TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Poll: Are you getting involved in The Gathering?

It’s the government scheme aimed at encouraging you to invite relatives home and organise events celebrating Irish culture, but are you getting involved?

Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

2013 IS THE year of The Gathering, the government tourism initiative aimed at enticing hundreds of thousands of people with Irish ancestry back to the homeland.

The government is spending around €5 million with a series of promotional campaigns and events aimed at getting ordinary people involved in the scheme. Communities across Ireland are being urged to organise events that will “showcase and share the very best of Irish culture, tradition, business, sport, fighting spirit and the uniquely Irish “sense of fun” and to invite their relatives home this year.

But The Gathering has been criticised in some quarters, most famously by actor Gabriel Byrne who told Today FM last year that it was “a scam” designed to “shake [people] down for a few quid”.

But what about you? Will you be doing anything for The Gathering this year, inviting relatives home or participating in some of the events?

Are you getting involved in The Gathering?

Poll Results:

Read: Help bring diaspora home to visit Ireland, Taoiseach urges public

Read: Tourism Ireland wants to increase American tourist numbers by 20 per cent

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (157 Comments)

• I’m active on social media, follow news and current affairs closely, I’m led to believe I’m part of the target group for it, and I still have no clue what “the gathering” actually is.

• In essence our government would like you to come back to Ireland spend a few bob and leave again.Its a marketing campaign nothing more,nothing less.
      They’re hoping it will boost tourism and become a recurring theme.

• That’s what the goal is alright, and fair enough it’s a good and sensible initiative. But the promotion of an event or series of events is fairly abstract to non existent.

They seem to have gotten the quote from ‘field of dreams’ backwards. “If they come, we will build it, (maybe, whatever it is)”.

• I agree with you Martin. I’ve heard about the gathering, but don’t know what it is. I also presume I am a member of the target demographic, because I find myself exiled…

I will be returning to attend a wedding, but I’m not sure it is registered as a gathering, should I refuse the invitation or suggest they hold it in the gatherings offices…?

• I’m Just waiting for Phil Hogan to dream up of a ‘Gathering Charge’ to be collect at the Airport.

• Yep I’m getting involved, coming home three times this year to see my children face to face rather than on Skype. I work abroad so i can afford to pay all the “registration” fees that crop up every second month. What a government

• They forced the younger generation into exile and now they want them to come home and spend what few bob they have saved , if they have any sence they will holiday away from this tax infested Island. I for one will be telling my children to stay away , its bad enough me an OAP. been ripped off without my children coming back to be ripped off while the increasing numbers in the golden circle continue to feather their own nest .

• It strikes me as a little strange that a government enacting policies that is driving people out of Ireland would spend 5 million to bring them back.
    How about “gathering” some of the billions spent to feed the starving bondholders and using that to fund health, security and economic growth in a meaningful way?
    Gather some of that money, why don’t ya?

• Sorry I’m not in a financial postion to put anyone up or bring them anywhere.

• Same here Anne, used to love seeing relations coming, and was well able to let them sight see and come home to a nice meal, now I would not be able to feed them. I would never want them to hand over money for their keep, that was the nice part of having them over. As for the government wanting our young ones who had to leave in the last 5/10 years, no way does Burton want ‘Them’ back, No Work.

• Cut out the “middleman”just ask the Diaspora to forget about coming,just send a cheque to the Dept of Finance instead.Thats the whole point anyway.

• Sure things are awful bad all together.

We all know that but if yow want the Gathering to be more than just about the dirty coin in the pocket, then get off your butt and join on of the hundreds of local and community initiatives that have set up for it. You can cry in to your milk and hate this Govt and the last crooked one or you can do something and still hate them.

The Gathering looks like it is going to be a great success from the Tourism Industry’s point of view.

• Bri the Gathering is a tourism campaign nothing more nothing less.Save the silly comments for others,i just find them childish.

• There are several hundred events that local people have taken on their own back to organize to promote tourism and bring money in to their local economies, to build a sense of community and common purpose.

The Gathering overall is just a marketing project, but it is locals getting off their bums that are making it happen. People like that make things happen and they are sick to their oxters of listening to the poor me routine.

• I was at a Clare gathering event last week – over 100 stands advertising events in the county this year. There was a lot of laughter, positive action and energy there. Looked up the Limerick publicity and its equally impressive. Yep its a marketing thing – so is the advertising on your TV every night. Delighted to be surrounded by people who are creating their future and their communities future, not waiting for someone else to.

• Amen to that Noirin, the same self drive that launched the Co-op movements in Ireland, that built Knock airport and a hundreds of other little miracles. Ordinary people standing together and let those who want to be left behind, stay there.

• I was home from Australia in January and the only thing I saw which had anything to do with The Gathering was an advert at Cork Airport – when we were leaving.

The Government are trying to get all the tourists to Ireland to meet their “cousins”. How are we meant to do that if the biggest parish in Cork City won’t release the church records for research purposes and the Government won’t release the 1926 census records? It has taken 15 years to have the church records for St Mary’s & St. Ann’s parish digitised and now they are just sitting there unused!!

• Sean D 31/01/13 #

We would be better off setting up a team in the T2 arrivals area with begging bowls. Same principal as the gathering massive begging bowl.

• the name THE GATHERING would make a great name for a horror movie it sounds like a old hammer horror movie. so no

• No from speaking to many working in the tourist dependant industry they a have up prices across the board. Perhaps some journalist investigation into it would be called for as it could backfire greatly. It is a scam.

• Is the Government not taking enough money off us without emptying my exiled family’s pockets also

• Well if they take your do nothing but whine approach then they are going to be taking a lot more from you.

There is nothing more disgusting in this country than the Béal Bocht and “woe is me” fatalism.

