TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Gardaí told of male who was ‘tied up’ day before Eugene Gillespie found

It has emerged that Gardaí received a call alerting them to a male who was tied up in a house with a brown gate in Sligo the day before Eugene Gillespie was found tied up in his house in the town.

Old Market Street, Sligo (File)
Image: Google Street View

Updated 2.55pm

GARDAÍ HAVE SAID that they received a call last Thursday relating to a male who was tied up in a house with a brown gate in Sligo the day before murdered Eugene Gillespie was discovered tied up at his house in the town.

The 67-year-old died on Saturday night from injuries sustained after he was assaulted during an aggravated burglary in his home on Old Market Street.

Gillespie was found last Friday evening unconscious and lying in the hallway of his home with his hands tied behind his back.

It is believed the assault happened some time between 9pm on Wednesday and 9pm on Friday last and it is now being treated as a murder investigation.

Gardaí said today that they had received a call on Thursday and acting on information in this call they went to a house with a brown gate in the town where they “satisfied themselves that there was nothing untoward”.

They are now using the call as part of their investigation and liaising with phone companies in an attempt identify the anonymous caller.

Searches

Earlier, searches were carried out by Gardaí in the area this morning though the details of these searches have not been released for operational reasons.

Separately it is reported in a number of newspapers this morning that an Australian-based friend of Gillespie, Declan Foley, has offered a reward for information leading to finding the person or people responsible for the assault.

He has asked people to email him on declanfoley@ireland.com with any information they may have.

Gardaí said that members of the public are entitled to do what they wish but that their only official involvement with any kind of reward would be through Crimestoppers.

A spokesperson for the Gardaí said that any information received is welcome.

So far there have been no arrests.

Gardaí have appealed for anyone with information or who can assist with the investigation to contact the incident room at Sligo Garda Station on 071 915 7000, the Garda Confidential Telephone Line 1800 666 111 or any Garda Station.

Read: Renewed appeal over Eugene Gilliespie murder

Read next:

Comments (50 Comments)

• The focus needs to be on the cowardious bastards that took this man’s life for reasons of self gain. Please do not deflect from this.

• May this poor Man rest in peace now.
    My Condolences go to his Family & Friends..

• The ‘journalist’ constantly refers to the victim as “Gillespie” throughout the article.

Highly disrespectful to the man and his family. RIP Mr. Gillespie.

• I agree with you Mark . It is a habit of journalists that I do not like either . Mr Gillespie was the victim and is not here to defend himself . He did nothing wrong . Yet when journalists are reporting the court appearances of the criminal thugs who carry out such diabolical acts of violence they call them Mr, Mrs, Ms or Miss as appropriate…

• I am totally sickened and disgusted that this has happened in the town that I grew up in. What a horrific thing to do to an innocent human being. My thoughts are with his poor family. RIP.

• What planet are you from John?

• #Johnny
      I was meerly responding to all the back slapping and “great work” the gardai is getting in this tragic case in this thread with “could they have done more”?

As for facts – Eugene Gillespie is dead. He was found dying more than 24 hours AFTER a 999 Emergency call was made which “was quite specific” (Garda spokesman released this information only on Wednesday 27th). Fact

Councillor Declan Bree said on RTE news that “had Mr Gillespie been found on Thursday evening, due to “extent of his injuries he would not have survived”? Fact.

Who gave this information to Cllr Bree? State Patologist?Gardai? Hospital Spokesman? Doctor?

I even heard on RTE radio on Monday 24th September that Mr Gillespie, had he survived, would have had his hands “amputated”? Who released this information to the media?

Could the Gardai have done more? As it is a very prominent Brown Gate/Door which is less than 100 yards from Garda Station.

Maybe had he been found earlier he might have survived?

I didn’t know Mr Gillespie but if I was a friend or a family member I would want to know the answer?
      …………Put yourself in Mr Gillespie’s shoes –

I simply asked – Could the Gardai have done more?
      I

• its not the gardai fault that he was not found. I hope something comes of this though. its very similar to what happened Eddie Fitzmaurice in Charlestown in 1998 and that has never been solved. tied up and left to die like an animal, by an animal

• The Gardai receive so many false alerts that unfortunately putting something on local radio like this would just mean that it’d be something different every hour. Sad but true.

