TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Carers to protest at Dáil today over cuts to grant

They are demanding the immediate restoration of the 19 per cent cut to the Respite Care Grant announced in the Budget.

Carers protest the 19 per cent cut to the Respite Care Grant last Friday.
Image: Wanderley Massafelli/Photocall Ireland

AROUND 200 FAMILY carers are expected to protest outside the Dáil today demanding the immediate restoration of the 19 per cent cut to the Respite Care Grant announced in the Budget last Wednesday.

The Department of Social Protection intends to cut the annual payment from €1,700 to €1,325 next year.

Catherine Cox, Communications Manager of The Carers Association says family carers across Ireland are very “frustrated and angry” with this cut and are asking for its immediate reversal.

The protests will take place at 1 pm.

Social Protection Minister Joan Burton said the payment was “regrettable” and noted that it was now back to 2006 levels.

The Carers Association Ireland say there are around 187,112 family carers, contributing €11 million per day, providing 900,000 hours of care daily and saving the state €4 billion each year. Census 2011 also found that 21 per cent of family carers provide over 43 hours of care per week.

The protest comes after a similar demonstration, of over 100 people, at Leinster House last Friday.

PHOTOS: Carers hold protest against plans to cut respite care grant >

Read next:

Comments (76 Comments)

• I have been a carer for the last 6 years for those who think i use this grant to go on a holiday i find insulting ,havent been on a holiday since 2005 ,this money goes towards heating and travel and extra nursing hours. Also care home prices range from 850-1250 euros a week . For those ignorant people who think i would not mind getting a grand a year, well i just hope that in your lifetime you do not have to go through the stress and pressure and loneliness a carer goes through from day to day.
    I care for my mother because she needs to be cared for and i want her to be able to live in her own home its saving the state every week , its sad that some people are on here begrudging carers it makes you wonder what the f##k happened to this country….

• 1pm is lunch time folks. It’s not a big ask to give up one lunch break to go out and show some solidarity with these people. Show this arrogant government what people power is all about

• So according to Burton the payment is back to 2006 levels. Heard Leo on Morning Ireland spinning the same story. Anyone know if politicians salaries and expenses are back at 2006 levels?

Good luck with the protest carers.

• SNPA 11/12/12 #

@Shane McCarthy Donnell. 20% of those who receive the respite care grant receive no other core social welfare payment -no weekly payment! You’ve been listening to too much government spin on this and swallowed it, hook, line & sinker. This only allows carers a holiday if they can provide replacement care which in some cases, involves nursing care at a cost of ?300 plus per day in the home. The Respite Grant cut comes within a backdrop of respite services in the disability sector being dramatically cut back this year and more to come next year. Not all of those who “care” for another person, be they a child with profound disabilities or an elderly relative qualify for carers allowance, medical cards etc. They are also subject to the same budget cuts, property tax, increase in drug payment schemes and PRSI that everyone else is incensed about, but have an additional reduction of ?325 to factor in. If the government actually provided facilities or services for people who require high levels of care whereby carers could genuinely take a break once a year, there would be little fuss about this cut. The reality is that what little respite there is, is quickly being eroded away and the service has totally ceased in some areas. so when you look at ?325 as being a modest cut, you and soundbite Ministers and TDs are glossing over all of the other cuts carers and people with disabilities are faced with.

• I no lots of careers getting a weekly allowance, all actually of who I no get it! Yes u could say go back to 2006 but look at all the other measures have come in since then! In 2006 the figure was what it’s back to now but u had no other additional deficiencies in place so 1, 325 seemed a very decent respite care figure

• @Carers. Best of luck with that. You’d have to think FG will row back on this one, but it’s disgraceful that they are making you march out in the cold so you can play your part in Enda’s Xmas panto.

• I think that the respite carers are right to protest, since they are the ones who care for their loved ones and they are saving the government money. I emailed joan burton about it but didn’t get any answer from her and it shows how little they care about the. Abolish the senate and presidency and we would have more money for them, and for lots of other things like houses for the homeless.

• JakkiB 11/12/12 #

Ignore Shane as he clearly thinks it’s ok for these cuts while members of our Government spend money on trips abroad in fancy hotels, There is a big difference here Shane, The carers care about the people they look after were as the Government do not give a flying F*** about you, me or them!! Wake up!

