TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

FF minister Pádraig Flynn took £50k corrupt payment – Mahon

Bertie Ahern knew about the payment but did not ask his then-cabinet colleague about it for almost a decade, the Tribunal has found.

Pádraig Flynn pictured in 2004
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

FORMER FIANNA FÁIL government minister Pádraig Flynn used a corrupt payment of IRL£50,000 from a property developer for his own benefit, the Mahon Tribunal has found.

The inquiry’s final report states that senior Fianna Fáil figures including Bertie Ahern knew about the payment to Flynn in 1989 – but did not question him about it until after the establishment of the investigation in the late 1990s.

Flynn, who was Minister for the Environment at the time, “wrongly and corruptly” sought the payment from developer Tom Gilmartin then “proceeded to utilise the money for his personal benefit”, the Tribunal found.

A substantial portion of the money was reportedly used to buy a farm in Co Mayo in the name of Flynn’s wife.

When giving evidence to the Tribunal in 2008, Flynn denied that he personally benefited from the payment.

According to the final report, Gilmartin believed – and was told by Pádraig Flynn – that the payment was a donation to the Fianna Fáil party rather than to Flynn himself. The payment was made on the understanding that Flynn would “ease or remove obstacles” in the way of Gilmartin’s planned Quarryvale development.

Senior Fianna Fáil figures

The payment, and the fact that Flynn had not passed it on to the Fianna Fáil party, were known about by senior Fianna Fáil figures, the Tribunal found. Bertie Ahern was told of the payment by Gilmartin in 1989, while then-Taoiseach Albert Reynolds was informed in 1992.

Current Fianna Fáil TD and social protection spokesperson Seán Fleming – then the party’s financial controller – had examined the party’s official accounts and found no record of the donation from Gilmartin.

The report found it “noteworthy” that Ahern did not contact Flynn over the payment until 1998 or 1999, after the Tribunal had been set up and following “media speculation”. It stated:

When in October/November 1990 (and indeed in 1992) senior personnel within Fianna Fail had essentially the same information (effectively from ‘the horse’s mouth’) the matter was not raised with Mr Flynn at that time.

Flynn served as a European Commissioner representing Ireland until 1999.

Liveblog: Mahon Tribunal rejects Ahern evidence>

More: Full coverage of the Mahon Tribunal, including timeline and who’s who>

Read next:

Comments (40 Comments)

• I live in Oz, can someone tell me what happened to Flynn?
    If he was found to be corrupt, please tell me he was charged and paid some penalty like some jail time?
    Please, not another corrup politician getting away with outright corruption.
    Was the farm at least seized by the state, sold and proceeds returned to the Irish government?

• Don’t hold your breath, Marguerite. He is the prime example of the shamless, cute hoor Irish politician ever. I even put him before B-B-B-Bertie re that.

• Marguerite
      Nothing yyyyyyyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeeeeettttttttttttttttttttttttttttt………………………………!

• Nothing has happened to him…he’s still at home lying extremely low today. Only Beverly Cooper Flynn is answering any journalists…she by the way, was the last person expelled from Fianna Failed..this whole thing just goes to show the rotten to the core organisation that FF were and maybe are. But do ya think the faithful shunned Bertie?…no..they rushed to shake his hand at the recent Ard Fheis. A reminder as tnough it were needed that this shower of utter low lifes should never get within a roar of power again.
      As far as I’m concerned their credibility has been shot to pieces. Mehole Martin condemned the tribunal in an attempt to arselick ole Burtie and now couldn’t be far away from him if he tried. All in all…a perfect picture of the political pond we have to choose from. Time is perfect for a new force to emerge.

• This is absolutely terrible, disgraceful, I can understnad how angry you all feel, I would be ropeable too.
      Why no action or no penalty, baffling?
      Why would a corrupt politician be a protected species, I’m sure the government’s popularity would soar if they were seen to do the right thing by the people.

• A traitor. A traitor who is a member of a party run by traitors, for the benefit of thieves and staffed at the bottom by fools.

• Amen to that, Fagan’s. Gay Byrne did the state some service years ago when he had this self serving clown on The Late Late Show. An arrogant b*ll*x if ever there was one. A total clown. As for his daughter, Beverley Cheesey Grin ? Don’t get me started. Look at the head on him in the photo. U don’t have to be a psychiatrist to figure him out. The type of clown many were fooled by. A shameless individual.

• Fagan's 22/03/12 #

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=62bPIXhXfmY&feature=player_embedded

Michael Martin defending Bertie and his horsey winnings. This man is completely devoid of shame and his moral compass is completely defunct. No wonder he was made FF leader.

If there is even an decent ounce in you Micheal, you will resign and expel Ahern, Burke and the rest of them from the party. Is there even the smallest bit of you that has a concern for this country.

• Sterling work on coverage of this, Journal.ie. Kudos.

