You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

How many on-the-spot fines were handed out to cyclists over the past two years? It's the week in numbers

Plus: How many of Ireland’s rivers are of pristine quality?

EVERY WEEK, TheJournal.ie offers a selection of statistics and numerical nuggets to help you digest the week that has just passed.

2,423: The number of homeless children in emergency accommodation in the Dublin region in July.

391,603: The number of medical card holders who were prescribed anti-depressants in 2016.

70,000: The number of people in Frankfurt to be evacuated tomorrow due to the discovery of a 1.4 tonne British bomb from World War II.

41%: The percentage of Irish rugby players who reported symptoms of performance-related anxiety and/or depression, according to a study released this week.

31%: The percentage increase in work commutes that take over an hour, according to Census data.

250: The number of RTÉ staff being asked to take a voluntary redundancy package.

21: The number of Irish rivers that are of pristine quality.

€26,000: The value of tools seized by gardaí that they are seeking the owners of.

1,600: The number of on-the-spot fines handed out to cyclists by gardaí over two years.

300: The number of nights in the year that Dublin hotels are now full for.

€87 million: The price tag on Dublin’s Gibson Hotel.

1: Super Valu’s position in the popularity rankings of Ireland’s supermarkets.

Read: Like our weekly numerical breakdown? Check out more >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

35 Comments
    Mute dangermouse
    Favourite dangermouse
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:09 PM

If your on the road you should be taxed and insured that should go for bikes .

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:21 PM

@dangermouse: Why?

Mute Alan Roddy
    Favourite Alan Roddy
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:27 PM

@Bilbo Baggins: beacause you could be involved in an accident, and you’re not insured. There should also be licences for cyclists

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:32 PM

@Alan Roddy: but sure anyone could be involved in an accident out for a run or walk, people cross the road everyday. They should be insured to do so? And taxed…? Don’t get the logic.

Mute Clarkey
    Favourite Clarkey
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:44 PM

@dangermouse: It’s never going to happen..!!..

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:28 PM

@dangermouse: 2400 children’s in emergency accommodation and all you want is to tax people who ride bikes! (Bikes that don’t have engines and therefore no exhaust emissions!) numpty!

Mute dangermouse
    Favourite dangermouse
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:35 PM

@Alan Kelly: green isn’t free and what’s a bike tax got too do with homeless stop linking every thing back too 1 issue ya fecking dope ..

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Sep 2nd 2017, 9:29 PM

@dangermouse: bike tax has nothing to do with anything ya numpty! You’ll figure this out when you grow up!

Mute dangermouse
    Favourite dangermouse
    Sep 2nd 2017, 9:41 PM

@Alan Kelly: your pure stupid lad., its way passed your bed time go a rest that brain.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Sep 2nd 2017, 9:50 PM

@dangermouse: if you had a brain you’d know your suggestion that every road user should pay a tax and be insured is stupid and unrealistic! I’d explain further but you wouldn’t understand.

Mute dangermouse
    Favourite dangermouse
    Sep 2nd 2017, 10:47 PM

@Alan Kelly: lord god lad your a TIT plain and simple “my suggestion that every road user should pay tax and insurance is stupid and unrealistic ” YES IT’S THE BLOODY LAW now make it the same for bikes.look am wasted on you .night night now head off too your leaba lad..

Mute Steve Austin
    Favourite Steve Austin
    Sep 3rd 2017, 3:23 AM

@Alan Kelly: cyclist’s should be insured and pay a tax of some sort to pay for the cycle lane’s they need …

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Sep 3rd 2017, 7:34 AM

@dangermouse: you don’t even know the law! Your confusing “Motor” tax with a non existent “Road” tax!

Mute Fluich Go Craicean
    Favourite Fluich Go Craicean
    Sep 3rd 2017, 9:38 AM

@dangermouse: insurance if compulsory for cars because the value of damage they can do far exceeds a motorists ability to pay. Bikes don’t have that issue.
    You are just jealous.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:05 AM

@Steve Austin: cyclists already pay for the cycle paths and roads. WE ALL pay for the roads through general taxation. As for insurance, most cyclists already have insurance. It’s not compulsory because the risks are far less than the risks when driving. How many motorists or pedestrians have been killed by cyclists?

Mute Gary Rowe
    Favourite Gary Rowe
    Sep 4th 2017, 8:46 AM

@Alan Kelly: why is just being injured by a cyclist not important to you? If it were you in severe pain and not able to go to work after being hit by a cyclist, would you be fine with that?

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:03 PM

How many 100s or 1,000s of pedestrians and motorists have cyclists killed and maimed in the last 3 years?

