You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A senator is worried about Yanis Varoufakis' wife riding on a motorbike without a helmet

Yep, really.

ALL SORTS OF things can be raised on the Seanad’s Order of Business.

Unlike the Dáil, senators have the opportunity to raise a variety of issues and matters of the day that might concern them.

Yesterday, Fine Gael senator Cáit Keane was particularly concerned about the “reckless” carry on of the outgoing Greek finance minister Yanis Varoufakis.

While eurozone finance ministers had grown increasingly weary of the flamboyant left-wing economist’s stance in bailout negotiations, Keane was unhappy about his wife, Danae Stratou, riding on the back of his motorbike without a helmet:

“Obviously, responsibilities come with everything – I imagine everyone will agree,” she said.

One thing I would say to Yanis Varoufakis, looking at his motorbike and his wife on the back of it today, without a helmet, is that it is reckless in the extreme, not alone on economic policy but in respect of his wife’s health as well.

Independent senator David Norris took umbrage at Keane’s remarks, describing them as “twaddle” before expanding on his point to add:

That is utter rubbishy politically-correct twaddle.

Keane insisted that far from “twaddle” this was an important point about a person leading by example in everything he does. She added:

I should be blaming the wife. He should carry a helmet for his wife in his boot.

“What about feminism?” Norris asked.

Watch the full (bizarre) exchange:

Oireachtas / TheJournal.ie/YouTube

Read: ‘My country was used as an austerity laboratory. The experiment failed.’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

107 Comments
    Mute Hank Schrader
    Favourite Hank Schrader
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:04 PM

We actually pay for these idiots to be employed.. Let alone represent us

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:12 PM

To be fair, Cait has put herself up for election for the PDs and FG, and has been rejected each time for the last 30 years, so we get what we vote for.. er, wait, what?

Mute calvin
    Favourite calvin
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:14 PM

It’s amazing that someone such as herself, who clearly has her finger on the pulse, has never been elected.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:20 PM

Well enda kenny asked the people to rid themselves of the Seanad and the people voted to keep it so suck it up.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:28 PM

I voted to keep the Seanad. I’m sorry.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:37 PM

She was obviously never in Greece on holidays.Nobody wears helmets there.Especially on the islands.I hired scooters there and nobody bothers with helmets.

Jul 8th 2015, 4:41 PM

Someone with no responsibilities complaining about someone in Greece not being responsible???

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:52 PM

Ah here it’s only Wednesday and we have had the most idiotic and stupid comments to come from government TDs or senators this week already. We have had trolleygate from fg td. We have had bring your child to work from labour td and now this from fg senator. I await tomorrow’s stupidity. Forgot about whiffygate.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:57 PM

As motorcyclists say; “If you have a €100 head get a €100 helmet” Greeks are not known to be safety conscious.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:10 PM

They will really clutch at any straw to to try and spin anyone and anything in a negative light. Desperation.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jul 8th 2015, 6:04 PM

Ah come on, a spare helmet in the boot!!

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Jul 8th 2015, 6:21 PM

It’s under the jack and spare wheel.

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted
    Jul 8th 2015, 6:23 PM

She’s only getting started. Tomorrow she will be asking for on the spot fines for cyclists who don’t wear a helmet and for those who do not pay the fine, have it taken out of their wages or social welfare.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Jul 8th 2015, 7:00 PM

Shït-for-brains.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Jul 8th 2015, 7:03 PM

I have no words for the ineptitude of this whole scenario.

Mute Peter Grimes
    Favourite Peter Grimes
    Jul 8th 2015, 7:12 PM

Embarrassing, the only thing that’s missing is Dustin the Turkey.

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Jul 8th 2015, 7:34 PM

another fine gale nosey parker.seems more concerned about the outgoing finance minister on the back of a motor bike with no helmet..what the hell has it got to do her who or what this person is doing..if she has that much time doing nothing her self in the seanad ..and to make it worse it was on the order of business in the seanad.she should be more concerned about what is going on in IRELAND.

Mute Mick Andrews
    Favourite Mick Andrews
    Jul 8th 2015, 7:36 PM

Poor aul Yanis, he’s getting well clipped by the blue shirt brigade all across Europe, they’ll be wanting him biking on the right next.!!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 8th 2015, 8:37 PM

No need to worry Yaroufakis wife often rides without protection…..

Mute Joe Conway
    Favourite Joe Conway
    Jul 8th 2015, 9:28 PM

Does anyone have the wiffy code?

Mute Mac Ready
    Favourite Mac Ready
    Jul 8th 2015, 9:49 PM

Yeah can we get a re-vote on this so we can get rid of these in-electable wasters!

