TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Lift garda recruitment embargo to help fight crime, says O’Brien

The Sinn Féin justice spokesman also said that civilians could take over garda admin roles to free them up for front line duties.

File
File
Image: Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland

THE GARDA RECRUITMENT embargo should be lifted following recent violent crime, Sinn Fein justice spokesperson Jonathan O’Brien has said.

Deputy O’Brien has called for the embargo to be lifted in the wake of the recent spike in violent crime.

He also called for civilians to take over administrative garda duties to ensure more fully-trained gardaí are available for front line duties.

Deputy O’Brien commented:

Sinn Féin has never agreed with the recruitment embargo in any sector of the public services. Recent events show that there is a need for more gardaí on the beat in our communities and at public events.

He called on the Minister for Justice to lift the recruitment embargo.

Following recent high-profile crimes, including stabbings at the Swedish House Mafia gig in the Phoenix Park, Dublin, some have called for tighter measures to combat crime in Ireland.

Yesterday, Fianna Fáil’s justice spokesperson Niall Collins called for the establishment of a Dublin Task Force, which he said would be dedicated to addressing violent crime in the capital in response to recent incidents.

Commenting on this, Deputy O’Brien said:

This should be the responsibility of the local Joint Policing Committees but they would need to be strengthened significantly by the minister for them to be effective.

On Thursday, Limerick TD Patrick O’Donovan said that frontline policing numbers could be boosted if retired gardai serving on the Garda Reserve carried out some of the administrative roles currently being filled by full time members of the force.

Read: Call for Dublin ‘task force’ after armed raids and Phoenix Park violence>

Read: Three men sought after robbery in Dublin pub>

Read next:

Comments (62 Comments)

• Madness that the amount of retirements taking place hasn’t been countered by recruitment. Gardai are massively under resourced and have to deal with archaic out of date systems. Something needs to be done now especially when in a recession crime rates are inclined to rise.

• No money to do that, I.e to train, to pay more wages, to run temple more eg rehire the canteen staff … Sure they can’t even afford to have a decent amount of squad cars on the road!

• Birdie 15/07/12 #

How can the government provide money to the army and navy to recruit , I would have thought reinforcing the Gardai would be more of a priority .

• I’ve personally never witnessed a Garda abusing or dragging a random citizen to the ground just for the craic. Let’s get real here people. Police officers confront and deal with drunk, violent, unstable people daily. They hassle the gangs of hoodies behaving in anti-social and aggressive behaviour. If a few louts dislike a bit of Garda roughing-up or being spoken to in an aggressive then tough. Policing can be confrontational by nature. Im not condoning bent Gardai but If we have a police force afraid to do their job for fear of discipline or fines then we really will have lost the war on crime & anti-social behaviour.

• If ever there is a mention of Gardai there is always the mention of Gardai did this or that. Said this or said that. This is an extra ordinary job done by ordinary people. They try to do their best with at times limited resources.

All this talk of ombudsman etc does not help victims of crime. They don’t care about this when they are being attacked. All people really care about is that when they have an emergency and need the Gardai they are able to come and help. It is like the health services when you call an ambulance with an emergency you are treated as fast and efficiently as possible.

Every day we hear that the Gardai are driving clapped out cars or have no Gardai available. A well resources police force has two main benefits. One it improves morale, making a better work force. Two it reduces crime.

• Shinners talking about crime . Are they not the same party who currently have a convicted gunrunner standing as a TD who even to this day refuses to condemn the killing of gerry McCabe . The same man then collects the killers from jail on their release . Shinners talking about the fight against crime . How ironic .

• Ferris didnt beat the shit out of prostitutes around the dock road Gerry.He did his time and more wouldnt leave you near a justice system anyway ..Ferris wont be accused of treason not like other up standing pillars of society should be in this country..

• garda bashing is a great and easy past time. the guards are damned if they do and damned if they don’t. sure wouldn’t it be great if all the murderers drug dealers rapists etc where walking the streets because the guards were sitting on a couch not tackling real criminals

• Get rid of the wasters with titles that just count down the years to their undeserved fat pensions and it will free up cash for the general garda who are struggling to pay their mortgages. It would deflate anyones moral to be struggling in this climate and then been told to keep order. Train crash waiting to happen!

• ah I do have to laugh at the garda bashers. I hope none of youse are a victim of crime today cos wait for it, whose the first people you will call. exactly, the same people you are bashing.

• its a disgrace the lack of gardai in Ireland. Towns like Maynooth, Celbridge, Leixlip have one patrol car between the the three towns making it an easy target for robberies etc!

• So your tarnishing an entire police force because of the actions of a few? Every organisation has bad eggs. This is about stopping real criminals, what has the Garda ombudsman got to do with this? Express your agenda somewhere else.