• Brian I’m in my late 50′s been through all parent’s association,community games ..collected children to train ect.Have stayed up nights to make outfits for other (unconcerned) parents children. Don’t lecture me about community involvement ! I’m wearing the t shirt and I’m not going down that road again ..would you after working 12 hr shifts and can’t get flextime?

• If you are a member of Bri I understand and sympathize with your needs.

• Not a member of Bri, it is short for Brian but it is a great slap down from you none the less.

You have valid reasons, there are many that do not. They are usually the loudest to complain and when it comes to working on a local community project they are the ones that never support or participate.

Many of the comments here just remind me of that.

• Grand I’m off now to divine for water for my football club and ill probably give a couple of hours gratis to my work this week.At your assumed age group I can also see your point of view,but my age group whom educated our children without any grants ..to export them…. So vexed

• I’m 44, not exactly grooving with the yoof myself but still fighting the good fight, that is all that we can do, 4 million people in this state, all doing the smallest thing to make it a better and fairer country will add up.

• stephen 31/01/13 #

I’m one those ignorant people who doesn’t know what the gathering is about ,and when I ask one of my ignorant friends they generally tell me to f**k off and that there more concerned by the fact there struggling to pay bills and feed their children .. So ignorance is bliss when it comes to The Gathering

• No.

• Im already in Ireland. Does that count?

• Nothing but Fine Gael propaganda and a shake down of Irish people both home and abroad.

• It is safe to presume that you have no interest in or awareness of the Irish Tourism Industry or the 180k people working directly in it, guess they are all just blueshirt shills as well.

• only Irish I’ve seen involved in the Gathering are at the dole line

• Plenty of Gatherings in Australia and Canada this year I hear.

• Not sure where your getting your facts on that one Alan. I know plenty of organisations and alumni associations that are organising reunions while holding down full time jobs. Not everyone is afraid to work hard and do a little more.

• Andrew did you not read Alan’s post.He said the only gathering he saw was outside the dole office.What facts are you on about?

• Stand corrected there Alan. Read your post too quickly!!! Still shocked at how few people are planning to be involved!!

• Andrew its a marketing campaign,do you normally get involved in these?just curious.

• Andrew
      This probably wouldn’t be a site where people engage in such activities. It has something to do with their nearly full time occupation of the extreme left of political leanings. This tends to define them in marketing terms as also belonging to specific sectors of the social strata with poor educational achievements and employment prospects.

• Hello again Richard/Mark/Paddy/Mick/Michael J/Garry did i leave out any of your names?

• “The Begging 2013″
      “COME HOME”
      “To our Emigrants that were betrayed by corrupt politicians to the point where they had to leave their families and their country for good”
      “PLEASE COME HOME” “To these, Emigrants that were basically exported by corrupt/criminal government practices”.
      “COME HOME” And see MASS REPOSSESSIONS and EVICTIONS carried out by the criminal bankers that destroyed your country.
      ”COME HOME” And see our BOOMING DOLE CUES.
      “COME HOME” And see that nothing has changed since you left and that Ireland’s CORRUPTION has gotten worse.
      “COME HOME” And see our STOOGEEN Government persecute your families with AUSTERITY TORTURE that REWARDS CRIMINAL ELITES.
      COME HOME!!!

• Maybe ye should get on line and look at what local businesses and people are doing to bring tourism and jobs in to their locality and get people of the dole. The Govt. are a shower of cun5s and there is no bigger shower of crooks and bums than FF. We all know that but at least some people aren’t expecting things to be wrapped up and handed for them. Why not organize the biggest tourism event of the year in your locality, make it a success and use that success as a platform to hold the Govt. to account. Maybe it is time that people did things together for themselves rather than waiting for someone from Leinster Hse to cut a chq or order them to do something.

How do ye people manage to feed and clothe yourselves. ???

• “How do ye people manage to feed and cloth yourselves”
      Probaly the same as anyone else so whats your point?

• My point is that people who do the Paddy sore toe routine are usually the last ones to get up off their bums. Not to say that all here are at that but people in this country love to complain about politics and local problems but never bother taking action. Even if it was just a 2 minute phone to politely complain to the local Govt. rep or whoever is in charge to sort something out. There would just be loads of cop out talk about Protests being no good and someone would mention riots and everybody would get another pint. The people here are the problem, the politicians are just allowed get away with it.

• Is it not over yet? A whole year of keeping the curtains pulled in case American second-cousins arrive at the front door…..

• Richard, you’re funny! Bri, just because people think The Gathering is a dire idea does not mean we are not positive or engaged in voluntary and community work and putting a lot of effort into making things better at a local and systemic level that will make a real and lasting difference – for example, the gift economy, just for the love of it, freeconomy, getting together to help people out, swap and share skills, grow food together, re-inventing meitheal, all that crazy caring far left stuff Richard that used to be a feature of Irish life in the distant past! Trying to get persuade Irish people from abroad to visit here to spend money does seem a bit desperate and I am not sure it is a long-term solution to our current situation.

• Why isn’t or harp on that pic

• The Shakedown.

• sarah 31/01/13 #

It’s a waste of 5million they should be putting it were it is needed most. Health service, or the Gardai. I was told yesterday by my local Garda that he doesn’t even have a car the few hrs our rural station is open! So does that mean he has to use his own car!

• Soon when u call for an ambulance you will be lying on the back seat of there cars! This government are a bunch of money grabbing time wasters. They should all have their pay and pensions cut by 70% the amount that would make a big difference to are services.

• Ryan'O 31/01/13 #

Very well said Sarah. The over bloated salaries and ex ministers pensions should be slashed….after all, we’re continuously told that the state has no money! FG changed nothing! The shysters continue with the FF greed.

• Spot on Sarah.
      Just look at the bunch of political lifers who are running our country.
      They don’t want to face up to the criminal elites that destroyed our country so instead they organise this Glorified “Come home Week” Farce.
      An lame amusement for Soft brained Gombeens!
      A diversion from the real issues!
      A Farce!
      A F***ing Farce!

