TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Household charge registrations creep over 900,000 barrier

Around 10,000 new households have been accounted for in the last three days – still only just over half the population.

Demonstrators protest against the Household Charge at Fine Gael's Árd Fheis last month.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE NUMBER OF HOUSEHOLDS which have now registered either to pay the €100 Household Charge, or to claim a waiver from it, has passed 900,000.

Figures provided by the Local Government Management Agency show that as of noon today, 900,392 homes had paid the charge, registered for waivers, or had sent application forms to the LGMA or local councils which were waiting to be processed.

657,737 homes have completed registrations either through the LGMA’s website or local authorities, with another 183,500 postal forms awaiting processing at the LGMA’s Dublin headquarters.

Another 44,500 forms are on hand at local authority offices around the country waiting to be processed.

As of 9am this morning, 14,655 households had registered for waivers for the charge. Households in uncompleted ‘ghost’ housing estates are among those entitled to a waiver from the charge.

The total number of households accounted for at this point now stands at 900,392, 7,872 more than had been accounted in the previous figures from 9am yesterday morning.

Notably, however, the number of postal applications on hand at the LGMA offices has ballooned: 183,500 forms are now awaiting processing, compared to 153,000 in the figures from 27 hours earlier.

The Irish Daily Mail reported this morning that the LGMA had taken on extra staff to help work through the backlog of applications. The LGMA had not responded to a request for confirmation by the time of publication.

Households paying the charge after the March 31 deadline face charges of 1 per cent interest each month, as well as flat fees of €10 for paying it within three months of the deadline.

Households paying now are therefore liable for a charge of €111 rather than €100.

The legislation behind the charge also provides for fines of up to €2,500 for people who do not pay the charge on time.

Full coverage of the household charge >

Read next:

Comments (99 Comments)

• Didn’t 805,000 pay it on time? So 95,000 have paid the extra €11 then. I’d say Hogan’s delighted, that’s over a million euro extra he wouldn’t have had if they had paid on time!

• John 13/04/12 #

Are the people whole pay €111 more patriotic than those who paid €100?

• If the sheeple keep electing the FF and FG criminals you will get the same results you are currently enjoying. Keep drinking the media propaganda kool aid and nothing will ever change.

• Aimee
    Ever heard of people refusing to pay income tax

• Everybody check this. Every empire eventually falls and this European is on its last grasp for power. From Rome to Egypt, the Vikings to the British. They all fall in the end. True, the world has scars to show from these events, but everyone posting and reading here, don’t panic don’t worry and don’t be so hostile to each other. From my experience it’s often hard to get a family to agree on what to eat for dinner so inevitably people will always have different opinions. Don’t waste your precious time and energy fighting each other. Email your politicans , ring them , hijack their inbox and voicemail call to thier clinics and constituancy offices, until they bow to the pressure. Let your voice be heard to those who won’t listen, we don’t have to shout. Keep on good terms with your fellow man, we all have opinions, but most of all relax and enjoy your friends and family enjoy your life and watch to see the rise and fall of another empire

• I’ve noticed some people have started lamenting the fact that the focus of articles reporting on HHC are focusing on the numbers paid and not the numbers who have resisted. I don’t know how true this really is. But I do know that I immediately feel nervous and less confident in our hopefully eventual success in eradicating this unjust charge when I read about the figures for who has paid creeping up.

• Ailís – That’s a very fair point. For my part, the only reason I’ve stopped giving a number on those who haven’t paid is because there’s so much confusion over exactly how MANY households are eligible. No single figure is reliable so I’m not going to just choose one over the other.

• That does make good sense Gavan, thanks for your reply. I do find it difficult to discern just how many homeowners are eligible for the charge.

• jimbo 13/04/12 #

Still not paying

• Don’t panic and don’t believe government’s over estimation of numbers paid and under estimation of households liable! This country is sick of being called upon to bail out inept politicians, greedy bankers and fearful Markets!

The fine for not paying is only €10 for first few months going up to approx €40 after a year. The government has to bring everyone to Court to levy this fine.

If we all stick together we have this won. Stand by your neighbour who may not be able to afford this payment not by a government that threatens its citizens!

Join the national campaign. Details of your local branch from http://www.householdtax.org

And see you at the Labour Party Conference Protest tomorrow. Meeting in Eyre Square at 1pm! Be there ;)

• Anyone who believes these figures is likely to also believe Samantha Brick is the most beautiful woman in Britain….

• To those who have already paid it: sorry for you loss, but we will support your claim for a refund when you realise that certain banking debts belonging to someone other than the taxpayers need to be written off…

To those who haven’t paid, dont buckle, the jails aren’t big enough.

• Nothing but Propaganda. I’m still not paying.

• The local authorities can’t pursue home owners if they don’t register. They don’t know who they are. That’s why they tricked people into registering.

• 900,000 lick arses to bondholders and The Germans! no backbone the lotta ya!

• Why would people pay this?? Fear? Ignorance? I dont understand!

• your right, both

• Your left!

