TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Campaign steps up push for David Norris to re-enter presidential race

Off the back of one poll which put him third in the race he’s already pulled out of, David Norris tweeted his thanks for the continued support over the weekend.

David Norris announcing his withdrawal from the presidential race last month.
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

AN ONLINE CAMPAIGN for David Norris to re-enter the presidential race will step up its drive for the independent senator’s name to be on the ballot this week.

The We Want Norris campaign has so far collected 6,500 signatures online and now plans to petition members of the public in Dublin, Galway, Cork and Limerick this Friday with the hope of having a total of 20,000 online and offline petition signatures.

It comes as a new opinion poll published yesterday found that 18 per cent of people would vote for Norris to be the ninth president of Ireland, despite him not having been in the race for the past month.

Norris withdrew from the presidential race at the beginning of August after controversy arose over a letter he wrote appealing for clemency for his former partner Ezra Nawi who was convicted of the statutory rape of a 15-year-old boy in the 1990s.

Norris appeared to acknowledge such support with his Twitter account updated yesterday for the first time since 2 August:

Norris tweet

Speaking to TheJournal.ie the We Want Norris campaign organiser Ronan Mooney said that the campaign was set up not only to get Norris back in the race but to highlight “how undemocratic and how unfair the current process is.”

“It’s ridiculous that Irish people cannot directly select a candidate in 2011. One in three people who were surveyed by the Sunday Independent want to see David Norris on the ballot paper,” Mooney said. “That’s a significant number considering he hasn’t been running a campaign.”

He added:

We’re not saying he should or shouldn’t be president, we just want the people to have their say. Let the Irish people judge if David Norris should be president.

If he comes out and says he’s not re-entering we will be first to say we regret that, but it doesn’t change the fact that Irish people should be able to nominate a candidate directly to run for the presidency.

Mooney also called on those wishing to see Norris back in the race to lobby their local representative and said that already the 21,000 people who had ‘Liked’ the campaign on Facebook were receiving encouraging words of support from TDs and senators but he would not divulge names.

“The Irish people have a right to have their say and our elected officials have a responsibility to make sure this election is fair and democratic. An absence of David Norris from the ballot paper at this stage will bring the whole election into disrepute,” he added.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (118 Comments)

• Anthony Hopkins should totally play him in the movie version.

• Alex Simon,

Read the papers, letters. Then give an opinion! Then….. question Mr. Mitchell on his letters, many of them, two in particular, where he asked for clemency. One murderer who shot the face off a Doctor and his colleague. And the second, where another murderer beat an 18 year old girl, shot her and then raped her while she was bleeding to death. Now, give your opinion and argument on who wrote letters etc.

• Is it unreasonable to be against the death penalty? I think Gay Mitchell is in good company in not seeing execution as anything other than a barbaric punishment. I’m surprised that people have an issue with this.

• For all your information… The Vatican has an age of consent.. Of 14. Makes ya think when the percentage of people living there are apparently celibate.

• “Just in case…” they were ever found out… let’s face it, teh Vatican is a place that should be the subject of an inquiry into paedophile abuse…

• Innocent until proven guilty! If a crime has been committed, let it be dealt with by the civil authorities.

• He made a plea for clemency like every other politician at that time. If every politician from the 90′s were held up to the light of the modern day there’d be none of them left.

• Yippee *does a little dance*

• YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES! YES!

Did I say yes? YES!

And even if David Norris doesn’t run -

- Write “David Norris” on the Ballot Paper
      - Mark an “X” Beside His Name
      - Send a Message!!!

Because this is about more than David Norris, great humanitarian that he is.

This is about the Irish people who have been so badly served by their government, priests, financial regulator, mortgage providers and banks -

HAVING A SAY IN WHO THEY WANT FOR PRESIDENT!!!!!!!11!!1!1!!!

Thank you for your time.

• The age of consent in Rome is 14.

• And Japan has no age of consent

• The age of consent was not the real issue with Norris’s statements. I never understood why RTE ran with that, maybe it was a distraction. His comments about the Christian Brother and molesters in general were so far off the mark, that if Seán sixpack said it, he would have the guards around questioning him.

Norris got a soft ride on this, from the media. He is very well connected.

• I question I keep asking is this: would David Norris want to re-enter the race?

• Good question. Probably a fairly important one too I’d say given the campaign to get him back in the race!

• Important up to a point, but the real issue here is the grip on such an election wielded by the mainstream political parties and their shills.