• I no what the issue is! Carers care for a relative full time and get a respite grant each year that has been cut by 300 odd! What have ye got to say about mothers been cut by child benefit 3 years in a row struggling to put food on table for kids

• For the record despite the Indo trying to make it sound dramatic. 9 members of Goverment travelled to that for a total figure of 35k. As a person who travels a lot with work. 9 people to Doha for 8 days including flights , accomodation etc. is excellent value.

• vanessa 11/12/12 #

@Shane McDonnell Ignorance is bliss!! You haven’t a clue what you’re even talking about. Go out and educate yourself with some real facts about carers and then.come back here and try and have some kind of an educated argument!

• These people are doing a service to the nation having given up their ability to go out and work to look after a person in need of care full time for longer hours than any 9to5 . FG/Lab are basically saying FU on behalf of the people of Ireland we no longer value your sacrifice or contribution to the state and you can go and live in abject poverty so we can use the money to bail out greed mongers from corrupt banks. It costs a minimum of ?50,000 a year to support a person in residential care which is more than 3 times more than the untouched careers allowance would be. How they think they are going to make a saving when people will logistically no longer be able to consider taking up a role as a full time career is beyond belief. Many will have to go the route of state run residential care costing a much higher price and forcing the people in need of care to live an institutionalised existence. It’s pretty a pathetic state of play if the numpties in Leinster house think this is the correct way to go. I was ashamed of people elected to govern this country before but now I truly am at a whole other level.

• JakkiB 11/12/12 #

Shane the carers grant is assessed and childrens allowance is not and that is the problem, Not everyone needs the children’s allowance but carers do need their allowance

• Keep it up guys, I really admire ye, not like the rest of the gutless people who won,t get out on the streets and show those wasters in leinster house how much we are fed up of them.

• snooch 11/12/12 #

Yeah you should have more guts like Marcus and spout crap on the internet about how ordinary decent people who are trying to make ends meet in awful circumstances are spineless because they don’t have time energy or money to be out shouting docile repetitive dull unimaginative crap at the dail

• Abolish the Senate and give the money to the carers.

• Fine Gael…..stripping society neediest. Shame shame hang your head in shame.

• I originally believed politics was a vocation, a calling where people WANTED to serve their country! When exactly did it become a very well paid career choice?? With this in mind, when will ALL politicians show proper leadership and take a minimum 45% salary cut, no expenses and no pension? This should also apply to senior civil servants/permanent government personnel, saving the country enough that Carers and other low paid state salaried personnel can be left alone to get on with their work without this added stress!!!

• Martina 11/12/12 #

Carers are the minority group why isn’t the whole of Ireland standing at the gates of Leinster house with them

• vanessa 11/12/12 #

Shane I’d love to know where you are getting your information from that allows you to spout your misinformed information. Tell us how do you know that the majority of people who get this respite grant spend it on a holiday! What is the source of your research??

• A holiday, what’s that??? ….. A break for me is getting 3-4 hrs uninterrupted sleep one nite a week!!!! ……… My respite care grant goes on my ASD son, to get him specialist clothing as he has severe sensory issues (one pr of socks for him is €9 + postage ) ….. I spend over €135 per week of diesel to get my son to school and therapies, €80 on special foods and then whatever is left is for the rest of the family!!! ……..

• If you want an effective protest you need to have masks of Lucinda cretin and Leo varadaker and be naked. You need a legal challenge. Don’t like to agree with mean old begrudgers but your just more rabble outside dail a few pesky protestors. If you were collecting between 3-5k a week would you care? You heard prank calls on budget day and another one caught with pants down same day!!!

• Only certain comments accepted here?

• shane ur so arrogant! your a clueless man! it doesnt matter whether the person u are caring for is mildly disabled or severely disabled they should still be entiled to the full respite grant , which is exactly the way it is. my son is 5 yrs old and is unable to talk , sit, walk etc! so do u think he shouldnt be entitled to the grant ???!!!! id like to see u try to look after my son for one day cause basically im like a nurse , would u incert a tube into his tummy or nose for feeding ? NO YOU WOULDNT !!! >:(

• The government’s insistence that the decision to significantly cut the respite care grant was necessary and unavoidable rings hollow when you consider that it has, in the same Budget, forked out a colossal 55.2 million euro to the horse and greyhound racing sector.

