TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Flying visits? Bill Clinton in Easons, Yoko Ono in Glasnevin Cemetery

Bill Clinton took in some bookshops in Cork today, while Yoko Ono visit Daniel O’Connell’s crypt.

AN EASONS STORE in Cork and Glasnevin Cemetery in Dublin received some special visitors today – Bill Clinton and Yoko Ono.

The former US president Clinton is in Cork to take part in a conference for the charity The Ireland Funds this evening. First though, he went on a surprise walkabout on St. Patrick’s Street in the city.

Books seemed to be on Clinton’s mind as he visited both Easons and Waterstones… maybe seeing if they were stocking any of his writings?

Twitter user Richard Jacobs caught sight of him as he was leaving:

Bill Clinton arrives at Cork Airport. Image: @CorkAirport

Meanwhile Yoko Ono made a stop at Glasnevin Cemetery today to visit the crypt of Daniel O’Connell. She tweeted about the visit and said that she was ‘praying for his soul’.

Here she is with Glasnevin Trust historian and author in residence Shane McThomais:

Unexpected tweet of the day: Yoko Ono and Daniel O’Connell>

Read next:

Comments (34 Comments)

• I saw his garda escort flying past withn2 big beamers and a transit carrier earlier leaving work and was thinking what big wig gets that kinda attention these days. Never clicked with me it was him, thought it was just dinner with Flatley he was around for.

• the one day I’m not in cork city nd bill is walking around

• Mark Larson: what a ridiculous set of comments. Dublin is not Ireland: there are several tourist attractions around the country that attract visitors from abroad. Also, saying most tourist visit Dublin is a stupidly obvious. Capital cities are usually the main attractions. If I ever wanted to visit UK, am I going to see London or a f**king week in Scarborough? I’m sure your figure of 90% is wrong. You know little or nothing about Ireland or its culture.

• You just proved my point, if you ever visited the UK you will go to London, Dublin is irelands London the rest of the country is Scarborough, some of your little cities more like Hull. The vast majority of tourists that visit your country do so because they want to visit Dublin, some travel onto Galway, Kilkenny or Kerry. Those places you visit once and tick off the list, Dublin you will return over and over.

• Just met Bill in Secrets, fair play to him, bought lap dances all round!

• I would like to think the opposite is true, that tourists come here to see places like Kerry, The Cliffs, Newgrange, Powerscourt, the Burren etc etc.. We are blessed with such beautiful scenery and landscape OUTSIDE of Dublin.. Having worked in the tourism industry for 15 years I can tell you the majority if tours start and end here for 1 reason; the airport. They tend to get the flock outta Dublin after theyve completed the hop on/off bus. Dublin is a sh!t hole.. And I’m a Dub born and bred!! Seen one capital city, seen them all… Give me nature, history and culture any day over bright lights bars and booze..

Fair play to Bill- nice to see he’s not invested in a Kindle yet!!..

• well said, idiot troll comments. i live in waterford; a city drenched in history. Waterford still has about 30% of its old city walls intact, what does dublin have.? waterford has 3 lovely new museums and a new authent and archaelogically correct viking longboat build. what does dublin have? the storehouse, temple bar etc.

• Emmie 23/06/12 #

Jayz, when did this article pit Dublin against the rest of the country?!nnMad. I was trying to drive to Woodies to get my paint yesterday, didn’t realise the traffic near the cemetery was due to yer wan visiting. Hope she enjoyed!

• @mark – idiot

• Waterford….. The most boring Morbid place i visited, The city or so called city is a small town. You can walk it in 5 minutes. Tramore cringe worthy. I visited Galway, it is a pretty town but it rained non stop. Cork city not alot to say about the place. West Cork is lovely, Kerry i visited was a nice place, friendly people. For me the only place worth visiting in Ireland is Dublin and i will return.

• jrbmc 23/06/12 #

Yea Rachel your a bit of an idiot too!!! You have obviously been to Dublin but only to the Storehouse and temple bar…by the sounds of it …..

• me? an itiot? what makes you think that? was gonna troll a little but i’m better than that. That idiotic comment has just reinforced the opinion that there is more to ireland than ‘Dubhlinn’. i forgot about the jameson distillery and others fantastic dublin sites. bit personal callin me an idiot though, isn’t it?

• I hear he is going to Christy Moore

• Is Bill wanted anywhere for War Crimes? Remember that Red Cross Centre he gave the order to bomb when he needed a distraction to the sexual relations he was accused of.

• jrbmc 23/06/12 #

Yes yes Rachel all the junkies and muggers are in Dublin, now we know why alot women with blonde hair get such a hard time!!! n

• jrbmc 23/06/12 #

Again your only points of interest to visit in Dublin are drinking ones!!! Cause you don’t know any others,so for you to say what has Dublin got ?????? except these warrants the tag of an idiot.. Try visitdublin.com it might just enlighten you…

• where to get mugged, where to watch junkies jack each other off, (yeah i saw that). mad stuff. @mark, i totally agree with you about tramore, but its like most other seaside towns to be honest . Some people like that though. Face it, dublin is a dive, i was born there and still have family there by the way. but holy shit its a complete and utter kip. Saying that waterford is following suit pretty bloody quickly though.

• From Belfast or Dublin?? Dublin has bad areas just like London it is a big city but to say it is a kip is wrong, Belfast i would say yes. Dublin is a lovely city, many of my friends love Dublin and return at least twice a year. Junkies is a problem in every city. We have thousands of them here in London. I really like Dublin and visit as often as i can. Northern Ireland is a kip and a complete and utter dive. A place i will never return to.

• Rachel from Belfast telling porkies, why say you are from Dublin, is it because you wish??? Did you ever watch pinokio as a child?

• Mark Ireland is not in Dublin, Dublin is in Ireland, learn your geography.

• Nozaed 23/06/12 #

Clinton played Golf in the Old Head of Kinsale,during his stay in Cork.Which reminds me of Monica for some strange reason, oh ya she also gave Head for Clinton.

• Christy Moore is a wonderful person not a place

• This is why I love the journal! Story bout Clinton in Cork winds into big arguement about Dublin, Ireland, London and other crap. Brilliant!

Add New Comment