Mute Ger Clifford
    Favourite Ger Clifford
    Jul 9th 2015, 12:08 AM

Oh no .Don’t bring Dustin into it sure isn’t he Inda’s father and aren’t we bad enough .

Mute Tony Doyle
    Favourite Tony Doyle
    Jul 9th 2015, 1:03 PM

so are we

Mute Fran Heavey
    Favourite Fran Heavey
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:08 PM

Cop on you old goat and start addressing issues closer to home……..this is why people resent the Seanad,because of clueless idiots like her.

Mute Fergal Mawe
    Favourite Fergal Mawe

This kind of stuff is just embarrassing

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge

Why the hell is the fact that a foreign politicians wife rode a motorbike without a helmet being discussed in the Seanad?

it’s not like it happened in Ireland.

Mute KMac
    Favourite KMac
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:05 PM

Me thinks Mrs. Keane was dropped on her head at some point.

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:19 PM

If only she was wearing a helmet at the time.

Mute KMac
    Favourite KMac
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:49 PM

Gender quotas anyone?

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Favourite Randle P McMurphy
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:38 PM

Sweet unbelievable Jesus…Cait Keane…empty vessel…any connection between herself and the Senator for Internet Bullying?

Mute calvin
    Favourite calvin
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:12 PM

It’s almost as if they are trying to embarrass themselves these days.

I mean, what in gods name is that woman doing in politics?

Mute Joe Conway
    Favourite Joe Conway
    Jul 8th 2015, 9:27 PM

She’s competing with Fidelma Really Screams for most stupid contribution of the week.

Mute Jack Delaney
    Favourite Jack Delaney
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:11 PM

It’s reassuringly to know that our tax money is so wisely spent on the saleries and expenses of utterly useless Senators like Keane who seems to have little to say of concern about the state of this nation and are instead driven to take up Senate time with rubbish like this. She spends too much time reading Hello Mag by the sounds of things.

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox

Childish.

The Senate is pathetic.

Mute TotalScrotal
    Favourite TotalScrotal

I hope you voted no in the referendum so. Had our chance to make these wasters redundant

Mute Andrew McQuillan
    Favourite Andrew McQuillan
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:42 PM

Take note everyone, that’s where protest voting gets you.

If still in doubt, you can get additional confirmation from Mick Wallace 1st preference voters.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jul 8th 2015, 6:28 PM

I did regret my Wallace vote Andrew, however since then his actions have changed my mind. He has done what he said he would do if elected, tackle corruption, no one can deny that.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Jul 8th 2015, 6:44 PM

utterly ridiculous reason for voting. you don’t deserve a vote.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:06 PM

I didn’t even have to read the story to know it was a FG senator pulling that comment out of her posterior.

Love David Norris’ response, the mans a national treasure…..

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:10 PM

Yes the people are irresponsible they are filling their supermarket trolleys with drink and smokes and not paying their water tax. Who elects these people?

Mute calvin
    Favourite calvin
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:11 PM

Yea Norris is quality.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:21 PM

david norris is correct total twaddle.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:10 PM

Obviously nothing of importance for her to worry about in Ireland. Irish taxpayers money well spent on Senead Eireann .

Mute Stephen Niland
    Favourite Stephen Niland
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:43 PM

David Norris is brilliant, on the other hand this women is the embodiment of the failings of our parliamentarians. The country has serious issues that need addressing, health and education to name a few, and she wants to waste her time talkin about some guy in another country riding around with a passenger who is not wearing a helmet. If she and her ilk spent more time concerned about the people in this country, we may be better of

Mute Hugh Derham
    Favourite Hugh Derham
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:30 PM

This sort of nonsense is hard to stomach. Has she nothing else to contribute? What a lame duck… She needs to open her eyes and see what is going on in this country!!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:37 PM

Complete and utter twaddle, yet not one mention of Enda’s adviser caught out lying once again, trying to cover up the very cronyism Enda and FG were supposed to be cleaning up. Nope, just some gormless bint trying to justify her existence by raising pointless issues.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Jul 8th 2015, 7:22 PM

“gormless bint” – thank you for that – what an awesome description, I’ll be stealing that if you don’t mind.

Mute Bill Jones
    Favourite Bill Jones

Starting to think we should have gotten rid of this place…

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:32 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBAB26DjVXY

he is dead right.
    idiots like this senator are taking attention off big issues concerning the breakup of the euro.
    to think we pay these idiots.

Mute Pantytoetoejam123
    Favourite Pantytoetoejam123
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:47 PM

Farage spot on.

Mute Sean Barry
    Favourite Sean Barry
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:18 PM

what an idiot

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:26 PM

Sean why on earth do you complement that woman.

