TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Dublin City Council votes ‘Yes’ to marriage equality

Gay rights’ groups welcome the move as Dublin follows Cork in lending support to same-sex civil marriages.

Image: Katie Collins/PA Wire

DUBLIN CITY COUNCIL has just passed a motion in support of civil marriage for same sex couples.

The motion was passed at this evening’s meeting of the council – it had been proposed jointly by Labour and Sinn Féin councillors. The approval of the motion was welcomed by the director of Marriage Equality Moninne Griffith this evening. She said:

This is a wonderful step by Dublin City Council to raise awareness of this important issue at a local level. We’d like to thank the councillors from both Labour and Sinn Féin for their initiative, and our supporters in Dublin who spoke to their councillors over the last few months about raising the issue.

The organisation said that it hoped to see similar motions passed by other local authorities over the coming weeks. Griffith said that “with 73 per cent popular support, including TDs, government ministers and local authorities, the time for marriage equality is now”.

The Gay and Lesbian Equality Network (GLEN) said that the next step for Ireland should be a “move to full Constitutional equality for lesbian and gay people by providing access to civil marriage”.

Cork City Council became the first local authority in June in the Republic of Ireland to pass a motion in favour of marriage equality. In Northern Ireland, Belfast City Council, Omagh, Down, Moyle and Magherafelt Distric Councils all passed motions in favour of marriage equality.

Gay marriage: Cork City Council passes landmark motion in support>

Read next:

Comments (116 Comments)

• Some day we will look back and wonder what all the fuss about marriage equality was about. What is the problem with allowing people to do whatever they want once no one else is harmed? This is not rocket science.

• Some day?? I’ve been wondering that for some time now, and I’d just presumed the equality was there before that.

• The fuss is that marriage is an institute to raise families, not some random association between just any random people. This is just liberal absolutism baed on the modern unthinking moron mantra of “equality”. We may as well campaign for single people to have the same tax rights as married people or for polygamy. Denying them the same rights as married folk is discrimination also after all in we liberals were to be consistent.

I dont expect to get sympathy from the liberal arts degree types who visit this site but hey, the truth is the truth.

I hope Diarmuid Martin now excommunicates those on DCC who voted for this marxist motion. I’m sure some of them pretend to be nominally catholic.

• Didn’t you hear?? the Catholic church have stopped kicking people out now. You’re not allowed leave any more.

• Maybe one day Dublin City Council will vote for ‘Parental Equality’ ……….. the problem with equality is it includes all of us!!

• Delighted! Well done to the Labour and Sinn Fein councillors for proposing the motions.

• about time.

• Excellent news, hopefully the Dail will be next. Equal rights for all

• Some people are obviously still against this with the amount of dislikes comments are getting. I myself think its a very good thing :)

• Well Niamh there probably are some people who are still against it but there are some fools on here who just red thumb anything…. Probably can’t even read but just like pictures of red thumbs!! I think it’s only right gay couples have the same rights. It’s about bloody time!!!

• Excellent news. I am looking forward to knowing the names of those who voted against…. I wan to be properly prepared when they come to my door looking for votes.

• Looking at the comments it is clear that those against marriage equality are living in a fantasy land. They argue against gay relationships and families headed by same sex couples. Families with two dads and families with two mums already exist. It may be difficult for some people to understand but there is an urge to procreate which exists over and above a libido. And every one of the children in families with same sex parents is wanted. Marriage equality gives legal protection to these families. Make no doubt about it. Those who appear to be against marriage equality are consistently actually arguing against gay relationships and families. They want to rip these loving families apart. These very real, hard working families. They lost when homosexuality was decriminalised but haven’t stopped their efforts to destroy certain kinds of families.

• you’re saying we’re one tracked minded…

You’re very hypocritical, I know a great deal of people who would not agree with you, as I am sure you know others who are for gay rights… btw this isnt about gay rights, cause unless you can as a couple procreate which is given to a Man and a Woman, who jointly have the power given by God to create children You do not have the right to be parents. Before you try and shoot me down, I know many couples (man and wife) who are unable to have children for a variety of health reasons, they are the ones who have the right (as long as they are vetted) to adopt children, not a man and a man…

You would not have been born if it wasnt for a man and a woman, thats where you dont get it, and forget IVF and other forms of articfial insemination, again, when a man and a woman marry they should be the ones entitled to raise a family.

