You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Snow in Ballingeary, West Cork Andy Gibson

Drivers warned of hazardous conditions as Status Orange snow warnings take effect in 11 counties

The All-Ireland semi-final between Errigal Ciaran and Dr Crokes has been postponed following a pitch inspection at Laois Hire O’Moore Park.

LAST UPDATE | 4 Jan

STATUS ORANGE WARNINGS have been issued for counties in the south of the country across this weekend, while the rest of the country is under various Status Yellow warnings. 

A status orange rain and snow warning has been issued for counties Cork, Kerry, and Waterford, valid until 5pm tomorrow. Heavy rain transitioning to sleet and snow with significant accumulations is expected.

The same three counties also face a status yellow rain warning, which took effect at 1pm and will remain until 5pm tomorrow. Heavy rain transitioning to sleet and snow is expected, with potential impacts said to include hazardous travelling conditions, poor visibility, travel disruption, and localised flooding.

Cork County Council said its crews have inspected key high-risk areas and “will continue to monitor the situation throughout the period”. Sandbags and pumping arrangements have been put in place where required. As a precautionary measure, flood barriers are being erected in Fermoy and Mallow, it said.

Motorists are asked to avoid unnecessary journeys as driving conditions will be hazardous. Never drive through flooded roads, the depth of the water can be deceiving.Rainfall may limit the effectiveness of salting already undertaken. Motorists should continue to exercise care even where roads have been treated.

Members of the public can contact Cork County Council’s Out of Hours number 021 4800048 to report any out of hours issues.

A status orange snow-ice warning has been issued for counties Carlow, Kilkenny, Laois, Offaly, Wicklow, Limerick, Clare, and Tipperary

The impacts are expected to include very difficult travelling conditions, poor visibility, travel disruption delays to public transport likely (air, rail, bus), difficult conditions underfoot, and animal welfare issues, Met Éireann said. 

The All-Ireland semi-final between Errigal Ciaran and Dr Crokes that was meant to take place tomorrow has been postponed following a pitch inspection at Laois Hire O’Moore Park.

A status yellow snow-ice warning for Cavan, Donegal, Monaghan, Dublin, Kildare, Longford, Louth, Meath, Westmeath, and Connacht has been issued, valid from 5pm this evening until 5pm tomorrow.

Wexford also faces a status yellow warning, for rain and snow, valid until 5pm tomorrow. 

All of Northern Ireland is under a status yellow snow and ice warning, valid from 9pm tonight until 6pm tomorrow evening. 

In a post to X, Taoiseach Simon Harris warned of the severity of the weather conditions. “From this evening until tomorrow evening, significant snow and sleet will fall,” he said.

“A particular challenge with this weather event is that it will remain very cold for most of next week so it will take time for snow, ice etc to thaw. All relevant government agencies and stakeholders are working closely together, nationally and locally.”

Harris added that there are gritting plans in place by local authorities and road agencies, but warned of adverse travelling conditions. He also said that there are plans in place to aid people sleeping rough during the cold snap.

“Please follow updates and advice,” he finished. 

National Emergency Co-ordination Group

Local Authority Severe Weather Assessment Teams (SWATs) continue to monitor conditions locally and emergency response are ready to respond where and when necessary, the National Emergency Co-ordination Group said.

Adequate salt supplies are in place, and local authorities will continue to salt roads as well as footpaths in urban centres where possible.

The National Transport Authority has confirmed that all public transport authorities are on alert in anticipation of potential disruption due to the predicted weather. Commuters should check with their operator before undertaking any public transport journeys.

National Director of the National Directorate for Fire and Emergency Management, Keith Leonard, emphasised the safety advice for the public – which includes careful driving given the conditions and checking with public service operations for disruptions caused to various public transports. 

“We are going to see difficult travel conditions for much of the country in the coming days,” he said. ”Footpaths can also be extremely hazardous and slippery due to ice so please take extra care while walking.

“Public transport may also be affected by this spell of wintry weather, so I’d advise people to check with service operators for the latest updates in their area.”

He said that the department is liaising with regional leads to provide emergency beds for rough sleepers.

“Finally, I would urge all members of the public to take extra care with all activities and to check out the Met Éireann and Be Winter Ready websites for further updates and advice.”

