TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Councillor hospitalised after helping to evacuate burning house

Sinn Féin councillor John Brady was treated for smoke inhalation after he and other neighbours leapt into action.

Kilbride Grove in Bray, where the fire broke out overnight.
Image: Google Maps

A MEMBER of Bray Town Council was hospitalised overnight after he and other neighbours entered a burning house to try and ensure its occupants were evacuated.

Sinn Féin’s John Brady was alerted after a girl who was upstairs in the house in Kilbride Grove, close to the centre of the town, managed to escape and alert her neighbours to a second person trapped in the downstairs kitchen area shortly before 2am.

Brady and others made several attempts to enter through the front door and windows, but ultimately managed to enter the house through a back window and evacuate the stranded man before fire services arrived.

“The house was badly filled with smoke – we were beaten back a number of times,” Brady told TheJournal.ie.

“We managed to get into the back garden – one of the lads managed to smash in the back patio doors,” he added, saying it had taken him and others several minutes to find the trapped man.

“Luckily enough the occupant, who was trapped in the kitchen area, was able to get out and through to safety,” Brady said.

Part-time fire service

Brady and others remained in the house and tried to contain the fire with fire extinguishers before the town’s fire service – which is staffed by part-time firefighters – arrived to take over and extinguish the blaze.

The father-of-four described the girl who had raised the alarm as “the real hero” – saying it was her lateral thinking, in seeking to escape and seek help rather than save the stranded man herself, that had done the most to release him.

The councillor and the others who entered the house were taken to Loughlinstown Hospital where they were treated for smoke inhalation overnight before being released at about 6am.

Though fire services managed to contain the blaze to the kitchen area, it is thought that the house suffered significant smoke damage.

Brady said the events drew attention to the lack of a full-time fire service in Bray, saying the ‘call vetting’ procedure used by Wicklow County Council – where some callers are told their situation does not merit the visit of a fire crew – meant lives had to be put at risk.

Brady and other local councillors have sought the creation of a single national fire authority which could deploy full-time fire services when and where they were most in need.

“Every time a crew is dispatched, it costs the county council money,” he said, “so they try to limit the amount of call-outs to try and save costs. Unfortunately Bray has had many fatalities as a result.”

Read: Fire services call for change 31 years on from Stardust tragedy

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (24 Comments)

• Just to correct an inaccuracy in the piece,

“the town’s fire service – which is staffed by part-time volunteers”

Most rural areas and small towns in Ireland, outside the major cities of Cork, Dublin, Galway, Waterford and Limerick, have a retained fire-service; the fire-fighters are paid, professional fire-fighters on-call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. They are not volunteers.

FYI http://irishfireservices.ie/irish-fire-services-overview/retained-fire-service

• Well said, Ireland doesnt have any volunteer firefighters. I wonder has the councillor considered extra funding and resources for his fire service? Maybe he will now

• Right you are folks – my apologies, that’s my fault. I had misinterpreted my conversations with other people – they are indeed paid, but not for a full-time service. Happy to correct this.

• Well you’re kinda right Gavin. They are paid – part time wages for a full time service! As Michael above pointed out retained fire-fighters provide a 24hr service 7 days a week for the pay and conditions relative to a part time worker. Their training and skills are comparative to a full-time fire-fighter and fire stations in some larger provincial towns are busier than some city ones. In fact the retained crews take higher responsibility regarding attendance at road traffic accidents than city crews where the nature of the work is particularly stressful and arduous. The retained fire service is administered individually by the various County Councils/Local Authorities and retained fire-fighters, in one county or other, are constantly at loggerheads with Local Authorities regarding pay and conditions along with provision of regular training and adequate equipment.
      Sorry for going slightly off topic and well done to Mr. Brady and others who were on the spot to do the stuff that, after all, can only be done by alert, brave unpaid neighbours who are indispensable in situations like this.

• @ John Murphy…”In fact the retained crews take higher responsibility when attend RTAs”. How do you figure that one out?

• Because of the size of a rural fire stations operational area time of arrival to road traffic accidents is a particular difficulty. In addition many road traffic accidents are on isolated narrow country roadways that are difficult to navigate – some only the width of one vehicle.
      I don’t have the county by county attendance records to hand but even just going on media reports for road accidents on a country wide basis it is reasonable to deduce that road traffic accident fatalities are higher on the rural road network than city streets.

• The number of fatalities in RTAs may be higher in rural areas, but the number of RTAs that require the attendance of the Fire service is far higher in urban areas because of the volume of cars on the roads.

Don’t forget we have the ridiculous scenario whereby Fire chiefs are refusing to turn out appliances to RTAs in rural areas unless specifically asked for by the ambulance service or Gardai, purely to save money.

• Right… Looks like we’re on the same side so!

• Emmie 13/08/12 #

Fair play to him!

• Well done to all of the rescuers. And to the girl who used her head in the emergency. Bray’s too big now for a part-time service and too far from Dublin or Wicklow to rely on their services.

• Good man. Fair play to him.

• Last time I heard of a FF member risking his life he was doing so driving drunk the wrong way down a dual cabbageway
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/madcap-chase-as-mcdaid-arrested-for-drink-driving-266337.html

Fair play to John Brady if only all politicians were so selfless

• And thanks too that the A & E that Cllr Brady is fighting to keep open is still open, or he and the others would have had to be transported all the way into St Vincents for treatment!

• Would it not be more accurate to say something like “6 hospitalised after helping to evacuate burning house” rather than seemingly giving all the credit to a single Councillor?

• Alien8 13/08/12 #

it’s funny how it is always Sinn Fein when you hear a story like this. you never hear about the fianna fail councillor who risked his life, or the fine gaeler who stopped a knife attack.

mind you there is the other side of sf that start fires, but well done to the guy in this case.

• Well I don’t recall any other accounts of fires/accidents etc mentioning politicians recently so maybe politicians from other parties just haven’t had their chance to shine!

• Politicians from other parties HAVE had many chances lately to ‘shine’ both here and in europe, and have been a dismal disappointment

• Jaysus talk about begrudgery! A guy plays a part in rescuing a man from a burning building in conjunction with others, places his life on the line and all you can do is whine and moan about SF.

Not only that but you go on to allege that some side of SF start fires before praising the man. What’s up with that like. Are you saying SF started the fire or is it that you can’t bring yourself to praise an act of courage without stabbing the man in the back while you are at it?

• Man OK after potential problem

Add New Comment