Mute Fran Scanlon
    Favourite Fran Scanlon
    Jul 8th 2015, 8:01 PM

she’s a blue shirt like you Sean.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna

Well someone has to! Did she make it home in time for dinner? Far from motorbiking she was reared.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:07 PM

He probably had said to her a 100 times not to forget her helmet in all Fairness!!!!!!

Mute Byyys
    Favourite Byyys

Sure if FG had their way.. it would be 3penality points for not wearing a helmet & a 60euro fixed fine.

Mute John Carey
    Favourite John Carey
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:48 PM

I used wiffy to post this comment.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:27 PM

le wiffy

Jul 8th 2015, 4:56 PM

How would she like it if in Greece they started to talk about the mess she looks, opening her mouth like that just means she could end up with 2 feet in it.
    Greece is in the mess because Merkel thinks the E.U. is hers to do with as she likes, and we have Irish politicians who run after merkel handing onto her apron strings like the good wee brainless gits they are…

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:32 PM

Was she actually elected to the Seanad? She is a perfect case for it’s abolition!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh

I voted to keep the Senate on the grounds that there would be reform. Guess who feels foolish now!

Mute Brian O'Faolain
    Favourite Brian O'Faolain
    Jul 8th 2015, 9:53 PM

Mary, you(like us all) were lied to. Nothing has changed. No reform, no end to cronyism, no accountability or fight against corruption. Just deflection, PC bull and fukwits on crazy money. Future fine gael voters, how can you justify voting for a party that has broken nearly every promise in its election manifesto, has the stink of corruption off all it touches, and regularly lies to the citizens of this nation(which it also gets caught out on doing). It gets worse, this is the party that claims Collins as its spiritual inspiration!! Makes me sick. All the members of that party put together wouldnt have an oz of that great man’s integrity. Traitors one and all in a house dominated by traitors. Labour and fianna fail representatives also deserve this moniker. Collins had a way of dealing with traitors and enemies of the irish people. They were called the 12 apostles or ‘the squad’. The only decent leader of this country, in our whole history of self rule, was apparently a member. I’d settle for imprisonment and hard labour. But while the people of this country continue to indulge these traitors at their party trough, the rest of us, and our children after us, will continue to live under the heel of their like and the elite who control them. Yeats was right in 1913, romantic Ireland IS dead and gone, its with our fenian dead, in their graves.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jul 8th 2015, 10:55 PM

True, Brian. Just like the disabled were promised a new scheme when the disability allowance was cut, or the telephone allowance for pensioners. Or, the unkindest cut of all, promising decent childcare before cutting the over sevens allowance and then doing precisely nothing. Thanks, Joan! I haven’t voted for a mainstream party candidate for years, except for Ruarai Quinn but if he does stand again he won’t be getting my vote.

Mute The Artic Monkey
    Favourite The Artic Monkey
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:49 PM

Meanwhile in the real world…..

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:06 PM

Meanwhile in the real world, Tsipras received a standing ovation when entering the EU parliament earlier today. Not that anyone will have heard this on any RTE news bulletin, and i doubt very much if this will be carried by mainstream media.

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:30 PM

Is Dear Leader wearing a seatbelt in the front passenger seat in this pic from the Journal in 2011?

http://www.thejournal.ie/cabinet-to-lose-ministerial-mercs-and-garda-drivers-104255-Mar2011/

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:26 PM

he is john but to be fair i think all fg should wear a gag for they talk an awful lot of shite.

Mute Joe Conway
    Favourite Joe Conway
    Jul 8th 2015, 9:31 PM

I hear he always fastens his seatbelt when on the government jet!

Jul 8th 2015, 4:52 PM

Does she know the laws of Greece or is she doing it out of mass bitterness?

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes

Her Party “leaders” are not too concerned about the Greek’s welfare. They specialise in kicking them while they’re down, and lecturing them on economic behaviour. As for helmets , it would be helpful if Kenny, and Noonan, wore them when in public so we wouldn’t have to look at them at least.!

Mute catherine
    Favourite catherine
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:20 PM

Well I think it’s common knowledge these days that the Greeks like to live dangerously!

Mute Adam O'Sullivan
    Favourite Adam O'Sullivan
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:16 PM

Dear Senator Keane, whilst on holidays recently I saw a man refuse to clean up after his dog. Given your record of bringing unsafe practice’s in foreign countries to bear I look forward to hearing of this in the Seanad next week. Yours etc.

Mute Eddie Kinsella
    Favourite Eddie Kinsella
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:41 PM

Her time and concerns would be better spent with the people who elected her

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:04 PM

What an idiotic comment from a brainless old bag.

