TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Gallery: Pro-Life and Pro-Choice groups march in Dublin

Thousands marched down O’Connell Street today…

THOUSANDS OF PRO-LIFE supported have marched in Dublin today. The Rally for Life campaign called on Taoiseach Enda Kenny to uphold “pro-life promises they made before the General Election”

A counter-demonstration by Pro-Choice supporters met the march on O’Connell Street.

Gallery: Pro-Life and Pro-Choice groups march in Dublin
1 / 12
  • Pro-Life rally in Dublin

Thousands marched down O'Connell Street today as part of the All-Ireland Rally for Life. Photo Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Pro-choice supporters Suzanne Lee, left, and Leness Falls rally support as thousands pro-life supporters marched down O'Connell Street today Photo Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Pro-choice supporters Aoife O'Riordan, left, and Annemarie Whelan Photo Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Pro-choice supporter Denise Ryan Photo Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Pro-choice supporter Jeni Gaynor Photo Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Pictured is Anthony Buckley joining thousands marching down O'Connell Street today Photo Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Photo Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Photo: Mark Moloney

Pictured on top of a open top bus is Br. Muiris O'Colgain joining thousands marching down O'Connell Street today Photo Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Sister Mary joined thousands marching down O'Connell Street today Photo Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Read next:

Comments (163 Comments)

• I have a strong opinion on this, but marches and protests mean NOTHING.

It’s about public opinion and how people might vote in a referendum.

It’s about the arguments of the issue, NOT about the level of “aggression” in either side!

• Barry 03/07/11 #

It is indeed about what people themselves would decide, whats sad is its clear not everyone wants an actual democratic vote on this subject and that’s evident from the thumbs down on my suggestion of a vote on this subject above.

• Or if you consider how many women are buying the pills online! The law is totally pointless now that the abortion pill is so accessible.

• How many women actually use abortion as a contraceptive? Is there really any proof of that?

• I’m not aware of there ever being ‘Pro-Life’ banners on anti-war marches or on protests against the cuts in welfare and healthcare provision, cuts which have the potential to impact on the well-being of children.

• Good point Bert. It’s seems these people are quite selective in their support for the “right to life”. But of course their campaign and that of the broader right-wing, social conservative movement has never really been about abortion in itself, rather it is part of a broader agenda to force the entire population to live by their version of morality. You see the same usual suspects campaign against equal rights for same-sex couples, divorce, secular education etc.

• such a daft comment – did you ask all 8000 people on the pro-life march did the ever also march against war/banks etc etc.

I plenty of people who have marched on both types n more.

• I was marching today, as I have for anti-war protests. Whatever protest I go to, and I am beset selective, I carry an “on-topic” banner. I do not bring a pro-life banner to an anti-war march, nor would I take an anti-war banner to a pro-life march. Unlike a lot of lefties, I don’t want to muddle the topic of the protest with anarchist/water-tax/free-Palistine/Shell-to-Sea issues all thrown in together on a march. That’s ridiculous.

• Keeping Ireland (officially) abortion-free merely helps the British economy via British abortion clinics, sells Ryan Air tickets, adds to the stress on women and girls with unwanted pregnancies, and works in favour of illegal abortionists in Ireland; if none of those, then it certainly punishes women who can’t afford or manage an unwanted child. The actual, individual, life of the woman is a fact; the individual life of the foetus is a potential.

• Fergal. Who mentioned Catholics ? One used the word religious not Catholic.

But since you did, one must note that not all Catholics are pro-lifers, a fact confirmed by the amount of Catholic women who have made the choice to have an abortion.

With regards to the ‘gender’ point I am not sure how that addresses the issue of sexual orientation, as they are two completely different issues.

As somebody who says your beliefs are in fact based on your ideology, which is your right, you still ignored the question.

Do those who base their arguments on faith based ideology only argue for certain rights that they deem acceptable to their faith, or do they respect all rights that may be accorded to a person once they have been guaranteed the right to life? In short do some rights carry a higher moral value than others and if so, why?

With regards to feeling threatened, I don’t feel threatened by pro-lifers religious or not, I just asked a question to try understand if those whose beliefs are guided by ideology, do they also believe in up holding all rights accorded to the person under the UN Declaration of Human rights, once the child becomes an adult, the right not to be persecuted for their sexual orientation being one of them, also gender as you note too.

Again not one in the same though both can be used as an excuse simultaneously.

Finally, you threatened reference seems to imply that you assume I am pro-choice I never said I was or not. I simply posed a question asking about the concept of rights and at what point they are deemed to be selective or subjective. Though to address your point, and I maybe wrong, but I would suggest that those who are pro-life and non faith based would have of less an issue with how the person lived their adult life than those basing their ideology on religion.

• Paul, Im Atheist and I LOVE YOU…..bet that gets right up Fergal ‘the freak’ O’Neill’s nose! I’m done arguing with the loony so Im just going to have a laugh at his expense now…its too late for intelligent conversation not that fergal has come out with any.

• I respect peoples opinions but I find it so heartbreaking that there are so many people who feel the need to tell pro choicers that they are wrong in their beliefs. Abortion is difficult for everyone. It’s an extremely tough decision for the mother and is certainly not taken lightly. It is not something that someone enjoys doing. And it is absolutely not used as a contraceptive. If you are ‘pro life’ then that’s fine but you don’t need to tell people who believe in the right for abortion that they shouldn’t have that opinion. Nobody has the right to impose their morals on others.

We need to be given a vote to solve this ongoing debate. I’m not pro abortion but I am 100% pro choice. If you don’t agree with abortion then simply do not get an abortion. As fellow human beings we need to accept that we will never collectively agree on anything and there will never be a complete one sided view on any topic.

Stand up for what you believe in but respect others in their beliefs.

• Not all Catholics are anti-abortion. There is a large body of practicing Catholics who agree with a woman’s right to choose.
    http://www.catholicsforchoice.org/

In a social democracy, (rather than a religious theocracy) the right to choose should always win out.
    As many on here have already said, if you don’t agree with abortion, then don’t have one.
    Religion too is a choice, and many people choose not to subscribe to it. It is their right. But religion and politics have no place on the same page together, not in today’s society.

Prior to the legalization of abortion in the UK in 1967, the primary cause of death amongst women in the 16 – 35 age-group was ‘back street’ abortions. As long as humans have been around, some women have, due to multitudinous circumstances, needed to have an abortion. And this is still the case, as is proven by the thousands of Irish women who are forced to travel abroad for abortions every year. And we can only guess at the number who are forced due to economic circumstance to seek out an unsafe and illegal abortion on Irish soil.

That cornerstone of modern democracy — freedom of choice — when combined with the fact that women will seek abortions regardless of the law, should point us towards legislation where safe, legal, accessible and affordable abortions are available to women in Ireland.

And by the way, what’s all this shyte about abortion being a contraceptive? Anyone who says that is completely ignorant of what a woman has to put herself through to actually have an abortion. No woman would think to herself, ‘oh, I won’t worry if i get pregnant, I can always have an abortion’.
    Also, abortion means to terminate a pregnancy whereas contraception means to prevent pregnancy. Get familiar with your dictionaries people and stop blowing hot-air rhetoric!!!

• To the pro-lifers espousing religious ideology badly veiled as human rights.

