TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Gallagher: RTÉ went ‘into defence mode like Catholic church’ after ‘Twittergate’

The former Presidential candidate said at the Media Future conference today that RTÉ “shut down to defend itself” like “how the Church itself as institution reacted” when it became aware of abuse in the early nineties.

Sean Gallagher
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

UPDATED at 7.30pm

FORMER PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE Sean Gallagher has spoken publicly for the first time about the RTÉ Frontline Presidential debate and its ‘Twittergate’ controversy.

The entrepreneur made the comments during an interview at the Media Future Conference, which is taking place at The Pavilion in Dun Laoghaire from 14 – 15 May.

Gallagher said RTÉ went “into defence mode” following the controversy around a tweet from a bogus Twitter account that was put to Gallagher at the Frontline debate last year. He said that there were “parallels in what happened for Kevin Reynolds“, a priest who was found to have been defamed by RTÉ, and that what he claimed was his “unfair treatment” by the State broadcaster “is like how the Church itself as an institution reacted” when it became aware of abuse in the early nineties.

It went into defence mode. As an institution it shut down to defend itself.

He added that “what it did in [Fr Kevin Reynolds'] case and mine [was to] compound even further the original injustice and wrongdoing”.

Frontline

Gallagher also said during the interview that there were two elements to the allegations put to him during the Frontline show. He said one was that he went to a man named Hugh Morgan after an event and collected a cheque for €5000. “I could not have gone to his house after the event to collect a cheque,” said Gallagher. He said that Fianna Fáil records showed a cheque had been delivered to them and had been cashed and a receipt issued to Morgan before the event took place.

Gallagher said that the second allegation was that he went to Morgan’s house.

Absolutely not. I did not go to his house to collect a cheque, nor did I go to his business.

He said the first time he met Morgan was at the event. When asked about how he behaved when asked the question about the tweet live on air, Gallagher said that “to me that was dealt with the week before… I had already batted it away in the beginning”. He added: “I was standing there going, why is [the man] saying I collected the cheque after the event?” He also asked himself: “Why are Sinn Féin coming out with this?”

Gallagher said he was “processing this live on TV”. He said that “there’s always an element of truth” which was “that I had delivered a photograph to him after the event”.

Also during the interview, Gallagher said that he knew his business dealings would be scrutinised and that he thought Mary Davis was unfairly treated in relation to hers.

“I stand over all the business dealings I have done,” said Gallagher.

Gallagher also said that he had stood as an independent candidate, despite previous dealings with Sinn Féin, and was not the Fianna Fáil candidate.

Complaint

When asked about his complaint to the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland about the tweet, Gallagher said:

I think all of us were sickened and saddened and outraged by how Fr Kevin Reynolds was treated. I had no desire to complain to the BAI initially. I did feel a sense of injustice about the tweet. I wrote to RTÉ and expressed my dissatisfaction. I was gobsmacked with their arrogance and almost hostility of the response.

He again appealed to RTÉ but said he received a “hostile reaction”. When he applied under the Freedom of Information Act for information about when the tweet from the bogus account came in, Gallagher said “they refused to give me any information”.

He said he wrote to Noel Curran seeking a meeting but Curran declined. He then took his complaint to the BAI. Gallagher said that it was “outrageous” that an unverified tweet had been put to him live on air during the Presidential debate a few days before the press moratorium.

I have great respect for RTÉ. They are public servants, they are paid by all of us through the TV licence. I was on a series Dragons’ Den for two years.

Gallagher added he has “great respect” for many of the journalists in RTÉ, some of whom have contacted him to say “they are horrified by the programme”.

The former Presidential candidate said that he didn’t see his campaign as a failure, but as a success, and that he now aims to spend more time with his wife and also “get a job and start a business and earn a living”.

RTÉ response

Responding to Gallagher’s comments, RTÉ said that it had accepted the BAI’s “decisions in full” in March.

“[RTÉ] accepted the BAI decision that RTÉ was found to be unfair to Mr Gallagher on specific grounds and confirmed actions that were in train in connection with the programme,” the broadcaster said in a statement this evening.

RTÉ director general had “instituted a full editorial review to identify programme-making practices and risks” which involves editorial management and programme makers throughout the organisation.