Jul 8th 2015, 4:54 PM

I think you’d better sit down again woman because i’m concerned you might suffer a bout of vertigo!

Mute Jim Boland
    Favourite Jim Boland
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:21 PM

She’s as useful as an ash tray on a honda fifty

Jul 8th 2015, 4:57 PM

A VERY INSULTING WOMAN IN MY VIEW…

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:59 PM

I voted to get rid of these clowns and each time i read more about the senate i am happy i voted that way even do i was agreeing with head clown Kenny ,What a dreadful cailbre of politically inept people we did not vote for ,,and people wonder why people like her are treated with such scorn contempt ,and anger ,

Mute iDunno
    Favourite iDunno
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:33 PM

She’s got her finger right on the pulse of international affairs, Can we please introduce a new irresponsibility tax to fund the setting up of Irish Helmets,
    A semi state body ensuring safe helmet supply and maintenance of the Helmet network.

Mute Tony Doyle
    Favourite Tony Doyle
    Jul 8th 2015, 4:39 PM

Cait Keane you are suppose to be a smart blond
    So are yellow Labradors
    Worry about Ireland

Mute BERTIE
    Favourite BERTIE
    Jul 8th 2015, 6:15 PM

If only more FG members wore condoms we wouldn’t have these morons spouting all kinds of tripe, water doesn’t fall from the sky, the wiffy code, every time Enda opens his mouth you’re wondering is someone behind him with there hand up his hole moving his mouth

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:46 PM

Where’s his boot?

Another gobsh!te senator.

Mute Damian Gadgey
    Favourite Damian Gadgey
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:44 PM

LMAO What a FCUKTWIT

Mute Barry Davidson
    Favourite Barry Davidson
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:23 PM

Isn’t she the one who came from Greece and had a thirst for knowledge and studied sculpture at St martins college? Isn’t her dad loaded? Wasn’t she their when Jarvis was there?

Mute Barry Davidson
    Favourite Barry Davidson
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:23 PM

*there

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jul 8th 2015, 7:55 PM

Thanks for that Barry – made me giggle big time :)

Mute David Jackman
    Favourite David Jackman
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:48 PM

Christ above. It’d almost make you rethink the whole idea of having a second house

Mute John Mcloughlin
    Favourite John Mcloughlin
    Jul 8th 2015, 6:37 PM

Is this lady for REAL

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Jul 8th 2015, 6:37 PM

We really messed up not abolishing the seanad. There are a few useful contributors but so many senators are utterly useless and talk I’ll informed drivel.

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Jul 8th 2015, 6:50 PM

*ill informed.

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Favourite Gisbert Bayertz
    Jul 8th 2015, 7:15 PM

I’m actually speechless

Jul 8th 2015, 5:26 PM
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:28 PM
    Mute Phil O'Brien
    Favourite Phil O'Brien
    Jul 8th 2015, 7:58 PM

Where do FG get these mindless morons? The standard of political debate in Ireland is abysmal. Perhaps, it’s because many of our politicians appear to be semi-literate?

Mute James Gallagher
    Favourite James Gallagher
    Jul 8th 2015, 5:03 PM

I’m confused – it’s a non issue now but when a cyclist in Ireland goes out without helmet and hi-vis there’s uproar and calls for fines.

Mute iDunno
    Favourite iDunno
    Jul 9th 2015, 1:47 AM

Do you think the politicians in Greece are discussing people in Ireland not wearing a helmet

Mute Aidan Ryan
    Favourite Aidan Ryan
    Jul 8th 2015, 7:01 PM

jesus! !!!

Mute Michael O'connor
    Favourite Michael O'connor
    Jul 8th 2015, 8:21 PM

This could be a waterford whispers story. Where the hell do ff/ff/lab get these absolute tools from. These are the people who are supposed to be running the country and this is what is on their minds. If indeed the likes of this senator has a mind.

Mute captain ireland
    Favourite captain ireland
    Jul 8th 2015, 9:09 PM

oh god help our country with fools in charge

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jul 8th 2015, 9:25 PM

anything for attention, stupid woman, sickening she is getting paid for this.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jul 8th 2015, 11:14 PM

A busy FG Senator then

Mute Joe Keena
    Favourite Joe Keena
    Jul 9th 2015, 4:49 PM

Senator, her helmet got damaged in the economic crash.

Mute Thomas Mcgrath
    Favourite Thomas Mcgrath
    Jul 9th 2015, 7:09 AM

She’s a twit!

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    Jul 8th 2015, 10:20 PM

Everything she said was absolutely correct & spot on.

Having said that, the Senate should still be abolished, as its a fun filled talking shop, as this exchange proved.