What if the child is gay ? Would you so vehemently defend his right to life and his freedom to practice sodomy as an adult if he so chooses ?

Some how I doubt it.

• Well said paul.
      Just waiting to to see what tripe falls from fergals mouth now.

• All Catholics are pro-lifers but not all pro-lifers are Catholics. Indeed not all pro-lifers are religious. In fact they come from all beliefs and none. Perhaps the non-religious and atheistic pro-lifers issue more of a threat and challenge to you as that seems to be something that you could not explain away so easily.

As I said before, the right to life is a fundamental human right independent of race, gender or religion. It is the one right on which all others depend. I choose to defend it from a Catholic point of view others defend it from other vantages.

Thanks for the insult Jason. You are obviously slipping into more comfortable territory now.

• I see Jason’s comment not so much as an insult but….how can I put this…..SPOT ON! Fergal I think you have successfully proved to (right minded) thejournal.ie readers that you are completely nuts as are most religious freaks however I’m sure there will be lots of delusional reinforcement, to make you feel better about yourself, when you go and listen to your local pedophile spout nonsense in church on Sunday.

• Why are a catholic nun and a brother and other clearly devout catholics (evident by beads and statues) protesting/marching on a human rights march? Didn’t see them march at gay pride. Didn’t see the “good” religious people march for the human rights of children abused by the state and catholic church or by any criminal for that matter. This march could be compared to a march by fundamentalist Muslims in Afghanistan saying women have no rights at all!
    Take religion out of your arguments and then I will respect your march.

• so windy

• 1) I find it interesting that so much of theJournal.ie picked out those from a particular religion who marched among the 8,000. Are we really to believe that the 8,000 were made up of religious individuals, where as those against were all well dressed types? A great example of editorial bias in the pics above.

2) Surely a baby in the womb is representative of human life. Or do human rights not matter pre-birth?

3) Not all those in the march were Catholic I’m sure, just like all the pro abortion individuals were atheist or secular I’m sure. Sadly Catholicism is always used as a cheap retort against those who may not be 100% against abortion. I also think fergal debated well above and there is nothing more rude than comments such as Glenn’s above when says “Fergal ‘the freak’ O’Neill’s nose! I’m done arguing with the loony so Im just going to have a laugh at his expense now” where he decides not to debate and just throw around cheap, belittling insults instead. Successful debate wins people over to your side, not nasty, petty, childish insults.

• I loved the irony of the pro life lobby marching down O’Connel St hand in hand with Catholic youth all singing ” Dont stop me now” which was sang by a gay man that died from AIDS!! How dumb are these people?

• i think abortion is wrong but should be made legal because who am i to tell another woman what to do with her own body.if you dont want the service dont use it but also remember there maybe such a thing as an unwanted pregnancy but never such thing as an unwanted child

• Catholic priests pretending to care about children is a bit much really. Decades of sexual abuse against living children, and they feel entitled to attack women who seek abortions. Depressing stuff to see this crowd march through the capital.

• Yes Donal all agree that evil has been perpetrated by a minority and it is in every occupation and denomination. Not all Catholic priests have acted with evil intentions. The majority are good men and these good men need someone to speak up for them.

In fact doctors have sexually abused but I bet you still go to the hospital, teachers have sexually abused but you still send your kids to school, dentsits have sexually abused and you still get your teeth checked and treated. The abuse rate amongst the unemployed is much higher than it is amongst the clergy but of course you don’t talk about that and it does not fit your prejudices.

Your generalisations are tired and your fixation on the Catholic Church worrying.

• Barry 03/07/11 #

Fergal O’Neill, your being perhaps somewhat selective.

Doctors, teachers etc may have abused but with priests there has been a systematic coverup from the top, the church has been fully aware of the abuses and all they did was move people around. The church has undermined itself from the highest authority it has within its own systems.

Your comparisons to the religious abuse are not similar at all.

To go back on topic, do you not find it extremely hypocritical that the catholic church is trying to tell people how they should or should not have sex or have children (or not) yet most of these priests and nuns have either none or very little experience in the actual act of sex (except the minority who abused perhaps) and none will have had sex for procreation and have gone on to actually raise a family

In other words these people have not experience the most basic instincts of our species and do not even attempt t lead a real life but yet they stand on their alters and tell people how to lead their lives, only one word can describe it all and that’s “Pathetic”.

• No cover ups in and by the HSE??

• Barry 03/07/11 #

Fergal;, thought you might try to make that comparison,

The thing is the HSE like anything in Ireland that’s not religious can be controlled by the people of Ireland, this means we can get rid of people in power that can easily be replaced. We can also change laws so if we don’t like say abortions being illegal we can vote to make them legal for example.

I think you’ll agree the ability to change laws is great in any country that has such freedoms to vote and change laws and goverments :)

Now your comparing churches to say the HSE, the problem is the church, pope etc is nothing like the HSE so its an pointless comparison.

In the church if you don;t like the views of the pope you have to wait till he dies or is killed off by somebody, if you don’t like the rules (teachings) then good luck changing them because if they ever do change they’ll change with the speed of a glacier.

As I’ve factually states above the church knew of the abuses that went on and all they did was try to cover them up and that worked for them for years, many of the people that knew are still in authority and that frankly shows the church fails to take action.

You’ve tried to make comparisons to doctors, very good however again not accurate.

If a doctor abuses he/she would loose their title, if a priest abuses the vatican are extremely unlikely to strip his title, this shows lack of respect and action to the victims….you know the children that the priest abused…the very same children you care about so much in this whole debate

• Barry 02/07/11 #

The fairest way of sorting this out and putting it to rest. Let’s vote on it!!

I’m betting I’ll get thumbs down from the pro-life crowd with this suggestion as they fear “choice” and that’s exactly what a vote on this matter would give the people of Ireland.

Of course if they disagree with the suggestion of a vote of the abortion issue then I’m curious what their agrument is, feel free to reply here.

Personally I think pro-choice would win the vote.

• Genuinely curious, not trying to be contentious…

How far do the pro lifers go in their argument ?
    Would they agree to abortion if it would save the life of a mother, or would they allow the mother to die ?

• Barry 03/07/11 #

Seems at least some of them still wish the child should be born if its an incest or rape case,

Though its hard to get a straight answer from them on this one, so in fairness it could be more then just some that think its ok for such babes to be born

• This debate always fascinates me. It’s far too complex to be fully comfortable with one side or the other as there are way to many possible variables. One interesting observation though is this! It’s controversial to say but if a child is forcefully born due to anti-abortion legislation. He/she could be born to a mother who possesses no emotional attachment to her child with little will to want to raise him/her with values, morals and a sense of right and wrong. The state is ill equipped to deal with these misdirected children and then society pays the price. I know this is a slight generalisation but statistics from the US show that there was a huge drop in crime the early 90′s due to what many believe was the “missing generation” of children that were never born due to country wide abortion laws being passed in the 60′s. Hold a referendum and let the people decide :D

• But sadly state policy in recent years has been to encourage pregnant women to keep their own children, rather than encouraging adoption which can often benefit the child and the childless parents (whether straight or gay). I know two adopted children and although I can’t say it with 100% certainty, I’m sure there’s a pretty good chance that the 2 children would never have been born had adoption been legal in Ireland and equally their parents would still be childless (both wanted to adopt additional children, but weren’t able to).