• Countries with a similar population to Ireland , take Croatia & Scotland, they have 21,000 & 17,000 police officers compared to Irelands 13,500. Ireland needs more police officers on the street. Whenever i travel to Dublin i never really see police officers on the ground, You see police cars now and again, but really you need officers on the streets, visible.

• Fagan tell me where I said that the gardai are up to scratch? They are by no means perfect and yes there are gardai who abuse their positions but the same can be said about politicians and bankers. This article is about gardai fighting crime but some are intent on spouting their anti- Garda agenda.

• I’ll reply whatever way I like James. No need to resort to cheap shots because you don’t agree with me.

• You seem quite ignorant.

• James u seem quite bitter!

• About replying to comments or the topic in general? The piece of advice about commenting on the Journal was intended as a piece of friendly advice; that the OP continues to ignore it is more telling about his bitterness than mine. In relation to the overall topic, I wouldn’t say I’m bitter, but it’s a situation that does anger me and it is something which we need to deal with as a society.

• Perhaps Jimbo didnt get the knod for Templemore and hence the anger and bitterness. Not to worry James sleep well tonight while the boys in blue go out and get lumps knocked out of them for peanuts. On a more serious not though you can hire a million Guards and it wont stop crime unless you sort out the prisons and legal system. Currently its a revolving door and millions are wasted every year prosecuting toerags only to have them walk out of the Joy two days later because theres no room at the Inn.

• You seem to be a hypocrite James.

• David 15/07/12 #

Maybe Jonathon and the rest of his party should have a word with the criminals, (i.e their constituents) who mostly support and follow Sinn Fein. It’s the cause that needs to be addressed and not the cure!

• Don’t let personal gripes get in the way of logical debate james..

• It’s not a “personal” gripe; it’s serious concern about Garda conduct in various publicised cases, in situations I’ve personally witnessed, videos on YouTube (attacking people in their cars, threatening “rape” etc. etc.). On the most visable level, they drive around with no regard for other road users, which is evident from the high number of collisions (some resulting in death) involving Garda vehicles. Throwing more people at a serious problem won’t fix it.

• Clarence. There is a very unaccountable element in the force, and they are large enough to be a problem. The story Paidí o’Sé, told about when he was a Guard, and how senior officers used to go in to the pub after hours, get a private lock in. Oder but not pay, playing ball, they call it.

They aren’t as bad as they used to be, but to pretend that the Guards are up to scratch is just denying facts.

• Sinead 15/07/12 #

We are a police service not a police force now!!! Force seems like a harsh word whereas service has the softly softly approach.

• I think there are few who would not like to see recruitment recommence – this just looks like SF are jumping on the bandwagon, which is ironic considering their questionable track record on policing matters both North and South. Unfortunately the PSNI is facing the same recruitment problems in the North, although SF seem more than happy to stand over such a recruitment embargo up there.

Oh and is it still official party policy for SF to vehemently oppose the Garda Reserve, which is providing much needed support for frontline officers?

• Good man Greg, how long did it take you to come up with that line? Because Jonathan O’Brien is from Sinn Féin he daren’t make any comment re Gardaí for fear that some Fianna Failer mightn’t like it. Don’t worry – I don’t think Ireland is going to forget Fianna Fail’s input into making this country bankrupt.

• Weekend cops are not the solution. A professional and full time force is.

• Hmm Réada, I think I would rather hedge my bets with the party that brought thousands of extra Gardai onto the streets over the last decade alongside heavily investing in operational resources rather than relying on the party that actively supported an organisation which failed to recognise the existence of Garda Síochána na hÉireann up until recent years and instead tried to bomb and terrorise members of the force at every opportunity.

• Eh hello have you seen those shoes .?walk a mile in them .would not be seen out side the door in them .

• Having seen the disgraceful conduct of Gardaí on various occasions over the past few years, I really think we’d be better off investing the money in a proper, Independant Garda Ombudsman. If the Gardaí we had did their jobs properly, they’d be much less crime.

The Gardaí think they are above the law and above the people… The sooner they realize that they are there to serve the people, the better.

• Agreed.

• Ah, the dislike brigade are out in force… Always surprises me how many are happy to keep their heads in the sand! http://www.joe.ie/news-politics/current-affairs/video-gardai-shown-violently-breaking-into-car-in-unprovoked-attack-0021336-1

• Very good point James. The Garda Ombudsman report on the recent Rape Tapes was a disgrace. How there was not more of an outcry was unbelievable. My father, a Garda Superintendent, would have been horrified at the Garda’s behaviour in that case.

• Agreed
      While it might be disingenuous to attribute the blame for Garda inefficiency on the rank and file there is vast scope for improvement of the service by the proper management of existing resources. There is also an impression, growing daily, that the Gardai are there in the first instance to serve the State and secondly to serve the public.

