TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Details on Household Charge penalties emerging

People paying the household charge now are liable for a charge of €111 because of late payment fees. But what about if they continue to refuse to pay it?

Environment Minister Phil Hogan
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

HOUSEHOLD CHARGE payments are currently being processed – and details are expected to be announced soon on how penalties for non-payment may be introduced.

A spokesperson from the Department of the Environment told TheJournal.ie that when the payments are processed the Department will compared the results to their data base of existing properties to determine which householders have not paid.

Those who have not paid will then be contacted to inform them that they now owe a fee on top of the payment.

Households paying the charge after the March 31 deadline face charges of 1 per cent interest each month, as well as flat fees of €10 for paying it within three months of the deadline. Households paying now are therefore liable for a charge of €111 rather than €100.

The legislation behind the charge also provides for fines of up to €2,500 for people who do not pay the charge on time.

Details are to be announced in the coming days of the system to be used for the imposition of penalties, according to RTÉ which states that the issue is to be discussed by Government ministers tomorrow.

It is not clear how many times householders will be contacted before legal proceedings may begin, but the spokesperson said that the process may be similar to when people do not pay their TV licence. He said that under the Fines Act, fine payment is at the discretion of the judge.

The Department is currently working with local authorities about the issue.

The late payment fees get bigger the longer the charge is left unpaid.

The number of households which have registered to pay the charge, or claim a waiver from it, passed 900,000 at the weekend, according to figures from the Local Government Management Agency.

Read: Household charge registrations creep over 900,000 barrier>

Read next:

Comments (63 Comments)

• I have a question for everyone here, now there are a lot of big “ifs” here but I would genuinely like to gauge responses:

IF the government had announced this charge a bit more professionally and IF they had laid out a progressive tax starting at €50 and going higher for higher value/greater footage houses and IF they had made it easier to pay and IF they explained that the money was directly funding local services (to offset the money being paid on our debts) and IF they announced that those who had already paid stamp duty would be given some form of amnesty.

Would everyone have fewer objections, or was it always going to be a big no?

Just curious about how much opposition is to the tax and how much is to the Government;s handling of it all!

• Aaron 16/04/12 #

IF they’d done all those things, IF they’d carried out half the election promises they made, IF they’d cut their own expenses or at the very least be forced to provide receipts for everything that they claim and IF they’d make an effort to really help the people who are struggling in this country instead of treating us all like idiots then maybe I’d have paid without objection.

• Jambbie 16/04/12 #

And IF you already pay a management company fee to ease the burden on local councils and create jobs were tax is paid.

• Yes. I think so and the charge should only be applied going forward, people now own their houses should also be excluded and considering most of that category are elderly who might have difficulty paying but feel under pressure to pay, this is grossly unfair and they should definitely be exempt. Also houses that have pyrite are expected to pay but unfinished housing estates are exempt…considering houses that have pyrite are technically unfinished they should come into the same bracket. People also resent the fact that this is very much targetted at homeowners yet we are being told it is not a tax on our homes but for services provided by councils, last time I checked we all use the same services, there is no discrimination, so why is it only homeowners who in a lot of cases are already in negative equity and scraping by paying a mortgage, who have to pay. It should also be capped so we know how much it is going to cost in the future…that scares me, the fact that I have no disposable income now, where will I get money to pay another bill? Anyway yes I agree, I definitely think the goverment could have handled it better and they made a show of themselves.

• I would find myself debating a lot more about paying it based on all those ifs, but I still would have to ultimately believe it to be fair for all before I’d pay!

• I would be more amenable to water charges if they stopped adding poisons to it certainly. Bur regarding the Household Charge I’d still refuse. I think the idea of paying a tax on your home goes against our Irish psyche. Shelter is a civil right. The idea of taxing a nation of houseowners to pay to pour money down a bank hole and fill the coffers of the banks. Banks that flooded this country with cheap loaned money which fuelled the Housing Market which in turn led to the destruction of the Irish Economy.

The money should be raised by the creation of a 3rd tax band imo.

• Cowardice asks the question: Is it safe?

Expediency asks the question: Is it politic?

Vanity asks the question: Is it popular.

