TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

AG to decide on need for referendum

Independent TD Richard Boyd Barrett has echoed other opposition parties’ calls for a referendum on the new EU fiscal compact.

United Left Alliance finance spokesperson Richard Boyd Barrett
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

THE OPPOSITION HAS said that a referendum on the new EU fiscal compact agreed in Brussels last night is a “democratic imperative” as the matter looks set to be considered by the Attorney General.

The Taoiseach Enda Kenny will recommend to the cabinet that the text of the new intergovernmentnal treaty be formally sent to the AG Marie Whelan to determine if a referendum is required, RTÉ reports.

Last night 25 of the 27 EU member states signed up to the new fiscal compact which will put in place a set of measures aimed at ensuring economic governance and budgetary discipline with automatic penalties for countries that exceed the so-called debt brake.

The debt brake on budget deficits will have to be set up either at constitutional or legislative level but the Sinn Féin foreign affairs spokesperson Padraig Mac Lochlainn has said: “It is now a democratic imperative that this issue be put to a referendum.”

Meanwhile from the Dáil Technical Group, the United Left Alliance finance spokesperson Richard Boyd Barrett has said that at the “at the very least” the people of Ireland should be allowed to vote on the issue.

“I think this treaty is going to have very  far-reaching consequences,” he told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland.

It’s going to lock the country into many years of austerity. Austerity which in my opinion is doing immense damage to our prospects for economic recovery.

Boyd Barrett said that there needed to be a a referendum irrespective of whether or not one is constitutionally required while also harshly criticising the government’s economic policies to date, saying the “debt burden [is] absolutely suffocating our economy”.

“Suggesting we’re going to create jobs while we’re imposing this brutal austerity and we’re suffocating with this debt burden is really like saying you’re going to save a man from drowning while holding his head under water,” he added.

Opposition parties disappointed in EU treaty

EU leaders strike final agreement on new treaty

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (29 Comments)

• Watched Vinny Brown last night,the law lecturer from DCU said we will need a referendum hope shes right

• Go back to rule set down in the Mascricht(spellcheck) treaty where if a country’s deficit exceeds 3% of GDP then fines would.be issued. In 2003 both France and Germany broke this rule and should of been fined. The EU Comission decided fines where jusitifed, then a EU finance ministers meeting decided against this. This was the beginning of the end in my opinion if they had of been punished then smaller nations may have paid attention. I am of the opinion that no matter what the treaty says it will not be put before the Irish people and Germany and France will never be fined for.breaking it.

• I tried to phone the labour party this morning but could not get through I then tried directory enquiries who informed me the number had been disconnected some time ago
    The labour front bench will be on crime line soon

• Is there something put in the food of the government once they get into power? I’m sure the government would make the exact same arguments if they were in opposition, but as soon as they get on the right side of the house it’s all jobs for the boys. Have they no conscience? You van visualise Kenny and Gilmore being “outraged” while in opposition – they know the issues. They just don’t care.

• Ciaro 31/01/12 #

And Enda and his fellow spineless colleagues will all pick up plum jobs in Europe when we boot them out of government.
    Look at Kevin cardiffs reward for his part on the bank guarantee.

• This is like a twilight zone nightmare. If the AG passes it with the need for a Referendum and those puppets in Gov ignore the importune of the people of Ireland (not EU) there will be feet on the streets. Sadly it will all be too late by then. :’(

• At this stage I doubt anyone will be on the streets, except maybe when they’re kicked out of their homes for not paying their mortgage maybe.

• There ain’t gonna be no referendum in Enda’s Ireland no more. SF and the ULA will huff and puff. SF have the means to take it to the Supreme court (only right that this should be tested in the highest court). They’ll lose the case. Next item on the agenda…

• Am i missing something?
    This treaty is clearly about putting future budgets under a legal obligation not to put a country into further debt & is a means of keeping all EU countries on the straight & narrow going forward…..sounds perfectly reasonable to me.

But! A referendum will as comments above & elsewhere show, will be about; NAMA/Austerity/cuts/public service numbers/septic tanks/household charges/political parties etc.
    Looking back over our (Irish) history of referendums there are limited experiences of us voting on the issue at hand. Shatter’s disasters last time being one example of the public just voting on the issue, but prior to that only the social issue referendums – divorce/abortion – have tended to got the pubic to vote on the issue at hand.
    EU referendums tend to get us voting on all economic & political concerns rather than the one issue.

• Well, maybe if the bastards did what they told the people they were going to do: on telly , on the streets and on the doorsteps, then you’re point might be valid.
      The gaping hole in your argument is that once their fat rosy arses had settled into their chairs at the cabinet table , the first thing on the agenda was how they were going to sprinkle sugar on the dogshit that was the immediate volte-face that they did on any/all the commitments they had given.
      People say that we should vote on the issue in isolation rather than taking the wider context into consideration. Well, in my opinion that’d all be fine and well provided the government that the people elected hadn’t turned around and pissed all over the mandate they had been given!!
      If there is a referendum it may well get a terrible thumping. Perhaps if our spineless masters had gone and played hardball with Klaus and Pierre, our balls wouldn’t be nailed quite as tightly to the wall.
      In that context the referendum may have stood a better chance than it does at present.

