TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Elderly woman and man assaulted during Donegal burglaries involving five men

A man in his 60s and a woman in her 80s were both victims of separate aggravated burglaries, where they were assaulted by the perpetrators.

File
File
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

AN ELDERLY WOMAN in her 80s and a man in his 60s were both assaulted during separate aggravated burglaries in Donegal yesterday.

Gardaí in Muff and Buncrana in Co Donegal are investigating the two separate aggravated burglaries, and believe that a blue/grey Proton car with a Northern Ireland registration plate may have been used in both incidents.

The first incident occurred at 7.30pm last night, when five males called to the home of a man in his 60’s at Linsfort, Buncrana.

The men forced their way into the house and demanded cash from the man. During the course of this burglary, the victim was assaulted and sustained minor injuries. They then locked the injured man into a shed and fled the scene. The raiders took a small amount of cash.

The man managed to free himself a short time later and raise the alarm.

Second incident

In the second incident, five males called to the home of an 80-year-old woman at approximately 9pm at Ture, Muff, Co Donegal.

They demanded cash and assaulted the victim, who sustained minor injuries. Gardaí say it is not known at this stage if anything was taken during this incident.

It is believed that a blue/grey Proton car with a Northern Ireland registration plate may have been used in both incidents.

Gardaí are now appealing for anyone with information to contact the Gardaí at Buncrana 074 9320540, the Garda Confidential Line 1800-666-111 or any Garda Station.

Yesterday, Active Retirement Ireland said that older people are “living in fear” of being attacked in their homes because of reduced policing presence in their communities.

On 5 January, a 96-year-old woman was hospitalised following an aggravated burglary at her home in Donegal.

Read: Older people ‘living in fear’ over reduced garda presence in their communities>

Read: Gardaí & PSNI investigate spate of burglaries in Donegal>

Read next:

Comments (34 Comments)

• These criminals should be tied up on the Main Street in Donegal and get the crap beaten out of them.. They are a disgrace!

• ohhhhh big tough guys, five against one (elderly person) seems perfectly fair……..

• I’m sure minister shatter will be horrified at this yet again and will of course mention that it’s all down to the “bad” people out there while his police force is going down the tubes.

• Mursh 16/01/13 #

These type of people don’t give a damn about what’s fair. The reason they keep doing this kind of thing is the chances of being caught are slim and if they are the judges go nice and easy on them

This is what happens when you allow young criminals grow up with 50-60 convictions and not a day spent behind bars and when they reach 18 clean slate and start all over again.

Until the punishment actually fits the crime thus will continue.

And of course the reduction in Garda numbers and closing of stations is going to have a huge effect also.

• And we then reward these people and their families with weekly welfare payments ! Where is the logic ?

• Where does it say that the burglars were unemployed or in receipt of any welfare payments????

• The bit in between the lines Eamonn, they hardly nipped out on their lunch break.

• Hi Eamonn, ask any Garda or front line worker and they will open your eyes to the truth of everyday life in Ireland.

• I’m waiting on the spin that will tell us how conserned the government are and how well shatters plans are coming along as he destroys the Garda.

• These guys need to be put down

• What nasty sick men what they did was so wrong :-(

• This is getting completely out of hand in Donegal at the moment,& all ti=his talk of closing Garda stations is only going to act as a green light for these thugs.
    The fact that if caught they would most likely get community service for terrorising elderly people living alone only makes it worse.
    Come on Shatter, get a grip on this, if it was happening in Dublin at the same rate there would be swift action.

• And when a person tried to get into Shatters house from the back there was a Garda presence at the front 24/7 and also while his house was empty. I know you cannot have a Garda presence at every house or even street or corner but When ordinary folk are terrorised and robbed in their own home that is where I would call on minister shatter to deal with these thuggish robbers and deal with them harshly and long sentencing nothing less than 15 years minimum in Jail for aggregated and terrorising residents burglary with intent to harm the residents

• this is getting ridiculous now!

• People need ta get on the streets outside the Dail and make Shatter account for his actions in relation to Garda numbers and resources and not accept his usual bulls**t that he spouts about ‘smart policing’ etc.

• Give them back their guns they need to protect themselves as they have not got the protection of the garda due to the vision of shatter and the present government.