• i told an American friend recently that abortion was still illegal in Ireland. he nearly choked on his food with shock.

• It is farcical that we continue to deny the reality of Irish abortion and bring in legislation in line with various referendum results and court judgements, but I’m sure your American friend would also be shocked to learn about archaic and offensive laws still on the books in some US states (mainly in the South surprise surprise!) that outlaw the likes of sodomy, cohabitation and unmarried sex. There are even attempts by far right politicians to bring murder charges against women who miscarry or whose babies are born dead. That is how poisonous the abortion debate and the “culture wars” have become in America. We need to avoid that approach like the plague quite frankly.

• the people who harp on about pro-life, the people that continue to deny that life is complex and cannot just face the fact that abortion will always be a reality whether girls do it here or the UK are generally religious folk who’s narrow mindedness perpetuates racism, homophobia, sexism, secrecy and other stuff like genocide. not a group you wanna fall in with.

• If u disagree with abortion then dont have an abortion!!! I am sick of these religious freaks telling people how to live their lives. Ireland is not a catholic dictatorship. If u are a catholic live ur life the way u want to. Don’t inflict ur views on everyone else. I will respect ur way of life once u realize that religion is a personal matter and that not everyone agrees with you. This is not the 1950’s

• As someone on the pro-choice contingent, I am happy to see the media doing proper coverage of what happened yesterday, including the incessant aggression of the so-called Pro-lifers (as a long-time activist in Dublin, I have never seen anyone in that march be present in anti-war marches, in marches against cuts, in marches that are about protecting ACTUAL rather than POTENTIAL lives).

The most precious moment was when some vegan punk gone astray waved a sign reading ‘Nazi Scum’ at us. I yelled back ‘I AM A FUCKING JEW’, which is true. The kind of racist, immigrant-hating Youth Defense and SPUC scum are the same kind of people who kicked my jewish grandfather out of fascist Italy, so it was pretty fucking rich.

And I mean, I know which side has actual neo-nazi link. HINT: IT IS NOT THE PRO-CHOICE SIDE

http://afaireland.yolasite.com/barrett2.php

Queer-hating, immigrant-hating, woman-hating. This is Youth Defence, this is the pro-life movement in Ireland today. Deal with it.

• Jello, you seem to have some anger management issues. Perhaps you should speak with someone to see if you can’t work things out a bit. It might help.

• If you want to see anger management, you should’ve seen some of the people who were shouting xenophobic remarks at my friend just because she dared to be a visible foreigner in a demonstration. Xenophobic remarks shouted by people in the so-called ‘pro-life’ march, which was attended by several known racists, well-known gay-bashers, etc.

If you stood somewhere confronted with so many people who didn’t want you to exist, you’d also be angry.

• Here’s to women who want the choice whether or not to get an abortion.

• Oh and that’s just in the UK, it’s 4,433 when you add in the Netherlands. I wonder how many it would be if we could get numbers from all the other EU countries that offer abortion services, which by the way, is all other EU countries.

• To point out a common misconception, legally (in Ireland) life begins at implantation, not conception. The supreme court has interpreted “unborn” that way.

• Dear Eamon,

The 300 number for the pro-choice camp also comes from Garda estimates.

As for the media, I guess a lot of journalists no longer see the point in covering a bunch of zealots who shout ‘murderer’ at young people, try to non-consensually ‘bless us’ for our murderous ways, and call us Nazis and minimise the Shoah (Holocaust). One person who was aggressive to you doesn’t compensate for all the aggression, the insults, the pushing, the shouting that I saw from people who allegedly ‘love life’.

The times are changing, and you have to change with the times. Old Ireland is gone. It’s a sick state of affairs when the children of this country are forced into a system of education ran completely by a Church that hates gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people, hates pre-marital sex (something considered NORMAL by the entire world), and which preaches hatred towards doctors who provide safe abortions. I can only hope that hate-based preaching by extremist christians stops and gets called what it is: hate speech.

As to your claim about racism, yes, the pro-life camp is perfectly happy to have people from outside of Ireland in the rally when they agree with them. But the neo-nazi roots of Youth Defence run deep, once again: http://afaireland.yolasite.com/barrett2.php

I will not forget the anti-immigrant, xenophobic bile my friend was subjected to for being visibly non-Irish. This is a fact.

I will also not forget how, leaving OutHouse in Dublin city centre, it is not uncommon to run into some of the scum that come out of The Life House, who love shouting homophobic insults at us. Fascist scum, get off our streets!

Also, the irony was not lost on those of us who are LGBT, when we heard the ‘pro-life’ buses playing “Don’t Stop Me Now” by Queen. It’s pretty fucking rich when a rally, made up of people who campaign against the rights of LGBT individuals, plays a song by a well known, proud bisexual man. This is further showing the ignorance of the so-called ‘pro-life’ camp, who cannot even do basic research about the music they play at their bigoted marches.

• Jell, I just have to say it…….. you are an embarrassment to all women. Your logic is as warped as a curly wurly.

Like it or not most of your so called ‘LGBT’ folk happen to be the most intolerant, hate filled individuals who are ready to cry out at any given occasion about the intolerance of others towards them. Like it or not being told you are living an immoral lifestyle is not intolerance it is using the gift of free speech correctly.

I have had my fill of their crap and the immoral practices that they try to parade about as being ‘normal’. Their practices are about as normal as snow in July.

By the way all the Christian denominations have been among the most tolerant with you lot for very many years now and it’s still not enough.

Next year it is planned that there will be a fairly sizeable counter demonstration against your so called ‘gay pride’. Let’s see what tolerance is all about then.

Oh don’t forget the Kleenex. Something tells me you will be crying again……….

• Cindy- we’re ‘intolerant’, because we object when we’re described as immoral? We’re hate-filled, because we’re sick to death of being described as perverts?

And where, precisely, is this ‘tolerance’ shown LGBT people by most Christian denominations? Sorry, but last I heard these were the groups keeping our families from legal recognition? The groups who have led for it to still be perfectly legal for teachers in our country to be fired for being LGBT? The groups whose rhetoric incites the kind of anti-LGBT bullying and discrimination that lead to LGBT people having a suicide rate three times higher than the general population? The groups who attempt, time and time again, to scapegoat us for their own crimes- and, yes, genuine perversions- against our most vulnerable people?

And you say that WE are intolerant, because we dare to speak up against you? And you say that WE are immoral, because of our consensual, loving, adult relationships?

Seriously, Cindy. The majority of LGBT people in this society are used to being denigrated. Somehow, I doubt that anyone who is openly LGBT in this society- with everything that entails- is going to be driven to tears by your counter demonstration. It’s no more hate than we experience all the time.

• mollydot 07/07/11 #

@cindy: Intolerance – You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.