You can just imagine our ROAD TO RETIREMENT, Euro puppet, STOOGEEN “LEADERS” saying to each other.
      “Weal be in and out clean, in a a few years guys”
      “Most of us are in our late 50′s/60′s”
      “Weal be gone in the next election if the people have any sense”
      “Now don’t begin anything too challenging in the very rare short time that we are in power”
      “Don’t rock the boat”
      “And sure admit it, we are a bunch of useless wasters that got lucky”
      “I know lets have a come home week in 2013 as a bit of a smokescreen”
      “Lets call it the Gathering”
      “Yes,Weal make it the focal point of our entire time in power”
      “Yes Enda I can just see the posters for the next election”
      “WHO BROUGHT THEM BACK (FOR A WEEK) IN 2013″
      “FINE GAEL/labor”
      “THE GATHERING GOVERNMENT”

• How is it a waste of 5 million. Do you disagree with job creation and bringing in 300k visitors. There is a great buzz around this in America. Already this year bookings are up significantly and it looks like the target will be beaten.

I’m no fan of the Govt. but people should really stop caterwhaling and get on with it. Your local Guard wouldn’t have a pot to whizz in if we do not get this country growing again and Tourism is an important part of our economy that we have to look after.

• sarah 31/01/13 #

I’m sorry but how is inviting friends and family home for a week creating LONG term employment. If I was to invite my relatives it would be my family here putting them up and feeding them. They wouldn’t be spending that much cash. The government as usual are just trying to make them selves look great to the rest of the world! They are not interested in anyone who actually lives in this country, they don’t give a shit that we are living in a black hole! They are just looking after their own pockets and the free invite abroad!

• Sarah. You surely do not think that this is about just inviting friends and family over. It has nothing to do with that, that wouldn’t work. In all probability most of the additional tourists that this is bringing in will have connections so lost in time to Ireland or even non-existent that it will make no difference.

Why are you bringing up pensions and pay, very valid topics on this thread. It has nothing to do with this topic on hand.

• Tús Nua 31/01/13 #

First the Gathering then comes the Scattering everything this goverment does is a scam

• none of the established Irish in Brisbane seem to be talking about it. I’m going home in June with the wife and kids to see my family and Galway in the Leinster hurling final if they make it.

• What a pile of sh*t. Hey lets all forget that this place is a sh*thole and get down with some Paddywhackery,(Sham)rocks, and little Leprechauns, its like something Alan Partridge would have organised. This government couldn’t give a flying f*ck about anyone who as emigrated, they can’t even vote even though they are citizens.

• Dave
      I sincerely hope my visitors don’t meet you. They would never return if they believed your vulgarity represents us. Have some respect man.

• Your visitors are free to visit when ever they like, no reason to turn the country into a giant Moneygall for the occasion.

• Dave if Richard is lucky none of his prespective visitors will ever read the bile he spews on this site, cause if they do i’d imagine there’d be a few less at his gathering.

• Richard, i understood that your visitors only stay in areas with red, white and blue kerbstones and union jacks hanging from every Lamp-post … You should feel safe in the knowledge that your visitors will not meet most of the people you are worried about on this site.

• Nor do you in all fairness. What evidence can you give that you are in anyway better than some FG of FF thing of a TD. The only Paddywhackery seems to be from yourselves.

This is a very disheartening thread, lots of poor me, poor us, de Govt. let us down rubbish. Lot of pub talk but no one on about doing anything

• Bri i suggest you go off and do something.Don’t be upsetting your poor self reading all these comments.

• This is what Roman emperors used to do in the last days of the Roman empire, “hey the masses are unhappy? What will we do? Lets have games and festivals, 365days of them (or in this case extend St Patrick’s day to a whole year).

Now the masses will be happy.”

This type of politics is beneath contempt.

• I do, my wife runs a B&B and this will keep us open this year, bookings are already up. I’m involved in events for the Gathering. This is a selection of events that are being organized locally.

The comment section here is fun and often interesting but about half of it is usually people who are ever the employee and never going to be a boss.

It is just sad to see people so beat down that they lack all drive and ambition to actually right the stuff they are angry about.

• Well Bri, I for one am relieved to know that at least there are some people left on this Island who have drive and ambition.

All of them fine upstanding gentlemen no doubt; like yourself Bri, ever striving to make this Green Isle just that little bit Greener.

Bualadh bos!

• We’ve seven America friends/cousins coming over this April for 10 days … it was planned before ‘The Gathering’ but we’re jumping on the band wagon for the craic! We even posted our postcards!

• No, I have more respect for our diaspora than to drag them back to the banana republic.

• The Blathering.

• Poll looks promising anyway.

• I plan on visiting; not because of the gathering, but to see my family. The government would like us to come home so we can spend our money and then leave. They do not want us to stay. It would be nice if Aer Lingus would offer a discount on flights (wishful thinking).

• Sibhs 31/01/13 #

If they organised ‘The Leaving’ and gave me the money to leave the country, I’d happily get involved. Other then that, any relatives I have overseas live in the sun and have absolutely no interest in coming to Ireland.

• No. As an Irish citizen without Irish ethnicity or family history, this concept completely alienates me.

• By your choice only. There are new Irish and old involved in projects that they built from nothing, that they are organizing. No one sent them an invite, they just went out and did it. If you were Irish back 3000 years there would still be a reason found.

• @Richard Rodgers. That’s “their,” not “they’re” view, you silly troll.