• Now if any of that money was used to buy garlic, WE’VE GOT HIM!

• if you ever wanted to personify corruption,smuggness greed anf arrogance into one being then surly it would be pig flynn.

• Surely there is grounds here to strip the politicians found guilty by the tribunal of illegal acts to be stripped of thief dail pension entitlements ???

• 50,000. Thats all???. Or maybe thats all they know about.

• Jail time and revenue to go after his assets.

• Banged to rights! If he doesn’t do jail time for this, then god help us all!!

• howzat 22/03/12 #

It’s about time but what’s laughable is the people of Mayo that continued to vote for him

• Prison! As simple as! If this guy doesn’t go to prison along with the rest of the cronies we will never put have a clean honest political system. Time for action.

• I think seizing accents is a good idea. Maybe they can legislate that political corruption once proven will result in the state taking property or assets.

• Lock them all up

• Good point Brian – the pensions should ( need) to be taken off them.

• Fagan's 22/03/12 #

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=62bPIXhXfmY&feature=player_embedded

Michael Martin defending Bertie and his horsey winnings. This man is completely devoid of shame and his moral compass is completely defunct. No wonder he was made FF leader. He’ll turn on Bertie same as Bertie turned on Ahern. There is no honour among these types.

If there is even an decent ounce in you Micheal, you will resign and expel Ahern, Burke and the rest of them from the party. Is there even the smallest bit of you that has a concern for this country.

• How many houses and house keepers has Padraig got now. I seen his daughter Beverly Copper Tin at Dublin airport she was going on a sun holiday with a big grin on her face.

• And he taught what came after him well too, how do the people of mayo feel now or would they blindly follow the dynasty still

• Does this mean that CAB will now seize all his assets and that he will lose all his pension entitlements ?

• Not a chance but a bit of waterboarding of a large number might get us the truth
      God forgive me for such evil thoughts but a much much greater evil of greed and lies was foisted upon us and still continues to this day.

• Even though Pee wee is an arrogant obnoxious git I feel his daughter is pure evil for her dealings of greed with the local person who she manipulated into Parting with their money. Thieves at least are barefaced and you have some insurance – she advised the person with a smile on her face. Ruthless and immoral – I would really like to see this type of person share a cell with the scissor sisters.

• A FF politician had his hand out??? Well I never! Seriously though, does anyone really think these traitors will ever do proper jail time? When Ray Burke was locked up he had a whole landing to himself & didn’t have to rub shoulders with the peasants. This blight goes too far & too deep to ever be allowed come to light fully. Our democracy has been fundamentally compromised. FF should be consigned to history as they became drunk on power & privilege & the only price they pay is the chance to “reinvent” themselves. They have blood on their hands everytime someone dies due to hospital cutbacks, when someone dies on the roads due to a drunk driver they have blood on their hands as there weren’t enough gardai to police the the streets. They are just as bad as FG/Lab. We as an electorate must make sure that FF never again get the reins of power.

• Jail time and full cab investagation the full power of the law should be imposed on Toerag Flynn and others of the same ilk who have robbed the state and its people

• Alas, in the Republic of NO accountability, these venal scumbags will go unpunished and retain their obscene tax payer funded pensions, there will be no charges brought against them and they will not get a visit from CAB or any other agency for that matter. You see in Ireland these vermin are protected, it’s the little guys who pay the price, the fella that does a days work whilst claiming the dole is enemy no.1 to miscreants who reside in the Dail. The ordinary man in the street is easy to target, easy to fine and easy to lock up. Why would they punish one of their own, truth is that if you look closely at them all you’ll see that they are all as bad as each other although the Fianna FAILure crowd are easily the the worst. Ahern, Flynn, Burke and all the other crooks won’t be losing any sleep tonight over this report nor will they be fearing a knock on the door from the Gardai, don’t be surprised to see the crooks heading off on holiday later this week, lie low for a while, wait till it all blows over and then it will be business as usual. Depressing I know but that’s life in the Septic Isle, corrupt and incompetent get rewarded the honest and the hard working get punished. Same old Republic, same old story, same old gang running the country, nothing ever changes!

• Painted yourself into a corner at last Pauric.

• And Mr Flynn, please do something with those eyebrows! By God you look ridiculous!!!!!!! I mean seriously WTF?

• Does this mean that CAB will now seize all his assets and that he will lose all his pension entitlements ?Will he go to prison, or will some poor soul on social welfare take up his cell space for not having car tax..?

• Meet the new boss, same as the old boss. Pete Townsend, I think. Good point there Ed.

• FF bashing and enda and his corrupt cronies laugh as everyone is distracted while Anglo gets another 3.1 billion…. people just make me laugh…. stop being sidelined and make the current batch of corrupt politicians pay

• I dont see what Padraig did wrong Hes a gentleman and Beverely copper tin is a lady also.

Add New Comment