I’m very tempted to undermine the lot of them if they don’t mind their manners.

There are a lot of bodies buried out there under a lot of concrete.

• That sounds scary, Michael!!

• This is great news ! Let’s hope he re enters the race as he’s the only person out of the current ones running who is worthy of being president.

• Not one word about the victim in his letter supporting his friend who was convicted of rape.

• We need an educated articulate president. I’m for Norris.

• me too. thats why i’ll give Michael D my vote.

• Norris pulled out because all the TD’s backing him started walking away, and most of his campaign staff did likewise, they all did so on the same time period. Unseen letters that Norris had written being cited as the reasons they quit.

Norris is n ot coming back, as he knows that if he does the Sunday Indo. will have a great scoop on him and publish straight away and he ‘ll be finished in all politics, better to lay low, stay in his cushy seanad job and carry on. That is what he will do.

• Mr. Lenehan,

I beg to differ! He is not a paedophile sympathiser. He was not asking the Israel courts to set his friend free, read the court papers, read the letters. Open your mind and don’t have such a closed one. When you have bothered to do what I have done, which is look into and read everything about David Norris before I decided to support him, then give an opinion! Look up the word democracy and another excellent word in the dictionary is PRECEDENT! Senator Norris resigned because he is an honourable man and thought that this is what a huge majority of the electorate in Ireland wanted. Well, he has realised that it wasn’t. He realises that people were actually listening to him over the years and were watching him, working for 1,000′s of other human beings that couldn’t fight their fight, well, people like myself will help him fight his, his right to be on my ballot paper! What are you so afraid of? Are you telling me that you would actually vote for someone like Gay Mitchell, whom I might remind you, wrote many, many letters! Double standards again.

• That if you screw up people are willing to forgive. And that we aren’t a nation of closet homophobes. That we are a truly democratic state.

• I’d like to see him back in and let the people of the country make the final decision and not just 20 people or 44 councils.. There will have to be a definite change to the system of election after this election because the current system is so flawed. It is hard to see whoever gets elected without Norris on the poll shaking off the notion that Norris might have beaten them had he run. Yes the people will have elected a President in a fair election on the day but the question will remain: Did they get to elect the President that they wanted or did they have to vote for the also rans, the best of a bad lot.

I certainly would like to see Norris on the polling card although I very much doubt that that will come about. If he is not on the card and as I don’t want any of the other candidates I will still go down to the voting station, get my card and put a great big “X” through it. I am not voting for someone just for the sake of it and I don’t want anyone to think that I supported them just because I had a limited choice. If Norris doesn’t run then no one else is getting my vote, simple as that.

• Don’t just spoil your vote.

Mark his name on it.

There will be a great recounting of spoiled votes and the reason should be printed on them in indelible ink.

• He should be on the ballot paper

• @Tony the fact that I don’t know what “this kind of thing” is suggests to me that this is quote mined. Context please.

• Jen Mccord,

I didn’t know that! 14! Wow, and Rome, Italy?! We have to remember here, that David Norris was not asking to get his friend off the sentence, he was asking the courts in Israel to be lenient. The fact is, Ezra is a jew, he has been working with the Palistinian refugees for over 20 years and the Israel Government have a problem with that. David Norris was no different to many other TDs, Ministers, Senators that wrote and are still writing letters to today! Maybe if F F, Labour, F Gael (who were in Government for many years) had put a stop to it long ago, people like Gay Mitchell would not have been asking for clemancy for two murderers also!

• Deasun Mac An Choiligh,

Open your mind before you open your mouth.

Rome is governed by the laws if Italy, and so is the Vatican City.

===============================================================

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ages_of_consent_in_Europe#Vatican_State

Vatican State

The Vatican does not have its own separate criminal code. Instead, in matters of criminal law, as per Article 3 of the “Law of the Source of Law” (one of the six fundamental laws adopted upon ratification of the Lateran Treaty in 1929) the Vatican State generally uses current Italian national law, as well as regional and municipal laws for Rome, as long as they do not conflict with ecclesiastical law or laws specifically promulgated by Pope for the Vatican.[61] As a result, the age of consent is the same as that of Italy. Before January 1, 2009, the adoption by the Vatican of changes made by Italy in its laws was automatic. After this date, the Vatican adoption of changes in Italian law is no longer automatic but comes into effect only after a review.[62] However, as Italy adopted its present age of consent before January 1, 2009, this change in Vatican policy does not affect the age of consent in Vatican City, which remains the same as that of Italy, 14.