“It will give significant attention to the production of live audience-based programmes and to the selection of audience members and questions, including The Frontline Presidential Debate,” RTÉ added.

The broadcaster also said that a new set of guidelines for programme makers is being finalised through a process which began in February under the former controller of editorial policy at the BBC Stephen Whittle. Those guidelines will include social media protocols which will “require systematic authentication of inputs offered to programmes”.

Read: Further regulatory process over Gallagher complaint is ‘not a matter for RTÉ to decide or influence’>

Read: Seán Gallagher calls for inquiry over new RTÉ Frontline claims>

Read next:

Comments (95 Comments)

• He went into defence mode once a few questions were put to him about his exact involvement with FF.

• sick of looking at this egghead

• IT was the tweet what did it – my ass !

Up to his neck in FF, ridiculous claims about his earnings and then his tax affairs, do I remember something about a business loan or grant – what was that about. Never a credible candidate – the tweet was just he icing on the cake – fair dues to SF maybe the only useful thing they’ve done since the Good Friday agreement.

• just when you thought it was safe ,gallagher raises his head again …..

• Is that why you ever answered the questions on your finances,tax affairs, state grants that that woman from Dublin asked you.

There were lots of questions about your finances, you were exposed as up to your neck as a FF bagman. That is what did for your campaign, not some gammy little tweet.

• Would you ever F### away off ye moaning…. Whining …. sore loser… YE LOST GET OVER IT…..

• I can smell the claim going in !!!!!!!!

• Best bogus tweet ever.

• this guy has some bad case of sour grapes burning a hole in his head!

he should get on with looking after diesel smugglers and other fianna failed criminals!

• I voted for Sean but will he ever get over it. Irish people voted in Michael D HIggins.

• Jasus just when I thought I had forgot to remember to forget him. Throw that man a fiddle

• Sean Gallagher
    Will you ever just get over it . Please . We have enough gobsh1tes annoying us all with out you joining in with the caterwauling …..

• alan 15/05/12 #

FF bagman. found out. a complete loser. go away. surplus to (even the least of the least of the least) requirements

• SMcB 15/05/12 #

Sean… You mentioned Fr Reynolds in your speech and tried to compare his circumstances to that of your. The best advice I can give you is to sue RTE if you think you’ve been hard done by. Go ahead and stop postering.

• Oh FFS is this guy still on this?

And as for him comparing his failure to field an allegation put to him live on air, to a programme made that had allegedly been researched and edited before broadcast is just below the belt..

Go away Sean.. You have lost all credibility..

• alan 15/05/12 #

What do you mean ‘it is in the past’. Time passes then everything disappears? Gallagher lost because of his own actions. These cannot be wished away

As for hard questions: all the candidates got grilled. Norris got the worst questioning in my opinion

• What an ASS! Whiner.. Loser.. Eejit.. Thank god you never made president with your lies to the people.. We had a narrow escape there!

• Awwwww shut up you muppet, you lost because you were found out. Give it up already!

• What is it with Fianna Fáilers and and ex FF…..can they not get the hint?We are no longer interested in them or their purile party or in particular some baldy gimp who was found out to be as corrupt as the rest!Charlie Haughey, Ray Bourke, Liam Lawlor, Bertie Ahern… and they were at the top being watched by everyone and still got away with murder…what do think scrotes like Gallagher were getting away with when NO ONE was watching them!!A bullet is too good…..

• Oh it’s Sean Gallagher again, you lost go away.

• Seanie got his just deserts, exposed and no amount of whinging will get you out of this.

• As soon as I saw the face and the headlineI knew what the reaction was going to be. Looking at him now on Vincent Brown and listening to the shite spewing out of him. I can’t help agreeing that we dodged the bullet.

• eamonn 15/05/12 #

Sean Gallagher would not have represented this country in a meaningful manner. He attempted to act out the role but in my view he lacked any substance.

• The facts are Gallagher received a brown envelope containing €5,000 from a fuel smuggler, for Dermott Ahearn who was also Minister for Justice
    Fianna Fail can’t see anything wrong with that

• It does strike me that he thinks politics should be like criminal law, or something; that he should get off because evidence was uncovered with a warrant that hadn’t been properly filled in.

Does he expect the Irish electorate to be like juries and ‘disregard the evidence’? What a fool…

• Talk about pot calling kettle black; Sean G coming from a FF party that was rarely straight with people. Got a taste of your own medicine boyo!