Uisce Éireann

Uisce Éireann has issued a reminder to people to protect their water pipes from the freezing weather at home or in their business/farm.

It said to check outside pipes that can become frozen and burst during periods of cold weather and, if possible, turn off water supply to these areas or to any unoccupied premises.

Uisce Éireann is asking people to conserve water and not to leave taps running as this will not necessarily prevent pipes from freezing and can impact on your local water supply.

Uisce Éireann Customers can check their website and social media channels for updates and to get in touch with any issues or concerns via their 24/7 customer care centre at 1800 278 278. People can also sign up online to free text alert system to get regular updates about their local supplies – see www.water.ie.

Temperature drops

Over the weekend, temperatures are expected to be dropping to -7 in some places at night, and the long cold snap is expected to stick around well into next week. 

Phoenix Park-2_90719892 Morning joggers and runners out for some exercise in Phoenix Park this morning, as frost blankets the Dublin Mountains in the background. Leon Farrell / © RollingNews.ie Leon Farrell / © RollingNews.ie / © RollingNews.ie

Motorists are expected to check their tyre tread before driving, including spare wheels they might be travelling with, to insure the tread has not fallen below 3mm. If it is the case, the RSA says motorists must replace the tyre.

Similarly, motorists must make sure all of the lights on their vehicles are in working order before driving and that all windows and mirrors are clean and clear. Drivers are asked to travel with care, at a safe speed and a safe distance from others.

Drivers should consider taking a hi-vis vest, a tow rope, spare fuel, a shovel, boots and other emergency equipment with them when travelling and also allocating extra time for their journey.

In a statement yesterday, Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine Charlie McConalogue called on farmers to prioritise safety during the current cold spell of weather.

“I am urging all farmers, fishers and everyone in rural areas to be extra careful during the current cold spell of weather,” he said.

“While farmers always make every effort to look after livestock during poor weather, they must prioritise their own safety and the safety of those working and living in rural communities.

“Livestock are resilient during cold weather once they have access to adequate feed and shelter. It is important that farmers have measures in place to ensure outwintered and housed livestock have access to fresh water during freezing conditions.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 128 comments
128 Comments
    Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Jan 4th 2025, 8:56 AM

Thoughts with our homeless people on the streets. Must be absolutely horrific.

Mute Philip Gallagher
    Favourite Philip Gallagher
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:11 AM

@Brian Dunne: My thoughts too. I woke up last night at 2am. A neighbors cat who calls here all the time was crying at the back door. He was in a state. My advice to anyone. If you think it’s not too cold to let an animal outside. Go outside and sit with them.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:30 AM

@Philip Gallagher: Fur coat for parity?

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:52 AM

@Brian Dunne: my thoughts exactly… I personally never used to feel the cold. I’m lucky enough to be in my Mum’s house now but I’m almost blue with the cold (in Dublin with broken central heating). I was on the streets for a period during the lockdowns. Grim. I can’t even imagine how these poor people are coping it makes me physically ill. Oh and not everyone sleeping rough is on drink or drugs BTW… I’ve lost 2 friends on the streets who died from pure exposure.

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Jan 4th 2025, 1:13 PM

@Philip Gallagher: A healthy animal, well nourished and provided with shelter shouldn’t have any issues in our Irish winter weather. We start feeding our dogs extra portions from end September to prepare for cold weather.
    Just don’t bring in cats and dogs to an overheated house and then expect them to do ok in cold outside temperatures.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jan 4th 2025, 1:49 PM

@Athena: Our ‘Irish winter weather ‘ is comparatively mild.. and well nourished / sheltered animals will generally be fine. But during these cold snaps ,with temps expected to drop as low as -10, extra measures have to be taken.. Cats and dogs should a should absolutely not be left outside in freezing temperatures!

Mute Philip Gallagher
    Jan 4th 2025, 2:19 PM

@Basildon Joe: The Joe family will be frozen out ie. Muted

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Jan 4th 2025, 2:48 PM

@Philip Gallagher:
    Good advice.