• To all those anti-choice: Stop using examples of people with disabilities as an arguement against the right to abortion! It says more about your ideas of disability and society than it does about a woman’s right to choose.
    My brother and I both inherited disabilities from our mother. We are pro-choice, so is my mother. My mother was born with a disability: she is pro-choice and so was her mother. In fact, my grandmother stood in the doorway of Open Door Counselling when the Gardai came to shut it down – in the days when the distribution of information about abortion was still illegal. She said, “You’ll have to go through me first”.
    As for the arguement around adoption as a viable alternative to abortion: I have two adopted cousins and one cousin who was adopted out. They’re all pro-choice. My aunt who gave up her half-Nigerian son for adoption (it was the late 50′s / early 60′s in Ireland) has actively campaigned for a woman’s right to choose.
    Every child should be wanted and loved. As someone with a degenerative disability, I can tell you that life itself is nothing without quality of life and dignity.
    And, just to be pedantic, there can’t be a “counter-demonstration” at any Pride march, since LGBT Pride festivals are about celebrating diversity. By the way, diversity includes straight, anti-choice Christians! :)
    I wasn’t there last Saturday, because the activists who organised the pro-choice rally aren’t hugely funded, and couldn’t afford to rent wheelchair accessible buses to bring us country bumpkins up to Dublin. The number (rather than frequency) of commentators on this article demonstrate that the anti-choice lobby are a vocal minority with no grasp of the complexity and diversity of human life.

• In 2010 4,402 women left Ireland to get abortions. 8,000 is not remotely impressive when you take that statistic into account. If the pro-choice group were aggressive it’s because their human rights are being violated as decided by the European Court. If someone was violating your human rights I imagine you’d be feeling fairly aggressive about it.

• As someone who would be pro-choice and who has gone to pro-choice rally’s I would say that it have more to do that there are a lot of arseholes that attend that want to act all agro. There is a sizeable element that see it as their thing, their protest, something to define themselves by.

• Spacer85 06/07/11 #

until we can DISCUSS abortion, and not fight about it, we’re all a bunch of monkeys.

• Bobby A. 06/07/11 #

Cindy, one can only hope that you and your like have the sense to refrain from raising children of your own. You are absolutely entitled to your own opinion of course, and you have every right to be proud and speak out about your beliefs. However, I am also certain that you do not comprehend what kind of damage people like you are inflicting on the lives of LGBTQI people, children included, everywhere. All anyone ever asked for was to have a little bit of respect and peace to live with dignity. Your morals will not be harmed by anyone else’s chance to live in peace and with dignity.

I’ll never understand why anyone would feel threatened by another person’s well-being.

• The homophobia of the anti-choice lobby is revealing .
    What they really hate is people being in control of their own sexual lives.

• Cindy. your opinions are disgusting. You clearly have absolutely no idea what its like to be L.G.B.T.- to be at greater risk of bullying at school, of homophobic violence in the streets, of discrimination in the workplace, of social exclusion… the list goes on . how dare you judge us and how dare you threaten us with violence at next years Pride march. Its bigots like yopu who keep us unsafe. I have reported you to the moderators on the ground of hate speech/ incitement to violence.

• There are pro’s and con’s to both sides and i feel that we have to give people the choice to make theyre own mind up. There are no saints amoung us so we do people feel they have the right to apose terminations if the havent been in the situation?

Im more on the anti-abortion side but everyone to themselves and im also gay so i’ll never have to deciede.

Dont know if any of that makes sense but meh ….

• Its one of the few comments on here that does make sense Jason and you are correct, the choice should be for the individual to make and nothing to do with anyone else…anyone screaming for the law to fall one way or the other on this issue is simply trying to impose their own moral agenda on the issue…that said if there was a referendum I would vote in favour of abortion and at lease give those who want to have an abortion the right to have one here in their own country with shame or recrimination and not have to travel abroad.

• You cannot be anti abortion and pro-choice. Make up your mind and stop living a dichotomy.

• Why not?
      How about you worry about your own morals and allow us to do the same

• I am anti abortion but feel that others should be able to decied for themselves.

Who i am to say that im right and the others are wrong?

Hence, im anti abortion but pro-choice

• As I said dichotomous thinking.

• @ Fergal just because someone holds an opinion a subject does not give them the right to enforce their opinion on anyone else so therefore Jason’s comments make absolute sense and are most human, while he is against abortion he sees that he has no right to impose his will over anyone and the sooner all you pro one thing or the other learn this the better. You all would be far more effective if you protested against the likes of the EU/IMF or the cuts to SNA’s etc. and keep your noses out of other people’s private business.

PS in my last comment I ment to say “without shame or recrimination”.

• Mary Bibby: thank you for this!

This is a huge point that I think is so important to make. Many people would never, ever have an abortion themselves- but they respect the rights of other people to make their own choices. I’m not pro-choice because I think that everyone should have abortions. I’m pro-choice because I believe strongly that the only person who gets to decide what happens to their body is themselves.

And the second thing that you said- that’s so important, too. I think that the idea that, say, people might feel like that have to abort a pregnancy that would have otherwise been wanted because of not being able to afford to care for a baby? Is an absolute tragedy, and the fact that we live in a society where that can even be a consideration is shameful. I believe, strongly, that the choice to have a baby is also one that as a society we should support, and ensure that no parent has to worry about being able to afford to provide for their child.

Pro-choice, to me, doesn’t just mean respecting the right to decide to not continue a pregnancy. It also means respecting when someone makes the choice to have a baby and become a parent, giving recognition to parenting and giving parents and children the support they need.

• There are pros and cons for both sides of this argument. It seems to me tho that the pro lifers want life no matter what the circumstances.. There doesn’t seem to be any concession for disabilities, rape, incest, mental state of the mother, general life circumstances etc. Its give birth or commit murder. That is the only thing I find wrong. Personally I am against abortion. I wouldn’t have one. But unfortunately there are women out there who must. And then there are women out there that are using it as a form of contraception. THIS is what is wrong. There are plenty of forms of contraception available. Abortion should not be one of them. I feel that it is too easy for a woman to get an abortion in England. Its business to them after all. So I think abortion should be only in the case of rape, incest, high risk of disability of the child or the mental state of the mother. After that women should just be more careful.. Its as easy not to get pregnant as it is to..

• Fiona, If I were to tell you that you are a product of rape and you now had the option to cease to exist, or continue on with your life as it is now, which would you choose?

Abortion robs two individuals of children; the one to whom the child is gifted and the one that cannot conceive naturally. Both suffer emotional distress.

Adoption brings closure and healing to one and the joy of new life to another.

What’s wrong with adoption???

• I think that abortion is wrong in all circumstances except for when the life of the mother is in danger. Then and only then should it be allowed. In Ireland there are normally only 2 or 3 child-birth related deaths per year, so it’s not a huge issue. However I think that anybody who would abort a baby with special needs is incredibly cruel and disgusting. And even in the case of rape or incest, life is life even though that life may have been created in disgusting and cruel circumstances.

• Agreed Padraig. Just look at the wonderful achievements being made in Athens at the moment!! The medals for Ireland are flowing at the Special Olympics! Well done to all!!!

• @ Fergal — That is a ridiculous question. I certainly wouldn’t think a child given to me as a product of rape or incest as a gift. Quite the contrary. Which is what women who finds themselves in that situation feel. They don’t feel like they’ve been blessed with the gift of life! And until you stand in the shoes of a woman who faces that decision you have no right to judge her. That is what is happening here. People are far too quick to judge and inflict their own moral beliefs onto everyone else. I agree with you on the issue of adoption. Having been there myself I do believe that adoption is a wonderful thing. But that is a choice too. And everyone should have that choice. But, believe me, to give up a child after carrying it for 9 months has serious affects on your mental health. It by no means brings closure and healing. Again I state I am against abortion. Some women down below have been aghast at my suggestion that some women use it as a form of contraception. But sadly some women do. There are women out there that have had more than one abortion. As I said it is as easy not to get pregnant as it is to.