• Go away touch creepy Fail-er.
    No matter what brought it to light…. You were involved in corruption and bribery

• Martin Mc Guiness was involved in much worse, but thats ok ??

• You keeping making the same point in various ways, John but I see why you think any criticism of Gallagher is support for McGuinness. It’s quite possible to loath BOTH you know.

Similarly, even the worst of people do a beneficial thing from time to time. Hitler was nice to dogs, apparently, and McGuinness battered Gallagher in a debate to the advantage of all. Recognizing those facts doesn’t automatically signal a denial of, or approval of, other acts committed by them.

• MMcG saved us from global mortification. It amazes me that he thinks he has the right to be indignant. But it wasnt the tweet that did it, nor was it even all the righteous questions he refused to answer about his dodgy self serving business dealings. It was simply the word ‘envelope.’ the jeering from the crowd that followed was like a blissful balm washing over me as I knew instantly his game was up. Now if
    Only he would go away permanently. Like someone else said, I had quite happily forgotten him until this.

• Ah Geez, not Gallagher again. Will somebody give the baby a soother.

• Choctaw 15/05/12 #

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Get over it Sean. We have a brilliant president. We don’t want to hear from you.

• alan 15/05/12 #

Spot on. The idea that this character would be capable of representing anything other than himself and his low level ambitions (Dragons Den? The Marty Whelan of TV shows) is laughable

I wonder has he been brushing up on his knolweldge of our Constitution (the one he appeared to know nothing about while running for president of the same country). Just in case he should ever run into the REAL President (although I can’t see MD Higgins ever appearing around the back of country dancehalls with handfuls of brown envelopes)

• This will keep coming up as long as journalists keep asking about it. If its no longer an issue, then why is it being written about.

• I thought by this stage Gallagher would be denying that he ever ran for President. Give it another year and you’ll see that he won’t mention the Áras race ever again. There is other tax payer opportunities calling, and that is one enterprise that Seán has excelled all his FF life in .

• Remember It was Martin Mc Gunniness that fell on his sword to stop Sean Gallagher in his tracks, other wise we would have a clowm as a president. Sinn Fein did a service for the nation.

• Does this idiot have no self awareness?

• God this man would do anything for a bit of publicity..go away

• It’s just as well to see he’s as politically naive as ever. Comparing his situation of opponents in a political debate, *arguably*, playing dirty to being raped as a child and seeing your abuser being protected and shielded from consequence.

Yeah, that’s the sense of perspective we want from a President.

• ff idea of a back door, get independents in,,, bloody eejit he is, liar and caught out lying and now looking for rte to be liable for letting the truth come out,, grow a pair and admit defeat, you were caught and no other way about it,,, no big government pension and sitting on boards for bonuses,,, ha ha ha ha,, with a no vote do you know they will all have to take cuts and show where they are spending money,,, ha ha ha , but i have a feeling we are going to be sold again, not the brits though,, the bloody germans, jeez, and the germans never won the world war but now will own europe anyway,,

• Sean, why can’t you get over the fact that you were ambushed in true Sinn Fein fashion of under handedness, false accusations of a Sinn Fein associated convicted criminal and a tweet apparently sent by Sinn Fein, attributed to them and read out live. Why Sean?

• the man is a donkey & cry baby, get over it. sillyness comparing his treatment to that of father Reynolds. just amazed he almost got elected, on what basis I would love to know. as far as i’m concerned we were all done an enormous favor by gallaghers demise.

• Yes, what happened that night was so wrong and should never have made it onto live TV. Martin McGuinness and RTE were wrong to do what they did. You were not the only one to be battered by RTE that night! Unfortunately, lack of political and media experience was your downfall. You need to move on and put it down to a life experience! Sue them if you want, but we don’t need to know about it any more, we’ve more important things happening in our lives than to be reading stuff like this. You are certainly, not on par with the Fr. Reynolds case. What they did to that priest was vile.