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:10 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: Too many x

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:04 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: so breaking all the rules of the road is fine so long as you don’t kill someone?

Mute tom pepper
    Favourite tom pepper
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:41 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: I work on Grafton street in Dublin and I would have to say an average of 5 cyclists a minute go belting up the road at top speed every day. Numerous people are knocked down every day, dont know how someone has not got seriously hurt by know, maybe there has. Most cyclists are a law in to themselves as I see it yet they feel most hard done by. By the way I don’t drive or cycle.

Mute Marty Borgnine
    Favourite Marty Borgnine
    Sep 2nd 2017, 9:56 PM

@Fiona deFreyne:
    Absolutely ridiculous comment. So the justification for the introduction of a penalty for reckless cycling should be measured in accordance with the likelihood of that action directly causing the death of another through a collision? What about the risk of death/injury being caused to the cyclist himself/herself through their actions, or the indirect risk causing another motorist who attempts to take evasive action. Every cyclist can likely tell a story about an aggressive motorist or one where a motorist has broken the rules of the road. But similarly I would imagine the same is true in reverse. The rules of the road, including the colours of red, green and amber, apply to all who take to the road on wheels dear.

Mute Sheila Kelly Reilly
    Favourite Sheila Kelly Reilly
    Sep 2nd 2017, 10:35 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: not too many

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:07 PM

No nearly enough fines for motorists and cyclists alike. Far too many people in this country have no respect for the rules of the road because the chances of being caught are so slim.

Mute 6ljJQRRU
    Favourite 6ljJQRRU
    Sep 2nd 2017, 10:50 PM

Abiut 90% of cyclists are s*umbags. Let’s call a spade a spade. Off a bike they are probably normal people, but on a bike these presumably normal people turn into arrogant, self righteous, swerving, footpath riding (when suits), red light breaking, angry, thugs for want of a better word.

Mute Gary Rowe
    Favourite Gary Rowe
    Sep 4th 2017, 8:53 AM

@6ljJQRRU: I paused, while crossing at a green light for pedestrians, and stared a a cyclist who happily came through red lights towards me. He stopped and asked why I looked at him that way. When I mentioned the red light he’d gone through, he lost it competely calling me an arrogant fat f_€k, got off his bike and stuck his face on mine, shouting ‘ get away from me!’, spraying me with spittle!!! Then, after a playfull attempt to headbutt me, he went off on his way.
    Cyclists, eh!

Mute halfmanhalftea
    Favourite halfmanhalftea
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:29 PM

@dangermouse: Like the hundreds of cars that are on the roads that don’t have tax or insurance?

Mute dangermouse
    Favourite dangermouse
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:35 PM

@halfmanhalftea: there are laws for people who break the law of not having insurance or tax one day they will be caught..no such law existing for bikes.if a cyclist crashes in too me who pays for the damage 100s maybe 1000s .

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:31 PM

@dangermouse: totally agree! And as for Pedestrians! Geez who’s going to pay for this? http://www.thejournal.ie/car-crash-dublin-3560565-Aug2017/

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Sep 3rd 2017, 10:14 AM

@dangermouse: if you walk out in front of a bike, who pays for the damage? 100′s maybe 1000′s? Time to bring in compulsory pedestrian insurance…

Mute Alan O'Rourke
    Favourite Alan O'Rourke
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:04 PM

Not enough :D

Mute Irish Cottage Rental
    Favourite Irish Cottage Rental
    Sep 2nd 2017, 9:48 PM

How many fines were paid?

Mute Mark bissett
    Favourite Mark bissett
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:18 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: I would say less than 5

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:26 PM

@Mark bissett: you are correct.

Two cyclists were accidentally killed by pedestrians, the most recent cyclist having been killed by a pedestrian using a designated cycleway in the Phoenix Park.

It is appropriate and responsible to introduce penalties to encourage safer cycling but it is a myth that cyclists kill or injure motorists or pedestrians in any significant number. It should not happen at all but the probability is that the cyclist is more likely to be killed or injured in a collision between a cyclist and a motorist.

Evidence should influence the system of criminal penalties

Mute Tommy Sea
    Favourite Tommy Sea
    Sep 3rd 2017, 7:22 AM

@Fiona deFreyne: 2 cyclists were accidentally killed by pedestrians? There in lies the arrogance of cyclists. If a motorist hits a pedestrian, regardless of circumstances, its the motorists fault for not observing their surroundings, not expecting the unexpected and not having their eye on the road because some chap on a bike is cycling on the footpath and they’re trying to keep their eye on on this idiot, knowing full well if you hit him, when he spontaneously decides to join the road, its the motorists fault, again. In sick of this bike stuff, you use the road, respect the rules, contribute to the cost, end of