• Anh Linh 08/07/11 #

Hi Cindy,

please, this argument is pointless, who are you trying to fool ?

Here is for you a list of persons (doctors, secretaries, bodyguards) that were killed or harmed by pro-life violent activists in North America :

http://www.arcc-cdac.ca/postionpapers/73-Anti-choice-Violence-Harassment.pdf

Be honest and read it, ok ? Maybe you’ll see how absurd is your argument, I hope so.

• Im thinking of those kids who were basically dragged up, their parents don’t particularly care for their needs, kids end up fooked up, basically the mother would have been better off having a termination

• Statistically, very few. And Fergal, in your world do all these women that you speak of have immaculate conceptions? Ridiculously archaic viewpoints on here.

• No ‘Is_Mise’. In the real world conception happens when egg and sperm meet. Look it up sometime. The morning after pill is an abortifacient.

Abortifacients are actions, devices, or medication that terminate a pregnancy that has already begun. I would say that most of those who take it are unaware of that fact and that therefore statistically the numbers are very high.

Nothing archaic there.

By the way I am pro-choice too expect that my pro-choice views exist before sex occurs.

• Is_Mise 02/07/11 #

Caught up as you are in a frenzy of ill-informed self righteousness, you have missed the point – it’s not just at women you should point the finger; only the severely deluded believe in immaculate conception :-)

• Where’s the ill informed? BTW I didn’t miss the point, I just decide to go easy on the intellectually challenged and the ignorant.

• @ Is_Mise what has a religious idea of immaculate conception to do with abortion?

The right to life is not based on Religion. Its a Human right above religion. Even 1st year doctor knows when life starts. Nobody has the right to end life.

Just because society makes it legal, does not mean its morally right.

In America medical insurance companies are pushing abortion on women who have deformed, impaired or ill children. They don’t want to pay for them. Its also the same in certain countries in europe when a women has a downs baby there is a strong push to advise the mother to terminate. As if a person with disabilities does not have a inherent indignation that does not depend on anyone else. The person is. Abortion removes the value of the person from Society.

• Barry 02/07/11 #

So fergal are condoms even allowed to be used in your world?

Or is your version of pro-choice simply that people should not have sex?

Now if your a religious man remember you should be supporting the pope on the no condom usage so be careful…”if” your religious

• Yes. I do my very best to live my life with Catholic principles and I apologise to no one for that. Therefore I come to this argument from a Catholic perspective which I know is not in season with many people at all these days. It’s not easy but I have decided for it and will defend it. I do believe that the Catholic teaching on love and marriage is something very beautiful and again am ready to be vilified for it. (Just watch the comments now that will flow about scandals etc…)

I believe that people should make a well considered choice to have sex or not and if that ends in the conception of a new life then there is no choice but to see the pregnancy through. Then there is the choice to be a parent to that child or place it up for adoption for someone else to parent.

In one sense abortion is the fruit of failed contraception so they are intrinsically linked.

• Fergal..your comment “I do my very best to live my life with Catholic principles and I apologise to no one for that” says it all really. Small minded and cant think for yourself, so much so that you take the word of a fictional book and a pedophile ring as the truth…. maybe you should get some therapy to try dispel the delusional episode you appear to be stuck in. Just one question….whats Santa bringing you for christmas? Whats that you say, you don’t believe in Santa, but why, there is as much evidence for him as there is for god.

• Glenn, see my comment to you above.

• Fergal, no….you see your still trying to tell people what to do….you cant help it can you.

• Freedom to choose, freedom to choice. Let us support each other

• NOT when it means choosing to murder.

• I am anti-electrocution. But I believe that you should have the choice to electrocute your wife should you so wish to do so.

• Hope you see just how ridiculous the above statement is. No different for the pro-choice, anti-abortion dichotomists.

• Except its completely different Fergal….there is nothing dichotomist about it…as I said previously just because you have an opinion does not mean you have a right to enforce that opinion on everyone else. Maybe this is all a bit much for you to comprehend but thrust me Martin Matthews, Jason Doyle and I understand this concept and see its humanitarian merits, so don’t worry your little head about it anymore…you’ll give yourself a migraine (its like a headache but worse)

• Glenn your problem is not wanting to listen to the opinion of others. Not any where have I enforced my opinion on any one else. I have chosen to state my beliefs clearly. Straight talking is something a lot of people are no longer used to or tolerant of (as can be seen in this thread).

When you have no good informed logic to offer, you choose to descend into being condescending and patronising. I find that a little embarrassing for you.

By the way, trust does not have a ‘h’ in it. ;)

• By voting no to abortion, which I’m quite sure you will, you will be enforcing your small minded will on other people and denying them there right to an abortion, so yes you are enforcing your opinion, is that clear enough for you! I am straight talking to as you can see, except I talk sense, whereas you on the other had dont. As for being condescending and patronising, I do find its the best way to deal with religious loopers like you. Finally if I want to spell trust with a h, I will do so regardless of what way you think it should be spelt. See there you go again trying to impose your will on everyone..tut tut. ;)

• Pro-life rally was HUGE, filled the length of o’Connell St ++ about 8,000 I would have said.

Pro-choicers were tiny group and aggressive. You can see why the other side is winning

• I always a amazed why people think a child is not a child in a woman’s womb? Abortion on Demand is wrong, it denies the rights of the child.

• With all due respect, your definition of “winning” is quite strange. Public opinion in Ireland has become much more liberal on the abortion issue in recent years, a trend that is also evident where other social issues are concerned. Indeed, a strong majority of voters now support legal abortion in a number of circumstances that go beyond the narrow remit of the X case ruling. Those who marched today against a woman’s right to choose in no way reflect modern Ireland. (poll results – http://www.irishhealth.com/article.html?id=16971)
      The so-called “pro life” movement needs to consume a good dose of humble pie. The 1983 amendment resulted in a legal quagmire and the idea that inserting a simple set of words into the Constitution could solve an issue as complex as abortion was never credible. But thankfully, the Ireland of 2011 bears no resemblance to what existed in ’83 when we were under the thumb of the oppressive catholic church. Indeed, in every referendum held on this issue since 1992, the progressive side of the argument has prevailed and it’s about time that the political establishment caught up with public opinion. A good place to start would be to introduce legislation to give effect to the now 20 year old X Case ruling.

• @Adam Long. Having the right to life is a basic human right … It has NOTHING to do with the RC church,,, or any church… Sticking a needle in the neck of a child at 26 weeks and aborting like is done in the UK is murder.. plain and simple.

• @Alex Simon – actually you are wrong about the legal time limit in the UK, which in any event, is at the higher end of the scale in European terms. Also, the vast majority of abortions happen in the first trimester – that is, in countries where abortion is safe and legal. But as other posters have pointed out, women will always find ways to end unwanted pregnancies and abortion is already a reality for Irish women- we just choose to export the problem to the UK. The “pro life” campaign is on the wrong side of this issue, both from a moral and practical point of view.