• RTE news at 11pm last night introduced this tragic murder as “Gardai are trying to trace an anonymous caller …… saying a man was tied up in a house”. Nothing about a “Brown gate”?
    The news went to reporter Eileen Maghner who described “Gardai getting a 999 call about a man who was tied up in a house with a Brown gate”.
    Councillor Declan Bree then said “it was unfortunate Gardai could not locate the house beside the Brown Door”?

Why do the Gardai not release the audio of this emergency 999 call as surely someone will recognise the voice?

• It goes without saying that the perpetrators should be condemned . I am not condemning the gardai I just feel that when a report comes in that an elderly man is tied up in a house all the stops should be pulled out to be satisfied it a hoax and not make assumptions it a hoax following checking one brown gate. This element adds to the anguish of the family.

• My 3 questions earlier as to – Could the Gardai have done more? – seems to have split opinions to this thread right down the middle?

So for those who have given my views the “Thumbs Down” let me ask you the following – and do you think it is important that they should be answered ASAP?

What time was this emergency 999 call made Thursday last? As Mr Gillespie was only found on Friday afternoon and he died Saturday evening.

Who released (“sources”) information to Sligo Councilor Bree that “had Mr Gillespie been found on Thursday evening, due to extent of his injuries he would not have survived.”?

I even heard on RTE radio on Monday 24th September that Mr Gillespie, had he survived, would have had his hands “amputated”? Who released this information to the media? State Pathologist? Gardai? Coroner? Doctor?

Could the Gardai have done more? As it is a very large prominent and visible Brown Gate/Door and the house is only 100 yards from the local station.

Maybe had he been found earlier he might have survived?
    I did not know Mr Gillespie but if I was a friend or a family member I would want to know the answer? ………… Put yourself in Mr Gillespie’s shoes – Could the Gardai have done more?

But most importantly, can the Gardai release the audio of this 999 emergency call which they now claim today Wednesday 26th “was quite specific”? Surely someone will recognize the voice of the person who could have vital information to help solve this murder case?

• #Nuffsaid Thatsall

No I have no grudge against the Gardai but I do find it sad that a man has died and the Gardai seem to release information when it suits to garner and sway public opinion in their favor? By the number of thumb downs I have received for expressing my opinion it certainly seems to work for them? But hey …… each to their own.

Also the man charged a Simon McGinley “presented himself at Sligo Garda Station on Friday night.”

• I think it would have been an unusual type of call and should have been investigated more thourughly. If it was a loved one of mine I would be devastated that an opportunity to have a better outcome was missed. Very tough on the gardai involved I know. A radio alert would not have cost anything and may have caused people to check on elderly men living alone that they knew of.

• Marie
      The gardai get a lot of hoax calls and to be honest if they announced them every time , people would soon get fed up checking and eventually not bother ……. The Gardai I am sure did their best given the circumstances , they really are not at fault here.
      Yes it is very sad and I am sure the Gardai are gutted they did not find Mr Gillespie sooner ,but they are only human too.
      It is the thugs who left Mr Gillespie to die you should be condemning !

• Maire : not an unusual call at all . Gardai receive false unusual calls every day of the week. They done all they could on the information that was available to them .

• Has anyone seen this brown gate? Unmissable I would say.
    Could the Gardai have done more? That is all I am asking.

• I find it unusual that the Gardai called to a house with a brown door but “satisfied themselves that there was nothing untoward”. What does that mean? Were they expecting a note saying “man lying tied up in here?” and what information did they have to call to this particular house? I think the Gardai could have been a bit more thorough on this one. I’d like to know how many hoax calls they get to warrant dismissing this one so quickly. And as 999 calls are recorded, why not release the call made. Someone should surely recognise the voice. Is there content on the call that might embarass the the Gardai inaction at the time?

• If the Gardai have made a mistake they should hold their hands up and admit it. They are human.
      It is the deafening silence from their press office who seem to be feeding the press with dribs and drabs? The latest was yesterday that the emergency 999 call “was quite specific”? What does this mean?