• MY right!

• @ The Journal

any particular reason why you used a photo that made it look like there was only 50 people (I’m using the media way of counting people!) at the protest?? and how come you havent dont a write up about that woman FG deligate that gave us all the 2 finger salute. AMAZES ME that the media have not opened their mouth about!

• that should read – “done a write up”

• @Roderic – Thanks for your comment. As the person who chose the image I would respectfully suggest you’re perhaps reading too much into it; we did a gallery on the day of the protest which (I think) would appropriately capture the number of people that were there. I might suggest that if we were trying to further some sort of conspiracy and downplay the size of the protest, we could simply have used another picture of Phil Hogan inspecting the bags of unprocessed applications.

As regards the the “woman FG delegate”, we’re aware of the picture circulating but we can’t identify the person who took the picture, and therefore couldn’t contact them for their clearance to run it. As an aside, we would be reluctant (as I’m sure any professional media outlet would) to portray the actions of a lone person to be a true portrayal of Fine Gael as a whole.

• Oh, also forgot to mention – the “media way” of counting people is to take the Garda estimate, and the Garda suggested there were 5,000 people present (RTÉ had originally suggested 4,000 but revised it upwards in light of the Garda figure).

• @Gavan,
      Would you not agree that the FG/LAB coalition cabinet are not only giving us the two fingers they are doing so whilst riding us bareback singing ‘Yankee doodle doodle dandy’ as sang by James Cagney ?

• Is this women that gave the 2 finger salute confirmed as a FG delegate?

• Gavan
      I respect the fact that you took your numbers from the Gardai but as one of the many thousands of people ther on the day I can tell you there was at least double that amount there. At least. It is a shame that this country is going the way it is going . However I remember turtning left onto the Quays from O’Connell St seeing a sea of people in front all the way to Liberty Hall , and looking back behind us and seeing a similar sight going back at least as far as the Parnell Monument . I will defy anyone to tell me I am wrong :) .

• I believe she is a delegate but I do not want to put it up here as they will remove my post …. Anyway I believe she is from Clare .

• Sorry Gavan but

while the Journal did post a lot of photos taken at the protest I just dont understand why you chose the one you have as it does not adequately reflect the the thousands of people who protested that day. I find your choice of photo very misleading and slightly disappointing.

• I suppose its the death and taxes thing
      No getting away with either of them.
      I really thought the protest wouldn’t gain the legs it did, I’m glad it did though.
      I wish the government gave a shit but I don’t think they care about the protest, they just think those naughty stupid peasants they think we are need to be whipped info line.
      I hope the protesters can maintain the rage until next election~ especially because the government is counting on you not to

• Hi Susie
      I have argued with you before on this, but got to admit lve come around to your cause.
      Maintain The Rage!

• @ Dave Harris
      I will never pay this Charge . I am not easily bullied and I have at times felt the pressure , but then i just decided no way . enough is enough , and I joined the Campaign against the HHC . I met some lovely unlikely protestors , like myself, who at the end of the day are angry . Angry at the way we all have been treated , by this government , by the last government , by the bankers . This anger I feel has been smouldering a long time for a lot of reasons , Health care, education, corrupt politicians and their pensions, Breach in pay caps for advisers , the state picking up the tab for crooked politicians, Burst and leaky water pipes , Priory hall ( altho I am not affected) the problem with pyrite, SNAs , Promissary notes , Unsecured bond holders , Budget revelations to the bundesstaag before we were told the budget and the austerity treaty ,unemployment and emmigration. Feelfree to add your gripe :) So I am pretty angry. Join the campaign if tou have not already done so .

• Dave
      I came around to it myself from where you were too. And when you come round to it , It is like as if every thing else falls into place …. Thanks Dave for your honesty .

• The one thing that is certain in the history of politics is that figures and stats are massaged to favour the government. Any independent surveys out there to back up these stats.

• not paying

• people are so stupid… why can’t we all stand together and show this crowd of Fools that we have had enough…..get it straight you cannot be charged for not paying….I have not and will not pay and there is not a thing they can do….so cop on people and make a stand…..stop letting them get away with treating us like idiots

• Martin
      We will be standing together in Galway tomorrow…

• Martin only 50% of households registered (that is of course if you believe the propaganda). A percentage of those that have registered did so knowing that they are entitled to waivers. Another percentage is made up of those (mainly pensioners) who were frightened into paying and people who are self employed who will not recieve their tax clearance cert at the end of the year.
      IMO I would say that only 25% of households registered willingly because they foolishly believe they are doing whats right for the country.

• Seriously? People are so stupid? Just because they dont agree with you? That’s a disgraceful thing to say. You make your decision. Others make theirs. Neither choice is stupid, just a difference of opinion.

• I didnt use the word “stupid”!

• Eoin Tighe
      I do not think so , it is not a difference of opinion . No one is stupid , but some are being bullied and mislead. Please , if you think it is funny , then do not add to peoples fears. I will never pay this charge , ever. It means more than just €100. It is way more than that.