What a bizarre sense of priorities. These politicians should go down in history for having managed to reverse the Robin Hood principle: They have taken from those most vulnerable people in our society and redistributed hard-pressed tax-payers money to…the bloodstock industry!

Does gambling on horses and greyhounds rate higher with them than people whose lives depend so profoundly on the support and loving care of their fellow human beings?

• Just asking do people think that all carers caring for people with different ailments deserve the same respite grant?

• Ill tell u a story I heard a person say today they would abolish the respite grant and leave people apply for it where need be

• Yes I no this money is still used for a holiday etc about yes u could probably say its cut by 2 much at 3 hundred odd but the point I’m hitting at is its still a serious sum of money that you could do loads with

• It’s not that it pays for a holiday Shane, it pays (in our case anyway) for my brother to go into respite care so that my mam can take a few days off. The grant may be back to 2006 levels but back then places like John of Gods had respite places available but they’ve all been cut to the bone now so it’s not comparing like with like. 1300 doesn’t cover a lot when you’ve to pay for care, proving once again how much carers are saving the state.

• Right just a suggestion Helen! Have u family members who could take up the mantel for one week to give ur mam a break? Somone to do it from goodness of there heart?

• We do that already Shane, not ‘out of the goodness of our heart’ as you patronisingly term it but because that’s what you do for family – but my mam is 74 and has her own health issues and is living on a widows pension and deserves more than a couple of days off a year. Thanks to emigration I’m the only family member left living in Ireland and I’m on the other side of the country, with my own family to care for. Not everyone fits so easily into your scroungers box.

• Well I would really feel sorry for ur mam having to care full time for someone at 74 with health issues of her own! That is extremely difficult

• Yes the figure is now back at 2006 levels! It got an increase in the economy boom back then!

• Guys correct me if I’m wrong but this respite care grant was yes, reduced by 300 odd but its still a once off yearly payment of well over a grand! I tell u one thing if I was getting a weekly allowance and this yearly sum of money 2 I’d be delerious not cribbing about it

• Typical that’s how much you know about what Carers do and their need to get some time off this is essential

• Would you be delirious about providing around the clock care? Incontinence care? Begging for a few hours home help so you could go on a wild crazy fun trip to tesco? Keep strong in your actions carers, the entire country (apart from him :-/) is behind you.

• Nobody would be delirious about providing round the clock care! I’m not commenting on that, I’m commenting on the sum of money

• Shane- if you’re not ‘commenting on that’ what’s your point? Why do you think they are getting that money? It’s because they are caring 24/7 for someone. Do you realise how much it would cost the state if they stopped and left you and I pick up the tab? It’s easy make financial observations from a far, when you skewer the realities to suit your agenda. This severe cut was totally unacceptable. FG and Lab can distract people with waffle about abortion debates and social issues, but we have all seen the truth now and whether or not they roll it back they will pay electorally for this. The national mood is changing and people are realising they need to protest and be heard, or this lot will ignore our pleas.

• id like to see you try my life for one day ! cause you obviously havent got a clue how hard it is 24/7 . you have no idea how hard a carers life is on daily basis !

• Well said Elaine. My mum is a full time carer for her brother, who is disabled and getting quite old now, so I can relate to the anger being felt by people over this issue. I was horrified when I heard the Taoiseach’s pay was being protected YET AGAIN, while lower income families were being hit again. We should all be on the streets protesting this agenda.

• I’m not doubting for a minute how hard your life is! Are ye saying the respite grant shouldn’t of been touched at all?

