You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Heal-ectric Picnic

The Healy-Rae brothers just had a mini concert outside the Dáil because hey, why not?

Danny plays a mean accordion.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

TODAY IS THE first day of the new Dáil sitting, which means that it’s the first day of the Dáil having two Healy-Raes.

As voting for the new Ceann Comhairle continued inside Leinster House, both Danny and Michael, elected in the Kerry constituency last month, began an impromptu trad session outside the gates of Leinster House.

Just because.

Addressing his adoring crowd, Michael thanked those who canvassed for the two brothers last month:

We apologise to the guards for holding things up for a few minutes but we’ll be gone in a second. But thanks, from the bottom of our hearts.

“We remember today Jackie Healy-Rae for starting this. T’was 1997 he went in the gates and we’re glad that we’re here today and we’ll be here other days.”

Hugh O'Connell / YouTube

Danny was up next, telling the crowd:

Like all the good teams that came up from the Kingdom before, playing in Croke Park, I believe that we’re going to be playing an important role inside in Dáil Éireann.

He said he was the latest starter in Ireland when it came to getting his election campaign underway, but added: “I wasn’t the last finisher!”

With that the lads got down from their Healy-Rae branded car in order to allow traffic to pass. However, we do have a couple of questions:

Where did Danny learn to play the accordion that well? Is this going to be a regular thing?

Please let this be a regular thing.

- additional reporting from Hugh O’Connell

Read: Live: TDs prepare for Taoiseach vote as 32nd Dáil meets for the first time