Mute Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Favourite Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Jan 4th 2025, 2:59 PM

@Philip Gallagher: cats will always find a warm place on a cold night particularly feral cats who will stay under the bonnet of a car or squeeze in behind bales of hay

Mute Philip Gallagher
    Jan 4th 2025, 3:13 PM

@Dr Albert S Meinheimer: Yes they will. This cat found my house. He’s welcome here. I’ve found out from my neighbor that they have a new baby. The cat won’t stay in the house and wants out all the time. Cats are independent, do what they like. That can be their downfall. He was crying at my door for a reason

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jan 4th 2025, 3:50 PM

@Brian: why do they sell fully insulated kennels and some dogs get heavy winter coats?

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Jan 4th 2025, 4:24 PM

@Philip Gallagher: cats Meow all the time how are they crying at your door because of a bit of frost ? Give me strength with this generation of cry babys. No wonder Putin invaded.

Mute Philip Gallagher
    Jan 4th 2025, 4:45 PM

@James Rowan: it was -3 here last night. Cats only meow to humans. I have two cats of my own. I’m 51 years of age, so not sure what you mean by This generation. I can assure you, my generation were no pushovers , but we have empathy. That includes animals.

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Jan 4th 2025, 5:28 PM

@Brian: Yeah, put turnout rugs on cattle, badgers and foxes. I’m not suggesting to keep your cavachon outside over night, however wet weather is worse than cold weather for most animals.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jan 4th 2025, 6:46 PM

@Athena: load of crap if the weather is Cold have your Animals in where its warm & cosy with water I keep my cat & Dog in & they are happy to be in, their paws get sore in the frost & Pets love to be with u & safe

Mute Mark Sheehan
    Favourite Mark Sheehan
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:15 PM

@Brian Dunne: ask my bollix

Mute Philip Gallagher
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:25 PM

@Sheila McNulty: I don’t get why this is an issue with people, unless they don’t have pets. My cats are family. If another animal strays into my garden or community and needs help, they’ll get it. That includes birds, cats, dogs etc. Sheila, you sound very sensible and people do need to hear this

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:28 PM

@Brian Dunne: Why? Most of them are on the streets by choice? Plenty of alternatives are available.

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:34 PM

@Brian Dunne: Why? Most of them are on the streets by choice. Plenty of help available if they accept.

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:35 PM

@Brian Dunne: Why? Most of them are on the streets by choice. Plenty of help available if they avail of it

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:51 PM

@Philip Gallagher: Funny

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 9:03 PM

@Brian Dunne: Why?

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:49 PM

@Brian Dunne: Thoughts with our hard working people of Ireland;

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey
    Jan 4th 2025, 9:44 AM

I could be wrong but why does seem like this is being blown out of all proportion……….as a precaution.

Mute keith fay
    Favourite keith fay
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:42 AM

@reg morrisey: it’s not, the normal places are offering the usual warnings and advice. We’re not receiving government alerts on our phones. If you don’t listen to the regular news bulletins or actively look at articles, you would hear nothing about this.

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:14 AM

@reg morrisey: Well up to minus 10 and over 40cm of snow in some parts over the next few days warrants warnings doesn’t it?!?!….. Dangerous roads, dangerous paths, killer temperatures if you get stuck out doors or have no heating for whatever reason….. Freezing ice will turn roads into ice rinks

Mute Gavan Hogan
    Favourite Gavan Hogan
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:18 AM

@reg morrisey: Have you looked out the window ?

Mute J Cronin
    Favourite J Cronin
    Jan 4th 2025, 12:23 PM

@reg morrisey: Based on what’s happening currently it seems as if it is, but the next few days will tell more. I drove from Killarney to Cork City last night at 1am and it was 1 degrees.

Mute keith fay
    Favourite keith fay
    Jan 4th 2025, 2:32 PM

@Basildon Joe: if you actually read the news article you would see the snow is estimated to start at 5pm today in the affected areas

Mute Marie Agnew
    Favourite Marie Agnew
    Jan 4th 2025, 2:33 PM

@Basildon Joe: Google Michael Fish 1987 how he the weather forecaster put it out on air that a caller was talking rubbish when he called to say there was a hurricane on the way! Next day 18 people dead and 2billion worth of damage!! These things can happen if we think weather forecasts as ‘fake news’
    The man’s legacy was this faux pas, he never lived it down. On YouTube

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:31 PM

@keith fay: Government alerts on your phone for a bit of freezing temperatures??!! Lol..