• Kenneth that’s well said but would it get u anywhere? We’re all been cut in diff ways right left and centre

• Shane- The respite grant should not have been touched, as carers lives are hard enough as it is. Yes, we have all been hit, but carers earn a pittance for a 24/7 job, which saves the state millions a year. Why not cut, or postpone, increments to top civil servants? why not raise income tax on people earning over €150,000? Why didn’t our politicians take a hit in this budget? There are many ways this money could have been saved, but they chose a self serving course and I sincerely hope people show them they will not get away with it by protesting and peacefully resisting their agenda. I can see you are receiving quite a hostile reception on this thread, but I think you just don’t understand the enormity of the job and how little these people are paid for such an enormous job. Regardless of whether we agree, it’s good people can air these issues and clarify some misgivings about opposing positions.

• Yes i understand! They only get a weekly allowance and then this once off yearly payment! What I have to ask carers is does it make a momentous difference to u, 1,700 odd down to 1,300 odd?

• Shane- Look at the anger and upset this has caused across the state. What do you think? We are having this conversation BECAUSE people feel aggrieved at this move. They feel cheated by this government and, in my opinion, rightly so.

• no it shouldnt have been touched ! how about we bring all the ppl we care for into a&e and see how the hospital copes with what we have to deal with day in day out, im so disgusted , ive also lost money in other things in the budget , how much more can they take from ppl!

• I think people should have to apply for this and then be tested! I no carers getting money for family members who have very minor ailments! All carers don’t deserve the same respite grant

• Answer my question then do all carers regardless of the ailments of their family member deserve the same respite care sum?

• Shane- is that question for me, or in general? I believe all respite carers, regardless of the persons disability, should get this grant. Would you like us to grade our disabled Shane? Is that how you view this dilemma? Will we, perhaps, make the incontenent and infirm wear a badge? Will someone with your compassion do the grading??I am beginning to think you are living in cloud cuckoo land, when it comes to caring for the disabled, to be honest. ALL carers are more than deserving of this grant. I couldn’t understand the cold blooded disconnect, which permeates through FG, and now Labour, prior to this conversation, but I see it now. We can pay our Taoiseach €200,000 a year, but the thought of preserving the grant for carers and the disabled is crazy stuff altogether? it must be for you to come in here and challenge people who know this subject in a profoundly personal way. It’s pure bullshit self-serving logic, Shane, regardless of how the government, and now you, spin it. We, as a people, have wearied of FG’s top down thinking. Austerity be damned. Our society cannot, and must not, target the weakest in our group.

• I’m not adding anymore I said it! U cannot compare one disability to the next! Some person might have a slight ailment n fully operate themselves! Does there carer deserve full respite care along with a weekly allowance! Not a chance

• They deserve a weekly allowance and some respite care but not 1, 700

• And the Taoiseach deserves €200,000 for cowering in a corner in Europe, right? That’s your logic Shane and it speaks volumes about your world view. It says much more than any of your detractors have touched on, to be fair. I’d argue carers deserve more, Shane. Much more! It’s difficult to quantify and qualify the savings, which their hard work, gives the Irish exchequer. We should appreciate those in our society who provide this service, Shane, and not let eejits ruin our country and continue to dictate pig-ignorant policies to us from within the artificial bubble that surrounds Leinster House. Enda and Eamon are aged politicians, who are more afraid of their pensions being lost than the societal ramifications for their actions. FF were untouchable once, Shane. FG and Lab feel untouchable now, but all failed regimes fall and this lot have sealed their faith. Shame on anyone that views the world in such a way. Our society will be judged by the way we care for the old and infirm.

• The same applies with children’s allowance and one family deserves more then others! Will u stop comparing it to the government! Everyone no’s even eejits that the government are not gonna talk hge cuts, it’s normal people that will take the cuts

• Shane- ‘everyone knows, even eejits that the government won’t take huge cuts’? I don’t, Shane. Why should the disabled be cut, while they are protected? This is clearly acceptable to you, but it is not to me. I don’t view the world is such a shallow, wealth protecting way and clearly, when I look back at the many comments you’ve received on this thread, I am not alone in the belief. You can lie down and prostrate yourself before FG’s disgusting agenda, but I will not.

• No lad I speak logically when I say the government won’t take major cuts! I don’t speak about something that I no wont happen! Yes they should be hit(politicians) but they won’t be! It’s us everyday folk that will but I stick to my point about respite care! All carers don’t deserve the same amount

• And I disagree Shane.

• Grand we disagree :)

Add New Comment