• Well the writings on the wall for Labour. Collapse the coalition or face obliteration at the next election. Even at that, they’ll struggle to get votes given their tacit support for this criminal tax.

• Think the poignant word in the title is “Creep”

• Ailis I’ll put it to you this way – lets just say that if this charge was a referendum, it would have to be run again because the margin is way too tight. And even if 60% of people pay 40% non payers is a huge amount of the electorate and the more often Hogan comes out and says the public will pay it, the more likely people wont pay. The fines can continue to build up, you wont be asked to pay for it out of your pocket, it will be deducted instead from the sale of your home if and when you sell it.

• You are all living in a fools paradise. When are you going to realise the party is over and it’s time to come back to earth. Taxes will follow you to the grave and just get bigger by the month with penalties and interest. In the end you will pay a huge amount more. You won’t come on here and announce it but you will pay.

• Nope Pearse

I certainly wont pay, nor will I pay water charges and I will vote NO in the referendum. Just aswell we didnt have your attitude the last time they tried to introduce water charges here. We fought a long hard battle and won just like we WILL win this time too. If you want to lay down and be a doormat go ahead.

• Pearse Kelly
      Do you hear what you just wrote …. Taxes will follow you to the grave ….
      I will be dead ! Duh! What can they do to me when I am dead ? My estate what is left of it will take care of it , End of !

• John 13/04/12 #

Your campsite been dismantled? Asked to leave your city centre? Disgruntled, need someone to blame and nothing better to do? We need you! The fight against the household charge. No knowledge required just pig ignorance and an wanton drive to blame others via social media and other pseudo anonymous means to spite those bad politicians. See bill boards for further details.

• …said by the man known as John!!!
      Why didn’t you go the whole hog Mr. Doe ;)

• John
      People in campsites do not pay the HHC . Duh ! You are just so hillarious , not . But let me ask yo .Why so bitter? What has happened to you that you are so sad ? I will keep you in my thoughts :) I hope you will find peace .

• Your country been ruined by incompetent politicians, bankers and property developers (otherwise known as “the troika”)? Your home been repossessed? Your pension raided? All to fund the gold pensions of a privileged few? Your leaders sold you out? You feel like selling yourself out? For just 100 euros you too can be a sheep. See John for details.

• Do I detect a note of sarcasm there john ? (by the way, its not the crusties from the occupy movement who are running this protest, it’s the ordinary joe soaps who are sick of being screwed by that poor excuse for a government)

• Well Trueleft – I think that they have already lost half of the voters they managed to fool last March and if they continue down this path chances are they will lose the other half by the time this coalition falls. They obviously didnt learn from the follies of their ways in the 80s when they buddied up with FG. I’m not a betting person but if I were I would be down to the bookies tomorrow to put 50 euros on them pulling out by the end of the year.

• @ Gavin, is there any independent analysis of Govt figures that have paid the charge?
    Can I ask why the Journal is taking the figures from the govt as granted?
    I mean surely the Journal recognizes the interest the govt has in potentially giving out false figures?

If The Journal cannot independently verify the figures surely you can state the ‘The Govt figures cannot be independently verified’?

• Will The Journal.ie continues to report every single payment of the household charge….Boring

• jimbo 13/04/12 #

Think I will head to galway myself..

• lyn 14/04/12 #

@susie Chester, did you read what you wrote? “your estate, what’s left of it, will take care of it?” in other words, this debt will be passed onto your kids to take care of while settling your “estate” or whatever poor unfortunate is left as executor of your will!
    I admire everyone for sticking to their beliefs but this in itself, is becoming a sarcastic battleground! Post your opinions etx but stop sniping at each other!

• Eoin Faz 14/04/12 #

Wow great article!!!

• Er, basically, I don’t have to pay this oppressive capitalist charge as I live in a squat but I urge my brothers and sisters not to pay it as it will only go to fund the international arms race and particularly drone technology that is being used to oppress freedom fighters in Afghanistan and other parts of the world under US military domination. It is a well known fact that Phil Hogan is in the pay of the CIA.

• Dave

While it wouldnt surprise me to learn that Phill the black sacks Hogan works for the CIA, I think you will find the only “TRUE” freedom fighters in Afghanistan are the women who are denied their basic human rights.

• Hmmmmmmm are the red thumbs because of what I said about Hogan or for the fact that I pointed out that the women in Afghanistan are denied their basic human rights.

• Some people on social networking sites are saying that opposition the household charge is tantamount to an endorsement for Sinn Fein. I will never pay the household charge and Sinn Fein disgust me but then again so many of the political parties do. It’s easy to say what you WOULD do if you were in power. Romantic notions are always right. Sinn Fein are merely hurlers on the ditch. All talk. It will be the beginning of the end if they ran the country. Nobody should live in the past but it would be idiotic to forget it.

• jimbo 13/04/12 #

@DAVID I own my house it is paid for so no mortgage, so how about you,renting or living with parents?…

• I dont care since I dont have to pay it :D

Add New Comment