The claim is sometimes made that “In the Vatican State, there is an equal age of consent set at 12 years of age”,[63] but this is incorrect. In 1929, when the Lateran Treaty was signed, the age of consent in Italy was 12,[64], and this was indeed adopted by the Vatican. However, as stated above, the rise in the Italian age of consent applied automatically to the Vatican City.

===============================================================

Look at the farcical accusations being spewed by the right winger fundies here.

They’re hammering Norris because he asked for clemency for his then-lover Nawi who had consensual sex with a fifteen year old in Israel.

Let me spell this out for all the Catholic hypocrites here.

If Nawi had had sex with his fifteen year old partner in Italy, there would have been no case of statutory rape.

Deny it all you want, but that is the fact of the matter.

• Wikipedia , real trustworthy source of mis-information…., in actual fact the Vatican divorced itself from Italian law on new yrs day 2009 , the reason given was that Italian Law was in conflict with the rules of the Church , as a result the Vatican now scrunitises International Law , as in their refusal to decriminilise Homosexuality , Civil Unions, & Divorce

• He asked for clemency for his former partner for raping a child, all senior members of his campaign team, avowed supporters up to that point resigned in disgust and he was forced to withdraw. Get over it and move on. He wrote his own political obituary no one else is to blame, it’s churlish to suggest otherwise.

• 18% of people would still vote for him and 45% want him back in the race. So they are seeking to have their voice heard and to vote for whom they choose.
      And maybe he chose the wrong team for his campaign. But this what people want and this what people should get.

• James Dunne,

The man was not his partner, he had been his partner ten years before he asked David to write the letter. He was not asking to get off his sentence. Many, many letters had been and still, are being written to this day by many politicians, yes, maybe it should be stopped but David Norris is a Senator, he is not, and was not a Taoiseach or Minister for Justice. The ones that were Taoiseach and Ministers for Justice should have stopped it a long time ago. It’s not against the law, yet! Now, ask questions about Mr. Mitchell and his letters! Two murderers! One of them shot a doctor and his colleage in the face and the other shot an 18 year old kid, beat her, then shot her, then …. raped her! Now give an opinion, an honest one. A few of his volunteer team resigned for their own reasons, which you know nothing about. So don’t give an opinion there unless you know the facts. David Norris has a right to be on our ballot paper as the others do. That is what democracy is! Read the facts, read all of them, the court papers, then give an educated opinion Sir!

• So should Gay Mitchell resign then over the letters he has sent? Oh wait nope that’s fine because double stands is what traditional Irish politics are all about.

• It’s a farce already … If he re-enters it will be hilarious ….. But then he’ll probably withdraw again

• Mr. Jordan,

I assume, from what you wrote above, you are an adolecent? You sound like a playground bully? If you have a dictionary, look up the word democracy! I am a supporter of David Norris, and will be for the forseeable future. I believe in the man, I believe in what he has done for others and I solute him in all his hard work that he has done for world human rights! What have you done for others? what have done for that matter? I bid you good day sir!

• Sheila,
      You slag Martin for what he wrote and asked him has he a dictionary….

Have a look back over your post and note; “solute”, “adolecent”. Pot and kettle.

• The spell lamers -vs- the defamers highlights of the political debate in Ireland.

How much of this Anti-David Norris stuff is because he has dared to criticize American Foreign Policy?

Even Americans criticize American Policy and American fiscal policy in particular.

Storm on the way – http://www.globalresearch.ca/index.php?context=va&aid=26376

• Aidan Gill,

I did not ‘slag’ the gentleman, read what I wrote in the message! I asked him what the word was that he wrote. I’m not apologising for my spelling Sir, I am dyslexic, I am very proud of being dyslexic. If anyone is slagging off other members of this thread, is you. You just judged me on my spelling, I write and spell very well. I make the odd mistake and try and correct it. Don’t judge people, full stop. You don’t know me and you certainly don’t know Senator Norris!

• In fairness Sheila, you can’t go around calling people immature and adolescent-like, and implying that they are homophobic just because they don’t support David Norris. I check in on the journal most days and happened upon this thread…I’m finding some of the responses to others’ opinions a bit OTT; it’s really not doing DN’s cause any favours, in spite of the well-meaning enthusiasm. I also continue to be astounded by the continued glossing over of what actually made him bow out of the race. I don’t care if the age of consent in other countries is 13, 14, etc. We have our own laws; other countries have theirs – you must adhere to your country’s laws (many of which are in place to protect the vulnerable). And by the by, I don’t condone what Gay Mitchell has done either – I think he should release copies of his own correspondence, and all the current candidates’ past actions should be scrutinized.

