TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

The 9 at 9: Friday

Nine things you need to know this morning…

Image: Leo Reynolds via Flickr/Creative Commons

EVERY DAY, TheJournal.ie brings you nine things you need to know with your morning cup of coffee, or tea…

1. #BANK DEBT: Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore is in Germany today to meet with the German foreign minister Guido Westerwelle. The issue of Ireland’s legacy bank debt is likely to be on the agenda with Ireland boosted by IMF comments yesterday. Our upcoming EU presidency and general bilateral relations are also likely to be discussed.

2. #GARDA STATIONS: Up to 80 garda stations across the country will be shut down before the end of the year according to a report in the Irish Independent today. Tom Brady and Fiach Kelly write that so-called garda ‘clinics’ will bet set up in areas where stations will close with officers manning these for a couple of hours, two days a week.

3. #SYRIA: A four-day ceasefire has come into effect in Syria today to mark the Muslim holiday of Eid al-Adha. The UN brokered truce began at 4am this morning but BBC News reports that the country’s army has warned that it will retaliate against any attacks from rebel forces. Previously brokered ceasefires have failed.

4. #ENERGY: The cost of electricity for businesses and consumers could rise by 9 per cent in peak months, the Irish Times reports this morning. The paper says that the energy regulator is considering plans to pass on charges for supplies of natural gas that electricity providers use in order to generate electricity. Providers have already hiked prices in recent weeks.

5. #HUMAN ARM: A human arm has been found on a beach in south Dublin. The arm was discovered on the beach in Shankill at around 12 pm yesterday by a member of the public, according to Gardaí.

6. #DUBLIN AIRPORT: Siptu workers at Dublin Airport could go on strike causing disruption for passengers travelling next month in a dispute with the Dublin Airport Authority and Aer Lingus over pensions. Siptu officials will meet today to discuss the timing and form of any action.

7. #US 2012: US President Barack Obama has made history by becoming the first incumbent to cast his vote early in his home town of Chicago yesterday. Meanwhile Mitt Romney was campaigning in the key swing state of Ohio with the latest Reuters/Ipsos tracking poll showing the Republican challenger holds  a one percentage point lead over Obama – 47 to 46 per cent – while other polls have Romney with a three point lead.

8. #BANK HOLIDAY: Gardaí are urging motorists to be ‘winter ready’ as cold weather looks set to hit parts of the country this Bank Holiday weekend. Gardaí say they will be focussing on drivers with learner permits over the next few days as part of what they call a ‘high-visibility’ campaign.

9. #APPLE: If you use Apple’s iTunes App Store then you’re facing a price hike this morning as the company raised its lowest price from 79 cent to 89 cent overnight. The change is in line with changes in the value of the euro against the dollar over the last year with this graph from Twitter user @CamilloMiller outlining the price changes.

Read next:

Comments (19 Comments)

• Me apps!

• Good to see a change in policing model. Having a vast network of stations is not keeping with current times, many of the current stations have been in operation since before the foundation of the state. The early laws were in place initially to police property, not people thus the need for a network of outposts for easy connection by foot or horse. It is much more beneficial in these days to have gardai patrolling communities in vehicles as opposed to occupying buildings relying on a few visitors a day. As an example for a city region Dublin has around 40 24 hour Garda Stations while Greater Manchester of similar size has 13. Similarly in the UK a ‘bobby’ would have a desk at a rural community centre on a Sunday after church to cater for the needs that the elderly and other locals might have; passports, forms etc Being close to a station has shown to be no advantage in regards to crime prevention, such as the recent horrific incident in Sligo.

Bottom line is more gardai on the streets of the cities and roads of rural Ireland.

• The problem is Seamus they haven’t got enough vehicles.

• Stil Brighid that is no excuse for keeping gardai in stations where they have little other abilities than answering queries from members of the public actually calling into them. They couldn’t leave for a call out if they wanted to, one garda would always have to man a station. And the Gardai will be getting 170 new vehicles in a recent announcement, there was an article on this site about it.

• Seamus, that’s a lovely romantic vision you got there about the Gardai taking part in normal, everyday, rural life – but the truth sadly does not share this vision.
      When the Garda areas were changed a few years back, our nearest station went from a mere 20 minutes away to an hour away. There is no speedy response to anything that happens, unless they happen to be in the area for once. They’re never there at predictable hours for people to get their forms sorted, they rarely do patrols, and I’d blame the distance. If there’s work for them to do at the main station, they aren’t going to bother with a small one in a village.

• Triona there will always be places covered less like you describe. But even as you say yourself they were at best 20 minutes away before the station closure, that station could have a full time garda but he would be useless to you as he wouldn’t be able to leave the station unattended. If the gardai are not responding in time to your area then highlight the issue, write to the Minister and Garda Commissioner or the local papers. And I am not describing a ‘romantic’ version of anything, simply what happens in other countries and will be happening here with the opening of clinics at regular hours.

• Not enough vehicles?? What’s wrong with bicycles, or rapid response Honda 50s??

• Eamon come back from Berlin and back to your constituency office! A few UCD Students are looking to talk to you: gilmores250.com

• Garda clinics. Stamp forms.
    Brilliant idea.

• If you live in a rural area Get a shotgun and a dobermann, Because your on your own from now on.

• why not alter the ‘forms’ so as you dont need a garda to stamp them in the first place?, then they would have more time to patrol the streets. why do you need a garda to stamp forms like passports etc, most of the time they wouldnt know the person whose form they are stamping ,so how can it be a form of character reference? garda ,magistrates etc stamping forms dates back to the days when everyone in a town or village knew everyone else, so a garda, solicitor, local gentry and magistrate, would know if a person was ‘of good character’ and sign or stamp an official form to say as much, this is not the case these days , especially when it comes to the garda, if they know you that well, then you are probably not of good character anyway.

• Seamus I agree with Triona; it’s a matter of distance especially in rural areas. Levels of staff is another problem. Gardai can leave stations unmanned to attend calls. So someone doesn’t have to be there continually. Resources is another big problem. Those new vehicles, however welcome are too little too late. I do agree that in cities cutting back or closing some stations makes sense economically.

• Isn’t it a public holiday?

• Seamus that’s not true; stations are left unattended all the time when the guards are called to accidents an other incidents. They just lock up the station.

• Guido Westerwelle? Yeah Buddy!

• it’s not bad enough the energy companies hiking up prices by 12%+, now the feckin regulator wants to increase them by another 9%, there are already people who can’t afford to put on the heating and lights, the latest price hike will only cause more hardship and for the regulator to add 9% to those bills is just plain mad, 1000’s of homes in this country will have to choose between heating and eating this winter, let’s hope its a mild one so as they dont have to make that choice as often, still there is the bright side to this, the government will be able to take even more v.a.t. on the extra cost of your bills.

• sorry duplicate post, for some reason my posts/ replies from earlier in the day have only just published, hence the repeated ones. this has happened to 4-5 other posts today, glitch at the journal?

• not happy with letting the energy companies rip off consumers with ever increasing hikes, now the regulator wants to get in on it themselves, there are already 1000’s of people in fuel poverty in this country, the recent price hikes of up to 12% in fuel costs will see even more affected, now the regulator want to pass on another 9% rise to the consumer, plus v.a.t. on top of course.

Add New Comment