TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Coillte boss under pressure to take pay cut

The Taoiseach singled out David Gunning for criticism in his speech at the Fine Gael Presidential Dinner last night.

Enda Kenny pictured earlier this month.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

DAVID GUNNING, THE chief executive of Ireland’s forestry body Coillte has been criticised by the Taoiseach for not acceding to the Government’s pay cut request.

Speaking at the Fine Gael Presidential Dinner last night, Enda Kenny singled out Gunning for criticism, stating he was “very disappointed” that he had not agreed to the voluntary 15 per cent reduction in salary.

It emerged on Friday that Gunning is the only chief executive of a semi-State body on a salary of over €250,000 that did not lower his annual remuneration after the request was made by Cabinet.

Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform Brendan Howlin asked the chief executives of all commercial semi-States to waive some of their salary after he set lower pay levels for new hires in June.

On legal advice, the Government did not enforce the cuts on those already in jobs.

The CEOs at An Post, the National Roads Authority, Bord Gáis, the Irish Aviation Authority, the ESB, Iarnród Éireann and the Dublin Airport Authority have all volunteered 15 per cent of their annual salaries.

Coillte, however, said no decision has been taken on the waiver yet, according to a statement sent to RTÉ.

Gunning’s €297,000 annual salary means he is paid about €100,000 more than the Taoiseach.

Read next:

Comments (17 Comments)

• These greedy, self serving executives need to be help to account publicly.

• “On legal advise, the Govt …..”. I’m sick of this crap. They had & have no problems lower our pay cheques at the stroke of a pen. “On legal advice”, my arse !! Grow a pair, Govt. Cut the damn thing & give them 2 choices – take it or you’re fired.

• Nothing surprises me anymore!. Why anyone wld be paid that sort of money in the first place on an island as small as this beyond comprehension. They all need tow the line every political person, x politician, president, x presidents, head of semi states etc. they all should be forced to take drastic pay cuts in their wages r pensions. if a elderly person can just about survive on the date pension what’s the thoughts behind 140,000 plus pension plans who will actually spend that in a year retired?.

• After Epic Mountain Bike Club staged Irelands most successful race, with huge international exposer, Coilte have sent them a very petty letter telling them they will never be allowed stage another event again – no reasons were stated…

They have mismanaged the forestry in Ireland, clear felling one of our most valuable resources & selling the timber for bargain basement prices for incineration in the UK.

They have sold off Land (which is supposed to belong to the Irish people) to Shell to Sea… & they insist on paying themselves massive salaries… Coilte needs to be shut down from the top & a massive rethink is required on hopw to manage OUR land. BTW we need to forget about letting Bertie Ahern & his Swiss consortium from getting near it either…

• Cant see the wood from the trees

• Nobody in the semi state should get paid more than 150,000 a year. Put it this way,if Ireland was a company we have quite a few people getting paid more than the boss! Like all public sector pay it makes no sense.
    If you want to make more work in the real world. Tax payers should not have to pay for these wasters.

• What do you mean “all public sector pay”?! I am so sick of the ignorant shite being spouted on this site! Frontline public sector workers-gardai, nurses, teachers, firemen, etc.-have lost 30% of our pay in the last 2 years! People really need to do some research on what’s actually going on in the public sector before making such ridiculous comments

• Sara by all public sector I mean that our public sector get paid far more than public sector anywhere else. I totally agree that front line staff deserve every penny and maybe more but I dont agree that middle management and above get paid so much for doing so little. No body getting paid by the tax payer should be earning the wage and pensions that these people get.

• The trees that have been and continue to be planted are not suitable for Irish growing conditions. the fact that they are being clearfelled would be a good thing if they were replanting properly. The drainage practices also need to be sorted out as they are leading to leaching and flooding,, while Coillte definitly does have issues to address it is way better than selling our forests off to private interests.

• Frontline workers deserve every penny of their pay and a lot more besides.
    To all nurses Garda firefighters prison officers paramedics and all other 24/7 services I salute you.
    To this muppet head of coillte, how about your tied to one of your trees and a gallon of petrol poured on you and torched… Let’s see if one of the overpaid firefighters and nurses will still look after you… They would because they are the real professionals ….

Add New Comment