• Sinead,

My question to that person on this thread was honest, I didn’t imply anything, if you read it properly! I asked a question? A ‘question mark’ at the end of my sentence. I am well aware of a lot of the laws, here and abroad, and I am very much aware that they are there for a very good reason.
      Sinead, you are telling me not to call people immature and adolescent-like. I am not the one that is calling Senator Norris – Dorris! To me, I am sure, like myself, David Norris has been called worse, but come on Sinead, cop on, it is a childish thing to do. That is my opinion, and I am entitled to it!

• May i remind people that Senator Norris did not do this crime! He was not asking the Israel courts to let ‘Ezra’ off.

• I didn’t suggest he did. Neither did Mitchell shoot anyone’s face off or rape a dying woman. He merely wrote letters on behalf of people who did. Before putting himself forward as a presidential candidate.

• I call on Fine Gael and Labour to lift the whip and allow their council members to vote freely.

I call on Michael D. Higgins to distance himself from the disgraceful antics of the Labour Party shills to date on this forum and elsewhere and to publicly support David Norris by supporting his friend’s nomination.

• I have today written to all Fianna Fail members of the Oireachtas seeking their support in getting David Norris onto the ballot sheet. I have said all along that his exit from the race was pre-mature and I understand that certain people have certain views but all we are asking is to give him a chance. We may be in and out as quick depending on the electorate but at least the people will have spoken. On the other hand we may have the 9th President of Ireland in our midst.

• @Mayo,

Thank you! Nice to be called a ‘girl’ at my age! Read the facts of the case. Whom I have on my profile picture is none of your business, I could have one of my best friends on my profile picture, would you call me a lesbian then? Calling Senator Norris ‘Dorris’ is so childish. It also give me the impression that you have a problem with homosexuals? Maybe I’m wrong. I believe in Senator Norris, I believe he has the right to be on my ballot paper, and you coming out with silly, childish comments as you do, will not bully me away from this page and/or doing all I can for David Norris to be my representive on my ballot paper! A bid you adieu!

• No more Norris please. Gone, finished. Move on

• Donnacha Foley,

I have no intention of going anywhere Mr. Foley. I became a supporter of David Norris last year and will always support him in his political life. Maybe if you took the time to read about David Norris, who he is, the 1,000′s he has fought for, for many years for human rights and also may I remind you, the 1,000′s he has argued for while in the Seanad! The Ministers, TDs in the Dail cannot push ahead and bring in laws without the Seanad discussing it first. Correct me if I am wrong. David Norris, like many, many Irish people believe in democracy, real democracy! He has the right to be on my, our ballot paper. Yes, he resigned from the Presidental election because he was being bullied by certain quarters. Yes, bullied! I hate bullies, always did and I will fight for as long as I have to, to get David Norris on my ballot paper, that is my democractic right! Never, say never! Mr. Foley. There is a word, a very important word in the dictionary, ‘Precedent’. Watch this space! DAVID NORRIS FOR PRESIDENT!

• @Martin Jordon, calling Senator Norris ‘Dorris’ is so terribly childish. It makes me wonder if you have a problem with homosexuals and lesbians? His name is Senator David Norris. Yours is Martin Jordon, or would you mind if a started calling you Martina? Please keep this discussion to adult comments.

• The only problem I ever had with DORRIS is that every time someone criticised him the “gay card” was played. Couldn’t care less about his sexuality. And neither should you.
      (Gonna keep calling him Dorris now, just to point out that I can & still make a valid point)

• how about just scrapping the office , it has no place in today’s Ireland..ta hell with get rid of the Seanad aswell.. , if by constitutional law we need a president lets tear that piece of thrash up too, start fresh, like Iceland

• Typical populist nonsense.

• Agreed. Why not just put in a dictator all together and scrap democracy, sure it will save us a few bob. Lets leave just 166 people running the country with no checks and balances.