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 8:10 PM

@reg morrisey: Because it is and we know it is but the young snowflake media doesn’t know!

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    Jan 4th 2025, 8:38 PM

@keith fay: RTE showed a snow covered gaa pitch in laois earlier warning of severe disruption. I can state here and now there isn’t even a bit of frost on the ground in Portlaoise since 9am this morning. When ye see that kinda s@#te ye have to wonder are we been talked into a panick for no reason. Current temp 2 degrees and a pleasant evening for a walk.

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Jan 4th 2025, 8:56 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: 40cm? Ah come off it.

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:50 PM

@reg morrisey: Because you are right

Jan 4th 2025, 11:10 PM

@Robert Clifford: Windy app predicts that for north Kerry and south clare over a two day period….. They’re quite accurate….. Time will tell!!!

Jan 4th 2025, 11:17 PM

@Robert Clifford: 2 inches so far at 21:00….. Getting there!!!!…. The forecast and apps are there for all to use and verify information!!!

https://x.com/therhysstewart/status/1875653494428102704?t=Rwlrlp9kKom51WOjOF_MVg&s=19

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Jan 4th 2025, 9:18 AM

Panic about nathin….jaysus I’ve seen more frost on the end of a loop the loop. In my days it was so cold ya were jealous of the sibling who got to lay in bed for a week roaring with a fever!

Mute Larry Whack
    Favourite Larry Whack
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:44 AM

@Dan The Man: Brilliant!

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:27 AM

I could live till next Friday off the body fat I put on over Xmas. No panic here.

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:34 AM

@Paul Whitehead: Hmmm… That also means someone else could live off you till next Friday, so mind yourself out there!

Mute Bert Carolan
    Favourite Bert Carolan
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:35 AM

@Paul Whitehead: Actually Paul you might have something there.

Mute Marjory
    Favourite Marjory
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:06 AM

For the love of God, you’d think it was the end of the world.
    Dunne’s in Sandyford was struggling mid-afternoon yesterday.
    It’ll probably be worse today.
    People need to cop on!

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:25 AM

@Marjory: exactly

Mute Arcadian Productions
    Favourite Arcadian Productions
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:30 AM

@Basildon Joe: Thanks for reminding me to mute you.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:40 AM

@Basildon Joe: BBC and RTE don’t do forecasts. The Met Office and Met Eireann do, however.

Mute Stephen Wallis
    Favourite Stephen Wallis
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:49 AM

@Basildon Joe: You obviously don’t understand the concept of a “forecast” – something that will happen in the future.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 4th 2025, 1:03 PM

@Basildon Joe: BBC doing UK weather RTE doing Irish weather , a massive difference!

Mute Marie Agnew
    Favourite Marie Agnew
    Jan 4th 2025, 2:37 PM

@Marjory: we’ll if those Dunnes shoppers were like me, I hadn’t shopped in two weeks and my vouchers were to run out yesterday so I decided to use them!! Simple, no panics buying! And suppliers are not back to full throttle yet either

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jan 4th 2025, 3:39 PM

@Basildon Joe: Looks like you think you can tell the future. Nobody lied, you just can’t read.

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:59 PM

@Basildon Joe: You’re absolutely right!

Mute Jen McC
    Favourite Jen McC
    Jan 4th 2025, 9:42 AM

People panic buying again, I see. Wild behaviour.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:00 AM

@Jen McC: Shelves bare.went to Dunnes last night about 6.30 for ready dinners for elderly aunt.all gone.no bread,no milk,cream,chicken,meat,
    It was Armageddon. Lucky I got a couple rolls toilet paper.

Mute Jen McC
    Favourite Jen McC
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:39 AM

@Dave Barrett: my local Tesco had restocked this morning, but no doubt it’ll be all gone shortly. Honestly, it’s shameful that some are buying more than they need. Like the start of Covid all over again.

Mute Marie Agnew
    Favourite Marie Agnew
    Jan 4th 2025, 2:35 PM

@Dave Barrett: that’s because suppliers were not in full operation after Christmas lol!!!

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Jan 4th 2025, 2:55 PM

@Jen McC:
    Will loo rolls be exempt this time from the mass buying.