• yes,ive a group of American relatives coming in next month,and a American friend coming in in march…because they want to visit Ireland this year,they are expecting a party and by god they will get one…

• I’m heading home to Dublin to meet my family as a gathering. The government haven’t got me by the bollox as its my choice and my choice only to return for a few days as I am looking forward to, So if you’ve no interest in Irish and Irish Americans returning and putting money into your economy just go and STFU and Pog mo thone

• It seems to me from reading the posts on here that nearly all the people who have friends or relatives coming home were doing so anyway irrespective of “The Gathering”

Secondly, someone referred to the NYE event in College Green which ran last year and will undoubtedly run next year. “The Gathering” hijacked it for it’s own launch and had nothing to do with it’s concept or execution.

Which brings me to my third point that “The Gathering” doesn’t appear to have ANY involvement in anything. Just some faceless entity which expects those at home to do all the organising and the diaspora to spend a lot of money in just getting here.

Finally and by far my biggest problem with this whole thing is that it adds salt to the very fresh wounds of the thousands of families who have very recently lost their loved ones to immigration and who they won’t be seeing again for a very long time.

Personally, I’ve lost my brother to Toronto but I’m lucky. That’s only an 8hr flight away. So I can look forward to seeing him once every 18 months over the next decade. Once a year if I’m lucky. Thank god he didn’t go to Australia.

So for those of you on here having a go at people for not being behind this insensitive promotional campaign, remember that most people’s problem with “The Gathering” has nothing to do with political point scoring and everything to do with REAL life, REAL tangible issues and REAL heart ache!

• What was Reillys line again?.. If they don’t like it let them get a job in a takeaway or emigrate ..? Really that just sums up whats actually happening in this country.

• There is sweet f a for people to do in this country but go to the pub for a few. Dont see the point in asking people to come half way round the world for them to ask; now what do we do?

• and yet we have one of the best reps as a tourist destination in the world and receive nearly 7 million visitors a year. Most of whom go back delighted and recommend us to friends and you tell us that our 5bn a year, 180k workers in the industry that they are all wrong and its not worth it, s’not fair nothing here I’m soooo bored. Will you ever fup off for your self.

• Genuine question but is there anything happening or do we have to all put the effort in? The New Year’s Eve party in Dublin was brilliant and it would be great to have things like that (maybe not all in college green as we do have other places in the country) it’s a great idea and would be great to see more things happening around the country with hotels being made to keep their prices low so that the people coming for the gathering aren’t ripped off!!

• My god what negative people. How is giving people an experience of this country a rip off. If people come here and have a great time it’s worth every cent. Negative tw@ts, I bet the people on her moaning are the people that can’t do anything for themselves and live on handouts and they talk of ripping people off. FOOLS

• Completely agree. The people that FG and FF rely on to stay in power are in full flow here today. The woe is me, shure dere all de same, sure nothing will ever change, things are awful bad, no pointing in trying its all about connections, woe is me.

Things will still be rough economically if people stop the moaning but if the man up then at least we might have a future and a better country.

• The shifting / shake down makes me embarrassed to be Irish. Such a
    blatant revenue trick makes me sick to my stomach. What’s worse is despite its obviousness people are still falling for it. Dumbest sheep ever!

• Tom there are plenty of great hotels offering great value, great service in great locations in Eire. But you being small minded you didn’t want to venture outside your local area. Do us all a favour and get the boat the likes of you piggy back on the good times. Disgusting.

• Listen john john you pompous know all, I never piggy backed on good times. I have worked hard and acted sensibly with my finances. I never participated in any of the celtic tiger excesses. Oh but lets all support the hotel and hospitality industry… yeah the same shower who intentionally employed eastern europeans over irish as they knew they would work long hours and for minimum pay. The likes of you make me puke…

• I honestly don’t see what everyone on here’s problem is with the Gathering. Is it simply an anti Government stance? The Government proposed this, so it’s evil?
    Far be it from me to give any praise to this Government, but anything that brings tourists and their money into the country cannot be a bad thing. Can it?
    Personally, I won’t be helping out, as I work overseas and spend my weekends spending time with my family. But, if I was at home full time, I would consider getting involved.

• How about bringing some investment into the country? How about some long-term solutions? Tourists come and tourists go. We need manufacturing. We need to be making fecking products in this country that people overseas want to buy. That is what the government should be focusing on, not on a few thousand people coming over to buy Arthur Guinness and shed a tear on Parnell’s grave.
      We need to be making things. Airplanes. Ships. Trains. Electronics. Textiles.
      Not cynical pandering to the yanks and ozzies.

• Seamus,
      I agree totally, but tourism is also a big industry in this country. Where is the harm in giving it an extra push? Is there something wrong with that?
      I just don’t get the negativity.

• Most consider it fiddling while Rome burns, I think.

• It’s like the old story about a 1000 monkeys with typewriters and unlimited time, eventually they will type Shakespeare’s classics. This Government had a good idea.
      Just because this Government came up with the idea, doesn’t make it a bad idea.
      I’m sure the 10′s of thousands in the tourist industry don’t think so.
      What exactly is the harm in this?

• Danny
      Just consider the primary objective of a substantial proportion of contributors. They are activists in Parties of the Hard and Extreme Left. They don’t do holidays or marketing or tourism or promotion.
      They only do whinge and whine and abuse and vulgarity and abuse.
      They’re view and attitude is true country should be collapsed so they can take charge of the ruins and be glorious in pyrrhic victory.
      I

• Richard,
      I’ve read the comments on this article. The commentators in the majority of posts are correct. Except, they are posting on the wrong article.
      They are rightly complaining about the state of the country, but they don’t seem to realise that tourism brings money from outside the country. in the same way that inward investment and exports bring money into the country.
      This has to be one of the most ridiculous attitudes I’ve read on the Journal.
      Like I’ve said, there aren’t any negatives about the Gathering. If it brings in even €1m, that’s €1m less in tax/cuts we have to endure.

Can any one please explain to me what the problem is with the Gathering? I just don’t get it.