• if by populist you are refering to someone with ideas and activites that are representitive of ordinary people…i stand guilty as charged… 166 people what?..the majority of employed people in Ireland work for the government..big government did nothing to stop this mess , no checks on the balance sheets….it works in Switzerland, no carrer politicians, just ordinary joe soaps who set the agenda for the year , then go back to their everyday jobs

• Eh Deasun, no. In fact I think you haven’t a clue about Swiss democracy or politics. There are, just as in most other countries, career politicians in Switzerland. It has a different system whereby there is a Federal Council rather than a single individual President. If we take the current president of Switzerland (i.e. head of the Federal Council): her name is Micheline Calmy-Rey and was elected president for 2011. However, when she exits her role as president she will still be a member of the Federal Council, a body on which she has been a member since 2003. The members of the council are elected to a term of 4 years. There is no limit to the amount of terms. Legally anyone can become a member, but in practice it is generally reserved for MPs, or on occasion members of the Canton regional governments (Switzerland is a Federal republic with each federal member known as a Canton, in comparison with Canadian provinces, US states, and German Länder). Members of the Federal Council enjoy absolute immunity, which means they can not be tried for any crime they may commit under the capacity of a legal representative – any other crimes can only be tried with permission of the Federal Council unanimously. Outside of the Federal Council there also exists the National Council (similar to our Dáil) and a Council of States (with members elected by the Cantonal governments). Each Canton then has its own government responsible for Canton-level politics and administration. All in all, Switzerland has a far more complex, and, proportionately speaking, has more national politicians than Ireland per head of population.

• Brian i bow to your knowledge, ya would’nt be able to tell me how to get the fada over name?

• Yes Deasún. Alt Gr followed by the vowel in question. I’m not sure about Macs as I use MS Windows. If you want a capital Á just press Alt Gr at the same time as Shift and the letter A.

• I totally agree. The presidency is a waste of space. Let the minister of foreign affairs of the day do any necessities. No disrespect to current or previous incumbents.

• So, John, you would suggest the government be responsible for ensuring all legislation passed by the same government is constitutional? That type of governance is what allows dictatorships to arise – the very same thing was done in Germany in the 1930s.

• Norris is gone for good. Move on. Most of us already have!

• Louise,

Never, say never!!! Take time out like I did last year, read about David Norris, read who he really is not who you think he is. I guarantee you, you will change your mind on him. While you are at it, read the meaning of the word ‘democracy’. You cannot have an honest opinion on someone unless you go to the bother of finding out who he is, what he has done for 1,000′s in this country and worldwide in human rights. He deserves to be heard. He deserves the same rights as the other candidates, TO BE ON OUR BALLOT PAPERS! Nobody is asking you to vote for him. That’s your decision.

• It is totally democratic that Norris is not running. Candidates have to be backed by 20 TDs(who are democratically elected) or 5 councils (whose members are elected) to get a nomination. This fact is laid out in the Constitution which was endorsed by popular vote. 21,000 people wishing to circumvent these facts are not pro-democratic, they just cant let it go that Norris will not secure a nomination.

• In in case you’ve forgotten. if enough people vote on a thing, that makes it democratic. Its caleld a referendum. There was nothing democratic in the vested interests blocking a candidate, any more than there was a valid reason for block Dana when she ran. Every candidate should be able to run instead of being subject to croney politics – this is the way power is maintained in the élitist circles of politics.

• I would suggest Brendan Grace for the role.
    Challenging, but rewarding for us all.

• Mayo 05/09/11 #

No point arguing with this girl – she’s got Norris in her picture. My wonderful unbiased opinion is this – he wrote those letters on State letterhead, therefore making it look like the Irish people were behind him – that’s sneaky. I don’t want a sneaky president (Mitchell is in the same waters but didn’t he write as a statement?). Nor can I suffer a president who wants leniency for a guy who rapes a child – forget about it man. Finally he didn’t secure the number of votes so democracy reigns supreme – if I start a campaign to get my dog nominated and I get twenty odd thousand signatures, can my dog run?

• @Sheila Byrne …. If you want to get personal that’s fine but not normally my style …. I’m not an adolescent but used to be …. Your obviously a Dorris supporter and I notice that you corrected someone when they posted that he was not in a relationship with the child rapist at the time ….. That makes it OK then ????? I sailuite you …. Sorry about the spelling but it’s better than you own !!!

• Could I ask you Mr. Jodan,

Do you have a problem with homosexuals/lesbians? Why, why would you call Senator Norris ‘Dorris’? This is the backward, childish comments Ireland can do without. Please be an adult here with this discussion, no need to go down there to the level. We all have our own opinions, we go on a page like this to discuss our opinions, not to name call each other silly, childish names.

• Martin,

What is ‘sailuite you’? – better than you own? What do you mean?