• so again he specifically denies going to the his house or business, but avoids mentioning the hotel down the road

• The hypocrisy of people on this site is amazing, It was ok for a man who for years at a minimum defended innocent people being murdered (from Enniskillen to Warrington to Jean McConville) to run for the presidency,
    But if you were a “supporter” of FF then you should be treated with contempt.
    Before anyone accuses me of being a FF supporter, I am not and I’ve never supported any party, but if I did so what ?? More than half the country were voting FF back in the day.
    Sinn Fein double standards as usual.
    I have to continually remind myself that opinions are like AS*Holes, Everyone has one……..

• @ John Johnson.. Glad you came clean & admitted you’re a FF supporter.. and I hope you’ve learned your lesson after voting all those years for them..although it sounds like you haven’t .. SF fought a civil war in the North for what they believed in, so did the IRA, UDA, UVF etc.. and with the cost of a lot of lives on all sides.. But at least they didn’t line their own pockets & sell their souls & supporters to the devil like the greedy FF party did..That’s why they are despised today, they never stood up for their own people.. Only themselves & their big pensions & mansions… Gallagher should crawl back under that rock he came out from under

• @ Lucille Ball

So, if I’m reading your post properly, you are telling the people on this thread that it’s ok to kill and murder innocent people by bombing them to pieces of meat, ending up on walls, the ground, car roofs. But to be a ‘white collar criminal’ is worse. You are a very sad, sick individual. No war, battle is worth the death of innocent people. No murder of women and young boys is right. To murder them and bury them in woods and sand dunes because she spoke or went out with an English soldier and never to tell her children where her body is is sick, vile and inhuman.
      It is always better to talk, no matter how many years it takes, it’s better than being a savage and taking another human being’s life, a life that they only have one chance to live. How dare you, Sin Fein, IRA, UDA, UVF, the ABC’s whoever the f . . k these idiots are judge anybody or push their beliefs on them.

• Sean, you were not the first or the last to be ambushed by sinn fein, at least you are still alive, not like most of their victims! You were unfortunate to have run foul of the lefty labour loving public servants in rte who screwed every candidate other than their favourite – the sham poet we now call president.
    Move on with your life, you had a lucky escape from 7 years in the park!

• Eric 15/05/12 #

This along with the Mission To Prey scandal show that RTE won’t let journalistic standards override a good story when they smell a bit of blood. Absolutely outrageous situation when a supposedly neutral (but really left-leaning) state funded broadcaster introduces a completely unverifiable tweet into a presidential debate to sabotage the campaign of a candidate they don’t like.

• Higgins did not get any hard questions and had Norris as a wingman, classic t.v. Editorial games. It might be good to watch again? Anyone know if it’s online?

• @FrankFaldo.. I stand corrected

• Aoife Barry 17/05/12 #

Hi folks – please don’t trade insults with other commenters. It distracts from the conversation, is unnecessary, and also is against our comments policy. I appreciate people have differing viewpoints, but it is possible to have a conversation without name-calling.
    Thank you
    Aoife

• @ Sheila Byrne.. Get a grip.. Did ya forget to take yer tabs yesterday?!? .. I never condoned ANY murders in the north of Ireland, what I said was people on all sides believed in what they fought for, rightly or wrongly, but they still fought for what they believed in, not like our shower here who are only lining their own pockets as they have been for the past 40 odd years whike the people are living on the breadline..You’re someone to talk anyway.. Weren’t you giving out about Sinead O Connor afew weeks ago, wishing her away.. a terrible thing to say about someone with a mental illness.. NB . Start reading the comments properly

• Rte were wrong, misled the public and have lost public confidence. Gallagher took his beating and it’s in the past. R.t.e. moguls are still in their jobs. If we were misled by this tweet which clearly swung the vote, was the election valid? This will not go away I fear.

• @ Lucille Ball,

I know what I said above and I have no intention of changing what I said! You know it to be true and you can’t and won’t accept it. “It’s always better to sit down and talk about it, no matter how many weeks, months, years it takes.” I prefer it to certain idiots bullying and killing, maiming the innocent. Doesn’t get you anywhere, as you and others can see!

You take up whatever why you want about what I said on the thread about Sinead O’Conor. Yes, what I said was “to go away”. You may think and assume I was telling her to take her own life. I wasn’t, read my post! A lot of us have been there, I know what it’s like and to be so close to taking ones life. I don’t need a pontificator like you to explain or take up in your own way what I said to her. She should “go away”, get help, just like the rest of us! Go get a life and try and do something positive with it!

Add New Comment