Mute Jarlath Costello
    Favourite Jarlath Costello
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:25 AM

I never knew snow was a laxative, but based on all the toilet paper people are buying, I guess it must be

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Jan 4th 2025, 1:08 PM

Some brilliant news has now just been announced by RTÉ that tells us that the Taoiseach has been briefed on the severe cold snap and snow event across the country, isn’t that bloody wonderful.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jan 4th 2025, 4:57 PM

@Leonard Barry: that guy never did anything during COVID
    don’t expect him to do anything now

Mute Brenda McCormack and Holly
    Favourite Brenda McCormack and Holly
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:01 AM

Get over yourselves it’s Winter. What do you expect.

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:05 AM

@Brian Dunne: yes, I think anyone who is existing on the streets in weather such as this is in a really precarious situation unless they can get indoors.

Mute daz Carroll
    Favourite daz Carroll
    Jan 4th 2025, 12:27 PM

Thinking of all the homeless out in this weather I passed a homeless person earlier and offered him a place to stay for a few nigths get a shower and some food and he thanked me but declined my offer, so I went over and got him some hot food and cup of tea and he was the most gratefull person youl ever set your eyes on …..government are a shambolic disgrace

Mute Marie Agnew
    Favourite Marie Agnew
    Jan 4th 2025, 2:42 PM

@daz Carroll: A Good Samaritan well done to you

Mute furry01
    Favourite furry01
    Jan 5th 2025, 12:54 PM

@daz Carroll: Of all the things that didn’t happen recently, this didn’t happen the most. Christmas fables.

Mute Philip Slevin
    Favourite Philip Slevin
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:32 AM

A spare can of fuel in the boot of the car is probably the most dangerous thing you could put in the car.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:39 AM

@Philip Slevin: it’s lethal.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 4th 2025, 1:11 PM

@Philip Slevin: Not if it is the right type of container!

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 4th 2025, 4:02 PM

@Philip Slevin: But isn’t there already a ‘container of fuel’ in nearly every car?

Mute K O
    Favourite K O

Journo got it wrong 1.6 mm is the legal tread depth of tyres not 3mm , unless the journal is now making up the laws which wouldn’t surprise me

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:55 AM

@K O: it doesn’t matter how much treat you have if your tyre are regular summer tyres, the compound gets rock hard below 0° and plus the tread pattern cannot grip the snow and ice/slush and you just wheel spin no nowhere. All cars should have at least all seasons on their cars for this climate. I’ve got Michelin cross climates with 3 peak snow rating for my driving job. You can drive them all year plus they work on snow and ice, the grip is unreal they are pricey but you can get a cheaper alternative at least they would be better than summer tyres.

Mute James Brennan
    Favourite James Brennan
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:06 PM

@brendan C5: wouldnt they fail the nct in summer months? Not joking here, had a puncture early December, outside my local area, went to a near by tyre place and guy said the tire with a puncture was a all weather winter tyre and so was the one i changed it with and so was the other back tyre, so warned me it would fail nct cause of the tyres

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:32 PM

@James Brennan: they are all season tyres with three peaks symbol they can be used all year round I’ve used them for 10 years no problems with the NCT, I’ve the NCT test in August every year.

Mute James Mullen
    Favourite James Mullen
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:54 AM

The Sheep are showing up again.
    Driven by Government and Media Waffle ( Covid).
    And yes, I do feel for the Homeless.I wonder would our Government have anything to do with that situation?
    Looked outside a few minutes ago and I swear I seen a large Group of Seagulls having a Dance. Looking forward to All the Stale Bread in the coming Days I presume.
    I shake my Head everyday at the Irish Herd Mentality, will we ever
    Mature and up.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:08 AM

@James Mullen: Huh?

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:28 AM

@James Mullen: Which Shepard on YouTube do you follow?

Mute James Mullen
    Favourite James Mullen
    Jan 4th 2025, 12:17 PM

@Sal Paradise: Yeah,The Good Shepherd.The Ultimate Source.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jan 4th 2025, 12:53 PM

@James Mullen: Sheep like you need to smarten up.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 4th 2025, 1:10 PM

@James Mullen: That media waffle is about a virus that tool over 7 million people. With over two and a half million active cases in Europe today!
    I think you might want to think again!

