You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

University Hospital Waterford. RollingNews

Waterford TD apologises for 'upset' caused by projecting election ad onto palliative care building

The display projected the words “vote Shanahan” onto a palliative care and oncology building at University Hospital Waterford.

WATERFORD INDEPENDENT TD Matt Shanahan has apologised for “any upset” he caused by projecting an election ad on a hospital building housing palliative care and oncology services.

The HSE this morning told The Journal that University Hospital Waterford has urged “respect” for “the privacy and dignity of [its] patients, visitors and staff”.

The hospital is appealing for activity of this nature to be conducted “outside the boundaries” of its campus, the HSE added.

The HSE said hospital management learned of the projected image at 7pm on Wednesday evening and it ceased at 8pm “after engagement with the parties involved”.

WLRFM reported yesterday that Shanahan used a laser display to project “vote Shanahan” on the hospital’s Dunmore Wing.

The building in question houses a hospice care ward and oncology services. 

Shanahan said this morning that he apologised for any upset caused by using the Dunmore Wing to raise awareness of his election campaign. 

He had initially defended his actions last night, stating that the illumination to the gable end of the hospital wing lasted 90 minutes and “could not disturb or be seen in any way by patients resident”.

Wicklow Social Democrats TD Jennifer Whitmore, whose sister died in the Dunmore Wing two years ago, said she was “disgusted” by Shanahan’s use of the building.

This morning, Shanahan said that he had made a mistake and he hoped voters would judge him on his campaigning record, not this “one event”.

“I was trying as I have done repeatedly in the Dail, to shine a light on the issues facing our hospital which remains completely underfunded. In this instance, with this activity I regret any upset caused,” Shanahan said.

“I am deeply passionate about University Hospital Waterford, and I hope the people of Waterford know that. My activity was solely directed  at keeping UHW and allied services at the forefront of our regional political debate.”

Shanahan has previously campaigned for improved hospital services in Waterford, founding the South East Hospitals Action Alliance. The advocacy group protested against the downgrading of Waterford Regional Hospital (now UHW) in the 2012 budget.

In 2016, Shanahan founded Health Equality For the South East, to improve UHW cardiology services with a second cath lab and 24/7 percutaneous coronary intervention capability. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 53 comments
53 Comments
    Mute Don Johnson
    Favourite Don Johnson
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:15 AM

No regard for the sick and dying. Perfectly suited to politics.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:20 AM

@Don Johnson: a LOT of votes lost with this sick stunt hopefully

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:26 AM

@Don Johnson: How did this affect anyone who is sick or dying? Talk about blowing things out of proportion.

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:33 AM

@Ger Whelan: if you are walking in there everyday to sit next to a dying loved one as I have this is the height of insensitivity…

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:38 AM

@Ger Whelan: where do you draw the line??? advertising on coffins?? A very sick, totally inappropriate stunt & good to see him getting called out on it

Mute Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Favourite Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:23 AM

In a statement last night, when he was called out on it, he refused to apologize. The arrogance is breathtaking

Mute Jen McC
    Favourite Jen McC
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:36 AM

@Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo: Yeah, I saw that on Facebook. He only apologised when he got backlash for it. He’s not sorry at all.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 28th 2024, 1:08 PM

@Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo:
    More chance of U turn Mary’s Sinn Fein apologising for what their thug wing did to the Irish people over the decades.

Mute Fidgenti
    Favourite Fidgenti
    Nov 28th 2024, 3:28 PM

@H Woo: SF never did anything to me over the decades. What did they do to you exactly?
    FG and FF’s Greed and Lies wing have done me a lot more harm.
    If the SF you fantasize about actually existed, Micheál, Simon and Leo would have all been found in skips with a couple of holes in the back of their heads.

Mute Frank Tobin
    Favourite Frank Tobin
    Nov 28th 2024, 8:35 PM

@Jen McC: normally you should have to get permission to show anything on private grounds, typical of the idiot politicians who think they can do what they want when canvassing.

Mute I Am
    Favourite I Am
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:40 AM

There are simply not enough Micheal Martin ads on Journal.

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power

As someone who’s spent time in that hospice and the fantastic staff..shame on him..

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:43 AM

@Comments Section Closed: don’t be a child..spent time in the building..

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Nov 28th 2024, 5:30 PM

@Clare Power: ..yes on a TROLLey

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:35 AM

This guy is a fake Independent TD. He’s got strong Fine Gael ties and vote lock-step with them on every proposal that has come to a vote. All you have to do is look up his voting record on the Dáil website. If you actually want proper Independents in the Dáil and not Independents in the name only, vote this guy out. He has backed every single one of Fine Gael’s wacky environmental policies, their left-wing economic policies and their disgusting anti-Israel stance.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 28th 2024, 12:59 PM

@Frank O’Hara:
    The fact he did not vote with the lefty lefy clown car.
    Means he has some cope on and descenty in him.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Nov 28th 2024, 1:55 PM

@H Woo: He precisely did vote with the clown car that is Fine Gael. Fine Gael are a bunch of left-wing tools who want open borders, high taxes, abortion on demand, LGBT indoctrination in schools, rent and price controls and are virulently anti-Israel. You’ve got your logic twisted Woo.

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:36 AM

Numpty Dumpty
    Sat in the Dail
    Numpty Dumpty
    Had a great fall.
    All the back handers
    And the closed ring of friends
    Couldn’t put Ireland together Again

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Nov 28th 2024, 2:47 PM

@Liam Meade: Another William McGonagal!