Yes there are single parents out there, I was raised by one, my mother, I never had a father there to teach me things or be there for me. You cannot replace the God given institution of marriage between a man and a woman. There is no way. Simple, black and white.. (oh wait are you going to call me racist for saying black and white?)

• Good to hear, keeps marriage equality in the public mind and keeps the pressure on central government to do what they know is right.
    Hopefully it won’t be too long before Ireland joins the growing list of counties that recognise and look after families no matter what form they take.

• Smiley 04/09/12 #

@MartinRyan. In one fell swoop you have effectively slagged off all of the single, widowed, divorced fathers who are raising children alone.

• @ smiley sorry if you took me up wrong fathers have a wonderful role to play in a child’s life I am a married man and I know that if anything should happen to my wife(god forbid) I would love those kids as much as possible but I could never replace their mother is that so hard to understand

• Good to DCC doing something good , equality for all is a good thing , @mick Collins ah would you ever grow up , that picture would not cause a firing in many places , there’s tits on page 3 of the tabloids every day , dunno what decade you are living in but we have moved on , what kind of nonsense , ” you’ll be fired for putting that picture up in work” , would ya listen to yourself FFS

• Where would one get a transcript of such a meeting? Dying to hear what Dr Bill Tormey had to say. So I can take the piss out of him mercilessly when he next knocks on my door.

• So in the Shinners motions which has already been passed are Belfast, Cork, Omagh, Down, Moyle and Magherafelt.

In Dublin with the Lab. party

The SDLP shot down the proposal in Fermanagh tonight.

Next councils to vote on this are: Dungannon, Dundalk, Fermanagh, Waterford and Derry will also hear Sinn Féin motions on marriage equality.

Louth County Council and South Dublin County Council will also vote on the issu. I’m not sure if these 2 are just SF or just Labour or others or in conjucntion.

Good to see local democracy being empowered to have a positive effect and set debate at an national level.

• To the naysayers above, have you borne in mind the negative psychological effects of excluding a minority of people from society?. Do you realise that one fifth of this population either self harms, suffers from severe depression, or seriously considers suicide?. I have, and while I understand that the decades long campaign to vilify these people, has had detrimental effects upon everybody, it’s time to move on. They are most certainly not the enemy. They have been made a scapegoat. The sooner we realise this, the sooner the real villains will be brought to justice.

• @David here you go again with your scientific rhetoric I told you before no need for it, I have absolutely nothing against gays but when it comes to adoption this is a no go area for gays if the child’s biological parents can’t look after him then firstly his relatives should be vetted and if not suitable then he should be placed with a suitable family I.e man and woman and preferably with other kids simple no bs there David

• But why should suitable gay parents be barred from adopting when the supply of suitable parents looking to adopt is outnumbered the number of children who need to be adopted especially considering adoption statistic have shown that gay couples are far more willing to adopt older children and children with disabilities who normally would have little or no chance of adoption, surely its better for them to grow up with two loving parents then in an underfunded orphanage in the developing world? Does your bigotry run so deep, that you would deny some of the neediest children on Earth a good home?
      And learn to use the reply button.

• well said !!!!…….and martin ? let me tell you something. i grew up in a country where there is same sex marriage for a long time, and yes “they” can adopt…..i am happy with that, i know many who have adopt and they are the greatest parents ever.
      their kids grow up with an open mind , their kids learn that there is more in the world than what we call “normal”.
      is it really better to have a father and mother ? look around, listen , read !!! i’m not saying that things can’t go wrong in a gay marriage and raising their children .
      we have to teach our children that’s ok to be gay, that’s ok to be different ! so………..that it is also ok if they have a friend who they want to play with and this friend has two mothers or two fathers so what ! learn them its a big world with allkinds of ppl and that that’s normal. even if you don’t agree, don’t poison their mind with your opinion.

• This is a step forward but we need to pressure FG and remove the old right wing blueshirt bead rattlers…Hugs all xx

• As usual Cork leads were others follow.

Joking aside this can only be a good thing. Very disappointed to hear that SDLP in the North made such a cowardly move. Are they so far gone that they forgot the civil rights marches of John Hume and the parties founders?

• About time. Hon the lads.

• If this gets passed, it would a be fantastic step for human rights and humanity in general (at least in this country).
    If you don’t agree with marriage equality, perhaps you should move to islamic country where your bigotry would be much more welcomed.

• Liam if you changed the pic you might be taken a little more seriously. If you put that up I’m most office environment today you’d be fired without any doubt and a Tribunal would endorse the decision.

