TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Defence Forces investigates suspicious device at the Phoenix Park

Motorists are advised that diversions are in place around the area this morning.

Phoenix Park
Image: Google Street View

A DEFENCE FORCES bomb disposal team is investigating a suspicious device at the Phoenix Park in Dublin this morning.

The team was initially called to the scene last night after Gardaí were alerted to a device discovered in the Quarry Lake area of the park.

The team returned to the scene at first light at around 5.30am this morning to inspect the device and assess whether it is viable or a hoax.

The area has been sealed off and roads are closed to  traffic with diversions in place this morning.

AA Roadwatch says there is no access to the Phoenix Park via Castleknock Gate, Knockmaroon Gate and Whites Gate until further notice.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (13 Comments)

• @sheila and Patrick … Firstly Sheila, you have an opinion on everything and most of the time your writing about things you may know, this is something you know zero about, this is annoying to say the least secondly for both of you this is the procedure when a suspicious device is found anywhere in Dublin…. The guards are informed first, they in turn inform the defence forces through a communication open to both for immediate contact, the EOD officer is informed within minutes and is on the road with his team in less than 15 mins , they will be anywhere in their area of operations within another 15 mins under a Garda escort ( if need be) if this call out is at night and is deemed not a danger to the public it is sealed off and a armed guard ( not Garda) is Put in place, the device will then be deal with at first LIGHT… The main reason these devices are not dealt with at night is because it’s DARK… And before you say ” what about setting up lights” etc etc , you want to keep crowds away , not attract them with gennies, bid spots etc etc….. To conclude, there are procedures for EOD that are put in place for many reasons, all of these reasons have been tried and tested over many decades ( tweaked occasionally) the Irish EOD is well respected globally and FYI the ordnance school instruct EOD teams annually from other countries.

• @dave’shea

Maybe next time, you want to informed the uninformed, you might be a little less rude. If you had such a knowledge on the subject, maybe a little more positivity and forgiveness would be nice! Your first three words included Patrick’s and my name, then you continued with my name and insulted me. If I annoy you so much don’t read my posts.

After your first two sentences, your long lesson was wasted. Too much negativity at the beginning of your post. I don’t encourage nagativity in my daily life. So I’ll let others read your lecture. Have a nice day!

• @Sheila maybe the uninformed should keep their beaks less than ajar until there informed ;-))))

• Better safe than sorry !

• Elmo 01/05/12 #

My first assumption would have been that they didn’t want to go poking around at a possibly explosive device in the pitch dark in the middle of the night. Also, I’d assume they didn’t just walk away and leave it there, they’d have sealed off the immediate area I’m sure. We’re always so quick to think the absolute worst of the guards but I’m sure ignoring a possible bomb just so they could go home early or whatever is a bit much even for them.

• Ugh! ???

• MOG, another “Viable device”, I don’t know but this is getting very odd and I doubt very much this latest “Viable Device” has anything to do with a Traveler Feud, indeed I am becoming skeptical about all these “Viable Devices” being found around the country and in the most bizarre, unlikely and far flung locations, few if any near boarder regions. What is intriguing is the Breaking news captions and then nothing. Bizarre stuff and one would think Ireland is a war zone!

• I lost my phone charger there yesterday!

• The team RETURNED to the scene at first light ……

So what did they do last night ? Look at the device, sigh and say “ah feck it lads, this looks like work and it’s too late for that, let’s come back in the morning” ??!

• This is a real Irish story! The gardai were notified last night/yesterday evening, but the ‘team’ didn’t go to check it out until 5.30am today! I would hope it’s a false alarm!

• Its probably just a deer. They have a tendency to explode sometimes

Add New Comment