• @Sheila. What has any of this got to do with homosexual’s or Lesbians. Many of the people that walked away from Norris’s campaign were gay, They walked because his views and actions were unacceptable, irregardless of gender or sexuality.

Try not to turn this in to a football.

• Shauna 05/09/11 #

I’ve met Norris once or twice, seems like a good man. I would have voted for him if I didn’t know about the letter. However I do know about the letter & with all that’s going on in the churches at the moment I think it would be a disgrace if he was still running. We have Enda Kenny supporting the victims and then a would be president supporting the rapists….on government headed paper. It would send out a very mixed message. And Norris respected that and so did the campaigners. This is such a sensitive time for the Irish, we really don’t need any more bad publicity.
    And Sheila before you say anything to my reply, this is my opinion, I’ve read the opinion you are trying to force upon people so no need to copy and paste again.

• Hit the nail straight on the head there.

• Shauna,

Not sure what you mean ‘copy and pasting’? Yes, of course that’s your opinion as much as I am entitled to mine and as much as a huge percentage of Irish voters have the right to vote for whom they want and for whom they are entitled to see on their ballot paper!

Where can you see that I am forcing anyone to do anything? My opinion is mine, you and others do what you will with your opinion. That is all I have to say to you Shauna. I bid you good day.

• Shauna he did not use Government headed paper!!!!! The media totally misrepresents the letters and said he did. Look for yourself http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0730/norrisletter.pdf . You will see that the letter written to the court was written on plain paper and NOT on Government paper. It’s a pity that the media don’t highlight this and maybe it might make people reassess their position. I agree that Enda Kenny’s support for victims is the right course of action however I don’t think that it is that easy to compare the two situations. When confronted, Norris produced the letters voluntarily in 48 hours ( Mitchell can’t find his, hmmm ), the Catholic Church on the other hand engaged in a systematic cover up and tried to hide the evidence. Norris put his hands up, admitted that it was a grave error of judgement (14 years ago) and stepped down due to the public hysteria of an ill informed public whipped up by a media that had it’s own agenda. When was the last time you heard of a politician being this forthright with the public? The man is fallible just like us all, it’s a pity that people don’t look to their own failings in life and see how they would like to be judged before they get so self righteous.

It is good to see people such as yourself engaging in a debate such as this because at least it highlights the inadequacies of our current method of selection of candidates. I would be interested in hearing your reply after you have looked at the copy of the letters on the link that I have posted and whether it has changed your views in any way as regards Norris or the media.

• @ Shauna,

Open your mind before you open your mouth.

Get your facts straight before you post.

• Donncha Foley and Alex Simon,

More shills for the parties who rode to power on a tide of disgust at the way Fianna Fáil had treated the electorate and the economy, and who are now unwilling to allow a democratic vote for President.

It took FF a decade to ruin the economy – it took yer lot 6 months to pervert democracy to their will by blocking Norris and now we see the slanderers still haven’t learnt a lesson.

What a pair of fracking hypocrites you two are. Feck you and the hoors you rode in on. Wait until Birds Nest Head cuts the social welfare in December and see how long yiz’ll stay in government.

• I would suggest you do the same Sheila. Mitchell – who I don’t support- used his position to seek clemency as a statement of opposition to death penalty, not because he had a relationship with anybody. Very important difference. This particular race is run and you backed the wrong horse..

• I can’t see this happening but would it not better than rather than signing a petition that people contact their local elected councillor or TD. These are the people who will actually make it happen.

Petitions are like opinion polls. They provide plenty to talk about but little action.

• Brian,

The supporters of David Norris have been writing to Ministers and TDS and Senators calling on them to support democracy and allow David Norris on our ballot papers. We are still doing it today! The petitions and opinion polls are good because they show the support or non support of a topic.

• I agree with you in principle Brian but let’s be honest, in practice when have TD’s ever listened to their constituents ? Take for example Galway City Council where Norris was denied even the chance to make his case by Hildegarde Naughton who only changed her mind when she realised that she had made a “mistake” and due to a “misunderstanding”. God help the people of Galway if this is the sort of people who are running their good city. elected representatives who don’t know what is going on in their own council meetings, “misunderstand” what they are voting on and deny the universal human right of freedom of speech to a Presidential candidate. I’d expect that in a third world country or Belarus but not in Galway.