• Richard is right, I myself have just founded the CCCP Party, we are currently seeking new members as I am very busy in my capacity as leader, treasurer and secretary. We have lots of loony-left activities lined up; a march on Saturday to McDonalds on O’Connell St to protest at doctors and lawyers getting paid more than chimney sweeps, then on Sunday we are holding Russian classes for children, it’s kind of fancy dress, but everyone has to wear a dull grey uniform and cap. We are also running a charity where men compete in a Che Guevara beard-growing competition with the winner announced at year-end, all proceeds go to the Stalin Memorial Fund.

• Danny, the main reason for the negativity has to do with the Government asking the people to push for extra visitors to come to our beautiful Island, all at a time , the Government has a manifesto that says it needs 60,000 per year to leave it as emigrants, in order to help balance its books.
      That would all be well and good, except that the Government have refused to address their own obscene wages, all the while, imposing more and more hardships on the very families that it is asking to push its ‘Gathering’.
      If the Government reduced their salaries during this crises to the EU norms for their job-role (ie show solidarity with the people), the people might actually get behind them. But instead, they sit in their ivory towers and tell people who are suffering, to voluntarily invite extra expense on their households, by inviting people from abroad to their homes.
      The Government doesnt even want to give the people forced to emigrate because of the Governments incompetence on economic strategic thinking, a vote on who will run the country.
      This is just a few of my immediate thoughts on why people are cynical … care to comment?

• Cal,
      Everything you say is honourable enough, but, I still don’t see where the problem is, bringing tourists into the country.
      Would you rather the country makes no money at all? Is that it? Should we cease all exports too? Should we tell the multinationals to get out? Because you don’t like what will be done with the money?
      Should we all go on permanent strike until SF and the ULA get into power, don’t raise any more taxes for PS or SW?
      You haven’t given one reason why it’s a bad idea to bring more tourists into the country. Not one. All your points above are for a different article.
      Let me ask you a simple yes/no answer.
      Is extra tourism a bad idea, yes or no.
      If you answer yes, please explain. Don’t go off on a party political statement about the state of the country. Just a simple reason why bringing outside money into the country through tourism is a bad thing.

• I agree with you 100% Danny.

• Danny, i am guessing i will be like the majority of people in Ireland this year, and invite people over as i normally do. I will not be trying to sell them ‘The Gathering’ as a theme. The theme is a Government created theme that has zero basis for anything. I will not tell people not to come, because i am so disillusioned with the Government, that is the same as cutting your own nose off to spite your face.
      Do i think visitor numbers will increase this year? Yes, i do, emigrants naturally return home to see their families. With over 300,000 emigrants having being forced out of the country in the last 4 years, you can be damn sure that a lot of them will be returning as visitors to see their families.
      This is nothing to do with SF/ULA/Independents etc … This is just common sense and reality.
      I do look forward to the day that none of the big three party’s are in power in this country… But i am not a person who will look for bad things to happen to the people of this Island, in order for that to happen.

• Cal,
      So you don’t actually see anything bad about extra tourism?
      Yet you’re posting negative comments in a thread about an initiative to bring extra tourism.
      Can you not see the pointlessness of that?
      The state of the nation comments are for a different comments thread. There are no negatives about trying to bring extra tourist into the country.
      Yet, have a read of this comment thread. Not one reason has been given why this is a bad idea. Not one valid reason for the negativity.
      Why bother commenting, if there isn’t a valid point to make? I’m not directing that to you Cal, but all the other pointless comments on this thread.

• May Bank Holiday, Thats whats going on in my area

The Rhode Parish Gathering May 2013
      Schedule of events
      Friday May 3rd
      • 3 school Olympics – Community Games Finals at Rhode GAA Grounds commencing at 1pm
      • Killeens Golf Society outing in Castlebarna
      • Official opening of festival Museum at 4:30pm at The Community Centre
      • Radio 3 Roadcaster from 4 – 7 at Rhode Village
      • Festival entertainment ion the village along with official opening ceremony at 7:30pm
      • Music in the pubs from 9pm
      Saturday May 4th
      • The Croghan Hill Viking Challenge 11am at Croghan Hill 5k and 10k
      • GAA events at St Brigids GAA grounds for kids and later for adults
      • Croghan School celebrating 50 years
      • Darts tournament in O Tooles
      • The tours of Croghan Hill, storytelling and history
      • Arts, food and craft markets at Croghan Community Centre or at Croghan school or stores
      • Cemetery Mass in Croghan Graveyard at 6pm
      • Beat on the street in the village
      • Music in the pubs from 9pm
      • Croghan GAA function in Killeens (if they wish)
      Sunday May 5th
      • Cemetery mass in Rhode graveyard at 12 noon
      • Rhode GAA march led by All Ireland Heroes to Rhode Parish Hall at 1pm
      • Rhode GAA events in the GAA field for kids and adults
      • Rhode GAA to play ______in a Gathering tournament to mark 125 years
      • Friends from overseas Special Gathering Dinner
      • Festival Museum open all day
      • The honour of our All Ireland heroes in the parish hall hosted by Marty Morrissey
      • Music in the pubs from 9pm – Eden playing in O Tooles (Rhode GAA)
      Monday May 6th
      • Clonmore Harps GAA day –
      Ladies GAA- Clonmore Harps V Rhode/Croghan G4M Ladies – confirmed
      Men GAA- Clonmore Harps V to be confirmed, Fun Day in the pitch all day. Music for the day will be provided we are inviting all locals artists. Bouncing Castle for kids, BBQ, Cake Sales, Water Balloon Fights, Penalty Shoots, Ring Toss, Tattoos application & Face Painting, Ice Cream Van
      • The Autism 10k run / walk, half marathon and full marathon – Marathon starts at 9am, half marathon at 10:30am and 10k starts at 11.
      • The ESB reunion in Rhode Parish Hall
      • Fleadh Ceoil from Rhode Comhaltas
      • Beat on the street back to the 80s and 90s
      • Closing ceremony

Hats off to all involved.