• But Mick, Assy McGee will sort any legal problems I have; apart from the fact, that you shouldn’t be on twitter in work….

• There are quite a few psychologists and neurologists who’d disagree with you about being able to explain the bond between a mother and child.
      Your little story there is more of an argument to deal with the massive homophobia in our schools, which I should had has already cost just far too many lives to suicide and left many young LGBT people with terrible mental scars, then it is continue preventing marriage equality.
      How dare you say that we don’t think of the needs of children in this debate, we are well aware of the need to protect children from bullying and from suicide because in the six years on average between our realisation that we’re gay and the time we come out, when we have to hide who we are from the world, very day, from everyone, we have some dark, dark thoughts, we start to think maybe its better to end it all and far too meny do.
      We are not fighting for are own selfish motives, we’re doing this to win the dignity we deserve so that the next generation of LGBT kids don’t have to go though the same s**t we did.

• @Martin Ryan if a child gets bullied beyond belief because of his/her parents them I’d really question what kind of parents could raise a child who hates and bullies other children. This argument undermines your point that hetero couples are better parents if you really believe this will happen . Thankfully I believe people are better than that.

• @David Ryan if you believe the mother/child bond is so important what could be better than two mothers?

• Hear hear. Well done DCC and all the other councils who voted in favour; not to mention those who fight tooth and nail for this cause. Hats off. Common sense is prevailing.

• And it took long enough for the common sense to kick in here in Ireland!

• @David Jordan. so you finally got it the Mother/child bond is different well done !
      the LGBT community do deserve dignity and respect and I have friends across that whole spectrum but David it’s never going to be the same as the man /woman marriage institution
      even if it’s passed through every parliament on earth but it is most certainly wrong for same sex couples to adopt young innocent children in my opinion

• The old “I’m not (insert type of predice), some of my best friends are (insert name of group about to be slandered) but…” line, somehow I doubt you believe that we deserve respect considering your first post on this tread is a cross-dressing joke.
      You actually haven’t given any reason why gay couples shouldn’t be allowed to adopt besides the often sited but never explained children are better off with a mother and father excuse (which has no scientific bases) and the line that our children will get bullied at school (which is really just homophobia on the bases of homophobia).
      And if you repeat the words its wrong, its wrong, its different, its different over and over again doesn’t make it so, you have to make good, logical points as to why its so.

• @ Susanna nothing wrong with two so long as it’s the Mother and grandmother

• So sorry, I accidentally thumbsed-up Martin’s inane comment about grandmothers. I can only hope the other two were accidents as well.

• There is no need for a referendum. Repeal s. 2(2)(e) now. If anyone wants to challenge it, let them prove they have the standing and a case as to why an equalitarian bill is against the living Constitution.

• How democratic!

• Yes it is quite democratic that our elected representatives would make a change in the law in accordance with the wishes of the majority of the people without the expense of a referendum, especially considering that at no point does the constitution state that a marriage is a union of a man and a woman.

• @ David Jordan because a mother has a different bond with the child,the child is born from the mother of course fathers have a special place too,buts it’s not the same, I am a father to six children I see everyday the difference it’s even different in the animal kingdom you need to go out and observe this for yourself

• So the differance is there’s a differance, so in other words, you can’t actually explain what the differance actually is.
      There has never been a conclusive study done that has determined wheather a child is better off being raised by a man and a woman or two people of the same sex resulting in current scientific opinion being that the character, skill and dedication of the parents is more important then their gender.
      And finally, anyone, who knows anything about zoology would say the animal kingdom is the last place to get one’s morals from, see sparrow, bee, orangutan or duck mating and reproduction for examples why.

• Firstly david how do you know it’s what the majority want? Secondly if our elected representatives decide on a decision you don’t like will it be accepted by you?

PS I have no problem with same sex marriage at all, live and let live is what I believe.

• Every recently conducted poll shows that the Irish want marriage equality, and no if our government fails to recognise and protect our and our families civil rights, I will still fight to obtain those rights, as is my prerogative in a democracy, though frankly, I don’t think peoples’ civil rights should be granted or taken away by popular vote in a liberal democracy that really looks after its minorities minorities.

• So you’ll accet and think everyone should be happy to accet a “democratic decision” if it suits your cause. I’ve never seen any of the “majority of recent polls” so I’ll take your word for it

• Do you think the anti-marriage equality lobby would accept a democratic vote that went against them?
      The fact that some rights are inherant and inalienable is what separates a democracy from mob rule, would you let your right to have your love and your family recongised by the state be taken away by a mob?
      But sure the gays have civil partnership, so why do they need marriage?
      But sure Rosa Parks was on the bus anyway, so why did she need to sit up the front?