• Sorry Liam, I have to disagree with you here.

At the start when I could vote, I was very pro-eu, but when it came to referendums, I, like the majority of the electorate who bothered to vote, took all the issues very seriously.

The people questioned Lisbon I and came away with the guarantees that were were uncertain about. Despite the Government of the day not debating the pro’s & cons of Lisbon, it was left to ourselves to decide, hence the people who did not understand voted No.

When it was put to the people again as Lisbon II, despite our assurances received from Lisbon I, the economies of the world had started the deep slide into financial chaos and it was Labour, Fine Gael, Fianna Fail & The Greens who told us to vote yes this time as we had the assurances but this time it was about the economy of the country, it was the yes to jobs campaign, it was the Be at the heart of Europe campaign, we were cautioned that if we voted for no for a 2nd time, there was a possibility we would be on the fringes of Europe, we would be isolated, there was even a chance we could be ejected from the EU. ALL this came from our own politicians, not the people.

But since they have been let down on many an occasion since Lisbon II, we ask more questions, we voted for change, we voted for open and honest politics, this has not been forthcoming either.

In the Red C poll 72% want the referendum, with 40% in favour, 36% against and 24% undecided.

To diss the electorate off as petty enough to stoop to bringing in septic tanks, household charges et al is quite disingenuous, as if the debate sinks to that level, I can guarantee it will be the Government itself bringing up those subjects at debates.

Also as a footnote, Ireland has rejected only 2 (Nice & Lisbon) treaties, until they were put to the people again and passed, so in theory, we have questioned referendums, stalled them until we got answers and then passed them.

• It also gives the likes of the EU comission say over future budgets enforced austerity for the foreseeable future.Our deficit is over 8.5% this treaty would require a deficit of only .5% with fines kicking in if not achieved.

• Rich boy Barrett looks like he’s posing for a postage stamp there.
    dream on

• All you referendum supporters – PLEASE be sure you are voting on whats right for Ireland, not to punish the government. It was punishing the previous government that got this shower of gobshites into power last general election. We may have to make distasteful choices to get out of this mess and the government(s) need a good kicking for getting us here but this isnt the time
    Dont cut off our nose to spite the face.

• Another thing to consider – if you punish the government through a referendum and the EU does cut funding etc we will be left with the very gobshites in government to run us right into the ground, all by themselves. Can you see Kenny and Noonan having the nouse to pull us out of that sort of mess? Do you really think that would be better?

• @dave. If we were given the opportunity to vote on a referendum they would ignore the result and make us vote again. We may be running out of parties but until someone represents us it is our duty to vote in a alternative government. Otherwise democracy does not exist.

• We recieved funding under a treaty signed last year this new treaty does not make it null and void we will still recieve funding.But hey don’t let fact get in the way good old fashioned scare mongering.

• Why is everyone of the opinion that no voters are out to punish the government, voting no to this referendum has serious, serious consequences for everyone in the country, and possibly the EU too. This is not something to be trifled with, and every time one of you “yes” people comes along saying don’t punish the government you’re implying that “no” people are idiots who can’t see past the noses on the end of their faces. We’ll we’re not.
      Can I equally ask all you “yes” supporters to go out and do some research and make sure you’re doing the right thing by the Irish people and the future of the Irish people.
      You need to look further than next week, maybe 10 years or more and consider the consequences of what’s happening at the moment.
      There is no easy fix, so please snap out of that buzz that “no” voters don’t have legitimate concerns.

• Frank i agree democracy is finished when this happened i am not sure long before this chain of events , these people that have the power in this country are criminals and the only way they will face justice if the streets run red with blood ,and judging by the way the people are out protesting and fighting for their rights these criminals will be passing the cigar box in their private clubs for a long time to come.

• @Dave, not personal you understand! :-D

• Thought that RBB was the AG for a sec there. Awful thought :P

• Paul,
    Im not saying all people sympathise with the no vote are stupid – trouble is you cant generalise
    If everybody on both sides researched the facts (and were able to sift through all the bullshit) surrounding referenda there wouldnt be a problem, and democracy would reign. Problem is there are many who are just rabid anti EU and will vote against anything to do with Europe no matter what. There are also many who will see this a way to stick their fingers up at the government – without understanding what consequences there may or may not be. Then there are loonies who come up with all sorts of strange stuff with no basis in fact as reasons to vote no (remember the Coir campaign when they tried to say Abortion was something to do with the Lisbon treaty?).
    All I am saying is a referendum can, and has been defeated on reasons that have nothing to do with the reason for the referendum in the first place.

Add New Comment