The other problem to circumvent is that the TD’s in my constituency are 2 FG, 2 Labour and 1 Sinn Fein. Do you really think that they will listen to me when 2 of the parties have their own candidates are are under orders not to endorse anyone else even if I want them to? Sinn Fein are half thinking of running their own candidate for tactical reasons just to gain exposure full in the knowledge that they haven’t a hope of winning. In an ideal situation what you propose is indeed the right way to go about things, however, in practice once TD’s and political parties get your vote you become irrelevant for another 5 years or until the next election.

• Brian, I agree. I signed the petition but also contacted TD’s. Now I didn’t get as many responses as I would have liked, and in predictable fashion the ones tied to parties blew up the smokescreen of “oh, he can still try to get support if he wants to” with only a few independents supporting the idea of reform of the current system. That said, that could easily just have been so I’d leave them alone. One thing of note is that I did not get any response from a Fine Gael TD at all, which I think speaks volumes. Whether one likes him or not, and whether one wants him back in the race or not, people must realise that we are in a very dangerous position when people want actual change and reform and it’s skated over because it doesn’t suit the party line. I can’t speak for everyone, but I personally will be watching how the people in power react like a hawk over the coming days when this gets more coverage.

• @ Brian Daly.

The mainstream political parties applied the whip to prevent Norris getting a Nomination.

They don’t want a man who speaks his mind criticizing their dragging Ireland further into recession with austerity measures.

They don’t want a President who will support the families of innocent victims in American sponsored and generated Theatres of war.

They want some supine flute who will be distracted from the events on the world stage, the atrocities that will bring about world government, or a United States of Europe.

I want David Norris to make our voice heard and I don’t care if he occasionally let’s his heart rule his head.

Look at the slick willy running the US at the moment – sucking it up on College Green while Drone Aircraft continue to kill thousands in Pakistan – nearly as many killed there in the last ten years as in the thirty years Troubles in northern Ireland, most of them innocents.

You can keep sucking the American teat all you want – its time they improved their game and stopped trying to influence the internal politics of Ireland.

• @Michael: Actually, the only Party that applied the Whip is Fine Gael.
      This is evidenced by the fact that Labour & Fianna Fáil cllrs have backed the nomination of Mary Davis & Séan Gallagher. Sure it’s it’s not just a fact that they didn’t think he represented their communities?

• Reality is folks he will not get 20 names to sign – not a hope – so in affect he is out of the race before it starts.

Move on

• No moving on.

Send the mainstream parties, their shills and the fundies a message.

Then we can start digging up the bodies on politics in Ireland – we don’t need a tribunal to do this.

• Mr Editor…perhaps a name change from thejournal.ie , to Sheila’s page would be appropiate

• Also if he’s so popular will he be running for TD next time and actually be democratically elected to office as opposed to be pick by trinity graduates.

• Just read on another news source that Archbishop of Dublin had sent a letters seeking clemency for one of the convicted Dublin priests because he was so old… but the vatican have refused to comment on if his pending elivation to cardinal is to be cancelled

• That is probably very true Jimmy, but people must realise that he pulled the plug on his own campaign… all scandal aside, if he were to run, would we want a flip flop presidential candidate?? me thinks not

• Deasun Mac An Choiligh,

I’m sorry, but that outburst, to me, sounds so immature. Whether you like it or not, we do have and will have a President. The office is there for many reasons, to get rid of the Seanad would be ridiculous. You seem to think that the Senators sit there on their asses doing nothing and getting a salary for it. In fact, if you bothered to look into the facts, the Seanad is there for a good reason also. They are there to keep control and discuss the laws etc. that are happening in the Dail. They also fight for new laws to brought in. Yes, the Seanad should be reviewed and maybe, maybe cut back on the amount of Senators we have, but we CANNOT get rid of it!

May I also remind you, I would hope that we don’t go down the road of Iceland. They have refused to pay back monies that were given to them. If one can’t pay back what they owe, they shouldn’t get a loan of it in the first place! Same in everyday life. You get a loan to put petrol in your car, bus fare, morg? So, you never pay back what you owe, is that what you’re saying? That’s wrong.

• I never asked for 124billion , why in all thats good would i want to pay that back, im crippled with a 200,000 euro mortgage on a house worth 120,000…trust me im paying through the nose.

As for Iceland the citizens spoke up , twice, they never asked for that debt and they sure as hell ain’t paying it back…fair balls to them, they sacked the government.., jailed the bankers … Oh that the Irish would do somethiong so wrong to rock the boat……..get a grip lady

• Deasun,

I too have a huge bloody morg. Lost my job 3 years ago. I agree with you on one point. Most definitely, bankers, Ministers etc. that were involved in this awful time should be jailed just like in Iceland and the U.S. CAB should take all their assets/bank accounts. Really hurt them.