• Who were the 4 who voted against?

• @David. there is no need for scientific basis as to why a child is better with mum and dad it’s called procreation. two men can’t conceive a child (yet) it’s as simple as that look up human biology and reproduction nothing there about two males with a baby. Daddy has sex with mammy and hey Presto she gets pregnant and this is where the Mother/baby bonding begins which is why women are DIFFERENT with kids no need for science their either baby belongs with mammy and daddy and anything different is contrary to human nature

• Procreation is a seperate issue, we’re talking about raising children and unfortunitly not all children can be raised by their biological parents so we’re talking about who should be allowed adopt those children, so in that case its best to have done some research into the best atmosphere for children to be raised in and no scientifically valid study has shown that a mother and father is best.
      If you don’t want gay people to raise children because you have a personal problem with gay people then say so rather then throwing around BS about human nature.

• Well Martin what about a straight couple, where one can’t have kids? Is it contrary to human nature for them to get help having kids too?

• Good work Dublin City Council! I’m very happy to have these councillors representing me.

• Great, smashing, super and I am all in favour of it but should the Dáil not be the place to pass such motions? What can the local councils do about it?

• I presume this issue would be put to the public in a referendum?

• They make a lovely couple, don’t they?

• Fine Gael TD’s, take note of the will of the people as expressed on this this forum. Oh, wait…

• Dublin never ‘follows’ Cork

• Damocles, you would get an invite of course.

• Next up will be pre nup marriages in this country.doesnt bother me, I have nothing and half of nothing is nothing(correct me if I’m wrong,I only barely passed the 4th class maths test the other day!!)

• Cheap publicity stunt and the plebs lick it up with no question

• Very gesture politics from Sinn Fein. Bringing up gay marriage at every opportunity in political bodies with no legislative power.

• No!!!! Thats what way i’m voting

• Which way does that come from? megolithic or jurassic period?

• @les ~ the way of the least evolved troll period.

• Exactly Lee.

• Grand, I’ll be voting yes – rendering your vote null and void. How do you like them apples?

• @David Jordan -no man can take the part of a mother

• Maybe you could explain why that is to me Martin, because I’ve heard that argument so often from anti-marriage equality avocates but never once have any of them told me what this quality is that moms have but dads don’t or vice versa.

• It amazes me that people can’t tell the obvious differences between a male and a female. However I trust that this debate is not about the physical differences between a man and a woman (if so I can help, scientifically speaking, to point out the differences). That means that we’re dealing with unseen differences, like the soul, morals, standards, etc., none of which we can make sense of without the Bible. The main reason that it has to be male and female in marriage is because the Bible says so. I understand that this view is held by the mere minority in our “modern” society, however I have yet to hear a logical argument explaining the existence of universal, unchanging standards without the God of the Bible.

• Eoghan 11/09/12 #

@ Bob Boyle. The Bible says you can’t wear clothes of mixed fabric. It says a lot of things, it’s not infallible.

• @ Eoghan – Under the Law of Moses, God did require man to abstain from certain things; mixed fabric was one of many. But if you read on a little, you’ll find out that thankfully, Christ has redeemed us from the curse of the Law. Not the ‘most logical’ argument I’ve heard against the infallibility of scripture, but I appreciate the comment!

• Why are our overstretched councils spending public time voting on moral issues when they havnt the time or resources to attend to other matters of equality like a roof over everyones head or school places for children -? They aren’t really interested in real equality issues when we have some kids without education and families without homes. Why not do what you were elected to do councillors and when you have time left we citizens may be happy to hear your moral views.

• bpdeasy 04/09/12 #

A very sad day for this country. A lot of people on this forum are saying we will look back and wonder what all the fuss is about someday. I believe we will look back in time and wonder what we were doing when we will realise the destruction gay marriage will bring on our society.

• Oh yes I’m sure buildings will crumble and the world will end because two people in love can marry each other.

• You called me a bigot and referred to
      Catholicism, I’m not catholic, and I’m not a bigot. I am a person who has a different opinion.

And you say we are so ancient in our ways, sodomy has been around for a very Long time. Who’s preaching to who here, as for people who don’t believe in God same again ye have been around since Cain, go figure.

You slander us for our beliefs, and yet tell us we need to be more “modern”.
      I have a life thank you, I also don’t go around slandering you for being gay, I just don’t agree with it. Which is the same as you believing in no God… Which makes me sad that you lack awareness of your own bigotry, go figure.