@Cal1 and all others opposing the Gathering, This will increase business for local businesses. Improve relations with the locals, And reunite old friends. Where and how will the government rip people off out of that setup? WHAT’S THEIR MASTER PLAN?

• Paddy/Danny …
      Its great that on a May Bank Holiday that there are festivals taking place all over the country …
      Am i going to invite someone to Ireland because of it? Are you crazy? I will invite family/friends to come to me, because i want them to come. No other reason. I will invite them this year, next year and every year after that. Why do you think that is negative?
      Am i going to make an extra effort in 2013, versus 2012 or 2014 to get them to come here??? why would i? I have not seen one good reason to.

The New Years party in Dublin was great … it got money from the 5 million Gathering pot to be staged … brilliant …
      But Ireland being Ireland and our Tourism Minister being who he is, couldn’t even have the fireworks go off at 12 mid-night, so that it would get world-wide attention, like London did … like come on .. there were only 2 capital cities ready to celebrate New Years at 12 midnight, in our time-zone …. London and Dublin … Guess which one was on every single news channel around the world at mid-night … guess which one had fireworks at mid-night ….?? Guess which one put their fire-works display on at the 8pm, when the International news-cameras were not working.
      Fair play to everyone who wants to support the Gathering, i am not detracting that from you both …
      I am saying, stop condemning everyone who is voicing their disgust that they have less money in their pocket this year to invite people over in 2013, and being made feel guilty about it.

• Cal,
      Perhaps some people will have more money in their pockets because they have a job, boosted by the extra tourists?
      You still can’t give a reason why an initiative to bring extra tourists is bad? No?
      Yes, let’s focus on organisational planning, eh? Personally, my kids love fireworks. I wouldn’t have them standing on a city centre street at midnight to see it though. Would you? Is 8pm not a more appropriate time for families? Perhaps this was why it was at 8pm. Just a thought.
      Why don’t you organise an event and see if it’s so easy?
      Oh, sorry Cal, you wouldn’t want to be associated with it, because it is an Irish Government initiative?
      That’s a non argument and you know it.
      I’ll wait with bated breath for the negatives in this initiative.
      Deep down Cal, I think you know that there is nothing wrong with this, but your itchy typing fingers can’t resist posting a negative comment, just for the sake of it.

• @Cal1, I’m not inviting anyone either, but I’m sure people abroad would rather come home on a date where’s there are things going on.
      The fireworks in Dublin will never compete with London, Only other cities to compete with that display, Sydney, Paris and a couple more.
      I’m not “condemning everyone who is voicing their disgust that they have less money in their pocket this year to invite people over in 2013″
      I was asking out of a typical Gathering event that has been organised in my area, Where is this master plan of the government to rip people off?

• That exactly what this is about Paddy, local people organizing, take charge and control of their community. Feck the begrudgers.

• Danny, i posted this below … let me know what you think of this idea…

I have said it before, if the Government allowed all passport holders to congregate every 4 years at election time … Wow, that would be some party… They get to vote, and we get lots of return tourism … no that doesnt cost much and everyone is a winner … and if the Government fell early, we would get a bumper year of tourists coming home to vote. We really could make the election a massive tourism option… so for all the folks who said i was negative earlier … here is a much better option, where the Gathering is a recurring theme …. what do you all think?

You see, an idea like this, doesnt cost much money … and we are all winners… I hope you support an initiative that will actually draw people to the country…. Leaving politics aside… right?

• That’s a fine idea. Nothing wrong with it.
      But so is this idea. Wouldn’t you agree?
      Try to take the party hat off for once. There is nothing wrong with the Gathering and you know it. You just can’t bear to admit it.
      Go on, give me the negatives in this initiative. If there aren’t any, then come out and say it’s a good idea, instead of hiding behind deflection tactics. Oh, look over there… What about…

Cal, there isn’t anything wrong about this. Like I said above, if it only brings in an extra €1m, wouldn’t it be worth it?

• Paddy … i have invited people here, from abroad in 2013…. genuinely … but it had nothing to do with the gathering… thats the point i am making.. If you want to call me a begrudger, go ahead…
      I am after making a couple of observations and suggestions about how to uimprove our image abroad, and how to draw tourists in … One was around moving the fireworks display in out Capital to 12pm, and i am sorry, but kids are not the largest spenders on New Years eve. If we want the revenue and the tourism, then air new-years fireworks on new years … not 4 hours before it … Damn, this is not rocket-science.
      Encouraging emigrants to come back and vote at election time, every election even … its a repeat business … Come on, i am offering suggestions and options, and its being inferred, i am a begrudger .. Damn, some people are so negative.

• Cal,
      Is an initiative to bring extra tourists a good idea or not? Still waiting on the yes/no answer?
      I’ve answered yours.

• Lodge your idea with the dept. of tourism. Submit it to all your local TD’s. Contact various media with it. It’s not a bad idea, it will get attention.
      This is a separate initiative. What your opinion on this one?

• Danny, many commenters have already said they cant afford to bring people over, and they blame the Government … People responded by calling them begrudgers and totally negative …
      i have already explained that point to you above … i said most people now have less money in 2013 than 2012 or 2011 … They feel disgusted that supporters of the Gathering (all 4 of you , only kidding) are calling them negative etc … why can you not accept that…
      Yes, i understand that more visitors will help local businesses …. but i also understand that many many more people are angry at the Government asking people who have suffered the most, to beg people to come to a country at a time when it has never felt so negative and hopeless …. Its a chicken and egg thing …
      I see both sides, but i personally think the Government could actually help Tourism by doing the things i suggested, rather than p*ssing the most impacted people off, by asking them to invite guests over to Ireland, at a time when they can least afford it…
      Do you not see both sides?

• @Cal1, So in other words you’re saying a Gathering of some sort is a good idea.

Ok then.