Let’s finish by wishing each other well and good health!

• Good Health Shiela

• He did say that the “For example, the gutter press in England and in Ireland fanned the flames of this kind of thing, and they dehumanised ­people, called them evil beasts, perverts and all this kind of thing.’

That is a profoundly warped statement and was found repulsive by gay and straight, his campaign team, who had many prominent gay rights activists on board, also walked en masse from his campaign in disgust. Are they now also homophobes.??

He did 2 things that ensured his campaign was dead on the ground.

1 – A big mouth, that he used for 30 years without thinking about what he was saying. A foolish mistake for an intelligent man.

2 – A blaise approach to child abuse, whether in his comments or in his appeal to the Israeli court. The final straw were those hidden letters.

Come on people, what kind of person describes the media as “GUTTERPRESS” for calling Paedo’s “evil beasts and perverts”.

Norris’s fans are blindly loyal, same as Haughey’s fans are. No one should be beyond question.

• Dermot D 05/09/11 #

You’re*

• I think it’s telling that 34% of people want Norris in the race, almost double the amount of people who said they would vote for him. A lot of people who do not support him, can see how unfair it was that he was essentially forced out of the race. Even if Norris decided to re-enter the race and got the nomination, I think his supporters need to recognise he will be in a far weaker position than before. Nevertheless, given that he is third in the polls (when he has resigned from the campaign), in the interests of democracy he should be able to get the nomination should he want it.

• Dermot,

That’s all his supporters want, is for him to have that right to be on our ballot paper. He/we are not asking the electorate to vote for him, we are asking to have him on our ballot paper, so we too, as supporters of his, can vote for him, for whom we think and feel is the best to represent us as our 9th President.

The fact that many Co Councils seats are held by F Gael and Labour councillors should not stop Senator Norris being on the ballot paper. To me, that was his difficulty in getting nomination. So let’s hope democracy will prevail here.

• Norris versus the generation who allowed the church to rape, bugger and abuse thousands of children. Hmmm

• Norris is part of the same generatioon and was at the front of the queue to help child abusers. A man devoid of morals is not fit to be in the Senate let alone Head of State. We dodged a bullet when he had to withdraw in disgrace,

• just wondering aloud but has anyone stopped to think of whether David is still interested in running ?

aside from the logistics, funding, support (in getting nominated) up hill struggles he’d face does he (or any sane person) really want to expose themselves to the levels of abuse and hatred he will no doubt be on the received end of again from a certain small (but malevolent) section of society…..

• Can’t be doing a U-turn at this stage, if he felt so strongly that he had done nothing wrong then he should have stood his ground and fought his corner.

Did his supporters etc not walk away from him? This is turning in more of a “because he is gay he is been victimized”, its not the case.
    No one doubts his intelligence but its a shame that this link to the pedophile is there, regardless if the Irish can see past this, other countries won’t and we are in enough of a hole without someone who has been labelled a pedophile sympathizer as our president;

• If we want to get technical Ireland is not a democracy in the purest sense (i.e the people do not directly have control over the decision making process), we elect representatives on our behalf to carry out this function and thus we are a republic. The fact that Sen Norris failed to get even a nomination for President is perfectly legitimate as he could not meet the criteria as set down in our constitution which was approved by popular suffrage and with a majority of the country voting in favour of it. Constant reference is made to Gay Mitchell’s letters seeking the commutation of two odious individuals sentences of death for murder in the US, as I understand it he asked for their sentences to be commuted to life imprisonment. Two distinct things seperate his letters from Sen Norris’ 1. He did not have a personal relationship with the individuals in question 2. It simply follows the pattern of his lifelong advocacy against state sanctioned muder. Why should this be a problem for anyone?

• For goodness sake, just how stupisd are people? Norris’s name and reputation are already badly damaged. Any attempt to resurrect this nonse will only dio him more harm. He could end up out of the Senate and a complete laughing stock. The eejits behind this campaign clearly have no idea about how politics works.

There’s only one person less electable than Norris and that’s Bertie Ahern.

• Ok. David Norris as a very intelligent man decided to WITHDRAW from the campaign. He he felt he did nothing wrong he should have continued to fight.
    And it was 1/3 polled wanted him back not 1/3 out of the population wanted him back. Huge difference

• Lol