• @Adam Long. Not matter what age. The right to life is a basic human right. Just because some women want to murder their children, does not mean we need to make it law on the Island of Ireland.

• @ Alex simon. I hope youve never masturbated. Think of all the life wasted then

Ps. Its a joke

• Not a chance there were 8,000 there. Definitely smaller than previous years. The pro-choice counter-demo was also significantly larger than previously.

As for “aggressive”, I saw Gardaí on numerous occasions have to restrain provocative anti-choicers, didn’t see a single incident of the reverse.

Looking forward to that legislation for X and ABC? I am.

• There shall be a fight to the death between both groups. HOWEVER, the pro-life group will lose for obvious reasons. :/

• they’ll march about this, but they wouldn’t march about the banks or ff…

…???

• It’s really annoying that when abortion is discussed in Ireland the pro-choice side of the argument is dominated by religious nuts and Christian fundamentalists (the emphasis on mentalists). This is turning people away from the pro-choice side.

• Sorry for my spelling and grammar. Hard to type on my phone

• The right to life from conception to natural death is the most fundamental right. All other rights are based on this one.

Take it away and we cannot justify any of the others.

• cindy you gave me a laugh for today darwin award for you… the catholic religion in this country is dying out thankfully must of been all that abusing locking up young mothers and rape of young boys. If that all the pro-lifers could roll out with all there organising the people who when they went home from the march are the local nuts no one listens to. as for you anti lgbt comments to put a deep political statement on it your just want a good fisting admit it..

• Hold a referendum, but only let women vote, but its a woman issue so let women decide,

• Why not let the Child decide? Let it be born.. It it doesn’t want to life, then kill it.
      Your argument does not cut.
      A life is a life is a life. and the right to life in itself it a human right. (and this has nothing to do with religion)

• Pilib………….50% of the new childs genetic info is from the father.

How dare you reduce the fathers role in the whole affair.

You are such a disappointment to men and fathers.

• Down with this sort of thing.

• Any country that murders it’s own innocents has no understanding of peace and certainly does not deserve to live in peace.

• Question: If you knew a woman who was pregnant, who had 8 kids already, three who were deaf, two who were blind, one mentally retarded, and she had syphilis; would you recommend that she have an abortion?

Ever person should be given the right to make the moat of their own life. Some of the most incredible people in history have been born into hardship ( for those of you arguing bad social contexts and uninterested mothers).

If you answered yes you killed Beethoven.

Not every child will grow up to be Beethoven but doesn’t every human deserve the chance at life and to make the most of it?

And for those arguing bringing a child up into hardship. Well some of the most incredible writers and people have been people who went through hardship so can we truly deny a child the opportunity to their life?

• Well said Monica.

• Barry 03/07/11 #

Monica Timmins just so we cover all comparisons here,

Question: You know a teenage girl of say 14 who has been systematically been abused by her dad for years and eventually she becomes pregnant as part of this abuse.

The girl is depressed, suicidal and feels just dirty and abused on a daily basis even without her dad being around anymore due to to because of what her dad has caused to grow inside her.

Outside of the MASSIVE psychological issues she will experience for the next 9 months and infact the rest of her life her body is healthy in respect of giving birth.

You think this is ok to do you?

• Y’know, I don’t get why people assume pro choice means for abortions.. I believe if somebody wishes to abort a baby that’s for their conscience to decide. personally I’m pro choice, but I have a preference, I’d rather a child were put up for adoption than aborted. It’s very easy to take moral high ground, but if it hasn’t happened to you, you can’t really make fair judgement.

Question: what if the woman you mentioned was pregnant following being raped incestuosly?

• Barry 03/07/11 #

Matthew Fitzpatrick, clearly the women should have the choice to terminate rather then deal with the MASSIVE psychological issues for the rest of her life.

• “Question: If you knew a woman who was pregnant, who had 8 kids already, three who were deaf, two who were blind, one mentally retarded, and she had syphilis; would you recommend that she have an abortion?
      If you answered yes you killed Beethoven”
      Actually your argument here make no sense. First of all I would have recommended she divorce her syphilis riddled husband. But you cannot compare life in 1770 to today. I assume Maria, Beethovan mother would have liked to choose her own husband at a reasonable age, she might have enjoyed going to college or having a career and passion of her own, rather than loose three of her children in infancy because childhood mortality was that bad.
      Who is to say if she would have chosen to have an abortion as I’m sure she was not given the choice to get pregnant in the first place. Your reasoning is faulty also because it denies the rights of thousands of women who have been lost to history due to their reproductive organs. What about Beethovens sisters who were never allowed to be famous musicians?

• “if you don’t agree with abortion, don’t have one”. That’s great, so if you don’t agree with slapping your wife (random analogy), don’t slap her, but don’t pay any attention to your neighbor slapping his wife, that’s his business! Maybe people should concentrate on the little persons rights whose life has essentially started…

• It’s interesting that you use the word person. Too often the argument is made that life begins at conception (implying that abortion is wrong because it is destroying a life), or that a foetus is human (and it is wrong to kill a human), but you have homed in on the relevant word: person. It is because I am a person that killing me would be wrong, not because I am alive, or because I am human. I am a person because I have a central nervous system capable of feeling pain and a brain capable of thinking about my own existence. It is quite evident that an embryo does not qualify as a person, and while it’s difficult to draw a clear line as personhood emerges gradually, we can confidently say that a foetus in the first two trimesters contains none of the qualities necessary to be a person and therefore cannot and should not be granted the rights we grant to persons.

• “”"Im thinking of those kids who were basically dragged up, their parents don’t particularly care for their needs, kids end up fooked up, basically the mother would have been better off having a termination”"”

…and what about all the people that made it despite the odds?? Axl Rose, Eminem, 50 cent. Practically every star had a poor childhood but still made it.

I’d say to those that are shouting about pro-choice -what choice does the unborn child have?? Martin Sheen’s wife was the result of a rape as was Malcolm X. Stephen Hawking, Christy Brown, Ian Dury (and many other physically challenged people) may never have been born if abortion had been about around the time they were born.
    So someone give me a good reason for murdering an helpless unborn child in the womb. The ones who want abortion were lucky to be let live themselves.

• Jell O’ Fish, That’s RUBBISH. There were loads of people from the phillipines and Italy and Spain in the Pro-Life march. One of the hostile so called Pro-choice protesters called us scumbags for having a different opinion than her. The hatred was from the 50 pro-choice protesters that RTE bumped up to 300 in it’s reports. Our 8,000 protesters (police estimates) became ‘over 2000’ people in the same 33 seconds that RTE spent on it on SIX ONE that night. Of those 33 seconds (watch on RTE player) half that time was given to the counter protest of less than 50 hostile hecklers. The rally didn’t feature at all on the 9 o’ clock news at all (check the rte player). The Pro Life Protest has being shunned by the media. How many newspapers featured a march of 8,000 in the city the next day??