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:32 AM

Numpty dumpty dail..

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:46 AM

You would get more decent in the toughest wing off any prison then most off politicians , pure dirt

Mute Sean Lyne
    Favourite Sean Lyne
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:29 AM

People are dying for a government that will
    make health care a no. 1 priority.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 28th 2024, 1:00 PM

@Sean Lyne:
    Opposition lefties have fugees as their priority.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:32 AM

He’s moved on from victim blaming then? The irony is that it was he who no situational awareness’ on this occasion. What a toss pot.

Mute Tricia G28
    Favourite Tricia G28
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:15 AM

Additionally, he wasn’t paying attention to his “situational awareness” when choosing to advertise against a Hospital……. Such poor choices…. Only himself to blame……

Mute Tricia G28
    Favourite Tricia G28
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:11 AM

Well, all he’s done it demonstrate his complete lack of cop on.

Some choices are bad, and probably not much of a big deal in the grand scheme of things BUT the fact that someone makes that choice, that is what’s telling…….

Mute Minnie Mouse
    Favourite Minnie Mouse
    Nov 28th 2024, 2:02 PM

If, as Shanahan says, his concern was to promote the interest of the hospital then why was the projected message simply saying: “Vote Shanahan”? Why not say “Fund this hospital properly”. Methinks Shanahan is being economical with his perception of truth.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Nov 28th 2024, 12:19 PM

Ban all posters, period. A throwback to the nineteen thirties!

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT

4 comments so far. If he was FF or FG the usual suspects would be apoplectic with rage and demanding heads to roll. But he’s independent so they don’t care.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 28th 2024, 12:44 PM

Speaking of state run facilities, interesting fact check today on the number of hotel and B&B beds that have been repurposed to house asylum seekers and Ukrainian refugees. Seems the tourist industry hasn’t been destroyed after all

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 28th 2024, 12:50 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Yes: Peadar Tóibín spreading misinformation.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Nov 28th 2024, 1:01 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: you forgot to say ‘again’

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Nov 28th 2024, 1:02 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Yeah, they just close down the hotel instead as was done in our town. It’s used for accommodation for IPAs.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 28th 2024, 1:16 PM

@Clare Power: I wonder how many of them there are? In my town, 2 hotels have been repurposed. One is registered with Failte Ireland, the other probably not as it had been out of use for many years

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Nov 28th 2024, 1:18 PM

@Kevin Kerr: our hotel was in use…now any tourist must stay outside the city centre..

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 28th 2024, 1:20 PM

@Clare Power: and it’s not registered with Failte Ireland?

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Nov 28th 2024, 1:26 PM

@Kevin Kerr: I don’t know that Kevin, to be honest, it’s been the only hotel in the city centre for years… was a working hotel, and one day, it was shut.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 28th 2024, 2:14 PM

@Clare Power: ah, I misinterpreted your original post!

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Nov 28th 2024, 2:55 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Kevin and Brendan, pair of gimps having a simp competition.

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Nov 28th 2024, 4:12 PM

@Freda Peeple: They’re the same person.

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Nov 28th 2024, 4:16 PM

@Kevin Kerr: There you go, two hotels in one town, does that not seem a lot to you? And how many towns across Ireland are in this situation, where i live there are 3 hotels closed to tourists because they now housing immigrants, how much do you think that takes out of the local economy.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 28th 2024, 4:27 PM

@Seanie: I never said it didn’t affect the local economy. My post relates to the fact check article which found that 12% of tourist beds have been repurposed for asylum seekers – according to Peader Toibin on the immigration debate on Monday, this number is 33%. Quite the disconnect. Also, there is a narrative from certain journal commenters that our tourist industry has been destroyed – again, quite the exaggeration, but I accept it is a challenge

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Nov 28th 2024, 4:41 PM

@Seanie: No, you’re wrong….why don’t u direct your anger somewhere else instead of blaming me for somebody else’s slight.

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Nov 28th 2024, 5:04 PM

@Clare Power: what are you on about? What did i blame you for?…..Did i somehow direct anger at you? Are you paranoid often?

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Nov 28th 2024, 5:10 PM

@Seanie: Sorry, my bad, that was meant for Freda…but as you suggested myself and Kevin are not one..

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Nov 28th 2024, 5:21 PM

@Clare Power: Is that you Brendan, have you forgotten to switch profiles, as you might notice my reply to Freda above referred to Brendan and Kevin no mention of Clare Power, big slip up.

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Nov 28th 2024, 5:22 PM

@Seanie: nor brendan either…I’m my own woman thanks

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Nov 28th 2024, 5:23 PM

@Seanie: I replied to your inferring myself and Kevin were the same..

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Nov 28th 2024, 5:28 PM

@Clare Power: Really Brendan, go back and look at it, no mention of Clare Power, Hard to believe that you accuse people of having multiple profiles but you’re no different…hypocrite.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Nov 28th 2024, 11:25 AM

‘There is no such thing as bad publicity. Let’s do this!’
    Erm….

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Nov 28th 2024, 1:20 PM

That’s typifies the level of intellect that’s trying to run the country. Well matched to the incumbents.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Nov 28th 2024, 2:56 PM

Noel O’Donovan (Cork SW) is using one of those traffic warning signs which usually signal road works, diversions, closures, etc. to flash ‘Vote No 1 Noel O’ Donovan’. On the N71.

Mute Steve Davis
    Favourite Steve Davis
    Nov 28th 2024, 6:32 PM

Is he going to apologise for all the lies he told during his campaign???