Mute Joe Byrne
    Favourite Joe Byrne
    Jan 4th 2025, 9:58 AM

No bread in the shops.

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon

@Joe Byrne: Even the gluten-free variety that tastes like sawdust was gone! It’s the end of the world, I tells ya…

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:31 AM

In bread we trust

Mute Ich
    Favourite Ich
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:57 AM

@William Tallon: I got my “German style” Biona wholegrain rye sourdough black bread that no one here likes and often is referred to as birds feed… :-D

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Jan 4th 2025, 3:46 PM

I think the government are looking to boost grocery, home heating oil, and fuel sales to try recoup there give away promises before the election and help simon Harris and Helen McEntee the two ministers for the whole world pay for all the guests the keep inviting

Mute Dixie
    Favourite Dixie
    Jan 4th 2025, 12:57 PM

This cold snap might make our illegal visitors think twice about staying

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Jan 4th 2025, 3:16 PM

@Dixie:
    Certainly the ones from Africa and, Asia,
    They don’t consider that before they come.
    The cold is certainly an eye opener.

Mute Always Question
    Favourite Always Question
    Jan 4th 2025, 1:38 PM

‘All relevant government agencies and stakeholders are working close together…….’ Well let’s see how well you do when you ‘work’ and hopefully there will be no deaths. It’s not a a very big country. If you can’t keep your citizens (and invitees) alive during a bit of a cold snap, perhaps you’re not good at your job. Beg your pardon, but I get a bit fed up of these guys weighing in on any bit of news to get their names in the paper with their transparent virtue signalling.

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:40 AM

Lovely here on my hotel balcony in Puerto Rico

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:45 AM

@barry williams: I said that to my oldest yesterday but for our gang of animals I’d be off in tenerife for the winter…groceries certainly a hell of alot cheaper there…my arthritis is killing me here….enjoy!

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Jan 4th 2025, 1:43 PM

@Clare Power: thanks Clare . Strangely enough nobody back home is appreciating the photos we are sending them. Very odd

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jan 4th 2025, 1:43 PM

@Clare Power: Groceries may be much cheaper but minimum wage is about €37 a day.

Mute Marie Agnew
    Favourite Marie Agnew
    Jan 4th 2025, 2:44 PM

@Clare Power: was in Tenerife for a day and night recently, ugh!! I’d rather suffer the cold. It’s gone downhill so badly. Full of grumpy retired Brit’s on scooters, maybe you had a better experience

Mute Dixie
    Favourite Dixie
    Jan 4th 2025, 3:24 PM

@barry williams: the snow on the Irish mountains is a much better picture than anything you could send from Puerto Rico with their rocky beaches

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 4th 2025, 4:05 PM

@Sun Rise: Is it not €81? (6 hours €13.50)

Mute Ethan Gannon
    Favourite Ethan Gannon
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:03 AM

Met Éireann talkin smack

Mute biggybald
    Favourite biggybald
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:51 PM

@Ethan Gannon: Ahh were you in America for a few months guy?

Mute Ethan Gannon
    Favourite Ethan Gannon
    Jan 5th 2025, 9:20 AM

@biggybald: you just worry about yourself

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Jan 4th 2025, 1:40 PM

All the panic, no milk or bread, people have been brainwashed.

Mute Patrick Westman
    Favourite Patrick Westman
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:25 PM

@Shane O Mac: It’s a Brennan’s Bread plot.

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:26 AM

All those poor refugees from England will wish they were back in their warm beds in London and Birmingham.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:28 AM

@Dan Murphy: Colder in the UK

Mute J Cronin
    Favourite J Cronin
    Jan 4th 2025, 12:20 PM

Fine, soft, mild day here in Cork.

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 6:59 PM

Met Eireann should be prosecuted for creating mass hysteria and fear. A pleasant 2° here and if it gets under 0° then it’s January and not July. Normal temperatures for this time of year I think! Questions need to be asked by the government of the recruitment process for that body. Absolutely fed up with listening to the weather warnings to scare the bejasus out of us and then low and behold it doesn’t happen. The amount of tractors on the roads today carrying supplies for the farm animals was unreal. Swear there was a nuclear war coming!! Tomorrow is going to be ok folks and I’m not a weatherman. I’m still driving to work on Monday!