• Dear Eamon,
      The 300 number for the pro-choice camp also comes from Garda estimates.
      As for the media, I guess a lot of journalists no longer see the point in covering a bunch of zealots who shout ‘murderer’ at young people, try to non-consensually ‘bless us’ for our murderous ways, and call us Nazis and minimise the Shoah (Holocaust). One person who was aggressive to you doesn’t compensate for all the aggression, the insults, the pushing, the shouting that I saw from people who allegedly ‘love life’.
      The times are changing, and you have to change with the times. Old Ireland is gone. It’s a sick state of affairs when the children of this country are forced into a system of education ran completely by a Church that hates gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people, hates pre-marital sex (something considered NORMAL by the entire world), and which preaches hatred towards doctors who provide safe abortions. I can only hope that hate-based preaching by extremist christians stops and gets called what it is: hate speech.
      As to your claim about racism, yes, the pro-life camp is perfectly happy to have people from outside of Ireland in the rally when they agree with them. But the neo-nazi roots of Youth Defence run deep, once again: http://afaireland.yolasite.com/barrett2.php
      I will not forget the anti-immigrant, xenophobic bile my friend was subjected to for being visibly non-Irish. This is a fact.
      I will also not forget how, leaving OutHouse in Dublin city centre, it is not uncommon to run into some of the scum that come out of The Life House, who love shouting homophobic insults at us. Fascist scum, get off our streets!
      Also, the irony was not lost on those of us who are LGBT, when we heard the ‘pro-life’ buses playing “Don’t Stop Me Now” by Queen. It’s pretty fucking rich when a rally, made up of people who campaign against the rights of LGBT individuals, plays a song by a well known, proud bisexual man. This is further showing the ignorance of the so-called ‘pro-life’ camp, who cannot even do basic research about the music they play at their bigoted marches.

• Good news from Poland: a land that recognises the true value of human life.

Historic Polish bill to ban all abortion clears first vote 254-151

• Fantastic… Problem is that it will be seen as “those catholic traditionalists” When the right to life is not a religious issue. Its a Human right.

Interesting enough, Russia is also looking at changing abortion laws given their falling population.

• Agreed Alex (although Catholicism might have some little part to play ;) )

• Barry 02/07/11 #

Poland is still very much a catholic country so that determines votes which is sad as church should not be invoked with state.

Ireland thankfully is changing and the church and religion has alot less control.

I note with interest that fergal doesn’t like women only voting on this matter due to the DNA share, so I take it then fergal that you then agree a vote on this matter by all the people of ireland of voting age is best?

So let’s get your comments on the vote, your quick to condem people here but you’ve yet to comment on my point above about a vote on this issue.

Both you and I know that religion and your views won’t win such a vote, this freedom for people to make up their own minds must scare the crap out of you :)

• “You then agree a vote on this matter by all the people of ireland of voting age is best?”

@Barry: Of course isn’t that the foundation of democracy? To be honest that is a bit of a stupid question. There is supposed to be a children’s rights referendum coming up soon. Perhaps in your world it would be best to let only children vote on it huh??

Obviously the panic stricken pro-choice side now realise that it is only by breaching democratic principles that they have any chance of making gains.

• In Poland you can easily find a doctor to give you an illegal abortion. They advertise in some magazines/on the internet etc. And anyway Poland has 6 borders, Germany, Czech, Slovakia, Ukraine, Belarus and Russia…..most of which have legal abortions and are only a small car-ride/train journey away.
      You’re comments Fergal are not very well informed or thought out, do all the thumbs down you’re getting not make you think that you may be wrong on this?

• This is not a religious issue. In fact, the Catholic Church might be better off shutting its mouth on this issue. It is about the ultimate in liberalism: protecting those whose protection is not in tune with broader society’s sentiment. Just as a minority are out defending Palestinians against the Israelis, or rightly standing up for homosexual or LGBT rights against homophobia. Nobody can claim to be truly liberal unless they also respect the rights of pre-born people. Life starts with a big bang and shuts down at death. No other cataclysmic event occurs in our lifetimes. This is THE inconvenient fact for many pro-choicers. We just happen to spend the first 9 months of our lives living as parasites off our mothers! To say that a child is not alive at 24 week post-conception but is at 25 is based on our current crude medical ability and estimates of babies ability to feel pain. (Interestingly that pain limit doesn’t apply as disabled children can be dis-membered at any time before they legally exist. Why? So they are not a burden on society which has to pay to care for them. Is this much different from Hitler’s treatment of different groups?)

The reason this issue continues to generate such debate is that people deep down know that abortion is wrong, and not religiously, but morally: right from wrong. Otherwise, there would be no debate, no justification, no remorse, guilt or post-abortion counselling. I cannot see how those who claim to be liberal, such much of this publication’s readership and the Twitter generation, hold such selectively liberal views.

Thankfully our Constitution still gives thousands of Irish people some protection and saves many hundreds of their lives.

• Damnit, I had a rather marvellous comment all written out, but it got eaten. Bah! But here’s the gist- you’ll have to live without the incredible prose of the last one, though.

Here’s my issue:
      “Nobody can claim to be truly liberal unless they also respect the rights of pre-born people. Life starts with a big bang and shuts down at death. No other cataclysmic event occurs in our lifetimes. This is THE inconvenient fact for many pro-choicers.”

I disagree, and I’d like to explain why.

You say that ‘life starts with a big bang’. However, all available evidence disagrees with this. Life doesn’t start with a big bang- it starts gradually, in bits and pieces, it puts itself together.
      Of course, it depends on how you define ‘life’. If you define it as ‘a genetically new thing’, then yes, it does start at fertilisation. However, if you do that you rapidly end up in some logical oddities- particularly since that fertilised egg could turn into more than one individual. Considering that, what is the difference (bar location) between that fertilised egg and the many, many stem cells in my body and yours? They each have the potential to become a separate human being, given a certain set of future events.

If the stem cells in my body and yours aren’t independent human beings, then neither are fertilised ova.

In that case, though, what are they? They are, as I stated above, something which has the potential, in the future, to become people. The process of becoming a person is a gradual one. The ability to think and to feel does not ‘switch on’ in an instant- there is no precise moment where there is a person where there was not one before. There is, instead, a massive grey area. We ‘wake up’ to our lives slowly, not suddenly. On one side of this grey area is that fertilised ovum, and on the other is a baby.

With regards abortion, there are therefore two major questions. The first relates to the personhood of the fetus. The second to situations where the (perceived) interests of the fetus are at odds with the (stated) interests of the pregnant woman.

When it comes to the first question, I look to what we know about fetal development. We know that in the first trimesters, the fetus simply has not developed the ability to feel or to think- it has not yet become a conscious being. The ability to feel, to think, to be conscious, does not arise until later in pregnancy. The personhood of the fetus, therefore, is a thing which in the first trimester has certainly not yet developed, which has in the third trimester begun to coalesce, and in the second trimester- well, it depends on when you’re talking about. Three months is a long time, and I’m no biologist.

Here, however, is where we come to the second question. In a case where the perceived interests of the fetus are at odds with the stated interests of the woman, what should we do? On this, I have two major points to make:

We have a situation where a definite person- someone who can think, who can feel, who can deliberate consequences and make decisions regarding her future- is at odds with a fetus who has yet to develop those abilities. It is obvious to me that here, consideration should be given to the one who is a person now, as opposed to the person who does not fully exist yet.

There is also the issue of bodily integrity. It’s not that the woman simply has to do things for another in order to bring it into existence. She has to give up her sovereign right to her own body for months on end. There is no other situation where a person is forced to give up their body for the life of another. We may think that, say, blood and organ donation are good and moral things to do- I certainly do- but we do not force people to do them. We encourage them, we support them, and we respect people’s wishes regarding them. There is no other situation where we force a person to give another the use of their organs- of their entire body- for months on end.