• Send the ERU up there with orders to shoot to kill

• Look all this talk here won’t make a pin of difference, people need to get on the streets and protest at what’s going on, imagine, 2013 sees the closure of Garda stations, the force being reduced, the Garda resources being depleted, hospitals being downsized and closed, class rooms increasing with students and less teachers to deal with them, yet the government can buy a brand new fleet of top of the range Audi A6 cars to ferry themselves about the country, the very same country where sick and elderly people have to take taxis to hospital where there are no ambulances available due to cut backs. Come on this is sick. This government made all the right noises to get elected and were so by all of us, their time is done, they have broken promises after promises and when questioned about it it is the same old answer ” these are problems inherited from the previous administration ” this may be the case but this constant barrage of cuts and decimation of what I would class as necessary services for the maintenance of a civil society were never talked about pre election and it is beyond belief that any minister can stand by and say it is reasonable. The people of Ireland deserve better, and should settle for nothing less, biggest problem is though, who do we put in charge.

• Oh Jesus Christ how many more people were duped by the bullshit Audi Facebook thing? the Audi’s were part of a sponsorship deal for the EU presidency, they are donated by Audi for a 6 month term and are being being used to ferry eu delegates around Dublin, we didn’t pay for them!!! I’m sick of people who spout shore trying to rile people up, you’re as bad as government spin doctors if that’s your game.

• Missing the point here marcoop

• who do you suggest we put into Goverment Keith? Your inaccurate comment in relation to the Audi’s btw suggests that you are not well informed!!!
      But i am interested i who you think should be running the country!!!

• I may be in error re the Audi’s but I think if you leave that aside and read my other points you will see they are valid, accurate and are a result of gross incompetence of the current government. As to we put in charge well that is our biggest problem, choice is FF/SF or heaven forbid, FF/FG!!!! Maybe some of the defected labour and Fine Gael members such as Denis Naughton, Willie Penrose and Colm Keaveany who showed the highest level of integrity and strength in character for standing up for what they believed was right and didn’t hide behind their parties curtain and put their constituents first could amalgamate and form a new party with like minded individuals and pick this country up and put faith back in people when it comes to our government.

• Keith,
      I believe the word is utopia!!! The unfortunate things is that all of the things you list cost money!!! Money which this country does not have as we continue to borrow 15 Billion a year to keep the country going (excluding any bank debt). Truth is we are top of the pile when it comes to welfare states in Europe and the sad thing is the people in Ireland have no idea how well off they have it becasue they have had to live anywhere else….
      I personally voted for FG because i wanted them to restore our economic independence which i believe we are well on track to doing… BTW, i also voted them in becasue i wanted to see some sort of economies of scale put on the services provided around the country so I completely agree with the closure of small garda stations and schools etc…

• Yes Declan all of these cost money, but how do you price the welfare and safety of a human?? Particularly that of our country’s young and old, the vulnerable who are being preyed on. Small rural garda stations aren’t just places to get a form stamped, they are integral parts of small communities and their existence were often enough to keep traveling criminals away as the threat of a Garda presence put them off, plus these guards in these stations knew every person in the community, ever house, ever family, every back road etc, what about if one of these elderly were your mother or grand mother attacked, what if your mother or grand mother died en route to a hospital while passing one that shut down due to austerity cuts??? I think you would sing a different tune then. Funny how its frontline services getting cut, vital services as I said before are needed in any civilised society, we pay enough in taxes and USC to be given proper and adequate service, how many ordinary people are suffering because of the previous government actions and the current government response??? More to the point how many bond holders have felt the same pain???? This would be easier to swallow if everybody contributed equally and fairly but this is not the case. Yes the tent at the galway races is gone and sure why wouldn’t it, it’s not needed anymore, we have a big house in Dublin now to cater for all the skulduggery, it called Dáil Éireann

• marcoop 16/01/13 #

Keith, how many hospitals have been closed since the first recession hit? Again you are trying to make arguments based on inaccuracies. You are coming across as scare mongering which is of no benefit to anyone. I accept your sentiment and I believe you mean right but man, don’t get yourself worked up on shit that is simply not true.

• Tell that to the people of Roscommon who have lost their a&e and admissions after pre election promises that it would remain operational???

• I can feel a vigalante group a forming…..

Add New Comment