• We certainly need a culture of professionalism in the Guards, no doubt about that but we also need to have more of them.

There are a lot of fine guards all the same, every town in Ireland has the cops that are on the take or abuse their power but 80% are not.

What is ultimately needed is that the people that oversaw the reform of the RUC in to a modern, accountable, professional,the PSNI should be called in to do the same for the Guards. Many of the leading guards earned stripes in the 70′s, a time when the force was out of control. You only have to look at Donegal, to see their names cropping once more.

• I worked for a good few years in a relatively senior position in the fire service. While I personally observed behaviour by Gardai that would on the one hand inspire and uplift you, I have also witnessed behaviour that would leave many doubts and suspicions. We could discuss till the cows come home the ratio of bad to good behaviour but one thing that struck me was the air of self importance and defiance that characterised the bad work.

There seems to be a reluctance to deal with bad behaviour by Garda management and, in a lot of cases, when disciplinary action is taken it’s done surreptitiously and behind closed doors.

That’s why I agree with James. A proper independent Garda Ombudsman is needed so that the the work of all Gardai is considered to be above suspicion and the public are assured that a proper open and accountable form of discipline is followed.

• @James Pelow,

I have watched the video and listened to it a number of times and I still cannot understand why the driver did not open the door, if, the window would not open. I personally would have and many others would also. I am not saying the driver was being awkward and trying to rise the guards but it would have been more simple to open the door rather than have the window smashed.

On another note, I do agree that some gardai, young and older are rude, arrogant and just dangerous on the road. I have heard them slagging off drivers when they don’t move out of the way quick enough in heavy traffic. Everybody has to wait until the cars/trucks in front of them move. The gardai seem to think that drivers are not letting them through on purpose. That is not the case. I have, in the past, driven to my local garda station to complain, face to face, to a garda for the way he spoke to me on the telephone when I was making an inquiry about a question on a passport form. Eventually he apologized. He won’t forget me in a hurry!

• Your ignorance is staggering. Your knee jerk reaction is juvenille.
      Quite simply…take a walk in a Garda’s shoes for one day and see some reality.

• “walk a mile in a Garda’s shoes” seems to be a standard response which ignores the crux of the matter… I’m well aware it’s a tough job, and not particularly a job I would want or even be able to do. I have seen Gardaí go above and beyond the call of duty on several occasions and I have nothing but admiration and respect from them. Unfortunatly, I’ve also seen the opposite; Gardaí falling seriously short of their duty as well as Gardaí in blatant dereliction of their duty. Regardless, I don’t see how it being a tough, thankless job justifies what I have seen myself/what’s been in the media/what’s been shown in various YouTube videos. It’s very clear to me that an Garda Síochána needs to be drastically reformed towards restoring the trust the people used to have in the force, especially in my generation and younger, and any recruitment should take place as part of a larger reform programme. Walking a mile in a Garda’s shoes won’t fix anything.

• Dan 16/07/12 #

That video is comical. How did the driver intend to get out of the car at the end of his journey? Maybe he should have used the same method to open to door to the gardai rather than pretending that the window was broken. Just happened to have a camera rolling on the approach to a garda checkpoint…

• Cue outdated, repetitive, unfunny references to Sinn Fein history and supposed hypocrisy of such a statement! Yawn!

• Lifting the embargo is not the answer. The big problem now is that to too many in the force its now seen as a pay packet and not committed to the job. Years ago it was a sought after job but not anymore. The old style guard was far more committed to the job.

• theres shitloads of gards, no more I say, they aren’t that good at their job in truth. Before the whinging starts, iv had numerous dealings with them (as a victim and a concernedd citizen) and they were useless. Plus they absolutely do think they are a breed apart, unless they come across a real crim or a knacker, then they all behind the couch at the station. Big reserve force, tighter communities and neighbourhood watches, then there b no need for extra cops. Also, lets cut those allowances for the craic.

• A concerned citizen. In other words a person who believes they know better than any one else.

We have a police that may not be the best but they are far from the worst. We have very few if any “cops on the rake” as it was started earlier. I have heard persons who from eastern block countries commenting on this fact.

It is very easy for us to pass comments on the Garda force when we aren’t Garda. In every walk of life there are people who shouldn’t be doing the job they do. But as I said the Garda like any modern police force walk a line. On one side is the majority of society who want a police force to be a police force and deal with stuff with common sense and tact which is done day in and day out. On the other hand is the minority of people who want a PC police who only enforce laws they want enforced. You always hear them saying oh the Garda was on a power trip when they pulled me in cause I broke the light. Maybe the Garda just gave ya a dressing down instead of giving you the ticket.

• Well said Sam, they will never go after the true criminals, means more paperwork for them so they dont bother arresting them!

Add New Comment