• So, an initiative to help keep jobs in tourism isn’t a good thing? Or is a good thing, I can’t quite work out if you agree or not.
      I don’t quite understand why you cannot answer a simple yes/no question? You seem to go off on tangents about other subjects. honourable things to talk about, but nothing to do with the Gathering.
      Is it a good idea or not.

• Paddy, of course having more people come to this country on temporary stays is a good idea …. I personally think that labelling it ‘The Gathering’ is a complete anathema to most people living here, and to the emigrants forced to emigrate. If they had called it, ‘We are sorry you had to leave, but we would love you to come visit’ initiative, people would probably have got more behind it … instead, its being sold as ‘The Gathering’ and its usefulness will expire in 11 months as we enter 2014, and with it, the anger and frustration that the most impacted families/households feel towards the very Government that forced many of them to leave in the first place. If there is no apology in the catch-phrase, you are not going to get people on board en masse. Its my opinion…

• And if you start calling the Gathering … The Gathering 2 … or Gathering 2014 … then it just sounds like a really bad Highlander movie or something else …. So, make sure whoever is involved, comes up with something reusable, as the next theme, and sell it accordingly … rather than p*ssing the very people off that are impacted by emigration.

• I take it from this that you actually agree that it’s a good idea. But to actually admit it, you have to include another bit of tangent throwing.
      As for your own idea, as I’ve said, there are many avenues to try.
      A friend had a tourism idea last year. He gate crashed an event that Leo V was attending and pitched it to him. He agreed as long as the county council agreed. They didn’t pass the motion for the very limited amount of funding. Unfortunately, my friend passed away shortly after.
      I’d love to try to get the initiative going again in his memory.
      There’s no point in posting ideas on the Journal, go out and pitch the idea.

• @Cal1 I had to leave Ireland in 1990 due to lack of work, I came home in 2001 and i’m not now or then bitching or moaning. It’s life mate, Ireland will boom again, Ireland will fall again, that’s the circle we live in on this island and will always live in.

• Danny and you are a FF man to the bone from past comments I have seen and yet here you are defending an idea that they have.

Your post is 100% correct, alot of this is just complaining for the sake of complaining. We better hope the Govt. do not bring in an campaign for healthy living. Half the people on this page would have heart disease within a few months.

Seamus. A Govt. should take a multi-faceted approach to problems and solutions, no matter who is in charge. Tourism is a bigger employer than manufacturing in this country and yet you are begrudging it a measly 5mn that is on track to make the state and local businesses many multiples of that.

I get it people are angry here but shouting and roaring for its own sake isn’t worth a toss to anyone here. I have never voted FG or FF or Lab, never will but I’m not going to run something in to the ground that I can see making a big difference to local businesses and family business, for a measly 5million. If they put money in to manufacturing, people would be on here complaining about Tourism being left out. It is like people think that there is only one person in Govt. and that he can only deal with one thing at a time.

Lets start looking at the bigger picture,

• Cal. I can’t afford to bring anyone over or invite them to stay in my house, even though it is a functioning B&B, we need the rooms full but I can appreciate that for a lot of businesses like ours and those in our locality that this marketing strategy is already paying dividends in increased bookings, requests for information and so on.

I know as well as you do that the way this country is run is as corrupt and septic as any state has been for the last 50 years, with the tweedledum and rob and Tweedledum and steal big 2 changing power every so often but I’m not going to cut my nose off and spite everyone who is going to benefit from this just because I disagree with 90% of the Govt’s approach and manner.

If Kenny, Gilmore and Micheal Martin saved a child from drowning I’d be able to hold myself off from cursing them about bondholders for the day that was in it. That bad eggs can occasionally surprise.

• So even though I can’t afford to bring or invite people over what I have done is volunteered and helped in a little way org. some local events.

http://www.thegatheringireland.com/Search-Results-Tags.aspx?tagname=meath#.UQp7Y7801j0

If you can’t afford it, fine, then volunteer to steward a race, or clean up after an event. If you haven’t the time, fine maybe tweet about it or add in what is going on in your locality in to a comment like I did above. Little, Little things, even just say to a friend, jeeze but that local event could be a bit of craic, if you have a few bob go to it.

People should just stop knocking things for its own sake or because awful things are done elsewhere in this state.

• sarah 31/01/13 #

But it’s cost 5 million so far!! If it brings in a 1 million that’s 4 million wasted of stupid postcards and advertisements.

• Ah now Sarah. Really?

• Sarah. Those figures you gave make absolutely no sense. The target is that the 5mn in advertising generate a return of about 70mn to the country. All indications are so far that the Gathering will exceed expectations. I hate to break that bad news to you but for the 180k people that work in our tourism industry that is great news, for the several thousand this year that will get new jobs because of it, it is great news. You can still hate Kenny, Gilmore and Measly Martin in the morning, I know I will but this is a great idea and a credit to the people who came up with it.

• Julie 31/01/13 #

It not that people think it is a bad thing it’s more that this government expect mothers And father who have had to export their kids recently to back this my mom has lost her two daughters to emigration, that broke her heart. They have also financially screwed her family, she doesn’t have the strength left in her to go out promoting tourism. The gathering will solve what it will generate a few more bob for the government to send to eu. Yes it will help local business, but it won’t help, the 300, 000 that emigrated, it won’t help people who are in financial difficulty. Maybe people are too busy trying to stop promissory notes(ballyhea) , keep their roof over their heads , keep house warm and put food on the table to worry about a bit of tourism, yes it will keep people in jobs, but this government have destroyed the Irish spirit, you can’t ruin people lives and expect then to come out supporting their money making scheme. Maybe if their had been , proper mechanism for people in mortgage arrears, proper investment in job creation, debt written off, unfair taxes abolished and not continuing talks about cuts to our most vital services and than they gathering people would be more inclined to support it.