Why the delay in releasing this call? What will happen if the murderer strikes again?

Is the reason they have not released it yet because the caller has a distinct accent? Has our society has gone PC mad?

• Watched the news at 9 and there is a very large prominent brown gate at the house. Now I don’t know Sligo town very well but from media reports it isn’t a huge town?
    Could the Gardai have done more?

• Sligo is a big town, population of about 18 thousand….and like all residential/town areas there are a lot of brown gates!

• The population of the town is 18,000 That makes for a lot of brown gates and as per previous posters Garda get lots of hoax callers .
      I have no doubt this case will resolve fairly quickly especially as there is at least one person out there who most be under huge emotional pressure to come forward.
      If they made the 999 / 112 call from a mobile it will be easily traced as will all other numbers that phone has been in contact with. If he made it from a phone box the cctv footage from the area will pin them down

• mike 25/09/12 #

Your right Gerry. It might not work, so Why Bother trying. It’s only a man’s life at stake.

• johnny 25/09/12 #

just to confirm Mike, seeing is there is no way to distinguish between the hoax and the real calls do you want full scale public alerts for all calls gardai cannot locate due to limited or incorrect information? How many Gardai do you think are available for searches like this. Im sure the Gardai involved are devastated by this but none of it is in any way shape or form

• mike 25/09/12 #

Read my post again. Sligo has a local radio station. It would only have taken a 5 min phone call.

• @Mike As sean said , maybe go to Roscommon with john and look for that 1000e left under the rock . Sure ring the local radio station I’m sure once people hear ur message the rock will be identified . it will only take 5 minutes . If u don’t understand this post maybe read it again .

• @mike If Mr Gillespie was kin to me, that’s exactly what I’d do! The fact that the house is 60 yards from the station deems the lack of action derisive at best, lazy at worst!

• mike 25/09/12 #

There is more than one house with a brown gate in sligo. Why the hell did the Guards stop looking after they found one.

• Maybe they searched based on the information received, perhaps after performing a search they put the call down to yet another bogus caller wasting police time which I am sure is more often the case than not. I find it distressing that the poor man was lying on the floor for two days. My sympathies to his family and friends. I hope the perpetrators are caught.

• mike 25/09/12 #

Why am I getting thumbs down. There should have been a full scale public alert on local radio etc to check on all neighbours with a brown gate on their house. if that was done this man would probably be alive today. It’s better to look foolish 100 times for a false alarm than to risk not acting.

• Full scale public alert? Do you live in Ireland mike? There’s no emergency system like that in the country. How would you get information to everyone in Sligo?

• Gerard 25/09/12 #

@mike

Are you serious?

• johnny 25/09/12 #

seriously Mike grow up. you have no idea what your talking about

• mike 25/09/12 #

Johnny between 30% and 50% of voters agree with me. So get off your soap box, were entitled to our opinion.

• Mike
      It is not possible to alert the public to every life and death call the Gardai receive because a lot of calls the gardai get are hoax… The Gardai looked I am sure in accordance to the information they were given ,and they certainly are not at fault for Mr Gillespie’s death.
      His death is horrific but the Gardai are ordinary people who come from ordinary decent families and who would do their utmost to save this man’s life .
      Please understand that Mr Gillespie was murdered by the thugs who tied him up , beat him and left him to die . May he Rest In Peace.

• mike 25/09/12 #

Just the ones where it’s a case of life or death. as to how many guards would be needed to make a short call to a local radio station, just one Johnny.

• johnny 25/09/12 #

did someone adk how many guards it takes to make a call? tske a hint from all the people disagreeing with u

• Mike. are u just one of those who thinks they can solve the worlds problems from ur laptop . Get real . the Gardai could not possibly have done any more . our radio stations would be inundated with false alarm calls every hour of the day if they done what u wanted .

• The gardai in Sligo have bungled the Sligo killing. They received a call on Thursday saying a elderly man was tied up after been robbed and failed to find him. very sad.

• Poppy 25/09/12 #

I know where I’d search first ???

• The really sad thing is that the garda station is right around the corner from where the attack took place, you have to wonder if the person who reported the suspicious activity didn’t just go direct to the station to report it?