Ye are all great for proclaiming freedom for gay rights, but not For religious freedom and free speech. Hmm
      Not very nice are ye?

• OMG !!!! destruction of the country by gay marriage ?….this is the most stupid thing i have evr heard !!!!
      so….its not the ppl themself, it’s not the gov…no noway ! we need a new scapegoat so why not blame it all on the gay ppl !!!!
      dangerous, very dangerous !! this kind of talk made wars start and ppl killed !

• I don’t dislike gay people. Some are very fine people. I object it being called a marriage. Come up with your own name. That way others won’t be offended. And forget about adoption. That’s for married people.

• Will be voting no!! And like before, true families will have a Mother and a Father. That’s the way God established it!
    Gay couples do not have the same rights as normal married couples. I also do not fear the bashings of liberalists. I will stand against such sorrowful acts.
    And as long as we still have a voice it will speak against this crime of nature and violating Gods laws.

• Well said.

• Noone cares what god thinks when it suits themselves. My interpretation is it is all interpreted by man and once i get to heaven, if there is a god i will be forgiven, in the instance he believes it is wrong. Love thy neighbour is a foundation of christianity, yet i fail to find one catholic who will adhere to it. Live your gods morals, and then you may be able to speak for him

• You won’t be voting on this anytime soon unless there’s a referendum – of which there is currently no talk whatsoever in government circles. Did you even read the article? What makes you think you will be asked to vote on this? The article is about a council voting yes in favour of marriage equality. Marriage does not automatically equal Family. Marriage equals a Married Couple. This has NOTHING to do with children.

It amuses me when the bigots like you pull the God card.

Let’s examine the whole God issue with respect to homosexuality. Is this the same God who created us all in his likeness? But he’s a man right? Are we sure? How do we know? He created women too… but women are not exactly in the same ‘likeness’ as men right? Also, what sexual persuasion is God? You think he’s straight? Are you sure? Where’s his missus? If he’s a man, how come he sent an angel to impregnate Mary? So wouldn’t that mean Jesus was the son of an the Angel Gabriel and not the son of God? Unless there was a turkey baster involved and poor ole Gabe was just the A.I. man. So…. if mankind (men AND women) were created in God’s likeness, what is God? A bisexual haemaphrodite?

Also, is this the same God with the grand plan for all of us? Was it part of this God’s plan for me to be gay? Was it a part of your God’s plan to make you a bigoted moron? Was it your God’s plan to allow the likes of you and your ilk to subject innocent people who just happen to be attracted to the same gender to centuries of abuse and discrimination and to deprive them of a family? Was it God’s plan to allow you and yours to decide for others how they should live? Was it God’s plan to sow hate and to divide his people in this way, defying his own basic but fundamental law of “Love one another as I have loved you” and the related “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”. What if one of your family were gay – would you tell them that they and their partner weren’t entitled to be legally recognised as a couple with the same rights as any other couple? Sorry “normal married couple”. How would you like it your loved ones were deprived of a happy fulfilling life on the basis of their sexuality or some other difference about them? I don’t think you’d find it to your liking to have one of your own discriminated against. So, you see, I’m not sure that your God’s great plan is such a divine plan to be honest … it seems more than a little tainted and questionable.

The answer to questions such as this, from bigoted religious god-botherers such as yourself, is usually that no one knows why God decides what he does as he is a mystery and besides – he gave us all free will! Convenient that.

But, of course he did! He gave us all free will to deviate from his grand, divine plan and laws that you’d claim determine everything but which upon close examination are clearly the batshit crazy musings of a complete lunatic(s). A fallible, flesh and blood lunatic, who lived two thousand or more years ago, squatting in tent or mudhut somewhere in a desert, working on a set of scrolls which would later be turned into a book. It’s not the work of an all loving, all powerful, supreme, divine being who dwells in an invisible paradise in the ether.

You thoughtless and unthinking, religious parrot and shameless homophobe.

• God established nothing because God does not exist. Evolution is how we came to be. I believe in equal rights for all, not some fairy tale about a man in the sky.

• How do you know what way God established things? Did he come down and give you his master plan?

How do you know being Gay is violating his laws? Who is to say God didn’t create them and has a special use for them?

And a crime of nature? There are numerous cases of homosexuality in nature, so that arguement is invalid

• Well if God says so!! Wonder how Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy feel about it?

Add New Comment