But conscience asks the question: Is it right?

And there comes a time when one must take a position that is neither safe, nor politic nor popular – but one must take it simply because it is right.

Marting Luther King.

And that is why I will continue to say NO – enough is enough

• Thanks Ann, but my question was actually trying to get past the rhetoric on the issue and get some considered responses.

Oh- another thing. You are not an oppressed, disenfranchised minority. Your position is both safe and popular and to suggest otherwise is laughable. This is a €100 tax, it is NOT the Civil RIghts Movement.

• Back to the actual question- it looks like people are not opposed to the charge in principle, but to how it is being implemented so to summarize a few points that would make it a more palatable charge:

1) Reduction of Minister’s /TD Expenses – I think we can all agree with that one, even though it is not directly linked (in my opinion) the recent reform seem like a step backwards.

2) Management Fee Allowance – I’m afraid that one isn’t going to fly (context – i pay around €1600 p/a)

3) Pyrite Houses – Should clearly be exempt- those guys have been through enough.

Reada- Come on! Trying to claim constitutional protection./claiming it’s to in our Psyche!!! That’s a mad one!! Glad to see you’ll be paying the water charge though!

So- looks like we’re nearly there- anyone else got suggestions?

• censored 16/04/12 #

No. This money is being offset “our” debts. Those debts need to be renegotiated if Ireland is going to have a future.

• pity the same process can’t be used for the corrupt bankers/politicians. Different laws for them and for us. So sick of this

• Do you remember the 1million bonus Michael Fingleton awarded himself after Irish Nationwide was nationalised.. And he said that he’d give it back after the government ‘asked’ him if he could give it back and that last year we were told that Minister Noonan was putting pressure on him to pay back the state, well he still hadn’t paid it back!!
    Now, I wonder what ‘late payment’ fines they are threatening him with ???…. None of course and no court threats either like we are getting from big Phil!! One law for them and another for us!!

• No Finbar, we should take a leaf out of the USA book of taxation. That is all USA passport holders must make a tax return to the USA for their world wide income and assets, thereby if you wanna keep your Irish Passport make your tax return to Ireland. Now that would soften Denis O’Briens cough!!!

• See hulk hogan’s carlow gets an F in the planning report……

• ypical of our govt, make it up as you go along!!!

No you can’t pay in the post office……………..ohh wait you can pay by draft in your post office!!!

Now, we have………ohh, we might impose penalities the same way as the non-payers of the TV licence.

Fck that, have not paid, will not pay. If they want the €100, you can first pay me my €40k stamp duty and the other €5k paid to the co. co. for a planning application to extend my house. The €5k was a contribution for services which were already connected to my house!!!! Brown envelope in disguise!!!

• “Details on Political Corruption penalties emerging…” – I wish.

• ”but the spokesperson said that the process may be similar to when people do not pay their TV licence” HAHAHA is all I have to say

• Ya can’t get feathers off a frog !!!
    They can fine me as much as they like,
    But if I can’t afford the household charge , how do they think I’m gonna pay a fine!!!
    And as for the water meter installation , where am I gonna get the cash for that??
    If this extortion continues , Phil “hulk” Hogan can have the keys to my house and I’ll be on me way to Dublin airport.

• PHIL! GET OUT OF THAT MAIL ROOM AND BACK TO YOUR JOB! Christ, doesn’t he have anything else to do.

• I don’t have €100 euro left at the end of the month, Phil can Phuck off as I couldn’t pay even if I wanted to.

• I see that Minister Hogan still can’t locate the brown envelopes, if that photo is anything to go by. They’re on the shelf, not on the floor or in the mailbags.

• i wont pay the penalties either

• I won’t be paying either penalties or water meter installation

• How are you going to find us you wally! Wasn’t that why you needed us to register.

Can Pay – Wouldn’t Pay even if it were a fiver! We’ll stick by those that can’t afford it not by Troika bullies!

Join your local #noHouseholdTax group to oppose this Household/Water/Meter Charges! Details http://www.householdtax.org
      They want you to pay for your own shackles next. Sorry I meant Water Meter! :)

• Haven’t registered or paid, won’t be doing so.
      They can stuff their penalties also – they won’t be paid either!

