18th 2024, 5:44 PM

Quite correct
    Let Ireland show how modern we are. We should not put forward a white, middle aged caucasian male for the position of commissioner.
    Should we try a brown skinned, lesbian that was not born in Ireland ? Perhaps Ms. Von Der Leyen would think that Irish people were a great bunch if we could find such a person.
    Come on Ireland, we can find that random person.

Mute tara tevlin
    Favourite tara tevlin
    Jul 18th 2024, 6:10 PM

Dangerous INDIVIDUAL especially for us

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Jul 18th 2024, 7:20 PM

Later, that will become that the man must also be a member of a minority, or the woman should be disabled or from a multicultural background.

Best person for the job should be employed. Not this nonsense.

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    Jul 18th 2024, 9:38 PM

@AnthonyK: In that case the people should decide not the Bertie Kisser

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern
    Jul 18th 2024, 6:47 PM

A terribly sexist request. It should be 2 people.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jul 18th 2024, 8:47 PM

Why does the eu prioritise everyone outside the eu entering it than those within it?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jul 18th 2024, 9:52 PM

@Paddy C: it doesn’t.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Jul 18th 2024, 4:33 PM

Dies thus mean that it’s a done deal?

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jul 19th 2024, 7:34 AM

Tanaiste doesn’t want to call the Covid investigation an Inquiry, he could call it a COVID Cover Up instead, as that is exactly what it is. Doesn’t want himself or Varadkar held responsible for the thousands of needless deaths caused by them ignoring advice & allowing the UK Variant swamp the country. Another cover up in Irish history to match those of the Magdalene Laundries, Mother & Baby Homes, Letterfrack & yet another Fianna Fail & Fine Gael shameful involvement in hiding the truth.

Mute Grainne Kelly
    Favourite Grainne Kelly
    Jul 18th 2024, 9:22 PM

No surprises there! Big big bunch of misogynists in our Government!

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Jul 19th 2024, 7:31 AM

It is not repeat not in Ireland’s interests to alienate the President of the Commission, however much we may have reservations about her and however serious those reservations may be.

It does the national interest no harm to offer a second name for the Irish Commissioner. It does it no good to refuse this reasonable request

Mute Tommy445
    Favourite Tommy445
    Jul 19th 2024, 7:29 AM

She is the face of evil