• Julie,
      Have a read back at your post.
      You mention the people leaving this country, of which I am one by the way, yet when there is an initiative to help jobs in the tourism industry, you complain about it?
      Which is it to be?
      Should there be no initiatives for jobs? Would you prefer that?
      I agree that there isn’t enough being done in other areas, but this is one idea that will work. Why be so negative about it? I really don’t understand.

• there’s a rise in anger in this country against the government and no amount of distractions will stop us now!! “the gathering” ahahahahahahahahaha

• 90% of the work and the events for The Gathering have sfa to do with the Govt. Often there people use “The Gubbermint” as a distraction for not taking action themselves. That is not about you but in general.

If you are in FG, FF, SF, Lab, the Greens, SWP/SP/ULA, the 32 county sovereignty Comm. or R.S.F or the The Communist party of Ireland then you should still be getting involved in local community activities. Empowering people to organize and take charge, to make a positive change to this blighted land. What is not to love about this.?

• It’s a year long event, too early for anyone to say they’ll be involved. Take a poll at the end of the year to see who did get involved

• From what I can tell the real reason behind it is to take money out of my relatives pockets to get the tourism sector back on track, it that’s the case I sure as hell want to see the tourism sector drop their rates to “welcome visitors to the gathering”. Irish hotels rates are far too high as are the rates for other other tourism related services, if they drop then the tourist will come back.

• Jason. Dublin has the cheapest hotel rooms of any capital city in Western Europe. Irish accommodation prices on average are among the most competitive in Europe. Unless the people in Tripadvisor and booking.com are Govt. shills.

• I already know of people coming to Ireland because they heard of this (from Canada & Argentina interestingly).

All I am saying is thet we BETTER put on a good show for them – and not let them down !

• Alot of people here will be quiet sore at you for pointing that out. Many of them here I suspect will go out of their way to undermine this than support their local communities. Good news stories seem to provoke a more furious reaction than bad news ones. Some people just love misery and being crapped on, some people stand up and don’t take it.

• Anyone else think the gathering is a bit of a scam?

• In some Canadian small towns, where there is not enough work locally, and where people must go elsewhere to find employment, there is a designated “Home Coming” week or two each year. This ensures that old school friends can meet up.
    The descendants of Irish emigrants could be encouraged to visit Ireland, not just for petty financial gain, but to cement ties with keep the history alive, to be passed down to their children. Genealogy services, public records and well maintained grave-yards would be very useful attractions.

• Michael, do the home-comers lose the right to vote, once they give up their permanent residence in the little town you refer to ? Just curious… I have said it before, if the Government allowed all passport holders to congregate every 4 years at election time … Wow, that would be some party… They get to vote, and we get lots of return tourism … no that doesnt cost much and everyone is a winner … But i doubt our Tourism chiefs would think along those lines … and if the Government fell early, we would get a bumper year of tourists coming home to vote. We really could make the election a massive tourism option… so for all the folks who said i was negative earlier … here is a much better option, where the Gathering is a recurring theme …. what do you all think?

• I suppose some system whereby people abroad who currently, or recently, paid Irish taxes should be allowed to vote. However voting is a different matter, travel need not be involved as postal voting is a reliable alternative. I see the trigger to encourage visits from the descendants of our ancestors as a worthwhile initiative.

• That should be done Cal1, everyone born in Ireland should have the right to vote, whether that be for TD’s for emigrants and MP’s in the 6 counties should be allowed sit in Leinster Hse, these issues and 500 others still are different topics to the Gathering or who is in Govt. or what they are like.

• and later in the year ive some english fishing mates coming in for a week to sample the delights of west of Ireland fishing for a week…its a great excuse to party with friends…and get loads of prezzies!!…

• events for the “ordinary” people……..so what other type of people live in this country?…………….patronising pigs!!!!

• Damned if you do, damned if you don’t! It’s a marketing campaign to encourage visitors to Ireland to boost our economy! The same people who complain about nothing being done to benefit out country are complaining about a shake down! It’s good for our businesses and isn’t a negative thing. Anything at all in these times to bring tourists here and show what we have to offer isn’t bad, and since when was touting for business a bad thing on any scale?

• The difference between the people complaining and those that are not is that we have to get on with it, we are working to improve tourism no’s, we are glad to see that this is having a very positive effect. The rest well commenting here is a lot easier than getting involved in a local community event better to complain about the Govt, rather than take charge of their own lives. The Béal bocht is still alive and that is not to take from the countless people who are finding it tough. but they are never the ones that go on about it non-stop. They are too busy trying to stay afloat and get back in the game or change the system to be better. Red thumb away, it is the most political or social activism that most of ye will ever take part in.

• Sod that… Why would I want to expose friends and relitives to the doom and gloom from all the moaners around here. Will meet them in Vegas/Palm Springs/LA/New York or San Francisco

• I think “The Gathering ” is offensive to Irish people at home and abroad!

• Blah blah blah

• Give me a date and a time and I’ll be there. Oh, wait…

• How about giving our ex-pats/exiles the vote and a real say in how this country develops and goes forward.

Then Enda and Co might have some credibility in asking them for their money

• Did my family gathering a little early and “gathered” the family together and went to Co. Clare. Total family count was close to 30! It cost a fortune for the weekend with high rentals for cottages, bad food and of course the charge per person to park in the Burren Car Park in November for 5 mins. Can’t afford to do THAT again!

• My cousins in new york and london were talking about coming home for a week in july… about 20 of them. But I persuaded them all that we should meet in london. More to see and do. Anyway it would kill me if the local hotel got their custom… odious family run it who think they are the pillars of our community. I hope the Gathering is a big flop.

• Some people have said that the commentators on the Journal.ie are just the children of people that call in to WhineLine, addicted to moaning, bad times, feeling sorry and being broke and keeping it that way. Hard to disagree. FG and FF thrive on people like them.

Add New Comment