Yes – although they have said people will not go to jail over this issue (I don’t believe them!), I’m still willing to go to jail for not paying!

• @ Aoife Barry

just want to say thanks for inserting the most important words.

” according to figures from the Local Government Management Agency.”

Glad to see this media source has adjoined these few words to the end of their article. :O)

• censored 16/04/12 #

Hogan seems to spend a lot of time in that little room. Please please could somebody lock the door?

• @Dave
    The coalition are pretending that they are at odds with each over charging us for water meter installation as they hope we will kick up a fuss over this extra cost.Then when we see them “cave in” to public anger over charge for meter installation we just accept the charge for water, simples…. I personally think that the veins of the water distribution network need to be & should of been replaced decades ago but I also know that this government could not handle anymore large public protests as they are only one public spat away from a walk out by labour back benchers ( if they ever find the courage ) because there are too many big mouthed incompetent fools amongst the cabinet & each with their own agenda…

• come get me Phil…. I will not be paying…..stand up and fight…..they can’t make us pay

• Fk off government. Just fk off.

• your mistake for paying it Barry

• It was and remains a greedy and pathetic attempt at hurting the general public!

I become more disillusioned with the irish government the more I see of their “schemes” to “save the country”, i.e. pad their behinds!

Though there are thousands of arguments against the charge for me it is a simple matter of “For a charge I expect a service”, absent such exchange I find no rational to pay such a charge.

If I knew that they would invest every penny into providing an amenity to the local community, e.g. an affordable well fitted-out community centre OR fund the local Youth Club OR add an extra wing and increase the staff at the county hospital, than it would be no problem to charge 100€ per annum to household owners.

• The answer is still NO .

• Phil Hogan, the anti-Santa, peruses the list of those to be punished.

• Haha the same as the tv licence?? Have never had a tv licence man call to my door in 40 years and never paid for one as I use a computer to watch my movies and documentries. I won’t answer my door as my eye spy camera lets me know who is there! Unless a letter is registered is posted in my name I won’t be opening it. And 900,000 is complete and utter lies just ask around nearly all people you ask have not paid.

• Portuguese Phil chose the weekend the Smoked Salmon Socialists were self-congratulating to launch further threats against opponents of the house tax. A political ambush? Lots of mutual admiration between Joan and Phil, no doubt.

• That is the funniest picture yet. Thanks. :):):)

• jimbo 16/04/12 #

Ha ha ha penalties my hat keep them and the best of luck. Imposing the fine..

• sorry.Bills.

• Shame,shame on you Phil Hogan for hassling people who can ill afford to pay their every week household bolls.

• @All Aboutdavey because they cannot introduce a charge and then after the fact impose greater fines than they initially stated, it would never stand up in court!

• I hope they all end up in a ‘Hell’ where there is nothing but white-hot water-meters to use as poorly spaced stepping stones … through an infinite lake of boiling water.

• @ Brendan,

I’d bet me left arm they would bring in new legislation to change the rules if it suits them, answer them better to be sorting out the legislation to scrap the upward only rent reviews policy in this country, that is killing off small businesses and the local corner shops. Wasnt the PDs MacD when he was minister for justice a great one for rushing through new legislation in the middle of the night when it suited him and as this shower of overpaid wasters feel the need to continue on with the FianaGreenPD sleeveen way of doing things we can take it that this shower will do the very same thing.

• An owner of a residential property who does not pay a Household Charge or an instalment thereof by the due date will be subject to (1) LATE PAYMENT FEES and (2) LATE PAYMENT INTEREST

(1) LATE PAYMENT FEES

The late payment fee to apply in the case of a Household Charge paid:

not later than 6 months after the due date, is 10% of the amount outstanding;
    later than 6 months and not later than 12 months after the due date, is 20 % of the amount outstanding; or
    later than 12 months after the due date, is 30 % of the amount outstanding.

(2) LATE PAYMENT INTEREST

Late payment interest of 1% per month or part thereof will apply to unpaid amounts.