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Jan 4th 2025, 5:52 PM

IS there anything to be said for another mass?

Mute Patrick Westman
    Favourite Patrick Westman
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:23 PM

@Mick Hanna: a Latin mass ?

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Jan 4th 2025, 3:41 PM

I really think met eireann are at it again

Mute did you every wonder
    Favourite did you every wonder
    Jan 4th 2025, 4:00 PM

@N D K: Yep, just raining here in the souh east. No orange snow warning needed.

Mute Toyo Ke
    Favourite Toyo Ke
    Jan 4th 2025, 6:40 PM

@did you every wonder: Yeah, all geared up with roaring fire here in the south east. It’s raining out, but quite mild. No, doubt (?) the cold is on the way.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:32 AM

10s of thousands of song birds will die, just like they did in 2018 and 2010.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:41 AM

@P. V. Aglue: Nuts and fat balls out. Seed scattered for the ground feeders.

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    Jan 4th 2025, 11:58 AM

@Me Me: what do you do for the crows and jackdaws they come in and take over, even hanging of the bird feeders, All the little birds cannot get near them.

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jan 4th 2025, 12:10 PM

@Me Me: for anybody that finds birdseed to expensive, sultanas and raisins from any baking aisle are good and cheap oats and cheese also

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Jan 4th 2025, 3:10 PM

@Me Me:
    Feed them every day,but have to watch them so the greedy crows don’t gobble them up

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Jan 4th 2025, 6:51 PM

It is little wonder the world laughs at us with the warnings of doom eminating from RTE . So what if there is frost, snow and rain. Normally happens in Jan/Feb. It is like they have all watched “The day after tomorrow” and decided this is what is coming.

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Jan 4th 2025, 8:54 PM

Was raining/sleet all day here, Mitchelstown, North Cork, snowing heavily now with the last hour and sticking on the ground etc.

Mute Nathalie Bellamy
    Favourite Nathalie Bellamy
    Jan 4th 2025, 9:20 PM

@Sean Walsh: thank you for the update. Rain & freezing conditions are dangerous driving conditions. For the ones in other part of the country not affected: Good for you !

Mute David Heenan
    Favourite David Heenan
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:39 PM

The media had a field day hyping this all up FFS!

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:42 PM

Nothing in Dublin

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:48 PM

My thoughts are not with the homeless tonight because there are many alternatives for them to stay warm and if they don’t accept them it’s not my problem. They ran away from society and chose their lifestyle. My thoughts are with the hard working people of Ireland who are shafted paying over the odds for a bag of wood to keep themselves warm.

Mute Glen Kelly
    Favourite Glen Kelly
    Jan 4th 2025, 8:14 PM

@Ooooooooooo: weirdo

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 9:02 PM

@Glen Kelly: Gibshite

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:48 PM

@Glen Kelly: Why?

Mute Phillip Bargus
    Favourite Phillip Bargus
    Jan 4th 2025, 10:10 PM

Not a bit of snow yet

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:25 PM

Climate alarmists wind everyone up and when they buy an extra loaf of bread they are outraged. So tiring

Mute D
    Favourite D
    Jan 4th 2025, 8:08 PM

Just some rain here in Waterford… rubbish weather reports

Mute James Mullen
    Favourite James Mullen
    Jan 4th 2025, 1:55 PM

Millions more to Die, now and in years to come unfortunately .
    All lot of these relatively young and Healthy . Your comment Will look very silly when History records the Real Truth in the Years to come.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Jan 4th 2025, 6:38 PM

@James Mullen: What?

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jan 4th 2025, 7:26 PM

@Me Me: He’s on the mushrooms I think!

Mute Stephen Byrne
    Favourite Stephen Byrne
    Jan 5th 2025, 5:54 AM

Be great if these experts were a bit more specific each county has a council who look after the county the rest of the year and then a new well paid group come in and have to justify the big salary. I was expecting snow and got floods of rain the local park ranger and the coal man got it right years of experience out in all weather know the signs not the usual bunch of bookworms trying to impress with what we know commonsense.dont drive unless you have to be careful on the road drive slow all things we do