• I won’t say any more but I will give some examples of the actions of your wonderful peaceful tolerant pro-aborts oops I mean pro-choicers.

http://www.lifesitenews.com/news/albuquerque-police-apprehend-charge-woman-in-violent-attack-on-pro-life-act

ah perhaps I should just give you the link that brings all the video evidence together: http://abortionviolence.com/

@Cass: I’m still here! Guess the powers that be don’t see any offence in my arguments above either. Perhaps you were a little sensitive yesterday because of the rain etc.. so I will give you the benefit of the doubt ;)

What I am referring to is a similar counter-demo that the pro-aborts…oh….sorry again……….pro-choice staged this year except, of course, on far higher standards. We will be more humane towards those in the pride march and will not intimidate any of the children that may be there (as those on the counter demo did to the kids in the Life Rally).

It will be interesting to see how many will be enraged at our presence and will feel the need to get ‘in your face’ about us protesting against immoral practices. I’m not doing guess work, I have seen it before in the States. Have some videos too if you would like me to post them up.

The kleenex I think will be necessary to wipe away the tears that will be spilt when you realise that not everyone shares your views and glorifies practices that are morally wrong.

• We have the right to travel and information! In all this debate we assume a child only becomes a child after a certain date! I disagree, a child is a child regardless of how many weeks the woman is pregnant! Another point, this debate, radical feminists will tell us, is about the control of a woman’s body! This debate is about a life and no religious organization should have a monopoly on this, it’s a humanist debate! For too long the debate around children’s right has been part of a feminist discourse yet children in the womb is relegated to the woman’s choice and not about the child?

• It’s fascinating the way this story has been framed today.the pro life rally was attended by 8-10 thousand people 130 pro abortion protestors stood outside the GPO. However the coverage has not really protected the pro life support accurately.

• Anxiety, depression, regret, anger, a deep sense of loss, guilt, crying, nightmares, marital problems, difficulty sleeping, flashbacks, hopelessness, psychotic reactions, and loss of self-image were cited as directly resulting from abortion. 

How is society dealing with these resulting issues? They are being swept under the carpet.

• Barry 03/07/11 #

On the other side of the scale, take pretty much everything you just said and apply it to incest or rape case and the inability for a women to have an abortion in such an instance.
      If we don’t allow an abortion in such an instance we are failing these women.

Again you could also apply much of what you said to any women who wants to have an abortion but can’t but you could also add, job issues, money issues etc to the list.
      We are failing these women too if they want an abortion and we don’t let them.

Its these women’s choice not yours, so give them that choice

• You need a licence to drive a car, but they’ll let anybody be a parent.. fair?

• See Cass? You have proved my point. Thank you. It is simply impossible to voice any opposition to your ‘crusade’ or one is labelled as homophobe, hateful, violent.

For a group that decry being labelled, you certainly have it down to a fine art to label everyone else.

Just where did I incite to violence? I said that in my experience I have found most of you to be intolerant and hate filled. Calling it as I have experience it.

I have said all I have to say on that matter. I will not sink to your depths and entertain illusions.

• Your whole comment is hateful bile. But what specifically do I find hate speech and incitement to violence?–in your own words Cindy.

“Next year it is planned that there will be a fairly sizeable counter demonstration against your so called ‘gay pride’. Let’s see what tolerance is all about then.
      Oh don’t forget the Kleenex. Something tells me you will be crying again……….”

Would you like to explain your comment “lets see what tolerance is about then.” in that case? because if thats not a threat, I’ll eat my feather boa.

• Barry are you saying a child from rape or incest shouldn’t be born then and aborted? You against what you preach on choice. I happen to know a lot of mothers who chose to have the child and loved their child so much and brought them up to be wonderful children. Some mothers chose to give them up for adoption. Don’t they have that choice to keep them? You seem so say that thy shouldnt be born so where the choice in that? It is an assumption that people born as a result of rape and born messed up because fact is there are many who aren’t. There is actual research that shows that raped women who chose to have the child were able to work through the trauma far better than those who had an abortion because they ‘added’ to their trauma.
    Being an actual victim of rape myself I know the trauma very well and I feared I was pregnant. Pregnancy in itself is rather scary even when your in a good relationship. I’m a pro lifer as in I believe in the philosophy that life is sacred but I by no means Jude a woman who has made the choice to abort. I don’t know her circumstances or what she’s gone through at all. This whole argument for me is more than simple abortion. There are way bigger issues. Society needs to provide support for single moms, need to support men in being fathers, need to provide support for those who had an abortion. Need to provide better sex education. The list goes on.

As for the 14 year old incest case you mentioned. Firstly, I hardly think the vast majority of women who seek abortions are These women. Secondly as a 14 year old they would need parental consent for an abortion. Thirdly I think there is even a bigger issue that a sick father is allowed to abuse his daughter and that seriously needs to be addressed.

Can we just agree to disagree because no one is going to change the others mind?

• Both sides are total cranks ..

• Sorry Derek, that’s your interpretation, I don’t agree. People can twist it all they want for a clear conscience, but a life is a life.

• ???

• Ye were the fascist scum. Everyone has to think like you do or they get it, isn’t that what fascism is?? No freedom of speech or freedom of thought?? Aw, yeah. The ould ‘religious zealots’ and ‘ catholic fundamentalists’ slurs. You are the zealots. The fact is the ‘rally for life’ march was full of non-irish and I even saw some pro-choice sites giving out that our march was full of northies, kids, ould people and foreigners ‘bussed in’ while their protest was all dubliners. As if that was a bad thing so don’t talk to me about xenophobia.

• Hi Glenn. Remind me, how many people turned up to the counter-demonstration? You’re allowed to use your toes, if you run out of fingers!

• I would not turn up to any pro one thing or the other and try imposing my will on people, I will simply vote yes when the country has a referendum and allow people to decide what they want to do for themselves as I suspect the majority of right minded people will do. If more of you came out in protest against things that actually matter, maybe the country would not be under the control of the EU/IMF, and maybe we wouldn’t be paying back debts that are nothing to do with us, which as a result more and more children are being forced into poverty over…these are examples of issues that actually matter by the way.

• Funny, all of us who were at the counter demonstration got there all on our own. We weren’t being bussed in from all around the island.
      How about, next time ’round, you fund a few buses for us from the rest of the country? If you want to use numbers-at-demos as a legitimate marker of popular agreement with your point of view, that is.

• Hi Glenn, remind me again; how many people supported the counter-demonstration? You are permitted to use your toes, if you run out of fingers.

• If you really had 300 people then I don’t know where the rest of you were hiding. How come RTE got your figure exact and ours 6,000 people out? Why didn’t RTE put you down as ‘over 70 people’. If 8,000 can become ‘over 2,000′…..

• Here is RTE’s totally unbiased report on the Rally for Life complete with a still on the front of the so called counter protest. ‘A safe abortion’ is an oxymoron…….http://www.rte.ie/news/av/2011/0702/media-2992990.html#

• @Cindy – FYI – There’s a plank of wood sticking out of your eye. (See Matthew 7:3 in your Holy Book)

Add New Comment