Furthermore, both the €100 charge and any accumulated late payment fee will be a charge against the property concerned and will continue to be such for twelve years after the charge or late payment penalties concerned became due. Any Household Charges or late payment penalties due on a residential property will have to be discharged, in full, before a transfer or sale of the property can be completed.

THAT IS WHAT HAPPENS THEY CANNOT MOVE THE GOAL POST NOW

• A lie in this article (The legislation behind the charge also provides for fines of up to €2,500 for people who do not pay the charge on time.) not true the €2,500 fine applies if you don,t register not if you don,t pay.

• I already ermailed about the journals biased reporting of this, they are not calling up on any of teh main points, they stated on their site that the amount would be payable should you ever sell your house.. there is no way on gods green earth anyone is doing jailtime for this

• Ahhh refusing to pay taxes, but wanting all the benefits of centralised government. Ireland hasn’t changed a bit in 30 years, I hope everybody who doesn’t pay is refused a car loan etc or at least gets a much higher interest rate due to a poorer credit score then maybe reality will hit home and the FTC that it would have been cheaper to pay the legal State taxes and levies! Que the red thumbs from the left wing!

• You are 100% spot on. I want, I’m entitled, but someone else can pay….no wonder the country is in a mess!

• Irish in USA – with not a clue! For a start looking for the car loan, not a chance the bank don’t have the money to lend, absolutely nothing to do with ones credit rating! Also non payment of taxes, (such as the TV licence which is about the only thing here in Ireland that is the equivalent to the new Household Charge) has no impact on your credit rating, in fact when applying for a loan (Car loan or even a mortgage) you are not even asked for a tax clearence certificate (unless it is a commercial loan). It is only in cases where the revenue imposes a mortgage injunction on your assets, then it will affect your credit rating, but it takes a while and a hell of alot more than non payment of the TV Licence or the €100 household charge for that to happen.

If you kept up to speed with the backlash regarding the household charge you’d understand that for the most part people are not objecting to the idea of a household charge ie. property tax, just a tax that is fair (flat tax is not fair) and imposed on those that have most, pay the most, and a tax that takes into consideration the household income and liabilities, in addition that we get a service for that tax from our local authority. This flat tax is not fair when you consider the amount of stamp duty people paid on the purchase of their home. Yes I accept stamp duty is a transaction tax, but in other countries that have a property tax, the govt of that country do not impose a stamp duty up to 9% of the purchase price! Take the UK for example they have a property tax, but stamp duty is 1% – 2% of the purchase price. More importantly, they get a service from their local authority, what we get are pot holes, broken pathways, poorly light walkways, dirty streets etc…

So please Irish-in-USA, when commenting on something you are not fully familiar with – take a look at the bigger picture before making groundless comments that are clearly without understanding of the situation here in Ireland, and clearly has no clue about the bank lending or taxation here too!! And I haven’t even commented on the farcical austerity measures that are imposed on us!

• toorkeel, the country is in a mess because of the miss handling of our tax reserves during the ‘boom years’ and the stupid decision of Cowen and Co to cover all banking debt which threw private debt into the laps of the tax payer, ultimately mixing the private debt with our soverign debt. Not because of the ‘I want’ attitude you refer to!

• Irish in USA, aka hurler on the ditch!

• Toorkeel, you just said it!!! “People wanting what theyre entitled to but want somebody se to pay for it” That’s exactly what the European banks and Bondholders are demanding!!!!!! So why can’t we?? Let’s debate that one then….

• mcbab 16/04/12 #

Like your post Irish in the USA. Of course you were right about the red thumbs from the lefties but don’t be discouraged by that. It’s just that they have nothing else to do all day only scratch their backsides with one hand and red thumb common sense with the other!!!

• @mcbab that makes absolutely no sense as it has been the public sector workers who have been most protected by their unions and thus most if their jobs are intact and traditionally these same workers are the ‘left wing’ and union supporters!! Hhmmm

• censored 16/04/12 #

@Irish-in-USA and @mcbab: have you any idea what would happen if the US government tried to introduce a tax like this one? (and don’t say they already have property charges, when your total income tax paid is just 20-30% of your income you can afford a property tax)

• Paid it one day late and was charged the €11. A bit harsh to be honest.

Add New Comment